HungaryFortresses, palacesand castle hotels
BudapestBuda CastleDetails:Budapest, District I, Buda CastleTel.: (+36‐1) 488‐0475Fax: (+36‐1) 488‐firstname.lastname@example.orgBudapest DE4The Buda Castle overlooking the River Danube isHungary’s most visited tourist site. Prior to the arrivalof the Tatars in 1241-42, a village was perched on thehilltop, but after the danger the threat had passed,King Béla IV erected city walls to stave off furtherthreats.The Royal Palace was built in the 14th and 15thcenturies on the southern half of the hill with bothKing Sigismund and King Mátyás commissioningextensive construction work. The latter built a castlethat was a source of envy throughout Europe and nosmall number of legends are attached to his reign.One of the most famous is the story of the poorshepherd who made fools of the avaricious palaceguards by requesting a “reward” of 100 strokes witha stick, which would be shared among the men whoallowed him to enter.and offers countless attractions, including theHungarian National Gallery in the former Royal Palaceshowcasing the finest in Hungarian and internationalfine arts, while the Budapest History Museumchronicles the diverse and fascinating history of theHungarian capital.The Mátyás Church, scene of several coronations,and the unparalleled views of the Danube andthe historic buildings of Pest from the adjacentFisherman’s Bastion are also not to be missed. Thestate president’s Classicist palace is also to be foundin the Castle District near the top of the famousfunicular. Below ground, the labyrinth of caves inthe bowels of the hillside offers a quite differentsightseeing experience.Events are held in the historic old town throughoutthe year, including the Celebration of Crafts, variousflea markets, and several pálinka (Hungarian fruitbrandy) and wine festivals. The district has preservedits narrow cobbled streets from the Middle Ages andits old buildings are home to outstanding restaurants,stylish bars and welcoming cafés.In 1541, the Turks conquered Buda and the city wasnot reclaimed until 1686. Today, the World Heritagesite is the jewel in the crown of Hungarian tourismEger Castle,István Dobó Castle MuseumDetails:Eger, Vár 1.Tel.: (+36‐36) 312‐744Fax: (+36‐36) 312‐email@example.comOpening hours:March 2 – November 2.Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m – 5 p.m.November 3 – March 3.Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Eger F3Crescent Moon) immortalised the heroic battle andthe tunnels said to connect the fortress to othercastles. Many researchers have searched high andlow for evidence of the love story between the book’sheroes, Gergely Bornemissza and Éva Cecey.The permanent exhibition at the Castle Museum tellsthe story of the historic building and explores thevarious forms of punishment and torture throughouthistory, while the underground network of windingtunnels is always popular with visitors. The stonevault contains the remains of cathedrals that formerlyoccupied the site and the heroes’ hall contains themarble tombstone of István Dobó, the man who ledthe successful defence of the castle in 1552.The Baroque city of Eger at the feet of the BükkHills is a jewel in Hungary’s crown. The legendaryEger Castle towers above the city’s old town, apredecessor of which stood in the time of Árpád,the Grand Prince of the Magyars who first settledthe Carpathian Basin until it was destroyed by theTatars.The castle was quickly rebuilt by local bishops andit became a key border fortress during the Turkishoccupation. During this time, István Dobó and hismen successfully saw off the marauding Ottomanarmy against all odds, before finally succumbing in1596. Nevertheless, Géza Gárdonyi’s famous novelEgri Csillagok (usually translated as Eclipse of theElsewhere, the gallery housed in the fortress isan important collection of fine art from Germany,Italy, Austria and Hungary. The many traditionssurrounding the castle are also preserved by a richcalendar of events, while children love to play in thecastle’s historical playground.Streets lined with attractive Baroque houses leaddown from the old town to the main square in theheart of the city. It would take a full week to doall the the sights in this city full justice, from thecathedral, minaret church and Turkish minaret – withits extremely tight spiral staircase – to the dioceselibrary and old observatory of the lyceum. And at theend of a long day’s sightseeing, a glass of Eger’sfamous Bull’s Blood tastes even better than usual.www.hungary.com
HungaryFortresses 4 5EsztergomCastle, Castle MuseumDetails:Esztergom, Szent István tér 1.Tel.: (+36‐33) 415‐986Fax: (+36‐33) 500‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:March 1 – October 31.Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.November 1 – April 30.Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Esztergom D3site. The giant columns, tympanum and dome ofthe monumental basilica are an impressive sight onany approach to Esztergom. The fantastic panoramaof the Danube, the city and the surrounding hills atthe top of the spiral staircase to the 118-metre-long,49-metre-wide and 100-metre-high dome is certainlyworth the effort. The cathedral also incorporates theBakócz Chapel, one of Hungary’s finest survivingexamples of Renaissance architecture.The Esztergom Centuries exhibition introduces thehistory of the castle and the hill it stands on whiledecorative weapons from the Hungarian NationalMuseum collection are on display at the Iron andGold exhibition. Artefacts chronicling the history ofcoin minting and the collection of masonry are alsowell worth as look.It was Grand Prince Géza who built the first fortresson this picturesque spot overlooking the Danube andit was later adopted as the royal seat by Saint István,Hungary’s first king. The ever-expanding castle wasalso the residence of the archbishop of Esztergom atone time.Turkish forces captured the fortress in 1543 and it issaid that when the last pasha of Esztergom felt hispower under threat, he had a large stone donkeycarved and hid his gold inside it.There are many other sights to see in Esztergom, oneof the country’s most atmospheric cities, includingthe stunning jewellery held in the cathedral vault, thereligious relics on display in the Christian Museum,and the priceless art of the Bálint Balassi Museum.And the cafés and restaurants on the main squareand surrounding streets offer ample opportunity fortired tourists to relax and recharge.In the first half of the 19th century, Hungary’s largestchurch was erected in the Classicist style on theFüzér CastleCastleDetails:Füzér, Vár‐hegyTel.: (+36‐30) 663‐8802,(+36‐47) 340‐email@example.comOpening hours:March 15 – October 25.9 a.m ‐ 6 p.m.October 26 – March 14.10 a.m ‐ 3 p.m.Füzér G1Perhaps Hungary’s most picturesque castle ruin,the Fűzér Castle has sat perched upon its cliff facefor centuries. It was built partly in the Gothic stylebefore the Tatar invasion of 1241-42, including thechapel still standing today.From the late 14th century, it was owned by thePerényi family. According to legend, it was onceattacked by a marauding Turkish army and, whenGábor Perényi died in battle, his wife and twin sonswere able to escape the fortress through a secrettunnel. One of the boys disappeared as they fl ed,while the other was captured by the Turks on ahunting trip many years later. To the dismay of theTurkish soldiers, the court of the Sultan entrustedthe prisoner to Yusuf, who it later turned out wasnone other than his long-lost twin brother. When thestory was recounted to the sultan, both men wereset free. The Perényi brothers returned home to fallin love with the two sisters staying with their mother,giving what had begun as a tragic story a happyending. Another memorable story surrounding theFüzér Castle is that the Hungarian crown was onceguarded here.Visitors making their way to the top of the protectedhillside along the steep path are rewarded bya breathtaking panorama of the surroundingHegyköz and Zemplén hills. Renovation of thefortress is currently underway and the castle nowhas its own festival, the Füzér Castle Days in August.The region is rich in points of interest, such as thecultural house at the foot of the hill, the museum ofthe famous Hollóház porcelain factory, the castlepalace of Kéked built in the Middle Ages, and theancient mining settlement of Telkibánya.A ride on the narrow-gauge railway runningbetween Pálháza and Rotalló is an unforgettableexperience as it ascends through the valleyscarved through the Zemplén hills by a network ofstreams. Hungry passengers should stop off at theexcellent restaurant of the Kőkapu hunting lodgebuilt onto the cliff side.
