10 months ago

NTI Brochure

Take a look through the National Theater Institute brochure! Founded in 1970, NTI's credit-earning theater intensives — taught by industry professionals and master teachers — train actors, singers, directors, dancers, designers, playwrights, and composers in comprehensive training. Graduates leave NTI with the skill sets to produce, write, direct, and act in their own work, as well as create their own path in the industry.

Much of what we now take

Much of what we now take for granted in contemporary theater contains DNA that can be traced back to a green patch of land overlooking the Long Island Sound in Waterford, CT. – The O’Neill: Transformation of Modern American Theater by Jeffrey Sweet. Published by Yale University Press 2014. your launchpad EUGENE O’NEILL THEATER CENTER The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center is the nation’s preeminent developmental theater and the recipient of two Tony Awards and the National Medal of Arts. The O’Neill is home to the National Theater Institute and dedicated to nurturing new work and new artists. Additional programs include the National Playwrights Conference, National Music Theater Conference, National Critics Institute, National Puppetry Conference, and Cabaret & Performance Conference. Originating the process of developing new plays through script-in-hand staged readings, scores of projects developed at the O’Neill have gone on to full production at other theaters around the world including Broadway, off-Broadway, London’s West End, and major regional theaters. The launchpad of American theater, the O’Neill is and has been an artistic home to writers August Wilson, Wendy Wasserstein, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Edward Albee, John Patrick Shanley, Kia Corthron, Christopher Durang, Jeanine Tesori, John Guare, Robert Lopez, David Auburn, Theresa Rebeck, Samuel D. Hunter, Jennifer Haley, Alfred Uhry, Tom Kitt, and John Logan; directors Lloyd Richards, Jason Moore, Leigh Silverman, Thomas Kail, and Rebecca Taichman; actors Michael Douglas, Meryl Streep, Danny DeVito, Kristin Chenoweth, Al Pacino, Sarah Jessica Parker, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Cynthia Nixon, Kelli O’Hara, and Steve Kazee.