Views
3 years ago

February Issue - Stage Directions Magazine

February Issue - Stage Directions Magazine

CVR1.300.1002.indd 1

CVR1.300.1002.indd 1 www.stage-directions.com F E B R U A R Y 2 0 1 0 1/21/10 5:47 PM Table Of Contents F E B R U A R Y 2 0 1 0 28 16 Features 8 Light on the Subject Dealing with the inevitable—what to do when it’s time to cut the plot. By Steve Shelley 12 Dennis DeYoung Wags Into Theatre Styx’s co-founder, composer of “Lady” and “Come Sail Away,” teaches himself new tricks for The 101 Dalmatians Musical. By Kevin M. Mitchell Special Section: Props 16 To Bee or Knot to Bee? Literal and wordless, this Hamlet relied on props. By Kevin M. Mitchell 20 Prop Shop Confidential Savvy secrets from top prop masters for managing a large collection. By Lisa Mulcahy 23 Props Directory A directory of props houses and suppliers available to help you out of an 18 th -century jam jar. • What To Do When Cutting the Light Plot TheatreFace.com • How Hamlet, Shut Up Did Away with the text of Shakespeare’s Masterpiece Departments 4 Letters Studying open captioning options on TheatreFace.com 5 In the Greenroom SPF and the Donmar Warehouse announce their 2010 resident; NYC ponies up for the Signature’s new home; In Memoriam: Robert Barber and more. 7 Tools of the Trade Your winter stash of new gear. 28 Answer Box Mark Pawsey talks training and following your heart in the theatre. By Jacob Coakley Columns 4 Editor’s Note How do you measure the success of art? By Jacob Coakley 24 Show Business Make sure you’re giving your riggers enough support. By Tim Cusack 25 Off the Shelf Books on getting the most from a performance. By Stephen Peithman Colin Mochrie and Brad Sherwood talk about the risks and With rewards a score by of rock not legend Dennis thinking DeYoung, things through The 101 Dalmatians Musical puts the emphasis on song. ON OUR COVER: Rachel York as Cruella De Vil and the cast of The 101 Dalmatians Musical PHOTOGRAPHY BY: Joan Marcus

Publisher Terry Lowe tlowe@stage-directions.com Editor Jacob Coakley jcoakley@stage-directions.com Audio Editor Jason Pritchard jpritchard@stage-directions.com Lighting & Staging Editor Richard Cadena rcadena@plsn.com New York Editor Bryan Reesman bryan@stage-directions.com Editorial Assistant Victoria Laabs vl@plsn.com Contributing Writers Tim Cusack, Kevin M. Mitchell, Lisa Mulcahy, Stephen Peithman, Steve Shelley Consulting Editor Stephen Peithman ART Art Director Garret Petrov ProduCTion Production Manager Linda Evans levans@stage-directions.com WEB Web Designer Josh Harris ADVERTISING Advertising Director Greg Gallardo gregg@stage-directions.com National Sales Manager James Leasing jleasing@stage-directions.com Audio Advertising Manager Jeff Donnenwerth jd@stage-directions.com Sales Manager Matt Huber mh@stage-directions.com OPERATioNS General Manager William Vanyo wvanyo@stage-directions.com CIRCULATION Subscription order www.stage-directions.com/subscribe Stark Services P.O. Box 16147 North Hollywood, CA 91615 BUSINESS OFFICE 6000 South Eastern Ave. Suite 14-J Las Vegas, NV 89119 TEL 702.932.5585 FAX 702.932.5584 Stage Directions (ISSN: 1047-1901) Volume 23, Number 2 Published monthly by Timeless Communications Corp., 6000 South Eastern Ave., Suite 14J, Las Vegas, NV 89119. It is distributed free to qualified individuals in the lighting and staging industries in the United States and Canada. Periodical Postage paid at Las Vegas, NV, office and additional offices. Postmaster please send address changes to: Stage Directions, P.O. Box 16147 North Hollywood, CA 91615. Editorial submissions are encouraged, but must include a self-addressed stamped envelope to be returned. Stage Directions is a Registered Trademark. All Rights Reserved. Duplication, transmission by any method of this publication is strictly prohibited without permission of Stage Directions. 20 A CELEBRAT CELEBRATING SD YEARSS ING OTHER TIMELESS COMMUNICATIONS PUBLICATIONS OF SERVICE TO THEATRE

January 2011 PDF - Stage Directions Magazine
SD SPRINGS INTO AUDIO - Stage Directions Magazine