Vinexpo Daily - Preview Edition

cleverdis

PREVIEW EDITION MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 HALL 1 STAND AB15 DAILY REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT SOUTHERN EUROPE EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW Guillaume Deglise CEO, Vinexpo WE HAVE MORE THAN 100 NEW EXHIBITORS FOR THE 2017 EDITION Read page 18 Y VIVA ESPAÑA! SPAIN: COUNTRY OF HONOUR AT VINEXPO BORDEAUX 2017 Go to page 21 SPECIAL FEATURE – GASTRONOMY PAIRING GALORE @ VINEXPO – IT’S ALL ABOUT MARRYING GOURMET DISHES WITH EXCEPTIONAL WINES Read page 20 TRADE TALK Castle Li General Manager, COFCO WE ARE LOOKING FOR SOME TOP BRANDS OR BOUTIQUE BRANDS Read page 17


Vinexpo Bordeaux 2017 PRACTICAL GUIDE Hall 1 / Stand E324 Hall 1 / Stand CD277 Hall 1 / Stand BC112 Hall 1 / Stand AB310 Hall 3 / Stand TU341 Hall 1 / Stand E62 Hall 1 / Stand BD296 Hall 1 / Stand B186 Hall 1 / Stand CD196 Hall 3 / Stand R355 Hall 1 / Stand AB62


EDITO Richard Barnes Editor-in-Chief, VINEXPO Daily Vinexpo Bordeaux 2017 PROGRAMME VINEXPO 2017: THE PLACE TO BE! There are plenty of surprises in store at the 19th Vinexpo! In 2017, the exhibition is being condensed into a dynamic 4-day format, and the new services planned by the organisers will guarantee the success of the event. This thriving city will offer many opportunities for attendees to make connections and boost their business, decipher future trends in the sector and discover Spain, the market in the spotlight for 2017. Taking part in Vinexpo Bordeaux means being in the right place at the right time. The show is a catalyst for international business with around 45,000 trade visitors from 150 countries due to attend. On the exhibitor front, the number and diversity of nationalities confirm the show’s planetary reach, its key role as a meeting place for the sector, and its leadership. Indeed, this year’s Vinexpo sees an anticipated 2,300 exhibitors from wine regions around the world flocking to Bordeaux, and a ground-breaking four-day line-up of conferences, tastings, seminars and networking events. Spain, the third largest wine producer worldwide, dominates the market in organic wine production, and this year takes the spotlight as the show’s country of honour. Even the most informed show-goers are thus bound to discover something new, with over 100 new exhibitors at this year’s event. We look forward to seeing you in Bordeaux! SATURDAY 17 TH JUNE The Jurade Saint-Emilion Gala Dinner 5:30 pm – 11:30 pm / By invitation Official Dinner and Tasting by The Crus Classés de Graves 6:30 pm – 11:30 pm Location: Château Carbonnieux / By invitation SUNDAY 18 TH JUNE CONFERENCES Restaurant managers and wine-growers, the sommelier is your indispensable ally 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm / Location: Room 1 Fire & rain: climate change and the wine industry in partnership with Wine Spectator 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm / Location: Forum Great wine capitals: international networking to promote local wine tourism destinations 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm / Location: Room 5 TASTINGS Spanish white revolution 9:30 am-11:00 am / Location: Room 4 The forgotten patrimonial grape varieties of the Bordeaux vineyard: towards a prospective enrichment of Bordeaux wines 10:00 am - 11:30 am / Location: Room 6 The great aromatic complexity of Sauternes wines and their freshness 10:00 am - 6:30 pm / Location: Room 2 Port and chocolate: a lovely pairing! An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 11:00 am - 12:00 Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Concours Mondial de Bruxelles 2017: 50 international winemakers present their awarded wines 11:00 am - 6:00 pm / Location: Room 3 Napa Valley’s French connections 11:00 am - 11:30 am Location: Hall 1, Stand DE177 Taiga Shtof première A tasting with scenery, from a new vodka brand from Siberia, along with food pairing. 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand R336 / Media only Signature of the partnership agreement between TMall (Alibaba Group) and Vinexpo 11:30 am - 12:30 pm / Location: Forum Bordeaux, the great classics An event presented by bettane+desseauve 11:45 am - 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 The preservation and valorisation of the rare grape varieties of the northern Mediterranean regions 12:30 am - 2:00 pm Location: Room 6 VINEXPO DAILY is a CLEVERDIS Publication. 65 avenue Jules Cantini - Tour Méditerranée 13006 Marseille, France - Tel: + 33 442 77 46 00 Fax: + 33 442 77 46 01 SARL capitalised at e155,750 - VAT FR 95413604471 - RCS Marseille 413 604 471 info@cleverdis.com - www.cleverdis.com DAILY Publisher: Gérard Lefebvre - Managing Director: Jean-François Pieri - Marketing Manager: Monia Tazamoucht - Publishing Director: Jean-Guy Bienfait - Editor-in-Chief: Richard Barnes Editorial coordination: Pauline Cazanova - Editorial team: Gérard Saillan, Richard Siddle - with the participation of Bettina Badon, Nathalie Meissner, Wenchao Wang - Art Director: Hélène Beunat >>>>To contact them : first name.last name@vinexpodaily.com • Cover: Església de Santa Maria, Sant Martí Sarroca, Spain © Angela Llop © CLEVERDIS 2017- Registration of Copyright June 2017 Information presented in this publication is purely indicative in order to illustrate subjects contained therein. No guarantee can be given as to the accuracy of data or content at time of printing and thus the latter should not be used for professional or commercial ends. While all efforts have been made as to accuracy and pertinence of content and data contained in this publication, CLEVERDIS may in no case be held responsible for the consequences, whatever their nature may be, that may result from the interpretation of this data or content, or any eventual errors therein. Any reproduction of the content of this publication, even partial, by any means whatsoever, is strictly prohibited without the prior autorisation of the publisher. Any copy, whether by photography, photography film, magnetic tape, disc or other means constitutes a forgery, liable to punishment under French law according to the legislation of 11 th March 1957 covering copyright. All brands cited in this publication are registered trade marks and/or belong to companies which are their respective proprietors. The publishers and editorial staff decline all responsibility as to opinions formulated in this publication by those interviewed or cited therein. Their opinions are entirely their own, and are included with the understanding that they contain, to our knowledge, no malicious intent. The inclusion of all texts, photographs and other documents supplied by those included in this publication imply the acceptance by their authors of their free publication therein. Documents and photographs will not be returned. It should be understood that this publication contains forward-looking statements that involve risks, uncertainties and assumptions. All statements other than statements of historical fact are statements that could be deemed forward-looking statements. Risks, uncertainties and assumptions include assumptions relating to the timing of the recorded date. If any of these risks or uncertainties materialises or any of these assumptions proves incorrect, actual results could differ materially from the expectations outlined in these statements. Cleverdis assumes no obligation and does not intend to update these forward-looking statements during the period of publication. Photo Credits and Copyright: All Rights Reserved. VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 3


PROGRAMME Tempranillo - evolution of its facets according to climates and terroirs of Tempos Vega Sicilia 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 7 / By invitation Cradle of wine 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 5 / By invitation Different climates different Spanish wines 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm / Location: Room 4 Piemonte and Friuli, two great terroirs from northern Italy An event presented by bettane+desseauve 2:00 pm - 2:45 pm / Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Port and chocolate: a lovely pairing! An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Italian “sparkle” in all its diversity Bubbles around the 45 th parallel north 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE87-01 The great South An event presented by bettane+desseauve 3:15 pm - 4:00 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Rediscovery of Alpine wine grape varieties 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Location: Room 6 Great wines along the Ebro River 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Location: Room 4 EVENING EVENTS Vinexpériences - Beaujolais fine wine tasting 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm Location: La Grande Poste, 7 rue du Palais Gallien, Bordeaux. By invitation or entrance fee: €15 1855 Médoc & Sauternes Grands Crus Classés dinner in honour of the international press 10h30 pm – 11h30 pm Location: Château Latour / By invitation MONDAY 19 TH JUNE CONFERENCES Exporting wines and spirits to the USA 9:30 am - 10:30 am Location: Experts Zone, L261 / By invitation 63 rd Congress of National Wine Brokers’ federation 9:30 am - 12:30 pm Location: Forum / By invitation Influence of organic and biodynamic methods on the taste of wine 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm / Location: Room 5 Big Data at the heart of the wine industry’s new opportunities 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm / Location: Room 7 Napa Valley Vintners: green environmental sustainability program 1:30 pm – 2:00 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE177 4 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