NagyvázsonyCastle, Pál Kinizsi Castle MuseumDetails:Nagyvázsony, Vár u. 9Tel.: (+36‐88) 264‐786Fax: (+36‐88) 515‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:March 15 – May 31.Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.June 1 – August 31.Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.September 1 – October 31.Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.Nagyvázsony C5Today, the immaculately restored fortress contains acastle museum of architectural finds on the site, aswell as furniture and weapons from the Middle Ages.There is also an exhibition of life-sized models of theHungarian kings.One of the best-known attractions in the castle isa model plotting Hungarian history from the arrivalin the Carpathian Basin to the present day with thehelp of several thousand tiny figurines.Every summer, historical games are staged in thecastle, while the stable in Bethlehem is recreatedwith live animals during advent. The castle is alsoan ideal starting point for tours into the beautiful surroundingcountryside, and the nearby post officemuseum is worthy of a short visit.This castle in the forests of the Bakony Hills was builtby the Vezsenyi family in the first half of the 15th centurybefore passing into the ownership of generalPál Kinizsi, who expanded it considerably. Kinizsi,a general famous for keeping the Turks at bay underKing Mátyás, was working at the local watermillwhen the king passed by on a hunting trip asking fordrinking water. The powerful Kinizsi is said to havepassed him a cup using a millstone as a tray. Seeinghis incredible strength, the king did not hesitate torecruit him to his army and it was not long before thetalented leader rose to the very top.SárospatakCastle, Rákóczi MuseumDetails:Sárospatak, Szent Erzsébet út 19.Tel.: (+36‐47) 311‐083Fax: (+36‐47) 511‐email@example.comOpening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.Sárospatak H2The quaint town of Sárospatak and its legendarycastle are nestled in the beautiful countryside alongthe banks of the River Bodrog. The fortress waserected in the 1530s, with the city walls followingin 1541. The castle and the Renaissance wingsubsequently added was owned by the Perényi familybefore finding its way into the hands of the PrinceRákóczi. In 1680, a gunpowder explosion damagedthe Red Tower, and sections of the city walls weredestroyed in 1702, rendering the castle ineffectiveas a military building. During the Rákóczi uprising,Prince Ferenc Rákóczi II even held Parliamentarysessions in Sárospatak in 1710. Several secrettunnels are said to have led to fortresses in thesurrounding area and a large network of cellars stillremains beneath the castle and town. It is in thesethat the Tokaj region’s famous wines continue tobe aged to this day. The story goes that Rákóczi’streasures guarded in the Red Tower were stolen bya jackdaw trained by a local student to bring him anitem of gold jewellery every day. When the studentfelt he had accumulated sufficient wealth, he killedthe bird to cover his tracks and moved away fromSárospatak. German noble families later movedinto the castle, converting it into a palace, and therestored building currently operates as the RákócziMuseum. Several permanent exhibitions are opento the public, including a collection of artefactstelling the story of the famous family and the warof independence. The Red Tower, the oldest part ofthe building, invites visitors to take a peek into lifein the Middle Ages, while the Italian tower casemateintroduces the art of war in the late Renaissanceperiod.A café evoking the golden age of the late 19thcentury and also operates in the castle, while thefamous Reformation College with the enormoushalls of its historical library, the large Gothic church,the Makovecz-designed town house and the formerTrinity Cloisters all make an excursion into the townitself very worthwhile. The town is also one of thevenues for the Zemplén Festival and a celebration ofSzent Erzsébet is held here every year.The views from the Megyer Hill on the outskirts oftown also make it a highly attractive destination forwalkers.www.hungary.com
SárvárCastle, Ferenc Nádasdy MuseumDetails:Sárvár, Várkerület 1.Tel./Fax.: (+36‐95) 320‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.Sárvár B4One of Hungary’s best preserved castles, the Sárvárfortress is first mentioned in official documents in1288. From the 1320s, it was owned by the Kőszegifamily that ruled over much of the Transdanubiaregion.The Kőszegis were eventually ousted when SándorKöcski stormed the building at the behest of KingCharles Robert. In recognition of his deeds fightingboth for the Hungarian King and for EmporerFrederick in Germany, Köcski was appointed generalof the castle and steward of Vas County.The castle later came into the ownership of theKanizsai and Nádasdy families, the latter of whichexpanded the fortress in the Renaissance stylearound 1560. From 1803, the castle was ownedby the archdukes of the Habsburg family and, from1875, by the Wittelsbach Bavarian royal family.HungaryThe castle now functions as a museum, thecentrepiece of which is the vaulted banquet hall withits seven enormous ceiling paintings of turbulentBaroque battle scenes bordered by vibrant stucco.The museum’s collection of artefacts is equallysignificant, including exquisite Renaissance andBaroque furniture, a rich collection of Europeanglassware, a 1494 Antwerp painting from 1494 of acourt tournament from the Bavarian royal collection,a 17th century Nuremberg silver platter and acollection of 60 sabres dating from the 17th to the20th centuries. The exhibition of the history of theHungarian Hussars is also unique in that it brings thefull spectrum of Hussar uniforms together in a singlelocation.The outer walls of the castle have recently beenrenovated and the moat excavated around it is stillvisible today. A short walk from the castle, visitors willfind a nine-hectare arboretum, the restored old townand the 44 °C water of the town’s thermal baths.Fortresses8 9SiklósCastle, Castle MusuemDetails:Siklós, Vajda János tér 8.Tel.: (+36‐72) 579‐427Fax: (+36‐72) 579‐email@example.com@tourinform.huwww.siklosivar.hu,www.siklos.huThe exhibitions in the castle offer something foreveryone, including relics of the castle itself, thetown and the battles fought around it, masonry fromthe Middle Ages, and artefacts relating to hunting,painting and folk art. There is even an exhibition ofgloves and related fashion through the ages, and therich heritage of the Villány-Siklós wine region is alsorepresented here.Opening hours:April 15 – October 15.Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.October 16 – April 14.Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.Only the castle is open on Mondays,the museum is closed.At the foot of the hill, Siklós offers much more to see,such as the restored Turkish monuments, the djamiof Bey Malkoc and a beautiful Franciscan church.Weary travellers will appreciate the opportunity tounwind at the Harkány medicinal baths no morethan a short drive away.Siklós C8Towering above the surrounding countryside, theSiklós Castle was built in the late 13th century. Itwas steadily expanded in the centuries to come,eventually belonging to the Garai estate. Accordingto legend, the family jewels were guarded in thecastle prison by a python 12 metres in length andas thick as a tree trunk. The snake even appears onthe Garai family crest above the chapel entrance.The Renaissance fortress was later owned by KingMátyás and his son János Corvin before passing topalatine Imre Perényi in 1515. Siklós fell into Turkishhands from 1543 to 1686 and was conquered byKuruc forces during Rákóczi’s war of independence.
SümegCastle, Castle MuseumDetails:Sümeg, VárhegyTel./Fax: (+36‐87) 550‐firstname.lastname@example.org@hotelkapitany.huwww.sumegvar.huOpening hours:April, May, September, October:Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.June: Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.July, August: Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.here, it is interesting that he never wrote abouthis local castle. Particularly considering the manytales about the Sümeg fortress, which for a longtime was thought to have been built in the time ofKoppány, one of the fi rst Hungarian rulers.Some thought the castle was built by the knightsof the order of the church, while others believeKing Béla IV stayed the night at the castle as hefl ed from defeat at the hands of the Tatars onthe banks of the River Sajó. And then there arethe usual stories of secret tunnels and glitteringtreasure.Sümeg B5The ancient Sümeg Castle is built on top of a rockymountain that towers above the surrounding fl atcountryside, making it visible from miles around.The fortress was built in the 13th century by thebishop of Veszprém, never succumbed to theTurkish armies and was made the seat of thebishopric in 1552.During Rákóczi’s war of independence, it becameone of the most important strategic Kurucpositions in the Transdanubia region, but by themid 18th century, records state that it had falleninto disrepair. Although the poet Sándor Kisfaludy,famous for recounting the myths and legendsof the castles to the north of Lake Balaton, livedThe castle now hosts a historical exhibitionfeaturing armour, weaponry and waxwork fi gures,but its biggest attractions are the tournamentsand banquets running throughout the summer.The events take place in the Knights’ Arena at thefoot of the hill or in the castle’s covered hall andfeature skilled exponents of historical sports, suchas archery, jousting, axe- and spear-throwing, inauthentic period dress.The Baroque centre of the small town also boastseveral sights, such as the exhibition at thebishop’s palace, the Roman Catholic church withits Maulbertsch frescoes, the town museum andthe geological collection at the nearby ancientquartz mine.SzerencsCastle, Zemplén Museum,Municipal Cultural CentreDetails:Szerencs, Rákóczi‐vár, Huszárvár u. 1.Tel./Fax: (+36‐47) 362‐email@example.com@hermuz.huwww.hermuz.hu/zemplen.htmwww.szerencs.huOpening hours:Weekdays 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.Szerencs G2The town of Szerencs is the gateway to theTokaj-Hegyalja wine region, a World HeritageSite. The castle was constructed from the ruinsof a Benedictine monastery in 1556 by Tokajcastle commander Ferenc Némethy. The lateRenaissance castle was occupied by a general ofone of King Miksa’s armies in 1565.A story from the Turkish occupation is still toldtoday: The people of Szerencs were onceharvesting grapes in one of the nearby vineyardswhen they were ambushed by Turkish cavalry.There was enough time to hide the children, andthe men and women grabbed stakes from the fi eldto drive away the enemy. A brave woman namedÁgnes fought off the Turks and leapt onto a horseto summon help from the castle. The Hungariansoldiers arrived in time to see off the Turks, whodid not forget the Szerencs harvest in a hurry.In the late 16th century, the castle at Szerencscame into the possession of the Rákóczi family,but it did not play any military role in the war ofindependence. The fortress was converted into acastle residence by the noble Szimay family in the18th century.Today, the Zemplén Museum operates in one wingof the castle and contains a collection of no lessthan 900,000 postcards, as well as a collection of36,000 bookplates – the designs attached to theinside covers of books to indicate their owners.The Gothic Reformation church in Szerencs is thelast resting place of Zsigmond Rákóczi and thesweet museum in the city’s sugar factory is oneof just three in the world. In addition to revealingthe secrets of sugar production through the ages,it also showcases 800 sweet wrappers gatheredfrom 48 countries on fi ve continents.www.hungary.com
