1 year ago


36 x June 1 - 14, 2017 x

36 x June 1 - 14, 2017 x In Memory Of: Stanley Almodovar III, 23 Amanda Alvear, 25 Oscar A. Aracena-Montero, 26 Rodolfo Ayala-Ayala, 33 Antonio Davon Brown, 29 Darryl Roman Burt II, 29 Angel L. Candelario-Padro, 28 Juan Chevez-Martinez, 25 Luis Daniel Conde, 39 Cory James Connell, 21 Tevin Eugene Crosby, 25 Deonka Deidra Drayton, 32 Leroy Valentin Fernandez, 25 Simon Adrian Carrillo Fernandez, 31 Mercedez Marisol Flores, 26 Peter O. Gonzalez-Cruz, 22 Juan Ramon Guerrero, 22 Paul Terrell Henry, 41 Frank Hernandez, 27 Miguel Angel Honorato, 30 Javier Jorge-Reyes, 40 Jason Benjamin Josaphat, 19 Eddie Jamoldroy Justice, 30 Anthony Luis Laureanodisla, 25 Christopher Andrew Leinonen, 32 On June 12, 2016, 49 people lost their lives during the horrific Pulse nightclub shooting. One year later, the community continues to remember those who were lost and spread love and support for those who survived. #ORLANDOSTRONG Alejandro Barrios Martinez, 21 Brenda Lee Marquez McCool, 49 Gilberto Ramon Silva Menendez, 25 Kimberly Morris, 37 Akyra Monet Murray, 18 Luis Omar Ocasio-Capo, 20 Geraldo A. Ortiz-Jimenez, 25 Eric Ivan Ortiz-Rivera, 36 Joel Rayon Paniagua, 32 Jean Carlos Mendez Perez, 35 Enrique L. Rios Jr., 25 Jean C. Nives Rodriguez, 27 Xavier Emmanuel Serrano Rosado, 35 Christopher Joseph Sanfeliz, 24 Yilmary Rodriguez Solivan, 24 Edward Sotomayor Jr., 34 Shane Evan Tomlinson, 33 Martin Benitez Torres, 33 Jonathan Antonio Camuy Vega, 24 Juan P. Rivera Velazquez, 37 Franky Jimmy Dejesus Velazquez, 50 Luis S. Vielma, 22 Luis Daniel Wilson-Leon, 37 Jerald Arthur Wright, 31

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 35 Windermere Mayor Gary Bruhn is elected president of the Florida League of Mayors. and Wingrove resident Shadi Saman, Four Seasons Resort Orlando’s sales manager, accepted a AAA Five Diamond Award on behalf of the property. The resort has consistently received this honor since its opening in 2014 and is the first and only Central Florida property to achieve the coveted award. x June 1 - 14, 2017 x 37 Board members of the Florida League of Mayors elected Windermere Mayor Gary Bruhn to serve as president for the 2017-18 term. Mayor Bruhn will be sworn in at the Florida League of Cities’ annual conference in August. He has served for five consecutive years on Florida League of Mayors’ board of directors. Mayor Bruhn was also a recipient of this year’s Florida League of Cities’ Home Rule Hero Award, an honor he has received for three consecutive years and a total of four years. n Et Al Keene’s Pointe resident Charles Fisher, resort manager of Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort, Southwest resident Jennie Joseph, a British-trained midwife and the founder and CEO of Commonsense Childbirth Inc, spoke at the March for Moms in Washington, D.C., on Mother’s Day. The event, which took place at the Thomas Jefferson Memorial, included peaceful demonstrations, highlighting the critical need to address the maternal health of families in the U.S. Lt. Patrick Flynn, a 2005 West Orange High School graduate and Florida native, is serving with a naval squadron that flies one of the U.S. Navy’s most advanced aircraft, one with an important mission: Jackie Kennedy (second from left), AAA field director, and Vanessa Jones, AAA field manager, co-present a AAA Five Diamond Award to Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort representatives Wingrove resident Shadi Saman (far left), sales manager, and Keene’s Pointe resident Charles Fisher, resort manager. CONTINUED ON PAGE 38