Views
4 years ago

Rights and Responsibilities Under Georgia Law - Fayette County ...

Rights and Responsibilities Under Georgia Law - Fayette County ...

5. Substance abuse

5. Substance abuse treatment program for second time DUI violators. A driver, who has a second DUI conviction within a five (5) year period, must undergo a clinical evaluation for alcohol or substance abuse and if a problem is indicated, he must complete an alcohol or substance abuse program before he can apply for reinstatement of his license, and must use an ignition interlock device. 6. License Tag seizure for violators and mandatory driver's license suspension. In addition to any other penalty, any driver who receives a conviction for a second or subsequent DUI in a five year period faces a mandatory surrender of all license plates registered to the driver. Also the driver will receive a "hard" (no limited permit available) suspension of his driver's license for one year. Upon the third DUI conviction within 5 years, the driver will be declared a habitual violator, and receive a five year revocation of his license, with the first two years being a "hard" suspension. 7. Open containers of alcohol prohibited. Open containers of alcohol are now prohibited in the passenger area of a motor vehicle to include a driver and/or passenger. 8. Road rage now has a name. Operating a vehicle with intent to harass or intimidate another driver is a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and is called Aggressive Driving. 9. Special suspension provisions for drivers under 21 years of age. The driver's license of any person under twenty-one (21) years of age shall be suspended if he or she is convicted of any of the following: hit and run, aggressive driving, racing, D.U.I. using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer, reckless driving, underage purchasing or knowingly possessing any alcoholic beverage while operating a motor vehicle, misrepresenting his age in any manner whatever for the purpose of obtaining any alcoholic beverage, misrepresenting his identity or using any false identification for the purpose of purchasing or obtaining any alcoholic beverage, or any offense for which four or more points are assessable under O.C.G.A. § 40-5- 57 (e.g. passing of a school bus, improper passing, or speeding in excess of the speed limit by 24 m.p.h. or more). 10. Convictions for moving violations in Georgia are assessed points as follows: Aggressive driving 6 points Reckless driving 4 points Unlawful passing of a school bus 6 points Improper passing on a hill or a curve 4 points Exceeding the speed limit by more than 14 miles per hour but less than 19 m.p.h 2 points Exceeding the speed limit by 19 m.p.h. or more but less than 24 m.p.h 3 points Exceeding the speed limit by 24 m.p.h. or more but less than 34 m.p.h 4 points Exceeding the speed limit by 34 m.p.h. or more 6 points Disobedience of any traffic control device or traffic officer 3 points Too fast for conditions 0 points Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving 2 points Failure to adequately secure a load, except fresh farm produce, (accident) 2 points Violation of child safety restraint requirements, first offense 1 point Violation of child safety restraint requirements, second or subsequent offense 2 points All other moving traffic violations which are not speed limit violations 3 points 11. Except for a driver under 21 years old, convicted of DUI with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or more, upon a first conviction, the violator's license shall be suspended for six months from the date of conviction. Violators under 21 years old convicted of DUI with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or more, or violators under 21 years old with their second or subsequent suspension or conviction, shall have their license suspended for a minimum of twelve months. If the suspension was for DUI, then the driver must complete DUI school before applying for license reinstatement, otherwise the driver must complete a defensive driving program. Top

