Views
3 months ago

Canny Bevvy 243

Issue 243 of Canny Bevvy spring 2018

42 nd NEWCASTLE BEER &

42 nd NEWCASTLE BEER & CIDER FESTIVAL Northumbria University Students Union April 2018 Wed. 11 th 6.00 - 10.30 pm Battle of the Beers Thu. 12th noon - 10.30 pm Hat Day Fri. 13th noon - 10.30 pm music after 8.30 pm Sat. 14th noon - 5.00 pm music after 1.30 pm Tyneside & Northumberland Campaign for Real Ale cannybevvy.co.uk

BRANCH CONTACTS Chairman: Hubert Gieschen chairman@cannybevvy.co.uk Vice Chairman, Editor, Advertising & Distribution: Adrian Gray vicechairman@cannybevvy.co.uk editor@cannybevvy.co.uk advertising@cannybevvy.co.uk distribution@cannybevvy.co.uk Secretary & Diversity Officer: Maria Wilson secretary@cannybevvy.co.uk diversity@cannybevvy.co.uk Treasurer: Jan Anderson treasurer@cannybevvy.co.uk Membership Secretary: Alan Chaplain membership@cannybevvy.co.uk Social Secretary: Murray Owen socialsecretary@cannybevvy.co.uk Pubs Officer & LocAle Officer: Colin Anderson pubsofficer@cannybevvy.co.uk locale@cannybevvy.co.uk Cider/Perry Officer: Vacant cider@cannybevvy.co.uk Press & Publicity: Martin Ellis press@cannybevvy.co.uk Public Affairs Officer & Social Media Officer: Paul Hillhouse publicaffairs@cannybevvy.co.uk socialmedia@cannybevvy.co.uk Young Members Contact: Hattie Rowling youngmembers@cannybevvy.co.uk Website: www.cannybevvy.co.uk Facebook: www.facebook.com/tyncamra Twitter account: @TYNCAMRA © Copyright for Canny Bevvy is the property of the Campaign for Real Ale. All rights reserved Disclaimer: Any views and opinions expressed in this newsletter are not necessarily those of the Canny Bevvy Editor, CAMRA or the Publishers. Seek out and enjoy real ale wherever you can, drink responsibly and please support the advertisers. Typesetting by Apostle Designs Email: studio@apostledesigns.co.uk Printed by Print North East Email: info@printne.co.uk TALKING ED CAMRA’s Revitalisation Project has undertaken the most fundamental appraisal of its purpose and campaigning since it was formed. The proposals and Special Resolutions will be voted on either in person at CAMRA’s AGM in Coventry in April or via proxy. What will not change is the name and spirit of the campaign. It will continue to be an independent, non-party political, volunteer-led organisation. (For the full list of proposals see page 20). Community Pubs Month, which launches on 1st April, will showcase thousands of community events across Britain. Pubs are encouraged to put on charity fundays, barbecues, quizzes, live music and more. Beer Day Britain is held annually on 15th June, because that is the date Magna Carta was sealed in 1215. Article 35 of the great charter stated: ‘Let there be throughout our kingdom a single measure for wine and a single measure for ale and a single measure for corn, namely the London quarter’. Today beer and pubs are still central to British life. At 7.00pm on 15th June people will be raising a glass of beer and saying “Cheers to Beer” (see branch website for details). Finally, the 42nd Newcastle Beer & Cider Festival is on from 11th to 14th April at Northumbria University Students Union in Newcastle (see page 11). I’ll see you all there. Cheers Adrian Gray Editor Cover: Apologies to Edvard Munch ADVERTISING RATES 7000 COPIES DISTRIBUTED TO 350+ REAL ALE OUTLETS READERSHIP 14,000+ REAL ALE DRINKERS & PUB GOERS Full Back Cover £360 Full Inside Front/ Back Cover £250 Full Page £180 Half Page £100 Quarter Page £52 Email advertising@cannybevvy.co.uk www.cannybevvy.co.uk Next Edition No. 244 Summer 2018 Copy deadline date 7/5/2018 Advertising deadline date 11/5/2018 Publication date 7/6/2018 Issue 243 • Spring 2018 3

Canny Bevvy 234
Canny Bevvy 239
Canny Bevvy Issue 241
Canny Bevvy 237
Canny Bevvy 238
Canny Bevvy Issue 236, Summer 2016
Canny Bevvy 233
Canny Bevvy Issue 198
Mine's a Pint Issue 42
Mine's a Pint Issue 44
Pints West 84, Winter 2009 - Bristol & District CAMRA
MerseyAle