1 year ago

HLF Review 2016


CELEBRATING 50 YEARS OF COMPUTING’S GREATEST ACHIEVEMENTS Since its inauguration in 1966, the ACM A. M. Turing Award has recognized major contributions of lasting importance in computing. Through the years, it has become the most prestigious technical award in the field, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of computing.” During the next several months, ACM will celebrate 50 years of the Turing Award and the visionaries who have received it. Our aim is to highlight the significant impact of the contributions of the Turing Laureates on computing and society, to look ahead to the future of technology and innovation, and to help inspire the next generation of computer scientists to invent and dream. Our celebration will culminate with a conference on June 23-24, 2017 at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco with lively moderated discussions exploring how computing has evolved and where the field is headed. We hope you can join us there, or via the web—we will be streaming the sessions in real time. Turing50-Ad_PF.indd 1 26 8/30/16 12:09 PM

IMU International Mathematical Union An international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organization, with the purpose of ■ Promoting international cooperation in mathematics ■ Supporting and assisting the International Congress of Mathematicians and other international scientific meetings or conferences ■ Encouraging and supporting other international mathematical activities considered likely to contribute to the development of mathematical science in any of its aspects, pure, applied, or educational IMU is one of the institutions supporting the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF). Winners of the Fields Medal and the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, two prestigious IMU awards, are among the laureates participating in the HLF events where the best students in mathematics and computer science are brought together with winners of the most prestigious awards in these two disciplines. ■ Fields Medal For outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and the promise of future achievement. ■ Rolf Nevanlinna Prize For outstanding contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences. IMU is a member of the lnternational Council for Science (ICSU). The members of IMU are countries represented through Adhering Organizations (AOs). IMU currently has 72 full members, 10 associate members, and 4 affiliate members. Detailed information at © IMU 2016 27