Cranford Review / March_2018

cranfordcommunitycollege

“Cranford Review” © is a publication of Cranford Community College.
Editor-in-chief: Jessica Joyce
Graphic design: Enzo Gianvittorio
Printed by: Springfieldpapers.com

March 2018

Cranford

Parliament

Since

September 2017, over 100 students have been part of something innovative,

the Cranford Parliament: a new initiative to replace the previous school

council system. Students were invited to stand for election and went through various election

processes in line with government elections.

Cranford Parliament functions in a similar way to an actual parliament. There are two first

ministers, two of both foreign and home secretaries and two chairs for each committee. There

are committees to oversee various aspects of the school including home, foreign, culture media

and health. With around 14 members in each committee, students have been coming up with

various, creative ideas some of which have already started to take place or have happened. With

weekly cabinet meetings consisting of the Members of the Cranford Parliament (MCPs) and

the leadership team, ideas can be brought together and can be discussed on how to implement

them and if needed voted for through our parliament.

Seema Malhotra, MP for Feltham and Heston came to our first Parliament sitting. Her inaugural

speech outlined the importance of our role and the function of an elected parliament.

In the second parliament sitting, MCPs voted to have one overall theme for the Cranford

Parliament – mental health. That would be the main focus of the parliament other than the

already assigned committees for this academic year. Many visitors to the school including

teachers from schools abroad have expressed positive views about the Parliament.

Over time, the system of the Cranford Parliament will embed itself into the school life of every

student. It should improve our mental health, wellbeing and most importantly the education

of the students.

As the current first minister, I believe that this is a great opportunity for students in the younger

year groups. It allows students to express their ideas and make a difference and learn more

about the democratic system of the United Kingdom. It is a stepping stone for any student who

wants to pursue a career in politics but it will benefit individuals in many different ways. A

big thank you to Mr. Fraser for getting this started I hope this new initiative will benefit the

teachers, the school and the students for many years to come.

Aadil Awan (Head Boy and First Minister)


2

Hounslow

SACRE

Annual RE Lecture

On

Thursday 9th November 2017 the Hounslow SACRE

annual RE lecture was delivered by local MP Ruth

Cadbury focussing on Community Cohesion in Hounslow. Being a

member of SACRE, I thought it would be of interest and relevance

to our youngsters and put out the word. Cranford’s 6th form students

made a really impressive impact.

They listened to Ruth talk with pride about Hounslow’s achievements,

that in terms of GCSE results Hounslow “punches well above its

weight.” She said Hounslow can be described as “hyper-diverse” with

different heritages linking together and there was no single majority

community, not even white British. 140 different languages were

spoken and 86% of children say they have a religious faith. These are

perhaps some of the reasons, Ruth postulated why the London Riots

of 2011 didn’t affect Hounslow. She did point out however, that a

number of challenges still face members of ethnic minorities living

in Hounslow, and in the UK more widely. Workplace discrimination

still exists, as does disparity in the admissions of ethnic minority

students to the top universities in the UK, something that wasn’t

actually the case in top American Universities such as Harvard and

Yale, who it seems do more to invest in ethnic minorities. The rise

in more overt xenophobia following the Brexit vote was discussed

and the negative consequences of it for all people.

When she opened up to the floor for a question and answer session it

was our students who led the way. Al-Enzeli Ramji pointed out that

having worked in Hammersmith for a few months, he felt a greater

sense of belonging than 17 years growing up in Hounslow had given

him. So how could Hounslow be more like Hammersmith? One

possible explanation, which Ruth proposed, was that the transient

population of Hounslow, with many people in rented accommodation

didn’t allow for community cohesion. Zala Amiri asked Ruth what

advice she would offer them, the young generation, on how to

contribute to society and gain recognition. Hopefully a question

posed by the RE teacher gave food for thought as it was asked if

Labour had a policy on raising the status of RE in some schools,

given it had been diminished somewhat by Conservative policies

in some schools locally and nationally, though thankfully not at

Cranford Community College. The students were there long after

others had left, engaged in conversations about local politics with

a local councillor.

Well done to the students for taking time in order to engage with

local politics and consider their part in making society a better place

for everyone.

Mehmoona Yousaf (Senior Teacher – SMSC)

The Battle of Ideas

During the October half term,

I attended some lectures at the

“The Battle of Ideas” weekend,

organised by the Institute of

Ideas. Two of the debates I

attended were, “Banter and

Besties: Is friendship in

peril?” and “All by myself: Is

loneliness a social problem?”

I was particularly interested

in these as I feel that these are

topics that really affect a lot of

people my age. I found “Banter

and Besties” really intriguing

as I didn’t realise that some

people actually want banter to

be banned from the work place.

I also didn’t realise that a large

number of men who work with

women feel like they have to

be careful with what they say.

It seems that the line between

banter and offensiveness has

become really slim. I was also

really fascinated about the

loneliness discussion because

it not only affects everyone at

some point in their life, but also

people have different ideas of

what loneliness is and handle

it differently. There were

some really insightful views

exchanged and I would highly

recommend others attending.

Kareena Suman (year 11)


To inspire and cultivate global leaders

Cranford Community College hosted a conference for Cranford’s 6th form on 31st October

2017 with an organisation called Seeds of Peace. Seeds of Peace has been running for

over 25 years and aims to inspire and cultivate new generations of global leaders in

communities divided by conflict. Some of the leading figures of Seeds of Peace were attending

a celebratory conference in London and offered to run a workshop with four of their ambassadors

and some of our 6th form students.

The ambassadors were Ashraf Ghandour, GATHER Community Manager (Jerusalem), Maayan

Poleg, Director, Middle East Programs (Jerusalem), Mirna Ansari, Program Coordinator, Middle

East (Jerusalem) and Qasim Aslam, Co-Founder and Managing Director, The History Project

(Lahore).

From the very start of the event I knew it was going to be successful. Cranford’s Student

Leadership Team met the Seeds of Peace delegation for lunch and straight away the conversation

turned to world affairs with both exchanging views and opinions.

After lunch the Seeds of Peace delegation talked about their work and their personal

experiences with a group of 6th form students. Perhaps one of the

most powerful accounts was Mirna’s of growing up as a

child in Gaza and her experience of waking up to bullets

coming through her bedroom window but all had experienced

challenges. It was truly inspiring to see their commitment

to peace given those challenges which was a very powerful

message for all of us. Our students then had the opportunity to

ask questions including whether they thought there would ever

be peace between Israel and Palestine. This opened a debate

as to what peace might look like. The conclusion was that an

end to conflict with people living together was achievable in a

generation but true peace would take several generations but

should be a goal that all should work towards.

After the formal workshop the Seeds of Peace delegates

stayed on for an hour talking informally with our students.

The following evening Cranford’s Seeds of Peace ambassadors

shared a platform with the US Ambassador at the Berkeley

Hotel in Central London delivering the same message to senior

business leaders and politicians. Good to see Cranford was first.

Alan Fraser (Assistant Headteacher – Director of Community Development)

3


My ENO Summer experience

During the summer I joined the youth

project with the English National

Opera (ENO), which was a week-long

programme where likeminded teenagers got

together and helped to create a new piece of

theatre based around a classic opera with the

help of professionals in opera and the arts. This

opportunity arose through the school’s on-going

partnership with the ENO.