© Jean-Bernard Nadeau © Philippe Labeguerie © Jean-Bernard Nadeau The potential for Spanish wines on the export market 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm / Location: Forum TASTINGS Tre Bicchieri special award masterclass organized by Gambero Rosso 9:30 am - 11:00 am Location: Room 7 / By invitation Wines of Serbia – Beyond Expectations 9:30 am - 11:00 am Location: Room 5 / By invitation Tasting of the 2016 vintage Bordeaux The Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux. 10:00 am - 5:00 pm / Location: Room 3 Wine tasting of Medoc, Haut-Medoc and Listrac- Medoc appellations around the 2014 vintage and 2016 “en primeurs”. 10:00 am - 6:30 pm / Location: Room 1 A journey to Italy, on the lands of Conegliano Valdobbiadene, exploring the Prosecco Superiore An event presented by bettane+desseauve 11:45 am - 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Grenache in the world 12:30 pm - 2:00pm /Location: Room 7 Philippe Faure Brac & Alliance Loire’s collection An event presented by bettane+desseauve 2:00 pm - 2:45pm / Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Port, Douro & cheese: a gourmet trio! An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Wine merchants and Italian wines: a choice of reason Wine collections and libraries 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE87-01 Northern France in a time of climate change An event presented by bettane+desseauve Neuroenology: when neurosciences barges in tasting 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm / Location: Room 4 Tomorrow belongs to them An event presented by bettane+desseauve 4:30 pm - 5:15 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 1992-2017: 25 Years of Quinta da Gaivosa 4:30 pm - 5:15 pm / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 EVENING EVENTS Vinexpériences - Pomerol tasting 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm Location: Grand Théâtre, Place de la Comédie, Bordeaux / By invitation or entrance fee: €15 A taste of Spain In partnership with Wine Spectator 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm Location: Palais de la Bourse Ramos Pinto: 5 Generations, a history of pioneerism 10:00 am - 11:00 am Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Crus Bourgeois du Médoc Tasting 10:30 am - 5:30 pm / Location: Room 2 Port, Douro & cheese: a gourmet trio! An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 11:00 am - 12:00 / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Italian wines: something for every restaurant From old-style banquets to hotels 11:00 am - 12:00 / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE87-01 Taiga Shtof première A tasting with scenery, from a new vodka brand from Siberia, along with food pairing. 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand R336 / Media only 3:15 pm - 4:00pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Bellavista, winery of the year by Gambero Rosso 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Location: Room 7 / By invitation The Irish spirits renaissance 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Location: Room 5 / By invitation Introduction to Japan’s national beverages, Sake and Shochu 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Location: Room 6 Napa Valley Vintners: ageability of Cabernet Sauvignon 4:00 pm – 4:30 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE177 BE LABELLED AN EXPERT Join one of our masterclasses Hall 3, Stand V325 and experience the knowledge that can be gained from WSET. Sunday 18 th June / 2:30-3:00 pm How age affects Cognac Monday 19 th June / 12:30-1:00 pm Use of oak in winemaking (Session in French) Tuesday 20 th June / 11:00–11:30 am The role of the raw materials in Rum Wednesday 21 st June / 4:00-4:30 pm Italian sparkling wines - showcase Visit our website for the full programme wsetglobal.com ©WSET2016 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 5


PROGRAMME OTHERS General Assembly of International Federation of Wine and Spirits Journalists and Writers 9:30 am - 11:00 am Location: Room 6 /By invitation The Institute of Masters of Wine/Drinks Business Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 11:45 am - 2:30 pm Location: Room 4 / By invitation Book signing: Le vin snob, Jacques Ohron – De l’Homme Editions Mollat Library 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Location: Hall1, Stand DE328 Vinexpo Explorer Moment Chapter 1 - Austria 2:30 pm - 6:30 pm Location: Club / By invitation Les Victoires du Liège 11:30 am - 2:30 pm Location: Forum / By invitation Biodynamic and the truth in the glass by Nicolas Joly 3:30 pm - 15:00 pm / Location: Room 4 China’s diversifying wine market 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm / Location: Room 6 Wine and spirits market after Brexit 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm / Location: Forum TASTINGS Battle of MoW’s - Masterclass Riesling 10:00 am - 11:30 am Location: Room 1 Taiga Shtof première A tasting with scenery, from a new vodka brand from Siberia, along with food pairing. 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand R336 / Media only Riesling of Alsace, the multidimensional grape! 11:30 am - 1:00 pm / Location: Room 7 German Riesling Picnic by the lake 11:30 am - 6:00 pm / Location: Stand L241 Soil and climates, the diversity of white wines from the Rhône Valley An event presented by bettane+desseauve 11:45 am - 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand 338 Seña’s terroir revealed through eight great vintages 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 6 / By invitation TUESDAY 20 TH JUNE CONFERENCES Evolution of shipping alliances and opportunities for the industry 9:30 am - 10:30 am Location: Experts Zone, L261 / By invitation Declaration to protect wine place & origin’s press conference 9:30 am - 11:00 am / Location: Room 5 How new digital winetech services can drive wine professionals efficiency? 9:30 am - 11:00 am / Location: Room 6 The Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux - Tasting of the 2016 vintage 10:00 am - 5:00 pm Location: Room 3 Tre Bicchieri Grand Tasting by Gamberro Rosso 10:00 am - 6:30 pm Location: Room 2 Diversity in the Douro Valley An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 11:00 am - 12:00 Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Eight decades of Colheita Ports with Sogevinus 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 5 / By invitation Dry Riesling, using the past to shape the future 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm / Location: Room 1 Bordeaux, the new classics 1 An event presented by bettane+desseauve 2:00 pm - 2:15 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Diversity in the Douro Valley An event presented by Port and Douro Wines Institute 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE67 Trends in sparkling wines, an opportunity for wine markets Conference organized by vitisphère 9:30 am – 11:00 am / Location: Room 4 Italian wines tailored for large-scale distributors From ancient trading routes to e-commerce 11:00 am - 12:00 / Location: Hall 1, Stand DE87 Perfectly Riesling - Treasures of German wines A tasting organized by Wines of Germany 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm Location: Room 7 / By invitation 6 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


© Philippe Labeguerie © Philippe Labeguerie Italy, the other country of Rosé 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE87-01 The new world order An event presented by bettane+desseauve 3:15 pm - 4:00 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Bodega Numanthia vertical tasting 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm / Location: Room 5 Napa Valley’s French connections 4:00 pm – 4:30 pm Location: Hall 1, Stand DE177 Tasting / Entrée Libre Masterclass Austrian Riesling vertical tasting 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm Location: Room 1 / By invitation Tuscany, the genious of Sangiovese An event presented by bettane+desseauve 4:30 pm - 5:15 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 EVENING EVENTS Vinexpériences - The Bordeaux inclassables tasting 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm Location: Terrace of the Banque Populaire Aquitaine Centre Atlantique, Bordeaux Bastide By invitation or entrance fee: €15 The Blend The Vinexpo official party 7:30 pm - 1:00 am Location: Palais de la Bourse / Ticket required OTHERS Book signing: Le Vin et Moi, Jacques Dupont – Stock Editions Mollat Library 11:00 am – 12:00 Location: Hall1, Stand DE328 WEDNESDAY 21 ST JUNE CONFERENCES The French customs help you to export 9:30 am - 11:00 am / Location: Room 7 Wine defects: How to recognize them 9:30 am - 11:00 am / Location: Room 5 Optimisation of the wines and spirits supply chain 10:00 am - 11:30 am / Location: Room 4 E-commerce talk & online wine sales 10:00 am - 11:30 am / Location: Forum TASTINGS Saint-Estèphe tasting « précieux terroir » 10:30 am - 4:00pm / Location: Room 2 Vinexpo Challenge 11:00 am - 12:30 pm /Location: Room 1 Taiga Shtof Première A tasting with scenery, from a new vodka brand from Siberia, along with food pairing. 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand R336 / Media only Southern and central Italy, a new modernity An event presented by bettane+desseauve 11:45 am - 12:30 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 The importance of glass shapes in the perception of aromas and taste 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 6 / By invitation The divine identity of wine, of a Bordeaux? 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Location: Room 5 The Winemaker’s collection, 4 women – 4 continents An event presented by bettane+desseauve 2:00 pm - 2:45pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 Bordeaux, the new classics 2 An event presented by bettane+desseauve 3:45 pm - 4:00 pm Location: Hall 3, Stand ST338 EVENING EVENTS Fête de la Fleur 6:30 pm – 11:30 pm Location: Château Malartic-Lagravière By invitation OTHERS Book signing: Le Vin c’est pas sorcier, Ophélie Neiman – Marabout Editions Mollat Library 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Location: Hall1, Stand DE328 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 7


NEWS Advertorial Emmanuel Vergely Worldwide Export Manager, BESTHEIM Grands Vins d’Alsace NEW WINE FROM #1 GRAND CRU PRODUCER IN ALSACE BESTHEIM Grands Vins d’Alsace are presenting their latest wine – Le Kaefferkopf – at Vinexpo Bordeaux this year. We asked the company’s Worldwide Export Manager, Emmanuel Vergely, to tell us more… There are 51 different Grands Crus in Alsace. The last classified was the Kaefferkopf. This single vineyard is very special, because it is the only Alsace Grand Cru where we are allowed to blend noble grapes to produce a Grand Cru. This wine is made from 60% Gewurztraminer – 20% Pinot Gris – 20% Riesling. It’s a real firework of flavours with a beautiful end on freshness. Now, BESTHEIM own this rare Grand Cru in our portfolio and we are very proud about it. You are presenting yourself as the #1 producer of Grands Crus in the region. How is this measured? BESTHEIM is the first producer of Alsace Grands Crus, as we have 21 different Grands Crus among the most famous of the vineyards (from a total of 51). We are producing around 300,000 bottles of Grands Crus per year; a production which is a strong advantage for our partners to develop new markets on stable quantities and quality. Some of them are very limited production but our “flagship” cuvée is definitely the Riesling Grand Cru Schlossberg (the oldest and biggest Grand Cru in Alsace). Hall 1, Stand BC112 Ready to Blend? The Blend, the official Vinexpo party, will be a great opportunity to network in a friendly and relaxing lounge ambience, with a surprising selection of wines, champagnes and spirits. On Tuesday 20th June 2017, from 7:30pm to 1:00am, this will be THE place to chill out in astonishing and surprising surroundings. A night of glamour and dancing, the Blend 2017 will take place at the iconic Palais de la Bourse, a unique cultural and historical monument, where attendees can expect a host of music and entertainment. Ideally located in the very heart of Bordeaux, on the banks of the Garonne river, The Blend is thus the perfect place to catch up with colleagues over a glass of wine or a cocktail. SPONSORED BARS CHAMPAGNE BAR Lanson Andreas Larsson and the 100% Tasted Blind Concept The TASTED 100% BLIND concept will be presented this year for the first time at Vinexpo Bordeaux. Visitors will be able to meet Andreas Larsson, Best Sommelier of the World along with more than 120 winemakers from all around the planet and enjoy an enriching “5 senses” experience in just one place. WINE BARS Vins de Bordeaux Grand Crus Classés Sauternes & Barsac Generation Riesling Inter Rhône Vinexpo’s unmissable after work party is exclusively dedicated to all Vinexpo attendees (exhibitors, visitors and media). Entry tickets are compulsory (€30) – and may be purchased online through a badge-holder’s Vinexpo personal account. Larsson, who will be present at the stand every day, animating master classes, explains that one’s senses can definitely be educated: “It is not about being a genius, just hard work, memorising, tasting and staying open-minded, finding a language and method to describe taste and flavour, being able to communicate it.” EXCEPTIONAL WINES ON AN EXCLUSIVE STAND Around 700 top wines from Italy, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Portugal, Hungary, Turkey, Macedonia, Slovenia, France and other wine countries have been professionally blind tasted and scored by Andreas Larsson. They will be presented in a unique 240m 2 zone dedicated to the TASTED 100% BLIND concept. Hall 1, Stands CD339 & DE339 SPIRITS BAR Vodka Taïga Shtof Gin Moon Harbour Whisky D’Arche 8 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


The Experts’ Zone Returns to Vinexpo Bordeaux – Focusing on Logistics and International Relations This year, JF Hillebrand and Vinexpo pursue their collaboration based on the concept of the “Experts Zone”, a space solely dedicated to wine and spirits logistics. 7 companies and more than 40 experts will gather to provide on-site support and advice to industry professionals from France and abroad on all logistics matters: JF Hillebrand – international service provider specialised in the logistics of beer, wine and spirits HAROPA - Port of Havre – sea freight – #1 port worldwide for wine and spirit exports InterRail – international rail freight Groupe ADP – airport design, construction and operation, N°1 in Europe with 2.22 million tonnes of cargo transported in 2016. Combronde – rail freight for France The General Directorate for Customs and Indirect Taxation Maersk Line – International leader in sea freight container transport According to Yvan Astier – Country Manager JF Hillebrand France, “Logistics is the link between proud, passionate producers, and importers / distributors looking to satisfy consumers, connoisseurs or enthusiasts. This link is invisible, but essential in order to protect such a sensitive product and ensure the pleasure of wine tasting around the world.” Lakeside Stand L260, Door 26 Nocturnal Opening of La Cité du Vin As part of the Vinexpo Bordeaux, Bordeaux’s Cité du Vin will exceptionally be opening its doors on Sunday 18 June from 7.30pm to 11.30pm. Visitors are to be offered a unique nocturnal experience, discovering the permanent tour at La Cité du Vin, followed by a buffet with food and wine from Spain, the guest of honour at Vinexpo. The dinner buffet of tapas and Spanish wines will be accompanied by a musical show by a flamenco trio in the hall of La Cité du Vin. The event is organized in partnership with Vinexpo, Conferencia Española de Consejos Reguladores Vitivinícolas (CECRV), and España Exportación e Inversiones (ICEX). Booking required at http://ticket.laciteduvin.com/en-GB/ - Single ticket e65.00 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 9


NEWS Jean-Claude Mas Founder and Executive Manager, Les Domaines Paul Mas Revolutionising Winemaking Jean-Claude Mas, blazing a trail for Languedoc-Roussillon wines In the past 20 years, the Languedoc- Roussillon has undergone, and continues today, a revolution in its winemaking practices. Here, the world’s largest vineyard is beginning to produce high quality wines from low yielding vines. From the Terrasses du Larzac near Montpellier, through to the Grès de Montpellier, Pezenas, Corbières and on to Limoux and Côtes du Roussillon wines, this change can be felt, including within the IGP wine category. Leading the way in both quality and wine style are a few ambitious winemakervignerons, such as Jean-Claude Mas. Acting as ambassador for the Southern French way of life and wines, he is reconciling large volumes with premium wines and an attractive image for the region as a whole. In 2000, he created his company, Domaines Paul Mas, from the very modest 35 hectares of family land. Of these, only 5 hectares were planted with noble grape varieties, the rest were the classical high yielding traditional varieties. The modest earnings from 20,000 bottles per year at that time have exploded through his hard work, business savvy and unique wine style, to represent over 20 million bottles sold worldwide in 2016. Owner of 650 hectares of vineyards, with a further 1,400 hectares under contract, Mas admits that he derives great pleasure from building his company, adding that he only purchases estates to be able to produce the wines that he can sell. Jean-Claude Mas describes his wine style as “Old World wines with New World attitude”, believing firmly that “tradition has to reinvent itself, or one day, French wine will belong in a museum”; and some of his strongest brands were born from this philosophy. In 2005, he launched the Arrogant Frog, inspired both by international brands and by the reputation of French winemakers in Francophile countries. Today, a powerhouse of I CANNOT ABIDE BY THIN OR DRY WINES, OR WINES THAT ARE DISGUISED BEHIND TECHNICAL CONSTRUCTIONS the Domaines Paul Mas portfolio and ambassador of Jean-Claude Mas’ expertise as winemaker, the Limoux based Château Arrogant Frog is the flagship of this brand, selling over 5-million bottles in 40 different countries. He relies on a team of twelve experts who are knowledgeable in all areas of winemaking, from viticulture, to wine making and blending, and not forgetting a competent marketing team, to carry his ambitious projects. Jean-Claude Mas himself defines every step of production, from vineyard to bottle. This allows each estate to maintain its own unique identity, linked closely to its unique terroir and winemaker, whilst maintaining a stylistic thread throughout the product offer, the Jean-Claude Mas personal signature. All the major decisions are reserved for his consideration, giving him a unique vision of his wine business from A to Z, which is exceptionally rare in large winemaking organisations such as the Domaines 10 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


Paul Mas. His biggest personal challenge is maintaining the style for which he is known across large volumes and varieties of wine. He says he wishes to maintain the rich aromas of fruit, spices and flowers in his wines, inherent to their complexity and quality. Mas aims for opulent wines, with “a balanced, full and rich mouth, that maintains all the freshness of a young wine. Whilst I can accept a gentle hint of bitterness, I refuse the presence of astringency in my wines. I cannot abide by thin or dry wines, or wines that are disguised behind technical constructions”. His knowledge of terroir and full control of the winemaking process, from temperature to maceration and vinification allows him to achieve this ambitious aim for his wine profile. Passionate in all his endeavours, Mas participates in every step of creating his wines, taking ampelography into account (the study of vineyards and vines), allowing him to cultivate over 40 different grape varieties, of which several are local and sometimes even “forgotten” varietals. To this end, he has created the Carignan Embassy at his Côté Mas wine tourism site. He has played a central role in reviving the Clairette du Languedoc grape variety and appellation, and improving the notoriety of the Pezenas cru. He is also a key player in updating the image of the Limoux appellations and their reputation, drawing on local history to highlight the local knowledge of sparkling wines, first created in the Saint Hilaire Abbey. Practices Ever the humble winemaker, he insists that it is simple to make good quality wines in the region, owing to the incredibly varied and rich terroir, the different climactic influences coming from the Pyrenees Mountains, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Atlantic Ocean. There are no less than 4 different winds that influence the Languedoc- Roussillon climate, as Mas explains, “Nature is generous, it is simple to make great wines in the region, even organic wines”. It all begins with good vineyard management, and a real mastery of all the steps that follow, and a break from the traditional “mentality of raw producers”. A meticulous perfectionist, he is driven not by money which is primarily “a source of inevitable frustration”, but by the ego, taking great care to leave a good impression of who he is as man, winemaker and businessman. It is safe to say that he is as much a part of the region as it is a part of him. “I would never buy vineyards abroad. I only know how to produce wine one and a half hours from home.” He truly believes in the terroir, his passion drawing in so much more than just wine as a product. A WINE IS THE BINDING AGENT, ONE OF THE TOOLS THAT WILL HIGHLIGHT AND PUSH FORWARD THE REGION, WHICH LACKS THE IMAGE IT TRULY DESERVES. true believer in wine tourism, he has opened his luxury suites, restaurant, bistro, and even horse riding activities, linked to his philosophy of “rural luxury”. “Wine is the binding agent, one of the tools that will highlight and push forward the region, which lacks the image it truly deserves. Wine can create an ultra-positive environment for economic development”. Jean-Claude Mas is not only blazing a trail for the regional wines, he is building the reputation of the region to which he belongs, to which he owes all his passion, knowledge and history. Hall 1, Stand AB15 Château Paul Mas Domaine des Gès Ricards JEAN-CLAUDE MAS 4 TH GENERATION WINEGROWER Jean-Claude Mas was born on 18 th August 1964 in Beziers to a family of grape growers near Pézenas (4 th generation after Auguste - butcher and grape farmer, Raymond and Paul) on his father’s side, and a farmer from the south of the Aveyron on the maternal side of the family. We asked him to outline some of the highlights of his life… The family culture of wine was limited to the vine: to the high yield Aramon and Cinsaults of the lower valley fertile soil that satisfied very basic needs. Several trips abroad from 1986 to 1990 gave me the desire to work internationally, and it was while I was working in Miami that I discovered the world of wine, through the promotion of French food and fashion. At this time, I started to learn about New World wines, especially those of Argentina. In the early 90’s I travelled to Bordeaux to join the Bernard Magrez William Pitters group, and in 1995, I left Bordeaux and joined Domaine Virginie in Béziers as their Sales and Marketing Director. I began to follow the family estate’s production and moved back to Château de Conas, where I was born. With very little technical skills, between 1996 and 2000, I took a pointed interest in oenologie, and established a working protocol between the family estate and Domaine Virginie, and 1998, I helped with the development of my first ever Cuvée. In 1999 Domaines Virginie was sold, at which time I left the company (January 2000) and created the company Domaines Paul Mas. The choice of name reflects the respect I have for my father, who spent his life in the vineyards, through both obligation and passion. My aim was to sell the 20,000 bottles produced by the family estate, but mainly to create a wine merchant business. Growing the company from 35 hectares in 2000 to 650 hectares in owned vineyards and 1,400 hectares of contracted vineyards today, marketing 20 million bottles in 65 countries, has only been possible through the deep attachment and commitment that I have to the Languedoc region, which provides the perfect environment for producing great wines. This is coupled with my training and true passion for marketing, and a high sensitivity to nature, art and “taste”. The 4 major steps in my wine range development: • Paul Mas Estate, 2000: “Old World wines with New World attitude” • Arrogant Frog, 2005: “Daring to be different” • Côté Mas, 2011: “Luxe Rural” • Jean-Claude Mas Origins 2016: “The Artisan” VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 11