SzigetvárCastle, Castle MuseumDetails:Szigetvár, Vár u. 19.Tel./Fax: (+36‐73) 311‐442,(+36‐30) 947‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:April 1 – November 30Tue.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.Hungarysoldiers suggested catching the golden hen livingin the swampland around the castle and buildingit into the wall to keep it steady. Zrínyi followedthe recommendation and the wall withstood thebattering from the Turkish cannons. Legend has it,the golden hen lives on in one of the secret cavitiesof the castle wall and continues to lay golden eggsto this day. Many a treasure seeker has tried to fi ndit, but without success. The castle did not have arole to play in the war of independence and waspassed into the ownership of Count Andrássy.Fortresses10 11Szigetvár C7The walls of the Szigetvár Castle bear witness toone of the most heroic military battles in Hungarianhistory in 1566 – and the castle has beenrenowned all over Europe ever since. Count MiklósZrínyi and his Hungarian and Croatian warriorsare synonymous with the stoic defence againstthe Turks. The castle was built by Oszvald Szigetiin the early 15th century before passing to BálintTörök, who also features in Gárdonyi’s Eclipseof the Crescent Moon. From 1543, Szigetvárbecame the most important border fortress in theSouth Transdanubia region and it was only aftera protracted siege that the Turkish army was ableto overcome Zrínyi’s gallant men. It is said thatwhen Zrínyi started preparations for the imminentsiege, the entire wall collapsed despite the bestefforts of his masons. At this point, one of theToday, the castle stands in large landscapedgrounds and houses a historical museum, includingthe remains of Suleiman the Magnifi cent’s djami.Visitors can browse through Hungarian and Turkishweapons and cannonballs from the famous siege,as well as aristocratic dress and military uniformsof the day.The recently opened Hungarian-Turkish FriendshipPark containing large statues of both Suleiman andZrínyi on the edge of the grounds and the beautifullyrenovated main square and side streets of the smalltown of Szigetvár come highly recommended,particularly the Roman Catholic church adaptedfrom the former Turkish djami.SzigligetCastleDetails:Szigliget, Kisfaludy u. 26.Tel.: (+36‐20) 212‐9346www.szigliget.huOpening hoursMarch 15 – October 30.Mon.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.Szigliget B5Standing on a lonely rocky outcrop overlooking LakeBalaton, the attractive Szigliget Castle was built byAbbot Favus from 1260 to 1262. From the middle ofthe 16th century, the fortress guarded the border tothe Balaton Uplands and was never captured by theTurks. Sadly, the castle was struck by lightening andburnt to the ground at the end of the 17th century.as it still gripped the sword. Revenge having beenserved, the young couple was happily married.The castle has recently been restored and its towercontinues to offer stunning views of Lake Balaton,Mount Badacsony and the Balaton Uplands.Having visited the castle, it is worth taking in theMediterranean atmosphere of the old village belowwith its cobbled streets and ancient wine cellars.Visitors should also sample the soothing silenceof the Baroque chapel, drop in on Hungary’s onlythatched country house and stroll through the parkto the old Eszterházy Castle.Szigliget also hosts a number of special eventsduring the year, including the pike-perch festival andthe Szigliget Summer Days.The interesting story connected to the castle is thatof Pál Szentgyörgyi, the old master of the castlewho was lamed by the injuries sustained in battleand needed the care of the pretty Ilka. The old manwould have liked her to marry his son Gábor, but theboy was called into battle and the master of a nearbycastle returned from war and took a shining to Ilka butwas rejected. He was so enraged at his subsequentrejection that he struck Szentgyörgyi and killed him.The son returned and challenged the murderer to aduel and, with a well timed blow, severed his hand
TataCastle, Castle MuseumDetails:Tata, Váralja u. 3.Tel.: (+36‐34) 381‐email@example.comOpening hours:May 1 – October 15Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.October 16 – April 30Wed.‐Fri.: 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.Sat.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.Tata CD3The highly photogenic castle overlooks the Old Lakein Tata, a town said to have been named after CountDeofatus, whom Hungary’s first king Saint Istvánaffectionately referred to as Tata. As Deodatus builta Benedictine monastery here, the town was alsogiven the name.An old legend lives on about the Old Lake, too.When enemy forces stormed the town, the sextonrevealed to them where the treasures of the churchwere hidden. But when they set about digging upthe riches, the area suddenly transformed into abottomless lake, swallowing them whole.The castle was built in the second half of the 14thcentury by the Lackfi family. In 1397, it became aroyal castle and Kings Zsigmond and Mátyás bothenjoyed spending time within its walls. During theTurkish occupation, the fortress changed handsno less than eight times, before being returned toHungary for the last time in 1683. For a time in the18th century, the Eszterházy family lived in the castleuntil a considerably more luxurious palace was built,also on the waterfront. The hall in the castle museumstill contains the knight-shaped tiled fireplace.The small town is considered one of the jewels in thecrown of the Transdanubia region with something tocatch the eye on almost every corner, such as thecenturies-old ambiance of the Capuchin Church, theformer palace of the Eszterházy family, the enormousEnglish Park and its palm house, the delightful watermills and the open-air geological museum.The biggest event in the Tata calendar is the tappingof the lake every autumn to allow it to be used aspicture-perfect ice rink in the winter months. In 2009,the highly successful summer Water, Music andFlowers Festival will be complemented for the firsttime by the Ice, Music and Frost Festival.VisegrádCitadel, Castle MuseumDetails:Visegrád, BurgbergTel.: (+36‐26) 598‐082Fax: (+36‐26) 598‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours (castle):May 1 – October 31.Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.November 1 – April 30.Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.Visegrád D3Visegrád, easily accessible from Budapest by car,train and even boat, is situated in one of Hungary’smost beautiful locations, the famous Danube Bend.The castle on the cliff top above the Danube is alsoamong the country’s most picturesque, while theroyal palace at the foot of the hill ranks among thefinest surviving buildings from the Renaissanceperiod. The citadel and tower beneath it were builtfollowing the Tatar onslaught of 1241-42 and thereare a great many interesting stories attached to thesite. The most fearsome was the attempt on the livesof King Charles I and his family by Felician Zach,who was immediately slain, along with his family.In 1386, successor to the throne King Charles II ofNaples was also murdered in Visegrád. And in 1440,the crown was stolen from the Visegrád citadel inartful fashion by lady of the court Ilona Kottaner onbehalf of the widow of King Albert, who wished tolater crown her unborn child, László V, with it.The extensive fortress now contains a museumwith a variety of interesting exhibitions introducingthe turbulent history of the castle, as well asreconstructed models of the castle, a displaycharting the history of the Hungarian crown, and ahunting and fishing exhibition. Visitors can recoverfrom the hike to the top of the hill by enjoying thebreathtaking panorama of the thickly forested Pilisand Börzsöny Hills with the Danube winding betweenthem. The palace on the riverbank was erected byCharles Robert and converted in the Renaissancestyle by King Mátyás, earning the highest praise ofEurope’s top dignitaries of the day. Some parts of thepalace have been restored in recent years and nowcontain an example of a royal kitchen in the time ofKing Mátyás and an interior from the age of KingZsigmond, as well as a pleasant café.Other sights include the exhibitions in the SolomonTower, the Renaissance restaurant on the banks ofthe Danube – where period costume is available forhire on special occasions – and the thermal bathsat Lepence. There is even a summer bob-sled trackfor children. It is also worth checking the broadprogramme of events and festivals throughout theyear, including the International Palace Games andRenaissance Days.www.hungary.com
Budapest–NagytéténySzáraz‐Rudnyányszky Castle,Nagytétény Castle MuseumHungaryPalace museums12 13Details:Budapest, Kastélypark u. 9‐11.Tel.: (+36‐1) 207‐0005/102Fax: (+36‐1) 207‐email@example.comOpening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.Budapest–Nagytétény D4The most attractive castle within the borders ofBudapest is to be found in Nagytétény, making it theperfect destination for a short day-trip. Báron GyörgySzáraz built the Baroque-style castle in 1716 makinguse of the ruins of a medieval fortress on the site. Hisson-in-law Baron József Rudnyánszky then rebuiltthe residence, completing work in 1778.The curved gables of the extravagant late-Baroquecastle are decorated by stone vases and sculptures,while the facade is characterised by ledges,columns and openings that create striking effects oflight and shadow. The centre of the building risesinto a domed mansard roof with twin family crestson its gable. The imposing castle is complementedby a statue park and a French garden laid out ingeometric patterns, both of which are open to thepublic. By the early 19th century, the castle had beendivided into sections owned by the Szentgyörgyi-Horváth, Count Hugonnai, Nedeczky and CountMontbach families respectively. Countess VilmaHugonnai, Hungary’s first female doctor, was bornin the building in 1847. When she learned that theuniversities of Switzerland had opened their doors towomen, she enrolled at the medical faculty in Zurich.On her return, she made great steps to advancehealth education in Hungary, and is still celebratedby feminists to this day.The beautifully restored rooms of the castle nowhouse a permanent exhibition of the history offurniture from the 14th to the 19th centuries onbehalf of the Budapest Museum of Applied Arts.The museum is unique in Europe for chronicling theartisan era of furniture production from the Gothicto the Biedermeier. The 27 rooms of the buildingcontain some 300 items and sets of furniture, aswell as ceramic fireplaces, wall and floor carpets,chandeliers and paintings.The castle also offers costumed tours, room hireand a venue for wedding photography, as well as anenticing calendar of events, such as its Christmasfestival.CsesztveMadách House,Imre Madách Memorial MuseumDetails:Csesztve, Kossuth u. 76.Tel: (+36‐32) 310‐140,(+36‐20) 423‐firstname.lastname@example.orgThe building took on its late-Classicist form in 1864under the ownership of Károly Madách. The housenow contains the Imre Madách Memorial Museumcelebrating the life and work of the famous artist witha collection of his manuscripts and a room displayinghis furniture and personal effects – including hiscradle.Opening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.Csesztve E2The Madách House is located in the small villageof Csesztve nestled between the beautiful CserhátHills. The building was constructed in the Baroquestyle in the late 18th century and later came into thepossession of the Madách family by marriage. Thefamous writer, poet, lawyer and politician lived inCsesztve from 1844 to 1853.The protected park behind the house explains whyMadách always considered Csesztve to be an islandof harmony and tranquillity. The large tree under whichthe writer frequently sat is still standing even today.The rolling landscape of the Cserhát Hills makes thesurrounding area ideal hiking and cycling country,with the onion-domed church of Mohora and the townof Balassagyarmat among the unmissable sights.Madách is the greatest figure in Hungarian literatureof the 19th century, completing his greatest work,The Tragedy of Man in 1960. After serving ascommissioner of Nógrád County during the 1848-49war of independence, he harboured János Rákóczy,the secretary to deposed Regent-President LajosKossuth, and was arrested and sentenced to oneyear’s imprisonment in 1852. In 1861, he was electedto parliament, but died prematurely three years later.
ÉrdWimpffen Castle,Hungarian Geography MuseumDetails:Érd, Budai út 4.Tel./Fax: (+36‐23) 363‐email@example.comOpening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a‐m. – 6 p.m.Érd D4Today, the former residence of the count is a museumrevisiting a variety of topics, including Hungarianexplorers and the scientists of the Carpathian Basin.Artefacts from Hungary’s famous Asian explorersare also held here, including those of Sándor KőrösiCsoma, inventor of Tibetology and author of the firstTibeti-English dictionary, African explorers LászlóMagyar and Sámuel Teleki, discoverer of LakesRudolf (Turkana) and Stefania (Chew Bahir). Relicsfrom the Sahara exploration of The English PatientLászló Almásy and hunting trophies of statesmanZsigmond Széchenyi are also kept here.The Wimpffen Castle, home to the HungarianMuseum of Geography, is located in the centre ofÉrd, a suburb of Budapest. The core of the museumis inherited from the Pelikán guest house built byPrince Fülöp Batthyány-Strattmann that has stoodsince 1845.The guest house almost certainly received its namefrom the animal featured on the Batthyány familycrest. During the 1848-49 war of independence,top-ranking Austrian military officers stayed here,as well as mourners guarding the earthly remainsof culture minister Baron Eötvös József. And itwas after breakfast at the castle that Count GyulaAndrássy appointed Tivadar Pauler as his newminister of culture. Baron Sina and Count Wimpffenlater owned the property, the latter converting it intoan old-fashioned castle in 1884.Érd also boasts a Turkish minaret, a Baroque chapeland a monument featuring 12 bells capable ofplaying 45 melodies.Fertôd–EszterházaEszterházy Castle, Castle MuseumDetails:Fertôd, Joseph Haydn u. 2.Tel.: (+36‐99) 537‐640Fax: (+36‐99) 537‐firstname.lastname@example.org,eszterhaza@t‐online.huwww.mag.huOpening hours:March 15 – October 31Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.November 2 – March 14Fri.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Guided tours in Hungarian,English and GermanFertôd B3Work on Hungary’s largest and most extravagantpalace was begun by Count József Eszterházy inthe Baroque style in 1720. The 126-room, horseshoeshapedbuilding took on its present form in the yearsbetween 1760 and 1770 at the behest of PrinceMiklós Eszterházy.The Rococo palace complex now serves a widevariety of purposes, among them opera house,puppet theatre, music hall, French garden andEnglish park. Eszterházy court composer JosephHaydn spent 25 years, around half of his productivelife, in Eszterháza, writing some of his mostfamous works at the palace, including the FarewellSymphony. During this period, Eszterháza was oneof the centres of European musical life and Haydnclearly felt at home here, once writing, “I wish to liveand die in the service of His Highness the Prince.”Today, the former residence and its lavishly decoratedrooms are open to the public with furniture, mirrors,chandeliers and statues providing a glimpse into theheight of the Rococo design movement.Complete restoration is currently in progress, butthe palace remains open to visitors. A taste of thecelebrated Eszterházy cake in the palace café is amust, while music lovers can enjoy a full programmeof events, opera performances and concerts, as wellas the annual Haydn festival. The festival in 2009promises to be extra special as it marks 200 yearssince the composer’s death.After visiting the castle, it is worth exploring theoutstanding natural beauty of Lake Fertő and theFertő-Hanság National Park, part of a UNESCOWorld Heritage site extending across the border intoAustria.www.hungary.com