We based our piece on “Aida” by Verdi, the story

of a young Ethiopian princess whose kingdom

is at war with Egypt, who has infiltrated the

Egyptians and disguised herself as a slave to gain

information for her father. While she is there,

she falls in love with the Egyptian Captain of the

Guards, so when her people are taken over, she

must decide between her love and her country.

During the week, we came up with song lyrics,

choreography, and various ideas for the end

performance, all with a director, composer,

and choreographer to help lead us in the right

direction. It was an amazing experience as I got

to try out things I had never done before and

learnt about opera. This was then followed up on

where we were able to sharpen and perform what

we had created again at the Victoria and Albert

Museum (V&A) for a special event along with

other professional opera singers, and that was

an incredible experience. The pieces we made

had so much meaning

behind them as we collaborated with women who

had to leave their homes in the Middle East. The

lyrics they created for us were so heartfelt you

could really feel their longing for what was back

home, which I could completely relate too. After

our performances, we heard that many members

of our audience were heard crying, showing us

just how powerful our piece had been.

After the week of the summer project, I was

offered a position in their year-long Youth

Company, and I have enjoyed every second of

it. Every half term or break, we take two days at

their ENO Baylis Building in West Hampstead

to come up with various different pieces of

our own with the help of professionals in the

industry. The first week, we started figuring out

ideas for what we wanted our piece to be about

through mind maps and other processes, and we

learned some songs related to our ideas. We also

got to learn about character and how to create

characters and stories with the director Lyndsay

Turner (who directed Benedict Cumberbatch

in Hamlet recently at the Barbican) which was

amazing. Our second session was even better

than the first. We got to meet new professionals

who helped hone our ideas into a performance

piece. We created two songs with the composer,

and we made and choreographed each of

4


them with the director. While doing this I

felt like I was in a rehearsal for something

big like Oliver Twist, as I was surrounded

by so many people who were enjoying it

and yet being so mature about the way they

were performing; it was inspiring.

Throughout this next year I will have

more sessions with the Youth Company

continuing to see where our piece goes

and what messages we want to send to

audiences. I will be able to see many operas

at the London Coliseum for free as a plus

of being a part of this company. I am so

happy and privileged to be able to be a part

of this, and I feel like it is teaching us and

training us to be more than just actors and

singers; it’s teaching us to be creators and

how to have active minds and imaginations

which I really love and appreciate. If you

want to find out more you can go to their

website: www.eno.org. If I’ve learned

anything through this experience, it’s that

opera is more than just fat ladies singing

in Italian.

Aria Cundall (year 12)

The

A classic Victorian tale

with a refreshing twist

theatre production

of Jekyll and Hyde

at the Ambassadors Theatre in

London provided a refreshing

twist of a classic Victorian

tale. With themes of feminism,

sexuality and duality, it

bestowed a modern outlook on the themes of the

original novella. Furthermore, the very current

themes make the plot much more appealing to

a modern audience as it involved many types of

people, for example, women and the LGBTQIA+

community. The almost complete juxtaposition of

the two tales (the one told in the play and the original

storyline of the novella) created a sense of shock for

the audience as it was absolutely unexpected. As

well as this, the use of current technological profiles

such as fanfiction and blogs made it easier for the

audience to comprehend the storyline of the play.

Personally, I liked the regular cross cutting between

the Victorian era and the modern era. The main reason

for this was how the protagonists of both mirrored

each other’s decisions and actions significantly.

The change in protagonist from male to female was

particularly interesting. Especially, from the way

the male Jekyll was treated in comparison to the

way that the female Jekyll was treated, for example,

the way the characters interacted with the royal

society was extremely different. I enjoyed how

detailed and precise the set and costumes were; they

were relevant to both of the contexts.

A lot of what the characters said was extremely

blunt and honest which definitely added to the

shock value of the play.

Overall, I enjoyed the production as it was more

contemporary, shocking and attention-grabbing

compared to the traditional tale of the original

story. The modern parts of the play added twists

and elements that made the whole play enjoyable

and if you are in the mood for a gender-bending,

pro-feminist shocker of a play then Jekyll and Hyde

is the one to watch.

Maisie Mullen (year 11)

5


Shakespeare

Schools

Festival

Twelfth

Night

In

November 2017, eighteen year 8 students from Cranford Community

College took part in the international Shakespeare Schools Festival,

run by the Shakespeare Schools Foundation. They performed a thirtyminute

version of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night along with three other schools

performing other plays by the world-famous bard.

These hardworking students brought Twelfth Night to life over a period of

two months, culminating in a performance led by a professional director at the

Wycombe Swan Theatre and Town Hall. Performing to over 200 guests, the students used skills they

had gained throughout the rehearsal process to wow family, friends and the general public.

The rehearsal process took students on a journey of personal discovery as well as exploration of the

play itself. Combining play with traditional dramatic techniques such as freeze frame, direct address

and improvisation, the group were able to imbue their own personalities into both the characters

they played and the performance as a whole. The start of one scene, for instance, came directly from

games which had been played during the first weeks of the rehearsal process.

In addition, there were three students dedicated solely to production roles. These three girls worked

tirelessly to design and assemble individual costume pieces for all characters whilst also painting

set, creating a lighting design and doing hair and make-up.

In recent years, the Arts have had a shadow cast upon them; the Shakespeare Schools Foundation

(SSF) and affiliated Festival strives to turn this view around; it represents an opportunity for young

people to use the Arts to develop a plethora of related and transferable skills. SSF cite that 86% of

teachers saw student behaviour improve as a result of participating in the Festival and 97% agreed

their students’ confidence had increased.

The very talented cast and crew did an amazing job representing the school and were delighted to

take part in the festival.

“Here’s to a new year filled with adventures and explorations in the Arts, creativity and continuing

to broaden our students’ horizons”.

Katie Turner (Creative Arts Department – Director “Twelfth Night” )

6


Twelfth Night

by Cranford Community College

at The Wycombe Swan, 11/20/2017

appraised by Kristoffer Huball

I would like to offer sincere thanks and congratulations to Cranford Community College for

your wonderful production of Twelfth Night as part of the 2017 Shakespeare Schools

Festival. Students and teachers alike have put hard work, imagination, determination and

passion into this production, and were a credit to the school. I'd like to take this opportunity

to highlight just a few fantastic moments that you should be especially proud of.

This production opened with a bang and grabbed the audience’s attention right from

the beginning. I loved the way that this ensemble thought about the opening movement

section, showing the party on the boat before it crashed on Illyria. It showed the levels

of tension within the scene and was choreographed well. It also gave the audience a

sense of where these characters had come from and what’s at stake for them.

I was very impressed by the huge amount of character work that had been done with

this piece. All of the young performers had clearly defined characters, with strong levels

of motivation making them feel three dimensional and relatable. The relationships are

what made this 400 year old story feel relevant to this modern audience.

The use of the company in this production must be commended and there were

excellent ensemble reactions to the main plot points, showing a professionalism in

support, and a deep understanding of the complex Elizabethan text. This was

particularly evident during the boxtree scene in Olivia's garden, which was filled with

engergy and focus.

Twelfth Night was tremendous, thrilling and triumphant.

Congratulations to everyone involved in this superb production. I hope to

see Cranford Community College in the Festival again next year.

