5 months ago

Government Security News January 2017 Digital Edition

Government Security News January 2017 Digital Edition. Available on the GSN Magazine Website at

More than 170 members of

More than 170 members of House of Representatives join effort to create independent commission to investigate foreign interference in U.S. elections WASHINGTON, DC – Jan 6, 2017, Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15), the Ranking Member of the CIA Subcommittee of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, and Rep. Elijah Cummings (MD- 07), the Ranking Member of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, are reintroducing their Protecting Our Democracy Act to establish an independent, bipartisan commission to investigate foreign interference in the 2016 election. They originally introduced their legislation on December 7, 2016, at the end of the 114th Congress. Since then, they have obtained the support of more than 170 Members of the House of Representatives, including Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi, Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer, and all members of House Democratic leadership; the Ranking Members of all House Committees; and all Democratic members of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. Their bill would create a 12-member, bipartisan, independent commission empowered to interview witnesses, obtain documents, issue subpoenas, and receive public testimony to examine attempts by the Russian government or others to use electronic means to influence, interfere with, or undermine trust in last year’s U.S. elections. The commission would examine any similar efforts by any other foreign governments or entities and would issue a final report with recommendations to Congress and the President within 18 months of enactment. “There’s overwhelming agreement across America that our democracy was attacked this past presidential election. Now everyone’s asking what our nation’s leaders will do about it. Our legislation answers that question by identifying who was responsible and telling Americans what we will do to secure our next election,” said Ranking Member Swalwell. “We continue to seek Republican cosponsors because this Elijah E. Cummings, Ranking Member of House Committee on Government Oversite must be about country, not party. If we do nothing, we are telling the world our elections are open for influence by the most aggressive meddler. With 17 intelligence agencies agreeing that Russia interfered in our election, we most move quickly to have an independent, bipartisan, depoliticized commission to fully examine the circumstances, inform the public of its findings, and develop a plan to prevent this from ever happening again.” “The most senior leaders of our Intelligence Community testified yesterday that Russia interfered in our elections, which Republicans and Democrats alike have compared to an act of war,” said Ranking Member Cummings. “This grave threat calls for a truly bipartisan and independent commission that can put politics aside and conduct a complete review of this interference in our democratic process, and make concrete recommendations to protect our nation from being un- 4

dermined by any foreign power. We cannot allow this to become the new normal for what we will accept as Americans.” The 12 members of the independent commission would be appointed within 90 days of enactment of the Swalwell- Cummings bill by the Speaker of the House (3), Senate Majority Leader (3), House Minority Leader (3), and Senate Minority Leader (3). The commission would choose a chair and vice chair of different Steny Hoyer, Democratic Whip parties. No federal officers or employees would be eligible to serve on the commission. Appointees would be prominent U.S. citizens with national recognition and significant depth of experience in governmental service, law enforcement, armed services, law, public administration, intelligence gathering, foreign affairs, cybersecurity, and federal elections. This week, a bipartisan group of former senior intelligence and defense officials – including former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, former Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta, former Acting Director of Central Intelligence Michael Morrell, and former Member of Congress and 9/11 Commission Vice Chair Lee Hamilton – sent a letter urging Congress to create an “independent, bipartisan commission” to “understand fully and publicly what happened, how we were so vulnerable, and what we can do to protect our democracy in future elections.” The bill’s original cosponsors include: 1.Eric Swalwell 2.Elijah Cummings 3.Sheila Jackson Lee 4.Alma Adams 5.Pete Aguilar 6.Nanette Barragan 7.Karen Bass 8.Joyce Beatty 9.Sanford Bishop 10.Earl Blumenauer 11.Lisa Blunt-Rochester 12.Suzanne Bonamici 13.Madeleine Bordallo 14.Brendan Boyle 15.Robert Brady 16.Anthony Brown 17.Julia Brownley 18.Cheri Bustos 19.G.K. Butterfield 20.Michael Capuano 21.Salud Carbajal 22.Tony Cardenas 23.Matt Cartwright 24.Andre Carson 25.Kathy Castor 26.Joaquin Castro 27.Judy Chu 28.David Cicilline 29.Katherine Clark 30.Yvette Clarke 31.William Lacy Clay 32.Emanuel Cleaver 33.James Clyburn 34.Steve Cohen 35.Gerald E Connolly 36.John Conyers, Jr. 37.Jim Cooper 38.J. Luis Correa 39.Jim Costa 40.Joe Courtney 41.Joseph Crowley 42.Henry Cuellar 43.Danny K. Davis 44.Susan Davis 45.Peter DeFazio 46.Diana DeGette 47.John Delaney 48.Rosa DeLauro 49.Mark DeSaulnier 50.Theodore Deutch 51.Debbie Dingell 52.Lloyd Doggett 53.Michael Doyle 54.Keith Ellison 55.Eliot Engel 56.Anna Eshoo 57.Adriano Espaillat 58.Elizabeth Esty 59.Dwight Evans 60.Bill Foster 61.Lois Frankel 62.Marcia Fudge 63.Ruben Gallego 64.John Garamendi 65.Vicente Gonzalez 66.Tulsi Gabbard 67.Al Green 68.Gene Green 69.Raul Grijalva 70.Luis Gutiérrez 71.Alcee Hastings 72.Denny Heck 73.Jim Himes 74.Steny Hoyer 75.Jared Huffman 76.Pramila Jayapal 77.Hakeem Jeffries 78.Eddie Bernice Johnson 79.Hank Johnson 80.Marcy Kaptur 81.William Keating 82.Robin Kelly 83.Joseph P. Kennedy III 84.Ro Khanna 85.Ruben Kihuen 86.Daniel Kildee 87.Derek Kilmer 88.Ron Kind 89.Raja Krishnamoorthi 90.Ann McLane Kuster 91.James Langevin More on page 27 5