HungaryPalace museums14 15FüzérradványKárolyi CastleDetails:Füzérradvány, Kossuth L. u. 4/aTel./Fax: (+36‐47) 370‐email@example.comOpening hours:April 1 – October 30.Tue.‐Sun.: 9 a.m. – 6.30 p.m.Füzérradvány H1One of the country’s largest landscaped Englishgardens provides a setting for the attractive KárolyiCastle in Füzérradvány. The site was formerlyoccupied by a town house first mentioned in officialrecords in 1626. The Károlyi family acquired theestate in 1686, which it leased out for many years.The house, which records from 1702 state had falleninto disrepair, was renovated by the leaseholders.again following World War II from 1946 to 1948,when the popular hotel and its antique furniture wereseized by the state.Today, the former residence is managed by theNational Trust of Monuments and the buildinghas been restored in several phases. The castle’sexhibitions conjure up the age of aristocracy,complete with study, kitchen, the count’s salon,bedrooms and a bathroom with a marble tub.Not far from Füzérradvány, the town of Sátoraljaújhelyboasts several sights, including its recentlyconstructed chairlift, a medieval network of windingcellars and Gothic and Baroque churches.Today’s neo-Renaissance-style castle was constructedfrom the plans of well known architect Miklós Yblby Ede Károly from 1857 to 1877. The palace waslater to become Hungary’s first castle hotel, with theidea thought to come from Mária Windisch Graetz,wife of István Károlyi.The luxury hotel opened its gates on May 8, 1938and was remarkably profitable until 1945, and thenGödöllôGrassalkovich Castle,Royal Castle MuseumDetails:Gödöllô, Szabadság tér 1.Tel.: (+36‐28) 410‐124Fax: (+36‐28) 423‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:April 1 – October 31.Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.November 1 – March 31.Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.Gödöllô E3The seven main wings and twin domes of this enormouspalace are a major stop-off point on the internationalSissy tour and can be reached from Budapest in just20 minutes. Work on the Baroque-style building wasinitiated by Count Antal Grassalkovich in 1735, wholater expanded and converted the palace in a varietyof styles. In 1785, a Baroque theatre was even installedin the residence.One of the most memorable events at the famousGödöllő Palace occurred in 1751, when Maria Theresaand her husband Francis of Lorraine spent three daysin Gödöllő on a visit to Buda. Some 20,000 peopleare said to have gathered to see them with youngnoblemen on horseback shielding the royal couplefrom the crowds. The castle grounds were gracedby 70,000 candles, lighting up the dinner held in thebanquet hall on the second floor. Members of the courtand international guests were unanimous in agreementthat they had never experienced hospitality of the kindserved up by Count Grassalkovich. In 1867, the palacepassed into state ownership, but it remained the royalsummer residence until World War I and QueenElizabeth, better known as Sissy, spent more than2,000 nights here. Up until World War II, the buildingplayed host to government officials.The building is now enjoying a new life as a royal castlemuseum, with its lavish rooms sure to leave visitorsgasping for breath. Points of interest include the studyof King Franz Joseph I, Queen Elizabeth’s changingroom and secret ground-floor salon, and, of course,the genuine Baroque-era toilet.The palace is also equipped with a well stocked giftshop, a café with fittings dating back 150 years andserving Sissy and Maria Theresa coffees, and a galleryof photos from Hungary’s golden age at the turn of the20th century. The museum is also an attractive venuefor events all year round, from classical music festivalsto the Advent Castle Days.
MartonvásárBrunszvik Castle,Beethoven Memorial MuseumDetails:Martonvásár, Brunszvik u. 2.Tel.: (+36‐22) 569‐email@example.comOpening hours:Tue.‐Fri: 10 a.m‐12 p.m. and2 p.m.‐4 p.m.Sat.‐Sun: 10 a.m‐12 p.m. and2 p.m.‐6 p.m.Park: Mon.‐Sun.: 8 a.m‐6 p.m.Martonvásár D4Martonvásár, just a short drive from Budapest, isthe location of one of Hungary’s most beautifulneo-Gothic palaces and English gardens. The coreof the residence was commissioned by SándorBeniczky in the 1730s and it was later extendedby the family of Count Brunszvik in the 1780s, whothen converted the building in the 1820s and 30s.Around 1875, the building was given an sumptuousneo-Gothic facelift, including loopholes, thin turretsand pointed arches in the windows designedto mimic those of an English castle. The famouscastle was later purchased by Crown-Price JosephHapsburg and then renowned brewer Antal Dreher.While the property was still owned by the Brunszvikfamily, Ludwig van Beethoven visited Martonvásáron several occasions to give piano lessons toCountesses Teréz and Jozefi n. Speculation stillabounds as to whether the composer was inlove with one of the girls, or indeed CountessCharlotte, or their cousin Countess GiuliettaGuicardi. Martonvásár remains the focal point ofthe Beethoven cult in Hungary to this day, withthe memorial museum in the castle displayingcountless Beethoven-related artefacts, as well ashistorical items from the Brunszvik family, such asthe family’s exquisite piano and a locket guarding alock of Beethoven’s hair.The atmospheric English park around the castlefeatures a lake with an island on which Beethovenconcerts are held by the National PhilharmonicOrchestra every summer.In addition to the castle, the town also boasts theworld’s only nursery school museum in honourof Teréz Brunszvik, who founded Hungary’s fi rstkindergarten.NagycenkSzéchenyi Palace,István Széchenyi Memorial MuseumDetails:Nagycenk, Kiscenki út 3.Tel./Fax: (+36‐99) 360‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:April 1 – October 31Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.November 1 – March 31Mon.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 5 p.m.Nagycenk A3Just outside Sopron and on the border of the LakeFertő World Heritage Site, the Nagycenk Palacewas built by generations of the Széchenyi family,highly influential noblemen who played a key rolein Hungarian history through the centuries. A stonecarving of their family crest still adorns the centralgable of the enormous Baroque building even today.The palace was constructed from a town housethat previously occupied the site around 1760 andwas extended in the late-Baroque and Classiciststyles in the late 18th century. A new wing wasadded between 1834 and 1840. István Széchenyi,often referred to as “The Greatest Hungarian”, wasresponsible not only for fi tting the castle with thelatest technologies, he also did much to moderniseHungary. His residence was the fi rst building inHungary to have gas lighting and it was among thefi rst with running water and flushing toilets installed.Innovative low ventilating cellars were employed tokeep the palace dry.The arched halls and long corridors of the buildingare now open to the public and the rooms have beendecorated with the finest furniture and antiques, aswell as artefacts connected to many of Széchenyi’sambitious projects. These include a model of hissteamboat and the silver trowel used to lay thefoundation stone of Széchenyi’s Chain Bridge inBudapest. The windows of the salon on the first flooropen onto a stunning view of the palace grounds,the country’s most beautiful Baroque French gardenwith its neatly trimmed hedges, labyrinth andfountain. The end of the garden is marked out by a2.6 kilometre avenue once lined by 645 linden trees.The palace also hosts several exhibitions worthvisiting, including one charting the history ofindustry and technology, and another exploringcurrency through the ages. The east winghouses a stud farm, while the west wing operatesas a hotel and restaurant. A short ride on theSzéchenyi narrow-gauge railway is an unforgettableexperience, especially for the children who operatethe 3.6-kilometre route.www.hungary.com
HungaryPalace museums18 19NádasdladányNádasdy Castle,Nádasdy AcademyDetails:Nádasdladány, Kastély park 1.Tel./Fax: (+36‐22) 590‐email@example.com, www.mag.huOpening hours:April 1 – November 5Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.Nádasdladány C5Nádasdladány, just a few kilometres from the M7motorway connecting Budapest to Lake Balaton,is perhaps Hungary’s most attractive neo-Gothiccastle, built in the style of the famous Tudorresidences.The castle was built from 1873 to 76 by CountFerenc Nádásdy incorporating the walls of the18th century town house belonging to CountSchniedegg. Once completed, the building wasfi tted with the most modern technologies of theday, many of them truly unique. For example, thenoble family not only used a bell attached to acord to call their servants in the cellar, there wasalso a network of pipes installed to allow them tospeak directly. This was later superseded by aninternal telephone network connecting not onlythe individual rooms, but also important serviceand staff buildings. The unique “sprinkler system”on one of the terraces also came in useful, when,by means of a secret button, guests could beshowered by a refreshing cool mist on hot summerdays.The National Trust of Monuments currentlyoperates the palace, ensuring a full programmeof events can go ahead even despite ongoingrenovation work. In part of the ground fl oor ofthe building, a cornucopia of period furniture andinteriors is on display to the public. The two mosteye-catching rooms in the palace are the woodpanelledForefathers’ Hall and the library, whichis constantly being augmented by books andpaintings dispersed throughout Europe duringWorld War II.A short walk through the castle grounds is also amust for the family’s bare-brick church built in theGothic style of northern Germany. The castle alsoprovides a venue for the Nádasdy Academy runby the descendants of the former owners of theestate.OzoraCastle,Pipo CastleDetails:Ozora, Várhegy u.Tel.: (+36‐74) 498‐firstname.lastname@example.org@gmail.comwww.mag.huOpening hours:March 15 – November 1Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.November 2 – March 14Fri.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Ozora D5‐6The recent renovation of this castle and its roomssignalled the rediscovery of one of Hungary’s hiddengems. The Ozora Palace is a genuine one-of-a-kindamong Hungarian historical buildings as most similarexamples of Renaissance architecture have onlyremained as ruins or have been rendered almostunrecognisable by subsequent reconstruction.The original Gothic building was commissioned byFlorence-born Pipo of Ozora in 1416 and evidencesuggests it was completed by 1423. Much to theamazement of King Zsigmond and his court at aroyal luncheon, the young Italian merchant wasable to calculate in a matter of minutes the costof maintaining the 12,000-strong cavalry requiredto protect Hungary’s southern border. Zsigmondentrusted Pipo with overseeing gold mining, beforesending him to the south of the country, where itemerged that Pipo was at least as talented a generalas he was as a banker. It was under his tutelage thatmilitary mastermind János Hunyadi learned to outwitthe Turks.Around 1510, the building was converted to adoptthe fashions of the Italian Renaissance, but the castlewas occupied by the Turkish invasion in 1545, onlyto be regained after a long siege in 1686. From theearly 17th century, the Eszterházy family owned thecastle and it was converted into a granary.The Pipo Castle is now operated by the NationalTrust of Monuments and has been restored in theRenaissance style with the interior courtyard andcorridors featuring reconstructed wood carvingsof the period. The museum includes the bedroomof Pipo of Ozora’s wife, the Renaissance throneroom with its fireplace, and the banquet hall. Thechapel is said to guard the bones of Saint George,while artefacts from the life of Pipo of Ozora painta picture of life under King Zsigmond on the firstfloor, complete with a collection of replica weaponsin the former arsenal, Pipo’s reconstructed armourand several hunting trophies. The 15th centuryexperience is completed by a Renaissancerestaurant and a varied programme of events in thesummer months.
Pácin, Mágochy‐Sennyey Castle,Bodrogköz Castle MuseumDetails:Pácin, KastélykertTel.: (+36‐20) 427‐24‐email@example.comOpening hours:May 1 – October 31Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.November 1 – April 30By appointment onlyPácin H2The village of Bodrogköz, squeezed betweenthe Tisza and Bodrog rivers, is home to one ofthe country’s most attractive castles. The late-Renaissance mansion was erected by GáspárMágochy for his grandson András and wascompleted by 1581. The Mágochy clan was oneof the richest aristocratic families in northernHungary thanks in part to is dealing in the winesof the famous Tokaj-Hegyalja region. The familybought wines from producers and sold them on toGergely Kálmán, the most renowned wine dealerof the day, who exported them predominantly toPoland. When Gáspár Mágochy was captured byBey Hassan, his family was able to gather up theransom of 14,000 gold pieces within just a coupleof weeks. The Mágochys were also supportersof reform and from 1584, Gáspár Károlyi, thetranslator of the fi rst Hungarian Bible, lived on theestate. In the late 16th century, Pácin was ownedby Zsigmond Rákóczy, who later became Prince ofTransylvania, before being passed to Baron FerencAlaghy, who extended the property. In 1631, thecastle came into the possession of Baron Sennyeyand the palace was rebuilt in the Romantic stylein 1856. A unique feature of the restored buildingare the two sgraffi to corner towers and the stoneframedRenaissance windows.The Bodrogköz Castle Museum reconstructs thehistorical interiors in the castle’s beam-vaultedrooms, including the intricate stone-carved stoveand three decorative ceramic fi replaces thatprovided heat in the cold winter months. Theexhibition also introduces the folk art and traditionsof Bodrogköz.The area around Bodrogköz is particularly suited tocycling tours, and the Roman-era church of Karcsashould not be missed on the way to Sárospatakand Sátoraljaújhely.SzécsényForgách Castle, Ferenc Kubinyi MuseumDetails:Szécsény, Ady Endre út 7.Tel./Fax: (+36‐32) 370‐firstname.lastname@example.orgOpening hours:Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Szécsény E2The small town of Szécsény in the Cserhát Hills isrich in historical buildings. Its Baroque castle wasbuilt around 1753 by Count Forgách, incorporatingmasonry from the medieval castle that previouslyoccupied the site. In the late 18th century, anEnglish garden was landscaped in the grounds.In the mid 19th century, the building was purchasedby Ferenc Pulszky, a famous politician during thewar of independence. In 1943, ownership of thepalace was passed to the scientist and butterfl yresearcher Baron Béla Lipthay. During WorldWar II, the fi rst fl oor was used as a Soviet militaryhospital and the salon was apparently used as anoperating theatre.The locally respected Lipthay family would haveliked to have handed over the castle to the town’smuseum in 1946, but the building was confi scatedby the state. For some time after that, the familyrented an apartment in its own castle.In the early 1970s, the building was restoredto accommodate the Ferenc Kubinyi museum.Another round of renovations followed in 2005 andthe castle now houses several exhibitions, suchas the collection of Bronze Age archaeologicalfi nds complete with a burial scene or the materialstelling stories of local castles and their battleswith the Turks. The upper class atmosphere of thecastle is brought to life in the interiors of the 19thcentury women’s quarters – a salon, reading roomand bedroom – while the north-eastern cornertower introduces the history of the castle.In the small town itself, it is worth visiting the –slightly leaning – Baroque fi re tower with its fi refighting exhibition, as well as the originally Gothic,but now predominantly Baroque Franciscanchurch and monastery. In the latter, the Gothicvaulted room in which Prince Ferenc Rákóczi IIonce stayed is open to the public.www.hungary.com
TápiószeleBlaskovich House, Blaskovich MuseumDetails:Tápiószele, Múzeum u. 13.Tel.: (+36‐53) 380‐email@example.comOpening hours:March 1 – November 15Tue.‐Sun.: 9 a.m – 5 p.m.November 15 – March 1Tue.‐Fri.: 10 a.m – 4 p.m.Tápiószele EF4HungaryKincsem, the unbeatable racehorse that recorded54 grand-prix victories and is still considered theworld’s most successful horse even today.The building now contains a charming museum oflife in the 19th century offering a unique glimpseinto the aristocratic lifestyle. Visitors can walkthrough the salon, bathroom, study, living roomand dining room. Interesting objects include acollection of pipes as smoked in historical novels,photographs from hunting trips and the furs ofbears shot in the Carpathian Mountains. A seriesof unusual wood carvings depicting Hungarian lifeand history also takes pride of place.Palace museums20 21The Blaskovich Town House in Tápiószele,unknown to most tourists, is one of the hiddengems of the Budapest area. It is among the veryfew noble residences that have retained theiroriginal furniture throughout Hungary’s turbulenthistory.The 100-year-old thatched serf’s lodge along theTápió Stream also belongs to the museum andcontains a collection of common folk artefacts.The streets of the village are also of great interestas they are lined with no less than 11 town housesfrom the days when Tápiószele was a popular hubfor noble families.The house was built by Kálmán Viczián ina historical style in 1906 and comprisespredominantly neo-Classicist design elements.The building was purchased by the Blaskovichfamily in 1912 at which time two new corner towerswere added.The cousin of the Blaskovich brothers who livedin the property was Ernő Blaskovich, owner ofVajaVay Castle, Ádám Vay MuseumDetails:Vaja, Damjanich u. 75.Tel.: (+36‐44) 385‐297Fax: (+36‐44) 385‐367vayadamm@t‐online.huwww.museum.huOpening hours:April 1 – October 31Tue.‐Sun.: 10 a.m – 6 p.m.November 1 – March 31Mon.‐Fri.: 8 a.m – 4 p.m.Vaja H2One of the oldest castles in the Great Plains regionstands in Vaja and has been owned by the Vayfamily for an astonishing 527 years. Evidencesuggests that Ábrahám Vay began work on thecastle in 1418, but the fi rst written record of theproperty only dates back to 1554. The largestsection of the residence was built in the fi rst thirdof the 16th century.Two important meetings took place in the VajaCastle during Rákóczi’s war of independence. Atthe start of the uprising in the summer of 1703,Ferenc Rákóczi II met Ádám Vay and prominentmembers of his family to ask them to side withhis Kuruc forces. In January 1711, he returnedto discuss a ceasefi re with Count János Pálffy,commander-in-chief of the Emperor’s army.Count Ábrahám Vay redeveloped the castle in theRomantic style in 1850 and the building his beenrecently restored. It currently houses a museumdisplaying furniture from Rákóczi’s time, as wellas the National Taragot Centre. The taragot isan ancient Hungarian woodwind instrumentthat gained iconic status during the war ofindependence. Members of the Rákóczi TaragotSociety are happy to teach all comers how to playthis wonderful sounding instrument. They evenhave an international conference once ever fouryears.The castle is encompassed by an ancient park,but the forecourt is decorated with a selection ofstatues of infl uential Kuruc fi gures. Vaja is alsoknown for its Gothic church with four domedtowers and its thatched folk museum.
LegendMotorwayHighwayMain roadfi rst classMain roadsecond classRailwayCastleHotels
Throughout the centuries, castles and mansions alwaysserved as a hub for the various artistic styles of the day,from the architecture itself to the fi neries of painting,sculpture, interiors and furniture. As for the aristocraticlifestyle, it had everything: theatre, music, arts and scienceall converged in these buildings, while literatureblossomed in their salons and new dance steps wereborn at their balls.Today, many of these former residences have beenconverted into castle hotels. The fi rst was briefl y operatedby the Károlyi Counts in Füzérradvány in 1938, but it wasonly until the Szapáry Castle opened its gates in 1972that Hungary could boast a second castle hotel.Since the regime change, castle tourism has rapidlygrown in popularity and by the 1990s, some 70 oldresidences had been converted into accommodation ofvarious standards.In 2005, the Castle Hotels of Hungary Association wasformed to promote the common interests of hotel operatorsand establish a shared sales network and marketingstrategy, as well as to promote castle tours.Greetings!As more noble families built castles and town housesin Hungary than anywhere else in Europe, the countryis littered with residences worth visiting. Although manywere destroyed by the battles of history, 3,500 castles,palaces and town houses are still standing today.In the name of the organisation, I hope you fi nd thisbrochure, published jointly with the Hungarian NationalTourist Offi ce, to be both informative and useful in helpingplan your tour of Hungary and fi nd accommodation alongthe way.Gyula GlaserPresident, Castle Hotels of Hungary,www.castle-hotel.huBuy aCastle Card!Accepted in 14 castlesAccepted by the Kárpátia RestaurantValid for 12 months30% discount on hotel rack rates12% discount on package prices at individual castle hotels10% or individual discount on restaurant mealsTransferableLimited issuePreference when pre‐bookingLate check‐outRoom upgradesDiscount applicable to booking of more than one roomPriced at just Ft 50,000 (€170) + VAT• Can be purchased with holiday vouchersDetailed information is available at your hotel reception and www.castle‐hotel.hu
HungaryCastle Hotels24 25Puchner Castle Hotel BikalDetails:H‐7346 Bikal, Rákóczi u. 22.Tel.: (+36‐72) 459‐546Fax: (+36‐72) 459‐firstname.lastname@example.orgBikal C6Info:Beds: 180Prices: € 97- € 260The Puchner Castle Hotel lies in a natural forest at the heart of Bikal, a village in a charmingvalley at the foot of the Mecsek Hills. The palace was built in the early 1840s by Baron AntalPuchner, general in the Emperor’s cavalry, and was fully completed in 1849. Baron Puchnerhad studied law in Pressburg (now Bratislava) before embarking on a military career that roseto its peak during the Napoleonic wars. He later received the Mária Theresa Order of Merit, oneof the highest accolades in the military.Puchner fought on the side of the Emperor in the war of independence and clashed withHungarian forces on several occasions in the 1849 winter campaign, before fi nally beingdriven from Transylvania by General József Bem.The late-Classicist residence underwent redevelopment in1861, taking on its present form in1899. The castle hotel now offers a variety of accommodation to its guests: The 19 rooms ofthe castle decorated in the style of the Habsburg monarchy are recommended to romantics,companies and groups will prefer the 32 rooms and Mediterranean atmosphere of the formerwashroom and adjacent guest houses, while those looking for joie de vivre should opt for oneof the 31 rooms in the French-style manor house. The exclusive restaurant and wine cellar willsatisfy the palate of even the most discerning gourmand, while children are sure to love pettingthe animals and frolicking in the creative playground and pool. The family rooms even have asecret cubbyhole for children.The castle grounds also feature a wellness centre with French and Moroccan baths and abeauty salon, as well as an outdoor pool, a sports centre masquerading as a medieval fortress,conference rooms and a grill terrace.
St. George Residence BudapestDetails:H‐1014 Budapest, Fortuna u. 4.Tel.: (+36‐1) 393‐5700Fax: (+36‐1) 393‐email@example.comBudapest DE4Info:Beds: 52Prices: € 119- € 750The St. George Residence in the Budapest Castle District opened its doors as the country’s first“all-suite” hotel in 2007. The hotel on the corner of Fortuna utca and Fortuna köz was created bythe consolidation of three Medieval buildings to create the Baroque Fortuna Fogadó guest housein 1784. The guest house soon became one of the focal points of Buda society, hosting diceand card games and staging theatrical performances in its columned hall. Records show that theTurkish Sultan stayed here with his entire 35-strong entourage in 1835 and the mark left by thebullet that struck the edifice during the war of independence in 1849 is still visible today.Today, the architecture and interiors of the renovated building hark back to the second half of the18th century and the frescos on the walls of the former guest house have also been restored. Forinstance, the wall to the north of the gate is painted with a rich landscape of exotic flowers, cactiand birds. Following the renovation, the hotel houses 26 apartments, an atmospheric courtyardgarden, a café, a restaurant, function rooms and a Medieval wine cellar. The large apartmentscomprise a living room, bathroom (many with a whirlpool) and a fully fitted kitchen, and areall appointed with period Empire and Chippendale furniture. The suites fall into four categories(bronze, silver, gold and diamond), but, due to the protected nature of the building, vary evenwithin categories and each have their own unique atmosphere.The Baroque function rooms and medieval wine cellar are perfect for special occasions, banquets,weddings, corporate events, and business lunches and dinners. The hotel’s internationallyrenowned chefs are equally adept at preparing contemporary and historical meals and the menucontains both à la carte options and daily specials. All the comforts of the 21st century combinedwith timeless elegance and a historical ambiance.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels26 27Hotel Klastrom GyôrDetails:H‐9021 Gyôr, Zechmeister u. 1.Tel.: (+36‐96) 516‐910Fax: (+36‐96) 327‐firstname.lastname@example.orgGyôr C3Info:Beds: 100Prices: € 55- € 90The historical Hotel Klastrom stands in Győr’s protected Baroque old town. The uniquelycalming building was originally built as a monastery by the Carmelite Order and the northernwing of the building is still occupied by monks even today. The Baroque church was originallybuilt in the 1710s and 20s and the monastery with its cross-shaped footprint was attached in1732. The Carmelite Order was founded in the 12th century on Mount Carmel in Palestine,where hermits are said to have lived since the time of the prophet Elijah. With the spread ofIslam, the order was forced to leave Mount Carmel and settled in Europe, establishing almost1,000 monasteries by the 15th century.The order entered Hungary in 1372 during the reign of King Louis the Great. The monastery inGyőr was converted into a hotel in 1987 and rooms now occupy three wings of the building.The rooms of the west wing look out on the island on the Rába River, while the remainder facethe pleasant central courtyard. The hotel’s Baroque hall was formerly the order’s library and isparticularly suited to hosting seminars and intimate press conferences.0.5kmThe hotel entrance opens directly onto the city’s pedestrian street with local sights all withineasy walking distance. These include the Bishop’s Castle with its narrow chicanes, the cathedralcontaining the exquisite herma of Saint László, a masterpiece of the medieval goldsmith’scraft said to contain fragments of the former king’s skull, the bishop’s treasury, the pharmacymuseum on the main square and the city’s many churches and museums. Younger visitorswill enjoy the Győr Zoo and the many festivals held in the city throughout the year. The RábaQuelle medicinal, thermal and amusement baths are also close by.
Hédervár Castle Hotel HédervárDetails:H‐9178 Hédervár, Fô út 47.Tel.: (+36‐96) 213‐433Fax: (+36‐96) 213‐email@example.comHédervár B3Info:Beds: 48Prices: € 47- € 130Hédervár, on the beautiful Danube island of Szigetköz to the north of the city of Győr, is one ofHungary’s oldest castle residences. Members of the Héderváry family commissioned the oldestsection of the building in the 13th century and it was later extended with Gothic and Renaissancewings. In 1658, the castle was acquired by Count Viczay and passed to by Count Károly Khuen-Héderváry, who later became prime minister of Hungary, in 1873.The alterpiece of the castle’s Baroque chapel is perhaps unique in the whole of Europe for itsdepiction of the Virgin Mary suckling the baby Jesus. Perhaps more intriguingly still, her facialfeatures closely resemble those of Maria Theresa, Queen of Hungary.The nine-hectare English park in the castle grounds contains several rare and exotic trees and issplit in two by a picturesque stream. A small island is guarded by a Centaur sculpture referred toby locals simply as “The Devil”.The Renaissance castle, considered the jewel of Szigetköz, stands in an ancient park and offersits guests the choice of 18 rooms and four apartments complete with antique furniture, paintingsand genuine Persian rugs. The reserved elegance of the “A Grófnál” (At the Count’s) restaurantand rustic cellar offer a variety of delicious meals served with exclusive wines.8 kmThe Hédervár Castle Hotel is also a venue for events of all kinds, from small family gatheringsto cultural festivals and corporate functions. A unique architectural feature of the building are itsthree “phantom doors” that never fail to enchant hotel guests. The surrounding beautiful floodedwoodland with its small islands and hidden architectural gems are perfect for tourists exploring bycar, motorbike and bicycle. The tributaries of the Danube also offer excellent fishing opportunitieswhile some hopefuls even come here to pan for gold.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels28 29Count Apponyi Castle Hotel HôgyészDetails:H‐7191 Hôgyész, Ady E. u. 2.Tel.: (+36‐74) 588‐800Fax: (+36‐74) 588‐firstname.lastname@example.orgHôgyész D6Info:Beds: 130Prices: € 80- € 215One of Hungary’s most attractive Baroque palaces finds itself nestled between the beautiful TolnaHills in the heart of a 5.5 hectares of ancient parkland. The residence was built by Count ClaudiusFlorimundus Mercy from 1722. Each of the four wings of the symmetrical residence has its ownsmaller wings at its corner. From 1773, the castle was owned by the family, Count Apponyi. A fountainand small artificial lake were added to the expansive English park in the late 18th century, butthe most interesting feature of the park is the Venus Chapel. Originally built to reflect the fashions ofthe day, it was later wrongly considered a mausoleum, probably because Count Géza Apponyi andhis wife were buried inside it.Since then the residence has been converted into a hotel without compromising the ambiance ofcenturies past. Its four deluxe and 27 standard rooms all appointed with period furniture, while theElízium, a younger building in the heart of the park, provides a further 30 rooms, of which 4 are deluxe.The castle also has four large function rooms for exclusive meetings, conferences, banquets,receptions and weddings. A unique feature of the hotel is the certified medicinal spring to be foundin the park. The healing properties of the water substantiate the wellness services and health treatments.The Mercy restaurant, named after the building’s founder, offers a wide variety of specialities,such as goose liver paté infused with cognac and served with red onion jam. Those preferring nothingmore than a slice of cake with a delicious cup of coffee or tea will enjoy the Antónia Café or, insummer, the Aroma Terrace.The Count Apponyi Castle Hotel is the perfect destination not only for couples on a weekend break,but also for corporate events and business meetings requiring a serious and exclusive – yet bothrelaxing and unusual – venue. The castle chapel is a dream wedding location and the mini-zoo inthe castle grounds is always a big hit with the younger generation.
Hertelendy Castle Hotel Kutas–KozmapusztaKontakt:H‐7541 Kutas–Kozmapuszta, 0120/4Tel.: (+36‐82) 568‐400Fax: (+36‐82) 568‐030hotel@hotel‐hertelendy.huwww.hotel‐hertelendy.huKutas–Kozmapuszta B6Info:Beds: 38Prices: € 150- € 500Some 50 kilometres from Lake Balaton, the Hertelendy Castle Hotel is one of the jewels of theTransdanubia region. The former residence is situated in the centre of a 300-hectare estatecomprising stunning parkland enveloped by beautiful forests and meadows. The palace wasbuilt by landowner Andor Hertelendy in the 1920s largely based on the Classicist style and wasthe starting point for the famous hunts still held today.The building was inhabited by the Hertelendy family until the end of World War II, when thelocal government took control of the property. The structure of the building remained unchanged,however, and it was purchased by László Hagyánek in 1997 who opened a three-star hotel in2000. Ownership of the estate changed hands again in 2004 when a Swiss investor came in toopen the region’s first five-star hotel in 2007. In addition to the lap of luxury, the hotel offers gueststhe calm and balance of nature and a world far removed from the hustle and bustle of city life.The homely atmosphere of the castle is carefully combined with refined elegance and almostevery service imaginable, including riding, golf, hot-air ballooning, conference facilities, a choiceof rooms, suites and apartments, and a spa and wellness area fed by natural thermal water. In thekitchen, meals are prepared with the finest ingredients from the hotel’s own organic farm. The twoconference rooms and specially landscaped areas of the park provide the perfect backdrop forboth business and family events.It is a tradition of the Hertelendy Castle Hotel to offer newly-weds the gift of a tree and a plaque tobe planted on the grounds to celebrate their love and mark the beginning of a new life together.The gesture also signifies that even a one-time guest to the Hertelendy Castle Hotel is considereda family member forever.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels30 31Mádi Kúria Hotel MádDetails:H‐3909 Mád, Rákóczi út 48.Tel.: (+36‐47) 548‐400Fax: (+36‐47) 548‐email@example.comMád G2Info:Beds: 50Prices: € 55- € 90The village of Mád in the famous wine region of Tokaj has been listed as a UNESCO WorldHeritage Site since 2002, but was offi cially registered as a market town centuries ago. Onseeing the lush fi elds from a hilltop, Árpád, leader of the Hungarian tribes that settled theCarpathian Basin, gifted the land to two of his top commanders.The building that houses the Mád Kúria Hotel was originally erected as the headquarters of thelocal savings bank formed in 1872. It was fully completed in the 1890s in a historic style withelements of neo-Baroque and neo-Renaissance design.Restored to its former glory, the town house is now home to a comfortable, modern hotel andrestaurant. The superior three-star accommodation comprises 24 brand-new rooms and the50-seat restaurant boasts a menu to do justice to the region’s fi nest wines. The Mád KúriaHotel caters to family and business weekends, training sessions and management meetings.After hours, there is ample opportunity to unwind with a glass or two of wine in its pleasantcellar.40 kmThe hotel is the ideal starting point for tours into the ancient winemaking villages of the region,including wine tasting and cellar tours, and hikes in the thick forests of the Zemplén Hills.A unique feature of Mád is the quality of the its town houses constructed from the profi ts of thelocal wine industry. The network of connected cellars beneath them with their special mouldcoatedwalls provide the perfect conditions for the region’s exquisite wines.
Pallavicini Castle Hotel PusztaradványDetails:H‐3874 Pusztaradvány,Kossuth Lajos u. 11.Tel.: (+36‐46) 448‐173Fax: (+36‐46) 448‐firstname.lastname@example.orgPusztaradvány G1Info:Beds: 20Prices: € 88- € 128 per room, per nightThe Pallavicini Castle Hotel stands in an expanse of naturally forested parkland in the centre ofPusztaradvány, a small town in nestled along the winding valley of the Mogyorós stream in theCserhát Hills. The rectangular foundations of this largely neo-Classicist building were markedon a military map produced as early as 1856-60.The man who commissioned the construction, Marquis János Pallavicini, made a name forhimself as a diplomat in Belgrade, Munich and Saint Petersburg. He was later appointedambassador to Bucharest and Constantinople and deputised for the incapacitated CountAehrenthal as Hungarian foreign minister to the Monarchy in 1911. The rooms and apartmentsof the castle hotel have been named after the cities Pallavicini was posted to during hiscareer.The interiors of the building with their painstakingly restored furniture and paintings of theperiod remain faithful to the styles of the turn of the 20th century. In addition, the light fi ttingsin the rooms, corridors and shared areas are not mass produced, instead, they are restoredexamples of applied design dating back over a century – making the hotel a veritable lampmuseum. The individual rooms are almost as unique and designed to serve a wide varietyof needs, from generously furnished apartments to airy twin bedrooms with spare beds andliving spaces with rooms opening onto one another.Another unique feature of the hotel is its winter wall heating that converts into an effectivecooling system in the summer months. The billiards room with its fi replace and bar allowsguests to imagine just what it must have been like to have been a successful diplomat in theAustro-Hungarian monarchy. The lush 1.5-hectare castle grounds contain trees that date backat least as far, as well as a spring, a lake and barbecue facilities. Further afi eld, the spectacularAggtelek stalactite cave and wilds of the Zemplén Hills both make great day-trips.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels32 33Fried Castle Hotel SimontornyaDetails:H‐7081 Simontornya, Malom u. 33.Tel.: (+36‐74) 486‐560Fax: (+36‐74) 486‐email@example.comSimontornya D6Info:Beds: 60Prices: € 49- € 149The village of Simontornya is home to Hungary’s only Secession Castle Hotel situated in theheart of a park extending across several hectares. The building was erected by Imre Friedand his wife Margit Gottlieb in the mid-1920s, with work completed in 1926. Local legend hasit that the wealthy leather merchant decided to embark on the project on the occasion of animportant wedding anniversary. The funds were at hand, the Fried family had owned Hungary’slargest leather factory in Simontornya for fi ve generations since it was founded in 1780.Imre Fried was also an avid hunter and a separate room has been set aside next to the towerfor his collection of weapons. It is said the tower was his favourite place in the castle as heloved to sit there looking over his estate and monitoring the fl ooding of the River Sió eachspring.The relaxing ambiance of the castle will suit those looking to be at one with nature and strollamong the nearby vineyards, woodlands and lakes. Inside, the exquisite hand-carved furnitureand staircase are guarded by enormous dragons fashioned from mahogany, rose and ebony.Guests will also appreciate the hotel’s excellent cuisine next to a bottle of fi ne wine in the romanticcandlelight of the restaurant. The wellness wing offers yet another way to unwind withits heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a Finnish sauna and expert masseurs.Guests are also invited to take a horse-drawn coach ride back in time to taste the hotel’s winesin its own cellar and enjoy a traditional goulash cooked over an open fi re. The Renaissancecastle of Simontornya is also nearby and is one of the surrounding area’s unmissable sights.20 km
Kapitány Wellness Hotel SümegDetails:H‐8330 Sümeg, Tóth Tivadar u. 19.Tel.: (+36‐87) 550‐166Fax: (+36‐87) 550‐firstname.lastname@example.orgSümeg B5Info:Beds: 150+20Prices: € 55- € 85The Kapitány Wellness Hotel was built in 2005 at the foot of the Sümeg Mountain and its famouscastle. The historic environs of the four-star hotel represent an excellent opportunity to take a tripback into Medieval times. Nonetheless, the luxurious rooms and apartments are all fitted withtelevisions, minibars, telephones and Internet connections, while the wellness area is equippedwith eastern-style pools and invigorating saunas and steam baths. A variety of services are alsoavailable, including several types of massage, beauty treatments and refreshing and relaxingmedicinal baths. The restaurant’s winter garden is the scene of bountiful buffet breakfasts anddinners, while à la carte dining is available in the Medieval-themed restaurant.The most popular event booked at the hotel has always been the Medieval dinner and knights’tournament, but the hotel also hosts Medieval-style weddings. The newly-weds arrive at the knights’arena in an ornamental carriage and take their place in the royal box to watch the ceremonyunfold. Afterwards, a guns are fired from the castle above the arena to mark the happy occasion.The groom is then anointed a knight of the castle before the festivities can begin in earnest with abanquet fit for a Medieval king – consumed, of course, without the use of knives and forks. Oncethe dust has settled, the couple retires to the exclusive Kapitány Hotel honeymoon suite.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels34 35Festetich Castle Hotel SzelesteDetails:H‐9622 Szeleste, Arany János u.Tel.: (+36‐95) 565‐001Fax: (+36‐95) 365‐email@example.comSzeleste B4Info:Beds: 76Prices: € 65- € 135The 150-year-old Festetich Castle Hotel and the adjacent modern Zsuzsanna Hotel are located ina 13.5 hectare arboretum at the top of a gentle slope. The engraving on the spire states that thecastle was built in 1855 by landowner László Szentgyörgyi-Horváth, who amassed considerabledebts – presumably in financing the construction work – and was forced to sell the furniture to hisown wife to prevent it being seized by his creditors. According to the inventory taken at the time,the blue, green, red and black salons, as well as the other expensively furnished rooms, containeda total of 95 gold-framed paintings and mirrors.The residence, built in the Romantic style with neo-Gothic elements, was bought by CountAndor Festetics, who later became Hungary’s agriculture minister. It was the count who beganto landscape the castle park in the English style, before the property was purchased by learnedbotanist Baron Mihály Baich. The baron invested almost his entire income into developing thepark.Even after extensive renovation, the castle has maintained its old-world atmosphere, althoughthe level of service meets the highest standards. The delightful restaurant serves an excellentselection of Hungarian and international dishes with friendly service and at reasonable prices andthe function rooms are equally suited to weddings, receptions, anniversary, birthday and otherparties, as well as family reunions and business events.The attached Zsuzsanna Hotel is connected to a spring delivering water at 55°C from a depth of1260 metres. It has both indoor and outdoor massage and swimming pools, the use of which arefree of charge for guests. Thanks to its high salt content, the water is highly effective in easing jointpains and treating skin diseases, locomotive, heart and circulatory complaints.
Andrássy Kúria Wine & Spa Hotel TarcalDetails:H‐3915 Tarcal, Fô u. 94.Tel.: (+36‐47) 580‐015Fax: (+36‐47) 580‐firstname.lastname@example.orgTarcal G2Info:Beds: 40 rooms and one presidential suitePrices: € 120- € 140The Andrássy town house in Tarcal was built in the second half of the 18th century in the Baroquestyle before being converted in line with the Classicist fashion of the early 19th century. The hotelalso underwent considerable redevelopment and renovation prior to opening its doors in May2008. With 40 rooms and a presidential suite attached to the Andrássy Winery and vineyards, thehotel is intended to serve professional and leisure wine tourism of every kind, from cellar tours andwinetasting to harvest and factory viewings and presentations on local winemaking processes.The hotel’s four-star rating, highly qualified staff and excellent catering and wellness servicesguarantee an enjoyable and pleasant stay for couples and groups alike. The hotel offers 2 standardrooms, 33 superior suites, 3 deluxe twin bedrooms, 2 junior suites and one 100 m² presidentialsuite. The rooms offer panoramic views of the Tokaj vineyards and the Terézia Chapel, while thepresidential suite opens onto Tokaj valley. The VinoSense Spa is Hungary’s first vinotherapy wellnesscentre employing grape and seed extracts to prevent and slow skin ageing. Further treatmentsinclude baths enriched with Tokaj wine extracts and essential oils, and nourishing mineral skinpacks.The wellness area contains Finnish, infra-red and bio-saunas, a steam bath, aromatherapy, colourtherapy, a salt chamber, a whirlpool, a swimming pool and jet showers. The winter garden is ideal forsunbathing and the massage elements in the cellar bath offer a unique experience. The Passionerestaurant menu combines local and international cuisine, and includes dishes prepared with Tokajwines and pastries and cakes baked on site. The hotel also boasts excellent function facilities: Theconference room has capacity for 100 guests and smaller meeting rooms are equipped with thelatest technology for both business and family events. The surrounding protected area also offerscountless leisure options, from woodland and river tours to fi shing and hunting.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels36 37Gróf Degenfeld Castle Hotel TarcalDetails:H‐3915 Tarcal, Terézia kert 9.Tel.: (+36‐47) 580‐400Fax: (+36‐47) 580‐email@example.comTarcal G2Info:Beds: 42Prices: € 105- € 160The building, situated in Tarcal and part of the Tokaj-Hegyalja UNESCO World Heritage Site,started life in 1870 as the headquarters of the Hungarian Royal College of Viticulture andWinemaking. Today, the interiors of the hotel rooms achieve a harmony of Empire furniture,antique carpets and carefully selected colours. Antique chairs and desks, old paintings andVenice chandeliers also conjure up a 19th century atmosphere in the salon and library.The hotel takes its name from Count Degenfeld-Schonburg, a family of Swiss provenancethat was appointed to the rank of baron in 1625 before being elevated to Count status by theMonarchy when Kristóf Degenfeld was made Royal State Minister of Prussia in 1716. Of thebranch of the family that settled in Hungary, Count Imre Degenfeld, who also owned land inTokaj, was head steward of Szabolcs County during the 1848-49 war of independence and150 of his subjects fought in the army. The family played an important role in the Tokaj regionas early as the mid 19th century and continues to produce excellent wines on its 100-hectareestate.In addition to enjoying the hospitality of the Castle Hotel, guests should by all means experiencethe rich history of the ancient winemaking towns of Tarcal and Tokaj at the foot of Tokaj Hill.The Degenfeld family recently also bought back and fully renovated the Degenfeld Palace onTokaj’s picturesque main square. It has since been converted into the Degenfeld Restaurantand conference centre.
