Southern View: October 30, 2018


12 Tuesday October 30 2018

Latest Christchurch news at


Award for Hillmorton basketballer

• By Jacob Page


boys basketball captain Ihaia

Kendrew has won a Zonta Sports

Award after his stellar season on

the court.

The 28th annual awards

were held at the Hornby

Workingman’s Club on

Thursday night.

The 17-year-old took out the

most valued contribution to a

team by a young sportswoman

or sportsman award after leading

Hillmorton to a South Island

single A title and then ninth at

nationals in Palmerston North

this month,

He also set a Canterbury

secondary school point-scoring

record when he managed 58

points to lead his team to their

first win of the McDonald’s

Thomson Trophy competition

in June – a 91-83 victory over

Burnside High.

Kendrew, broke two

competition records in the clash,

including most points and most

three-pointers made with 11.

28th Zonta Sports Awards

The award for the most

valued contribution to a team

by a young sportswoman or

sportsman who is not eligible for

nomination in Categories 4 or 6.

Girls: Sophie White,

Christchurch Girls’ High School,


Finalists: Sarita De Gouw, Rangi

Ruru Girls’ School, touch. Mor

Oajwajee, Papanui High School,


Boys winner: Ihaia Kendrew,

Hillmorton High School,


Finalists: Harrison Jones-Park,

St Andrew’s College, rowing.

Thomas Pope-Kerr, St Andrew’s

College, football. Shaun Regaldo,

Shirley Boys’ High School, football

and futsal. Dion Vaudrey, St.

Andrew’s College, squash

The award for contribution to

sports administration by a young

woman and a young man in a

position of umpire, referee, coach

or tutor

Girls winner: Kate Fraser,

Marion College, netball.

Highly commended: Renee

Rae, Marian College, netball.

Finalists: Jessica Aitken,

Christchurch Girls High School,

water polo. Charlotte James,

Burnside High School, fencing.

Boys winner: Will Hutchison,

Christ’s College, touch.

LEADER: Hillmorton basketball captain Ihaia Kendrew with his Zonta Sports Award which he


Highly commended: Brad

Clive, St Thomas of Canterbury

College, basketball.

Finalists: Thomas Bainbridge,

Burnside High School, water polo.

Ralph Clink, St Andrew’s College,

football and futsal. Fergus

Vickers, Burnside High School,


The award for the most

outstanding achievement by a

young sportswoman and a young

sportsman with a disability.

Girls winner: Lilian Exton,

Avonside Girls’ High School,

boccia, athletics.

Finalist: Sarah James, Avonside

Girls’ High School, athletics,

wheelchair racing

Boys winner: Celyn Edwards,

Hillmorton High School,


Highly commended: William

Stedman, Middleton Grange

School, athletics.

Finalists: George Adam St

Andrew’s College, swimming.

Reuben Anguisaca-Bland,

Papanui High School, crosscountry.

Thomas Chin, Riccarton

High School, boccia. Ieuan

Edwards, Hillmorton High

School, swimming. Alex Reilly,

Christchurch Boys’ High School,

wheelchair rugby

The award for the most

outstanding individual

achievement by a young

sportswoman and a young

sportsman specialising in one


Girls winner: Sami Donelly,

Burnside High School, track &

road cycling.

Highly commended: Kathryn

Glen, Villa Maria College, rowing.

Brea Roderick, Mount Hutt

College, triathlon

Finalists: Emilie Aitken, Rangi

Ruru Girls’ School, touch. Bella

Ambrosius,St Andrew’s College,

hockey. Layla Bailey-McDowell,

Kaiapoi High School, softball.

Liliana Braun, Cashmere High

School, athletics.Olivia Brett,

St Andrew’s College, canoe

racing. Jessica Garlick, Kaiapoi

High School, powerlifting. Mya

Graham, St Andrew’s College,

triathlon. Britney Greene, Villa

Maria College, cycling. Cara

Higinbottom, Lincoln High School,

sailing. Juliana Hung, Burnside

High School, golf. Rebecca Jones,

Oxford Area School, archery.

Ria Kney, Marian College, judo.

Emma Logan, Papanui High

School, gymnastics. Pieta Luthi.

St Margaret’s College,canoe

kayaking. Karlee Macfarlane,

Avonside Girls’ High School,

cheerleading. Helen Matthews

Kaiapoi High School, basketball.

Gabrielle Rennie, Rangiora

High School, football. Caitlin

Sadler, Avonside Girls’ High

School, korfball. Olivia Sloan,

Christchurch Gir;ls’ High School,

archery. Georgia Stroud, Villa

Maria College, netball. Jade

Taylor, Papanui High School,

karate. Brooke Teear, Papanui

High School, trampolining. Millie

Thompson, Lincoln High School,

equestrian. Charlotte Whittaker,

St Andrew’s College, basketball.

Jenny Zhou, St Andrew’s College,

badminton. Leah Zydenbos, Rangi

Ruru Girls’ School, equestrian.

Boys winner: Will Gilbert,

Christchurch Boys’ High School,


Highly commended: Andres

Hernandez, St Bede’s College,

athletics and cross-country.

Saxon Morgan, St Andrew’s

College, triathlon.

Finalists: Celyn Edwards,

Hillmorton High School, para

swimming. Reese Falck, Shirley

Boys’ High School, tennis.

Luke Hopkinson, Kaiapoi High

School, wrestling. Logan Howe,

Lincoln High School, clay target

shooting. Troy Hulston, Shirley

Boys’ High School, volleyball,

beach volleyball. Quinton Hurley,

St Andrew’s College, swimming

pool and open water. Hiroki

Miya, Burnside High School,

golf. Griffin Neame, Greymouth

High School, rugby league.

George Prain, Rangiora High


School, rugby. Sam Richards.

Papanui High School, football.

William Stedman, Middleton

Grange, athletics. Sam Wallace,

St Andrew’s College, motorsport.

Ben Williams, Greymouth High

School, mountain/trail running.

Alexander Zhou, Burnside High

School, table tennis

The awards for the most

outstanding team of young

sportswomen and sportsmen or

mixed team.

Girls winner: Christchurch Girls’

High School, sevens. Rangi Ruru

Girls’ School, rowing under 18


Finalists: St Andrew’s College,

basketball. St Andrew’s College,

Football. Villa Maria College,


Boys winner: Christ’s College,


Highly commended: Burnside

High School, table tennis. ​

Finalists: Christchurch Boys’

High School, sailing. Papanui

High School, cross country-para


Mixed winner: St Andrew’s

College, mixed swimming team

The award for the best allround

young sportswoman

and young sportsman who

has achieved in more than one

sporting code

Girls winner: Brittany Wang,

Rangi Ruru Girls’ School,

trampolining, hockey, athletics.

Highly commended: Isabella

Carter, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School,

rugby cycling, rowing.

Finalists: Cass Hetherington,

Christchurch Girls’ High School,

hockey, kayaking. Sofia Kennedy,

Middleton Grange School,

basketball, cross country,

athletics. Bella Lister, Christchurch

Girls’ High School, netball,

touch, softball. Georgia Stroud,

Villa Maria College, netball, surf

lifesaving, athletics.

Boys winner: Sam Darry,

Christ’s College, rowing, rugby.

Highly commended: Louie

Chapman Christchurch Boys High

School, cricket, rugby. Louis Clark,

Christ’s College, swimming, water

polo, surf lifesaving.

Finalists: Thomas James,

Burnside High School, athletics,

basketball, cricket, cycling,

Nic Lidstone, Christ’s College,

cricket, cross-country, cycling.

Tyler Mounty, St Bede’s College,

football, softball.

•League awards, page 15

Last year our

volunteers saved

1.2 million of us from

losing someone

we know.

Please donate today


Coastguard volunteers don’t just save lives, they save families.

More magazines by this user