Report - Commission on the Humanities and Social Sciences

Report - Commission on the Humanities and Social Sciences

Durham Forum

The Humanities and the

Education Continuum

October 26, 2012

Doris Duke Center, Duke University

ong>Commissionong> Member in Attendance

Richard H. Brodhead, President, Duke

University; ong>Commissionong> Cochair


Shana Adams, Manager for Creative Arts in

the Public/Private Schools, Durham Arts


William L. Andrews, E. Maynard Adams

Professor of English, University of North

Carolina, Chapel Hill

Joseph Bathanti, Professor of Creative

Writing, Appalachian State University; Poet

Laureate of North Carolina

Ian Baucom, Professor of English; Director,

Franklin Humanities Institute, Duke


Charles L. Becton, Interim Chancellor, North

Carolina Central University

Jeffrey Braden, Dean, College of Humanities

and Social Sciences; Professor of

Psychology, North Carolina State University

Cynthia Brodhead, Chair of the Board of

Trustees, North Carolina Humanities


Cathy Davidson, John Hope Franklin

Humanities Institute Professor of

Interdisciplinary Studies; Ruth F. Devarney

Professor of English, Duke University

Eve Duffy, Director, Program in the

Humanities; Adjunct Assistant Professor,

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

William R. Ferris, Senior Associate Director,

Center for the Study of the American

South; Joel Williamson Eminent Professor

of History, University of North Carolina,

Chapel Hill

Benjamin Filene, Director of Public History,

University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Deirdre Haj, Executive Director, Full Frame

Documentary Film Festival

Geoffrey Harpham, President and Director,

National Humanities Center

James B. Hunt, Jr., former Governor of

North Carolina

Julie Joslin, Team Lead, k-12 English Language

Arts, North Carolina Department of Public


Jason Jowers, Assistant Principal, Hillside

High School, Durham

Tracy Mancini, Assistant Dean, Associate in

Arts Program, Durham Technical College

Christie Hinson Norris, Director of k-12

Outreach, North Carolina Civic Education

Consortium, University of North Carolina,

Chapel Hill

Judith Rizzo, Executive Director and Chief

Executive Officer, James B. Hunt Jr. Institute

for Educational Leadership and Policy

Todd Roberts, Chancellor, North Carolina

School of Science and Mathematics

Sandra C. Rusak, Director of Education,

North Carolina Museum of Art

Richard Schramm, Vice President for

Education Programs, National Humanities


Lawrence J. Wheeler, Director, North Carolina

Museum of Art

Erin White, Social Studies Teacher, Smith

Middle School, Chapel Hill

Lynn Wright-Kernodle, Director of the

Teachers Institute, North Carolina

Humanities Council

The Heart of the Matter 83

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines