Cougar History and Awards - Community

Cougar History and Awards - Community

1928 Mel Dressel, t

1929 Elmer Schwartz, fb

Mel Hein, c

Elmer Schwartz, fb

1932 George Sander, hb

1935 Ed Goddard, qb

1936 Ed Goddard, qb

1941 Dale Gentry, e

Bill Sewell, qb

Nick Susoeff, e

1942 Bob Kennedy, fb

aleX brInk - ara sPortsManshIP award

Former Washington State quarterback Alex Brink was the 2007 recipient of the ARA

Sportsmanship Award, presented annually by the Awards and Recognition Association. The

national award is presented each year to the NCAA Division I college football player who

most exemplifies sportsmanship on and off the field.

Brink was selected from 10 finalists representing schools across the country. Previous

winners of the award include Carolina Panthers running back DeAngelo Williams (Memphis)

and St. Louis Rams running back Brian Leonard (Rutgers).

Brink, who ended his career as WSU’s career record-holder in passing yards, touchdowns,

completions, attempts and total offense, was also one of 15 recipients of the National

Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award and a finalist for the Draddy Award, entitling

him to an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The Draddy Award annually recognizes an

individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football

performance and exemplary community leadership.

Brink was a two-time finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy, which honors the college football

player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and

athletic achievement.

all-west Coast fIrst teaM (by aP)

1945 Rod Giske, g

1948 Laurie Niemi, t

1950 Laverne Torgeson, fb

1951 Ed Barker, e

Don Steinbrunner, e

1956 Bill Steiger, hb

1957 Don Ellingsen, e

Bob Newman, qb

1958 Chuck Morrell, fb

Marv Nelson, g

1959 Keith Lincoln, rb

1960 Hugh Campbell, e

1961 Hugh Campbell, e

1962 Hugh Campbell, e

1964 Clancy Williams, rb

1965 Larry Eilmes, fb

Ron Vrilcak, c

Wayne Foster, dt

Bill Gaskins, cb

1966 Doug Flansburg, e

1968 Mark Williams, rb

1969 Lionel Thomas, db


1970 Lionel Thomas, db

1971 Buzz Brazeau, ot

Steve Busch, g

Bernard Jackson, rb

Ron Mims, db

1973 Steve Ostermann, og

1976 Mike Levenseller, se

1977 Mike Levenseller, se

1979 Allan Kennedy, ot

2008 Cougar football MedIa guIde


More magazines by this user
Similar magazines