Views
1 year ago

Slipstream - October 2013

The monthly newsletter of the Maverick Region of the Porsche Club of America

President John Hamilton

President John Hamilton C-817-907-7823 president@mavpca.org John enjoys DEs, Happy Hours, the Porsche Parade, and other social events. He and wife Chris have owned Porsches since 1996 and joined the Club in 2002. John’s Grandfather in New Jersey owned a 1960 356B Coupe and later a 1965 356SC Cab which is how it got into his blood. POSITION CHAIRPERSON AX Chair Travis Howard TT Chair Travis Howard AX/TT Registrar Robyn Howard AX/TT Rules Charlie Davis AX/TT Schools Robyn Howard AX/TT Tech Insp Jeff Herrmann AX/TT Workers Robyn Howard Charity Chair Chris Hamilton Club Race Co-Chair Joel Nannis Club Race Co-Chair Pat Heptig Club Race Ads/PR Jim Buckley Club Race Registrar Wendy Shoffit Concours Chair Andy Kay DE Chair (outgoing) Lori Mauthe DE Chair (incoming) Chris Tabor DE Chief Drvng Instr. John Sandusky DE Equip. Mgr. Luke Edson DE Registrar Joel Nannis DE Safety Bob Benson Email List Moderator Bob Benson Goodie Store Pat Friend Happy Hours Mike Farrar Histographer, Tenured Charlie Davis Mentors Monda Hanna Membership Susan and Tom Froehlich On-line Calendar Brendan Eagan Past President Mike Brodigan Public Relations Linda Bambina Slipstream Advertising Pat Friend Editor Carey Spreen Event Ad Design Christy Payne Mailing & Tech. Andy Mears Printing Fran Ussery Content Wrangler Linda Bambina Mentor Wendy Shoffit Social Chair Tracy Robertson Sponsorship Keith Olcha Sunday Drives John Harvey, Brendan Eagan Swap Meets Robyn Howard Tech Sessions Ed Mullenix Trivia Chair Jerry DeFeo Website Denny Payne 4 October Vice President Gareth Maurice C-817-821-2940 vp@mavpca.org Gareth still remembers the cover of the car magazine that drew him into a lifetime of loving cars. He spent many afternoons riding his bike as a young kid to the local newsstand to buy and read everything he could. He now owns a Midnight Blue 911S and enjoys driving it in wonderful Texas! Linda Bambina 214-616-1936 pr@mavpca.org Bob Benson 817-457-8833 bbenson1@airmail.net Mike Brodigan 817-233-0068 Jim Buckley cr@mavpca.org Charlie Davis chuxter@1derful.info Jerry DeFeo 972-240-5800 trivia@mavpca.org Luke Edson 214.796.2241 ledson@edsontech.com Mike Farrar hh@mavpca.org Pat Friend 214-616-2477 ads@mavpca.org goodiestore@mavpca.org Susan & Tom Froehlich membership@mavpca.org Chris Hamilton hope@mavpca.org Secretary Renee Farinella C-972-571-4412 secretary@mavpca.org Renee works in healthcare, and enjoys fundraising for the military’s CarryTheLoad.org. Her passion for cars manifests in how to integrate the highperformance driving experience into relationship building. She says, “Can a Porsche BE too loud on a Sunday drive? The hills are aliiive with the sound of music!” Renee owns a 2008 Boxster. Monda Hanna 972-450-4341 monda.hanna@ubs.com John Harvey 214-808-1414 tours@mavpca.org rocky@airmail.net Jeff Herrmann 254-338-1758 Rider81@embarqmail.com Carl.G.Herrmann@us.army.mil Robyn Howard 214-991-0873 ax@mavpca.org drivingschools@mavpca.org Travis Howard 214-616-6152 tt@mavpca.org ax@mavpca.org Pat Heptig cr@mavpca.org Andy Kay concours@mavpca.org Lori Mauthe de@mavpca.org Andy Mears 214-394-5857 andy@mavpca.org Ed Mullenix 972-231-5356 techcorner@mavpca.org Please help us to keep growing! Treasurer Jim Falgout W-972-669-2370 C-972-345-3009 treasurer@mavpca.org Jim joined Maverick Region in August, 2008. He drives a 1992 968 cabriolet, which is the second Porsche he has owned. Jim enjoys attending Maverick Region social and driving events. Joel Nannis deregistrar@mavpca.org cr@mavpca.org Brendan Eagan calendar@mavpca.org Keith Olcha W - 817-706-7678 H - 817-251-6865 keitholcha@verizon.net Denny Payne webmaster@mavpca.org Tracy Robertson 817-300-3340 social@mavpca.org John Sandusky 817-777-0421 john.c.sandusky@lmco.com James Shoffit 972-786-6246 james@shoffit.com Wendy Shoffit H- 972-506-7449 C- 972-977-9821 crreg@mavpca.org Carey Spreen 817-422-3480 editor@mavpca.org rally@mavpca.org Chris Tabor 817-371-4888 de@mavpca.org Fran Ussery W-972-438-8344 H-817-481-8342 fran@usseryprinting.com