Kristoffer Huball

shakespeareschools.org charity no. 1164676

My experience in

Twelfth Night was a once-in-a-lifetime

opportunity and I will never forget it. Loads of people

think that drama is a waste of time but it gave me all these

advantages to life and it would probably help me in the

future as well. I recommend other people to take up drama.

Ashaani Balendran

The Shakespeare Schools Festival was an amazing

experience, I learnt how to use light, sounds, cues and

so much more. I made so many new friends and enjoyed

working back stage. I would love to participate in the

SSF again.

Kehan Munir

I am so glad that I took part in the festival. It was exhilarating

and I felt so proud of myself. I have made so many friends during

this process. We have had laughs and worked so hard to be able

to light up that stage. I feel that I have grown in confidence and

become more mature. I wished that it could never end. I hope I

will be able to have an opportunity like this again and I will most

certainly take part. My advice to everyone else is that when you

see an opportunity grab it because you never know when you will

see an opportunity like that again and you never know where it

will take you.

Being

part of Twelfth Night, I have learnt that drama

is not about reading from a script, it has to come

from within you and you really have to feel your

character whilst performing. This also helped

build up my confidence, helped me speak more

loudly and not be afraid to show everybody my

talent. I really enjoyed being part of the cast,

it was really exciting. I am really going to miss

rehearsals, I hope I do this again and have as much

fun as I did during this period of time. I will miss

being Sebastian. Thank you Twelfth Night and Miss

Turner.

Isra Jadoon

Anchal Chawla

I loved how to express my inner self through my

character. I loved the costumes that the production

team created. I loved how I made new friends and

how I created a bond with them. “I am free to be what

I want to be”

Tyrone Emmanuel

7


EU - RAN

Educational Conference, Budapest

The

Radicalisation Awareness

Network (RAN) is an umbrella

network connecting people involved in

preventing radicalisation and violent

extremism throughout Europe. Within

RAN, practitioners from different European

countries can meet others in their area of

expertise to exchange ideas, knowledge and

experiences on countering radicalisation and

violent extremism.

As part of the school’s collaboration with

RAN two members of Cranford’s staff

attended a working group examining the issue of fake news, conspiracies and propaganda. Mr Alan

Fraser, Director of Community Development, a core member of the education working group and

Barbara Lodge, Cranford’s Head of ICT and Computing. I was invited to present my work on this

topic to the group and take part in a panel discussion.

The purpose of the meeting was to examine the rapidly-evolving media and information landscape

and share projects and ideas to help students develop their media literacy skills and ability to think

critically about the information they consume.

The conference was attended by 40 delegates representing over 20 different countries and from a

wide range of backgrounds and experiences. On the first day of the conference the group shared

their different approaches and projects on the topic of fake news, conspiracies and propaganda. This

was an exciting opportunity to exchange ideas and resources. For the second day of the conference

the delegates divided into smaller groups to work on specific projects, taking the best of all the

approaches and collaborate to form ideas and lessons for primary, secondary and further education

students.

One of the outcomes from the meeting was the identification of the gulf between teachers’ understanding

of social media and that of their students. Inspired by the conference Cranford has submitted a bid

to Google to develop an online platform to train primary teachers on the safe use of social media.

8

Barbara Lodge (Head of ICT and Computing)


Student

Voice

through

Generation

Global

Generation Global has been developed by the

Tony Blair Foundation to give students around

the world the skills and opportunity to engage

in dialogue on sometimes controversial topics. As part

of Cranford’s programme, students follow a course on

building dialogue skills including how to talk with people

with differing views. Once students have completed the

course, they are paired in the first instance with a school

in the US to have a discussion. If all goes well they can

sign up to a range of topics and discussions with schools

around the world.

Our first dialogue was with a school in Virginia called

West Potomac High School. Year 13 students from

Cranford engaged with Seniors in the US on the topic

of identity. Students from both schools shared what

parts of their identity they were proud of and what were

the challenges. They spoke about many different types

of identity including gender, nationality, their leisure

interests (anime) and their faith identities. Many students

felt that identities could also bring challenges. Some were

concerned about putting their nationalities down on their

university applications, others felt that expressing their

religious or national identities may mean they won’t fit

into society or with their peers so well.

Students then went on to talk about issues of hate speech,

with students in the UK explaining some of the hate

crimes towards the Muslim community. One student in the

USA said that her Mexican identity was often challenged

by the political situation, with Trump saying he wanted

to build a wall. Students asked each other about how

they interacted with other communities and how diverse

their local communities were. Students in the UK were

surprised to hear how diverse their partner school was. A

student in the USA explained that some areas in the USA

were very open to diversity and others not so. A student

in the UK replied, “It is the same here in the UK.”.

Students also responded to questions about whether

they hide any parts of their identity. They discussed that

sometimes they do depending on who they are talking

to. Jessica in the UK however said “I’m Latino and I

let people know that, it’s important and a part of me”.

Lucia added “being Latina or Hispanic

you can’t change and I’m not willing

to change and I’m open with it. But

how open can you be when there is

prejudice?”. Students also spoke about

how their parents told them how to

deal with prejudice. One student said

her parents tell her not to trust some

of the community, another that she

shouldn’t shout about her heritage.

Miriam in the USA said; “As a kid my

parents said don’t wear a hijab, people

aren’t open to it....” A student in the UK

responded saying “Living in London it’s

multicultural, it’s fine to speak Arabic.

But when we go elsewhere mum tells us

not to speak Arabic. You want to fit in”.

Students then went on to discuss some

of the ways you could try and prevent

prejudice and help people to be more

accepting of diversity. Students at both

schools agreed that education was key.

This video conference opportunity is

hoped to be the first of many where our

Generation Global young people can

engage in a meaningful dialogue with

students of their own age around the

world dealing with the same issues and

challenges that they are.

Alan Fraser (Assistant Headteacher – Director

of Community Development)

“The conference taught me that I was

right in the sense that although we may

look different and our identities may be

different we are all the same, because we

are all human. There are many people (not

just students) that would benefit from an

experience like this, it really does open

people’s eyes to another world out there”.

(Year 13 student)

“The video conference was an eye-opening

educational event that allowed me to

enhance my knowledge by evaluating the

differing views of others around the world

when discussing identity and how each

individual differentiates when identifying

themselves in society. I was able to

empathise with the students at West Potomac

and acknowledge the impact that living in

different societies has on how we as young

adults reflect on the world”.

(Year 13 student)

9


News from the

PE Department

The start of this academic year has been a very busy

one with lots of opportunities for students to engage in

sports activities in addition to the taught curriculum;

here are just a few articles reflecting the work of the

department in the autumn term 2017.

Extra-Curricular

Extra-curricular activities take place before

school (period 0), at break times and also

afterschool (period 6). On offer this term

was a wide range of sports including dodgeball,

basketball, netball, rugby, badminton, football,

cricket and weight training. This is a good

opportunity for students to refine skills, learn

gameplay tactics and have fun.

Several fixtures were played this term and

Cranford was well represented. Students had the

opportunity to play netball and basketball fixtures

across most year groups where they gained

valuable playing experience.

Students have the opportunity to continue to

participate in extra-curricular clubs but we expect

to see many more involved. According to the

Association for Young People’s Health (2016) it

is suggested that there is “a positive relationship

between sport or organised activity and positive

mental health outcomes for young people. These

include preventing problems arising, promoting

positive youth development, and using activity

to treat pre-existing mental health conditions”.

This spring term will see fixtures in netball,

football and cricket so be sure to attend trainings

and clubs if you wish to be included.

Rob Notley (Head of PE Department)

Community Sports

This

academic year has seen an increase in Cranford Community

College students engaging in sport across the local area. This

has been in partnership with the Youth Sport Trust and the Heston West Big

Local. The college’s School Games Organiser, who is a part of the PE department

represents Cranford in the local community and Hillingdon primary schools. His

role is to increase sporting participation in younger children. He has led many

events, including indoor athletics which involved 6 local primary schools all

competing across a range of events, from standing long jump to speed bounce. In

addition, Cranford supports year 9 students leading each team and stations as

part of their Youth Sport Award.

The year 10 Sports Leaders, also on the Youth Sport Award programme, helped

Sport Impact deliver a cross Hounslow Borough Sports day. Every primary

school in Hounslow attended the event held in the Cranford SuperDome,

with over 200 primary school pupils participating in physical activity led by

Cranford Students. Many local teachers praised our year 10 Sports Leaders

on their professionalism and maturity when leading the event. This is a true

reflection of our Sports Leadership programme at Cranford.

This year Cranford has increased its engagement with the local area, in

particular focusing on health and wellbeing. The school with the Big Local

now offers free Boot Camp fitness sessions led by a trained personal trainer. These sessions

are held every Monday at 5.30pm. All are welcome to join. There is also much more to come.

10

Rob Notley (Director of Community Sport)


Athletics Success

This

year was one of Cranford’s most

successful sporting activities.

Students aged 12-14 years took part in the Borough

Athletics competitions at Osterley Park Athletics

Centre. Students elected to participate in a track

event and a field event or two field events. There

were around 20 students involved per age group

with our highest participants being the year 8

girls. The selected students had training twice

a week in the lead up to the event with PE staff

organising these sessions. Students who were

awarded medals on this day included Szymon

Gora who received gold in javelin and gold in

shot put. Robert Keeley was awarded silver in

long jump. Karolina Mucko made it to the 100m

final for the 14-year-old girls. Anjal Dhakal also

achieved silver in discus and javelin. Overall the

full day competition was a very enjoyable day

out for the Cranford students which put Cranford

on the map for athletics for 2018.

Boys and girls from years 7-10 also competed

in super 8 athletics twilight tournaments after

school throughout the year. Both boys’ and girls’

tournaments were successful and all students

learnt a great deal about competing individually

in sport.

Girls’ cricket has continued to grow within

Cranford Community College over the years

with participation rising amongst junior girls.

The girls have been training with a coach from

Middlesex weekly. The girls who opted to

compete in the one-day competition were:

• Layba Nisar 8V

• Sahiba Grewal 8V

• Lernin Bejaj 8V

• Tara Grewal 8X

• Kirstie Poon 8X

• Avneet Bagri 8T

• Malikah Raja 8T

• Ashaani Balendran 7W

• Taniskha Bumrah 7X

Marrium Chughtai (year 8) was awarded best

on ground on the day. These girls represented

the school outstandingly and were placed 2nd

overall in the county. These girls continue to

train weekly and are striving to improve as a

team for future success.

Diane Marston (PE Department)

Year 9 W Factor Sports Science

This

year the Physical Education Department

offered ‘Sports Science’ as part of the

W Factor extra-curricular activities on Wednesday

afternoons. Led by Mr Rattu, this was a completely

new and refreshing opportunity for students in year 9

to explore and understand more about studying sports

at higher education, career aspects within the sports

field, becoming a professional athlete and learn about

professional athlete lifestyles. This later tied in with

students starting the Young Sports Awards.

Students so far have taken part in various activities such as having a taste of a

football academy training session led by QPR coaches, researching the human

body, studying sports nutrition and then cooking healthy meals

such as pizza and chicken fajitas, sports journalism alongside

meeting Manisha Tailor MBE. Manisha was honoured with an

MBE this year for her work in women’s football and travelling

across the country and the globe to speak and to teach football.

The department looks forward to expanding the Sport Science

Programme in the future alongside increasing the impact of it

within the wider community of Cranford.

Hamesh Rattu (PE Department)

11


Trip

to

China

An opportunity not to be missed

Going

to China

was not an

opportunity to be missed under any

circumstance - that was something that

we all firmly believed in - so we jumped

at the chance to go. It was a fantastic

trip in which we were not only able to

explore the country and its beautiful

landscapes and architecture, but also

immerse ourselves in an entirely new

culture and way of life. Students and

staff alike, we were all excited to be

leaving London behind to be welcomed

by the fantastically kind and hospitable

Tianjin College of Commerce. Formal

dinners, sports games, official tours

of the sites, shopping at local markets,

home visits, in-classroom experiences

and of course, climbing The Great Wall

of China were all a part of our jampacked

itinerary for the week which had

been organised by the Tianjin College of

Commerce (TCC) officials. Whilst the

daytime activities were organised for us,

the evening activities were organised by

us which involved an M & M chopsticks

challenge and a phone amnesty.

Needless to say, after just over a week

there, everyone was joyfully exhausted

and ready to come back home, but that

came at the cost of leaving our newfound

friends behind at TCC. It truly

was a fantastic experience for us as

staff members and was certainly a

memorable experience for our year 12

students. Let’s go back again next year.

On

19th October 2017

I made my way to

Heathrow- this is where my

journey began. The flight itself

to China might have been long

and tiring but it was all worth

it in the end. After landing at

Beijing International Airport,

we were warmly welcomed by

some students and teachers from

Tianjin College of Commerce

(TCC) who accompanied us to

Tianjin.

Each day was different, as it

was filled with new food, new

Matt Southern-Myers, Sahrish Sheikh and

Milton Ferreira (Trip Leaders)

12


From

delicious culinary dishes, to ancient artefacts,

amazing architecture and mesmerising

views, China was honestly the experience of a lifetime. Upon

our arrival at Tianjin College of Commerce (TCC), we were

greeted with the warmest of welcomes and

though completely jetlagged, everyone seemed

to be in awe of both the hotel and the campus.

The next few days were filled with sights, various

locations and different cultural findings where

each new experience turned out to be better than

the last. Everywhere you turned you would find

Chinese culture had a lot to offer, especially at the

Tianjin Market where everyone’s bargaining skills

made that day a quest for who could get the best

deal. I definitely didn’t win.

Amongst the few shopping sprees, filled with endless

souvenirs, cheap Gucci belts and Burberry scarves which

seemed to be the pick of the lot, there also came challenges

of physical aptitude.

cultures, new people and new

places to see. It was overwhelming

trying all these new things during

such a short period of time yet I

enjoyed every moment of my stay.

Unfortunately, our stay there was

only for 9 days; to some this might

sound long but to me it felt like a

day. That’s when I understood what

they really meant by: “time flies

when you’re having fun”.

For me the best part of my stay

was being able to spend time with

students from (TCC) and eventually

becoming good friends. I was not

only able to make friends with the

Chinese students but also with the

people who went on this trip with

me. Two months after the trip I’m

still in contact with my new friends

from China, even though we have

the time difference as an obstacle

but we are able to overcome that.

This exchange programme has

allowed me to create a new circle

of friends that I hope to treasure for

life alongside with all my memories

of my stay in China. To me that’s

what matters the most.

