8 months ago

LSB April 2018_Web


AWARD WINNING HOMES HIGH-END BESPOKE HOME CONSTRUCTIONS, INTEGRATING YOUR INDOOR AND OUTDOOR SPACES. Contact us to arrange an obligation-free consultation. HEAD OFFICE 45 Hackney Road, Hackney, SA 5069 Telephone 08 8268 1400 DISPLAY HOME 36 Fergusson Avenue, Craigburn Farm As featured on:

This issue of The Law Society of South Australia: Bulletin is cited as (2018) 40 (3) LSB(SA). ISSN 1038-6777 CONTENTS THE LAW SOCIETY: WORKING FOR YOU 7 Harnessing the power of the collective – By Stephen Hodder 8 Support services for practitioners By Ethics & Practice Unit 10 Summary of the Member Satisfaction Survey – By Michelle King 14 CPD Programme tailored to meet members’ needs – By Natalie Mackay 15 Making life easier for lawyers By Dale Weetman 17 How the Litigation Assistance Fund helps people pursue claims By Annie McRae 18 Membership benefits for sole & small firm practitioners By Michelle King 22 Standing up for the profession By Anna Finizio 23 Protecting practitioners against risk By Geoff Thomas 24 The role of the Women Lawyers’ Committee – By Shelley O’Connell 27 BankSA partnership extended 29 What can the Young Lawyers Committee do for you? By Erica Panagakos & Melanie Tilmouth FEATURES 12 Litigation in the SA fast track streams – By Jordan Tutton 20 Pro Bono Mediation Information Service making a difference in the Magistrates Court – By Margaret Castles 26 Event wrap-up: Law Society Forum 34 Major report makes key access to justice recommendations to reduce Indigenous incarceration By Matthew Corrigan 38 Event Wrap-up: Robe Country Conference – By John Kyrimis REGULAR COLUMNS 4 President’s Message 5 From the Editor 6 Dialogue 18 Members on the Move 19 Wellbeing & Resilience 28 Risk Watch 29 Young Lawyers 32 Tax Files 37 Get in on the Act: Explaining the LPA’s show cause regime 40 Bookshelf 41 Gazing in the Gazette 44 Family Law Case Notes Executive Members President: Tim Mellor President-Elect: A Nikolovski Vice President (M): T White Vice President (F): R Sandford Treasurer: A Michaels Immediate Past President: A Rossi Council Members: M Frayne QC S Hooper Metropolitan Council Members T Dibden S Gibbons M Janus A Lazarevich L Polson T Vozzo M Frayne SC V Gilliland F Bell M Mackie M Boyle M Smith E Shaw R Shaw Country Members S Minney (Northern and Western Region) P Ryan (Central Region) J Kyrimis (Southern Region) Junior Members R Piccolo S Hooper Ex Officio Members The Hon V Chapman, Prof W Lacey, Prof M de Zwart, Prof T Leiman KEY LAW SOCIETY CONTACTS Chief Executive Stephen Hodder Executive Officer Rosemary Pridmore Chief Operations Officer Dale Weetman Member Services Manager Michelle King Director (Ethics and Practice) Rosalind Burke Director (Law Claims) Geoff Thomas Manager (LAF) Annie MacRae Programme Manager (CPD) Natalie Mackay Programme manager (GDLP) Desiree Holland THE BULLETIN Editor Michael Esposito Editorial Committee D Barnfield E Olsson S Kljun R Earles P Wilkinson S Errington E Belperio A Siow B Grant A Bradshaw E Moran J Napier The Law Society Bulletin is published monthly (except January) by: The Law Society of South Australia, Level 10-11, 178 North Tce, Adelaide Ph: (08) 8229 0200 Fax: (08) 8231 1929 Email: All contributions letters and enquiries should be directed to The Editor, The Law Society Bulletin, GPO Box 2066, Adelaide 5001. Views expressed in the Bulletin advertising material included are not necessarily endorsed by The Law Society of South Australia. No responsibility is accepted by the Society, Editor, Publisher or Printer for accuracy of information or errors or omissions. PUBLISHER/ADVERTISER Boylen Level 3, 47 South Terrace, Adelaide SA 5000. Ph: (08) 8233 9433 Fax: (08) 8212 6484 Email: Studio Manager: Cindy Ridgwell Layout: Henry Rivera Advertising Email: Printer Lane Print Group 101 Mooringe Ave, Camden Park SA 5038. Ph: (08) 8376 1188