Carey On... By Carey Spreen, Managing Editor Our Fall season is now in full swing, with several events scheduled for October -- how many can you attend? Saturday, Oct 5 is our Cars & Cattle Poker Rally and Concours d’Non-Elegance (see ad below for details). Wondering what the heck that is? A Poker Run is a type of rally in which participants stop at various locations along the route and pick up a playing card. At the end of the route, whoever has the best poker hand wins. As for the Concours d’Non-Elegance -- well, it’s a car show at a working cattle ranch. ‘Nuf said? Sunday the 6th is our annual Time Trial held at MotorSport Ranch. If you haven’t registered by the time you read this, it’s probably too late! The next weekend consists of our annual Swap Meet on Saturday the 12th, again hosted by Zim’s Autotechnik in Bedford. Got a part you no longer need, or are you looking for a used part for the right price? The Swap Meet is great for both. Sunday the 13th is a redux of the very popular Sunday Drive to the San Martiño Winery in Rockwall that was held in 2011. John Harvey’s Sunday Drive crew has chosen a route that they know you will enjoy, to be followed by a picnic lunch (which you bring with you); the winery asks that you purchase a bottle of wine, as there are no outside beverages allowed. They also offer wine tastings at $8 for five samples. The weekend of Oct 26-27 is when Maverick Region hosts its PCA Club Race and DE at Eagles Canyon Raceway. If you have never attended a Club Race and are interested in finding out more about it, come on out to Eagles Canyon, north of Decatur, to see what it’s all about. We can always use volunteers as well, so if you feel like contributing your time and seeing what goes on behind the scenes, contact Wendy Shoffit at crreg@mavpca.org to see what positions need filling. Finally, our annual Founders’ Day banquet will be held this year on Saturday, Nov 2 -- see the ad on page 17 for details. This year’s event, our 51st, will be a return to normal for us after last year’s big 50th Anniversary blowout, but it will be a fitting look back at the year nonetheless. Read on! 5

Slipstream - October 2011
Slipstream - October 2003
Slipstream - October 2006
Slipstream - October 2015
Slipstream - September 2015
Slipstream - October 2014
Slipstream - October 2016
Slipstream - July 2011
Slipstream - July 2012
Slipstream - April 2014
Slipstream - July 2015
Slipstream - October 2001
Slipstream - September 2003
Slipstream - February 2016
Slipstream - June 2007
Slipstream - October 2007
Slipstream - July 2013
Slipstream - October 2017
Slipstream - October 2008
Slipstream - September 2012
Slipstream - December 2013
Slipstream - June 2013
Slipstream - October 2009
Slipstream - May 2016
Slipstream - September 2013
Slipstream - January 2013
Slipstream - February 2013
Slipstream - June 2010
Slipstream - March 2010
Slipstream - May 2011