Sabrina Aktar (year 12)

First it was badminton, next it was climbing the Great Wall.

Quite a jump, I know.

The day we climbed the Great Wall was

a day no one had prepared for, not even

the most athletic amongst us. Yet after

several flights of stairs, water breaks and

false hopes given by our staff members

like “Come on guys, you’re nearly

there!”, we made it to the Great Wall of

China. What a view.

Despite not being able to go Beijing, I am grateful

for all my unique experiences as a tourist in Tianjin.

Not many people receive the opportunity to become

so fully immersed in a completely different culture.

Having been able to meet students on campus and

also visit one of the students’ home, we got

to experience their way of living

which was very fascinating as

many students in Tianjin have

a completely different way of

life from those in the UK. What

I also found astonishing was the

hospitality and patience of our

Chinese hosts; without them the

language barrier would’ve become

more prominent.

Sadly, it was over before we knew

it and wishing our “thank you” and “goodbyes”, became

hardest part (harder than climbing the Great Wall). In the end,

this trip was truly an authentic experience.

Cristiana Eftenoiu (year 12)

13


Minnesota Trip

Visit

to the

University

of

Minnesota

Following

embark on a similar trip to

of Minneapolis and St. Paul,

insights into how educators

significant barriers to educ

Minnesotan schools as well a

Global Academy

An Inspiring School Visit

One

of the schools we had the privilege of visiting

during our stay was Global Academy, situated

in Minneapolis. Global Academy is a free, chartered

elementary to middle school that seeks to serve a diverse

group of students. They cater for 432 students and display

a commitment to serving the broader world based on the

goals of the International Baccalaureate Organisation;

this was plain to see in every classroom we visited.

Part of Global Academy’s vision for their students is that

they will be active, compassionate and lifelong learners who

have the human and technical skills to be productive and

successful world citizens. In order to achieve this, they build

much of their learning around these themes: enthusiasm,

empathy, integrity, tolerance, commitment, independence,

appreciation, confidence, cooperation, creativity, curiosity

and respect. These values seemed to be embedded throughout

the school, with questions posed on display boards in

corridors which children are encouraged to respond to.

We gained a real and valuable insight into the way that Global

Academy has created an open dialogue with parents to

respond to the cultural needs of the communities they serve.

14

It was a true pleasure to visit this school and meet staff

and students alike. The high expectations, value placed

on cultural diversity and positive attitudes embedded

throughout the school have cultivated an environment of

curious, respectful and aspirational learning with pupils

who are encouraged to see themselves as agents of change

and active explorers.


on from research conducted by the University of Minnesota on the Somali population within the

student body of Cranford and Berkeley, it was proposed that a group of colleagues from our schools

learn from Minnesota University researchers and spend some time in schools within the twin cities

with a focus on how educators there advocate for their own Somali learners. We were eager to gain

work with community leaders and families to bring about positive results for children who face

ation. We completed an intensive and informative programme of study within the University and

s other educational institutions; below is a brief description of some of the activities we undertook.

LEAP Academy St. Paul

Another

school we were

invited to was LEAP

High School, which is situated in the “other”

twin city, St. Paul.

Standing for Limited English Achievement

programme, LEAP caters to young people

from kindergarten all the way up to the age of

21, focusing on what are described as SLIFEs

(Students with Limited or Interrupted Formal

Education). LEAP is forward-thinking in its

ethos; it focuses on what students can achieve,

rather than what stands in their way, despite the fact that the students of LEAP do face significant

barriers to learning, not least (as the students we met discussed) homesickness and missing family

in their countries of origin.

The student body is made up entirely of young people from an immigrant background, boasting 232

children from 20 different countries. Many young people relied on jobs after school to financially

support their families back home.

15


Minnesota Trip

We were lucky enough to hear from some of the young people who learn at LEAP, who had been asked

to think about what qualities a teacher needs to have in order to support them effectively. They told

us their teachers had the ability to make them feel loved and free from nervousness and that they felt

safe, secure and happy within the school.

After our meeting with the students, the Berkeley and Cranford colleagues were allocated to different

classrooms for a 30-minute observation to gain a real hands-on perspective of what the school was

doing, and on the possible differences and similarities between US and UK education. The teachers

from London were struck with the passion and dedication shown by the teachers they observed, and

were unsurprised to learn that LEAP teachers are held to a very high professional standard, with

frequent observations and a strong emphasis on professional development.

“I saw passion and dedication

from an obviously intelligent

and well-informed teacher

who used his knowledge

and experience to create a

classroom environment based

around curiosity and discovery.

I saw great mutual respect

between teacher and learners,

and a real culture of learning

and enquiry”.

Andy Watts

“What I liked about the

teacher’s approach was

that there was constant

encouragement”.

Anna Perszewska

16

“There was a sense that the teacher has worked hard to

create a space where the students can express themselves

and be who they really are. Her high expectations of the

students and their capabilities were evident throughout”.

Lydia Gamlen

“The teacher hadn’t grouped the students by ability,

rather by home language spoken-this automatically

created mixed ability groups and allowed the young

people to support each other in their learning”.

Seema Ghauri

“What struck me most were the relationships in the

classroom. One of the students asked me if I was coming

back tomorrow-I said I couldn’t, but I really wanted to”.

Lisa Mercer

“Most of the students had been in Minnesota for less

than a year. The classroom really represented the

children and their home culture, as well as celebrating

their learning”.

Fay Pollitt

“The teacher encouraged the children to support each

other in their own language”.

Madhuri Tank

“I saw the use of key vocabulary

as a component in the children’s

learning”.

Jon Ryan

“It was a very positive atmosphere in the classroom.

The children could have gone off task whilst the teacher

and I talked but they remained focused”.

Gerry Lee

“I had a very interesting conversation with the students,

which really shows how outward-looking they are,

rather than letting language barriers make them more

introverted”.

Aaron Singh

“There were very high expectations of the students -

the teacher used positive reinforcement to support the

students in using some high level vocabulary”.

Uxio Seijas

“The students were able to use their gym lesson to have

fun whilst learning new skills”.

Basheak Busscue

“The most impressive thing I noticed was the high rate

of staff retention - teachers don’t want to leave LEAP

high school”.

Peter Stumpf


The Journey: Refugee Resettlement in Minnesota

One

morning we heard from Melody

Ward, an Independent Refugee

Advocate who works and lives in Minnesota.

Melody has worked in refugee resettlement since

2001 and describes it as her passion, which grew

from a chance meeting with four Sudanese “Lost

Boys” in Chicago. She was struck by their joy, hope

and drive for a good life. There are 22.5 million

refugees worldwide, with 189,300 resettled

in 2016. 85,000 were resettled in the USA.

Before exploring the successes and challenges

of refugee resettlement, it is helpful to have

a working definition of “refugee”. The legal

definition of refugee is someone with a wellfounded

fear of persecution for reasons of race,

religion, nationality, political opinion, sexual

orientation or membership in a particular

social group (UNCHR). Melody builds on this

definition with her belief that refugees are

resilient, in possession of incredible strength

and great survival skills and above all, people

with everything that you and I have, except the

privilege of opportunity. When they leave their

homes, they leave behind belongings, families,

careers, communities and feelings of security.