NEWS © Wines of Portugal Advertorial A Titanic Choice Marie Brizard takes us back in time to the “golden age” Douro vineyard, Portugal PORTUGUESE WINE IMPORTS TO FRANCE UP 3.9% IN 2016 In 2016, imports of Portuguese Wines to France increased 0,6% in value, at €110,8m and 3,9% in volume compared to the same period in 2015. Indeed, France is the first worldwide destination of Portuguese wines (primarily fortified), while the main markets for Portuguese still wines are USA, Germany, Angola, Brazil, Canada, UK and Switzerland. Far eastern markets such as China, Hong Kong, Macau, South Korea and Macau are growing rapidly. From Lisbon to the Alentejo, from the Douro to Madeira, thousands of exciting wines crafted by more than 40 producers, a free tasting area with award winning wines and tailor-made guided tours offer the visitors of Vinexpo the opportunity to discover the uniqueness of the Portuguese Wines. The Wines of Portugal booth at Vinexpo 2017 hosts producers from all the main wine regions – Vinho Verde, Porto and Douro, Dão, Bairrada, Alentejo, Lisboa, Tejo, Palmela, Península de Setúbal and Madeira. Hall 1, Stand BC64 Hall 1, Stand CD66 Visitors to Vinexpo will have the privilege of seeing an extremely rare bottle of an exceptional liquor that pays homage to the rich history of Marie Brizard. This extraordinary piece comes from the cellar of one of the most important private collectors in the world, Michel-Jack Chasseuil. Among his 40,000 bottles, Chasseuil identified the 100 rarest specimens, and grouped them together in a book (100 Extraordinary Bottles: From the Most Beautiful Wine Cellar in the World - Cellar, published by Firefly Books). In this selection, he chose to present a liqueur of Marie Brizard Danzig*, dating from 1912, linked to the fate of the famous Titanic. He bought this treasure in 1988, at an auction in Versailles, and explains that on the day of the sale, fortunately, snow was falling heavily, and discouraged most of the potential buyers. The fact that this was 9 years before the release of James Cameron’s film, Titanic, also explains the lack of interest from other bidders. The auctioneer however explained the extraordinary history of these two bottles. Indeed, the descendants of Louis Renault, the founder of the Renault cars, had put them on sale. According to him, his ancestor wanted to cross the Atlantic in April 1912 aboard the notorious steamer but for unknown reasons, had not been able to realise his dream. On the other hand, he had learned that Marie Brizard liqueur “with golden glitter” was to be served on board during the voyage. At that time, this kind of alcohol, enhanced with gold leaf, had the reputation of purifying one’s blood. Louis Renault thus hastened to search and appropriate a few bottles of this precious liquid, and, as they say, the rest is history! Hall 1, Stand BD287 * The liqueur of Danzig or Danzig, German and historic name of Gdańsk, created by a Dutchman in the 16 th century, based on roots and herbs, with the peculiarity of including 22- 23 carat gold shards Marie Brizard Wine & Spirits group is attending the 19 th edition of Vinexpo Bordeaux. Welcome to our booth to live abold and savory experience Hall 1 - BD287 12 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


Advertorial Go Southwest, Young Man From the foot of the Pyrenees to the world, the Lionel Osmin story unfolds… The logo of Lionel Osmin & Cie symbolises a will to travel afar, but with deep seated roots. We asked Mr Osmin to tell us about the background to his company. The story began at the foot of the Pyrenees, as I was born in a village next to Pau, in the Jurançon appellation. My father was a wine-lover and he initiated me to this “universe”. When I was young, I did internships in both France and Spain that gave me the taste of working in this field. Then it was personal meetings that guided my choices – the contacts I made when I was young with people who were really impassioned by what they were doing. In addition to this, there was the fact that we wanted to make people more aware of the true value of France’s southwestern wines. In the past, the region wasn’t very well known on an international level for its wines, but there are some excellent products emerging. Another thing that moved me was the support and pride of the local producers for the local grape varieties. Since the 60’s, the latter have been working on developing the quality of the indigenous southwestern grapes. We have an incredible diversity of grape varieties, but what’s lacking is a long historic context. We’re not in Bordeaux, where there is a long history and an ambition for quality improvement dating from well over a century ago. In our region, the search for qualitative improvement dates only from the 1980’s, and there is still a lot to do for this work to be recognised… It’s still a work in progress. These people have dedicated their professional lives to these indigenous grape varieties in order to make wines that are more than just interesting. These wines are credible and serious, retaining a great deal of character and identity. The local winegrowers are close to my own roots, which was why I wanted to launch into this adventure. I thus launched the Maison de Vins de Jurançon, with all the winegrowers of the appellation, then for twelve years, I worked as a kind of pilgrim, travelling VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 13


NEWS the world to explain the advantages of these wines, explaining what Tannat is, or the fact that Malbec originates from Cahors; describing the attributes of these varieties which, when prepared properly can be exceptional discoveries for amateurs around the globe. In 2010, I wanted to put my own touch on certain cuvées, as I had a technical background to start with, and this meant I had to launch into my own production. I did this without buying vineyards, but more as a merchant, where I could group together a number of indigenous varietal wines under one roof. This enabled me to express, via the Malbec, the Tannat, the Negrette, the Petit Manseng and so-on, but also to simplify the comprehension of the southwest for distributors and foreign consumers. In the beginning, there was a strong development in terms of export, as well as a need to educate the market as well as, at the same time, simplifying the offering. This is what we began to do in 2010, with the first bottles arriving on the market in 2011. So what differentiates the wines of the southwest is the countless different grape varieties. Please tell us a little more about these. Geographically, the southwest is a vast winegrowing region, reaching from the Atlantic Ocean to the Massif Central from west to east, and the Pyrenees to the Bordeaux region from south to north. This territory has multiple, very different climatic, geologic and geographic features. This means we don’t have a unity of production that one might find in Burgundy or Bordeaux, where you will find the same geography and climate across most vineyards. For this reason, each of our appellations has different grape varieties that are adapted to the climate and geography. This diversity is, on the one hand, part of the richness of our wines, but on the other is a source of complication for the consumer. The Malbec has become internationally renowned, but its source and origin is Cahors in the Lot Valley. Traditionally it’s full-bodied, but we now provide two interpretations of this wine. The new one is a fruity vintage, which I would say is “civilised”, and in no way resembles the historic, traditional “rustic” style. Demonstrating to consumers that Malbec is an interesting variety, that it is not only French, but from the southwest, allows us to promote it today as the “original French fresh Malbec”. The Negrette is also very unique, planted only at Fronton just north of Toulouse, producing excellent rosé wines. What amuses me in this great adventure is to see that we have wines that resemble the land from which they are produced, that are little known on an international level, and that deserve to be discovered by more and more people. When I launched the company, it was to bring these amazing wines to the attention of the world’s wine lovers, not present them with a 50th Merlot or 35th Syrah. My passion was driven by the fact that I could allow people to discover something new. Tell us about your background with Vinexpo… I am going to approach this from the point of view of my current enterprise, as in the past it was for the group I was just speaking about, but since then, things have progressed. For Lionel Osmin & Cie, it’s the gateway to the world. You can’t not be at Vinexpo if you have an international ambition. We are primarily interested in meeting buyers from around the world, but not only from emerging markets, whose buyers are so far more interested in the “big names”. As our DIVERSITY IS, ON THE ONE HAND, PART OF THE RICHNESS OF OUR WINES, BUT ON THE OTHER IS A SOURCE OF COMPLICATION FOR THE CONSUMER. 14 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