Any driver under age 18, who accumulates four or more points on his driving record within a twelve month period, shall have his or her driver's license suspended for six months for the first suspension, and twelve months for any subsequent suspension. 12. Intermediate drivers license for teen drivers and limitations on driving privileges . Prior to 1997, a fifteen year old could apply for an instructional permit which was valid for one year. To receive the permit the applicant had to pass all tests for a regular Class C license except for the driving test. At age sixteen, the applicant could then apply for a Class C license. A fifteen year old can still apply for an instruction permit if he passes all tests for a Class C drivers license except for the driving test. The new instruction/learner’s permit is valid for two years. Anyone who is sixteen but less than eighteen may apply for a Class D drivers license (intermediate license) if he has had an instruction permit for a period of twelve (12) months without any suspensions of the permit. If an applicant is at least sixteen years of age but less than eighteen years of age and meets this criteria, then he may receive a Class D driver’s license provided he passes the road driving test for a Class C vehicle. The holder of a Class D driver’s license can operate a Class C vehicle under the following conditions: 1. No driving between Midnight and 6:00 a.m., no exceptions such employment, school, etc., 2. No driving with any passenger in the car who is not an immediate family member for the first 6 months following license issuance; thereafter the Class D driver cannot drive on the public roads with more than three other passengers in the vehicle less than 21 years of age, who are not members of the driver's immediate family. A more comprehensive on-the-road driving test must be taken and passed. Persons under eighteen years of age who are licensed in another jurisdiction and who drive in Georgia must comply with the limitation imposed on Class D license holders. Also, persons who are licensed in another jurisdiction, who apply for a license in Georgia, do not have to take any tests if they are eighteen years of age or older. Otherwise, new residents must take the tests required for a Class D license. Furthermore, anyone who is at least eighteen years of age may apply for a Class C driver’s license. To be eligible for the Class C license, the applicant must have been issued a Class D license, and the Class D license could not have been suspended for a period of twelve (12) consecutive months prior to making application for the license. An applicant who is eighteen years of age or older and who has never had a Class D license, may apply for a Class C license provided that he meets the requirements for the license including passing all required tests. Any driver who applies for an initial Class D license must have completed: 3. An approved driver education course and a cumulative total of at least 20 hours of supervised driving of which at least six must be at night; or 4. A cumulative total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving of which at least six hours must be at night. Supervised driving may be provided by any licensed Class C driver who is at least 21 years of age with a sworn affidavit from parents/legal guardians certifying such instruction. 13. No school equals no drivers license for persons under eighteen years of age. No instruction permit nor any driver’s license may be issued to a person who is younger than 18 years of age unless at the time he applies for the instruction permit or driver’s license: 1. He presents acceptable proof that he has received a high school diploma, a GED diploma, a special diploma ,or a certificate of high school completion, 2. He presents proof that he has parental or guardian permission to withdraw from school, 3. or, the records of the department indicate that said applicant: a. Is enrolled in and not under suspension from a public or private school and satisfies relevant attendance requirements as set forth below, or b. Is enrolled in a home education program which satisfies the requirements of state law. The Department of Public Safety shall notify any minor driver who has been issued an instruction permit or drivers license that his permit or license is suspended subject to review if the Department's records Top Top

Download the 2011 Annual Report - Fayette County Government
US Army Corps - Water Roles and Responsibilities in Georgia
Graduated Driver License - New GDL Laws Effective January 1, 2008
In upholding our ancestral laws, Title, Rights and responsibilities, we ...
[+][PDF] TOP TREND The California Landlord s Law Book: Rights Responsibilities (California Landlord s Law Book : Rights and Responsibilities) [NEWS]
PERMIT APPLICATION - Fayette County Government
Fayette county schools student transfer guidelines for georgia
Affidavit of Garnishment - Fayette County Government
The Agenda of Actions - Fayette County Government
Complete Report - Fayette County Government
Georgia Department of Revenue Fayette County Local Ad Valorem ...
Stand Alone Permit Application - Fayette County Government
Temporary Trailer Permit - Fayette County Government
OPERATING AND CAPITAL BUDGET - Fayette County Government
Statement of Votes Cast - Fayette County Government
fayette county official absentee/provisional/challenged ballot
Tower Bond Version - Fayette County Government
Summary of Votes Cast - Fayette County Government
Statement of Votes Cast - Fayette County Government
Demolition Permit Application - Fayette County Government
fayette county official absentee/provisional/challenged ballot
Senior Deputy Clerk - Accounting - Fayette County Government
Manufactured & Industrial Building Submittal Guide - Fayette County ...
Law Enforcement Dispatcher - Quick-Reference Guide - Georgia ...
01/17/2006 fayette county building permits issued page 1