Batthyány Castle Hotel ZalacsányDetails:H‐8782 Zalacsány,Csány László u. 24.Tel.: (+36‐83) 537‐000Fax: (+36‐83) 537‐037wellness@t‐online.huwww.wellnesskastely.huZalacsány B5Info:Beds: 85Prices: € 32- € 62The Batthyány Castle Hotel is conveniently situated near the Hévíz thermal lake, the Kehidakustánybaths and Lake Balaton. The Sármellék international airport is also only a shortdrive away.The Baroque town house at the heart of today’s building was constructed by the Csány fa milyin the 18th century. László Csány, who served as commissioner and minister of transport duringthe 1848-49 war of independence, was born here. After the uprising was crushed, he wassummoned before the military court of Austrian general Baron Julius Jacob von Haynau andsentenced to death by hanging in October 1849, just four days after the execution of the 13martyrs of Arad.The residence took on today’s historical form in 1913, with the neo-Renaissance and neo-Baroquestyle elements selected by the keen eyes of politician Pál Batthyány and Count JózsefBatthyány. The hotel is also surrounded by an ancient park containing trees that have stoodfor centuries.The recently renovated castle hotel is connected to its own thermal spring supplying waterto its indoor and outdoor jet baths. Guests also have the use of the sauna and whirlpool, aswell as access to an outstanding restaurant and bar. Tastefully appointed apartments are alsoavailable in the villa adjacent to the main building and both the castle and park are ideallysuited to conferences, weddings and garden parties. The castle also makes for an ideal startingpoint for riding tours into the surrounding countryside, fi shing trips and sailing on LakeBalaton.www.hungary.com
HungaryCastle Hotels, Restaurant38 39Kárpátia Restaurant & BrasserieBudapestDetails:H‐1053 Budapest,Ferenciek tere 7‐8.Tel.: (+36‐1) 317‐3596Fax: (+36‐1) 318‐firstname.lastname@example.orgBudapest DE4One of Hungary’s oldest restaurants, the Kárpátia Restaurant in the centre of the Hungariancapital has been a fl agship of Hungarian gastronomy since 1877. In addition to traditionaldishes, the menu features modern takes on Hungarian cuisine, making it a popular spot forlocals and tourists alike. The live gypsy music of Lajos Sárközi and his band are also a majordraw.The Kárpátia occupies a palatial building erected on the site of a former Franciscan monasteryand its early 20th century interiors enjoy protected status. The hand-carved, stained-glasswindows, gilded walls and historical paintings restore the romantic atmosphere of Hungary’sgolden age while the breezy terrace in the Ferenciek (Fraciskan) courtyard is refreshingly coolin the stifl ing summer months. Anyone who has visited the Kárpátia will know that no otherBudapest restaurant achieves such a perfect harmony of enchanting historical ambiance andthe fi nest in Hungarian cuisine.The Kárpátia Söröző (beer hall) is also a favourite venue for friends, colleagues and families tospend a few happy minutes or hours in the company of excellent food. At the turn of the 20thcentury, the “pub” was a second home to the famous Hungarian authors Kálmán Mikszáth andZsigmond Móricz. Frigyes Karinthy was also a regular.The Kárpátia also caters outside events, such as gala dinners and receptions in museums,palaces and galleries.
ASSUR KFT.H-1117 Budapest, Budafoki út 183.www.assur.huKiko Művészeti Bt.www.komaromipisti.huB + N Referencia KFT.H-2193 Galgahévíz, Szabadság u. 68/b.Telefon: (+36-28) 591-570, 591-571LATEX 2000 ZRt.H-9700 Szombathely, Írottkő u. 1.Tel.: (+36-20) 37-99-387, 98-28-932CosmapedH-1221 Budapest, Ady Endre út 81-83.www.langermann.huLife - Guard Kft.H-1205 Budapest, Alpár u. 2.www.lifeguard.huAlois DallmayrAutomaten – Service Kft.H-1188 Budapest, Nagykőrösi út 24.www.dallmayr.huA. T. LINEANTIKA KFT.H-2089 Telki, Harangvirág u. 15.www.lineantika.comEricom Kft.H-2360 Gyál, Csontos József u. 43.Mobil: (+36-30) 931-8904Milora InterieurH-1139 Budapest, Lomb u. 27/b.www.milora.huGAWER ConsultingH-1143 Budapest, Stefánia út 17.www.dvmediatori.euNeckermannUtazás Szolgáltató Kft.H-1118 Budapest, Dayka Gábor u. 5.www.neckermann.huH-Clean SystemH-1156 Budapest, Páskomliget u. 18.www.h-cleansystem.huProgast Kft.H-1126 Budapest, Németvölgyi út 6.www.progast.huHistoric Hotels of Europewww.historichotelsofeurope.comTop TradeH-1149 Budapest, Angol u. 77.www.toptrade.huwww.hungary.com
HungaryPartners, Contents40 41Greeting 2Fortresses 3Palace museums 13Map 22Castle hotels 24Restaurant 39Partners 40Know before you go 42InternetTennisArea of specialnatural interestRestaurantPlaygroundHuntingCafé or barConferencingtechnologyAir conditioningLoungePool roomOn-site healthcareGarageCoveredswimming poolChildcareWine barFishingOpen-air swimming poolMedicinal springs(distance in km)Non-smokingDisabled facilitiesSaunaLive musicSolariumGymPaddling poolSafeRidingWhirlpoolVegetarianTelevisionWellnessMini-barPet-friendlyFamily-friendlyMassageCyclingTaxiBeauty salonPublished by the Hungarian National Tourist Office in collaboration with Castle Hotels of Hungary.Text: Dr. Zsolt VirágLayout: Csilla Szabó, Beyer KreatívMap: Topográf Kft., 2009., www.topograf.huPrinting: Komáromi Nyomda és Kiadó Kft.Distributed free of chargePrices given in this document are for information purposes only. For precise details, please contact the provider directly.Please note that the categories displayed alongside the names of the hotels are assigned according to GovernmentDecree No. 54/2003 (VIII 29). The decree can be viewed on the Hungarian National Tourist Office website(www.hungary.com) and on the Hotel Association of Hungary website (www.hah.hu).
Know before you goTransportStanding at the centre of Europe, Hungary is well served bytransport links from abroad. The main international airports areBudapest Ferihegy (bud.hu), FlyBalaton Airport (flybalaton.hu)near Lake Balaton and Airport Debrecen in the East.Budapest is linked to 15 European capital cities by train, directlyor with changes. It has three main railway stations from which youcan take Express and InterCity trains to all the main tourist regions(www.mav-start.hu).In addition, there are numerous bus routes around the countryoperated by the Hungarian company Volánbusz; these can bepicked up from three main bus stations in the capital.You can reach Budapest by boat (see mahartpassnave.hufor further information) from Vienna and Bratislava duringthe summer; you can also take ferries for day trips to theDanube Bend.TimeCentral European Time (GMT + 1)ClimateHungary has a temperate climate, similar to the rest of thecontinental zone. January is the coldest month (-1°C average)and August the warmest (21.3°C average).Representation of theHungarian National Tourist OfficeAustriaUngarisches TourismusamtE-mail: email@example.comBelgiumOffi ce du Tourisme de HongrieToeristische Dienst van HongarijeE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgChinaEmbassy of theHungarian Republic in BeijingE-mail: email@example.comCzech RepublicMadarská TuristikaE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgDenmarkUngarns TuristrådE-mail: email@example.comFranceOffi ce du Tourisme de HongrieE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgGermanyUngarisches TourismusamtE-mail: email@example.com@firstname.lastname@example.orgItalyUffi cio Turistico UnghereseE-mail: email@example.comIsraelHungarian National Tourist Offi ceE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgJapanHungarian National Tourist Offi ceE-mail: email@example.comPolandNarodowe Przedstawicielstwo TurystykiWęgierskiejE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgRomaniaOfi ciul de Turism al Ungariei–ReprezentanţăE-mail: email@example.comRussiaБюро Советника по туризму ВенгрииE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org, www.spavengria.comSlovakiaVel’vyslanectvo Mad’arskej republikyObchodná·kanceláriaE-mail: email@example.comSpainOfi cina Nacional de Turismo de HungríaE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgSweden(with Estonia, Finland, Latvia,Lithuania, Norway)Ungerska Turistbyrån i NordenE-mail: email@example.comSwitzerlandUngarisches TourismusamtOffi ce du Tourisme de HongrieE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgThe NetherlandsHongaars VerkeersbureauE-mail: email@example.comUkraineПосольство Угорської РеспублікиІнформаційне бюро «Угорщина-туризм»E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgUK & IrelandHungarian National Tourist Offi ceE-mail: email@example.comUnited States of AmericaHungarian National Tourist Offi ceE-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgIf you need further assistance, would like to request some of our brochures and maps, please feel free to contact the Hungarian National Tourist Officeor call our 24hr hotline: 00800 36 000 000 (free call from Austria, Germany, Switzerland, France, UK, Ireland, USA).www.hungary.com
Hungarofest – KLASSZ Music Office presents:Haydn Year 2009A classical music programme series all around the year to celebrate thebicentenary of Joseph Haydn’s death,who created for years at EszterházaBecause in Hungary MUSIC is written in capital letters!140 events, 134 classical music concerts,30 star performers and orchestras13 cities throughout Hungary and abroadMain ProgrammesKLASSZ – MR festival with star performers of the classical music,co-operation between Hungarofest – KLASSZ Music Office and Radio Bartók29–31 May 2009, Esterhazy residence at FertôdHaydn Maraton at Millenáris Park, classical music and cross-over concerts,musical programmes for childrenWorld Creation Day throughout the country31 May 2009 at Budapest, Esztergom, Gyôr and Pécs12 th Haydn at Eszterháza Festival with international known artists,and programmes for children and families28 August 2009 – 6 September 2009, Esterházy residence, FertôdHaydn Yubilee Year 2009 is organised by Hungarofest Kht – Klassz Musical OfficeFor further information please contact our websitewww.haydn-2009.huwww.klassz.org
Pécs, the Borderless CityPécs, the centre of the South Transdanubian Region in Hungary is going to bear the title of European Capital of Culturein 2010. The notion of the borderless city carries the message of openness in all fields of life, as well as the ability toincorporate and be receptive.While walking the streets of Pécs, the 2000- year-old history will present itself: the traces of the old city from theRoman Age, the Early Christian Necropolis, the first Hungarian university, the inner city of the Middle Ages surroundedby a wall, the Turkish mosques, the cathedral with the related buildings, the Zsolnay Quarter, the Museum Quarter inKáptalan street – the cultural variegation of European history.Pécs hosts numerous festivals and other cultural events year after year, which characterizes the traditionally vividintellectual life of the city.In 2010 Pécs will celebrate as European Capital of Culture, presenting its genuine treasures to the world: the culturalheritage of the city as well as its aptitude for innovation.Come and visit our city, because:— Pécs is a multicultural city— Pécs is the city of lively public spaces— Pécs is the city of cultural heritage and cultural innovation— Pécs is the city of Hungarian regionalism— Pécs is a cultural gatewayPécs, the borderless city welcomes you!www.pecs2010.hu