The Star: June 22, 2017

StarMedia.Digital

11 I BOOKS

Sharks

Photographed by Mr Michael Muller

Available from Taschen

Dior New Couture

Photographed by Patrick Demarchelier

Available from Superette

Sir Mario Testino

Available from Unity Books Online

coffee table books to add to your collection

what do your coffee table books say about you?

Les Dîners De Gala by Salvador Dalí

Available from Book Depository

In the Company of Women

Available from Collected

Let’s face it: the coffee table book is not just a book; it’s an item designed to showcase a

little snapshot in to the owners interests. It’s always intriguing to see what kind of books

people put out on their coffee table. Are they arty books or travel based? Do they look like

they’ve been well read or are they just there for show? Coffee table books are now often

used by interior stylists to instantly transform a surface by adding some pops of colour and

a little sophistication to your home.

The 1970s cookbook that surrealist painter Salvador Dalí created with his wife Gala is

unsurprisingly bonkers, featuring 136 recipes with dreamlike illustrations by the artist, and

including a chapter specifically dedicated to aphrodisiacs.

In the Company of Women features profiles of a broad cross-section of more than 100

inspiring, creative, successful women – from Rookie editor Tavi Gevinson to Thelma Golden,

director and chief curator of New York’s The Studio Museum.

Another slightly odd, definitely intriguing choice, Women in Trees is edited by a woman

named Jochen Raiss, who has been collecting amateur photographs of women in trees from

flea markets for around a quarter of a century. Weird and wonderful, this strangely touching

book has captured moments of pure happiness enjoyed by unknown women from the

1920s to the 1950s.

The Sharks coffee book would be one to add to the table for pure shock factor, the large

scale images taken by Michael Muller literally jump off the pages!

Women in Trees

Available from Amazon

tears we cannot stop: A SERMON TO WHITE AMERICA

In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece

“Death in Black and White,” Michael Eric

Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues

to share his views in Tears We Cannot Stop.

Dyson makes it clear to readers that he wants

more than guilt, he wants action and change.

He wants readers to wake up to “what it

means to be black in America”, and actually do

something about racism.

Like any book dealing with deep issues such

as race, this book is sure to ruffle some

feathers, make more than a few wince and

really anger others. Nothing is sugar coated.

At just 228 pages, it’s anything but a quick

read. Yes, there’s controversy in Dyson’s views

but it will also open a lot of eyes.

“One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which

should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin’s The Fire Next Time and King’s Why We Can’t Wait.”

-The New York Times Book Review

“Readers will find searing moments in Tears We Cannot Stop, when Dyson’s words proves unforgettable...But

more than education, Dyson wants a reckoning.” —The Washington Post

“Here’s a sermon that’s as fierce as it is lucid. It shook me up, but in a good way. This is how it works

if you’re black in America, this is what happens, and this is how it feels. If you’re black, you’ll feel a

spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you’re white, Dyson tells you what you need to know—

what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen.”

—Stephen King

“Impassioned.” —Library Journal

AN EXCERPT: On the invention of

Whiteness:

“Beloved, let me start by telling you an ugly

secret: there is no such thing as white people.

And yet so many of them, so many of you,

exist. Please hear me out. I know you’re flesh

and blood. I know that you use language and

forks and knives. I’m not talking about your

bodies or your garages or your grocery stores.

I’m talking about the politics of whiteness. I’m

talking about an identity that exists apart from

the skin you’re born in. I’m talking about a

meaning of race that supersedes the features

you inherit when you come out of the womb.

You don’t get whiteness from your genes. It is

a social inheritance that is passed on to you as

a member of a particular group.

And it’s killing us, and, quiet as it’s kept, it’s

killing you too.

Race has no meaning outside of the cultures

we live in and the worlds we fashion out of its

force and energy. Whiteness is an advantage

and privilege because you have made it so, not

because the universe demands it.

So I want to tell you right off the bat that

whiteness is made up, and that white history

disguised as American history is a fantasy, as

much a fantasy as white superiority and white

purity. Those are all myths. They’re intellectual

rubbish, cultural garbage. The quicker you

accept that, the better off you’ll be, and so will

the rest of us.

My friends, I know reading this frightens

many of you. It may even anger you. Please

bear with me. Until you make whiteness give

up its secrets none of us will get very far.

Whiteness has privilege and power connected

to it, no matter how poor you are. Of course

the paradox is that even though whiteness is

not real it is still true. I mean true as a force

to be reckoned with. It is true because it has

the power to make us believe it is real and to

punish those who doubt its magic.

Whiteness is slick and endlessly inventive. It

is most effective when it makes itself invisible,

when it appears neutral, human, American.”

PAPANUI RSA

BAR & RESTAURANT

for any occasion with family and friends

Canteen Hours:

Mon 5 – 7pm Tue/Wed 12 – 2pm and 5 – 8pm

Thu/Fri/Sat 12 – 2pm and 5 – 8.30pm

Sunday 1st & 2nd Sunday of month from 1- 3pm

5 – 8pm every Sunday

Open 7 nights for dinner from 5pm

Bar Hours:

Mon 1pm – 8.30pm Tue/Wed 11am – 9pm

Thu/Fri/Sat 11am - 10.00pm

Sun 1st & 2nd Sunday of Month 12pm - 8.30pm

All other Sundays 2pm - 8.30pm

Contact us for you function, meeting or conference requirements

Papanui RSA

1 Harewood Road, Papanui

Office: 352 1185 Bar/Restaurant: 352 9770

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines