7 months ago

Selwyn Times: August 16, 2016

Selwyn Times: August 16,

FREE TUESday aUgUST 16 2016 379 7100 Selwyn Times Proudly locally owned and published by Star Media Award winning publishing group Kea (Nestor Notabilis) Authorised by Nina Green, 1 Wedgewood Row, Rolleston. Ladbrooks, Tai Tapu, Leeston, Lincoln, Southbridge, Prebbleton, Halswell, Rolleston, Templeton, Burnham, West Melton, Darfield, Arthurs Pass Debra Hasson Sam Broughton Sarah Walters Pat McEvedy Bill Woods Five candidates vie for top job on Selwyn council • By Tom Doudney SELWYN RESIDENTS electing the district’s next mayor in October will have five candidates to choose from. District councillor Debra Hasson has entered the race, joining Deputy Mayor Sarah Walters, district councillors Pat McEvedy and Sam Broughton and former mayor Bill Woods. The list of candidates for local body elections has now been finalised. At least Selwyn two new Times faces are guaranteed 266mm around x 90mm the district council table with current mayor Elections 16 Kelvin Coe and district councillor Nigel Barnett not standing for re-election, while Cr Walters and Cr Broughton are both contesting only the mayoralty and not standing as district councillors in their wards. In the Selwyn Central ward, five candidates will contest four positions. They include sitting district councillors Mark Alexander, Jeff Bland and Peter Hill, along with Rolleston Residents’ Association chairwoman Nicole Reid and Craig Watson. In the Malvern Ward, four candidates will contest two positions. District councillor John Morten will be seeking another term, with the other candidates being Malvern Community Board members Bob Mugford and Kerry Pauling, along with mayoral candidate Mr Woods. The Ellesmere Ward is a four-way race for two positions, with mayoral candidate Cr McEvedy also standing for the ward. Other candidates include Selwyn Central Community Board member Diane Chesmar, Murray Lemon and Harry Schat. Five candidates are going for three positions in the Springs Ward. They include sitting district councillors Grant Miller, Malcolm Lyall and mayoral candidate Cr Hasson, along with Chris Martin and Tony Palmer. The Malvern Community Board’s Tawera subdivision has two people going for three positions – Bob Mugford, Kerry Pauling and Karen Meares. However, two of those candidates are also going for district council positions which would leave a vacancy on the community board if both were successful. The board’s Hawkins subdivision has four people going for three positions – current members chairwoman Jenny Gallagher and Judith Pascoe, along with Ken May and Megan Hands. 16HMDG160622 Ph 03 324 2571 irrigation wells potable water supplies ground source heating geotechnical assessment building foundations & retaining walls 120 High St, Southbridge