6 months ago

TMACOG 50th Anniversary Annual Report

Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments 50th Anniversary Annual Report


FROM THE CHAIR As TMACOG completes its 50th year, we have been busy evolving the mission of the organization to meet the challenges of the next 50 years. New leadership and new staff are on board with new energy and vision for the future. And most importantly, membership participation on TMACOG councils and committees is growing with more interest in addressing common challenges for our region with a new level of cooperation and problem solving. Thank you to all our Ohio and Michigan members! Transportation was the founding core mission of TMACOG, and the region has truly enjoyed success over the last decade with planning and winning funds for numerous highway improvements like I-75 and many more. Hundreds of millions of construction dollars have been secured to benefit our area with regional cooperation and planning led by TMACOG. TMACOG's mission has evolved and expanded to provide a forum for addressing regional environmental issues like Lake Erie water quality and all the upstream issues that affect it. Further, TMACOG has provided an effective forum to explore the benefits and mechanics of establishing a safe and redundant regional drinking water system. My thanks to all who have worked to strengthen and further the regional goals of TMACOG, including our many loyal employees. The organization has been served over the years by many effective and long-term staff members, some of whom have already or will soon be retiring. Your contributions, energy and knowhow have been outstanding and will be dearly missed! TMACOG will be standing on your shoulders as we move forward to improve northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Thank you for allowing me to serve as TMACOG Chair the past two years. It has been an honor and a privilege. Best wishes to all as we move into TMACOG's next 50 years! Craig A. Stough TMACOG Chair Mayor, City of Sylvania, Ohio 2. Past Chairs of TMACOG

2017 OFFICERS & EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OFFICERS Chair: Craig A. Stough – Mayor, City of Sylvania Vice Chair: Doris I. Herringshaw – President of Commissioners, Wood County COUNCILS Water Quality Council Chair: Carol A. Contrada – Commissioner, Lucas County Vice Chair: Jon Eckel – Director of Public Service, City of Perrysburg Transportation Council Chair: Keith G. Earley – County Engineer, Lucas County Vice Chair: James M. Bagdonas – Municipal Administrator, City of Waterville ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES Communications Committee Chair: Scott Carpenter – Director of Public Relations, Metroparks Toledo Vice Chair: Sheri L. Bokros – V.P., Business Development, The Mannik & Smith Group, Inc. Finance, Audit & Administration Committee Chair: Troy P. Dowling – Administrator, Public Service, City of Toledo Vice Chair: Edward Kolanko – Mayor, Village of Walbridge Leadership Development Committee Chair: Craig A. Stough – Mayor, City of Sylvania Vice Chair: Doris I. Herringshaw – President of Commissioners, Wood County Membership Committee Chair: Kenneth L. Gilsdorf – Trustee, Township of Lake Vice Chair: Robert P. Mack – Trustee, Township of Perrysburg 2017 AT-LARGE MEMBERS Michael A. Aspacher – President of Council, Third Ward, City of Bowling Green Gordon A. Bowman – Mayor, Village of Pemberville & Chair, TMACOG Portage River Basin Council Lori A. Brodie – Mayor, City of Waterville Robert P. Mack – Trustee, Township of Perrysburg Patrick McColley – Deputy Director, ODOT District 2 (ex-officio member) Michael J. Olmstead – Mayor, City of Perrysburg & Co-Chair, Regional Water Planning Committee Al Prieur – Deputy Supervisor, Township of Bedford Kay E. Reiter – Vice President of Commissioners, Sandusky County James M. Sass – Vice President of Commissioners, Ottawa County & Immediate Past TMACOG Chair Edward L. Snyder – Trustee, Northwestern Ohio Rails-to-Trails Association, Inc. Sandra L. Spang – Council Member-At-Large, City of Toledo 1960’s On April 23, 1968, members approved TMACOG’s bylaws, creating the organization in its first meeting under Chapter 167 of the Ohio Revised Code (O.R.C.) and the Michigan Public Act No. 7 (Ex. Sess.). The first formally organized meeting was held on May 31, 1968, in the City of Oregon’s council chambers. 3.