1 year ago

HLF Review 2016

About The Forum

About The Forum Structure The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) was established in 2013 to organize the annual Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), a captivating assembly of some of the world’s most brilliant mathematicians and computer scientists. 200 young researchers from all over the world are granted the opportunity to personally meet and acutely discuss with the laureates of their specialized fields. The HLFF understands that communication is the fiber woven throughout scientific progress, and that time is fundamental to cultivate meaningful connections. In that vein, the recipients of the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal, the Nevanlinna Prize, and the ACM A.M. Turing Award engage with young researchers in a profound scientific dialogue for one gripping week in Heidelberg. During the 4th HLF, a joint decision was reached that beginning in 2017, the recipients of the ACM Prize in Computing will be included among the laureates invited to the HLF. Leading up to the Forum, the HLFF stepped up to the challenge of making the experience at the 4th HLF one that reaps benefits for its participants for years to come. The unique structure enables interactions between the laureates and the young researchers to go beyond superficial layers, creating a space where specific research queries can be discussed in depth. The HLF was established and is funded by the German foundation Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS), which promotes natural sciences, mathematics and computer science. The Forum is organized by the HLFF along with the KTS. It is strongly supported by the award-granting institutions, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM: ACM A.M. Turing Award, ACM Prize in Computing), the International Mathematical Union (IMU: Fields Medal, Nevanlinna Prize), and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA: Abel Prize). 20

About The Forum Selection Process Each year, the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) receives several hundred applications from aspiring mathematicians and computer scientists from all over the world. To ensure that only the most qualified are selected, the application process of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF) is structured in several steps. In an open application process, every young researcher working in mathematics, computer science and closely related fields can register to apply via the online application tool. After the submission deadline, in the first of a two phase process, all applications are reviewed by a group of 50 international scientists. This first phase is primarily handled by the award-granting organizations, supported by the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS), Mathematisches Forschungszentrum Oberwolfach (MFO), and by Schloss Dagstuhl, Leibniz Center for Informatics (LCI). In a second phase of the application process, a shortlist of proposed candidates is submitted to the HLF’s Scientific Committee, which makes the final decision. Young researchers can apply once in each stage of their careers: as an undergraduate, a graduate PhD and as a postdoc. Members of the Scientific Committee at the 4th HLF (sorted by last name): Jennifer Tour Chayes (Microsoft Research) Gert-Martin Greuel (University of Kaiserslautern) Helge Holden (Norwegian University of Science and Technology Trondheim) Silvio Micali (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Andreas Reuter (Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation) Dierk Schleicher (Jacobs University Bremen) Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan (New York University) Anna Wienhard (Heidelberg University) Reinhard Wilhelm (Saarland University) Jean-Christophe Yoccoz † (Collège de France Paris) 21