Advertorial Villa La Vie En Rose – rosé de Négrette Malbec La Réserve Jurançon Moelleux Foehn Domaine San de Guilhem Madiran Charles de Batz Carpe Guilhem region is lesser known internationally, we are more interesting for specialist operators in mature markets than broadscale operators in emerging markets. Already for many of them, getting to know the Bordeaux and Burgundy styles and terroirs is hard, so you can imagine what it’s like trying to sell them on the southwest. Our challenge today is above all to show, in all markets that have an ingrained wine culture, where the consumers are already somewhat “wine aware”, we can talk to them about Madiran, Cahors, Jurançon, Buzet, Marcillac or Gaillac, but at Osmin & Cie, we have created complementary ranges of wines, meaning that our offering today is centred on two main ranges. On the one hand, we have appellation wines, wines of character, terroir, but we also wanted to adapt our offer to consumers who are less “enlightened” with a range of varietal wines. In fact, there are several ways of attracting consumers around the world: through appellations, châteaux and brands, but also through the cépages - the grape varieties. It’s these cépages that are at the heart of our DNA, so we have created a range of very “Frenchy”, modern wines, called the “Villa” and “Reserve” collections. These wines are not overly “funky”, so as to reassure the consumer, based on indigenous wines, but can sometimes be blended with more international varieties. Examples include a blend of Merlot, Tannat and Syrah, or Colombard, Sauvignon Blanc and a touch of Gros Manseng. These kinds of wines are the “gateway” to our other “wilder” varieties. It’s true that the idea of having these two kinds of offerings – more sophisticated – with more of a story to tell - and more basic, that are simple and easy to drink, gives us much easier access to a broader market. In 2015, you launched a new initiative, the “Compagnie des Domaines”. Tell me a little more about how that came about… La Compagnie des Domaines is an entity that puts the energy, creativity and competence of what I believe has become a highly dynamic organisation at the service of high-potential southwestern wine-growing properties whose potential only requires growth. Today, three remarkable entities participate in this unique wine-making adventure in the Southwest: Domaine San de Guilhem in Ramouzens (IGP Côtes de Gascogne, IGP Compté Tolosan), Domaine Berthoumieu in Viella (AOP Madiran & Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh), and Clos de la Vierge and Cancaillau in Lahourcade (AOP Jurançon sec & Jurançon). Tomorrow there will no doubt be more, who will be in tune with the philosophy of the establishment, with potential as promising as these first three «pillars», and with the desire to join the dynamics of the Compagnie des Domaines. As with everything we do, it’s all a matter of encounters, opportunities, and desires. The Compagnie des Domaines began to take shape when Alain Lalanne, owner of the Domaine San de Guilhem, one of his partners for the elaboration of the Cuvées de Gascogne by Lionel Osmin & Cie, proposed to him to acquire the domain. The ambition of this young house is not to constitute a large land heritage, but to keep its DNA of «wine maker» rooted in the southwest, with a real knowledge of the French and international markets, to allow the wines of the region to find their place on the world market. THE AMBITION OF OUR ENTERPRISE IS TO BUILD A WINNING NETWORK OF CUSTOMERS AND PRODUCERS BY CREATING LASTING AND MUTUAL VALUE We work in the form of partnerships with cooperative areas or wineries or landowners, who also manage their own wines, guaranteeing our know-how in the field of winemaking and marketing. It is not really obligatory to own the properties to ensure the development of vineyards. Quite the opposite. The ambition of our enterprise is to build a winning network of customers and producers by creating lasting and mutual value. In other words, to stay with our core business as a wine producer in the southwest, preserving our DNA: agile, dynamic and creative. This extension of our activity focuses on: The relevance of the selection of the partner domains, both with a product vision (quality and potential of the terroir, wine potential), but also in relation to its possibilities of success in terms of marketing to cellars and restaurants in France as well as for export, The valorisation of existing ranges through a reflection upon on the best possible positioning, The strength of our distribution network established since the beginning of the adventure and which continues to develop in France as well as internationally. With the Compagnie des Domaines, these estates in the southwest are able to have profitable and durable solutions for their future, positively reflecting on the economic fabric of the region. This new facet of our business is consistent with our idea of “team adventure”. As we say since the start, in the name Lionel Osmin “and company”, the latter part is very important! Instead of trying to go it alone, we prefer to do things together, each one remaining with his or her core business and skill. It really is a continuation of our substantive activity. It comes to enrich the first mission of Lionel Osmin & Cie which remains, as always, that of “wine maker in the southwest”. Hall 1, Stand E324 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 15


TRADE TALK 2015 Vinexpo meetings How Vinexpo Will Help Buyers and Producers Find their Perfect Match Take advantage of a match making service that promises to arrange meetings with like-minded producers in your key target markets around the world. You quickly appreciate quite how big the world of wine is when you step in to one of Vinexpo’s main exhibition halls and try to make your way to your first appointment. No matter how much you try and plan your diary, timings soon go to pot as you rush from stand to stand. For all the thousands of exhibitors from seemingly every country in the world capable of growing a grape you tend to stick to the companies you know, the producers and brands you already stock rather than venture too far off piste. Which is not really what these exhibitions are designed to do. Yes, you are here to build on previous relationships, but the mark of how successful a particular event normally lies in how much new business or potential additional sales you have been able to deliver. It is a dilemma that has been very much at the forefront of Vinexpo chief executive, Guillaume Deglise’s mind as he has prepared his team for this year’s Vinexpo Bordeaux show in June. It is why this year’s show has a number of initiatives in place specifically designed to make a buyer’s visit to Bordeaux as productive as possible. The highlight of which is the return of its “One to Wine” meetings which allow both buyers and exhibitors to arrange meetings before the event with the most appropriate and relevant potential business partners. Particularly useful if you are looking to find distribution in new countries around the world and in markets where you currently have limited knowledge and few contacts. Both buyers and exhibitors can set out exactly the kind of business they are looking for, and in the latter’s case can even identify individual buyers they would like to have a meeting with. The buyer, though, has the final say in who they want to meet. “We can then create a wish list for both sides from which they can then choose from and set up final meetings,” explains Deglise. The idea was first introduced for the 2015 show for a limited number of exhibitors, but is now open to all buyers and producers present. “We believe that attending a fair like Vinexpo it is not enough just to meet existing customers. This way we can help visitors potentially make some extra business through these face to face meetings,” explains Deglise. He believes it could be particularly useful for smaller producers that are not able to take out large stands at the show, but are particularly keen to connect with new buyers. It also means they will have buyers coming direct to their stand where they can show them their wines, and really explain what they are all about. Deglise urges buyers looking to attend Vinexpo to make the most of what is free service. “It is a really good way of making the most of the show. For producers it is also a good way to get the attention of buyers,” he adds. It is possible to book as many meetings as possible, but Deglise suggests no more than between four and six a day, as each are scheduled for 40 minutes and it still takes time to get from stand to stand and there are other content opportunities of which one can take advantage. He says it also a further illustration of the steps being taken to make Vinexpo a show at which to do business. “Our WE CAN CREATE A WISH LIST FOR BOTH SIDES FROM WHICH THEY CAN THEN CHOOSE FROM AND SET UP FINAL MEETINGS exhibitors are coming to Bordeaux to do business, to show their latest vintages, and new labels. It is very important for them to meet the right customers and build those relationships at the show,” he stresses. The fact the show is now being held over four rather than five days will also bring a more focused approach and allow buyers to maximise the most of what is, on average, a stay of two or three days. 16 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


“The Fine Wine Market is Back”: Key Trends in the Chinese Market – from a Key Importer PRESS CORNER Castle Li General Manager, COFCO COFCO has 400 wine shops specialised in importing wines into China, 1000 distributors, and a professional E-commerce team selling wines to consumer by all channels. We asked General Manager Castle Li what he sees as being the most important trends in wine sales are in his territory at the moment. With the growing of Chinese middle class, there is rising demand for quality wines. Wines selling between 15 euros to 30 euros are growing in volume. 2nd and 3rd tier cities are growing fast. In these cities, wine brands and channel brands are both very important. For example, wine brands like Penfolds are doing well due to greater public awareness. Channel brands like COFCO are growing fast too because they are well recognised in all over China and have national trust because the brand is government-owned. The fine wine market is back and the consumer is the primary customer now. They care about authentic, good conditions and value for money. The consumers are becoming increasingly international, the information and prices are very transparent, so the margin for the fine wine is lower than before. Most consumers still need guidance in their wine purchases. That’s why we have been working with James Suckling, introducing his rating and notes into China as a reference. We also have 9 full-time wine educators to support distributors at professional events. What are you primarily looking for at Vinexpo Bordeaux? We are looking for some top brands or boutique brands, especially from certain regions like Burgundy, Alsace, etc. This year’s partner country is Spain. What are your thoughts on Spanish wines, and what other regions are you finding the most interesting? WE ARE LOOKING FOR SOME TOP BRANDS OR BOUTIQUE BRANDS, ESPECIALLY FROM CERTAIN REGIONS LIKE BURGUNDY, ALSACE, ETC. We are exclusive distributors for all Faustino group brands, including Faustino from Rioja and Portia from Douro. For Spanish wines, we believe in the quality wine instead of entry level wines. They have great value for money, and it’s proven in the China market. Faustino is selling well in our COFCO wine & wine shops, among our top 5 brands, with McGuigan from Australia, Antinori from Italy, Santa Rita from Chile and Black Stallion from Napa. What are your secrets for getting the best out of a busy show like Vinexpo? Usually we have detailed agenda for our meetings and make appointments first. For some important meetings, we already have discussed by phone and are here for some unfinished topics only. It’s more efficient. Hanrong Lee Executive Editor of Fine Wine and Liquor magazine A CHINESE CONNECTION Fine Wine and Liquor magazine is a bi-monthly fine wine and liquor culture magazine that’s been operating in China since 2001. We asked Executive Editor, Hanrong Lee to tell us a little more about her publication. Our publication specialises in transmitting knowledge and culture of wine and spirits, introducing famous wine enterprises and entrepreneurs, visualising national and international wine brand images and assisting the wine market to establish rules and regulations in China. Recently, Fine Wine and Liquor magazine launched a Video & Tourism Project, to help foreign wineries / wine regions enter China market in a new way. I have been the executive editor here since 2001. What are you primarily looking for at Vinexpo? At Vinexpo I am primarily looking for wineries that welcome investment from China, wineries and wine regions which are potential, interested in our Video & Tourism Project and want to enter the China market in a new way. What are you most looking forward to at the show? I look forward to knowing the latest trends and news in different wineries and wine regions at the show. VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 17


EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW Taking it From the Vinexpo CEO Guillaume Deglise gives us a rundown on what With an overall highly positive market outlook as we arrive at Vinexpo 2017, we asked the Vinexpo CEO Guillaume Deglise to tell us more about the market evolution, and how affects the show. Guillaume Deglise CEO, Vinexpo While consumption of wine and spirits remains high globally, growth has been driven by the Americas and Asia-Pacific. The European continent is declining due to changes in consumption habits, primary in countries such as France, Italy and Germany. However, Europe still represent more than 60% of the wine consumption. This is a more mature continent where a number of new trends are rising, which buyers will be able to see at Vinexpo. Asia-Pacific, on the other hand, is the fastest growing region in the world, especially with the development of mainland China, but also Southeast Asian countries such as Vietnam, Korea or Thailand. These are countries where we see that wine producers around the world can achieve a great deal of development for their brand. In the US, wine consumption is expected to grow by 12% for the next five years, which will confirm the leadership of the US market worldwide. I think Vinexpo is definitely a place where you can feel how international our industry has become. This is one of the strengths of Vinexpo… the fact that you attract a large number of buyers from these regions. Yes, in fact when we analyse the origin of buyers, we see that China is the leading visiting country to Vinexpo after France, and the number two country is the United States. This is the only European show that attracts 150 nationalities from around the world, the only event where exhibitors can travel the world in a few days by hosting their customers on their booth. This year, one of the interesting aspects is definitely the guest country Spain. What are we going to be seeing from Spain that’s a little bit different from what we might have seen in the past? Spain has always been a very loyal exhibitor to Vinexpo. Since 2015, we have had a country of honour, and we are proud this year to have Spain under the spotlight. Our neighbouring country is a very exciting destination where wine is so much connected with gastronomy. The Spanish way of life has been very trendy lately and we wanted in a way to pay tribute to the influence of the Spanish culture in the wine and spirits industry. Another new section this year is going to be the world of organic wines (WOW) and I know this is very dear to your heart as well. What are we going to see there? Organic wines have always been at the show, but this is the first time we dedicate an entire space to them. In Scandinavia, for example, more than 20% of the consumption of wines is actually organic, so that made us think that it was time to facilitate the access CHINA IS THE LEADING VISITING COUNTRY TO VINEXPO AFTER FRANCE, AND THE NUMBER TWO COUNTRY IS THE UNITED STATES to organic wines for visitors and to dedicate one entire space for this purpose. This time, we will host about 115 wineries from about 10 countries. And a few conferences are planned to help visitors understand the philosophy and the challenges of organic wines. Are there any new major exhibitors that you would like to mention? We have more than 100 new exhibitors for the 2017 edition. They come from around the world and a lot of them are European. 18 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


Top we’ll see at this year’s event We are delighted to welcome the Moët Hennessy group with their 22 brands coming altogether for the first time. We shall also host a delegation of 20 wineries from the NingXia region in China, a group of sake and shoshu producers from Japan, and a pavilion of great producers from South Australia. I should also mention Austria, which is coming with more than 60 wineries this time. The region of Beaujolais in France is also back with an exciting new concept. Last but not least, many new brands will be launched at Vinexpo, including Taiga Shtof, a premium vodka which I am sure will attract many visitors. One of the key conferences at the show this year is going to be looking at the global warming and climatic impact on the growth of wine in different regions. How is that going to pan out and what will the conference be addressing precisely? This is one of the most important subjects that our industry has to face for the future of course, because it’s not only about the market, but also the regions of production. We know the climate will have an influence on the way wine and spirits are elaborated, so to face these challenges and to talk about them, we have organised this conference along with Wine Spectator – the world’s famous magazine on wine and spirits. One of the main speakers will be the famed Harvard Professor, John P. Holdren, who was the senior adviser to President Barack Obama on climate questions. He will be accompanied by a high-level panel of speakers to discuss this topic, including Gaia Gaja from Piedmont, Miguel Torres from Spain and Kathryn Hall from California. Other subjects include the wine and spirits markets after Brexit as well as e-commerce. Can you tell us a little bit more about these? Indeed, everybody would like to know what is going to happen with Brexit over the coming months. This will be our first tentative approach to see what sort of consequences Brexit might have on our industry, of course on the side of the UK market, which is one of the most important markets in the world, but also for the European suppliers who are doing business in the UK. Another aspect can be the possible consequences on The UK’s own production of spirits, particularly scotch and gin. You have a whole series of parallel events happening along with the show. Can you please tell us a little bit more about them? This programme of parallel events is always very important in the success of our exhibition. The event not be missed is certainly “A Taste of Spain”, which will take place on Monday 19 June from 8pm at the Palais de la Bourse in downtown Bordeaux. It is a unique culinary event where 110 famous bodegas from Spain and 12 great Spanish chefs, including world’s acclaimed Ferran Adria and José Andrés will work together on a wine and tapas experience. We have been working together with Wine Spectator on that event for months! This year you also have tastings open to the public… We wanted the local people to be able to enjoy the show in their own way and we thought it would be sad if they couldn’t taste some of the wine during the event, so that’s why we have organised, together with the Terre de Vins magazine, three evenings called “Vinexperiences”. These evenings will be on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday in various locations of the city. While the first evening will celebrate Beaujolais, the second will highlight Pomerol and the third will allow attendees to discover great wines from Bordeaux. This year, Bordeaux will be even more interesting for people as the last couple of years have been great vintages. Will this attract more people to Vinexpo? Yes, whenever there is a great vintage, the show takes on an even brighter shine. This year, we have the chance to have great 2015 and 2016 vintages in Bordeaux … two great years in a row. So this augers well for Vinexpo! Vinexpo 2015 Vinexpo 2015 © Philippe Labeguerie WE HAVE MORE THAN 100 NEW EXHIBITORS FOR THE 2017 EDITION. © Philippe Labeguerie © Jean-Bernard Nadeau VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 19