Camp life can be bleak; there is competition

for basic necessities such as food, housing

and safety. Therefore, access to education and

health care is limited. The camp services are

contracted to respond to basic human needs

like water, so the education a child or young

adult receives in a refugee camp varies.

The largest ethnic groups for resettlement in

Minnesota are Somali and Karen, with 1405 and

658 people respectively. Challenges for those

resettled in Minnesota which affect education

include but are not limited to: disparities

between camp life and urban life, mental and

physical health, isolation, the shock of bitterly

cold winters, self-advocacy, language, racism

and discrimination and a change in family

roles, triggered by a parents’ loss of job or

profession since arriving in the States. That said,

Minnesota is among the top states in America for

refugee resettlement due to a strong partnership

between faith communities and public entities,

good public benefits, the presence of colleges

and programmes which target refugee adult

learners and the existence of a stable and

welcoming job market. In addition to this, there

is the phenomenon of “Minnesota nice” - it is a

friendly state with a neighbourly feel. There are

lots of clothing banks and organisations that run

clothing or furniture “drives” to gather resources

for those who need them.

There was an overwhelming sense that

Minnesota sees positive texture in the way

that immigrants can add to our society. They

encourage new arrivals to reflect upon the assets

they bring, and there is a sense that new cultures

challenge existing ones to become even better.

We all have a responsibility to show humanity

and kindness to those who have suffered

unimaginable things and have had to tell and

relive their stories countless times in order to

begin a new life, somewhere safe. By working

with and supporting refugees, we can play a part

in restoring dignity and humanity. Many of our

group left this workshop feeling driven to seek

out opportunities at home to support and gain an

insight into refugee resettlement in the United

Kingdom.

It was an enormously inspiring group which

left teachers from Berkeley and Cranford with a

keen desire to continue our learning once back

in the U.K. Particular strands we felt eager to

follow up upon were community engagement,

inspiring displays, careers and aspirations and

the celebration of ethnic culture, history and

community.

Peter Stumpf (Associate Headteacher), Lydia Gamlen

and Andy Watts (Berkeley Academy Delegates)

17


Internationalism

Japan

Avon Tyrell Activity Centre, Bransgrove,

New Forest 8th-13th August 2017

The

sun was shining as we set off from

Cranford for our first joint activity

week with students from the very prestigious

Keio University Junior High School in Tokyo. As

we drove further into the New Forest, there were

concerns about how far we were from anywhere,

especially as the mobile signal dropped. Avon

Tyrell is a beautiful rambling house, built in 1891

in grounds covering 65 acres. Interestingly, the

house has 365 windows, 52 rooms, 12 chimneys,

7 outer doors and 4 wings (does that remind

you of anything?). The house was entrusted

to the Youth of the Nation and opened as a

centre in July 1949. 10 Cranford students from

years 9 and 10 led by 2 year 12 students were

accommodated alongside their Japanese peers

in large rooms with up to 10 beds. All meals

were taken together in the self-service canteen

downstairs and international interaction was the

name of the game. Through games, activities and

visit, the groups bonded and firm friendships

were fostered.

Some of the activities were challenging – the

high ropes were a major success as was the raft

building, canoeing, archery, low ropes, trust

walks (where the group is blindfolded except

for the leader) and the visits to Stonehenge,

Visit by our Korean

partner

school

Once

again the Ocheon Senior High School

from Pohang in South Korea paid us

a welcome visit but unusually they chose to come in

December. The upside of this timing meant they saw

London at its Christmas best. Every school day, the

Korean students visited a wide range of year 12 lessons,

where possible with their Cranford email pen pals. This

proved very popular with both students and staff, with

the Korean students involving themselves in the learning.

A particular hit with our friends from Pohang was drama,

where they were thrown into an improvisation on “fake

news”. Alongside their Cranford experience, they were

accompanied by our students to Central London and

Oxford. The group enjoyed their evening of musicals

– choosing either Phantom of the Opera or Aladdin and

swept around the London Eye at dusk to see London,

beautifully lit up. Plans are well ahead for a return visit

by Cranford to Korea in October 2018.

“The Korean students were very enthusiastic and I enjoyed

working with them”.

18

“They would bow and shake hands as a thank you to allow them

to be a part in the school”.


Salisbury, Swanage and Corfe Castle, Durdle

Door and Lulworth Cove.

This fantastic opportunity arose out of an

introduction by the Japanese Foundation to Keio

in February 2016 and proved to be the most

wonderful time for Cranford students. We are

all set to repeat the experience next year with

more Japanese learning before we go (がんば

ってください pronounced “gambatte kudasai”

it means “keep at what you’re doing, no matter

what”).

Philip Dobison

(Assistant Head of School - International Relations)

“The fact that there was hardly any

internet and that there were only

a few pupils who spoke English

forced us all to interact with

each other and through this we

met new people, both English

and Japanese students”.

Zahra Sadiq (year 11)

“My experience with the Keio

University Junior High School, Tokyo, Japan was truly

amazing and a fantastic opportunity to socialise and make

friends with new people who had a completely different

lifestyle to me… This was genuinely a memorable trip and

I hope to keep in contact with them and see them again”.

Karamveer Tamna (year 11)

In

conjunction with City Capital College Group and specifically with Westminster Kingsway

College, Cranford hosted 11 South Korean teachers over two weeks in November 2017, so

that they could see first-hand how lessons are taught here. The Korean teachers also turned their

hand to a PSHCE lesson on Korean culture, which ranged from fan making leading to a Korean fan

dance, to eating with chopsticks, from calligraphy to gonggi (jacks in the UK) and jegichagi (foot

shuttlecock). The feedback was very positive from both Korean and Cranford staff.

One teacher said:“I found the whole process useful”.

South Korean teachers working

alongside Cranford staff

“It was a great opportunity for me to discuss the ways that some mathematical concepts are taught at schools in

Korea”.

“These visits have a huge impact on the children’s understanding of being global learners”.

Philip Dobison (Assistant Head of School - International Relations)

19


Internationalism

Korean Government Invitation Programme for

Students from Partner Countries 2017

orean Government Invitation

The KProgramme for students

studying Korean from partner countries was a

ten day programme. Having learnt the language

for a year at school and independently, I joined

over 120 students from 50 countries. We stayed

at Gyeongsang National University (GNU) and I

knew was prepared to take full advantage of the

opportunity and advance as a passionate learner.

Before the opening ceremony we spent the day in

Seoul, visiting the Namsan Tower and Myeongdong,

a major shopping street. Heading to Myeongdong,

the shopping hub of Seoul, we shopped for the

latest Korean fashion clothing, skincare and so on

and I was treated to bingsu (Korean shaved ice).

The opening ceremony was held by the National

Institute for International Education (NIIED)

where we enjoyed various performances by a

Korean pop group and a traditional band.

Then I was introduced to my roommate with whom

I became close friends, indeed after one day, we

had all become good friends. We started our stay in

Jinju with a campus tour, lectures, visits to various

industries such as Korea Aerospace Industry and

Doosan Heavy Industries and other surrounding

universities. During the week, we visited many

historical sites: Songgwangsa temple, a filming

site and Naganeupseong folk village where friends

and I wore traditional Korean attire called hanbok.

My first week in Korea was coming to an end and

homestay had begun. The Kang family was very

welcoming and helped me experience the authentic

daily life of a Korean with an early morning visit

to a traditional street market with fishmongers on

every street corner and a variety of Korean street

food stalls to choose from. The homestay was an

amazing and valuable experience.

