Views
4 months ago

BeatRoute Magazine BC Edition August 2018

BeatRoute Magazine is a monthly arts and entertainment paper with a predominant focus on music – local, independent or otherwise. The paper started in June 2004 and continues to provide a healthy dose of perversity while exercising rock ‘n’ roll ethics. Currently BeatRoute’s AB edition is distributed in Calgary, Edmonton (by S*A*R*G*E), Banff and Canmore. The BC edition is distributed in Vancouver, Victoria and Nanaimo. BeatRoute (AB) Mission PO 23045 Calgary, AB T2S 3A8 E. editor@beatroute.ca BeatRoute (BC) #202 – 2405 E Hastings Vancouver, BC V5K 1Y8 P. 778-888-1120

August‘18 PUBLISHER BeatRoute Magazine LAYOUT & PRODUCTION MANAGER Naomi Zhang FRONT COVER PHOTO Matt Barnes FRONT COVER DESIGN Randy Gibson INTERN Carlos Oen CONTRIBUTING WRITERS P. Cakes • Emilie Charette • Emily Corley • Mike Dunn • Kyle Fillo • Mia Glanz • Alex Harrison • Matty Hume • Daniel Jaramillo • Jeevin Johal • Thomas Johnson • Brendan Lee • Christine Leonard • William Leurer • Joey Lopez • Trevor Morelli • Pat Mullen • Carlos Oen • Scott Postulo • Dan Potter • Paul Rodgers • Stepan Soroka • Brayden Turenne CONTRIBUTING PHOTOGRAPHERS & ILLUSTRATORS Mandy-Lyn Antoniou • Andrew Bibby • Shawn Brackbill • Baron S Cameron • Emille Compion • Syd Danger • Maclay Heriot • Bryce Hunnerson • Kent Kellberg • Ariane Laezza • Aaron Leonen • Pamela Littky • Matt Lucas • Ashok Mathur • Carlos Oen • Tom Paille • Chris Thorn ADVERTISING INQUIRIES Glenn Alderson glenn@beatroute.ca 778-888-1120 Editor-In-Chief Glenn Alderson glenn@beatroute.ca City Yasmine Shemesh yasmine@beatroute.ca Local Music Maddy Cristall maddy@beatroute.ca The Skinny Johnny Papan johnny@beatroute.ca Comedy Graeme Wiggins graeme@beatroute.ca Managing Editor Jordan Yeager jordan@beatroute.ca BPM Alan Ranta alan@beatroute.ca GRASSIFIEDS Jamila Pomeroy jamila@beatroute.ca Live Reviews Darrole Palmer darrole@beatroute.ca Film Hogan Short hogan@beatroute.ca 04 05 06 10 11 15 HI, HOW ARE YOU? - With Tim Bogdachev AKA Russian Tim PULSE - CITY BRIEFS! CITY - Vancouver Mural Fest - Vines Art Festival - International Guitar Fest - Ayumi Goto & Peter Morin - Body Language OH LORD, WON’T YOU BUY ME A CUSTOM GUITAR? COMEDY - Neal Brennan 14 GRASSIFIEDS - Jodie Emery Exclusive Interview - Strain Of The Month BPM - Motion Notion - Clubland 16 19 21 23 33 33 35 MUSIC - Beach House - Rolling Coastal - Blackouts - Amen Dunes - Pierce Kingan - Hotel Mira - Hot Snakes BUFFY SAINTE MARIE - Medicine for the soul SKINNY - Alice In Chains - Elder FILM - Blindspotting - Eighth Grade REVIEWS - The Internet - Freddie Gibbs LIVE - Vancouver Folk Music Festival - Suicidal Tendencies HOROSCOPES DISTRIBUTION Gold Distribution (Vancouver) Mark Goodwin Farfields (Victoria) Web Jashua Grafstein jash@beatroute.ca Social Media Mat Wilkins mat@beatroute.ca BEATROUTE MAGAZINE 202-2405 Hastings St. E Vancouver BC Canada V5K 1Y8 editor@beatroute.ca • beatroute.ca ©BEATROUTE Magazine 2018. All rights reserved. Reproduction of the contents is strictly prohibited. August 2018 3

Beatroute Magazine BC Print Edition August 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Edition September 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Edition November 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC print e-edition - April2017
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition June 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition July 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition May 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition April 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Edition October 2018
Beatroute Magazine BC Print Edition - August 2017
BeatRoute Magazine AB Edition November 2018
Beatroute Magazine BC Print Edition December 2017
Beatroute Magazine BC Print Edition - September 2017
Beatroute Magazine - BC - Print E-Edition - June 2017
BeatRoute Magazine BC Edition December 2018
BeatRoute BC Print Edition March 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition January 2018
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print E edition May 2017
BeatRoute Magazine AB print e-edition - March 2017
BeatRoute Magazine BC Print Edition October 2017
BeatRoute Magazine AB print e-edition - [August 2017]
BeatRoute Magazine AB Edition December 2018
BeatRoute Magazine Alberta print e-edition - February 2017
BeatRoute Magazine AB print e-edition - April 2017
BeatRoute Magazine Alberta print e-edition - July 2017
BeatRoute Magazine [AB] print e-edition - [September 2017]
BeatRoute Magazine [AB] print e-edition - [March 2018]
BeatRoute Magazine - BC print e-edition – [March 2017]
BeatRoute Magazine [AB] print e-edition - [October 2017]
BeatRoute Magazine [AB] print e-edition - [May 2018]