SPECIAL FEATURE: GASTRONOMY YANNICK ALLÉNO to be Chef for the Fête de la Fleur 2017 The twice 3-starred chef Yannick Alléno has been chosen as the chef to create the dinner for the prestigious Fête de la Fleur, which will take place on Wednesday 21 June 2017 at Château Malartic-Lagravière. This year 1,500 professionals from the wine and spirits industry will be invited to the Fête de la Fleur, organised by the Commanderie du Bontemps Médoc et Graves, Sauternes et Barsac, which will also mark the 20 th anniversary of the Bonnie family’s ownership of Château Malartic-Lagravière and will close the 19 th Vinexpo Bordeaux. This long-term partnership has led the Michelinstarred chef and the Bonnie family, owners of this Graves classified wine, to think deeply about food and wine pairings for the chef’s culinary creations and the various vintages produced by Château Malartic-Lagravière. Gourmet Dishes with Exceptional Wines La Table des Graves and Pessac- Léognan by la Maison Darroze @ Vinexpo Bordeaux 2017 The chef, who is also a wine-aficionado, will prepare an exclusive menu to match some of the most sumptuous Bordeaux Classified Growths, including those of Château Malartic-Lagravière. ALLÉNO AND CHÂTEAU MALARTIC- LAGRAVIÈRE: A PERFECT MATCH Yannick Alléno and the Bonnie family, owners of Château Malartic-Lagravière, have in fact been working together for two years, driven by the same quest for excellence, purity of taste, mastery of technique and enrichment of terroir. The Graves and Pessac- Léognan appellations are partnering with la Maison Darroze, a renowned “starred” restaurant located in Langon, to present their wines in a restaurant installed at Vinexpo from June 18 to 21 2017. In a contemporary and elegant setting facing the lake, diners will be offer a subtle blend of wines from exceptional terroirs and refined regional cuisine. The main attraction of a gourmet restaurant is of course its team and especially its chef. The Darroze family is especially attentive to its team, which is, they claim, paramount to the success of the enterprise, not the least of whom is the Chef, David Delieuvin. David, Norman of origin, joined Maison Darroze at the end of 2015, after years of experience between Lyon and Paris. Trained by Michel Troisgros, (3 stars in the Michelin Guide) in Roanne, near Lyon, he then worked in Paris with Lancaster, then at the Grande Cascade, 1 Michelin star where he was second chef. Today, David Delieuvin is chef at Maison Darroze. With his past experiences, David wanted to express himself. His specialty is the sauces. At Vinexpo, attendees will be offered a seasonal menu specially designed for the event, giving them the opportunity to taste the wines of their choice among a wide range of Crus from Graves, Pessac-Léognan and Crus Classés from Graves. Visitors will thus be able to appreciate the diversity of the wines of this region, the origin of the great Bordeaux wines. The restaurant opens during the 4 days of the show, proposing a lunch formula at €59 TTC including appetiser, main course, dessert, wine and coffee. Winegrowers of the two appellations will be present to describe their wines. From 3.30pm, the teams of Maison Darroze will propose a dessert formula + 2 glasses of wine for €12 until the fair closes. Hall 1 Stand L311 DEDICATED CHEFS TO BRING OUT THE BEST IN THE WINE! Les Terrasses at Vinexpo will once again this year be home to the stand of Boisset La Famille des Grands Vins. The singular and plural universe of its wine houses and estates has dual French and American identity, all showcased in a space combining luxury and conviviality. The American chef, Victor Scargle, will orchestrate all things gastronomic during the tradeshow. But he will welcome The Port and Douro Wines Institute is presenting Master Classes by Manuel Lima, Head of IVDP Tasting Chamber, during Vinexpo. Examples THE PAIRING OF PORT AND DARK CHOCOLATE, as the sweet side of the Port complements the bitterness of the dark chocolate. Sunday 18 th June 11:00 am to 12 mid-day & 2:30 pm to 3:30 pm PORT, DOURO AND CHEESE: A GOURMET TRIO! Monday 19 th June 11:00 am to 12 mid-day & 2:30 pm to 3:30 pm Hall 1, Stand DE67 guest chef Jean-Luc Rabanel, holder of two Michelin stars, on Monday 19 June for a vegan lunch marrying the first wines created under the label Fortant Veg to accompany the first gastronomic vegetarian cuisine in France. CHAMPAGNES, ROUSSILLON WINES AND SUSHI PAIRINGS A “media only” event sees pairings of Champagnes, Roussillon wines and a selection of sushis: Champagne Baron Fuente Chardonnay – 93 Pts Wine Enthusiast / Sushi with salmon Mas Bechat - Roussillon / Maki with red tuna Tuesday June 20 th - 6:00 pm Hall 1, Stand A292 Lakeside / Hall 1 Stand A161 / Door 17 PAIRING GALORE @ VINEXPO 20 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT: SOUTHERN EUROPE SPAIN @ icex @ icex Spanish Wine Production Spotlight on facts and figures for this year’s Vinexpo country of honour Spain is one of the greatest wine producers in the world: in first place in terms of planted surface area; third in production (after Italy and France) and in 2015 also first global exporter when it comes to volume, third if one takes into account value. Wine has become an extremely important sector in Spain, not only for its economic impact, but also relevant in social and environmental terms, and in the way Spanish wine portrays an image of the country abroad and improves tourism. Spanish wine-making is crucial, not just for its economic performance, but also for the people who work in this sector, and for the role it plays in environmental conservation. VINEYARDS According to the OIV, Spain remains the country in the EU, and indeed the world, with the largest number of vineyards, with 1.021 million hectares devoted to vine cultivation (97.4% used for wine-making, 2% for table grapes, 0.3% for raisin production, and the remaining 0.3% for nurseries). However, more recent official statistics compiled by the MAGRAMA note that this surface area decreased to 954,659 hectares in 2015. In any case, it represents 30% of the EU total (followed by France and Italy, both with approximately 22.5%) and 13.5% of the world-wide total. Its wine-making tradition can be traced back to Roman times, though it isn’t until recent times that exports have become a major concern, and generalized across the sector. The vine is the 3rd most cultivated crop in Spain, after cereals and olives. SPANISH PRODUCTION The Spanish wine sector is searching the balance between production and sales with added value, according to OEMV, Spanish Wine Market Observatory. The main Spanish wine production areas are Castillala-Mancha, with 22.5 million hl of wine production in 2015/16 (-8.7%) and amounting for 60.5% of the total Spanish wine production, Extremadura with 4 million hl (-5.1%) and Catalonia with 3.31 million hl (0.6%). Region of Valencia, Castilla Leon, and Rioja contribute around 5% of total wine production each. In 2015/16 according to MAGRAMA, PDO wine production is of 15.2 million hl (+4.5%) and the production of PGA wine is of 4.2 million hl (+2%). Production of quality wine without PDO/PGA is forecasted at 17.8 million hl. VINEYARD SURFACE AREA Geographical position, climatic differences and the variety of soils make the Iberian Peninsula and islands a privileged location for the production of very different wines. In all, 17 Autonomous Regions in the country cultivate vines, and almost half of this total distribution is found in Castilla-La-Mancha (473,268 hectares and 49.6% of planted vines), which is the geographical area with the greatest concentration of vineyards in the world, followed by Extremadura (around 80,391 hectares, 8.4%), Castile-León (63,359 hectares) and Valencian Community (62,676 hectares), Catalonia, La Rioja, Aragon, Galicia, Murcia and Andalusia. Hall 1 Stands CD148, DE137, DE149, CD139 Our thanks to ICEX for details of this report undertaken for them by The Spanish Wine Market Observatory. A TASTE OF SPAIN With Spain as this year’s country of honour, Vinexpo Bordeaux is teaming with Wine Spectator to present “A Taste of Spain”, Vinexpo’s massive Spanish bodega showcase. Slated for Monday June 19 in Bordeaux (8- 11pm), the exclusive tasting party will pair fine Spanish wines with foods by Spain’s top chefs at the Palais de la Bourse in Bordeaux’s historic city center. “A Taste of Spain is shaping up to be one of the most provocative and essential events of Vinexpo Bordeaux 2017,” said Vinexpo CEO Guillaume Deglise. 110 Spanish bodegas have been hand-selected by Wine Spectator, to be paired with food prepared by 12 of Spain’s most celebrated chefs selected by culinary co-chairs Ferran Adrià and José Andrés. VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 21


REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT: SOUTHERN EUROPE SPAIN Javier Ruiz de Galarreta President & CEO, ARAEX Grands 2016 – A Year of Significant Growth for ARAEX Founder & CEO Javier Ruiz de Galarreta outlines the Spanish fine wine’s brand roadmap for consolidation The pre-announced strategy of ARAEX Grands to achieve major growth 2016-2018 is paying off, as its results from 2016 reinforce the success of the company’s business model. Javier Ruiz de Galarreta founded the ARAEX group almost 25 years ago, bringing together nine small and medium wineries from the Rioja Alavesa region. He went on to create Spanish Fine Wines in 2001, a second union that grouped other wineries from other respected Spanish regions. Today, Mr Ruiz de Galarreta continues to create new wine ventures, characterised by quality, global projection and respect to the roots and identity of Spanish vineyards. From the production of prestigious wines to the organisation of tasting panels, Araex-Spanish Fine Wines Group’s activities stand out for their excellence and vision. Among their latest initiatives the current collaboration with world renowned winemaker Michel Rolland is especially remarkable. We asked Mr Ruiz de Galaretta how the idea for ARAEX originally came about. I read the report of an international consultant on the corporate structure of the wine sector in DOCa. Rioja, which concluded that the sector was too fragmented to effectively affect the markets. So I decided to create the Rioja Alavesa Export Group, whose acronym is Araex, an instrument which was dynamic and large enough to enter international markets. When did you decide to create a second support pillar? The creation of Spanish Fine Wines in 2001 allowed us to optimise our structure and design a comprehensive global Spain-wide portfolio with a specific positioning strategy for each of the Rioja Alavesa brands: Labastida, Montebuena, Baigorri, Luis Cañas, Amaren, Altos R, Heredad de Baroja and Lar de Paula. What is your secret to the future success in the marketing of Rioja wines? We must flee from standardisation. Rioja has a strong image. It is the most important collective trademark in Spain. And that, paradoxically, is also the problem. Our task is to manage the offer by segmenting it, because we cannot enter the markets today with a collective trademark without providing a segmentation by different levels. How is the export potential of Spanish wines developing? Spain has always been valued for its export volume, not for the quality of its products. For a producer country, the pricevalue ratio is still excessively good. And I used the word “excessively” on purpose, because the prices of many Spanish wines are too competitive compared to similar products from other countries. But that is changing now. Markets are accepting a slow increase in the prices of Spanish wines. In the future, the growth of Spanish wines will be achieved through the value of the product, not through volume. But that requires a better positioning of the wines. What’s new at Vinexpo this year? Araex and Spanish Fine Wines will be marketing The Grand Wines’ products: Villa Conchi cavas, which brings together five types of cava; a Vino de la Tierra (quality wine) under the Gran Sello trademark; and the R&G project, which stands for Rolland & Galarreta. R&G has given me the opportunity to work with Michel Rolland, the best known wine producer in the world as a fully integrated partner, not only as a consultant, and produce a wine from each of the three growing regions, Ribera del Duero, Rioja and Rueda, under his direction. Last October, our triplet produced 800,000 bottles. About 450,000 are Rioja Alavesa R&G. This is clearly an ambitious volume, but the prospects are excellent, especially because these Premium wines have an unbeatable price-value ratio. R&G will soon become one of the leading Spanish brands in the Premium wines market. Hall 1, Stand CD136 BUILDING VALUE WITH ARAEX ARAEX is a single supplier (in just one portfolio) exclusively for PREMIUM and SUPER PREMIUM quality wines from winegrowing regions with guaranteed origin, i.e. denominations with long and proven identity and very strictly controlled with regard to origin and quality. A highly sophisticated, proven and complex international export and distribution structure that ensures the success of different products from associated Winegrowers on the national and international markets. 22 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


New Identity for Ramon Roqueta The Ramon Roqueta brand is presenting a new identity for its wines. Maria Elena Jimenez & Marta Casas, Winemakers and sisters-in-law The symbolic elements that feature in the new design for the producer, which is one of the most emblematic in the DO Catalunya, reflect the elegance and authenticity of the brand’s historical values and appeal to a wider public. The new image features symbolic elements that reflect the essence of the figure of Ramon Roqueta as an entrepreneur, wine merchant and wine-maker, as well as the values associated with the winemaking tradition of the Roqueta family; oak leaves, which symbolise strength and renewal; a carriage wheel, which reminds us of the wine-making trade; a flame, which evokes family and home; and grapes, a pure expression of winemaking. Hall 1, Stand B148 You Say You Want a R-Evolution? The R-Evolution range of wines from Parés Baltà will be among the “star” products from the Spanish producer at Vinexpo Bordeaux. R-Evolution wines are made from Penedès flagship grapes such as Xarel·lo or Grenache. The Origen Range - fresh and fruity wines elaborated in honour of the origins of the winery – will also be “must tastes”. A family owned winery located in Penedès wine region with tradition that goes back to 1790, Parés Baltà is being guided into a new era of high quality wine production under the management of Joan and Josep Cusiné, the third generation of the Cusiné family. The efforts of winemakers and sisters-in-law, Maria Elena Jimenez and Marta Casas, are reflected in the quality of the wines, showing fine character and concentration yet with elegance and balance. ORGANIC AND BIODYNAMIC CERTIFICATIONS The environmentally respectful cultivation of the vines is key to Parés Baltà’s sense of identity. “We do not apply herbicides, pesticides or any chemical fertilizer”, says Josep Cusiné. “…Even though we have our own flock of sheep that fertilize the soil and we elaborate our biodynamic compost in order to help the vines during the vegetative cycle. All our wines are certified as organic and our vineyards as biodynamic (by Demeter).” Hall 1, Stand CD139-9 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 23


REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT: SOUTHERN EUROPE ITALY Franciacorta – Able to Accompany Many a Meal – or Just as an Aperitif 2016: An Excellent Year for Montepulciano After an exceptional 2015 vintage, it has been revealed that the 2016 Vino Nobile from Montepulciano is an “excellent” year. 2016 also marked the 50 th anniversary celebration of the DOC denomination, for which the Consortium of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano inaugurated one of its most ambitious projects: the restoration of a Fortress, in which the associated producers have invested considerable resources alongside the Municipal administration and other private and institutional partners. The project, which began in 2007, was completed in October with the inauguration of the Vino Nobile Consortium headquarters and its fascinating “Enoliteca”, one of the few examples of its kind in Italy today, where it is possible to find all the labels pertaining to the denomination and a selection of typical local products, offering tourists and foodies the chance to familiarise themselves with the excellent food and wine specialities of the region all in one venue, starting from Vino Nobile itself. centre (the only ones of their kind). Further confirmation of this historical link is provided by documents from 790 AD which register the donation of a vineyard to the church, and Repetti’s mention of a document in 1350 (in his “Historical and Geographical dictionary of Tuscany”) which drew up the terms for trade and exportation of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano. The Consorzio del Vino Nobile di Montepulciano was founded in 1965 with the aim of protecting and promoting the image of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano (and later, Rosso di Montepulciano and Vin Santo) in Italy and the rest of the world. There are currently around 270 members of the consortium representing almost the totality of the vineyards. The Consorzio also carries out the role of managing the appellation, of monitoring the wines on the market, of legal guardianship of the brand in Italy and around the world, of promoting and improving the whole appellation. Franciacorta was Italy’s first DOCG wine - instituted in 1995, and also stands out through the fact that it is obtained by the natural re-fermentation in bottle of Chardonnay and/or Pinot Nero and Pinot Bianco (50% maximum). Only 10 designations in the whole Europe enjoy this privilege, and of those ten, only three are obtained by re-fermentation in bottle: Cava, Champagne and Franciacorta. Lying in the south of Lake Iseo in the heart of Lombardy, Franciacorta has a wide range of soil types and site climates that make it a natural wine territory. Today Franciacorta embraces the territories of 19 municipalities in the province of Brescia. A territory with a fascinating cultural and environmental heritage. Grapes were grown here in fact as far back as Roman times. Today’s winegrowers, the heirs to this millennial patrimony, produce wines of superb quality, with Franciacorta at their head, veritable King of Italian sparkling wines. Produced in accord with the Metodo Franciacorta, the Franciacorta @Cattabiani Method, which was created by the Consorzio per la Tutela, the wine has, since 2010, a new Production Code that raises its quality still higher. Franciacorta is made from rigorously hand-picked clusters of Chardonnay and/ or Pinot Noir and/or Pinot Blanc, which are then given a gentle pressing. The production period is a lengthy one. After about 7 months from the harvest, cultured yeasts are added to the base wine and it is bottled. At least another 18 months must pass as the wine slowly re-ferments in the bottle in contact with the spent yeast cells, or sur lie, after which period it may be disgorged. All the three types of Franciacorta (Franciacorta, Franciacorta Satèn and Franciacorta Rosé) can acquire greater complexity through a longer maturation. The wines can be refined through further years, thus obtaining more prestigious products. It is the case of the Franciacorta Millesimato and the Franciacorta Riserva. Hall 1, Stand C96 @Fabio Cattabiani Montepulciano’s history has always been closely linked to its famous vines and wine, as demonstrated by the centuries-old cellars in the town’s old Hall 1, Stand AB72 24 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


Ongoing Positive Trend for Chianti Classico For the seventh year running, last year saw a positive sales trend for Chianti Classico, with an overall increase of 48.5% since 2009. In 2016, 285,500 hectolitres of Chianti Classico were sold - the best result of the last decade. The USA was once again in the lead in 2016 with 32% of total sales, followed by Italy with 22% and Germany with 13%. In the first 5 months of 2017, the trend of sales growth has also been confirmed. Chianti Classico, with its unmistakeable trademark, the Black Rooster, is governed by production specifications which include a minimum of 80% Sangiovese grapes in the blend for this, Italy’s “oldest zone of origin”. Sergio Zingarelli, Chairman of the Consorzio Vino Chianti Classico, says the result rewards the time-consuming work of relaunching the DOCG zone in recent years, culminating in the presentation of Gran Selezione, the new type of Chianti Classico, on the market in 2014: “This great wine has raised the quality of our designation and met with great critical success, thus helping consolidate Chianti Classico’s place among the best wines in the world.” Hall 1, Stand AB72 NEW FROM BOTTEGA The Italian winery and distillery will be presenting its latest products at Vinexpo 2017: Bottega Gin “Bacûr” (produced in Italy using botanicals like juniper berries, sage and lemon zest), and two vermouths created by Sandro Bottega and Lamberto Vallarino Gancia, heir of the Italian family leader in sparkling wine and vermouth: Vermouth Bianco Bottega and Vermouth Rosso Bottega. The company’s vermouths stand out due to two unique characteristics: the base wine and the selected botanicals used in the recipe. While average vermouth is produced by starting with a base of neutral grape wine, Bottega Vermouths use wines obtained from grapes that are typical of the region where Bottega is based: Veneto, in the north-east of Italy, renowned for producing Pinot Grigio (used for Vermouth Bianco Bottega) and Merlot (used for Vermouth Rosso Bottega). The secret and original recipes mix over 30 botanicals which lend multifaceted sensorial nuances and an unmistakable personality to these vermouths. Hall 1, Stand A77 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 25


REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT: SOUTHERN EUROPE ITALY Bubbles from Duchessa Lia The Piedmont producer Duchessa Lia will be presenting a very broad range of sparkling wines (among others) at this year’s Vinexpo. The company is located in Santo Stefano Belbo, in the centre of Asti and Moscato D’Asti regions and close to the Langhe hills (Barolo and Barbaresco). It is part of Cantine Capetta, a family business founded in 1953 by Francesco Capetta and now managed by the family’s second generation. Combining passion, respect for the tradition, technology and long terms view, Duchessa Lia has become the leading brand for Piedmont Region, in the domestic modern distribution. They have become specialists in sparkling and semi-sparkling wines based on aromatic grapes. The “sweet bubbles” segment is one of the fastest growing segments over the last decade, in many important international markets. The company (production and marketing system) has been certified in line with international quality standards ISO 9001:2008 –ISO 14001:2004 –IFS Hall 1, Stand BC84 Terre Del Barolo Announces New Ventures 2017 represents a new beginning for Italy’s Terre Del Barolo. The company has announced it is launching two new strategic ventures: a new organic line, and the Arnaldo Rivera Barolo Grand Cru project, named after the founder of the cooperative, and designed to highlight the quality of a number of prime vineyards and crus which have always been part of the winery heritage. Located in Castiglione Falletto in the heart of the Langhe in Italy, the winery, which dates back to the 1950’s, brings together about 300 growers who own more than 600 hectares of vineyards around the villages of Grinzane Cavour, Serralunga, Monforte, Diano d’Alba, Barolo, Novello, La Morra, Verduno, Roddi and Castiglione Falletto. These grapes are vinified following traditional procedures using modern technology. The main focus is for Barolo docg, which undergoes the main part of its maturation in French and Slavonian oak casks, and represents the highest volume. Hall 1, Stand E112 26 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017


© Les Williams HOSPITALITY / RESTAURANTS / BARS WHERE TO GO IN Bordeaux CLUBS / EVENTS / SHOPPING / CULTURE A Warm Welcome… From the Mayor of Bordeaux Alain Juppé Mayor of Bordeaux Alain Juppé, Mayor of Bordeaux, is no doubt the best person in town to give a few tips on places to visit in this city when one has a little spare time alongside Vinexpo. We asked him for his pointers on the best places to savour wines in the city. The wine Bar of the CIVB (Inter-professional Council of Bordeaux Wines), where one can on the one hand taste, but also be advised on a vintage, or an appellation. The range offered there is rich, and competent professionals can guide your choice. Many other establishments also offer tastings and I invite our visitors to discover them according to their walks in Bordeaux. Can you suggest to our readers a “must” to see or do during a first visit to Bordeaux? La Cité du Vin of course! We have just celebrated the first anniversary of its opening and its frequentation goals have already been achieved with more than 420,000 visitors, including a high proportion of foreigners. As a beacon of our wine tourism policy, it is a remarkable tool for promoting the culture of wine but also an invitation to discover the vineyards of the world, the terroirs and the savoir-faire. ONE CAN DISCOVER THE RICH HERITAGE OF BORDEAUX, ONE OF THE MAJOR ASSETS OF OUR UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE RANKING Can you recommend an unusual place that visitors should discover? The Pey-Berland tower, for a 360° view of Bordeaux. From the top of this monument, one of the highest in the city, one can discover the rich heritage of Bordeaux, one of the major assets of our UNESCO world heritage ranking. It is also from there that one can admire the curve of the Garonne and better understand why Bordeaux is called the “Port of the moon”. VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / MONDAY 12 TH JUNE 2017 27

More magazines by this user