During the second week, we went to more ancient

temples, were taught how to play the traditional

Korean drums in a form called salmunori, explored

Shilla Millennium Park which is used to preserve

the Shilla period and is also used in many dramas,

practised taekwondo, explored Jinju castle as

well as a trip to Gyeonghae Girls High School.

I learnt more about Korea’s education system

with the visit to the high school and enjoyed

the lessons I participated in where we listened

to class presentations, played Korean games,

enjoyed ice cream and experienced the difference

in approaches to education.

The farewell ceremony marked the end of the

programme and was an emotional celebration

of how much we had achieved individually and

as a team with a certificate of completion and

achievement ceremony.

The KGIP was an amazing programme which I

will never forget. It has inspired me to continue

my Korean studies and I hope to return to Korea

as an advanced learner. The Korean Government

Invitation Programme for Students from Partner

Countries 2017 was a fantastic opportunity, one I

will cherish for many years to come.

Ayisha Mahmood (year 10)

20


Year 8 Giving to the

Community

In

the autumn term year 8 students

were tasked to think about

how they could do something

for others and help the community. An

opportunity arose when we were invited

to visit a local Care Home to spend time

with the elderly and give back something

to the community. Students were

selected to represent the year group on a

Wednesday afternoon during W Factor.

During their visits they played board

games and quizzes with the residents

and just spent time listening and talking

with them.

In addition, the whole year group decided

to do a collection of Christmas presents

for those in the local hospital and 15

students were selected to represent the

year group to visit and play Santa’s elves

giving gifts to patients of all ages to

spread a little Christmas cheer. We were

overwhelmed with the number of gifts

donated by the students.

All the students involved said they were

delighted by the response they received

both at the care home and at the hospital.

I am extremely proud of my year group

and the way they engaged with this

initiative and showed how generous our

students can be to those less fortunate

than themselves.

Randeep Sidhu (Head of Year 8)

Little Elves Trip to

deliver Santa’s presents

We reached the ward, and some of us got

to visit some children that were just born.

Because I am an identical twin I got to

visit some new born twins and saw their

two small hands. I didn’t want to disturb

them so I just left the present next to

their cot as the mother said;” Thank you

Santa”, I said; “No problem you guys are

on the good list”. In the end I was happy

because when everybody is happy there

are always happy endings.

Hiba Raza (year 8)

Visit to Norwood Green Care Home

Last term for our W Factor, 14 selected students from

year 8 made several visits to the Norwood Green Care

Home. We were anxious to see how the residents

would react to so many school

children but when we had

arrived we were greeted by

lovely staff and the bright

smiles given to us by the

elderly warmed the room. At

the care home we played a

‘get to know you game’ where

we rolled a dice, looked at

a question corresponding to

the number rolled and then

answered it (for example,

what’s your favourite TV

show?).

Over the weeks we made a

few visits and this lightened

the residents’ days as they

rarely have visitors. We learnt that

some of the residents living at the care home had

dementia; this meant that when we went back to visit the

following week, they had forgotten who some of us were

or who our teachers were. This was something that some

of us weren’t used to seeing, however, both students

and the residents made an effort to get to know each

other again. It was an amazing experience

visiting the care home, mixing

with the older people which is

something that doesn’t happen

that often in today’s society. ​

Shamaila Baig (year 8)

Going to the Care Home was a great

opportunity. I got to meet people a lot

of new people and enjoyed being out of

my comfort zone. At first we were a bit scared

as we were not used to the environment but

soon we were able to talk and interact with

the elderly. I met a lady who spoke Swahili

so I went home and learnt some words so I

could talk to her and I loved the smile on her

face when I could speak to her. I was able

to interact with many people and was able

to find out their story. I was overwhelmed

by some stories but was happy to have

the chance to find them out. Some were

reluctant to speak but others were not. We played

bowling with them and were able to have fun. I loved going there

and would love to go again. I got much love from them. This

opportunity made me want to give back to the community .

Huda Sharif (year 8)

21


On

Thursday 17th December 2017,

the new Creative Arts Department

invited parents, staff and guests to join them

in showcasing student work at their Light

and Dark Festival. The event was organised

as a celebration of the work produced in the

new innovative creative arts curriculum at key

stage 3 introduced in September 2017.

The combined arts curriculum, delivered by a

team of dynamic arts teachers and practitioners,

offers students the opportunity to learn new

skills and techniques through a variety arts

experiences whilst nurturing their talents and

enabling the joy of the arts to be at the centre of

their learning. In addition, students have been

offered a variety of enrichment opportunities

to increase their arts experience and foster a

greater understanding and appreciation of the

arts industry.

22

The curriculum focus has been project based on

a cross-arts theme of “My Place in the World”.

Year 7 students looked at transition from primary

to secondary school creating memory boxes and

wish trees in art and using the memory boxes

to stimulate drama pieces. Students in year 8

have focused on foods and cultural recipes and

the stories associated with food, plus puppet

and shadow theatre, whilst in drama they have


with performances in dance, drama, music,

animation, and visual art, whilst enjoying a

variety of refreshments made by the students.

They were also invited to add a wish to the

wish tree.

created animation stories alongside traditional

storytelling. Year 9 students have focused on

making and creating using different genres and

materials in art and creating performance pieces

and a festival event in drama.

A wonderful evening and a great way to end

the term.

Jessica Joyce (Creative Arts)

The Music Department has been completely refurbished

with the introduction of the live room

for students to create their own bands, learn to

play an instrument and to rehearse and perform.

The second room has been transformed into a

music technology centre for the creation of their

own music using REASON 9 software. Students

in all years have been working on original music

under the arts theme and learning to become

confident musicians and performers.

The Light and Dark experience enabled attendees

to witness just some of the work produced during

the term through a promenade theatre experience

23


Presentation Evening 2017

An Uplifting and

Inspiring Evening

Cranford Community

College’s Annual Presentation Evening on

Thursday 16th November 2017 was held at the

Riverside, Bath Road. This was a new venue for our awards

evening, but a fitting setting for such a prestigious event in

our school calendar. The evening was a huge success with

recipients of awards sitting down to celebrate with parents,

staff and guests to a meal and entertainment.

The uplifting and inspiring awards evening was hosted by

the 6th Form Leadership Team Jessica Atouguia (Head Girl),

Aadil Awan (Head Boy), Ali Hussen (Deputy Head Boy), Zala

Amiri (Deputy Head Girl), Malika Ali (Deputy Head Girl)

and Mustafa Ahmed (Deputy Head Boy). There was a

really positive buzz from the evening where all celebrated

the success of current and past students. Awards were

presented by our guest speaker Sharon Stockman who has

worked in a variety of social worker settings and gave an

inspirational speech about her life and dealing with the

challenges of being blind, however, her guide dog Clover

stole the lime light being a different type of guest to our

awards. Awards were punctuated by performances by the

school band and the Shakespeare in School group from

year 8 performing an extract from “Twelfth Night”.

A special award, The Pride of Cranford Award, was presented to Tejinder Purewal,

year 11 for his outstanding act of community service and the Rod Lewis Award

went to Dinnie Heroe, for her work in the Three Bridges.

The new setting of the Riverside and the inspiring stories of those receiving awards

brought a different and exciting dynamic to what is always a wonderful evening

which everyone enjoys.

Kevin Biggs (Assistant Headteacher)

24


On

Wednesday March 29th,

2017, Tejinder Purewal

then in year 10, arrived late to

school with a rather unusual excuse.

He claimed to have been helping an

elderly gentleman who had collapsed

near the Munchies restaurant on the

Bath Road. His punctuality is not

exactly perfect so questions were

asked and details confirming his story

emerged later that day after contact

from the local police and ambulance

services and a few weeks afterwards

from a local family.

Tejinder, supported by another

Cranford student, administered CPR

to a gentleman who had suffered a

heart attack. Tejinder stayed with

Mr Antonio

Fernandez for 30 minutes until the

ambulance arrived and amazed

witnesses (including the staff of a

neighbouring pharmacy) with his

determination and expertise.

Having practised his first aid skills at

school, as well as with the local army

cadets with whom he trains, Tejinder

put his knowledge and training into

powerful effect and there is no doubt

he played a crucial role in saving the

life of a member of our community.

Tejinder has already been recognised

with a national paramedic award

but today we honour him with a new

award donated by Mr Fernandez and

his family – ‘The Pride of Cranford

Award.

Mr Fernandez recently turned 80 and

I am absolutely delighted to welcome

him and his family here tonight to

celebrate Tejinder’s remarkable

achievement with us. Mr Fernandez

will present Tejinder with an

individual medal and I would also like

to invite up Ms Priscilla Ledlie, our

own Pastoral Manager for year 13 and

medical officer, who has personally

been involved with Tejinder’s first aid

training both in school and as part

of the 192 Heston Detachment of the

army cadet force, to present him with

the inaugural ‘Pride of Cranford

shield which will go on prominent

display in the school and become, at

the request of Mr Fernandez and his

family, a new award.

Citation for the award by Rob

Ind (Head of School)

The

Rod Lewis

Award has

been generously donated by his wife

and longstanding member of the

Academy Trust, Jenny Lewis and their

daughter Nicole, a former student at

Cranford, in memory of Rod and his

many years’ service as a Governor.

Rod passed away after a long illness

in February 2010.

This award has been created

to recognise either a group or

individual adult or student, who has

made an exceptional contribution,

or achieved something exceptional

which has added to the success of the

school, its pupils and/or the whole

school community.

From talking to people about Rod, I

think one of the things they always

remember is how incredibly positive

he was about students and their

achievements, about staff and the

school and in life in general. When

perhaps other people would have

given up and isolated themselves from

the world, Rod was still

wanting to stay involved,

coming into school and sharing his

wisdom and wit with the school and

the whole community.

So the winner of today’s award is

entirely appropriate. She is also

someone who is incredibly positive,

who never gives up on young people

and who, even in her busy day-to-day

life always finds time for everyone.

Dinnie Heroe has now been working

at Cranford for four years overseeing

our Three Bridges Twilight School

and has worked tirelessly to develop

the Three Bridges and nurture the

staff and students within it. She never

gives up on the young people there

and will fight for them to have equal

opportunity and the chance to make

a fresh start, often in challenging

circumstances. She works hard to

broker positive relationships with the

families of children at Three Bridges

to ensure they provide appropriate

support at home.

Dinnie is also very caring and

supportive towards the staff at Three

Bridges and across the school,

developing their confidence, abilities

and spotting opportunities for growth.

She is very diligent and dedicated

and will always go the extra mile for

anyone.

Recently Dinnie has ably taken on

the role of Acting SENCo at Berkeley

and much like with everything else

she doesn’t blow her own trumpet

but gets the job done providing truly

outstanding support for staff and

families and being a champion for

children. She is a worthy recipient of

the Rod Lewis Award and I would like

to now invite Jenny Lewis onstage to

present Dinnie with her award which

comes along with £100 to support a

project of her choice.

Citation for the award by Rob Ind

(Head of School)

25


Targeted Intervention Day 1

Personal,

Social, Health,

Citizenship and

Economic Day

“There is nothing I wouldn’t

do for those who are really my

friends. I have no notion of

loving people by halves; it is

not my nature”.

Jane Austen

The

Personal

Development day, held on Friday 24th November 2017, was devised

in light of previous learning; students worked with staff and external providers

building on students’ understanding of how to be in the world.

Key stage 3 students worked on building self-esteem and celebrating success. They spent time

exploring how to deal with feedback both positive and less so in a variety of forms and completed a

project on how they celebrate each other’s achievements. Year 7 and 8 students completed the initial

assessment of the Myriad Project a piece of research conducted by Oxford University on mindfulness

and resilience. They also spent time looking at relationships and explored the different feelings

at different stages of relationships from initial interest and friendship to life after a relationship.

Year 10 students explored the world of relationships, sex education and health. They spent time looking

at relationships and consent in a variety of scenarios and then went on to find out about contraception and

sexual health. During the day they also explored the impact of pregnancy and having children. Students

also learnt about pornography and the internet and the misrepresentation it can create around sexual activity.

Year 11 students worked on resilience looking at the impact of dealing with pressure and exploring how

to cope with challenging situations. They also worked with OB Education on revision techniques

and educational stamina on the run up to their mock and real exams.

26


“It was really interesting learning about

pregnancy, I found it so stressful doing the

shopping list whilst a baby was screaming”.

(year 10 student)

“The idea of a lifelong

commitment to somebody

because of photographs

taken and posting them

was interesting and

something I had not

thought about”.

(year 9 student)

6th form students explored a variety of topics including looking at relationships

and in particular how to deal with negative or risky relationships. They explored the

impact of fertility issues around conceiving and researched adoption and fostering as

alternatives ways to become parents. The students also considered the issues around

pornography. Both year 12 and 13 students examined mental health issues and in

particular looked at the impact of resilience and being proactive in looking after your

mind. The day for year 13 students was designed around looking at what happens

after school has finished and leaving home. They spent time working on finances and

budgeting and cooking for themselves. Some students used the time to work with tutors

to complete their UCAS application where others spent time exploring apprenticeships.

The day proved to be hugely valuable. It enabled students to engage in meaningful discussions on

topics that affect them in their daily lives and to gain a greater understanding of how to adjust to

this ever changing world.

Kevin Biggs (Assistant Headteacher – PSHCE)

27


End of Term

Celebrations

Our

end of term assembly on

Friday 15th December 2018

adopted a concert format. There were two

fantastic shows put on to celebrate the

end of term with bands from years 7,

8 and 9 sharing their musical talents with

some songs being written by students.

The 6th Form Leadership Team hosted the

concert with great skill and humour.

Mr O’Hare started the proceedings

with a rap he had written about school

which the students appreciated. The

year 9 W Factor Street Dance group

also moved the audience with their

fast-paced and exciting routine. The

two performances by staff at the

end of the concert brought

the house down with

Mr Ferreira singing

“Havana” by Camila

Cabello followed by

“I wish it could be

Christmas” by Wizard:

a very entertaining end

to a fabulous concert.

Kevin Biggs

(Assistant Headteacher)

28

Cranford Review” is a regular printed publication either available to download in digital format at “www.cranford.hounslow.sch.uk/newsletters-publications”

Editor-in-chief: Jessica Joyce | Graphic design: Enzo Gianvittorio | Printed by: Cleverbox.co.uk | Copyright © Cranford Community College - 2018

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines