23.01.2019 Views

Historic Clermont County

An illustrated history of the Clermont County area, paired with the histories of companies, families and organizations that make the region great.

An illustrated history of the Clermont County area, paired with the histories of companies, families and organizations that make the region great.

SHOW MORE
SHOW LESS

You also want an ePaper? Increase the reach of your titles

YUMPU automatically turns print PDFs into web optimized ePapers that Google loves.

HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY<br />

<br />

An Illustrated History<br />

<br />

Edited by Ron Hill and Patsy Shiveley<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

A publication of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society


Thank you for your interest in this HPNbooks publication.<br />

For more information about other HPNbooks publications, or information about<br />

producing your own book with us, please visit www.hpnbooks.com.


HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY<br />

An Illustrated History<br />

Edited by Ron Hill and Patsy Shiveley<br />

Commissioned by the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

P.O. Box 14<br />

Batavia, Ohio 45103<br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Publishing Network<br />

A division of Lammert Incorporated<br />

San Antonio, Texas


CONTENTS<br />

3 PREFACE<br />

4 CHAPTER I a profile of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

9 CHAPTER II early inhabitants<br />

11 CHAPTER III townships & villages<br />

41 CHAPTER IV transportation<br />

51 CHAPTER V the Abolitionist Movement and Civil War<br />

53 CHAPTER VI <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> veterans, generals &<br />

Medal of Honor recipients<br />

56 SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY AND READING LIST<br />

59 SHARING THE HERITAGE<br />

81 SPONSORS<br />

82 ABOUT THE AUTHORS<br />

84 INDEX<br />

First Edition<br />

Copyright © 2010 <strong>Historic</strong>al Publishing Network<br />

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, without permission in writing<br />

from the publisher. All inquiries should be addressed to <strong>Historic</strong>al Publishing Network, 11535 Galm Road, Suite 101, San Antonio, Texas, 78254. Phone (800) 749-9790.<br />

ISBN: 9781935377290<br />

Library of Congress Card Catalog Number: 2010940612<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>: An Illustrated History<br />

authors: Janet Brock Beller, Libbie Bennett, Janet Blackburn,<br />

Richard Crawford, Terri Daughtery, John Dial, Tom Dix,<br />

Rick Grgetic, Julia Liggett Hess, Ron Hill, Gary L. Knepp,<br />

James L. Koch, Kathy McCurdy, Hugh L. Nichols II,<br />

Bethany Richter Pollitt, Greg Roberts, Jim Shafer,<br />

Patsy Murphy Shiveley, Alma Aicholtz Smith<br />

contributing writer for sharing the heritage: Eric Dabney<br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Publishing Network<br />

president: Ron Lammert<br />

project managers: Wynn Buck<br />

administration: Donna M. Mata, Melissa G. Quinn<br />

book sales: Dee Steidle<br />

production: Colin Hart, Glenda Tarazon Krouse, Evelyn Hart, Omar Wright<br />

2 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


PREFACE<br />

In celebration of the fiftieth anniversary (2008) of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society and in cooperation with the <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> Collaborative of <strong>Historic</strong>al Societies, the Society undertook the preparation of this county history.<br />

This book was written with the hope that the reader will become more aware of the rich heritage of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and develop<br />

an interest in pursuing a deeper understanding of the county history. The book is not intended to be a scholarly or comprehensive<br />

history of the county. There are several comprehensive histories of the county written circa 1880; local historical organizations have<br />

published histories of their area in recent years; and other individuals have published books of their area of historical expertise To<br />

facilitate this interest an extensive “Selected Bibliography and Reading List” has been provided.<br />

This book could not have been written without the History Book Committee: Ron Hill, Rick Grgetic, Ray Hawley, Mary Campbell<br />

and Patsy Shiveley, and the cooperation of the various historical organizations in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The authors of the articles were<br />

drawn from these organizations. They represent some of the most knowledgeable persons of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> history. We strongly<br />

encourage you to become a member of one of these organizations:<br />

Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association<br />

Chilo Lock # 34 Museum<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Genealogical Society<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Franklin Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Goshen Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Greater Loveland <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Greater Milford <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Grassy Run <strong>Historic</strong>al Arts Committee<br />

Harmony Hill Association<br />

(Williamsburg)<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc.<br />

Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Owensville <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Ulysses S. Grant Birthplace<br />

❖<br />

A family outing in Pierce Township<br />

in 1916.<br />

COURTESY OF MILTON H. MATHEWS.<br />

Contents ✦ 3


<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> lies in the southwest<br />

corner of Ohio, east of Cincinnati. The<br />

southern border is the Ohio River. The<br />

Little Miami River defines the western<br />

boundary from Loveland to Milford, then<br />

the Hamilton <strong>County</strong> line to the Ohio River.<br />

On the north is Warren <strong>County</strong> and to the<br />

east Brown <strong>County</strong>. Portions of the original<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> were taken in 1817 to<br />

form Brown and Highland Counties.<br />

THE VIRGINIA<br />

MILITARY DISTRICT<br />

By Alma Aicholtz Smith, <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

CHAPTER I<br />

A PROFILE OF C LERMONT C OUNTY<br />

The first land instrument recorded in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> is a Virginia military<br />

survey. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> is one of 23<br />

Ohio counties situated entirely or in part<br />

in the Virginia Military District (VMD).<br />

The importance of these surveys is that<br />

they were the first subdivisions of land in<br />

the county. Conveyances for land today<br />

refer to the military survey in which the<br />

tract is located.<br />

Under the 1609 charter from King<br />

James I of England, Virginia claimed all<br />

the land north of the Ohio River and east<br />

of the Mississippi River. After the<br />

Revolutionary War ended in 1783,<br />

Virginia ceded to the new federal<br />

government all claims on land north of<br />

the Ohio River, except for the area lying<br />

between the Little Miami and Scioto<br />

Rivers. Virginia reserved this land for her<br />

soldiers in payment for their services in<br />

the American Revolution.<br />

The Northwest Ordinance was passed<br />

on July 13, 1787, opening lands in the<br />

Ohio Territory. The Principal Surveyor’s<br />

Office in Louisville, Kentucky, opened its<br />

books for entries for land in the Virginia<br />

Military Reserve in Ohio. On November<br />

13, Deputy Surveyor John O’Bannon ran<br />

the first survey in the District in what is<br />

❖ A map of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> as it appeared around 1800-1805. This map shows the original and present<br />

boundaries of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, and the general location of its first five townships. (Not drawn to scale.)<br />

MAP BY ALMA SMITH.<br />

now <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. He surveyed<br />

fourteen hundred acres of land for<br />

Colonel John Neville. The town of<br />

Neville, incorporated in 1854, is located<br />

in this survey.<br />

The fee charged by deputy surveyors<br />

for their services varied from year to year<br />

and with the difficulty of the work.<br />

Surveyors often charged ¼ to ½ of the<br />

acres called for in the entry, or 10 pounds<br />

Virginia currency per 1,000 acres.<br />

The land bounties given by Virginia to<br />

her soldiers ranged from 100 acres for a<br />

private to 15,000 acres to a major general.<br />

After obtaining a military bounty warrant<br />

stating the amount of land to which a soldier<br />

was entitled, he hired an authorized<br />

deputy surveyor to make an entry for him.<br />

This entry was a general description of the<br />

tract on which he was locating the warrant.<br />

The entry was numbered, dated, and<br />

recorded in a book in the Principal<br />

Surveyor’s Office in Louisville. The tract<br />

was then surveyed by the deputy surveyor<br />

and a plat made. Following the acceptance<br />

of the survey by the Principal Surveyor,<br />

the warrant with the plat was sent to the<br />

federal government for a patent. It wasn’t<br />

4 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ The first county flag was dedicated in 1965. A contest of county students was held. Six hundred entries were<br />

received. Dennis Luithle of Glen Este High School submitted the winning design.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

until February 20, 1796, that the first U.S.<br />

patent was issued for VMD land.<br />

George Washington purchased two warrants<br />

for 3,100 acres and John O’Bannon surveyed<br />

three tracts of land for him in what are<br />

now Franklin, Union and Miami Townships.<br />

However, these tracts were not properly<br />

patented and Washington lost them. He<br />

never visited his tracts.<br />

Thomas Paxton settled in the Loveland<br />

area in 1795 and built the first cabin. John,<br />

David, and Jeriah Wood and their families<br />

along with John, Nathan, and Elisha<br />

Manning (three brothers who were married<br />

to Wood girls) built a combined residencefort<br />

called Wood-Manning Station<br />

(Washington Township) in 1795. Isaac<br />

Ferguson settled along the Ohio River (Ohio<br />

Township) in 1796. William Lytle laid out<br />

the village of Lytlestown, later to be named<br />

Williamsburg, in 1796.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> was established as the eighth<br />

county in the Northwest Territory by<br />

proclamation of General Arthur St. Clair on<br />

December 9, 1800. Thus, <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

became a county before Ohio became a<br />

state in 1803. As a territorial county it was<br />

at that time composed of five townships:<br />

O’Bannon (now Miami), Ohio,<br />

Williamsburg, Washington and Pleasant.<br />

Fourteen townships were eventually<br />

formed: Batavia, Franklin, Goshen,<br />

Jackson, Miami, Monroe, Ohio, Pierce,<br />

Stonelick, Tate, Union, Washington,<br />

Wayne, and Williamsburg.<br />

The Territorial <strong>County</strong> Seat and first<br />

seat when Ohio became a state was<br />

Williamsburg. With the removal of land<br />

from <strong>Clermont</strong> to Brown <strong>County</strong> (1817),<br />

the Williamsburg location was on the eastern<br />

edge of the county and inconvenient to<br />

most citizens. Through political pressure<br />

the county seat was moved to the larger<br />

village of New Richmond (1823). It too<br />

was found to be inconvenient and in 1824<br />

the Ohio Legislature made centrally located<br />

Batavia the county seat. Several street<br />

fights and quarrels broke out between New<br />

Richmond and Batavia over the move.<br />

THE ESTABLISHMENT<br />

OF THE COUNTY<br />

By Ron Hill, <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Although the federal government was<br />

issuing warrants for land in Ohio to its<br />

Revolutionary soldiers, the land was claimed<br />

by the Indians. Several surveying parties had<br />

skirmishes with the Indians. In April 1792 a<br />

major battle occurred at Grassy Run Creek<br />

(Jackson Township) between a party of men<br />

from Kentucky, led by Simon Kenton, and<br />

Indians, lead by Tecumseh, who had stolen<br />

horses. It was not until the Battle of Fallen<br />

Timbers (1794), in which General Anthony<br />

Wayne defeated the Indians, and the resulting<br />

Treaty of Greene Ville (1795) that the land in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was safe for settlement.<br />

❖ The second county flag was dedicated in 2000. Forty-five entries were received and Melanie Gilliam’s design won.<br />

The stylized “C” in the flag represents the county’s proximity to the Ohio river. It also symbolizes the sweeping progress<br />

of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s growth and the swelling promise of her future. The circle of fourteen golden stars symbolizes each<br />

of the townships and the unity in which the governments and people of each work together.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Chapter I ✦ 5


❖ Throughout <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> are many silos,<br />

most of which are no longer in use. These silos are<br />

monuments to the rich agriculture heritage of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The early settlers found the area to be<br />

covered with thick forests. Large portions<br />

of the middle and northern part of the<br />

county were very swampy. The white oak<br />

trees presented the resource for one of the<br />

early industries: coopering and chair manufacturing.<br />

However, most of the early settlers<br />

were occupied with farming. Small<br />

hamlets and villages developed to support<br />

these families. A review of a <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> map shows that most of the hamlets<br />

and villages are within fifteen miles of<br />

adjacent villages. This distance reflects the<br />

poor condition of the early roads and a<br />

day’s journey on horseback or wagon.<br />

Mills to process grain and lumber soon<br />

developed throughout the county. Most of<br />

the agricultural production was consumed<br />

by the grower or nearby people. One of the<br />

major handicaps in the development of<br />

industry and agriculture was transportation<br />

to the major market in Cincinnati. The<br />

county’s roads were in deplorable condition.<br />

The rivers offered the greatest opportunity.<br />

AGRICULTURE<br />

Agriculture was the major industry of<br />

the county over its first 100 years and continues<br />

to be the major use of the land today.<br />

In the late 1800s the major crops of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> were corn, wheat, tobacco<br />

and potatoes. Oats and hay were also<br />

produced. Orchards were common, with<br />

apples, peaches, cherries, plums and pears<br />

grown. Small herds of dairy cattle produced<br />

milk and butter.<br />

By the twentieth century major changes<br />

were occurring in farming. Mechanized<br />

equipment replaced the horse. Improved<br />

plant varieties, cultivation methods, fertilizers,<br />

and chemical weed control all led to<br />

higher yields with less labor. For example,<br />

corn yields in 1918 were 31 bushels per<br />

acre compared to 168 in 2006. Soybeans<br />

became a major crop in the 1940s. Today<br />

corn, soybeans and tobacco are the primary<br />

cash crops.<br />

POPULATION OF<br />

THE COUNTY<br />

The growth of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was<br />

2,000 to 3,000 persons per decade from<br />

1850 to 1880. For the next fifty years the<br />

MAJOR CROP YIELDS FOR 1881<br />

Total Cultivated Acres: 122,380<br />

Corn, bushels 1,100,424<br />

Wheat, bushels 590,978<br />

Tobacco, pounds 4,050,374<br />

Potatoes, bushels 232,689<br />

CORN, WHEAT & SOYBEAN PRODUCTION<br />

CORN WHEAT SOYBEANS<br />

Year Acres Bushels Acres Bushels Acres Bushels<br />

1920 47,600 1,624,000 14,400 198,000 not available<br />

1940 32,900 624,000 7,400 106,000 1,800 14,000<br />

1960 22,600 972,000 6,000 168,000 9,100 164,000<br />

1980 16,200 1,856,000 2,900 110,000 36,800 1,002,000<br />

2000 14,300 2,067,400 3,000 123,400 38,700 1,503,800<br />

2006 not available 1,900 120,700 not available<br />

2007 17,100 2,035,200 not available 38,100 1,343,000<br />

Year Acres Pounds<br />

1973 740 1,014,000<br />

1980 1,060 1,919,000<br />

2000 760 1,337,000<br />

2004 435 783,000<br />

TOBACCO<br />

PRODUCTION<br />

POPULATION<br />

GROWTH<br />

1800 760 *<br />

1810 9,965<br />

1820 15,820<br />

1830 20,466<br />

1840 23,106<br />

1850 30,455<br />

1860 33,034<br />

1870 34,264<br />

1880 36,713<br />

1890 33,553<br />

1900 31,610<br />

1910 29,551<br />

1920 28,291<br />

1930 29,786<br />

1940 34,109<br />

1950 42,182<br />

1960 80,530<br />

1970 95,725<br />

1980 128,483<br />

1990 150,887<br />

2000 177,977<br />

* males above 16<br />

6 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


EMPLOYMENT<br />

(Thousands as of the year 2000)<br />

Farm employment 1.01<br />

Agricultural services 1.16<br />

Mining 0.05<br />

Construction 6.45<br />

Manufacturing 8.55<br />

Transport, Public utilities 2.64<br />

Wholesale trade 2.90<br />

Retail trade 15.45<br />

Finance, Insurance, Real Estate 7.31<br />

Service 21.13<br />

Federal Government 0.82<br />

State & Local Government 6.53<br />

Total 74.01<br />

population declined as people left the<br />

agriculture-based economy of the county for<br />

employment in the industries of Cincinnati.<br />

The 1940s and ’50s showed an influx of<br />

people from Appalachia who came north for<br />

work in the industries of the Cincinnati area.<br />

The major growth started in the 1960s with<br />

a migration from the city to the suburbs.<br />

This migration was due partly to new road<br />

systems such as I-275 and the improvement<br />

of the east-west Routes 28, 32, 125 and 52.<br />

Housing and the cost-of-living were<br />

generally cheaper in the suburbs. From that<br />

time until today the north-south I-275<br />

corridor along the Hamilton <strong>County</strong> line has<br />

seen a boom in residential development.<br />

Whereas there has been significant growth<br />

in the western townships such as Miami and<br />

Union, the central, southern and eastern<br />

townships have not experienced it as much.<br />

BUSINESS<br />

With the coming of the highway system<br />

in western <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, commercial<br />

and industrial development occurred<br />

along the I-275 corridor. The Eastgate<br />

Mall along Route 32 (1980s) and the<br />

shopping centers along Routes 50 and 28<br />

east of Milford and Cherry Grove on SR<br />

125 became major commercial districts<br />

for the county. Industrial parks were<br />

❖ The 1955 Bookmobile provided the first<br />

library service.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

established near these areas and many<br />

small industries located there. Ford Motor<br />

Company built a large transmission plant<br />

at Afton in Batavia Township (1980).<br />

CLERMONT<br />

COLLEGE<br />

The University of Cincinnati <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

College is located on the hill outside<br />

Batavia on <strong>Clermont</strong> College Drive.<br />

Instruction began at the college in 1972.<br />

The enrollment has grown from 97 fulltime<br />

and 184 part-time students during its<br />

first year to 1,820 full-time and 1,120 parttime<br />

in 2007. The facility and faculty have<br />

grown to meet this demand.<br />

CLERMONT COUNTY<br />

PUBLIC LIBRARY<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was the last county in<br />

Ohio to establish a countywide public<br />

library. The first library in 1955 was a bookmobile<br />

to serve a predominantly rural<br />

❖ The original control tower of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Airport, 1968.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

population. Today (2010) there are ten<br />

branches located in the county: Milford-<br />

Miami Township (1959), Batavia (Doris E.<br />

Wood Branch, 1961), Union Township<br />

(1963), Bethel (1967), New Richmond<br />

(1980), Amelia (1988), Williamsburg<br />

(1988), Goshen (1989), Felicity (1994) and<br />

Owensville (1997).<br />

THE<br />

COUNTY<br />

FIRST<br />

HOSPITAL<br />

Plans for a county hospital date back<br />

to 1959. A bond issue was approved in<br />

1970 to construct the facility. On<br />

November 5, 1973, Our Lady of Mercy<br />

Hospital opened on Hospital Drive off<br />

Bauer Road in Batavia Township.<br />

CLERMONT COUNTY<br />

AIRPORT<br />

In 1965 an Airport Study Committee was<br />

appointed by the <strong>County</strong> Commissioners to<br />

study the need for an airport in the county.<br />

Their report in 1967 recommended an airport<br />

to promote industrial growth. The same<br />

year forty-three acres of land off Taylor Road<br />

near Olive Branch was donated to the<br />

<strong>County</strong> by <strong>Clermont</strong> Industrial Parks, Inc.<br />

The thirty-seven-hundred-foot-runway airport<br />

was dedicated in October 1968 by<br />

Governor James Rhodes. An agreement was<br />

made with <strong>Clermont</strong> Airways, Inc., to operate<br />

the airport and a terminal was built adjacent<br />

to Taylor Road. In 1988 Eastern<br />

Cincinnati Aviation took over management<br />

and in 1993 moved the terminal operations<br />

to the Sporty’s building east of the runway.<br />

Over the years major improvements<br />

have been made to the airport and an industrial<br />

park has been developed adjacent to it.<br />

The Tri-State Warbird Museum was built in<br />

the park with access to the runway for its<br />

World War II era planes.<br />

HARSHA LAKE &<br />

EAST FORK STATE PARK<br />

In the 1960s the U.S. Corps of Engineers<br />

began a flood control project to dam the<br />

Chapter I ✦ 7


East Fork River. Construction of the $55<br />

million East Fork Dam began in May 1970.<br />

The earth-filled dam is 200 feet high and<br />

1,450 feet wide at the base. A 2,160 acre<br />

lake was formed and named William<br />

Harsha Lake after the retired congressman.<br />

Construction was complete in 1978.<br />

The lake and dam were not built without<br />

controversy. Many citizens were<br />

against the projects. Judge Chris<br />

Rosenhoffer came out strongly against it.<br />

Lawsuits were brought against the Corps<br />

of Engineers declaring the dam was unconstitutional<br />

and the Environmental Impact<br />

Statement was inadequate. Ralph Nader’s<br />

Ohio Environmental Organization investigated<br />

the legality of the dam. In July 1973<br />

a temporary restraining order was issued<br />

against the Corps of Engineers and the<br />

project shut down. The order was lifted in<br />

August.<br />

The State of Ohio developed a 10,500-<br />

acre park surrounding the lake which<br />

offers camping, picnicking, swimming,<br />

boating and 85 miles of trails. The park is<br />

named East Fork State Park. At one time a<br />

lodge and golf course were proposed for<br />

the park, but because of lack of funding<br />

they were never built. For years after the<br />

construction of the park, the former citizens<br />

of the Elklick Valley community held<br />

annual reunions at the park.<br />

The park and lake are located in three<br />

townships: Williamsburg (5,245 acres),<br />

Batavia, site of dam (4,995 acres) and Tate<br />

(3,458 acres). Over 100 dwellings were<br />

removed and 160 families relocated from<br />

the park/lake site. Reverend John Collins,<br />

who established the Elk Lick settlement<br />

and built his homestead there (1803) ,<br />

and his son, Charles Collins’, mansion<br />

(1863) were removed. Attempts were<br />

made to save the former sea captain<br />

Andrew Pinkham’s farm (1824) and maple<br />

syrup operation near Bantam. Even<br />

though the farm was placed on the<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places in<br />

1973, it was destroyed. The Slade house<br />

(1866) was moved to Heritage Village<br />

Museum in Sharon Woods Park (Hamilton<br />

<strong>County</strong>). The 1869 gold mines near Elk<br />

❖ Harsha Lake control tower has two sizes of hydraulic gates to draw water from the bottom of the lake. The larger<br />

gates, 5 feet by 14 feet, are used for large water releases and the smaller bypass gates, 18 inches by 27 inches, are for<br />

smaller releases.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Water Intake Tower. Water is drawn from the lake, treated and distributed to residences of the<br />

county for drinking water and other uses.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Lick and Twin Bridges disappeared under<br />

the lake (as did the bridges). The Old<br />

Bethel Church, established by Reverend<br />

Collins, and the adjacent cemetery, where<br />

President Grant’s maternal grandparents<br />

are buried, and the Elk Lick mound were<br />

saved and are part of the park.<br />

Today the park draws thousands of<br />

people from the tri-state area and across<br />

the nation. It is one of the most popular<br />

parks in the state.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> installed a 172-feet<br />

high water intake tower on the north shore<br />

of the lake in 1996. Ten million gallons of<br />

water are drawn from the lake daily and<br />

pumped to a water treatment plant on<br />

Greenbriar Road. This plant provides drinking<br />

water to a large area of the county.<br />

8 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


CHAPTER II<br />

E ARLY<br />

I NHABITANTS<br />

B Y R ICHARD C RAWORD<br />

PREHISTORIC<br />

NATIVE AMERICANS<br />

The first inhabitants within the present<br />

borders of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> were a people<br />

referred to as Archaics. They arrived from<br />

the north about 5000 B.C. They were<br />

nomadic hunters. A second group to arrive<br />

was the Adena, who lived in the area from<br />

about 1000 B.C. to A.D. 100. They lived in<br />

small, scattered groups and hunted for<br />

meat and gathered plants for food. They<br />

were different from the Archaic people due<br />

to burying their dead in conically shaped<br />

mounds of earth. These mounds usually<br />

contained several burials indicating that<br />

their settlements were at least semipermanent.<br />

Buried with the deceased were<br />

a few tools and adornments.<br />

❖ Edgington Mound, east of Neville on the south side U.S. 52. This Adena burial mound is 133 feet in diameter at<br />

its base. It was placed on the National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places in 1974.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ A Shawnee warrior mannequin by artist Joe “Far<br />

Raven” Hammock. The warrior is dressed in authentic<br />

Native American clothing. Now on display at the<br />

Harmony Hill Association Museum, Williamsburg.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GRASSY RUN HISTORICAL ARTS COMMITTEE.<br />

The next culture in the county was the<br />

Hopewell, who lived here from<br />

approximately 150 B.C. to A.D. 500.<br />

Hopewell burial mounds were smaller<br />

and contained more elaborate items.<br />

The Adena and Hopewell disappeared<br />

for several possible reasons, including: a<br />

long period of drought, climate changes,<br />

war, or disease. Their cultures may not<br />

have been lost at all, just absorbed by the<br />

Eastern Woodland people (Shawnee,<br />

Miami, Wyandot, Delaware and Mingo).<br />

A survey made in the early 1900s<br />

identified in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> one cemetery,<br />

47 mounds, 11 enclosures, three village sites<br />

and eight burial sites. An extensive survey<br />

by Dr. Kent Vickey of the University of<br />

Cincinnati in 1970 revealed 215 possible<br />

sites in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. He identified 60<br />

along the Ohio River between Moscow and<br />

Neville. During the 1970s nine Indian sites<br />

were placed on the National Register of<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> Places: Bullskin Creek, Ferris Site,<br />

Snead Mound, Edgington Mound, Clarke<br />

Farm, Elk Lick Mound, Devanney Site,<br />

Gatch Site, and East Fork Site. The most<br />

prominent site in the county was an<br />

enclosure built of earthen walls located on<br />

the Gatch farm in Milford in the flood plain<br />

below Greenlawn Cemetery. All signs of it<br />

are now gone as a result of farming and the<br />

construction of Expressway Park.<br />

Most of the evidence of the county’s<br />

prehistoric people has been lost because of<br />

construction, farming and vandalism. Three<br />

mounds today are protected. The Edgington<br />

Mound is the largest at 15.75 feet high and<br />

133 feet in diameter at the base. It is on the<br />

south side of US 52 east of Neville. The Elk<br />

Lick Mound is 5 feet high and 50 feet in<br />

diameter and is located in East Fork State<br />

Park. The Snead Mound is 5 feet high and<br />

55 feet in diameter and located on Neville-<br />

Penn Schoolhouse Road. All three are<br />

believed to have been made by the Adena.<br />

In recent years additional sites have<br />

been found during various construction<br />

projects. One was found when the East<br />

Fork Wastewater Treatment Plant was<br />

constructed near Batavia. Road<br />

Chapter II ✦ 9


construction unearthed sites on SR 222<br />

near Batavia and SR 232 near Bethel.<br />

EASTERN WOODLAND<br />

INDIANS<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was home to several<br />

Indian tribes, together categorized as the<br />

Eastern Woodland Indians. The tribes who<br />

spent a considerable amount of time<br />

within the present borders of the county<br />

were Shawnee, Miami, Wyandot,<br />

Delaware, and Mingo.<br />

The area was not used for permanent<br />

villages as the Indians considered it too<br />

swampy and humid for settlement.<br />

Seasonal encampments were used for<br />

hunting, fishing, and gathering of<br />

vegetables and fruits. The encampments<br />

were usually built alongside waterways<br />

that provided a water supply and<br />

transportation by canoes made from local<br />

wood. Other means of transportation were<br />

by horse and by foot.<br />

Their homes, wigwams, were barkcovered<br />

and shaped like a dome. They were<br />

kept warm by fires built in the center of the<br />

structure, with a hole in the roof to allow the<br />

smoke to pass. The people were primarily<br />

farmers and gatherers, but also skilled<br />

hunters. The meat of the animals was used<br />

for food and the skin used for clothing,<br />

moccasins and home building. The animals<br />

typically hunted were deer, rabbit, bear, and<br />

buffalo. Buffalo were found in the county<br />

into the 1700s. Meat was either roasted or<br />

boiled in clay pottery or bark containers.<br />

While the men were responsible for the<br />

hunting, the women were responsible for<br />

farming and gathering the fruits and<br />

vegetables. The most common vegetables<br />

grown were known as “the Three Sisters”—<br />

corn, beans, and squash.<br />

The largest encampment was near Grassy<br />

Run Creek in Jackson Township, south of<br />

Marathon. It was the site of the largest battle<br />

between Indians and settlers to occur in the<br />

county (1792). It was also the site of the last<br />

Indian village in the county, 43 Wyandots<br />

who lived in 9 wigwams. They moved west<br />

in 1811. Their white neighbors described<br />

❖ A map of the townships of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

MAP BY JOHN HILL.<br />

them as peaceful and good farmers and<br />

business people.<br />

There were other seasonal encampments<br />

throughout the county, such as at Bethel,<br />

Milford and Point Pleasant. One was near<br />

Woodville (Wayne Township). It was the site<br />

of the last known skirmish between the<br />

Indians and white men in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

(1793). The whites were a flanking party of<br />

General Anthony Wayne’s army.<br />

10 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


CHAPTER III<br />

T OWNSHIPS<br />

& VILLAGES<br />

BATAVIA TOWNSHIP<br />

By Ron Hill, <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Batavia Township is located near the<br />

center of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. To the west<br />

lies Union Township, to the south Pierce<br />

and Monroe Townships, to the east<br />

Williamsburg Township and the north<br />

Stonelick and Jackson Townships. State<br />

Route 32 travels east-west through the<br />

central part of the township, passing<br />

through the edge of the village of Batavia.<br />

SR 125 also goes east-west and serves as<br />

the dividing line between Pierce and<br />

Batavia Townships. SR 132 and SR 222<br />

travel north-south. They both pass<br />

through the village of Batavia.<br />

The Cincinnati, Georgetown and<br />

Portsmouth Railroad (CG&P) crossed the<br />

township (1876-1936). The CG&P<br />

constructed a 10-acre lake near Olive<br />

Branch to provide cooling water for the<br />

power plant that provided electricity for<br />

the railroad and towns along the railroad<br />

right of way. Highland Park was built by<br />

the lake providing boating, swimming,<br />

picnic grounds and a pavilion (1901-<br />

1922). In 1928 the Cincinnati Rotary Club<br />

bought the property and began operating a<br />

camp, Camp Allyn, for handicapped<br />

children (that continues to this day). This<br />

same site earlier was the location of the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Fair (1857-1863) and<br />

Civil War Camps Lucas and Scott (1861).<br />

❖ Mt. Holly at the intersection of Batavia Pike (SR<br />

132) and SR 125, c. the 1930s.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The Sheriff’s House and Jail in Batavia. It was<br />

located on Main Street near Third Street. The jail was<br />

located to the rear. It was torn down in 1937.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The Cincinnati & Eastern Railway<br />

passed through the township on its<br />

way to Portsmouth, reaching Batavia in<br />

1876. This railroad became a part of<br />

the Norfolk & Western in 1901 and<br />

later the Norfolk & Southern (NS).<br />

The line enters the township in the<br />

northwest corner, runs through the<br />

village of Batavia, and passes through the<br />

remainder of the township roughly<br />

parallel to Old SR 32. The line was called<br />

the Peavine. In 2003 the NS closed the<br />

Peavine to Portsmouth, but service still<br />

continues to Winchester.<br />

Batavia and Amelia (lies in both<br />

Batavia and Pierce Townships) are the<br />

only incorporated villages. At one time<br />

there were several small communities,<br />

such as Olive Branch, Hamlet, Mt. Holly,<br />

Elklick, and Centerville, which consisted<br />

of a store or two and several dwellings.<br />

The township’s primary economy had<br />

been agriculture with a few small<br />

industries until the mid-1900s. The<br />

advent of new and better highways has<br />

led to both population and industrial<br />

growth. The population went from<br />

10,388 in 1980 to over 20,000 in 2007.<br />

Major industries in 2007 were Ford<br />

Motor Company (1,700 employeesclosed<br />

2008), the Midland Company<br />

(insurance, 1,000 employees), Mercy<br />

Hospital (600 employees), American<br />

Micro Products (250 employees), and<br />

Sporty’s (catalog sales, 150 employees).<br />

Within the township are Mercy<br />

Hospital (1973), <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Airport (1968), University of Cincinnati<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> College (1972), Harsha Lake<br />

and East Fork State Park (1978), and<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s Sycamore Park. The<br />

county Infirmary (1883) was located just<br />

north of the village on SR 222. This<br />

structure served the welfare of the citizens<br />

for over a hundred years. In 2002 it was<br />

removed and the new municipal court<br />

was constructed on the site. Also on the<br />

former Infirmary land are the county jail,<br />

sheriff’s office, and animal shelter.<br />

From the 1800s until 1930s there were<br />

14 one-room schoolhouses in the<br />

township. Many of these still exist and are<br />

used as private residences. In 2000 a<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Marker<br />

❖ The Batavia Roller Mill on Old South Riverside<br />

Drive may have been the oldest mill site in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. Millwright Peter Wilson selected the site in 1795.<br />

It was first used by George Ely to operate a sawmill. In<br />

1816 Captain Charles Moore purchased the property. In<br />

1840 he and his sons built a water-powered gristmill to<br />

grind wheat and corn. The mill was eventually steam<br />

powered, then gas, and operated until 1961. The building<br />

collapsed with age and was demolished in 1990. The<br />

mill’s stone foundation still remains.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 11


❖ <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Infirmary, SR 222. It was built 1883 and removed in 2002 to make room for the new Municipal<br />

Courthouse. For over one hundred years the Infirmary served the sick, homeless, elderly and orphans of the county.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

was placed at the Lucy Run School. The<br />

Whitaker Schoolhouse was used as the<br />

Batavia Township Hall from 1967 to<br />

1985. A new hall was built on Old SR 32<br />

near Afton. This structure is now used as<br />

the township maintenance facility. In<br />

2006 a community center was<br />

constructed on Clough Pike that includes<br />

the township office and park land.<br />

Two school systems now serve the<br />

township: Batavia Local and West<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>. Batavia Local built a new high<br />

school off Old SR 32 in 2007. The middle<br />

school and elementary school remain in<br />

the village. West <strong>Clermont</strong>’s Amelia High<br />

School and Middle School (1956) are<br />

located on Clough Pike near the old<br />

hamlet of Centerville.<br />

❖ Batavia Sesquicentennial 1964. Queen candidates<br />

(from left to right): Sue Hamilton, Shirley Singleton,<br />

Pam Bitzer, Susan Lewis, and Sandy Rapp.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

BATAVIA VILLAGE<br />

By Hugh L. Nichols II and John Dial<br />

The earliest settler was Ezekiel<br />

Dimmitt, who came to the bottom lands<br />

of the East Fork River in 1796. In the fall<br />

of 1797 he purchased the land, built a<br />

cabin and he and his wife moved there. In<br />

1800 James Hulick purchased two<br />

hundred acres of land. Both Dimmitt<br />

and Hulick have descendants still living<br />

in Batavia.<br />

The plat of the village of Batavia was<br />

recorded on October 24, 1814, by George<br />

Ely and David C. Bryan. The village was<br />

incorporated on February 10, 1842.<br />

The Methodist Episcopal Church was<br />

established in Batavia in 1815 and a stone<br />

church was built in 1817 at the corner of<br />

Wood Street and Riverside Drive. The<br />

building was sold in 1889 after a new<br />

church was built. The old stone church was<br />

used by the Ohio National Guard and<br />

schools for athletic events and meetings. It<br />

was torn down in 1912 and a house was<br />

built on the property.<br />

The Presbyterian Church was established<br />

in 1829. George Beecher was the<br />

pastor from 1833 to 1837. His brother,<br />

Henry Ward Beecher, and his sister,<br />

Harriet Beecher Stowe (the author of Uncle<br />

Tom’s Cabin) were frequent visitors during<br />

this time.<br />

The original county seat of <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> was Williamsburg. After 1817 a<br />

struggle between Williamsburg, New<br />

Richmond and Batavia, sometimes bitter,<br />

occurred over the siting of the county seat.<br />

The matter was not finally settled until<br />

February 21, 1824, when the state legislature<br />

established it in Batavia. Ezekiel Dimmitt<br />

built the first courthouse, which was in use<br />

until 1936. <strong>County</strong> government has been a<br />

major employer in the village ever since.<br />

The Underground Railroad was active<br />

in Batavia. One of the stations is reported<br />

to have been the Dennison house on<br />

Wood Street. A small shed behind the<br />

house was said to have been used to house<br />

the slaves. Since harboring runaway slaves<br />

was illegal, there are few written records of<br />

these activities.<br />

During the Civil War, in July 1863, part<br />

of Morgan’s raiders passed through the village.<br />

Many residents lost some of their<br />

belongings to the Confederate soldiers.<br />

Much excitement occurred in Batavia in<br />

1863 when gold was discovered nearby.<br />

Many people went searching for the mother<br />

lode and several gold mining companies<br />

were formed. The excitement was short<br />

lived. It was determined that there was no<br />

mother lode. The gold had been brought<br />

to the area from Canada by glaciers and<br />

deposited in terminal moraines during the<br />

ice age twenty-thousand years earlier.<br />

During the Spanish-American War,<br />

Henry Clark Corbin (1842-1909), a resident<br />

of Batavia, was the top general in the<br />

United States Army. When the National<br />

Guard Armory was built in Batavia in<br />

1912, a plaque honoring Corbin was<br />

placed in the lobby of the building where<br />

it can be found to this day.<br />

A longtime resident of Batavia, Hugh L.<br />

Nichols (1865-1942), was lieutenant<br />

governor of Ohio (1911-1913) and chief<br />

justice of the Ohio Supreme Court<br />

(1913-1920) while James M. Cox was<br />

governor. Nichols actively supported Cox<br />

for president (Franklin D. Roosevelt for<br />

vice president) in 1920. They lost to<br />

Warren Harding.<br />

During the Depression in the 1930s,<br />

Batavia received two new buildings. The<br />

original courthouse on Main Street was<br />

12 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ The <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Courthouse. The current<br />

courthouse replaced the former courthouse in 1936 and<br />

was erected on the site of its predecessor at a cost of<br />

$10,000. It was built in the Greek-inspired 1930s<br />

utilitarian style, standing two stories tall on top of a<br />

partially exposed basement. The building was doubled in<br />

size in 1998. The new portion was built adjoining the<br />

original structure where the previous jail had stood.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

torn down and a new one was built in the<br />

same location. An addition to the Batavia<br />

school on Broadway was built. Both<br />

buildings are still in use.<br />

The 1951 murder trial of Dovie Dean,<br />

a resident of Owensville, received<br />

national attention. She was convicted of<br />

murdering her husband, Hawkins Dean,<br />

by giving him rat poison. She was<br />

convicted and became the first woman in<br />

Ohio to be electrocuted.<br />

A major industry in the village was the<br />

Batavia Brickyard (1890s-1920s). It was<br />

located on Foundry Avenue near the site<br />

of the Norfolk & Southern depot. Upriver<br />

from there on Riverside Drive was the<br />

Batavia Roller Mill. Water from the East<br />

Fork River was diverted to the mill to<br />

turn the wheel that ground the grain.<br />

The county’s population growth since<br />

WWII has affected the village of Batavia,<br />

the county seat. At one time all of the<br />

county’s offices, including the jail, were<br />

located on Main Street. Due to the location<br />

of the village in a narrow valley along the<br />

East Fork of the Little Miami River, there<br />

was no room in the village for the<br />

expanding county government. The jail,<br />

sheriff’s office and municipal court moved<br />

to the old Infirmary property on SR 222.<br />

Other offices moved to Bauer Road east of<br />

the village. The Administration Building<br />

was built at the corner of Main Street and<br />

Riverside Drive for the commissioners’,<br />

auditor’s, recorder’s and treasurer’s offices.<br />

The Appalachian Highway (SR 32),<br />

which bypasses the village, and the shopping<br />

complexes at Eastgate have significantly<br />

impacted the village. Most of the<br />

small businesses, such as drug, hardware,<br />

grocery and variety stores have been forced<br />

to close.<br />

FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP<br />

By Jim Shafer,<br />

Franklin Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Franklin Township occupies the southeast<br />

corner of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, its southern<br />

bounds being washed by the Ohio<br />

River. On the east is Brown <strong>County</strong>, on the<br />

north is Tate Township and on the west is<br />

Washington Township. It is almost rectangular<br />

in shape, about eight miles in length,<br />

and covers 41.3 square miles of area. The<br />

township was named in honor of<br />

Benjamin Franklin. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s<br />

first surveying party, led by John<br />

O’Bannon, landed at the mouth of<br />

Bullskin Creek along the Ohio River at<br />

Rural (US Route 52 & SR 133) in Franklin<br />

Township on November 11, 1787. The<br />

township was established May 5, 1818.<br />

General George Washington purchased<br />

Revolutionary War military bounty warrants<br />

for four large tracts of land in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> aggregating 3,100 acres,<br />

for which he had four separate surveys<br />

made. The first of these was made<br />

December 28, 1787, for 839 acres, and<br />

was located in Franklin Township on what<br />

is now State Route 133 just south of the<br />

village of Felicity. Washington never visited<br />

his Ohio properties or completed the<br />

process to obtain these lands.<br />

The area was previously inhabited by the<br />

Shawnee Indians. One well-known Shawnee<br />

Indian chief (a female, though it was unusual<br />

for a woman to be chief), “Sweet Lips,” was<br />

murdered by her tribe for befriending and<br />

falling in love with a white man by the name<br />

of Hastings. After his capture by her tribe she<br />

❖ The National Guard Armory, Batavia was in use<br />

from 1912 to 1999. At one time it was the center of<br />

social life in Batavia. Dances, and basketball games<br />

were held here in addition to the Guard activities. It was<br />

from here that soldiers marched to the train depot to<br />

leave for service during WWI and WWII. After the<br />

Guard vacated the building in 1999, it ultimately<br />

became an office building.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

helped him escape, promising some of the<br />

Indian land to him if he would return to her.<br />

The Bullskin Trail (now SR 133) was the<br />

primary route through the township and<br />

north through <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, the trail’s<br />

northern terminus being Fort Detroit (present<br />

Detroit, Michigan). This route was used<br />

by Native Americans and, as early as the<br />

1780s, by frontiersmen recovering stolen<br />

horses, hunting, and scouting throughout<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, among them Daniel<br />

Boone and Simon Kenton. Both men used<br />

this trail to escape from the Shawnee after<br />

they had been captured—Boone in June<br />

1778 and Kenton in September 1778. It<br />

was also an escape route on the<br />

Underground Railroad from Kentucky into<br />

Ohio. Today SR 133 is still a major northsouth<br />

corridor for <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and<br />

the communities in Franklin Township.<br />

The first white settler to the area was a<br />

man by the name of Logston. He kept a<br />

ferry at the mouth of Bullskin Creek as<br />

early as 1795 for crossing the Ohio River<br />

into Kentucky. He is believed to be the<br />

first settler between Marietta and<br />

Columbus, Ohio.<br />

Most early residents arrived to the area<br />

by boat. The most important industry of<br />

the township was tobacco. The soil produced<br />

a fine leaf, making it the most profitable<br />

product of the farmers. The first<br />

Chapter III ✦ 13


❖ The pictured underground room with its stone walls and arched ceiling was used by the Universal Spiritualistic<br />

community in Utopia as a meeting room and church. A two-story house once stood above it. The room exists to<br />

this day.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

tobacco warehouse was erected at Rural<br />

in 1849. Other businesses in the township<br />

consisted of gristmills, flour mills<br />

and tanneries, with farming and agriculture<br />

continuing to be popular today.<br />

There are seven hamlets located in<br />

Franklin Township. The oldest, Chilo,<br />

along the Ohio River, was laid out May 1,<br />

1816. Felicity (April 1817) is the largest and<br />

located in the center of the township. Rural<br />

(1845) is in the center of the southern portion<br />

along the Ohio River at the mouth of<br />

Bullskin Creek. Utopia (August 1847) is<br />

located along the River in the southeast portion<br />

near the Brown <strong>County</strong> line. Mt. Olive,<br />

to the north on the Franklin-Tate Township<br />

line was established June 1848. Cedron<br />

(January 1851) is in the southeast, bordering<br />

the Brown <strong>County</strong> line. Smith Landing<br />

(from 1844-1870) was just upriver from<br />

Rural. Mt. Olive, Utopia, and Smith<br />

Landing were unincorporated.<br />

Located on US 52, which runs east to<br />

west along the Ohio River in the southern<br />

part of the township, and just west of the<br />

village of Chilo, is the burial site of a sixteen-year-old<br />

girl, Diana Whitney. The<br />

legend is that she was a member of a<br />

wagon-train traveling through Ohio.<br />

To the east, the village of Utopia was<br />

from 1844-46 the location of the Fourierite<br />

Association, an experiment in economically-based<br />

communal living. It was followed<br />

by a Spiritualist community, boasting of<br />

nearly 100 followers. Their association was<br />

based on the principles of both religion and<br />

business engaged in for the common good.<br />

During a disastrous flood, on the night of<br />

December 12, 1847, seventeen members,<br />

including one of the association leaders,<br />

drowned. The enterprise was allowed to<br />

decline and members scattered to other<br />

points in the community. Several stayed in<br />

the area and founded a town on Utopian<br />

principles (hence the name).<br />

It is certain that the strong minded people<br />

who formed the township placed a<br />

high value on education. At an early period<br />

little school cabins began to appear. All<br />

were built by subscription and the teachers<br />

were paid the same way for their services<br />

and “boarded ‘round” with their patrons.<br />

Beginning in the 1840s, school conditions<br />

were gradually changed when the state<br />

began giving aid from an act known as the<br />

“Akron Law” which provided for “Union<br />

❖ Diana Whitney’s grave on US 52 near Chilo. The<br />

inscription on a plaque beside the tombstone reads:<br />

“There rests here in the quiet beauty of the valley of the<br />

Ohio, the dust of a young girl. On July 23, 1823, a<br />

wagon train creaking toward the west came to halt close<br />

by. When the train moved forward, one of its party had<br />

been left along the trail, a hostage against time, Diana<br />

Whitney. In a later summer this tablet was placed here<br />

on her grave to remind those who pause to read of a<br />

humble sacrifice woven into our country’s greatness.” To<br />

this day, flowers can be found on her grave.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Schools,” the basis for today’s school systems.<br />

In the 1900s the township had as<br />

many as ten district schools.<br />

Today the township is primarily rural.<br />

There are no major industries. A large percentage<br />

of the population works outside the<br />

township. Franklin Township is home to<br />

small towns, small farms and rural living.<br />

FELICITY<br />

By Jim Shafer,<br />

Franklin Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

The village of Felicity is on the Bryan<br />

and Carter surveys. They were surveyed<br />

December 25, 1787, by John O’Bannon<br />

and his assistants, Cpt. Morgan Bryan and<br />

Major Nicholas Carter, both soldiers of<br />

the Continental line. The two surveys<br />

embraced six hundred acres of choice<br />

14 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


land in Franklin Township. The village is<br />

located in the southeastern part of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> about 40 miles east<br />

of Cincinnati on State Routes 222, 756,<br />

and 133. It is just nine miles north of<br />

the Ohio River which offers some<br />

beautiful scenic views, especially in the<br />

fall of the year.<br />

On October 17, 1806, Thomas Fee<br />

purchased two hundred acres from Cpt.<br />

Bryan. In September of that year William<br />

Fee, Thomas’ brother, purchased four<br />

hundred acres from the Carter survey, a<br />

part of which he conveyed to his business<br />

partner Peter Hastings. In 1818 William<br />

Fee became owner of his brother’s two<br />

hundred acres which made him one of<br />

the largest land owners in Franklin<br />

Township at the time.<br />

On part of this extensive tract of land<br />

the village of Felicity was laid out in April<br />

1817 by William Fee and Peter Hastings<br />

with 72 lots encompassing 22 1/2 acres<br />

with six streets running with the points of<br />

the compass. Several additions were made<br />

during the next thirty years on all sides of<br />

the original plat, bringing the village to its<br />

present size and somewhat irregular<br />

shape. As was the manner of the day,<br />

the community was originally known<br />

as Feestown. When the town was<br />

incorporated by an act of the legislature<br />

passed March 14, 1836, William Fee<br />

gave his daughter Margaret the privilege<br />

of naming the town. She chose Felicity<br />

(a place of peace and happiness) for<br />

its name.<br />

William Fee built a cabin on the corner<br />

of Main and Market Streets, with Peter<br />

Hastings’ cabin not far away on Main<br />

Street. In 1818 a public sale of lots was<br />

conducted in front of William Fee’s cabin.<br />

The first choice lot sold was to John<br />

McGraw for $60.00. Mr. McGraw selected<br />

the lot on the southwest corner of Market<br />

Street (Market & Walnut) where he built<br />

the following year a double-log house for<br />

tavern purposes. This was the first public<br />

house and was kept by him until 1821. In<br />

the upper rooms of this building the<br />

Masons held their first meetings. The<br />

❖ The first school bell (1896) used in Felicity<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Masonic Fraternity was the first to<br />

institute a lodge in the village and<br />

continues at this location today. Other<br />

lots sold that day were to Mathew Day<br />

and Joseph Parrish.<br />

Felicity was also a major contributor to<br />

the Union Army in the Civil War, with<br />

many local men joining the 59th Ohio<br />

Volunteer Infantry. Citizens have served<br />

in all the past wars with pride and honor<br />

to include Iraq and Afghanistan. Many of<br />

these veterans’ names have been<br />

preserved for history, engraved on bricks<br />

in South Park, the village’s park. This<br />

property was donated to the village by<br />

Mr. and Mrs. Wilmer P. South in 1923.<br />

The increase of population was steady,<br />

but not remarkable, and generally with an<br />

excellent class of citizens. By 1837 there<br />

were merchants, hatters, shoemakers,<br />

cabinet makers, carders, tailors, chair<br />

makers, blacksmiths, furniture makers,<br />

doctors and lawyers, as well as several<br />

hotels. The manufacturing of furniture<br />

was for many years the principal industry<br />

of the village. By the 1900s the village<br />

boasted of being the second largest village<br />

in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, with over twelve<br />

hundred residents (a third of whom were<br />

African Americans).<br />

The first Post Office was established in<br />

1823. In 1879 the Felicity Library and<br />

Reading Room Association was organized.<br />

And the village newspaper, The Felicity<br />

Times, was being published.<br />

Felicity was often a stop for runaway<br />

slaves and an important part of the<br />

Underground Railroad system in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The village’s<br />

abolitionists helped many to escape to<br />

freedom. Some of the early settlers<br />

were also conductors, such as the Fees,<br />

Dr. Gipson and William Sleet. Today<br />

the village has six sites listed on the<br />

Network to Freedom (two that are listed<br />

on the National Register of the<br />

Underground Railroad).<br />

Fraternal organizations flourished in<br />

Felicity, such as the K of P (Knights of<br />

Phythias), Odd Fellows, Grange, Masons,<br />

G.A.R. (Grand Army of the Republic),<br />

Lions Club and the Woman’s Temperance<br />

Society. All have discontinued in the<br />

village, except for the Masons which are<br />

still active today. They are at the original<br />

location of their first meetings in the<br />

building they built on that site on October<br />

31, 1898.<br />

Religious societies began to hold<br />

meetings in 1808 and churches sprang up<br />

in the village. In 1865 some of these were<br />

the Christian Church, Felicity Methodist<br />

Episcopal, Presbyterian (the first church<br />

in the village), Felicity Wesleyan<br />

Methodist, African Methodist, Zion<br />

Baptist (African American).<br />

By 1812 a school building was built in<br />

the south end of the village. In 1850 there<br />

was also a school for the African-<br />

American children established. It still<br />

stands, across from the high school on<br />

Market & Prather Rd. It was taught by<br />

Mr. Charles McGraw, a white teacher who<br />

received a wage higher than most teachers<br />

of the time. The desire for more advanced<br />

instruction was partially addressed in<br />

1845 by the Felicity Young Ladies<br />

Seminary, a select school Mrs. Fletcher<br />

taught. Early schools were built by<br />

subscription and the teachers were paid<br />

in the same manner. In 1836 William Fee<br />

gave a plot of land to the village for school<br />

district No.10, which remains the site of<br />

the present-day school. The early school<br />

house on this plot of land from Mr. Fee<br />

was a two story structure. The first floor<br />

contained four rooms used by the<br />

elementary classes. The high school was<br />

on the upper floor and was a three year<br />

course. Today the Felicity-Franklin<br />

School still occupies this site with<br />

Chapter III ✦ 15


new, modern elementary, middle and<br />

high schools.<br />

The use of the Bullskin Trail (State<br />

Route 133, Market Street), as today, was<br />

the main route to ship and to receive<br />

freight and goods from the northern parts<br />

of the county, and south to the steamboats<br />

on the Ohio River. A freight wagon made<br />

trips four times a day to the village of<br />

Chilo, (seven miles south on the Ohio) to<br />

meet the steamboats traveling up and<br />

down the river to and from Cincinnati. A<br />

ferry also crossed the Ohio River to<br />

Bradford, Kentucky, where you could<br />

board the Chesapeake & Ohio. The<br />

freight wagon trips from Felicity to Chilo<br />

took about forty minutes each way. In<br />

1906 the branch line of the Cincinnati,<br />

Georgetown & Portsmouth Railroad<br />

(Felicity-Bethel Branch of CG&P) was<br />

established. This line ran from the<br />

neighboring town of Bethel (nine miles to<br />

the north) and terminated at Felicity.<br />

It was first a narrow gauge railroad<br />

and was converted to a standard electric<br />

interurban carrying both passengers<br />

and freight until it discontinued service<br />

in 1933.<br />

Lt. Col. Grandville Fambes, commander<br />

of the 59th OVI, a teacher, once<br />

owned the land that was used for Ohio<br />

State University’s north campus. Mr. Guy<br />

T. Heverling, a Democrat, served in the<br />

Spanish-American War, was U.S.<br />

Representative for Kansas’ 5th district in<br />

1913, the Mayor of Salina Kansas in 1926<br />

and a Federal Judge in 1943. Mr. John<br />

Hayden was a Republican delegate to the<br />

National Convention from Ohio in 1944.<br />

John Sargeant, one of two <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> representatives to the Ohio<br />

Constitutional Convention in 1826. Artus<br />

Van Briggle, potter, painter, and artist,<br />

worked for Rookwood Pottery in<br />

Cincinnati. He went on to found the Van<br />

Briggle Pottery and Tile Company in<br />

Colorado Springs, Colorado. His work<br />

today is very collectible. Most of these<br />

residents’ homes still exist in Felicity.<br />

Felicity is rich in its history. It is a<br />

moderately busy, ambitious, small town,<br />

❖ South Park was donated to the village of Felicity by Mr. and Mrs. W. South in 1923. This picture is from 1982.<br />

The park is still in use.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

not as big as it was in its best days, but<br />

quietly gaining ground. From its<br />

establishment as Feestown in 1817,<br />

Felicity was a bustling commercial center,<br />

being at the natural center of the rich<br />

farming plateau on which it sits. Felicity<br />

watched as the population dwindled,<br />

industry leaving along with much of<br />

the commerce.<br />

GOSHEN TOWNSHIP<br />

By James L. Koch,<br />

Goshen Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Goshen Township is the northernmost<br />

township, occupying much of the<br />

northern border adjacent to Warren<br />

<strong>County</strong>. In 1819 Goshen Township was<br />

created from a portion of neighboring<br />

Miami Township, three years after the<br />

town of Goshen (named for Goshen, New<br />

York) was laid out by land speculators<br />

Winans and Cooper. The area was<br />

wet, flat and heavily timbered and<br />

after clearing, proved to be valuable<br />

agricultural land.<br />

The first settler in Goshen Township<br />

arrived in 1798. Jacob Myers’ first act was<br />

to plant potatoes, even before he built a<br />

cabin. He, and the families who followed,<br />

were prosperous farmers who sold produce<br />

to nearby cities. Farming continued<br />

to be the main occupation in the township.<br />

Jacob supplemented his income at<br />

the Abraham Miller farm in nearby<br />

Loveland, foreshadowing a post-World<br />

War II trend in Goshen—commuting to<br />

work in other communities.<br />

In the 1800s all the businesses necessary<br />

to sustain a farming community<br />

flourished in Goshen, including mills<br />

(originally powered by O’Bannon Creek<br />

and later by steam, oil or horses), blacksmiths<br />

and a tannery. General stores<br />

arrived as early as 1817, and the first<br />

pharmacy in 1866. The 1880 <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> history book declared that<br />

“Goshen is in the fullest sense an agricultural<br />

township.”<br />

U.S. Census records show that<br />

Goshen’s population declined by nearly<br />

half between 1880 and 1910 (1,908 to<br />

1,187). After World War II, Goshen began<br />

to grow significantly (1,277 in 1930 to<br />

13,663 in 2000).<br />

Goshen is also the name of the<br />

unincorporated village in the township,<br />

located in the center of the township, at<br />

16 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ The Franklin Michaels dairy farm on SR 28 and Snider Road over a hundred years ago. The brick building had<br />

then been used as a tavern for decades.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GOSHEN TOWNSHIP HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Goshen Road Covered Bridge crossed O’Bannon Creek. It was built in 1868 and removed in 1953. This<br />

photograph was taken in 1950.<br />

COURTESY OF BERNICE STOUT /SUSAN STOUT BARNETT.<br />

the intersection of State Routes 28<br />

and 132.<br />

Adeline Cornwell moved to Goshen as<br />

a child in 1928. Her impression was of a<br />

place where everyone knew each other,<br />

and most were involved in farming.<br />

Simple, fun activities such as baseball and<br />

music were conducted in the neighborhood<br />

and “walking was a way of life.”<br />

“Baby boomers” growing up in Goshen<br />

in the 1960s had a different impression.<br />

For many of them, farming was<br />

peripheral. Friends lived in recently built,<br />

affordable suburban homes, while dads<br />

worked in Hamilton <strong>County</strong>. “Places to<br />

go” were in Milford or beyond.<br />

A pivotal event in Goshen was the<br />

rerouting of SR 28 in 1961, bypassing<br />

old downtown Goshen and causing<br />

Main Street to simultaneously wither<br />

and be preserved. The highway had<br />

always been well-traveled, as a link<br />

between Cincinnati and Wilmington. It<br />

was upgraded to gravel and certified in<br />

the state highway system in 1926. New<br />

businesses sprang up along the rerouted<br />

highway, including a cluster of automobile<br />

service stations near SR 48. The Hi-<br />

Way 28 Drive-In movie theater opened<br />

in 1961. In the 1970s Dick Flynn pioneered<br />

a business district in the area of<br />

new 28 and the south leg of SR 132<br />

with his Land-of-Goshen supermarket.<br />

Development later spread eastward to the<br />

intersection with Goshen Road.<br />

Goshen has generally been a modest<br />

community in terms of housing and<br />

income. An absence of zoning regulations<br />

precipitated the development in 1968 of<br />

mobile home communities, suddenly<br />

adding hundreds of homes to the<br />

township and swelling the school<br />

population. While there are still a<br />

number of well-built pre-Civil War<br />

farmhouses, there is a distinct absence of<br />

Victorian architecture.<br />

Public utilities arrived in Goshen at<br />

long intervals. By 1915 telephones and<br />

electrical service were available. Water<br />

service arrived in 1961 for the northwest<br />

and in 1976 for the northeast portions.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 17


❖ John Randall came to Goshen from New York in 1814. The house was built in 1840 and his descendants lived in<br />

it until 1922. The home still stands on Woodville Pike.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GOSHEN TOWNSHIP HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Natural gas was provided to homes along<br />

SR 28 in 1963. Part of Goshen Township<br />

acquired sanitary sewers when the<br />

O’Bannon Creek Wastewater Plant began<br />

operations in 1984. Cable television<br />

arrived in 1987.<br />

The volunteer fire department was<br />

formally founded and funded by the<br />

township in 1948. The first ambulance<br />

service began in 1971. Township<br />

government is under the jurisdiction of<br />

three trustees.<br />

There are 21 active churches in<br />

Goshen Township, 9 of which are Baptist.<br />

The earliest reported church was a log<br />

structure used by the Methodists in 1811,<br />

on John Irwin’s property. The Goshen<br />

United Methodist Church is descended<br />

from that congregation, and thus<br />

constitutes the longest continuous<br />

worship community in Goshen. The<br />

oldest surviving church building in the<br />

township, at 1869 Mulberry Street, was<br />

built by the Methodists and is now home<br />

to the Goshen Church of the Nazarene.<br />

Defunct churches in Goshen include<br />

Presbyterians, Quakers, German Brethren<br />

and Universalists, whose building still<br />

stands at 6833 Linton Road.<br />

Goshen has its share of local heroes<br />

and noteworthies. Sam Leever, nicknamed<br />

“the Goshen Schoolmaster,”<br />

pitched for the Pittsburgh Pirates from<br />

1898 until 1910. Sam pitched in the very<br />

first World Series and his record of 194<br />

wins and 100 losses is better than most of<br />

the pitchers in the Hall of Fame, although<br />

he was never voted into it. He was also a<br />

champion trap shooter.<br />

Larry Goetz, who married into<br />

Goshen, was a Major League Baseball<br />

umpire from 1936-57. He appears as the<br />

leftmost figure in the famous<br />

NormanRockwell painting ‘The Bottom of<br />

the Sixth.” He is buried in the Goshen<br />

Cemetery, near Sam Leever.<br />

John Voll piloted a P-51 fighter plane<br />

and was honored with the title Flying Ace<br />

in World War II. His official record was<br />

21 kills, the best in Ohio. He is listed<br />

among the best aces of all time. Colonel<br />

Voll became a well-respected base<br />

commander and retired from the military<br />

in 1974.<br />

In May 1973 what was then the smallest<br />

horse in the world, the 18.5 inch high<br />

‘Mini-Mustang,’ was born on the Carman<br />

farm on Shiloh Road in Goshen. It<br />

attracted a number of famous visitors,<br />

including Elvis Presley, whose limousine<br />

rolled into the Goshen Creamy Whip on<br />

June 22, 1973, to ask for directions. This<br />

fame was short-lived as smaller horses<br />

have been foaled since.<br />

Neil McElroy, Chairman of the Board at<br />

Procter & Gamble and Secretary of Defense<br />

under President Dwight Eisenhower,<br />

bought the Long Branch Farm in Goshen.<br />

In 1972 he donated it to the Cincinnati<br />

Nature Center as a working educational<br />

facility for school children.<br />

Local artist John Glancy died in 1974,<br />

leaving possibly hundreds of paintings, of<br />

which his landscapes are favored. He also<br />

produced handmade violins and other<br />

stringed instruments and was known to<br />

perform on the fiddle at public places like<br />

the supermarket.<br />

School in Goshen Township began in a<br />

log structure near Myers Cemetery<br />

around 1805. Single room schoolhouses<br />

dotted the township throughout the<br />

1800s, some remaining as private homes.<br />

In 1860, before modern high schools,<br />

residents financed the Goshen Seminary<br />

to foster higher education. The first<br />

graduating class was in 1894. In 1908 a<br />

central school was built near the<br />

southwest corner of Goshen Road and old<br />

Main Street, housing all grades. In the<br />

mid-1950s a new elementary school was<br />

built on part of the Cook family farm.<br />

Ohio “Teacher of the Year,” Kathryn Marr<br />

was principal. In 1959, a new high school<br />

was built nearby, replaced in 2002. Cook<br />

Elementary was added in the 1960s and<br />

the Spaulding building in the 1980s.<br />

Presently (2009) there are four school<br />

buildings in use with a combined<br />

population of 2,600 students.<br />

The twenty-first century finds Goshen<br />

Township anticipating accelerated growth<br />

and change. Residents hope to retain their<br />

sense of community while balancing<br />

development and preservation.<br />

18 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


JACKSON TOWNSHIP<br />

By Ron Hill,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Jackson Township is located on the eastern<br />

edge of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Brown<br />

<strong>County</strong> is to the east, Wayne Township to<br />

the north, Stonelick Township to the west<br />

and Williamsburg Township to the south.<br />

US Route 50 bisects the township east to<br />

west and Route 133 north to south. The<br />

township was formed in 1834 from<br />

Stonelick, Wayne and Williamsburg<br />

Townships. It was the next to the last township<br />

to be established in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

The township was named in honor of<br />

President Andrew Jackson who served<br />

from 1829 to 1837. Early hamlets were<br />

Brownsville (Laredo), Blowville, Monterey<br />

and Marathon. Monterey and Marathon<br />

were located on the Milford & Chillicothe<br />

Pike (now US 50). This was a major highway<br />

of the time and these hamlets saw the<br />

greatest development. Grist and sawmills,<br />

dry good stores, blacksmith shops<br />

and wagon shops could be found there.<br />

They primarily served the local farmers.<br />

Today, both hamlets have a convenience<br />

store, churches and a few residences.<br />

Agriculture has been the major pursuit in<br />

the township. No major industries are<br />

found in the township and many people<br />

work outside the township.<br />

The Bullskin Trail once followed the<br />

route of SR 133 and was an important<br />

trail of animals and Indians traveling from<br />

Michigan and Ohio to the salt licks in<br />

Kentucky. The Ohio legislature made it<br />

the first official state road in Ohio in<br />

1805. It was also a part of the<br />

Underground Railroad. Dickey’s Tavern<br />

was built in 1852 at the intersection of SR<br />

133 and US 50. It was used as a meeting<br />

place for veterans of the Indian Wars, the<br />

War of 1812 and the Mexican War.<br />

An Indian village was located at<br />

the mouth of Grassy Run Creek, where<br />

the battle between Shawnee led by<br />

Tecumseh and frontiersmen led by Simon<br />

Kenton took place (1792). It is believed<br />

that another Indian village was located<br />

❖ In 2000 the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial<br />

Committee placed a historical marker near<br />

the site of the Grassy Run Battlefield.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY<br />

near Marathon.<br />

A sanitary waste facility was begun just<br />

off Aber Road in 1972. In 1979 the<br />

facility was obtained by CECOS<br />

International and converted to a<br />

hazardous waste disposal landfill. From<br />

its first conception there were concerns<br />

raised by citizens over odors, noise, water<br />

pollution and truck traffic. As many as<br />

one hundred trucks a day delivered<br />

hazardous waste to the site from all over<br />

the United States. In 1984 the facility was<br />

closed by the government when it was<br />

discovered CECOS had pumped<br />

contaminated water into Pleasant Run<br />

Creek. In 1990 the court permanently<br />

closed the facility. The consent order<br />

required CECOS to pay fines and develop<br />

and implement a closure plan and<br />

monitor the site.<br />

An early family in the current<br />

❖ The Hartman Log Cabin located US 50 and Aber<br />

Road. Built by John Hartman in 1840. The cabin is now<br />

part of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Park system. The family<br />

cemetery lies behind the cabin.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The Cincinnati and Columbus Traction Company<br />

depot in Monterey, c. 1915.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

township (1801) was the Hartmans. They<br />

settled in the area of US 50 and Aber<br />

Road. In 1840 John Kelby Hartman built<br />

a two-story log cabin. As was the custom<br />

at that time, the logs were subsequently<br />

covered with clapboard. In 1987 CECOS<br />

International bought the house and<br />

discovered the log cabin. They donated<br />

the cabin and 3.5 acres of land to the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Park District. The Park<br />

District removed the clapboard and<br />

renovated the cabin. The cabin was<br />

dedicated as part of the park system<br />

in 1992.<br />

MIAMI TOWNSHIP<br />

By Kathy McCurdy,<br />

Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Miami Township is located in the northwestern-most<br />

corner of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. It<br />

is bordered on the north by Warren <strong>County</strong>,<br />

to the west by Hamilton <strong>County</strong>, to the east<br />

by Goshen and Stonelick Townships and to<br />

the south by Union Township.<br />

Miami Township, one of the five original<br />

townships in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, was<br />

called O’Bannon in honor of the first surveyor<br />

in the county, John O’Bannon. The<br />

township’s name shortly after was<br />

changed to Miami, after the Little Miami<br />

River and the Miami Indians who once<br />

inhabited the area.<br />

Interstate 275 enters the township at<br />

Milford and roughly follows the Little<br />

Miami River before exiting near Branch<br />

Hill. This highway has resulted in major<br />

commercial and residential development<br />

Chapter III ✦ 19


❖ Mulberry Seminary was located at New Salisbury<br />

between Milford and Goshen. Established in 1864 the<br />

school struggled during its twelve years for lack of<br />

funds. The tall Gothic-gabled two-story structure with a<br />

bell tower remained a landmark on the road to Goshen.<br />

It was torn down in 1915 for its bricks and timber.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER MILFORD AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

in the township. US 50 passes east to west<br />

through the township following the East<br />

Fork River. Other major east to west highways<br />

are SR 28 and SR 131.<br />

The township has two cities, Milford<br />

and Loveland. Loveland lies in three<br />

counties: <strong>Clermont</strong>, Hamilton and<br />

Warren. During the early years, the township<br />

was composed of several “neighborhood”<br />

hamlets.<br />

Branch Hill was laid out in 102 lots in<br />

1873 by Col. John Branch for whom the<br />

hamlet was named. It became a station on<br />

the Little Miami Railroad in 1844 and was<br />

the site of a 315-foot span suspension<br />

bridge across the Little Miami River built<br />

around 1860. A gloom surrounded the<br />

hamlet when Cincinnati Enquirer editor G.<br />

M. D. Bless, a resident, was killed on the<br />

tracks. Shortly thereafter, Col. Branch met<br />

a similar fate.<br />

Epworth Heights began as the<br />

Cincinnati Camp Meeting Grounds, an<br />

extensive development of the Methodist<br />

Church. The first meeting took place in<br />

1874 on the 40-acre plot. The grounds<br />

contained two large auditoriums, a tabernacle,<br />

tennis courts, corrals for horseback<br />

riding, a reservoir, canoe launches, gazebos,<br />

and a church. Thousands of people<br />

who attended these meeting were from<br />

Cincinnati and arrived aboard the Little<br />

Miami or Baltimore & Ohio Railroads,<br />

❖ Epworth Heights, near Loveland, c. the 1920s.<br />

The Cincinnati Camp Meeting Association established a<br />

summer resort here in 1885. The campground included<br />

a hotel (pictured above), 150-seat auditorium and 100<br />

summer cottages.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

detraining at Loveland. The first chautauqua<br />

here took place in 1890.<br />

Guinea City existed for a short while at<br />

the intersection of Branch Hill-Guinea<br />

Pike & Paxton-Guinea Road. A post office<br />

existed here from 1886 to 1907. The<br />

largest employer was Felix Motsinger who<br />

owned a cooperage in the mid-1800s.<br />

Miamiville (Miamisville) was laid out<br />

in 1849 by Moses F. Robinson. It originally<br />

consisted of 17 lots but additions were<br />

quickly added. Even before it became a<br />

village, the Buckinghams had built mills<br />

here (1810 and 1830) and a distillery<br />

(1835). The village quickly grew with various<br />

shops, a cooperage, and a canning<br />

plant. The Little Miami Railroad crossed<br />

the Little Miami River from Hamilton<br />

<strong>County</strong> to <strong>Clermont</strong> at this point. In 1863<br />

Confederate General John Hunt Morgan’s<br />

raiders derailed a train near the village,<br />

killing the fireman and capturing 150<br />

Union recruits. It is said the fireman,<br />

Cornelius Conway, still haunts the site.<br />

Buried in Miamiville’s Evergreen<br />

Cemetery is Charles Henry Rich, the man<br />

who dealt the “Dead Man’s Hand” (Aces<br />

and Eights) to Wild Bill Hickok (1876).<br />

Mt. Repose (1828) was founded along<br />

the Chillicothe Turnpike (SR 28). It was<br />

regarded as a resting place or stopover<br />

after the long climb out of Milford. A post<br />

office, several shops and an inn were<br />

established here. Camp Repose (Camp<br />

❖ A sketch of Perin’s Mill as it appeared in 1826 by<br />

Gladys Duncan. Perin had several mills in the<br />

Perintown area on the East Fork River over the years.<br />

There was also an amusement park at the site.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Shady) was located here during the Civil<br />

War. Armament and supplies were stored<br />

at the location. It was destroyed by<br />

Morgan’s raiders.<br />

Mulberry (Newberry or New<br />

Salisbury) was a mere five lots on what is<br />

now SR 28 when laid out by Thomas<br />

Shumard in 1818. New Salisbury, on the<br />

south side of the road, was plotted by<br />

Thomas Combs in 1883. The hamlet at<br />

one time boasted a sawmill, wagon<br />

maker, brick maker, cooperage, distillery,<br />

tannery and the Mulberry Seminary. The<br />

area was known for its numerous fruit<br />

trees and vineyards and was a major<br />

exporter of their produce.<br />

OBannonville (O’Bannionville) was the<br />

midway point between the county seats of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> and Warren on a much used<br />

stage coach route. The community and<br />

the nearby creek took their names from<br />

the first surveyor in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>,<br />

John O’Bannon. A post office and several<br />

businesses were established here.<br />

Perintown (Perinville) began with<br />

Samuel Perin’s purchase of 14 acres along<br />

present Round Bottom Road in 1813. Here<br />

he built the first sawmill in the area in<br />

1814, soon followed by a gristmill, tannery<br />

and distillery, thus earning the name<br />

Perin’s Mills. Additional sawmills were<br />

built that supplied lumber for the construction<br />

of flatboats. These boats were<br />

used to transport flour, salt pork, lumber,<br />

leather, whiskey, and other products down<br />

river to Cincinnati and as far as New<br />

20 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Orleans. Samuel’s son, Ira, operated a<br />

freight business that transported, by wagons,<br />

supplies and food back to <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. The Anderson State Road (1806),<br />

which later became the Milford-Chillicothe<br />

Turnpike (US 50), passed through the<br />

community as did the Cincinnati &<br />

Eastern Railroad (1876). Both of these<br />

modes of transportation assisted the prosperity<br />

of the village. A power plant was<br />

built adjacent to the railroad tracks and<br />

provided electricity for the area. The tracks<br />

are now part of the Norfolk & Southern<br />

Railroad and the old depot still stands.<br />

Many Perins are buried in the United<br />

Methodist Church (1885) cemetery. One<br />

of those is Captain Isaac Perin who died in<br />

the explosion of his side-wheel steamer,<br />

Moselle, just upriver from Cincinnati in<br />

1838. Many small industries have been<br />

located in the Perintown vicinity in recent<br />

years.<br />

In the early 1880s the hamlet of Ward’s<br />

Corner stood at the intersection of Ward’s<br />

Corner Road and Branch Hill-Guinea<br />

Pike. In 1863 a skirmish between local<br />

men led by Lt. Paxton and General<br />

Morgan’s men took place. A Confederate<br />

cavalryman was killed and was buried<br />

(site unknown). A large orchard has been<br />

in operation nearby in recent years.<br />

MILFORD<br />

By Kathy McCurdy,<br />

Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

and<br />

Patsy Shiveley,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

The city of Milford is on the western<br />

side of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> adjacent to<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong> and at the confluence of<br />

the Little Miami River and its East Fork.<br />

Main Street in Old Milford branches into<br />

US 50 and SR 28. US 50 was originally the<br />

Milford and Chillicothe Pike. SR 28 is the<br />

old Cincinnati, Columbus, and Wooster<br />

Turnpike, chartered in 1827.<br />

Milford stands on land John Hageman<br />

purchased (64.5 acres) in 1803. He built<br />

a dam on the Little Miami River in the<br />

❖ Promont House was built in 1865-67. In 1879 it<br />

was acquired by John Pattison who became the fortythird<br />

governor of Ohio. The building is now the museum<br />

of the Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER MILFORD AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

area that is now Riverside Park, running<br />

the millrace to just west of Water Street,<br />

crossing Mill Street about a hundred feet<br />

from the present bridge. The area is<br />

known as Hageman’s Mills. The name of<br />

Milford first appeared in a newspaper ad<br />

(1806) for a “public sale” of lots in the<br />

town of Milford on the Little Miami River.<br />

Lewis Gatch and Edward Hughes added<br />

thirty-seven lots in 1817. Milford was<br />

incorporated in 1836, becoming a city in<br />

1980, with a population of 5,232.<br />

A series of bridges have crossed the<br />

Little Miami River since the 1818 covered<br />

wooden toll-bridge. A steel bridge<br />

spanned the river from 1894 until 1924.<br />

The following year Milford held a gigantic<br />

parade, dance and fireworks display celebrating<br />

the opening of a new bridge. The<br />

present (2010) two double-lane concrete<br />

bridges accommodate the high volume of<br />

traffic across the Little Miami. They were<br />

built in phases, the first in 1980, next to<br />

a steel bridge. In 1985 the steel bridge<br />

was found unsafe and torn down (1992).<br />

A second two-lane concrete span was<br />

opened alongside the 1980 span in 2000,<br />

allowing four lanes of traffic.<br />

The history of Milford’s rail service<br />

begins in 1841, when a locomotive and two<br />

passenger cars arrived via the Little Miami<br />

Railroad (LMRR) after an hour-and-a-half<br />

trip from Cincinnati. The first car, the James<br />

Madison, carried 16 people inside and 14 on<br />

top, with a second car, the Little Miami,<br />

carrying 20. The railroad bed is now part of<br />

the “Rails to Trails” system. The Cincinnati<br />

Milford & Loveland Traction Line (CM&L)<br />

began service in 1904 from Cincinnati,<br />

extending eastward to Blanchester two years<br />

later. The Cincinnati & Columbus Traction<br />

Co. (C&C) provided service from<br />

Norwood, through Milford, and on to<br />

Hillsboro, building a bridge (1906) across<br />

the Little Miami.<br />

The Milford Seminary and the<br />

Mulberry Seminary provided secondary<br />

education from 1848 until a bond issue<br />

was passed (1867) by a vote of 52-24 to<br />

build a Union School. It was built on<br />

Main Street, directly in front of the present<br />

Milford Main School, serving from<br />

1870 until 1913, when a new 12-room<br />

school opened on the adjacent site. The<br />

Milford Exempted Village School District<br />

is now comprised of 9 buildings serving<br />

6,200 students.<br />

A cholera epidemic swept through the<br />

area in 1849. John Kugler donated one of<br />

his dwellings in the “brick row” (now 211<br />

Main Street) for a hospital. Leonard A.<br />

Hendrick, Jr., then a 20-year old medical<br />

student, recorded 48 deaths in his diary.<br />

William Megrue built the beautiful and<br />

stately Italianate home now known as<br />

Promont in 1863-65. It was later the<br />

home of Ohio’s 43rd governor, John M.<br />

Pattison, from 1879 until his death in<br />

1906. The home is now owned by the<br />

❖ Milford Liquor Court, c. the 1920s. Milford was one<br />

of the locations of the State Liquor Courts. People came<br />

from as far as Dayton for the hearings. The court caused<br />

a lot of excitement. When the weather was good, the<br />

windows were opened so the proceedings could be heard.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER MILFORD AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 21


east into the township. The construction of<br />

Milford Parkway, from I-275 into the city,<br />

resulted in the large Rivers Edge Shopping<br />

Center (2000).<br />

LOVELAND<br />

By Janet Brock Beller,<br />

Greater Loveland <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

❖ Milford Town Hall, also known as the Opera<br />

House, was built in 1889 on Main Street between Mill<br />

and Garfield Streets. It was the center of the civic,<br />

social and cultural events for the town. In the rear were<br />

an auditorium and gymnasium. The building was<br />

renovated in 1923.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER MILFORD AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

and is used as a museum.<br />

In 1900 Milford had a population of<br />

1,050. The Town Hall and Opera House<br />

were built in 1889, and the Milford Public<br />

Library in 1900. The year 1904 began the<br />

era of “running water” with the opening of<br />

the Milford Water Works. The poured concrete<br />

storage standpipe on Wallace Avenue<br />

was the first of its kind in the entire nation,<br />

if not the world. Visitors and engineers came<br />

from all over the world to see it. It held<br />

93,740 gallons of water and served 725 customers.<br />

Milford residents had electricity<br />

from morning until midnight beginning in<br />

1906, purchasing the power from the<br />

CM&L Traction Co. Street lights followed in<br />

1907, as well as “stone cement” sidewalks.<br />

Milford suffered great damage as a<br />

result of the terrible 1913 flood of the<br />

Little Miami River. Among the losses were<br />

the Motsinger and Eveland Funeral Parlor,<br />

the livery stable, and one pier of the C&C<br />

Traction Co. bridge. Mr. Motsinger built a<br />

new funeral home at Elm and Main streets<br />

using brick that he purchased from the<br />

dismantling of the old Union School.<br />

❖ Milford Lamplighter Zanis Jones, c. 1890. The<br />

lamplighter lit the oil lamps in octagonal glass diamond<br />

shaped boxes mounted high on posts along the streets<br />

from his horsedrawn two-wheeled cart.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER MILFORD AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The Roaring Twenties started with an<br />

actual roar on January 1 when Scott’s Mill<br />

was completely destroyed by fire. The village<br />

had grown to 1,525 people, thus<br />

requiring mail delivery in the village. This<br />

ended the tradition of “getting caught up<br />

on the news” while collecting your mail at<br />

the post office. The burgeoning population<br />

also required temporary classrooms<br />

to be attached to the “new” 12 room<br />

school that had opened in the fall of 1913.<br />

Lilly Stimson opened a shop and tea<br />

room at Mill and Water Streets in 1939,<br />

calling it the Gillcroft Inn. The Miami Valley<br />

News announced in 1942 that “the historic<br />

inn on Water Street was under new management”<br />

of James Franklin and that the<br />

name had been changed to Millcroft Inn.<br />

The Inn has operated on and off since 1939<br />

as a restaurant by various owners, mostly<br />

under the name of Millcroft Inn. It is now<br />

(2009) operated as the Bridge Café by<br />

SonRise Community Church.<br />

The popular annual celebration now<br />

known as Frontier Days has its roots in a<br />

1947 fall festival, put on by the (then) newly<br />

created Milford Chamber of Commerce.<br />

The shopping area of Milford started<br />

moving from Old Milford along Main<br />

Street to Lila Avenue east of downtown in<br />

1954 with the opening of the Milford<br />

Shopping Center. Albers opened in 1959<br />

and Kresge’s in 1960. The construction of<br />

I-275 further stimulated the development<br />

of shopping centers along SR 28 extending<br />

The city of Loveland is situated in three<br />

counties—<strong>Clermont</strong>, Hamilton and<br />

Warren. However the first growth<br />

occurred in the northwest corner of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, at the confluence of the<br />

Little Miami River and O’Bannon Creek.<br />

The Little Miami constitutes the <strong>Clermont</strong>-<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong> line at this point. The<br />

main roads are SR 48 and, in Hamilton<br />

<strong>County</strong>, Loveland-Madeira Road.<br />

Colonel Thomas Paxton (1739-1813)<br />

was the first permanent settler in the area,<br />

arriving in 1795 and settling in Miami<br />

Township. He is credited with building the<br />

first log cabin in the area and in that cabin<br />

was held the first Presbyterian Church service<br />

in the Virginia Military District. His<br />

cabin also served as the polling place for the<br />

earliest elections in the township. Paxton<br />

had twelve children and many of them married<br />

and settled in the area. Paxton and<br />

many of his relatives are buried in the<br />

Paxton/Ramsey Family Cemetery, located in<br />

what is called White Pillars Subdivision.<br />

In 1848, Colonel William Ramsey<br />

(grandson of Thomas Paxton) bought<br />

Samuel Butterworth’s 189 acres for $7,300.<br />

Late that same year, he laid out the town of<br />

Paxton on the land. It is in the original<br />

Virginia Military District, deeded by<br />

Thomas Jefferson 66 years earlier.<br />

In 1850, Ramsey laid out another town<br />

adjoining, naming it Loveland for James<br />

Loveland who had a store and post office on<br />

Mill Street, fronting the railroad tracks. As<br />

the trains passed by or stopped at<br />

Loveland’s store ‘putting off the mailbag at<br />

Loveland’s’ became the byword. So the<br />

name of Loveland easily caught on.<br />

However, the town was not officially named<br />

until September 1863 when George W.<br />

Felter surveyed the town and established<br />

22 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


new boundaries. It did not become a village<br />

until May 16, 1876, with limits extending<br />

to include parts of <strong>Clermont</strong>, Hamilton and<br />

Warren Counties. The area was 800 acres,<br />

the petition was signed by 80 citizens, representing<br />

a population of 800 residents.<br />

Loveland became a city in 1961, when the<br />

population exceeded five thousand.<br />

Two railroad lines ran through<br />

Loveland, bringing business, people, and<br />

growth. The Little Miami Railroad, running<br />

from Cincinnati to Xenia, came in 1844,<br />

with rails running through the Butterworth<br />

farm, just north of Loveland. It became the<br />

Pennsylvania Railroad in 1869 and is now<br />

the Little Miami Scenic Bike Trail. The second<br />

railroad was the Marietta & Cincinnati,<br />

later known as the Baltimore & Ohio, running<br />

through the northwest corner of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and going east. In the<br />

early 1900s up to 40 passenger trains a day<br />

traveled through Loveland, taking workers<br />

to the city and students to high school.<br />

Early businesses included a lumber &<br />

planing mill, feed and coal, hardware,<br />

clothing stores, banks, grocery and drug<br />

stores, general stores and dry goods, paints,<br />

blacksmiths, barbershops, paper hanger,<br />

doctors and dentists, shoemakers, baker,<br />

meats and confectionary, tinware and<br />

stoves, livery stable, hotels and undertaker.<br />

In 1874 the Marietta & Cincinnati<br />

Railroad sponsored the publication of<br />

Suburban Homes, designed to promote the<br />

sale of land north of Cincinnati. It<br />

stressed easy access via the railroad,<br />

inexpensive lots and homes, and beautiful<br />

and healthy countryside. In 1883 more<br />

than a hundred Cincinnati families spent<br />

the summer in Loveland enjoying the<br />

healthful air, fine riverside views,<br />

horseback riding, boating and fishing.<br />

Popular social activities included band<br />

concerts, exhibitions at Lyceum Hall,<br />

dances and plays. The hotels prospered,<br />

as did other local businesses, from the<br />

tourist trade.<br />

The west side of Loveland, located in<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong>, did not thrive until a<br />

wagon bridge was constructed over the<br />

Little Miami River in 1872. There were<br />

❖ Jackson Street clean-up after the 1913 flood. The<br />

old fire department pumper is shown in front of one of<br />

the early businesses.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER LOVELAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

two separate school systems in the early<br />

days which did not combine until the late<br />

1920s. The system became the Loveland<br />

City School District in 1961.<br />

Over the years Loveland has been<br />

devastated by floods from the Little<br />

Miami River and O’Bannon Creek. The<br />

most damage occurred in March 1913,<br />

breaking all previous records by at least<br />

seven feet. The wagon bridge across the<br />

river was carried away and the B&O<br />

Railroad bridge was severely damaged by<br />

a stalled train. In January 1959 flood<br />

waters rose so fast that the damage was<br />

worse than in 1913, although the water<br />

did not go as high. In the early 1960s a<br />

dike was built that controls the level of<br />

water, eliminating future major flooding.<br />

Nancy Ford Cones (1869-1961), an<br />

internationally known photographer,<br />

lived and worked with her husband James<br />

on their farm, “Road’s End,” just outside<br />

Loveland. She used local residents as<br />

models and took many of her pictures in<br />

the Loveland area. James did all the<br />

developing, making the two possibly the<br />

first husband-and-wife team in the history<br />

of American photography. Most of her<br />

work reflected the rural life of friends and<br />

family. Camera manufacturers such as<br />

Kodak and Bausch & Lomb bought her<br />

scenes for advertising campaigns. Many<br />

scenes appeared on covers of major<br />

magazines like Country Life in America and<br />

Women’s Home Companion.<br />

❖ Loveland Pennsylvania Railroad depot. The depot<br />

was removed in 1954. Loveland also had a B&O depot,<br />

which remains to this day.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The Loveland Opera House originally called the<br />

Town Hall. Housed in the building were the mayor’s<br />

office, council chamber, jail, fire department and office<br />

space. On the second floor was a public hall called “The<br />

Opera House.” The building burned in 1972.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER LOVELAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Emit Ward in front of the newly opened Rauscher<br />

Mobil gas station on the corner of Jackson & Second<br />

Street, c. 1926. “Red” McMullen took over the station<br />

in 1941 with the slogan “Big enough to serve you, not<br />

too big to know you.” There is still a gas station on<br />

the corner.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER LOVELAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Loveland started to grow in the 1950s<br />

with annexation of land and increased<br />

home building. Between 1950 and 2009 the<br />

city annexed tracts of land for subdivisions,<br />

Chapter III ✦ 23


❖ Eastbound B&O freight train crossing the Little<br />

Miami River at Loveland about to pass over the<br />

intersection with the Penn-Central Railroad track, c. 1972.<br />

The steel bridge to the right is a holdover from the time<br />

that the B&O was double tracked. It was later removed.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The “Baby Pig” one of Nancy Ford Cones pictures.<br />

taken on the Cones Farm near Loveland. c. 1918. The<br />

models are James Cones and Nancy Lever.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GREATER LOVELAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

increasing the acreage from the original 800<br />

to 2130 acres. The city began renovating its<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> business district in the late 1900s<br />

centering around the Little Miami Scenic<br />

Trail, which opened in 1984 on the abandoned<br />

Pennsylvania Railroad right-of-way<br />

through Loveland. Ongoing plans continue<br />

for <strong>Historic</strong> Loveland. A new high school<br />

was built in early 1990 on Rich Road. The<br />

Commerce Park in West Loveland expanded<br />

almost to capacity by 2000.<br />

In 1950 the census showed a population<br />

of 2,149. By 1960 the population passed<br />

six thousand, making the village eligible for<br />

city status. The 1990 population was ninety-nine<br />

hundred. With increased home<br />

building and annexation, the population<br />

reached thirteen thousand by 2000.<br />

MONROE TOWNSHIP<br />

By Libbie Bennett,<br />

Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Monroe Township, established in 1825<br />

and named for President James Monroe, is<br />

located in the southwestern section of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The Ohio River serves as<br />

its border to the southwest, Ohio and Pierce<br />

Townships to the west, Batavia Township to<br />

the north (SR 125), Tate Township to the<br />

east and Washington Township to the<br />

southeast. US 52, once known as the Ohio<br />

River Pike and the Atlantic and Pacific<br />

(A&P) Highway, follows the Ohio River<br />

through the township. The hamlets of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ville, Nicholsville, Laurel, and<br />

Point Pleasant are in the township.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ville is along Boat Run near the<br />

Ohio River. In the 1800s it was a busy packet<br />

boat stop with a wharf and tobacco warehouse,<br />

as well as a church, a school, post<br />

office and a general store. Franklin Fridman<br />

owned a successful mercantile establishment,<br />

having moved to <strong>Clermont</strong>ville in<br />

1839 and married Rebecca Bushman in<br />

1840. He went on to become “the controlling<br />

business magnate of the county” (1880<br />

History of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>) and a highly<br />

esteemed citizen. The entire county was<br />

shocked by his murder in August 1895,<br />

supposedly by Noah Anderson. Anderson<br />

was subsequently lynched by an enraged<br />

crowd in New Richmond.<br />

Reverend Daniel Parker established<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> Academy here in 1839.<br />

US 52 now bypasses the old community<br />

of <strong>Clermont</strong>ville and it is now a residential<br />

area.<br />

Nicholsville lies about three miles south<br />

of SR 125, along SR 222. Originally called<br />

Feetown, in honor of early merchant Daniel<br />

Fee, the name was changed to Nicholsville<br />

in 1847 as N. B. Nichols was the postmaster<br />

at that time. A post office, churches, mills,<br />

stores, physicians and several other businesses<br />

were in the village. The store, which<br />

Revolutionary War veteran William Slye<br />

opened in 1849, still serves as the community<br />

convenience store. The white, twostory<br />

frame Grange Hall also still stands.<br />

Built in 1856, it has served as a school, an<br />

election polling place, a site of ice cream<br />

socials, basket suppers and various “frolics.”<br />

Laurel (1837) was originally called<br />

VanBurenville, in honor of President<br />

Martin Van Buren. The town went by the<br />

post office’s name, <strong>Clermont</strong>, in 1842,<br />

and changed one final time to Laurel in<br />

1844. In the 1930s, the Laurel United<br />

Methodist Church installed a stained glass<br />

window in honor of the township’s<br />

favorite son, U. S. Grant.<br />

Point Pleasant, located on the Ohio<br />

River, was laid out in 1812 at the mouth<br />

of Indian Creek. The hamlet had a good<br />

steamboat landing and was a center of<br />

shipping for local merchants. A<br />

pottery/clay pipe factory was a major<br />

manufacturing facility in the 1800s. On<br />

the south side of Indian Creek, many<br />

Native American artifacts have been<br />

found and in 1974 the site was placed on<br />

the National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places.<br />

For many years Point Pleasant residents<br />

received their mail from the Chesapeake<br />

& Ohio Railroad mail train that ran along<br />

the Kentucky side of the Ohio River. Each<br />

day, someone crossed the river to Mentor<br />

to retrieve the mail. This practice continued<br />

until the 1950s.<br />

Thomas Page established a tannery in<br />

Point Pleasant in the 1820s. Jesse Grant was<br />

employed by him and lived in a small frame<br />

house near the tannery with his wife<br />

Hannah Simpson Grant. In this house<br />

Hiram Ulysses Grant (later to take the name<br />

Ulysses Simpson Grant) was born on April<br />

27, 1822. As the birthplace of the eighteenth<br />

president of the United States and<br />

lieutenant general during the Civil War, the<br />

small house is an Ohio <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

site and has had an interesting history of its<br />

own. Around 1888 it was removed and sent<br />

24 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Grant Memorial Bridge, Point Pleasant, built in<br />

1925-27, as it appeared in 1982. It was replaced 1984.<br />

The bridge replaced an earlier bridge at the same site.<br />

Many parts of the Grant Bridge were saved and are on<br />

display at the nearby park.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Grant Memorial Church, Point Pleasant, was<br />

built of native stone and dedicated in 1931. It sits on the<br />

site of the tannery where Grant’s father worked in 1822<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ For the hundredth anniversary of the birth of U.S.<br />

Grant on April 27, 1922, President Warren Harding<br />

(front right) attended the celebration in Point Pleasant<br />

COURTESY OF TOM SCHMIDGALL.<br />

on tour, ending up on display at the Ohio<br />

State Fairgrounds until its return in 1936.<br />

<strong>County</strong> resident and former chief justice of<br />

❖ Franklin Chapel This Methodist Episcopal Church<br />

was built in 1854 under the direction of Rev. J.L.<br />

Holtzingterat the cost of $1,665. The belfry and church<br />

bell were added in 1884. It is located on Franklin-<br />

Laurel Road. In 2000 the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial<br />

Committee placed a historical marker on the site.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

the Ohio Supreme Court Hugh Nichols was<br />

instrumental in the house’s return. At the<br />

celebration of the centennial of Grant’s<br />

birth, April 27, 1922, President Warren G.<br />

Harding gave the commemorative address.<br />

Five years later the new steel bridge across<br />

Indian Creek was dedicated as the Grant<br />

Memorial Bridge. Though the bridge itself<br />

has since been rebuilt, the monument components<br />

and cannon are still on the site. The<br />

birthplace, bridge and surrounding area<br />

were placed on the National Register of<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> Places in 1998.<br />

In 1922, Harriet Moffort was the<br />

first woman elected to an office in the<br />

State of Ohio. She was the <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> recorder.<br />

CLERMONT ACADEMY<br />

( PARKER ACADEMY)<br />

By Greg Roberts,<br />

Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society/<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Academy, a private school of<br />

higher learning, was founded in l839 by<br />

Rev. Daniel Parker and his wife Priscilla.<br />

Situated beneath the hill called Mt.<br />

Hygiene, this little white schoolhouse<br />

stood at the southwest corner of Ohio<br />

River Pike (present-day <strong>Clermont</strong>ville<br />

Spur) and <strong>Clermont</strong>ville-Laurel Road.<br />

Also known as Parker Academy, this<br />

school promoted an ‘open door’ policy.<br />

One of the first in the nation to admit<br />

both boys and girls, regardless of race,<br />

this academy also taught them together in<br />

the same classroom.<br />

The first black student to be enrolled<br />

was Edwin Mathews. He was the son of<br />

former slaves who were freed by James<br />

Birney, editor of the anti-slavery newspaper<br />

The Philanthropist. Southern plantation<br />

owners often brought their biracial<br />

children to the Academy to be educated.<br />

Here they would become classmates of<br />

children whose parents were the leaders<br />

of the Abolitionist movement and conductors<br />

of the Underground Railroad.<br />

During its 53-year history, approximately<br />

l,500 students attended the Parker<br />

Academy including Monroe Township’s<br />

native son, Adjutant General Henry Clark<br />

Corbin of Laurel. He was the guest speaker<br />

at the October l907 reunion held for<br />

alumni of the Academy, and in later years<br />

was quoted as saying, “the Parkers housed<br />

runaway slaves who had escaped from<br />

down South.”<br />

In l892, after public education became<br />

available, the <strong>Clermont</strong> Academy closed<br />

its doors due to lack of students. The<br />

original building stood until the l937<br />

flood when it was badly damaged and<br />

subsequently torn down.<br />

However, the huge home of James<br />

Parker still stands on Mt. Hygiene on its<br />

original site. Inside are the large dining<br />

hall and three floors of dormitories for the<br />

girls and teachers.<br />

From around 1900 until the l960s this<br />

historic house was owned by the Christ<br />

Church in Cincinnati and known as the<br />

Girls’ Friendly Home. In 1976 a large<br />

stone monument with a bronze plaque was<br />

erected to commemorate the contributions<br />

made to Monroe Township and southwest<br />

Ohio by graduates of Parker Academy.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 25


❖ The Parker Academy (<strong>Clermont</strong> Academy)., a<br />

private school founded in 1839. During its fifty-threeyear<br />

history it admitted both boys and girls regardless<br />

of race.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

OHIO TOWNSHIP<br />

By Bethany Richter Pollitt,<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc.<br />

❖ Cincinnati Christ Church’s “Girls’ Friendly Home” located in the former Parker home from around 1900 until<br />

1960s. In 2009, when this picture was taken, it was the home of Greg Roberts.<br />

Ohio Township is located north of the<br />

Ohio River, along US 52. SR 132 runs<br />

through part of the township connecting<br />

New Richmond, Mt. Pisgah and Lindale<br />

to Amelia. State Route 749 (Ten Mile<br />

Road) intersects with State Route 132 in<br />

Lindale. In its early history the township’s<br />

location on the Ohio River was vital for its<br />

business with Cincinnati.<br />

Ohio Township is one of <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>’s original townships, formed in<br />

1796. In its early history the township had<br />

a tannery, a collier, harness factory and a<br />

cooperage during the 1800s. Today the<br />

township’s size has decreased due to the<br />

formation of Pierce, Monroe and Batavia<br />

Townships. Among its first settlers was the<br />

Ferguson family, who settled here in 1796.<br />

One of the more prominent families in<br />

Ohio Township was the Coombs family, in<br />

Lindale. They were instrumental in forming<br />

the Mt. Gilead Anti-Slavery Society in 1836,<br />

meeting at the Baptist Meeting House while<br />

it was in existence. Its seventy-two members<br />

sold books to raise funds for the<br />

American Anti-Slavery Society. John Rankin<br />

sometimes came to the group’s meetings<br />

and had high opinions of the Coombs family.<br />

The Lindale Network, as it was known,<br />

was active in the Underground Railroad.<br />

Ohio Township had a relatively large<br />

African-American population early in the<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

1800s, with a population of 256 in 1850.<br />

Several documents and records have been<br />

discovered which show the early families<br />

to have formed a local association similar<br />

to the much later NAACP (National<br />

Association for the Advancement of<br />

Colored People). Many descendants of<br />

those early families still live in New<br />

Richmond and treasure their family<br />

stories and records. The history of Ohio<br />

Township’s black community is an area<br />

calling for more study and research.<br />

Today the two largest hamlets in the<br />

township are Lindale and Mt. Pisgah.<br />

Lindale today consist of homes, a<br />

grocery/gas station, a golf course and other<br />

businesses. The township fire department,<br />

hall and park are located at Mt. Pisgah.<br />

Palestine, now in Pierce Township, was<br />

founded in the 1800s along the river to be<br />

a competitor to New Richmond. However,<br />

it never eclipsed New Richmond in the<br />

steamboat business and commerce.<br />

NEW RICHMOND<br />

By Bethany Richter Pollitt,<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc.<br />

New Richmond lies in the south of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> located on the banks of<br />

the Ohio River. US 52 runs parallel to the<br />

❖ The Lewis & Clark Voyage Reenactment, 2003.<br />

The expedition camped at Point Pleasant. A three-day<br />

celebration was held in New Richmond.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Brown’s Shoe store dealt not only in shoes but<br />

farm implements. Note the water pump in the corner.<br />

The hanging bell-shaped sign to the right advertises<br />

“Public Station: Local and Long Distance Telephone.”<br />

Another sign says “Use Crown Gasoline.”<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORIC NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

26 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Front Street in New Richmond as seen from the Ohio River.<br />

COURTESY OF PATSY SHIVELEY.<br />

river. SR 132 runs north and connects<br />

New Richmond to Amelia.<br />

New Richmond was founded in 1814<br />

by Jacob Light. In 1816 the town of<br />

Susanna was founded by Thomas<br />

Ashburn adjacent to New Richmond. The<br />

two towns were merged in 1828 by a<br />

legislative act. Located on the river,<br />

New Richmond was a vibrant town<br />

during the 1800s. From 1823 to 1824 the<br />

village was the county seat until it was<br />

moved to Batavia. From the 1830s New<br />

Richmond was a leader in the county’s<br />

anti-slavery movement.<br />

Much of New Richmond’s history has<br />

been controlled by the river. The river<br />

allowed New Richmond to be a terminus<br />

for the steamboat industry. The William<br />

Tell, the <strong>Clermont</strong>, and other steamers<br />

were built and launched in New<br />

Richmond. New Richmond’s steamboat<br />

industry did experience some disasters,<br />

such as in the 1854 burning of the<br />

Forester, in which three people died.<br />

Major floods occurred in 1884, 1913,<br />

1937, 1945, 1948, 1964, and 1997, each<br />

bringing damage. Villagers were left<br />

without homes and the town in ruins. The<br />

1937 flood, which crested at eighty feet,<br />

nearly destroyed New Richmond, causing<br />

a million dollars in damage.<br />

New Richmond has seen all types of<br />

transportation options. The Interurban<br />

Railway & Terminal (“The Black Line”)<br />

was a trolley line. The Black Line ran from<br />

New Richmond to Cincinnati from 1902<br />

to 1922. The New Richmond branch<br />

(later known as the Devou Line) of the<br />

Cincinnati & Eastern (C&E) was a<br />

narrow gauge railroad in use from 1880-<br />

1889. The Devou connected with the<br />

main line of the C&E at Newtown.<br />

US 52 had always been a connection<br />

from Cincinnati to New Richmond and<br />

connected New Richmond to other parts<br />

of <strong>Clermont</strong> and into Brown <strong>County</strong>. It<br />

has had several names over the years: the<br />

River Road, the New Richmond Pike and<br />

the A&P Highway. Recently it was<br />

renamed the U.S. Grant Memorial<br />

Highway. During the 1960s US 52 was<br />

converted to a four-lane highway, increasing<br />

traffic and tourism throughout the<br />

New Richmond area.<br />

New Richmond was the first in many<br />

things in the county. In 1899 it was the<br />

first in the county to have a power house<br />

and electric plant. It was agreed that the<br />

village was in need of a water system<br />

which would be useful to industry, business,<br />

homes and fire control but residents<br />

were at first reluctant to have electricity in<br />

their homes due to the risk of fire.<br />

However, once Captain Francis Marion<br />

Pursell was elected mayor he pushed the<br />

issue and a levy was passed which allowed<br />

a water works plant. Prior to 1924, when<br />

the Southwestern Ohio Power Company<br />

took over electric service for the town,<br />

electricity was shut off at 11:30 p.m. As<br />

one resident said, “It was time for all good<br />

Christians to be in bed.” In 1925 the water<br />

❖ John W. Haussermann (1867-1965), a New<br />

Richmond native, served in the Spanish American War<br />

subsequently becoming judge advocate in the Manila<br />

Military Court. He came into ownership of a gold mine<br />

while there. He became known as the “Gold King of the<br />

Philippines.” He had a mansion in New Richmond.<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORIC NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

❖ Jessie Moonlight Haussermann, wife of John<br />

Haussermann and philanthropist in her own right,<br />

was loved by the people of New Richmond. The park<br />

on Front Street is name after her. She was the<br />

daughter of Colonel “Tom” Moonlight, territorial<br />

governor of Wyoming.<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORIC NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 27


Since then the village has seen a steady<br />

but slow resurgence.<br />

From the time the village of New<br />

Richmond was created its residents have<br />

served their country in war. Along the Ohio<br />

River visitors can see several memorials celebrating<br />

and honoring those who have<br />

fought for their country. There are three<br />

monuments: the Veterans Monument, Pearl<br />

Harbor Survivors Monument and the<br />

Merchant Marine Monument.<br />

PIERCE TOWNSHIP<br />

By Patsy Shiveley<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

❖ Curry House at Main & Market Streets in New Richmond. This building was active as a hotel from the mid-<br />

1800s until 1943, under a number of names, among them Cary House, Curry House, and Kelch Hotel. It was one of<br />

several hotels in New Richmond providing lodging for travelers by horseback, steamboat or rail. It also provided<br />

livery service.<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORICAL NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

works changed the water supply from the<br />

river to deep wells. The new water works<br />

building was built in 1983, closing the<br />

1899 building after 84 years of service.<br />

Today the New Richmond Water Works<br />

and Electric Station is listed on the<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places.<br />

New Richmond was also first in education.<br />

In 1875, New Richmond organized<br />

and opened the New Richmond High<br />

School and graduated eleven students<br />

that year, the first in the county. Today the<br />

school district includes all of Ohio<br />

Township and most of Pierce, Monroe<br />

and Washington Townships and has five<br />

school buildings. Until the completion of<br />

the Beckjord Power Station New<br />

Richmond was classified as a local district.<br />

This changed when Superintendent<br />

Brooks Parsons and others worked to<br />

achieve exempted status in order to retain<br />

the revenue from the power plant. With<br />

this decision, rapid growth occurred with<br />

new schools being built over time on<br />

twelve acres on top of the hill overlooking<br />

the village, away from the flood zone.<br />

There have been several leading industries<br />

throughout New Richmond’s history<br />

such as the Fridman Lumber Company and<br />

the Fridman Seating Company. The J&H<br />

Clasgens Co. was one of the largest industries<br />

in New Richmond for many years.<br />

Established by brothers Joseph and Henry<br />

Clasgens in 1855, the factory was moved to<br />

New Richmond in 1865. It was operated by<br />

steam engines. At this time the plant manufactured<br />

blankets, flannels and other finished<br />

woolens. After suffering severe damage<br />

in the 1937 flood the business purchased<br />

the Dormer Brothers manufacturing<br />

plant on State Route 132. During World<br />

War II the company employed more than<br />

200 people and produced wool liners for<br />

leather gloves for the military. The dye<br />

house operation was discontinued in the<br />

1970s and today the business is operated<br />

on a reduced scale by J. H. Clasgens II.<br />

In 1951 the Walter C. Beckjord Power<br />

Station was nearly completed. The plant<br />

was built because of the rate of growth of<br />

the company’s electric business. It was<br />

decided to build on the Ohio River the<br />

same distance upstream from Cincinnati<br />

as the Miami Fort downstream. New<br />

Richmond benefited from the plant’s<br />

opening with new job opportunities.<br />

Pierce Township is in the southwestern<br />

portion of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, along the<br />

Ohio River. Its western border is<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong>, with Union and Batavia<br />

Townships to the north and Ohio and<br />

Monroe Townships to the east. State<br />

Route 125 forms the northeastern border<br />

and State Route 749 (Ten Mile Road)<br />

runs east-west through the township. US<br />

Route 52 (originally the Ohio River<br />

Pike) follows the river east-west across<br />

the lower portion of the township. Nine<br />

Mile and Ten Mile Creeks run through<br />

Pierce Township.<br />

❖ Spann General Store. Spann was an early<br />

crossroads settlement instrumental in the development<br />

of Pierce Township. Located at Dutch Creek and Ten<br />

Mile Road, the hamlet consisted of a community<br />

well, a general store/post office (1860) and the<br />

Ten Mile Presbyterian Church (1912-43). The<br />

community provided a social forum for the area<br />

farmers and residents.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

28 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Charles M. Maddux wagon and blacksmith shop<br />

located in Pierce Township 1916.<br />

COURTESY OF MILTON H. MATHEWS.<br />

Early settlers came primarily from New<br />

Jersey, Massachusetts, and Germany. The<br />

Donham family, of Spanish extraction,<br />

arrived in 1794 in the Ten Mile area and the<br />

John family in 1796 in the Nine Mile area.<br />

The township was formed from Ohio<br />

Township in 1852 and named in honor of<br />

President-elect Franklin Pierce. Amelia is<br />

the only incorporated village in the township.<br />

Hamlets include Locust Corner (formerly<br />

Pleasant Hill), Palestine (also known<br />

as New Palestine), and Hamlet. US 52 was<br />

re-routed in the early 1960s and much of<br />

Palestine was taken for the new highway.<br />

Several of the houses were moved to what<br />

is now Palestine Street alongside the Ohio<br />

River. Palestine’s school still stands on old<br />

52 near Ten Mile Road. Once existing<br />

hamlets include Spann, Nineveh (Pleasant<br />

Valley) and Blairville.<br />

The area along the river, having clay of<br />

superior quality, was the site of two brickyards.<br />

The first, in Palestine, was<br />

destroyed by fire in 1864. “One of the<br />

most complete brickyards in the state”<br />

was built in Blairville in 1874. Duke<br />

Energy’s Walter C. Beckjord power plant<br />

(1954) now stands in that location.<br />

The hills on the north side of the Ohio<br />

were well-suited for orchards and vineyards.<br />

In 1880, 7,800 bushels of apples,<br />

peaches, pears, cherries and plums were<br />

harvested in the township.<br />

Those same hillsides are now prime<br />

home sites for people who want to live “in<br />

the country” and still be within 20 minutes<br />

of downtown Cincinnati, often with a<br />

river view. Much of Pierce Township’s<br />

farmland has given way to development<br />

for people who live in the township but<br />

work outside it. Notably, financier Marvin<br />

L. Warner owned a large thoroughbred<br />

horse farm near Locust Corner from the<br />

1950s. He lost his farm when he was<br />

indicted for fraud in a savings and loan<br />

scandal that broke in 1985. His farm is<br />

now an upscale housing development<br />

centered upon Legendary Run golf course.<br />

The schools of Pierce Township consolidated<br />

with New Richmond in the 1950s.<br />

An elementary school has been maintained<br />

in the township. The new Locust Corner<br />

Elementary replaces the 1931 Pierce<br />

Elementary School, built on land donated<br />

by the Bennett Behymer family.<br />

Several styles of rail service have been<br />

available in Pierce Township. Streetcars of<br />

the Interurban Railway and Terminal<br />

Company (IR&T), known as the “Black<br />

❖ The Abram Hopper Home in Pierce Township<br />

near Nine-Mile Creek, 1916. Hopper Hill Road is<br />

named for the Hopper family.<br />

COURTESY OF MILTON H. MATHEWS.<br />

Line”, followed the Ohio Pike (SR 125)<br />

through the township on its way to and<br />

from Cincinnati and Bethel. The Black Line<br />

Eastern Division (1902-1922), also known<br />

as the Cincinnati Electric Railway, followed<br />

US 52 to New Richmond from Cincinnati.<br />

The Cincinnati, Georgetown and<br />

Portsmouth Railroad entered the township<br />

at Amelia and followed SR 125 to Bethel<br />

(1873-1936). The Cincinnati & Eastern<br />

(C&E) had a branch (Devou) running<br />

along Nine Mile Creek and along the Ohio<br />

River to New Richmond (1880-1889). In<br />

1884 the 800-foot trestle at Three Forks,<br />

near Nineveh, collapsed dropping the<br />

❖ Main Street in Ninevah in 1916. The hamlet was located on Nine Mile Creek.<br />

COURTESY OF MILTON H. MATHEWS.<br />

❖ Pleasant Valley Church in Ninevah in 1916.<br />

Standing in front is Bishop Mathews. He preached his<br />

first sermon in this church.<br />

COURTESY OF MILTON H. MATHEWS.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 29


locomotive, three flat cars, and a baggage<br />

car 30 feet to the creek. Three were killed<br />

and nine injured.<br />

Pierce Township contains a portion of<br />

Woodland Mound Park (Hamilton <strong>County</strong><br />

Park District) including the Vineyard golf<br />

course. There are several other parks in<br />

the township, including a nature area,<br />

walking trails, playgrounds, a skateboard<br />

park, sports fields and picnic areas. There<br />

is also a Greenspace program designed to<br />

protect the natural areas of the township.<br />

AMELIA<br />

By Richard Crawford<br />

The village of Amelia, <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>’s only incorporated village<br />

(December 20, 1900) never formally laid<br />

out, lies in Batavia and Pierce townships.<br />

An Irishman, Daniel Kirgan (or<br />

Kergan), may have been the first settler,<br />

on the western edge of Amelia in 1809.<br />

The first homes within the village were<br />

log cabins built by David Jernegan and<br />

John O. Butler, from Massachusetts. They<br />

also built a sawmill in 1826 or 1827.<br />

Other mills were built in the village, causing<br />

the area to be called Milltown, a name<br />

soon slurred into Milton.<br />

The post office, established February<br />

25, 1836, was named Amelia, after Armilla<br />

“Amelia” Bowdoin, the well-known and<br />

popular operator of the Ohio Turnpike<br />

tollgate. Her home stands at 94 West Main<br />

Street, across the street from where it stood<br />

when it served as the tollhouse.<br />

Main Street is the Ohio Turnpike (SR<br />

125), built in 1831 by E. G. Penn. His<br />

home stood along the turnpike at 29 East<br />

Main Street. U.S. Congressman Charles<br />

Cyrus Kearns, who served from 1915-31,<br />

married Lena Penn, E. G.’s daughter. U.S.<br />

Speaker of the House Nicholas Longworth<br />

and his wife, Alice Roosevelt, daughter of<br />

Theodore Roosevelt, visited the Kearns at<br />

their home at 66 West Main Street.<br />

The Cincinnati, Georgetown &<br />

Portsmouth Railroad served Amelia from<br />

1878 to April 29, 1935, crossing Main Street<br />

just east of its station at 81 West Main.<br />

The Interurban Railway & Terminal Co.<br />

operated from 1903-18. Nicknamed “The<br />

Black Line” because of its dark green cars,<br />

it ran along the middle of the Ohio Pike.<br />

Nellie Mattox, <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s last<br />

justice of the peace, held court in her home,<br />

the second house east of the northeast corner<br />

of Main Street and Hopkins Avenue. At<br />

119 West Main Street, the Mid-Maples or<br />

Thomas-Fuller House, is said to have been<br />

a speakeasy during the days of Prohibition.<br />

The Knights of Phythias building at 41 West<br />

Main Street was built in the 1850s. It has<br />

served as the village hall, Amelia High<br />

School’s graduation hall and first gymnasium,<br />

a motion picture theater, a war munitions<br />

factory, and site of Farmers’ Institutes.<br />

Frank Hitchcock had what was believed<br />

to be the United States’ largest gold fish<br />

farm, the Glen Mary Fish Farm, beginning<br />

in 1913. It was on thirty-five acres at the end<br />

of the street named in his honor. The<br />

Pommert family owned and operated one of<br />

the largest gladiola farms in the nation on<br />

the south side of Main Street.<br />

Aaron Cleveland operated a stagecoach<br />

line from Georgetown to Cincinnati with the<br />

offices on the southwest corner of SR 125<br />

and SR 132. A roundtrip took about eight<br />

hours and cost $1.25. Cleveland served in<br />

the U.S. postmaster general’s office under his<br />

cousin, President Grover Cleveland.<br />

The first preacher was Henry Smith, a<br />

Methodist circuit rider arriving in 1799. The<br />

early churches were Methodist (1808),<br />

Church of Christ (1828), and Baptist (1868).<br />

The first school was just north of the<br />

Methodist Church on Church Street. John<br />

McGrew taught as early as the 1820s. John<br />

Robinson donated a portion of his land in<br />

the center of Amelia to build a school in<br />

1870. A memorial to that building, which<br />

was torn down in 1962, is in the yard of<br />

Amelia Elementary at 5 East Main Street.<br />

The 1870 school stood on the present front<br />

parking lot. The first graduating class of<br />

five seniors was in 1893. Amelia<br />

Schools merged with Glen Este to form<br />

West <strong>Clermont</strong> Local School District in<br />

1956, the largest district in the county. In<br />

2010, a new elementary school was built<br />

❖ This house was built by Increase Summer Morse<br />

(1806-1875) around 1850. It is one of the oldest<br />

buildings in Amelia. It was constructed of bricks fired in<br />

a kiln on site. The house served as an inn and a store.<br />

Originally the house was located on the southeast<br />

corner of Main and Oak Streets. It was moved to its<br />

current site on Oak Street in 1998 to make room for a<br />

drug store. It is owned by the Village of Amelia.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The old Amelia High School on East Main<br />

Street, 1905.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ U.S. Congressman Charles Cyrus Kearns’ home<br />

on Main Street in Amelia.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

30 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


directly behind the current elementary<br />

school on Main Street. The High School and<br />

Middle School were built on Clough Pike in<br />

Batavia Township in 1961.<br />

STONELICK TOWNSHIP<br />

By the Owensville <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

and Ron Hill<br />

Stonelick Township lies in north central<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Two major highways cross<br />

east-west through the township. In the north<br />

is SR 131 that connects Milford and<br />

Newtonsville and in the south is US 50 that<br />

connects Milford and Hillsboro. Route 132 is<br />

the major north-south highway. Both US 50<br />

and Route 132 pass through Owensville, the<br />

only village in the township. US 50 follows<br />

the path of the first highway in the township,<br />

the Anderson State Road, laid out in 1806.<br />

At one time there were several small<br />

hamlets in the township, such as<br />

Stonelick and Williams Corners, but<br />

today only a few houses mark these spots.<br />

The first attempt to settle in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> occurred in 1792 near the mouth<br />

of Stonelick Creek. Mrs. Elizabeth<br />

Carpenter built a pole cabin there, but the<br />

hostility of the Indians caused her to abandon<br />

the site. A survey crew in 1793 had a<br />

skirmish with the Indians.<br />

Dr. Richard Allison built a two story double<br />

log cabin near Stonelick in 1799. Dr.<br />

Allison had received 441 acres for his service<br />

❖ The Stonelick Covered Bridge was built in 1878. It<br />

is 140 feet long and supported by a 12-panel Howe<br />

Truss. It crosses Stonelick Creek.It is located on<br />

Stonelick Williams Corner Road. It is the last covered<br />

bridge in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, and was placed on the<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places in 1974.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ St. Philomena Church located on Stonelick-<br />

Williams Corner Road. The first Catholic Parish in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was established in 1839. The original<br />

church of log was destroyed by fire in 1868. A stone<br />

church was built in 1869. The present structure was<br />

built in 1905.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

in the Revolutionary War. Dr. Allison also<br />

was surgeon general in General St. Clair’s<br />

army that was defeated by the Indians and<br />

later in General Anthony Wayne’s army that<br />

defeated the Indians at the battle of Fallen<br />

Timbers. This victory led to the opening of<br />

southern Ohio to settlement.<br />

Two river systems played an important<br />

part in the development of the township:<br />

East Fork Little Miami River and Stonelick<br />

Creek. The East Fork was an important<br />

transportation route to the Ohio River.<br />

Stonelick Creek provided water for the<br />

many mills that developed along its<br />

course. The first grist/saw mill was built in<br />

1803 by Henry Allison. Nowhere else in<br />

the county did a stream of this length have<br />

so many mills.<br />

From 1803 to 1840 the leading industries<br />

in the township were the distilling of<br />

whiskey and the manufacturing of flour<br />

from wheat. Corn could be transported<br />

much easier as whiskey and was a cash crop.<br />

Later the major industry was the manufacture<br />

of oak barrels and kegs. In 1872 over<br />

thirty thousand barrels were made in the<br />

township. Boston (Owensville) produced<br />

twenty-seven thousand.<br />

The relatively level lands in the northern<br />

section of the township were the primary<br />

farming areas, as they are today. The<br />

hamlets throughout the township provided<br />

the goods and services required by the<br />

local residents: grocery markets, blacksmith<br />

shop, churches and post office.<br />

At one time two covered bridges crossed<br />

Stonelick Creek along Stonelick-Williams<br />

Corner Road. One was located near St.<br />

Philomena Parish, the site of the oldest<br />

Catholic parish in the county (1839). This<br />

bridge was replaced by a camelback-through<br />

steel-truss built by the Champion Bridge<br />

Company in 1950. In 2002 this bridge was<br />

bypassed by a concrete bridge. A short way<br />

upstream a second covered bridge crosses<br />

the creek, the Stonelick Covered Bridge.<br />

This Howe truss bridge was built in 1878<br />

and is the last covered bridge in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> still standing. It was placed on the<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places in 1974.<br />

Today Stonelick Township is primarily<br />

a rural/suburban area. There are no major<br />

industries and a large percentage of the<br />

population work outside the township.<br />

OWENSVILLE ( BOSTON)<br />

By the Owensville <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

and Ron Hill<br />

Owensville was built along the<br />

Anderson State Road (now US 50) and was<br />

laid out in 1836. Cranston Lewin built the<br />

first home in 1824 and was one of the settlers<br />

who lived in the area before it was laid<br />

out. At the time it was called Boston, possibly<br />

after Boston, Massachusetts. When the<br />

post office was established in 1832, it<br />

received the name Owensville, after the<br />

postmaster William Owens. He also owned<br />

the first store in the village. The Odd<br />

Fellows Hall was later built on the site.<br />

Owensville was incorporated June 5, 1867.<br />

Owensville’s strategic location on the<br />

major road between Cincinnati and<br />

Chillicothe resulted in inns and hotels<br />

being built to accommodate the travelers.<br />

Chapter III ✦ 31


❖ Buerkle general store located on Main Street, c.<br />

1920. The IGA grocery store is now at this location.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Owensville Overall Factory workers, c. 1915.<br />

The factory was located on Broadway not far from<br />

Main street.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Owensville M. M. Dumford Store, c. 1910.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The most famous was the Boston House<br />

built in 1838. It was the first brick building<br />

in town and one of the county’s largest for<br />

many years. It was torn down in 1961. For<br />

years it housed Ulrey’s General Store.<br />

On July 14, 1863, General John Hunt<br />

Morgan and about two thousand<br />

Confederate soldiers invaded Owensville.<br />

They looted and stole horses, but no one<br />

❖ Fetter general store located on Main Street in<br />

Owensville. Note the merchandise of the time. The clerk<br />

retrieved your items. It was moved to Heritage Village<br />

in Sharon Woods Park.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

was harmed. In addition to Ulrey’s store, the<br />

rebels broke into the Methodist Episcopal<br />

Church (now the village town hall). John<br />

Pattison, who was born in Owensville and<br />

later became the governor of Ohio, was sixteen<br />

at the time and witnessed the havoc<br />

caused by the Confederates from his father’s<br />

hardware store on Main Street. Another witness<br />

was John Walter Malone who became<br />

the founder and first president of Malone<br />

College, Canton, Ohio.<br />

Today Owensville is primarily a crossroads<br />

on US 50 and SR 132. The village has<br />

a grocery store, gas station, restaurant, several<br />

small businesses, police department,<br />

retirement community (The Commons),<br />

and several churches. The St. Louis Catholic<br />

School was started in 1957. Owensville had<br />

its own fire department until 2004 when it<br />

was turned over to the township. A new station<br />

was built in 2008. In 2000 Gauche<br />

Park (9 acres) was dedicated. Not only does<br />

it provide picnic grounds, the Owensville<br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society turned the old Gauche<br />

home into a museum and located a log<br />

cabin there as part of the museum.<br />

COUNTY<br />

FAIR<br />

The first <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Agricultural<br />

Fair was held in 1849 on the Pinkham<br />

farm near Bantam. The fair was held in the<br />

Bantam area until 1857 when it moved to<br />

Olive Branch, where it was held until<br />

❖ Harness racing has been a popular event at the<br />

county fair. The county fair was moved to Boston (now<br />

Owensville) in 1864 and called the Boston Fair for<br />

many years. The fair is today a popular county event.<br />

COURTESY OF THE OWENSVILLE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society booth at<br />

the 1971 county fair. For many years the society had a<br />

booth at the fair. The Owensville <strong>Historic</strong>al Society has<br />

a display each year in their building at the fair.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

1864. In that year, twenty-three acres of<br />

land was purchased in Owensville and the<br />

fair moved to that location where it has<br />

been held continuously to this day. At one<br />

time it was called the “Boston Fair.”<br />

TATE TOWNSHIP<br />

By Terri Daughtery,<br />

Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association<br />

Tate Township lies on the eastern edge<br />

of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Brown <strong>County</strong> is to<br />

the east, Williamsburg Township to the<br />

north, Monroe to the west and Washington<br />

and Franklin to the south. SR 125 passes<br />

32 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


through the township from the northwest<br />

passing through Bethel to Brown <strong>County</strong>.<br />

SR 133 crosses the township north to<br />

south, also passing through Bethel. SR 232<br />

approaches the village from the southwest.<br />

Tate Township in the 1800s was a<br />

hunter’s paradise, but settlers soon found<br />

that the game had its drawbacks. The raccoon<br />

and opossum ate the corn, the squirrels<br />

and rabbits devoured the grain and<br />

vegetables and the wolves made raising<br />

young pigs very difficult. The backwoodsmen<br />

retaliated by eating the raccoons,<br />

opossums, rabbits and squirrels but could<br />

not stomach the wolves.<br />

Obed Denham, founder of Bethel, who<br />

for reasons unknown built his cabin a few<br />

rods outside the corner of the town he had<br />

laid out, thus became the first resident of<br />

Tate Township. The Denhams picked out<br />

and measured their land in the Virginia<br />

Military District. As a consequence of slipshod<br />

surveying there was much encroachment<br />

and overlapping among the settlers’<br />

land parcels resulting in numerous disputes<br />

and even lawsuits in later days. Those early<br />

lines with the crooked paths between cabins<br />

and settlements later became roads and<br />

account for the zigzag and irregular shapes<br />

of the townships in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Tate<br />

Township was the largest in the county and<br />

was organized August 5, 1805, but no<br />

records earlier than 1812 can be found.<br />

Township officers in 1812 were<br />

Alexander Blair, William Brown and<br />

Jeremiah Beck, Jr., trustees; John Boggess,<br />

clerk; Houton Clarke, treasurer; Samuel<br />

Beck, lister; Obed Denham, Jr., and James<br />

South, overseers of the poor; and Kelly<br />

Burke, appraiser. Samuel Beck, Jacob Frazee<br />

and John Blair were the constables. Fence<br />

viewers were John Brown and Isaac Reed.<br />

In 1826 there were 336 horses with a<br />

total value of $13,440 and 594 cattle<br />

worth $4,752 in Tate Township.<br />

In the years before the Civil War, Bethel<br />

and Tate Township were important stations<br />

on the Underground Railroad. Many fugitives<br />

from Kentucky and other parts of the<br />

south found a haven here. Simple farmers,<br />

small merchants and tradesmen gave aid, not<br />

❖ Salt Family Home on SR 222, Saltair, was built<br />

around 1826 by John Salt. He was a trader and it is<br />

recorded that he made 52 trips to New Orleans by<br />

flatboat, returning 13 times by foot. The house is on the<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

as by prearranged plan, but as the occasion<br />

arose. Those most active were the Rileys,<br />

Benjamin Rice, Richard Mace, Isaac H.<br />

Brown and the Robert Fee family of Moscow.<br />

In the various settlements of Tate<br />

Township, schools almost immediately<br />

sprang up for the youth. There were thirteen<br />

schools operating at the turn of century<br />

in Tate Township. The “automobile age” and<br />

changing state laws brought the demise of<br />

the “one room school” and by 1936 all one<br />

room schools had been sold to individuals.<br />

Up through the 1980s all school buses in<br />

the district were numbered corresponding<br />

to the one-room school numbers from<br />

which the students came.<br />

After WWII, A. A. Brown and other<br />

local people established the Bethel<br />

Airport east of Bethel. Many veterans of<br />

WWII used the G.I. Bill to obtain flying<br />

lessons at the airport. By the mid 1950s<br />

the airport declined to the point that is<br />

was closed. Mr. Brown then used the two<br />

runways as streets for a residential subdivision<br />

with one of the streets being<br />

Runway Ave. The old hangar and control<br />

tower are now a manufacturing plant.<br />

The Archie Lee Boyce American Legion<br />

Post 406 was chartered on March 13, 1920.<br />

The Post was named in honor of the first<br />

serviceman from Bethel killed in WWI.<br />

One thing aiding in the growth of Tate<br />

Township and the southern part of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> has been the Tate-<br />

Monroe Water System. Tate-Monroe is a<br />

non-profit member-owned system. This<br />

❖ Old Bethel Church located in East Fork State<br />

Park near Bantam. It began as a log cabin in 1805. The<br />

current building was built in 1818 and remodeled in<br />

1867. U. S. Grant’s maternal grandparents, John and<br />

Hannah Simpson, are buried in the adjacent cemetery.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

water project was a “first” both in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and the State of Ohio,<br />

in that the state invested funds by completely<br />

underwriting a local water system<br />

that was privately owned (1969).<br />

The Bethel-Tate Fire Department records<br />

tell us that Bethel purchased the first<br />

pumper in 1900. In those early days neighbors,<br />

friends and anyone passing by a fire<br />

became a firefighter. On December 8, 1947,<br />

the village and township signed a contract<br />

for reciprocal fire fighting. On November 3,<br />

1959, Chief Harold “Heck” Brooks died<br />

tragically at the scene of a fire. To this day he<br />

is the only firefighter from <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

to die in the line of duty. In January 1985 the<br />

Department installed a sliding pole from the<br />

second floor to the apparatus bay. This pole<br />

is the only sliding fire pole in the county. In<br />

1986 the department bought back the 1925<br />

Dodge fire truck they sold in 1954. The<br />

truck has been completely restored to its<br />

original condition. No tax monies were used<br />

for the restoration. It is on display at the firehouse<br />

and is used for parades.<br />

BETHEL<br />

By Terri Daughtery,<br />

Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association<br />

It was late in the summer of 1797 when<br />

Obed and Mary Denham spread their<br />

Chapter III ✦ 33


❖ The house was built in 1821-23 by William<br />

Thompson at 133 South Main Street. Thompson was<br />

noted for doing away with practices such as purgation,<br />

bloodletting, and the use of mercury. His son Dr.<br />

William Eberle Thompson(1835-1940), lived in the<br />

house and had his office there. He lived to the age of<br />

104 and was still practicing when he died in 1940. W.<br />

E. Thompson was active in the Underground Railroad.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

blankets at the foot of a big beech tree on<br />

the banks of Town Run and thus became<br />

the first permanent settlers in Tate<br />

Township and the founders of Bethel.<br />

Obed had bought fifteen hundred acres of<br />

ground in the part of the Virginia military<br />

lands which was to become <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. The land had cost him “sevenquarters<br />

of a dollar per acre.”<br />

Obed Denham had great aspirations for<br />

Denhamstown as it was originally called.<br />

The town’s name later was changed to<br />

Plainfield and then to Bethel. He donated<br />

lots for a public square, a Regular Baptist<br />

Church (“because they do not hold slaves<br />

or commune at the Lord’s table with those<br />

that do practice such tyranny over their<br />

fellow creatures’) and “an English School.”<br />

Bethel was incorporated into a village<br />

on March 20, 1851, after more than a<br />

half-century under township jurisdiction.<br />

Jesse R. Grant, father of Ulysses, was the<br />

first mayor.<br />

Bethel was the site of a trial for witchcraft<br />

in the early 1800s. Nancy Evans was<br />

accused of being a witch and weighed<br />

against a bible. She was cleared of the<br />

witchcraft charge.<br />

One of the earliest main lines of the<br />

Underground Railroad ran through<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> via Felicity, Bethel,<br />

and Williamsburg.<br />

The biggest business ever in Bethel<br />

until 1863 was operated by Joe Clare. He<br />

made saddle trees and employed fifty<br />

men. The Clare plant was changed to a<br />

chair factory in 1880.<br />

In 1852 John Goodwin built a sawmill<br />

and two years later added a gristmill. In<br />

1858 they were both destroyed by fire but<br />

were rebuilt in the same year, adding a<br />

three-story gristmill, grinding both grist and<br />

flour. In 1927 the Ohio Farm Bureau purchased<br />

the mill and sold it to the <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> Farm Bureau in 1934. Allen Lee<br />

Harris was employed by the organization<br />

for forty-nine years. In 1984, Susan Reeves<br />

purchased the property and today (2010)<br />

operates the only full service feed mill and<br />

farm supply store in the Bethel area. Bethel<br />

Feed & Supply is one of the oldest continuously<br />

operating businesses in the village.<br />

Bethel was home to William Thompson<br />

who died in Bethel at the age of 104. He<br />

was the oldest practicing physician in the<br />

United States at that time.<br />

In 1923, Edmund Glenn Burke made a<br />

bequest to his hometown by buying up<br />

twelve acres of land to be used as a park<br />

and ball fields. The CCC 528 Camp was<br />

located here in 1933 and helped build<br />

many of the improvements in Burke Park.<br />

Alfred Palmer Gatts was born in Bethel<br />

in 1883. He designed and built several of<br />

the buildings in Bethel. In his shop he<br />

built 5 of his Gatts Auto Buggies. One of<br />

them is in the National Automobile<br />

❖ Plane Street Bethel 1998. Shown is the Midway<br />

Theater, one of the last small town theaters in Ohio. It<br />

closed in 2010.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Camp 528<br />

located in Burke Park, 1936.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Museum (The Harrah Collection) in Reno,<br />

Nevada. Henry Ford tried to persuade him<br />

to come to Detroit to work for him.<br />

Bethel’s first and only woman industrialist<br />

was Edith H. South, founder of the<br />

“Sunny South Shoe Factory,” making<br />

infant shoes. The shoe factory prospered<br />

for sixteen years. It was later turned over<br />

to a pants factory and was still in<br />

operation as such in 1948, with D. R.<br />

South as proprietor.<br />

For over seventy years the Hewett family<br />

have provided Bethel with first run movies.<br />

In 1937 Earl Hewett opened the new, modern<br />

Midway Theater building. After three<br />

generations of ownership Debbie Hewett-<br />

Brooks and family members sold the<br />

Midway in late 2009. Debbie still operates<br />

the Starlite Drive-In theater, one of the few<br />

remaining drive-in movie theaters in Ohio,<br />

just west of the township line.<br />

❖ Bethel Feed Mill at 528 West Main Street. It was<br />

in operation by John Goodwin at least as early as 1824<br />

as a flour and grist mill. In 1927 the Ohio Farm Bureau<br />

purchased and operated the business until 1934 when<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Farm Bureau (CCFBC) took over.<br />

In the 1960’s CCFBC became Landmark. The mill is<br />

still in operation.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

34 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Cincinnati Shoe Factory, Northwest Corner<br />

South and Union Streets. The factory began in 1896.<br />

It operated through the first quarter of the<br />

twentieth century.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The Bethel-Tate Alumni Association is<br />

thought to be one of the oldest active continuously<br />

meeting high school alumni associations<br />

in Ohio. They were organized in<br />

1899 and have met every year since then.<br />

In the early 1970s the Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al<br />

Association was formed. They currently<br />

have two rooms in the Grant Memorial<br />

Building to display information about the<br />

community and its residents. The smaller<br />

of the two rooms holds information about<br />

local military involvement.<br />

Labeled a fool by nearly everyone,<br />

Steven Newman set out on April 1, 1983,<br />

to walk solo around the world. Steve was<br />

welcomed home having completed his task<br />

on April 1, 1987. Mr. Newman is listed in<br />

the Guinness Book of World Records as the<br />

only person to have walked solo around<br />

the world.<br />

The idea of a walk path was initiated<br />

by the Bethel Lions Club in the early<br />

1990s. The walk/bike path was completed<br />

in 1997 and provides a path 1.27 miles<br />

long and seven feet wide for the enjoyment<br />

of everyone in the community.<br />

UNION TOWNSHIP<br />

By Rick Grgetic,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Union Township was established in<br />

1811. It was formed from the western part<br />

of Ohio Township and contains 32.8<br />

square miles. Its boundaries are the East<br />

Fork River at the north, the Hamilton<br />

<strong>County</strong> line at the west, Pierce Township to<br />

the south and Batavia Township to the east.<br />

Union Township is the most populous<br />

of the 14 townships in the county, with<br />

approximately 48,000 residents, but it<br />

does not have any incorporated municipalities.<br />

Its many early settlements laid<br />

the groundwork for its growth in the last<br />

two centuries.<br />

Its first community was Withamsville, in<br />

the southwest, Ohio Pike, area of the township.<br />

It was settled by Reverend Maurice<br />

Witham in 1800. Reverend Witham was<br />

the leader of a group of Baptists who located<br />

here from New England.<br />

Nearby, the community of Tobasco was<br />

established. It was supposedly named by a<br />

local grocer, after a city in Mexico. The land<br />

was first purchased by Daniel Durham.<br />

The Mount Moriah Methodist Church<br />

was organized in 1835, and in 1842 the<br />

Mt. Moriah Chapel was built in Tobasco.<br />

The Mt. Moriah Cemetery is adjacent and<br />

has been enlarged to over 50 acres.<br />

Mount Carmel was never “laid out” but<br />

was described as a “long, straggling village”<br />

at the western edge of the township.<br />

It developed soon after the township’s first<br />

marked road, Donnel’s Trace, was laid out<br />

by John Donnel in 1797. Its early settlers<br />

include John Rose in 1796, at Rose Hill,<br />

Timothy Day, and James Phillips.<br />

Summerside grew up on Donnel’s<br />

Trace, around an inn owned by Jacob<br />

Whetson about 1799. It was originally<br />

East Mt. Carmel, and known as Henpeck,<br />

but was changed to Summerside by vote<br />

of the residents when the first post office<br />

was established.<br />

Tealtown was a small community first<br />

settled by Jacob Teal and Joseph Avey.<br />

Later, the nearby area of Glen Este was<br />

an early farm owned by Daniel Este of<br />

Mt. Carmel.<br />

Mathias Kugler established the small<br />

community of East Liberty, at the site of<br />

the first mill in the township.<br />

Throughout the 19th century and into<br />

the 20th, Union Township was primarily<br />

a farming region, with the business interests<br />

to support agriculture and travel.<br />

❖ The Tobasco General Store in 1913. Henry<br />

Gaskins, the owner, is pictured at the right.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Very few records were preserved of the<br />

earliest public schools. In 1853, there were<br />

eight school sub-districts recorded in the<br />

township. Districts 6 and 9 joined together<br />

in 1866 to create the Mt. Carmel Special<br />

School District. This allowed the creation of<br />

a high school, which opened around 1866<br />

and operated until 1913. After that, high<br />

school students were assigned to schools in<br />

surrounding communities. The Union Rural<br />

School District was formed in 1919. There<br />

was much protest by residents about local<br />

schools closing and merging. Two districts<br />

were then created: the Glen Este-Mt. Carmel<br />

district and the Withamsville-Tobasco district.<br />

Ultimately, the districts were combined<br />

with part of Amelia, and became the West<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> School District in 1957.<br />

Rail transportation crossed the township<br />

by the late nineteenth century. Rail<br />

lines included the Cincinnati & Eastern in<br />

the south, the Interurban Railway &<br />

Terminal Co., and the Cincinnati,<br />

Georgetown & Portsmouth Railroad. By<br />

1936 all rail lines had ceased local service.<br />

The Cincinnati-Batavia Pike was opened<br />

in 1797. It was a portion of the first road to<br />

go from Cincinnati to Chillicothe, which<br />

Chapter III ✦ 35


❖ Eastgate Mall in 1980 looking east. I 275 and SR<br />

32 intersection is in the lower right hand corner. In later<br />

years additional shopping areas were constructed to the<br />

east and across SR 32 to the south. By 2010 area<br />

surrounding the mall had been developed.<br />

COURTESY OF ALMA SMITH.<br />

was the capital of the Northwest Territory.<br />

The road was vital to the development of<br />

the township. In 1955 Batavia Pike (SR 74)<br />

became four lanes. Part of the road later<br />

became SR 32 upon the completion of the<br />

Appalachian Highway from Newtown to<br />

Athens, Ohio.<br />

The Ohio Turnpike Company was<br />

incorporated in 1831. It was intended to<br />

reach from the Beechmont Levee in<br />

Cincinnati to Portsmouth, but the Ohio<br />

Pike only reached Bethel.<br />

The township burgeoned only in the late<br />

twentieth century, with the development of<br />

modern highways. In 1956, funds were<br />

approved for the improvement of SR 125<br />

into a four-lane highway from the east to<br />

Amelia. The portion of I-275 between SR 32<br />

and SR 125 (Ohio Pike) was opened in<br />

1971. With the completion of I-275 in<br />

1979, Union Township became easily accessible<br />

from all areas of Greater Cincinnati.<br />

The accessibility by highway became<br />

the driving force for the township’s development.<br />

Eastgate Mall was built on land<br />

purchased from the Aicholtz farm, and<br />

opened in 1980 amid much fanfare,<br />

drawing 250,000 visitors in its opening<br />

weekend. Subsequent development made<br />

the Eastgate area a retail mecca for the<br />

area. Business and light industrial development<br />

also accelerated in the township,<br />

particularly the western portion between<br />

Ohio Pike (SR125) and SR 32.<br />

Cincinnati Nature Center is a park of<br />

over five hundred acres in the northwestern<br />

portion of the township. Carl Krippendorf<br />

bought acreage in 1898 near the farm where<br />

he had spent time as a child, called Lob’s<br />

Woods. He built his lodge in 1899. He collected<br />

and planted flowers from around the<br />

world. In 1966 Rosan Krippendorf Adams,<br />

sold it to the non-profit CNC, which was<br />

started by businessman Stanley Rowe and<br />

naturalist Karl Maslowski.<br />

Veterans Park on Glen Este-<br />

Withamsville Road is the best known of<br />

four public parks. It was dedicated in<br />

1986, and features a war memorial with a<br />

Vietnam-era helicopter. In addition to<br />

recreational facilities, it has been used for<br />

many public displays and tributes.<br />

The Union Township Civic Center on<br />

Aicholtz Road was opened in 2004, and<br />

holds administrative offices and public<br />

services, meeting rooms, gymnasium, and<br />

an outdoor amphitheater.<br />

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP<br />

By Tom Dix,<br />

Former Trustee, Washington Township<br />

Washington Township lies in the<br />

southern part of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The<br />

Ohio River marks its southern border;<br />

Monroe Township is to the northwest,<br />

Tate Township to the northeast and<br />

Franklin Township to the east. US 52 follows<br />

the Iroquois Trail along the Ohio<br />

River. It has also been known as the A&P<br />

Highway because it stretched from the<br />

Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean. SRs<br />

❖ The tollhouse at the corner of Batavia Pike (old<br />

SR 74) and Mt. Carmel-Tobasco Road. The charge was<br />

two cents for a horse and buggy and one cent for a<br />

horse and rider. It closed around 1911.<br />

COURTESY OF ALMA SMITH.<br />

❖ Zimmer Power Plant under construction near<br />

Moscow. The station began operation in 1991. It was<br />

the first nuclear-to-coal converted facility in the world.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

756 and 743 cross the township and were<br />

made state highways in the 1950s.<br />

From the earliest inhabitants, prehistoric<br />

Indians, to the present day the rich history<br />

of the township has been inextricably tied<br />

to the ebb and flow of the Ohio River.<br />

Before the days of roads, the river served as<br />

the main means of transportation. The two<br />

villages in the township, Moscow and<br />

Neville, were established on the river to take<br />

advantage of river commerce.<br />

One of the first settlements was the<br />

Wood and Manning Station (c. 1795). It<br />

was a double log cabin surrounded by a<br />

stockade. Many of the members of the<br />

station are buried in the Wood Cemetery<br />

on Turkey Foot Road.<br />

The Buchanan Farm located on SR 743<br />

was settled by William Buchanan in 1795.<br />

When Indians were spotted the family fled<br />

to the Wood and Manning Station. The<br />

original log cabin was replaced in the 1820s.<br />

The site is now owned by Duke Energy and<br />

used as part of the Zimmer Plant.<br />

The Capt. Anthony C. Meldahl Locks<br />

and Dam, which control the level of the<br />

Ohio River for navigation purposes, are<br />

located east of Neville. Construction began<br />

in 1957 and was completed in 1964.<br />

The Zimmer Generating Plant, near<br />

Moscow, was planned as a nuclear facility<br />

when construction began in 1971. Several<br />

electrical companies share ownership of the<br />

plant. New requirements by the Nuclear<br />

Regulatory Commission in 1979 for nuclear<br />

36 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Memorial Highway, SR 756, in honor of the<br />

National Guard unit’s service in Iraq and Afghanistan.<br />

COURTESY OF PATSY SHIVELEY.<br />

plants lead to the decision in 1984 to convert<br />

the facility to a coal fired plant. The plant<br />

began commercial operation in 1991 with a<br />

capacity of fourteen hundred megawatts of<br />

electricity. The stack for the plant is 573 feet<br />

tall with a diameter of 62 feet. The waste<br />

product from the burning of the coal, a mixture<br />

of fly ash and lime, is disposed of in a<br />

landfill located in the township. The Zimmer<br />

Plant is the major employer of the township<br />

and a major source of tax dollars.<br />

The two sites of the Cold War<br />

Nike/Hercules Missile Bases were constructed<br />

in 1958. Located on Fruit Ridge Road<br />

were the officers’ quarters, barracks, and<br />

radar towers and on Neville-Penn<br />

Schoolhouse Road the missile storage and<br />

launch area. The Hercules missiles were surface-to-air<br />

defense weapons. After the Missile<br />

Base closed, the Ohio National Guard (1965)<br />

used the site until it closed in 2000.<br />

Besides the villages of Moscow and<br />

Neville, the small hamlet of Point Isabel lies<br />

in the northeast corner of the township. In<br />

the late 1880s it had a saw and grist mill,<br />

blacksmith shop, wagon making shop, and<br />

general merchandising store. Only a few<br />

houses remain today. The township<br />

remains primarily rural and rustic.<br />

MOSCOW<br />

By The Village of Moscow<br />

Planning Commission<br />

The Village of Moscow had its plat<br />

recorded in 1816 by Owen Davis. The<br />

name of Moscow may have come from the<br />

officers of Napoleon’s army who fled to<br />

the United States after his defeat at the<br />

Russian city of that name.<br />

Underground Railroad activities were<br />

strong in the village before the Civil War.<br />

Robert and Thomas Fee were<br />

Underground Railroad conductors and<br />

their homes were hiding places for fugitives<br />

who crossed the Ohio River from<br />

Pendleton <strong>County</strong>, Kentucky. The “candle<br />

in the second story window” was a signal<br />

that it was clear to cross the river to freedom.<br />

Thomas Fee’s home, Fee Villa on<br />

Water Street remains today. It is located<br />

above the old Moscow wharf which today<br />

is the public boat ramp. The cobblestones,<br />

still visible today, were put in<br />

place in 1882.<br />

From 1829 to 1839 the Moscow Union<br />

School was in a log building. In 1853 state<br />

law required each township to sub-divide<br />

its schools into numbered districts. The<br />

Moscow Seminary opened in 1844 at the<br />

location of the present Masonic Lodge.<br />

The Moscow school, as known today, was<br />

built in 1932 and closed in 1980. This<br />

structure is currently used as the River<br />

Hills Community Center. The school<br />

alumni return each spring for a dinner.<br />

The swinging bridge that crossed<br />

Ryan’s Run, on the southern boundary of<br />

the village, was a landmark.<br />

Blue Lick (sulfa) Well, a glass factory,<br />

pork packers, lumber yard, barber shop,<br />

blacksmith, ice cream parlor, undertaker,<br />

tin shop, drug store, flour mill, distilling<br />

and milling, tailor shop, millinery/hatter,<br />

physicians, grocer, shoe shop, harness<br />

shop, sawmill, box manufacturing,<br />

❖ Moscow School, built in 1932, was closed in 1980.<br />

The River Hills Community Center was using the<br />

building in 2009.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Third Street in Moscow with the cooling tower of<br />

the Zimmer Power Plant in the background.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

saloon, hotel, hospital/cancer clinic, hardware<br />

store, movie (5 cents for silent<br />

movies), car dealer, and churches all were<br />

sources of business and family activities<br />

in the village in the early years. The packet<br />

boats cruising up and down the Ohio<br />

River were the primary mode of transportation<br />

until major improvements in<br />

the roads were made.<br />

The Zimmer Plant, which looms over<br />

the village, made a significant economic<br />

impact on the village when it was constructed<br />

in 1971.<br />

NEVILLE<br />

By Janet Blackburn<br />

Neville is the site of the first survey in<br />

the Virginia Military District of Ohio.<br />

John O’Bannon surveyed a tract of 1,400<br />

acres in 1787 for Col. John Neville. The<br />

village is the oldest in Washington<br />

Township and one of the oldest in the<br />

county. It was laid out in 1808. It originally<br />

contained a little more than 45<br />

acres, one acre of which was reserved for<br />

a public square.<br />

In the 1800s there were many businesses<br />

in the village such as a cut nail factory,<br />

caster oil mill, furniture manufacturing,<br />

and wagon factory. For many years<br />

stogie cigars were manufactured. Over the<br />

years there were many more businesses,<br />

but none remain today.<br />

In the 1800s Neville had a population<br />

of 500. By 2009 it had about 130 residents.<br />

Neville was once an Ohio River<br />

port used by packet boats to ship goods<br />

Chapter III ✦ 37


❖ Neville School (1883) was a two-story, eightgrade<br />

school. It ceased classes in 1953. The structure<br />

caught fire in 1984 and was torn down.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

to and from the surrounding area in both<br />

Ohio and Kentucky. A ferry connected<br />

Neville and Foster, Kentucky.<br />

Decades of flood waters have washed<br />

away countless homes in Neville, washing<br />

out families and most businesses, most<br />

recently in 1997. The water didn’t rise as<br />

high as the 1937 flood, but proved devastating<br />

to the village. A new federal program<br />

required residents to meet new flood control<br />

building requirements to rebuild.<br />

Residents also were offered an opportunity<br />

to sell their property to the government.<br />

Half of the residents chose the buy-out.<br />

The children of Neville attended the<br />

Neville Rural School located at Forest<br />

Street and Neville Penn Schoolhouse<br />

Road, where grades 1-8 were taught. The<br />

school closed after the 1952-1953 school<br />

year. All students from that point on<br />

❖ Dressed up for the Edenton Centennial<br />

Celebration in 1937.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

attended the Moscow School or Felicity<br />

Franklin School. The Neville School<br />

building caught fire in 1979 and was<br />

repaired. The building caught fire again in<br />

1984. It was condemned and torn down.<br />

Following the flood of 1997 and the<br />

federal government buying property in<br />

the floodplain, a public boat ramp was<br />

built in the village, which has proved to<br />

be popular with fishermen and boaters.<br />

The village also received a grant to build<br />

a park adjacent to US 52, which has been<br />

named Riverview Park.<br />

In 2008 the village celebrated its<br />

bicentennial with a festival. Many former<br />

Neville families were reunited at the<br />

event. A history of the village was written<br />

to coincide with the festival.<br />

WAYNE TOWNSHIP<br />

By Ron Hill,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Wayne Township is located in the<br />

northeastern corner of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

Warren and Clinton Counties are to the<br />

north and Brown <strong>County</strong> to the east.<br />

Jackson Township lies to the south,<br />

Stonelick Township to the southwest and<br />

Goshen Township to the west. SR 727<br />

crosses from the southwest to northeast<br />

ending in Edenton. SR 131 crosses the<br />

southwest corner passing through<br />

Newtonsville. SR 133 follows the route of<br />

the Bullskin Trace (also known as the<br />

Xenia State Road) south-north to Edenton,<br />

then northeast to Clinton <strong>County</strong>.<br />

Stonelick Creek crosses the township.<br />

Several mills were built along its banks in<br />

the early years of the township. In 1949 a<br />

dam was built across Stonelick Creek to<br />

form a 200 acre lake. In 1950 the lake<br />

and an additional 1,058 acres became<br />

Stonelick State Park with a beach, camping<br />

and hiking trails.<br />

The land in the township is generally<br />

level and ideal for farming. In 1881 the<br />

township had 8,220 acres in cultivation,<br />

1,416 in pasture and 3,344 in woodland.<br />

The principal crops were wheat, corn and<br />

potatoes. Other crops grown were apples,<br />

❖ The Cincinnati, Milford & Loveland Traction<br />

Company depot in Edenton.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

peaches, pears, cherries, hay and tobacco.<br />

The dairies produced 39,035 pounds of<br />

butter. The primary crops today are corn<br />

and soybeans.<br />

The township has two villages, Edenton<br />

laid out in 1837 and Newtonsville in 1838.<br />

The two villages developed as centers for<br />

the local agricultural communities. In early<br />

times they had a blacksmith shop, wagon<br />

and carriage shop, cooper, general merchandise<br />

store, saddle and harness makers<br />

and a hotel. The major industry in Edenton<br />

was a hame factory. In 1870 a chair factory<br />

opened in Newtonsville, but burned down<br />

in the 1880s. A post office was established<br />

in Newtonsville in 1845 and in Edenton in<br />

1841. Edenton put up a fight in 1968 to<br />

save its post office, but lost. Clara Simons<br />

was the last postmaster.<br />

Passing through Edenton is the Bullskin<br />

Trace or Xenia State Road. Edenton has<br />

always embraced this famous road. In<br />

1927 a stone monument in the shape of an<br />

obelisk was dedicated at the site of the<br />

road. Over a thousand people attended a<br />

celebration in 1928 commemorating the<br />

sesquicentennial of Daniel Boone’s passing<br />

down the road after escaping from the<br />

Shawnee Indians. The <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Bicentennial Committee placed a historical<br />

marker at the site in 2000.<br />

The Cincinnati, Milford & Loveland<br />

Traction Company (CM&L) reached<br />

Blanchester in 1906. The line passed<br />

through Newtonsville and Edenton. It<br />

offered the citizens good transportation to<br />

Milford, Cincinnati and Blanchester.<br />

38 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Students in Edenton took the CM&L to<br />

school in Blanchester. Just outside<br />

Newtonsville was Woodland Park, a popular<br />

recreation area for Cincinnatians who<br />

came by the traction line. The creamery<br />

and tomato cannery in Newtonsville<br />

depended on the CM&L for supplies and<br />

shipments. Both closed when the CM&L<br />

ceased operation in 1926.<br />

Edenton has been associated with<br />

Blanchester in Clinton <strong>County</strong>, the nearest<br />

commercial center. For years Edenton<br />

School #4, a two-story brick building,<br />

located at the intersection of Routes 133<br />

and 727 served the community. This structure<br />

was replaced in 1917 by a school<br />

building that stands to this day. In 1959 the<br />

school consolidated with the Blanchester<br />

School system and the Edenton School<br />

closed. Newtonsville consolidated with the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Northeastern School District.<br />

The citizens of Edenton were active in<br />

the temperance movement. In 1906 the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Eighth Annual<br />

Convention of the Woman’s Christian<br />

Temperance Union was held in Edenton.<br />

In May 1928 nearly a thousand people<br />

attended a service at the grave site of two<br />

unknown soldiers of General Wayne’s army<br />

(1793) who died while camped at “Slab’s<br />

Camp” (near the junction of Routes 131<br />

and 133). In 1930 the Edenton Willing<br />

Workers and Blanchester Daughters of the<br />

American Revolution dedicated a stone<br />

❖ Newtonsville Odd Fellows Hall. A store was on<br />

the ground level and the Odd Fellows met on the<br />

second floor.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

monument at the site. The <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Committee placed a<br />

historical marker at the site in 2000.<br />

On March 4, 1928, a fire threatened<br />

Edenton. Two homes, the post office and<br />

a blacksmith shop were destroyed.<br />

WILLIAMSBURG<br />

TOWNSHIP<br />

By Ron Hill,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Williamsburg Township is located in<br />

the eastern part of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The<br />

original size of the township was much<br />

larger, but has diminished in size over the<br />

years to form Tate, Batavia, and Jackson<br />

Townships and part of Brown <strong>County</strong>.<br />

Brown <strong>County</strong> lies to the east, Tate<br />

Township to the south, Batavia Township<br />

to the west and Jackson to the north. The<br />

4-lane Appalachian Highway (SR 32)<br />

crosses east-west across the township just<br />

north of Williamsburg, the only village. SR<br />

133, which follows the old Bullskin Trail,<br />

travels north-south and passes through the<br />

village. Hamlets in the township are Afton,<br />

Concord, and Hennings Mill. Hennings<br />

Mill developed when a chair factory was<br />

established there and later a woolen mill.<br />

Both burned in 1872.<br />

The East Fork of the Little Miami River<br />

passes through the village and then follows<br />

a course in a southwesterly direction. The<br />

East Fork was the site of several mills along<br />

its course. The most unusual was Tunnel<br />

Mill (1840s) located south of Williamsburg.<br />

The river makes a horseshoe bend at this<br />

point. A tunnel was driven through the hillside<br />

from one section of the river to a lower<br />

section. Water passing through the tunnel<br />

powered the mill. Parts of the tunnel<br />

entrance can be seen today.<br />

During the Ohio Bicentennial (2003) a<br />

barn in each Ohio <strong>County</strong> was painted<br />

with the bicentennial logo. The Snell barn<br />

located on the southeast corner of SR 32<br />

and McKeever Pike was selected for<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

The construction of Harsha Lake and<br />

the surrounding East Fork State Park took<br />

❖ <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Barn located on<br />

McKeever Pike and US 32, Williamsburg. During<br />

Ohio’s Bicentennial, a barn in each of Ohio’s 88 counties<br />

was painted with the Bicentennial Logo. The Lucy &<br />

Charles Snell barn was selected. The logo was dedicated<br />

September 11, 2001. Pictured is the artist Scott Hagan.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Lytle Dairy House is one of the oldest structures<br />

in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, built around 1800, located at the<br />

homestead, Harmony Hill, of William Lytle “the Father<br />

of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.” The building was renovated in<br />

1999. Pictured is the dedication ceremony.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

5,245 acres of the township in the 1970s.<br />

The remaining part of the township is utilized<br />

for farming and residential housing.<br />

The township doesn’t have a significant<br />

commercial or industrial base.<br />

WILLIAMSBURG VILLAGE<br />

By Julia Liggett Hess,<br />

Harmony Hill Association<br />

No man was more widely known or had<br />

more to do with the opening of <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> for settlement than Gen. William<br />

Lytle, known as the “Father of <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>.” Lytle was a surveyor for the<br />

Chapter III ✦ 39


greater part of his life, and he entered and<br />

located more lands in Ohio than any other<br />

surveyor. In November 1795 he began a<br />

survey of 1,500 acres formally known as<br />

the DeBenneville Survey, no. 2810.<br />

While engaged in locating military warrants<br />

in the county, Gen. Lytle was struck<br />

by the possibilities of his survey in what is<br />

now the Williamsburg region. He decided<br />

that of all the spots he had visited, this area<br />

around the East Fork of the Little Miami<br />

River held the most promise for the site of<br />

a village. Acting upon this, he platted the<br />

village of Williamsburg, which he called<br />

Lytle’s Town (Lytletown), on the<br />

DeBenneville Survey. His brother John<br />

assisted him and spent the winter of 1795<br />

at what is now called Williamsburg.<br />

The village of Williamsburg was situated<br />

on an elevated tract of land in a bend<br />

of the East Fork of the Little Miami River.<br />

The waterpower of the river and its tributaries<br />

were used to run mill wheels to<br />

grind wheat to flour, corn to meal, and to<br />

operate the sawmills.<br />

The village plat included 500 in-lots,<br />

each 33 yards by 66 yards. Out-lots of 4<br />

acres were located on the west side of the<br />

village proper. A public square of 12 lots,<br />

about 2.25 acres, was set aside for county<br />

buildings. The old Williamsburg School<br />

(1923) is currently on this site.<br />

Williamsburg was established as the territorial<br />

seat on December 6, 1800, when<br />

the county was created. Governor St. Clair<br />

strengthened William Lytle’s influence by<br />

❖ Williamsburg Saw Mill-Located at Fourth and Walnut.<br />

COURTESY OF THE HARMONY HILL ASSOCIATION.<br />

appointing him prothonotary (clerk of<br />

courts). Thomas Morris agreed to furnish<br />

quarters for the new court at a cost of twenty<br />

dollars per year. His house, located on<br />

North Broadway, consisted of a one-story<br />

log cabin (used as the courtroom) joined by<br />

two other cabins, one of which was used as<br />

the jail, and the other as a hotel. The first<br />

courthouse (1805) constructed specifically<br />

for that purpose was built on the public<br />

square. A jail, clerk’s and auditor’s office<br />

were also erected, and a whipping post.<br />

The materials and labor were, in large part,<br />

donated by the people of Williamsburg.<br />

When the county seat was moved to New<br />

Richmond (1823) the townspeople took<br />

possession of the buildings and used them<br />

for public purposes for many years.<br />

In 1863 the Civil War left its mark on<br />

Williamsburg. On July 14, General John<br />

Morgan, of the Confederate Army, and his<br />

men set up his headquarters at the Kain<br />

house on the northwest corner of Main and<br />

Third Streets. It is believed he stayed in the<br />

home that was located on the northwest<br />

corner of Main and Broadway. His troops<br />

bivouacked in the village and adjacent<br />

fields. Morgan moved out of Williamsburg<br />

the next morning over what is now SR 133<br />

and burned the bridge that spanned the<br />

East Fork River. He took time to carve “John<br />

Morgan, July 14, 1863, 3,000 men” on the<br />

doorstep of one of the houses. This inscription<br />

can see be seen along Main Street.<br />

In the earliest days the East Fork River<br />

was crossed by crudely made ferries or by<br />

❖ Williamsburg Chair Factory, 1938.<br />

COURTESY OF THE HARMONY HILL ASSOCIATION.<br />

fording. Later a rope ferry connected the<br />

eastern end of Gay Street to the opposite<br />

bank. The first bridge (1843), near the<br />

east end of Main Street, was constructed<br />

with two spans. It was destroyed by a<br />

flood in 1859. It was replaced by a one<br />

span bridge in 1860, which Morgan<br />

burned. It was replaced by a wooden covered<br />

bridge which stood until the current<br />

bridge was built in 1935.<br />

The Williamsburg School built in 1860<br />

burned down in 1922. It was replaced by<br />

a new school on the public square in 1923<br />

and remodeled in 1939. A new elementary<br />

school was built at High and Spring<br />

Streets and a new middle and high school<br />

(1996) off Old SR 32 south of the village.<br />

Williamsburg was the commercial center<br />

of eastern <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> for many years.<br />

The village had general merchant stores, a<br />

meat market, grocery stores, hardware<br />

store, banks, furniture store, cafes, etc.<br />

Some of the industries were gristmills, a<br />

chair factory, a cannery, shoe company,<br />

broom factory, and a creamery. The<br />

Cincinnati & Eastern Railroad (later to<br />

become the Norfolk and Southern) arrived<br />

in Williamsburg in 1877. It provided a link<br />

to the outside world for isolated rural areas.<br />

Passenger service ended in 1971 and freight<br />

service in 1975. As of 2003 the railroad no<br />

longer connects Cincinnati and Portsmouth<br />

and only provides services to Winchester.<br />

In 2005 the National Arbor Day<br />

Foundation designated Williamsburg a<br />

“Tree City USA.” A bike-hike trail is being<br />

constructed (2009) between Williamsburg<br />

and Batavia, passing through East Fork<br />

State Park.<br />

40 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


CHAPTER IV<br />

T RANSPORTATION<br />

B Y R ON H ILL, CLERMONT C OUNTY H ISTORICAL S OCIETY<br />

BULLSKIN<br />

TRACE<br />

The earliest “roads” in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> were traces made by the hoofs of<br />

animals and footsteps of Native Americans.<br />

The most significant trace in the county<br />

was the Bullskin, also known as the Xenia<br />

Trace. The Bullskin entered Ohio from<br />

Kentucky and passed through the center of<br />

the Shawnee Nation to Chalahgawtha<br />

(near Xenia), the principal village of the<br />

Shawnee in the 1770s and 1780s.<br />

The Bullskin Trace enters <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> at the point where the Bullskin<br />

Creek enters the Ohio River (a good fording<br />

point across the Ohio River in early<br />

times) near Rural (the hamlet was<br />

destroyed in the 1913 flood). It follows an<br />

alignment of present day SR 133 passing<br />

through Felicity, Bethel, Williamsburg<br />

and Edenton. It exits the county northeast<br />

of the village of Edenton.<br />

In prehistoric times it was used as a<br />

path to the Great Salt Licks located in<br />

❖ The stone monument shown in the background<br />

commemorates the Bullskin Trace. It was constructed by<br />

William Blanchard from stones collected by residents of<br />

Wayne Township. It was dedicated in 1927 by the<br />

Willing Workers and others of Edenton and the<br />

Blanchester D.A.R. It is located just east of Edenton on<br />

SR 133. The <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Committee<br />

placed the <strong>Historic</strong>al Marker in 2000.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Kentucky. The trail was shared by large<br />

game animals and the various Native<br />

American cultures which inhabited the<br />

area. The landing site at the mouth of<br />

Bullskin Creek served as a debarking point<br />

for many settlers. The trace served as a<br />

route to the interior of the county and, as a<br />

result, the development of the villages<br />

along it. As the settlers infiltrated the area<br />

the trace was improved and became a road.<br />

The trace was used by Daniel Boone on<br />

his escape from the Shawnee at<br />

Chalahgawtha in 1778. During the Indian<br />

Wars (1793), a vanguard of Gen. Anthony<br />

Wayne’s army moved up the trace and<br />

had a skirmish with Shawnee Indians<br />

near Stonelick Creek. Ammunition and<br />

supplies were transported up the trace to<br />

Admiral Perry’s fleet on Lake Erie during<br />

the War of 1812. The trace served as part<br />

of the Underground Railroad that was<br />

traveled by fugitives headed to Canada.<br />

In 1807 the Ohio State legislature<br />

enacted a law designating the trace as<br />

the Xenia State Road, one of the first<br />

roads in Ohio, and appropriated funds to<br />

improve it.<br />

The Willing Workers of Edenton and<br />

the Blanchester Daughters of the American<br />

Revolution erected a stone monument just<br />

east of Edenton in 1927 to celebrate the<br />

sesquicentennial of Boone’s escape. The<br />

monument still stands. In 2000 the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Committee<br />

erected a historical marker near the<br />

monument to commemorate the historical<br />

significance of the Bullskin Trail.<br />

PACKET<br />

BOATS<br />

The majority of the early settlers to<br />

southwestern Ohio came by way of the<br />

Ohio River. They pushed off from<br />

Pittsburgh and traveled down the river in<br />

self-propelled vessels, flatboats that moved<br />

❖ The Chilo was one of the packet boats that served<br />

the hamlets in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. It sank near New<br />

Richmond in 1921.<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORIC NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

❖ The Tacoma was built in New Richmond in 1883<br />

and ran a Cincinnati, New Richmond, Moscow, and<br />

Chilo route. It burned in Cincinnati in 1949.<br />

COURTESY OF HISTORIC NEW RICHMOND, INC.<br />

by the currents, oars, poles or sail. Many<br />

stopped in Limestone (Maysville),<br />

Kentucky, as it was the largest village<br />

upriver from Cincinnati, which was the<br />

destination of most boats. These were<br />

“one-way” crafts, as going back upstream<br />

was very difficult.<br />

The New Orleans was the first<br />

steamboat to sail from Pittsburgh (1811),<br />

initiating a new era of packet boats that<br />

would continue until the 1930s.<br />

Steamboats that carried a combination of<br />

passenger and freight (sometimes the<br />

mail) were called packets.<br />

Because of the packets, the commerce<br />

of the region flowed on the river. Villages<br />

were formed along the river and industries<br />

Chapter IV ✦ 41


❖ Meldahl Dam was dedicated in 1965. It was<br />

named after riverboat Captain Anthony Meldahl.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

developed such as boat building, carriage<br />

and wagon building, breweries, brick and<br />

barrel manufacturing, woolen mills,<br />

tanneries, and pottery making. The<br />

products of the farms, mills, and<br />

manufacturers were accessible to markets<br />

along the river and in turn much needed<br />

supplies could be obtained. In the early<br />

days the roads were deplorable, and<br />

packets served as the best method for<br />

people to move about.<br />

River towns in general had a grade on<br />

the river bank leading to a wharf and<br />

sometimes a floating warehouse called a<br />

wharfboat, where the packets conducted<br />

business. Smaller hamlets had only a<br />

location for the packets to lower the<br />

gangway. River towns in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

were Utopia, Rural, Chilo, Neville,<br />

Moscow, Point Pleasant, <strong>Clermont</strong>ville,<br />

and New Richmond.<br />

The Chilo was a packet boat built in<br />

1905 that ran the Cincinnati-Chilo route<br />

with stops in New Richmond, Moscow,<br />

Neville and Chilo. It sank at the New<br />

Richmond Lock 35 in 1921. The<br />

Cincinnati Enquirer newspaper (1897)<br />

advertised the Tacoma which sailed from<br />

Cincinnati to New Richmond, Moscow<br />

and Chilo. The Tacoma was built in New<br />

Richmond in 1883 and served this route<br />

for thirty-nine years. It was owned by<br />

David Gibson who owned distilleries in<br />

New Richmond and Moscow. It burned in<br />

Cincinnati in 1949. Other packets served<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> over the years.<br />

❖ The Meldahl Dam locks. The dam has two locks.<br />

The longer one (to the left) is for river barges. Small<br />

water craft are locking through shorter lock.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

In the 1920s and 1930s the increasing<br />

popularity of trains, improved roads and<br />

technical advancements in automobiles<br />

proved the downfall of the packets. By the<br />

end of the 1930s they were gone.<br />

LOCKS<br />

& DAMS<br />

The Ohio River proved to be a fickle<br />

neighbor. It produced devastating floods<br />

(1844, 1913, 1937, 1964, 1997) but also<br />

would fall to such low levels (one or two<br />

feet deep) that boats with only the<br />

shallowest of drafts could move. In 1824<br />

Congress began to facilitate the movement<br />

of commerce on the river. Projects were<br />

initiated to remove trees from the channel<br />

and build dikes that caused the river to<br />

scour the channel.<br />

In 1878 the U.S. Army Corps of<br />

Engineers (COE) convinced Congress<br />

that “slackwater navigation” was the<br />

cheapest and most effective way to<br />

control the river. The COE proposed to<br />

build 68 dams (only 54 were built) along<br />

the 981 mile length of the Ohio River.<br />

The dams were not for flood control, but<br />

to block the river and raise it to a<br />

consistent six feet depth (later raised to<br />

nine feet).<br />

The dams were called wicket dams.<br />

The wickets were lowered and raised by a<br />

maneuver boat. During high flows the<br />

wickets were lowered to the bottom of the<br />

❖ Chilo Lock and Dam 34. Pictured is the<br />

operations building from which the locks were<br />

controlled. The Chilo reservation is now a part of<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Parks. The operations building<br />

is a museum about Wicket Dams and life along the<br />

Ohio River.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

river to allow free passage of water and<br />

boats. During periods of low flow the<br />

wickets were raised to form a dam to create<br />

a pool of water deep enough for navigation.<br />

A lock was located on one side of<br />

the dam to allow passage of boats through<br />

the dam.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> had two wicket<br />

dams. Dam 34 at Chilo and Dam 35 located<br />

one mile below New Richmond. The<br />

lock and supporting facilities at Chilo<br />

were located on the Ohio side of the river<br />

and at Dam 35 on the Kentucky side.<br />

Dam 34 opened in 1925 and Dam 35<br />

in 1919.<br />

In addition to the dam and lock, it was<br />

necessary to have facilities to support the<br />

dam and house the workers. Thirteen structures<br />

were built adjacent to Chilo Dam 34:<br />

eight houses, a garage, a fire shed, a<br />

mechanics shop, a water tower, and operating<br />

building. Normally about 16 adults and<br />

30 children lived on the dam reservation.<br />

The dam people were socially a part of the<br />

nearby village of Chilo, where they attended<br />

church and school, received their mail and<br />

did their shopping.<br />

Dam 34 operated for 39 years. It and the<br />

other wicket dams were replaced by larger<br />

dams that formed deeper pools and larger<br />

lock chambers. Today the Chilo dam reservation<br />

is a <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Park and the<br />

42 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


operating building is a museum about the<br />

wicket dam and life along the river.<br />

The “fixed” Meldahl Locks and Dam was<br />

dedicated in May 1965. It is located between<br />

Neville and Chilo and raised the pool depth<br />

from nine to thirty-five feet and eliminated<br />

wicket dams 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34. Unlike<br />

the wicket dams, it is non-navigable and<br />

boats must pass through one of the two<br />

locks on the Ohio side of the river. The locks<br />

and dam were named after Anthony<br />

Meldahl, a famous riverboat captain who<br />

spent over fifty years on the river. His home,<br />

Maple Lane Farm, was located between<br />

Neville and Chilo. The new dam does not<br />

have families living on the reservations.<br />

FERRIES<br />

The Ohio River served as a barrier<br />

between Kentucky and Ohio for travel<br />

and commerce. During the dry season the<br />

water could be so shallow that a man<br />

could walk or ride a horse across at certain<br />

points. Rural was such a place and<br />

both people and animals had forded<br />

across there for years. The Bullskin Trace<br />

crossed here.<br />

For most of the year a boat or canoe was<br />

required to cross the river. It wasn’t long<br />

before the need for a ferry was recognized.<br />

The first ferry in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> was in<br />

1794 and was operated by Logston at the<br />

mouth of Bullskin Creek. John Gregg, who<br />

made the first attempt to settle in the Neville<br />

area, crossed into Ohio on this ferry. Lindley<br />

Broadwell eventually took over the operation<br />

of the ferry. A ferry operated here until the<br />

1850s. Isaac Ferguson, a pioneer settler in<br />

Ohio Township, operated a ferry for awhile<br />

starting in 1796. He also operated a handmill<br />

that ground meal.<br />

In 1805 the county commissioners set<br />

license fees for ferries at one to five dollars<br />

per year. The fee for the ferry at the mouth<br />

of Bullskin Creek was five dollars. They<br />

also set the rate the ferries could charge. A<br />

person on foot paid six and a quarter cents.<br />

The 1935 Corps of Engineers chart of<br />

the Ohio River shows six ferries had operated<br />

in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. They were:<br />

❖ The ferry at Moscow, c. 1915. The ferry boat, the Nellie Steele, was operated by William Bureau.<br />

COURTESY OF TOM SCHMIDGALL.<br />

Chilo to Bradford; Neville to Foster;<br />

Moscow to Ivor Station; Point Pleasant to<br />

Mentor; <strong>Clermont</strong>ville to California; and<br />

New Richmond to New Richmond<br />

Station. Persons living along the river had<br />

a choice of traveling to Cincinnati by the<br />

packet boats or crossing the river and<br />

catching the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad<br />

(C&O) that operated along the Kentucky<br />

side of the river. By the turn of the twentieth<br />

century, the mail was carried back and<br />

forth across the river to be picked up or<br />

delivered to the “Railway Post Office” cars.<br />

The Nellie Steele ferry located in Moscow<br />

was one such ferry. It also carried cargo to<br />

Cincinnati and Maysville.<br />

The early ferries were nothing more than<br />

small flat boats. They were first operated by<br />

poling or rowing across the river. Later, horses<br />

or mules on treadmills (team boats) powered<br />

the ferries. The ferry at Chilo, operated<br />

by Captain McLefresh, was such a type. By<br />

the end of the Civil War, steam engines were<br />

available and the ferries became much larger<br />

and could carry far more cargo. As roads,<br />

cars and trucks improved and bridges were<br />

built, the need for the ferries declined. By<br />

the mid-1940s all of the ferries had stopped<br />

operation but the New Richmond.<br />

In 1889 when the C&O Railroad was<br />

completed to Cincinnati, New Richmond<br />

was an important industrial village. The<br />

C&O wanted the New Richmond business<br />

and opened a station on their mainline in<br />

Kentucky and called it New Richmond<br />

Station. The station was nothing more than<br />

a depot and a ferry landing. The C&O<br />

acquired a ferry and named it the New<br />

Richmond. The C&O operated it until 1925.<br />

In 1926 the Manchester Ferry Company<br />

took over the ferry and operated it as the<br />

Lewis Adams Ferry until 1938, when Paul<br />

B. Nobis purchased it. He operated it until<br />

1975. It was the last ferry to operate in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

ROADS<br />

In 1795, Governor St. Clair, in his<br />

report to the Northwest Territory Cabinet<br />

stated, “There is not a road in the county<br />

(<strong>Clermont</strong>).” Under the Territorial Laws<br />

each county’s commissioners had control<br />

of affairs “such as roads, bridges, ferries…<br />

” When townships were formed in 1801,<br />

each township was provided with “two<br />

Supervisors of Highways.” The importance<br />

of roads was recognized from the<br />

Chapter IV ✦ 43


❖ The condition of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> roads in the<br />

early twentieth century during wet seasons. This road<br />

was in Wayne Township.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Taking the buggy out for a Sunday drive.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

very beginning of the county. Starting in<br />

1805 at county commissioners’ meetings<br />

various roads were ordered surveyed and<br />

“viewers” appointed. Thus began the construction<br />

of unpaved “dust & mud” roads<br />

throughout the county. In the mid to late<br />

1800s, turnpikes and other roads were<br />

built by investors and run for profit. The<br />

roads were authorized by the state and<br />

funds raised by selling shares to the state<br />

and individuals. Travelers paid a toll to<br />

use the roads. Numerous roads throughout<br />

the county were built this way. For<br />

example, in 1831 a turnpike was built<br />

from Milford to Chillicothe and in 1834<br />

one was built from Union Bridge (in<br />

Newtown) to Batavia. Many of these roads<br />

were “Plank Roads,” in which the road<br />

surface was wooden planks.<br />

Laws passed in 1866 and 1867<br />

allowed free turnpikes to be constructed<br />

if they were proved to be of great benefit<br />

to the localities through which they<br />

passed. The law required that the majority<br />

of the residents and real estate owners<br />

living within two miles on each side of<br />

the road petition the county commissioners<br />

for approval. If deemed a public<br />

necessity and the owners of the real estate<br />

were willing to pay the cost of the road,<br />

the commissioners could approve it. Ten<br />

such free roads were approved under<br />

these laws.<br />

The advent of these roads played a<br />

major role in the settling and development<br />

of the county.<br />

CINCINNATI- BATAVIA<br />

PIKE, 1797<br />

By Alma Aicholtz Smith,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

In February 1797, the Court of<br />

Quarter Sessions of the Territory North of<br />

the Ohio River authorized a road be laid<br />

beginning at Newtown in Anderson<br />

Township to Williamsburg and from<br />

thence to Chillicothe. At the November<br />

1797 territorial court session John<br />

Donnels, the surveyor, reported that he<br />

had completed the survey and the distance<br />

was 78 miles and 50 poles long.<br />

The court ordered the survey recorded<br />

and the road established and open to<br />

the public.<br />

William Lytle was a major promoter of<br />

the road as it would place his newly<br />

founded town Williamsburg on the major<br />

road between Cincinnati and the capital<br />

of the Northwest Territory, Chillicothe.<br />

Williamsburg became an important stagecoach<br />

stop. The town grew in importance<br />

to the extent that when <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

was established in 1800 it was made the<br />

county seat.<br />

Although the road no longer goes<br />

all the way to Chillicothe, it was a significant<br />

factor in developing <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. The villages of Mt. Carmel,<br />

Summerside, Glen Este, Willowville,<br />

Olive Branch, Batavia, and Afton sprang<br />

up along its route.<br />

The name of the road has changed several<br />

times. After the road became a turnpike,<br />

it was called the Union Bridge-<br />

❖ A stagecoach in Bethel. It is not known why the<br />

group picture was taken. Stagecoaches and omnibuses<br />

were the common way to travel before the automobile.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Batavia Turnpike, then Cincinnati-<br />

Williamsburg Pike. Another part became<br />

the Batavia-Williamsburg Pike. When<br />

automobiles became popular in the<br />

1920s, the road became SR 74. Although a<br />

four-lane highway, SR 32, was completed<br />

in 1971 to serve modern day needs, most<br />

of the route of the old road in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> still exists today. State Route 74 is<br />

now known as Old SR 74 or, mistakenly,<br />

as old SR 32.<br />

ANDERSON STATE<br />

ROAD, 1804<br />

By Alma Aicholtz Smith,<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

The second road between Cincinnati and<br />

Chillicothe was laid out in 1804 after Ohio<br />

became a state in 1803. In 1804 the General<br />

Assembly appropriated $17,000 for the<br />

laying out of 18 state roads. One of these<br />

roads was to run “from Chillicothe by<br />

Cincinnati …to the west line of the state.”<br />

Isaac Anderson, for whom the road is<br />

named, conducted the survey. It was<br />

opened in 1806.<br />

The route of the road in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> was: from the Brown-<strong>Clermont</strong><br />

Line, US 50 through Marathon, Monterey,<br />

Owensville, to Stonelick. A short distance<br />

west of the hamlet of Stonelick, the road<br />

veered west of the East Fork of the Little<br />

Miami River into Union Township. There<br />

it went along present Baldwin and<br />

Tealtown Roads to the Cincinnati-Batavia<br />

Pike in Glen Este. The road then went<br />

44 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


west through Summerside and Mt.<br />

Carmel to the county line.<br />

The Anderson State Road probably had<br />

its heyday during the time Chillicothe<br />

was the capital of the state. The road lost<br />

its importance because travelers preferred<br />

going from Cincinnati to Chillicothe on<br />

the Cincinnati-Batavia Pike. Moreover,<br />

the legislature did not appropriate<br />

enough money to keep up roads. As a<br />

result, parts of the roads were abandoned<br />

or became township or other roads, a<br />

good portion became US 50.<br />

MODERN<br />

ROADS<br />

The 1950s saw the beginning of major<br />

improvements in the roads in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> that last to this day. Emphasis was<br />

on the major roads leading from the<br />

county to Cincinnati. US 52 was enlarged<br />

to four lanes through New Richmond as<br />

was Ohio Pike (SR 125) from Cherry<br />

Grove to Bethel. The completion (1971)<br />

of the limited access four-lane<br />

Appalachian Highway (SR 32) extending<br />

from West Virginia through southern<br />

Ohio opened a major new transportation<br />

artery. The highway enters <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> north of Williamsburg, skirts<br />

Batavia and exits at Mt Carmel. Coupled<br />

with this highway is Interstate Highway<br />

275 (1970s), the Cincinnati bypass. It<br />

runs south/north somewhat parallel to the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>-Hamilton <strong>County</strong> line<br />

and intersects with the Appalachian<br />

Highway near Mt. Carmel. It provides<br />

rapid access to downtown Cincinnati,<br />

eastern Hamilton <strong>County</strong> and points<br />

north such as Columbus and Dayton and<br />

south to Kentucky. These highways<br />

spurred commercial, industrial and residential<br />

development along their courses.<br />

Union and Miami Townships witnessed<br />

major population growth as many new<br />

housing developments have been built.<br />

Light industries have been established in<br />

the townships along the highways.<br />

Commercial and retail centers have grown<br />

up at Eastgate and Milford. The county<br />

further enhanced the road system in the<br />

western section of the county to facilitate<br />

the demands of these developments, for<br />

example the Milford Parkway (1999) and<br />

the SR 28 bypass (1994). In 2009 the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Engineers Office oversaw<br />

almost 400 miles of roads and 394<br />

bridges. These figures do not include<br />

township, federal and state roads.<br />

BRIDGES<br />

Several wooden toll-bridges were<br />

authorized by acts of the General<br />

Assembly. They were: across the Little<br />

Miami at Milford in 1815; over Twelve<br />

Mile Creek in Ohio Township in 1821;<br />

and across the East Fork of the Little<br />

Miami River at Williamsburg in 1838.<br />

These and other bridges were major<br />

improvements in the road system. The<br />

late 1800s saw the advent of iron bridges<br />

that replaced the wooden structures.<br />

❖ The Jackson Pike Covered Bridge built by<br />

Benjamin Bower in 1876. The bridge was a single-span,<br />

170-foot, 16-panel Smith truss that crossed the East<br />

Fork River on Jackson Pike. It was removed in 1966<br />

because it did not have capacity for fire trucks and<br />

school buses.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

COVERED<br />

BRIDGES<br />

Bridges in the 1800s and early 1900s<br />

were made of wood. Wood was plentiful<br />

in the forests of the county. The importance<br />

of covering the wooden trusses was<br />

recognized as early as the late 1700s.<br />

Protecting the wooden members from the<br />

ravages of rain and snow by covering<br />

them could extend the life of a bridge<br />

from ten to over one hundred years.<br />

Thirty-five timber truss bridges have<br />

been documented in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

There were probably more of these<br />

bridges. All were covered except those<br />

built by the railroads. The B&O<br />

Railroad had five crossings on O’Bannon<br />

Creek. The Little Miami Railroad had timber<br />

crossings at Miamiville and Loveland.<br />

The N&W Railroad had bridges at Batavia<br />

and Williamsburg. Railroads typically<br />

built the track across the top of the<br />

uncovered trusses because of the<br />

danger of fire caused by sparks from the<br />

steam engines.<br />

The following documented bridges are<br />

listed by stream crossing (a “?” indicates<br />

documentation is not complete):<br />

• Little Miami River: Milford,<br />

Miamiville, Branch Hill, and Loveland<br />

• Stonelick Creek: Stonelick, St.<br />

Philomena, and Patchell<br />

• Bullskin Creek: Cedron and Lenroot Road<br />

• East Fork, Little Miami River: Milford-<br />

Round Bottom Road, Perintown, Olive<br />

Branch-Stonelick Road, Batavia, Red<br />

Bridge, Elk Lick, Twin Bridges (?),<br />

Tunnel Mill (?), Williamsburg, Jackson<br />

Pike, and Blue Sky Road (?)<br />

• O’Bannon Creek: O’Bannon, Goshen,<br />

Ramsey, and Loveland<br />

• Cloverlick Creek: Cloverlick and<br />

Starling Road<br />

• Big Indian Creek: Point Pleasant<br />

• Poplar Creek: Near Bethel<br />

The Stonelick Covered Bridge (1878)<br />

on Stonelick-Williams Corner Road is the<br />

last remaining covered bridge in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. It was placed on the National<br />

Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places in 1974.<br />

RAILROADS<br />

It is impossible today to visualize the<br />

lack of mobility of people in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> in the 1800s. Many people lived<br />

their entire lives traveling only a few miles<br />

from their homes. It could take all day<br />

just to travel from the farm to Batavia,<br />

Bethel, or Milford in a buggy or wagon<br />

Chapter IV ✦ 45


ehind a slow horse. The<br />

unpaved roads were rutted and<br />

dusty in the summer and almost<br />

impassable, because of mud and<br />

potholes, in the wet seasons. The<br />

development of the steam engine<br />

and its use in a train forever<br />

changed America. By the 1830s<br />

railroad fever was sweeping the<br />

nation and the citizens of<br />

Cincinnati were no exception.<br />

The first train line built out of<br />

Cincinnati, The Little Miami,<br />

was to have a major impact on<br />

lives of those near the western<br />

border of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>,<br />

especially Milford and Loveland.<br />

All together, five railroads served<br />

the citizens and businesses of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Four passed<br />

through the county and the fifth<br />

ran along the Ohio River on the<br />

Kentucky shore.<br />

By act of the Ohio General<br />

Assembly in 1836, a company<br />

was incorporated to build a railroad<br />

from Cincinnati to Xenia.<br />

Its course was to follow the Little<br />

Miami River and thus became the<br />

first railroad to enter <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. In December 1841, Cincinnati<br />

City Council and other dignitaries boarded<br />

two Little Miami Railroad (LMRR)<br />

passenger cars behind a wood burning<br />

locomotive and made the inaugural trip<br />

to Milford. The train ran on rails made<br />

of wood with strips of iron on top. It wasn’t<br />

until 1850 that they were replaced<br />

with iron rails. The LMRR reached Xenia<br />

in 1845.<br />

The LMRR entered <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

at Miamiville and traveled 6.15 miles<br />

within the county before departing over<br />

O’Bannon Creek in Loveland. There were<br />

stations at Miamiville, Donnelly, Branch<br />

Hill, Epworth Heights and Loveland. The<br />

Milford station was located across the<br />

Little Miami River in Hamilton <strong>County</strong>. At<br />

many of these stations, stagecoaches or<br />

omnibuses met the train and transported<br />

the travelers to hamlets within the county.<br />

❖ The railroads of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

MAP BY JOHN HILL.<br />

Loveland became a railroad crossroads<br />

when the Hillsboro and Cincinnati<br />

Railroad (H&C) joined the LMRR in<br />

Loveland. Both railroads maintained<br />

depots, just a short walk from each other,<br />

and a turntable in the heart of the village.<br />

By 1890, 123 railroad workers lived in<br />

Loveland. Due to the frequent train<br />

service to Cincinnati, many people lived<br />

in Loveland and commuted to Cincinnati<br />

to work, shop and attend school.<br />

The outbreak of the Civil War was<br />

good and bad news for the LMRR. Trade<br />

with the south was cut off. At the same<br />

time, the need for moving men and<br />

materials for the Union cause intensified.<br />

The establishment of Camp Dennison<br />

(1861) on the LMRR between Miamiville<br />

and Milford brought business. Camp<br />

Dennison was a training camp and later a<br />

general hospital facility. Soldiers came<br />

and went on the LMRR.<br />

Abraham Lincoln rode the LMRR<br />

for his inauguration in 1861.<br />

General John Morgan and his<br />

raiders derailed a LMRR train<br />

(1863) near Dungan’s Crossing,<br />

killing the fireman and injuring<br />

the engineer. He captured 150<br />

raw, unarmed Union recruits.<br />

In January 1865 the LMRR<br />

helped carry troops from<br />

Franklin, Tennessee, to join<br />

General Grant at the battle of<br />

Richmond, Virginia.<br />

In 1870 the Pittsburgh and St.<br />

Louis Railway Company leased<br />

the financially troubled LMRR.<br />

The Pennsylvania Railroad (PRR)<br />

took over the line. The PRR was a<br />

dominant feature in Loveland. It<br />

cut through the center of town.<br />

The depot, turntable, and other<br />

facilities covered a good portion<br />

of downtown. In 1926 the<br />

turntable was removed and a<br />

park took its place. The water<br />

tower that served the steam<br />

engines was removed in 1950.<br />

The depot was torn down in<br />

1954. Conrail took over the<br />

railroad in 1970 and the line was<br />

abandoned in 1976. In 1979 the State of<br />

Ohio purchased the railroad right of way<br />

and formed the Little Miami Park. It<br />

developed the right of way into a multipurpose<br />

paved trail from Milford to Xenia.<br />

Loveland, once a railroad town, became a<br />

mecca for bike enthusiasts.<br />

In 1845 the Belpre and Cincinnati<br />

Railroad (B&C) was chartered. It was to<br />

be an east-west route passing through the<br />

coal fields of southern Ohio. The<br />

proposed route was from Belpre, Ohio<br />

(across the Ohio River from Parkersburg,<br />

West Virginia) to Cincinnati. The B&C<br />

was renamed the Marietta and Cincinnati<br />

in 1851. The M&C reached Greenfield<br />

in 1854.<br />

At the same time, in 1846, the Hillsboro<br />

& Cincinnati Railroad (H&C) was chartered.<br />

It ran from Loveland to Hillsboro, but<br />

46 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


never was extended into Cincinnati. To<br />

reach the city, it was necessary to change<br />

from the H&C to the LMRR in Loveland.<br />

The H&C reached Hillsboro in 1850.<br />

In the mid-1850s, in order to reach<br />

Cincinnati from the east, it was necessary<br />

to take a stage from the Marietta &<br />

Cincinnati Railroad depot in Greenfield to<br />

Hillsboro, catch the H&C in Hillsboro to<br />

Loveland and then transfer to the LMRR in<br />

Loveland. Leaving Chillicothe at 5:30 a.m.,<br />

one could reach Cincinnati at 11:25 a.m.<br />

for a fare of $2.90. It required a stagecoach<br />

almost a day to make the same trip.<br />

In the 1860s the Baltimore and Ohio<br />

Railroad (B&O) took over both the H&C<br />

and M&C (although it was still called the<br />

M&C) and connected the two railroads at<br />

Greenfield. Except for the ferry at<br />

Parkersburg, train service from Baltimore/<br />

Washington, D.C. to Cincinnati was<br />

available. The bridge in Parkersburg<br />

opened in 1871. The M&C built a bridge<br />

across the Little Miami River (1866-1870),<br />

thus no longer had to depend on the<br />

LMRR to reach Cincinnati.<br />

The M&C crossed into <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

at Loveland and then followed O’Bannon<br />

Creek with stations at O’Bannon and Hill’s<br />

Station (in Goshen Township) before exiting<br />

into Warren <strong>County</strong>. A brick depot was built<br />

in Loveland (1870-1871). The B&O depot<br />

resides in the village today, although passenger<br />

service ended in 1971 and the building<br />

was sold to private interests. The Amtrak<br />

passenger train Shenandoah passed through<br />

Loveland until 1981.<br />

❖ A sketch of the Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad<br />

locomotive Number 14, the Marietta, c. 1837.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ A Little Miami Railroad train.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CINCINNATTI RAILROAD CLUB.<br />

The B&O was merged into the<br />

Chesapeake and Ohio (C&O) in the 1960s<br />

and then into CSX in 1980. Freight trains<br />

still use the track through the village.<br />

In 1873 businessmen in Mt.<br />

Washington, Batavia and Amelia organized<br />

a narrow gauge railroad to open up their<br />

lands and businesses. They named it the<br />

Cincinnati and Portsmouth Railroad. The<br />

route entered <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> at Clough<br />

Pike and passed through Mt. Carmel,<br />

Summerside, Glen Este, Willowville and<br />

Olive Branch. South of Olive Branch it followed<br />

the Ohio Pike through Amelia and<br />

Hamlet and made its way to Bethel and<br />

into Brown <strong>County</strong>.<br />

Construction began in 1876 and the<br />

line reached Mt. Carmel in 1877.<br />

Following bankruptcy in 1880, it was reorganized<br />

and renamed the Cincinnati,<br />

Georgetown & Portsmouth Railroad<br />

(CG&P) and reached Bethel in 1882.<br />

Work stopped until 1885, when new<br />

investors were able to continue the line to<br />

Georgetown (1886). Construction stopped<br />

at Georgetown because the Cincinnati &<br />

Eastern Railway had completed a line from<br />

Cincinnati to Portsmouth.<br />

In 1901 a new owner, Andrew<br />

Comstock, modernized the CG&P by<br />

changing the line from narrow to standard<br />

gauge and electrifying the line. He built a<br />

modern electric generating plant at Olive<br />

Branch and formed Lake Allyn to provide<br />

cooling water for the plant. He also sold<br />

electric power to villages and farms along<br />

the right of way. The first electric car ran to<br />

Georgetown in 1904. In 1905 he built a<br />

line from Bethel to Felicity. A line from<br />

Lake Allyn to Batavia was also built.<br />

Highland Park was built at Lake Allyn with<br />

swimming, boating, picnicking and a pavilion.<br />

In 1903 there were plans to build a<br />

five-hundred-room hotel, but it was never<br />

built. In 1905 two new steam engines were<br />

bought to pull the freight trains.<br />

By 1918 coal shortages (because of<br />

WWI), strikes by employees, floods, a flu<br />

epidemic, competition from a traction line<br />

and the paving of roads that enhanced auto<br />

and truck travel, siphoned freight and passengers<br />

off the railroad. Numerous<br />

schemes to keep the railroad afloat did not<br />

work. The Depression of the 1930s was<br />

the CG&P’s death blow. In 1933 the<br />

Felicity-Bethel branch was abandoned.<br />

❖ The B&O passenger train Cincinnatian passing<br />

the Loveland Station in 1950.<br />

COURTESY OF FRANK PENCE.<br />

Chapter IV ✦ 47


❖ Hills Station depot on the Baltimore and Ohio<br />

Railroad served Goshen Township and was located on<br />

Hill Station Road. The railroad was originally the<br />

Hillsboro & Cincinnati RR (1846), then became a part<br />

of the Marietta & Cincinnati RR (1854) and the B&O<br />

in 1866.<br />

COURTESY OF THE GOSHEN TOWNSHIP HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The railroad was sold to an electric company,<br />

which had no interest in the railroad,<br />

but in the electrical service and right of<br />

way. In 1934 the railroad was sold to junk<br />

dealers and the Batavia branch abandoned.<br />

When the mail contract expired in 1935,<br />

the railroad stopped passenger service.<br />

Some freight was hauled until April 1936.<br />

The CG&P provided important services<br />

to <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> for fifty years.<br />

Before the days of paved roads and<br />

improved autos and trucks, it was a major<br />

mover of people and freight. It provided<br />

electricity to many villages. Because of the<br />

rural nature of the line and with no major<br />

industries or towns along its right of way,<br />

it was never a financial success.<br />

In 1876, Samuel Woodward conceived<br />

the idea of a railroad serving the central<br />

part of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and incorporated<br />

the Cincinnati, Batavia, and Williamsburg<br />

❖ A Cincinnati, Georgetown and Portsmouth<br />

Railroad passenger car.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Railroad, which began construction that<br />

same year. Feeling they had not<br />

thought big enough, the board of directors<br />

changed the name to Cincinnati & Eastern<br />

Railroad (C&E).<br />

The railroad opened for business from<br />

Batavia Junction (later called Clare), near<br />

Newtown, to Batavia in October 1876. The<br />

narrow gauge track followed the East Fork<br />

of the Little Miami River. After crossing the<br />

river at Batavia, it climbed up the steep<br />

grade out of the valley and proceeded to<br />

Williamsburg (March 1877). In August<br />

1884 it reached Portsmouth. The train<br />

made stops in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> at<br />

Williamsburg, Afton, Summit Heights,<br />

Batavia, East Liberty, Cahoon, Elston’s and<br />

South Milford. From Cahoon (near<br />

Perintown), an omnibus provided service<br />

to Eastfork and New Boston (Owensville).<br />

The Ohio River Branch, New<br />

Richmond Junction (near Newtown) to<br />

New Richmond, was incorporated in<br />

1877. It reached New Richmond in 1880.<br />

The C&E had financial problems and in<br />

1877 was bought out and renamed the Ohio<br />

and North Western (O&NW). However, the<br />

Ohio River Branch was bought by W. P.<br />

Devou, Jr. The O&NW converted to<br />

standard gauge, so it could operate with<br />

other railroads in Cincinnati; whereas, the<br />

Devou Line did not. Cargo from the Devou<br />

Line had to be reloaded at New Richmond<br />

Junction to move on other railroads. This<br />

was one of the reasons it failed in 1889.<br />

Further financial problems resulted in<br />

the O&NW being reorganized as the<br />

Cincinnati, Portsmouth and Virginia<br />

Railroad (CP&V) in 1891. The line was<br />

acquired by the Norfolk and Western<br />

Railroad (N&W) in 1901. Further mergers<br />

occurred in 1982 and the railroad became<br />

part of the Norfolk & Southern Railroad.<br />

In April 1971 passenger service<br />

stopped on the N&S Railroad. The depots<br />

in Williamsburg and Batavia were closed<br />

in 1973. The Williamsburg depot was torn<br />

down shortly after that and the Batavia<br />

depot (built in 1898) was removed in<br />

1989. The only depot structure left in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> is the one in Cahoon.<br />

❖ The Baltimore & Ohio Railroad depot in<br />

Loveland. Built in 1870-1871, passenger service at the<br />

depot ended in 1971. The depot has been used as a store<br />

and the structure still exists today.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

The N&S continued to have freight service<br />

between Cincinnati and Portsmouth<br />

(called the Peavine Branch) until 2003. The<br />

Peavine was closed to traffic from Cincinnati<br />

to Portsmouth because of problems with the<br />

bridge over the Scioto River near<br />

Portsmouth. Service from Cincinnati<br />

through <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> to Winchester,<br />

Adams <strong>County</strong>, continues on a limited basis.<br />

Two historic train wrecks occurred in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. On October 17, 1884,<br />

the railroad bridge over the East Fork of the<br />

Little Miami River at Batavia collapsed<br />

under a passenger train. The locomotive<br />

and cars fell into the river, killing the engineer<br />

and fireman and seriously injuring a<br />

score of passengers. One car remained precariously<br />

balanced on the edge of the bridge<br />

with thirty panic-stricken passengers. They<br />

miraculously escaped death and injury.<br />

On August 8, 1885, the 800-foot trestle<br />

on the Devou Line (Three Forks near Nine<br />

Mile Creek) gave way and dropped the<br />

locomotive, three flat cars and a baggage<br />

car 30 feet to the creek below. Three were<br />

killed and nine injured.<br />

In 1873 the C&O was completed across<br />

the Allegheny Mountains connecting<br />

Virginia and Huntington, West Virginia. In<br />

order for the railroad to reach the Cincinnati<br />

markets, it contracted with the packet ship<br />

company, the White Collar Line, to handle<br />

its freight and passenger service from<br />

Huntington to Cincinnati. At the same time<br />

the C&O continued laying track along the<br />

Ohio River and built a fifteen-hundred-foot<br />

48 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


idge across the river at Covington into<br />

Cincinnati. The first train ran from<br />

Huntington to Cincinnati in 1888.<br />

The C&O never entered <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>, but provided a valuable service to<br />

the villages along the shores of the Ohio<br />

River. Passengers, freight and mail were<br />

carried across the river by ferries. In the villages<br />

of Point Pleasant and Chilo when<br />

ferry service ended the mail was rowed<br />

across the river in small boats. The C&O’s<br />

Ivor and New Richmond Stations were<br />

established (there were never towns at<br />

these locations) to provide service to<br />

Moscow and New Richmond. The C&O<br />

even owned the ferry at New Richmond.<br />

The advent of better roads, automobiles<br />

and trucks, and railroad and traction lines to<br />

New Richmond were ultimately the demise<br />

of the use of the C&O. Passenger and freight<br />

service ended in the 1930s, except for New<br />

Richmond, which ended in 1950.<br />

The C&O was merged into the CSX<br />

Transportation system in 1987 and still<br />

provides service from Cincinnati to the<br />

East Coast through Huntington.<br />

TRACTION<br />

LINES<br />

With the improvement of electric<br />

motors in the 1880s, their use in electrified<br />

railroad cars was quickly adopted.<br />

The first successful street car in Ohio<br />

began operation in 1888. The traction,<br />

street or trolley car is one that is powered<br />

❖ Norfolk and Western Railroad Cahoon depot that<br />

served Perintown. After being closed by the railroad, it<br />

became a residence. This 2006 picture shows the<br />

structure as it is today. It is the only N&W station<br />

remaining in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The N&W bridge at Batavia that crossed the East Fork River. On October 17, 1884, the bridge gave way under<br />

a passenger train. The engineer and fireman were killed and many passengers injured. Thirty people were trapped in<br />

the car precariously perched on the edge. The conductor rescued each person one at a time.<br />

COURTESY OF HARPER’S WEEKLY.<br />

by electricity and runs on tracks. It<br />

receives its power either through the rails<br />

or by overhead wires. A “trolley’ is the<br />

pole that connects the car to the overhead<br />

wire and conducts the electricity to the<br />

car. By the 1890s and 1900s traction lines<br />

were a hot issue. Many cities built trolley<br />

lines and soon they were extended into<br />

the surrounding countryside (called<br />

interurbans). Traction lines carried passengers,<br />

light freight, milk and produce,<br />

and mail. They were important in providing<br />

reliable and fast transportation from<br />

the rural areas of the county to Cincinnati<br />

and other population and market centers.<br />

Four traction lines were built in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>; all connected the<br />

county to Cincinnati. Milford was the first<br />

site of interest for building into <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> because of the bridge across the<br />

Little Miami that existed there.<br />

The Cincinnati, Milford & Loveland<br />

Traction Co.’s (CM&L) first car crossed the<br />

Milford Bridge and entered Milford in<br />

1904. A power plant was built in Milford to<br />

provide electricity to the traction cars and<br />

by 1906 was also providing electricity to<br />

the village. The CM&L was unable to proceed<br />

to Loveland for financial and legal reasons<br />

and turned its sights on Blanchester. It<br />

was renamed Cincinnati, Milford, and<br />

Blanchester Traction Company (CM&B) in<br />

1918 to better reflect its service. In June<br />

1906 the first car reached Blanchester.<br />

The CM&B followed Main Street out of<br />

Milford and SR 28 to Mulberry where it<br />

turned directly east to Newtonsville. It then<br />

❖ One of the Cincinnati and Columbus Traction<br />

Company’s Hillsboro Short Line cars. Note that<br />

the traction company also picked up milk from<br />

local farmers.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Chapter IV ✦ 49


proceeded northeast to just east of Edenton<br />

and out of the county.<br />

Stops in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> were: Milford,<br />

East Milford, Mulberry, Mt. Repose,<br />

Salvation Park, Goshen Station, Belfast,<br />

Manila, Modest, Clarks, Newtonsville,<br />

Woodland Park, and Edenton. A trip from<br />

Milford to Edenton took 47 minutes.<br />

Salvation Park was a place where religious<br />

camp meetings were held. Woodland Park<br />

was a major resort at the time, located a<br />

short distance from Newtonsville. The<br />

twenty-five-acre site had a lake for boating<br />

and fishing, picnic grounds, ball fields, a<br />

refreshment stand and auditorium. Summer<br />

chautauquas were held each July.<br />

The CM&B stopped service to<br />

Newtonsville in 1922 and by 1926 all<br />

service to <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, except<br />

Milford, ceased.<br />

The Cincinnati and Columbus Traction<br />

Company (C&C) was organized in 1901<br />

and planned to follow the Chillicothe Pike<br />

(US 50) from Milford to Hillsboro, then<br />

north to Washington Court House and<br />

finally to Columbus. It never went further<br />

than Hillsboro. It was in competition with<br />

the CM&L for the use of the Milford Bridge<br />

and service to the village. After the CM&L<br />

gained control of the Milford Bridge, the<br />

C&C built a bridge adjacent to it (1905-<br />

06). The line was completed across<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> to Hillsboro in 1905. A<br />

power plant was built at Cahoon adjacent<br />

to Perintown (1905). Until the bridge was<br />

❖ A car in the Cincinnati, Milford and Loveland<br />

(CM&L) Traction line. The CM&L never went to<br />

Loveland, but to Blanchester.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ A map showing the traction lines in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.<br />

MAP BY JOHN HILL.<br />

completed, service ended in Milford. The<br />

C&C had a major set back in 1907 when a<br />

flood washed away the bridge. The second<br />

bridge was destroyed in the 1913 flood and<br />

rebuilt in 1914.<br />

Stops along the C&C in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> were Milford, Perintown, Stonelick,<br />

Boston (Owensville), Monterey, Hartman’s<br />

and Marathon. Specials were run to Boston<br />

for the <strong>County</strong> Fair. An amusement park<br />

was located at Perintown alongside the East<br />

Fork of the Little Miami River. A trip from<br />

Marathon to Milford took about 45 minutes.<br />

To illustrate the advantage of the C&C,<br />

a wagon pulled by horses took almost two<br />

days to reach Cincinnati. The C&C took<br />

only 2 hours and 15 minutes.<br />

WWI placed a great strain on the C&C<br />

because of the shortage of coal. In 1917<br />

and 1918 the traction line had to shut<br />

down at times because of the lack of coal<br />

needed to produce electricity. It also<br />

impacted the villages that received electricity<br />

from the C&C.<br />

By 1919 the rural population and hamlets<br />

no longer looked on the C&C as an<br />

important means of transportation for they<br />

had their personal cars to come to town<br />

and trucks to haul their products to the<br />

city. The line was abandoned.<br />

The Interurban Railway & Terminal<br />

Co. (IR&T), nicknamed The Black Line<br />

because their cars were painted a dark<br />

green that looked black, had three divisions.<br />

Two of the divisions operated in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The Eastern Division<br />

ran from Coney Island to New Richmond.<br />

The Suburban Division ran from Mt.<br />

Washington to Bethel. A power plant was<br />

located at Coney Island. Besides passenger<br />

trolleys, they operated “Express Cars.”<br />

These cars carried merchandise for stores<br />

along the route and in turn brought farm<br />

products such as milk and produce to<br />

the city.<br />

The Black Line entered New Richmond<br />

in 1902 and for the next twenty years provided<br />

much faster and more reliable transportation<br />

to Cincinnati than the packet<br />

boats or railroads. The trip from New<br />

Richmond to Cincinnati took an hour and<br />

a half. Stops made in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

were New Richmond, Blairville, New<br />

Palestine, and Nine Mile.<br />

The Eastern Division was completed to<br />

Bethel in 1903. It made stops in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> at Tobasco, Withamsville, Merwin,<br />

Amelia, Hamlet, Mt. Holly, Bantam and<br />

Bethel. A trip from Bethel to Cincinnati took<br />

two hours. The line closed in 1918 and the<br />

tracks pulled up for steel during WWI.<br />

The IR&T passed the Coney Island<br />

Amusement Park, which was a popular<br />

destination of the traction line.<br />

50 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


CHAPTER V<br />

T HE A BOLITIONIST M OVEMENT AND C IVIL W AR<br />

B Y G ARY L. KNEPP<br />

From the very beginning <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> played a prominent role in the<br />

antislavery movement. Southerners opposed<br />

to slavery flocked to the county because the<br />

institution was banned by the Northwest<br />

Ordinance. By 1802 enough people had<br />

settled in the territory to call a<br />

Constitutional Convention to organize the<br />

new state of Ohio. The legalization of slavery<br />

in the new state was sure to be a major issue<br />

of contention at the convention. Virginians<br />

who settled in the area near Marietta favored<br />

its legalization while residents in the western<br />

regions near Cincinnati opposed it. Obed<br />

Denham, the founder of Bethel, wanted to<br />

insure that <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> voted for a free<br />

state. He promoted Philip Gatch of Milford<br />

and James Sargent of Franklin Township as<br />

the county’s delegates to Ohio’s<br />

Constitutional Convention because he knew<br />

that both of these former slave owning<br />

Methodist ministers could be counted on to<br />

oppose slavery’s legalization in Ohio.<br />

Legalization of slavery quickly escalated<br />

into a major issue at the convention.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> residents sent a strongly<br />

worded petition opposing it. One delegate<br />

read a letter from President Thomas<br />

Jefferson urging the delegates to approve<br />

slavery’s legalization. Jefferson argued that<br />

extending slavery to Ohio would hasten<br />

the institution’s demise by diluting its<br />

strength. In reality, he was probably trying<br />

to open a new market for Virginia slaves.<br />

The issue was hotly debated. When all of<br />

the oratory was over, the measure to legalize<br />

slavery in Ohio lost by one vote. Both Philip<br />

Gatch and James Sargent voted no.<br />

At the beginning of the nineteenth<br />

century, slavery was of marginal concern.<br />

But as time wore on, it enveloped<br />

antebellum America. Every institution of<br />

society was affected—the church,<br />

community, politics, and the law. And so it<br />

was with <strong>Clermont</strong>.<br />

❖ The Cranston Memorial Church, New Richmond,<br />

took an early lead and uncompromising stand against<br />

slavery. At a previous location, the church hosted the<br />

organizational meeting of the New Richmond Anti-<br />

Slavery Society in 1836. The church hosted a number of<br />

anti-slavery speakers.The present building, located at<br />

Union and Washington Streets was built in 1856.<br />

COURTESY OF CRANSTON PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.<br />

Churches, such as the New Richmond<br />

Presbyterian, drafted antislavery<br />

memorials. Baptists formed a proslavery<br />

church. Methodists, disgusted with the<br />

mild antislavery stance of the northern<br />

Methodist church, split off to form radically<br />

antislavery Wesleyan congregations.<br />

Local chapters of the American<br />

Colonization Society, whose purpose was<br />

to voluntarily transport free blacks back to<br />

Africa, were formed. Prominent Methodist<br />

minister, George Light of New Richmond,<br />

became the county’s agent. Those who<br />

favored the immediate end to slavery<br />

joined the American Antislavery Society.<br />

Dr. John Rogers of New Richmond,<br />

Reverend Andrew Coombs of Lindale, and<br />

Brice Blair of Batavia were all active<br />

members of this organization.<br />

Small numbers of <strong>Clermont</strong>ers joined<br />

the Liberty Party in 1840. Its sole purpose<br />

was to end slavery. Former U.S. Senator<br />

Thomas Morris of Bethel was the party’s<br />

nominee for vice president in 1844. The<br />

Free Soil Party, whose mission was to<br />

keep slavery from spreading to the new<br />

territories, found members in <strong>Clermont</strong>.<br />

Eventually, antislavery voters coalesced to<br />

form the Republican Party in 1854.<br />

Former <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Prosecuting<br />

Attorney John Jolliffe, defended three<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ers in a case involving slavery.<br />

The case landed in Ohio’s Supreme Court,<br />

where the court adopted Jolliffe’s argument<br />

that a slave who came to Ohio with his<br />

owner’s permission or acquiescence<br />

became free the moment he stood on<br />

Ohio’s free soil and breathed her free air.<br />

The case was overturned shortly<br />

afterwards by the U.S. Supreme Court in<br />

the Dred Scott decision.<br />

Despite the risks, there were<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ers, both black and white, who so<br />

hated slavery that they were willing to<br />

become criminals by helping slaves to<br />

freedom. Felicity resident Juliette Miles died<br />

in the Kentucky penitentiary for trying to<br />

help her own children and grandchildren to<br />

freedom. Robert Fee of Moscow stood under<br />

indictment for several years in Pendleton<br />

<strong>County</strong>, Kentucky, for “slave stealing.”<br />

Oliver Perry Spencer Fee was known as<br />

the “High Priest” of Felicity’s Underground<br />

Railroad operation. Teenager William<br />

Thompson guided fugitives from Bethel<br />

through the Elklick Valley to Williamsburg.<br />

Charles Huber of Williamsburg helped<br />

an estimated three hundred slaves along<br />

the road.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ers were uneasy during the<br />

secession crisis as one southern state after<br />

another left the Union. Most were loyal to<br />

the Union. Others, with close business or<br />

family ties to the South, were not so sure.<br />

Chapter V ✦ 51


Some abolitionists saw this as an<br />

opportunity to end slavery by force of arms.<br />

The attack upon Fort Sumter changed<br />

everything. Hundreds of residents<br />

swarmed recruiting centers around the<br />

county. Many went to nearby Camp<br />

Dennison for basic training. Home guards<br />

were formed in New Richmond and<br />

Milford. Those living along the Ohio<br />

River braced for what they believed to be<br />

an imminent attack by Kentucky rebels.<br />

New Richmond residents gathered at the<br />

Presbyterian Church, the town’s largest<br />

building, to discuss the situation. So large was<br />

the crowd that the overflow listened to the<br />

meeting outside in the churchyard. Suddenly,<br />

a loud crack was heard. Panic set in. The<br />

battle must have begun, they thought. It was<br />

soon discovered that a banister had split in<br />

the crush of the crowd. Embarrassed, but<br />

relieved, smiles appeared on their faces as<br />

they realized what had happened.<br />

In September of 1862, ten thousand<br />

Confederate soldiers approached Cincinnati.<br />

The city was panic struck. General Lew<br />

Wallace, author of Ben Hur, was called upon<br />

to defend the city. Martial law was declared.<br />

Defenses were built in northern Kentucky.<br />

Over 400 civilians from <strong>Clermont</strong> were<br />

among thousands from the state who<br />

responded to the call. After a few days<br />

standoff, the Confederates withdrew. The<br />

militiamen, known as “squirrel hunters”<br />

were discharged from their service with $11<br />

and a free train pass for their troubles.<br />

❖ Dr. William E. Thompson (1835-1940)<br />

residence. He became an active member of the Bethel<br />

Underground Railroad network as a teenager. He guided<br />

fugitives from Bethel to the Elklick area near<br />

Williamsburg. He would on occasion shoot hounds<br />

tracking the escaped slaves.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

On July 14, 1863, two thousand<br />

Confederate raiders, under the command<br />

of General John Hunt Morgan, splashed<br />

across the Little Miami River at Branch Hill<br />

into <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. After derailing a<br />

train bound for Camp Dennison and<br />

engaging the Loveland militia in a brief but<br />

sharp skirmish, the raiders broke up into<br />

small groups and fanned across <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> looking for horses to replace their<br />

worn out mounts. They rendezvoused in<br />

Williamsburg for the night.<br />

There may have been as many as five<br />

thousand men from <strong>Clermont</strong> who fought in<br />

the Civil War. This is an extraordinarily high<br />

figure considering that the county’s<br />

population was just thirty-four thousand in<br />

1860. Among the regiments with large<br />

numbers of <strong>Clermont</strong>ers were the 153rd<br />

Ohio Volunteer Infantry, the 89th Ohio<br />

Volunteer Infantry, the 59th Ohio Volunteer<br />

Infantry, and the 9th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry.<br />

The men served in every branch—infantry,<br />

artillery, cavalry, and navy—and saw action<br />

in both the eastern and western theaters<br />

including the far west fighting Indians. The<br />

men from <strong>Clermont</strong> went to war for different<br />

reasons: some to fight for their country,<br />

others to liberate four million people from<br />

slavery and others just for the adventure of it.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> was the birthplace of the greatest<br />

soldier of them all: Ulysses S. Grant. At<br />

war’s end, he was considered to be the savior<br />

of the country and was widely respected<br />

in the South for the respect he showed to<br />

the southern soldier. By the middle of the<br />

twentieth century, his reputation was tarnished.<br />

He was called a butcher and a<br />

drunk. However, in recent years, historians<br />

have re-examined his reputation and Grant<br />

has again taken his rightful place as the<br />

greatest soldier of his age.<br />

There were many more who served their<br />

country well, but whose names have now<br />

slipped into obscurity. Henry Clark Corbin<br />

of Monroe Township emerged from the war<br />

as a twenty-two year old Brevet Brigadier<br />

General. After receiving a personal<br />

commission from General Grant, he<br />

remained in the U.S. Army and retired as its<br />

highest ranking officer. John Wageman of<br />

❖ Bethel Baptist Church was organized in 1798, as<br />

an anti-slavery church. Obed Denham, abolitionist and<br />

founder of Bethel, donated two lots for the church to<br />

build a meeting house and cemetery. He placed a deed<br />

restriction upon the gift, prohibiting the use by “those<br />

who hold slaves or commune at the Lord’s table with<br />

those who practice slavery.” The church became the first<br />

emancipating society west of the Alleghenies. The church<br />

joined the Baptized Licking Locust Association, an<br />

association of anti-slavery Baptist of Kentucky.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Clover was awarded the Congressional<br />

Medal of Honor for his heroics at the Battle<br />

of Petersburg. Gerard P. Riley, an abolitionist<br />

minister and Underground Railroad<br />

operative, earned the nickname of “The<br />

Fighting Chaplain” for his exploits at the<br />

Battle of Perryville. Captain William Randall,<br />

of Goshen, was among the 104 Union<br />

officers who escaped from Libby prison—<br />

the largest POW escape of the war. Captain<br />

Oliver Gatch and his brother Dr. Charles<br />

Gatch from Milford were eyewitnesses of<br />

President Lincoln’s assassination.<br />

The county’s black citizens enlisted in the<br />

war effort as well. Five <strong>Clermont</strong>ers joined<br />

up with the 55th Massachusetts Infantry.<br />

Marcus Simms, a forty-three-year- old black<br />

teamster and Underground Railroad<br />

conductor from Williamsburg, was killed in<br />

action at the Battle of Chaffin Farm, Virginia,<br />

in 1864. LeRoy Lee, who was rescued from<br />

slave owners by the people of New<br />

Richmond, was a member of the Second<br />

U.S. Heavy Artillery. After the war, he<br />

returned to New Richmond, becoming a<br />

respected member of the community.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> played a very<br />

important role in this dramatic episode of<br />

American history.<br />

52 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


CHAPTER VI<br />

C LERMONT C OUNTY V ETERANS, GENERALS & MEDAL OF H ONOR R ECIPIENTS<br />

B Y R ON H ILL, CLERMONT C OUNTY H ISTORICAL S OCIETY<br />

The citizens of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> have<br />

been involved in all of the conflicts that<br />

have faced our nation, from the<br />

Revolutionary War to the current wars in<br />

Iraq and Afghanistan. Memorials<br />

honoring the county’s veterans have been<br />

constructed by villages and townships<br />

throughout the county. Each Memorial<br />

and Veterans Day communities<br />

throughout the county pay homage to<br />

their veterans in parades and gatherings<br />

and decorating graves. Though not<br />

formally organized, veterans see that each<br />

gravesite of a serviceman or woman is<br />

marked with a small American flag.<br />

ULYSSES<br />

S. GRANT<br />

Grant was born in Point Pleasant on<br />

April 27, 1822, and was given the name<br />

Hiram Ulysses. The following year the<br />

family moved to Georgetown, Ohio,<br />

where he lived for the next sixteen years.<br />

He attended West Point in 1839 where he<br />

❖ Ulysses S. Grant plaque on the Grant Memorial<br />

Bridge, Point Pleasant.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Ulysses S. Grant’s birthplace in Point Pleasant<br />

Grant was born in this house on April 27, 1822. He<br />

only lived here one year before his family moved to<br />

Georgetown. In 1885 the house was removed from Point<br />

Pleasant and put on display for the Ohio Valley<br />

Centennial. Later it was put on display in Columbus at<br />

the state fairgrounds. In March 1936 it was returned to<br />

Point Pleasant where it stands today.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Civil War veterans buried in Old Bethel Church<br />

Cemetery, Bantam.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The New Richmond Veterans Memorial<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

Chapter VI ✦ 53


HENRY CLARK CORBIN<br />

Corbin was born in Laurel in 1842. He<br />

attended the <strong>Clermont</strong> Academy in<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>ville and taught school in Olive<br />

Branch. He served in the Army during the<br />

Civil War and the Indian Wars in the<br />

Western United States. He was detailed to<br />

the White House in Washington where he<br />

served under Presidents Grant, Garfield and<br />

❖ Henry Clark Corbin’s plaque located in the Armory<br />

Building, Batavia.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

obtained the name Ulysses Simpson<br />

Grant. He served in the Mexican War. A<br />

few years after the war, he resigned<br />

from the military and returned to<br />

private life. With the outbreak of the<br />

Civil War in 1861, Congress confirmed<br />

his appointment as a brigadier general.<br />

He would achieve the rank of majorgeneral<br />

and become the greatest general<br />

of the Civil War. He was elected the<br />

eighteenth President of the United States.<br />

He visited <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> several times<br />

during and after his presidency. He died<br />

on July 13, 1885 and is buried in New<br />

York City.<br />

❖ Veterans Memorial Park, Union Township, 2009. Each cross represents a member of the military killed in the Iraq<br />

and Afghanistan War. The crosses are placed by Boy Scouts each Memorial Day.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ New Richmond WWI veterans memorial.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ Batavia Township Veterans Memorial Plaza was dedicated in November 2009.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

54 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


❖ Moscow veterans memorial.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

❖ The Batavia Veterans Memorial for members of the military lost in Korea, Vietnam, and the Persian Gulf.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

EDGAR<br />

R. ASTON<br />

Aston, of Amelia, was born in 1847 and<br />

was a private in Company L, 8th Cavalry.<br />

His Medal of Honor effort took place in<br />

San Carlos, Arizona in May 1868, during<br />

the Indian Wars. His citation reads: “With<br />

two other men he volunteered to search<br />

out a valley wherein an infantry column<br />

was immobile. This small group passed six<br />

miles among hostile Apache terrain finding<br />

the sought passage. On their return down<br />

the canyon they were attacked by Apaches<br />

who were successfully held at bay.” Aston<br />

served thirty years in the military and died<br />

in 1932. He is buried in the Tate Township<br />

Cemetery in Bethel.<br />

JOHN<br />

H. WAGEMAN<br />

❖ The Batavia Veterans Memorial for members of the military lost in World War I and World War II.<br />

COURTESY OF THE CLERMONT COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY.<br />

McKinley. Corbin achieved the highest rank<br />

in the United States Army, major-general. He<br />

died in 1909 and is buried in Arlington<br />

National Cemetery. The National Guard<br />

Armory in Batavia was dedicated in his name<br />

and a bronze plaque hangs in the lobby.<br />

Wageman was born in 1841. He enlisted<br />

in Company I, 60th Ohio Infantry at<br />

Amelia. His effort that won him the Medal<br />

of Honor took place in the Civil War at the<br />

Battle at Petersburg, Virginia. His citation<br />

reads “Remained with the command after<br />

being severely wounded until he had fired<br />

all the cartridges in his possession, when he<br />

had to be carried from the field.” Wageman<br />

died in 1916 and is buried in Williamsburg<br />

Township, Clover Cemetery.<br />

Chapter VI ✦ 55


SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY & READING LIST<br />

2004 State Profile, Ohio. Washington, D.C.: Woods & Poole Economics, 2004.<br />

Bancroft, Arthur P. Gazetteer and Directory of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio: 1882. Reprinted and Indexed. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 2004.<br />

Beller, Janet Brock. Loveland: Passages Through Time. Authors-editors: Janet Brock Beller and Maxine Elliott Nason. Loveland, Ohio:<br />

Greater Loveland <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 1992.<br />

Bennett, Libbie, ed. Monroe Township: 1803-1903. Monroe Township Bicentennial Board, 2003.<br />

Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association. Bethel: 1798-1998. Bethel, Ohio: Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association, 1998.<br />

Boklage, Mary George. Out of the Cornfields: A 25 Year History of <strong>Clermont</strong> Mercy Hospital. Cincinnati, Ohio, 1997.<br />

Centenary Celebration Commemorating the Birth of General Ulysses Simpson Grant: 1822-1922. U. S. Grant Memorial Centenary<br />

Association of the United States, 1922.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Convention & Visitors Bureau. Freedom Trail: Underground Railroad and Abolitionist Sites. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> Convention & Visitors Bureau, 2004.<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio, 1980: A Collection of Genealogical and <strong>Historic</strong>al Writings, Volume One. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Genealogical Society, 1984.<br />

Crawford, Richard. Lightning Across The River: The Story of John Hunt Morgan’s Raid On <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio and U.S. Grant:<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s Most Noted Son. Newport, Kentucky: Rhiannon Publications, 1996.<br />

Crawford, Richard. Thunder Before the Dawn: Stories of the Early Settlers and Warriors In <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio. Newport, KY:<br />

Rhiannon Publications, 1995.<br />

Crawford, Richard. Thunder in the Valley: The Confederate Invasion of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Cincinnati, Ohio: Richard Crawford.<br />

Didday, Elaine, ed. Goshen Township History and Directory. Goshen, Ohio: Goshen Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 2005.<br />

Dore, Christopher C. In the Shadow of the River: A History of the Chilo Lock and Dam #34 and the Community. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> Park Board, 1995.<br />

Eberhard, Thomas. The Loveland Story. Loveland, Ohio: Greater Loveland <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 1963.<br />

Ford Motor Company. Batavia Memories, 1980-2008. Batavia, Ohio: Batavia Transmission Plant, 2008.<br />

Germann, Kristin. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library: 50 Years of Caring and Sharing, 1955-2005. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public<br />

Library, 2005.<br />

Grabb, John R. The Marietta & Cincinnati in Connection with the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. Jackson, Ohio: Jackson Publishing Co., 1989.<br />

Grant, Ulysses S. Personal memoirs of U. S. Grant. New York: Charles L. Webster Co., 1885.<br />

Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society. Bridge to the Past: A History of Milford, Ohio. Compiled by Virginia C. Critchell, Carol Flum<br />

and Maxine Van Aken. Milford, Ohio: Greater Milford <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 2000.<br />

Harmony Hill Association. Olde Williamsburgh, 200 Years of History: Bicentennial Commemoration, 1796-1996. Williamsburg, Ohio:<br />

Harmony Hill Association, 1996, reprinted 2005.<br />

Hill, Ronald and Richard Crawford, ed. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio Bicentennial, 1800-2000. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al<br />

Society, 2001.<br />

Horwitz, Lester V. Longest Raid of the Civil War: Little-Known & Untold Stories of Morgan’s Raid into Kentucky, Indiana & Ohio.<br />

Cincinnati, Ohio: Farmcourt Publishing, 1999.<br />

Hughes, Clifford. Dedicated to the Progress of the Village of Amelia: Incorporated December 20, 1900: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio. Amelia,<br />

Ohio: Village of Amelia, 1993.<br />

Knepp, Gary L. Beyond the Names: A Tribute to <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio Vietnam War Dead. Milford, Ohio: Little Miami Publishing<br />

Company, 2009.<br />

Knepp, Gary L. Freedom’s Struggle: A Response to Slavery from the Ohio Borderlands. Milford, Ohio: Little Miami Publishing<br />

Company, 2008.<br />

Knepp, Gary L. and Patricia Wade Bradford. Nine Who Made a Difference: Distinguished Citizens of <strong>Clermont</strong>’s First 200 Years. Batavia,<br />

Ohio: Gary L. Knepp, 2000.<br />

Knepp, Gary L., ed. The Autobiography of Henry Clark Corbin. Cragburn Publishing, 2003.<br />

Knepp, Gary L., ed. To Crown Myself with Honor: The Wartime Letters of Captain Asbury Gatch, 9th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry. Cragburn<br />

Press, 1997.<br />

56 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Koch, James L. Before That: Scenes in Goshen Township, <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio. Goshen, Ohio: Goshen Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 2007.<br />

Lloyd, W. A., J. I. Falconer, and C. E. Thorne. The Agriculture of Ohio, Bulletin 326. Wooster, Ohio: Ohio Agricultural Experiment<br />

Station, 1918.<br />

Marcotte, Fred. University of Cincinnati <strong>Clermont</strong> College: The First 25 Years, 1972-1997. Batavia, Ohio: University of Cincinnati<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> College, 1997.<br />

McNeil, David. Cincinnati And Columbus Traction Co.: Hillsboro Short Line; The Swing Line. Cincinnati, Ohio: David McNeil, 1996.<br />

McNeil, David. Cincinnati, Milford & Loveland Traction Company (Cincinnati, Milford & Blanchester Traction Co.): The Kroger Line.<br />

Hamilton, Ohio: David McNeil, 2002.<br />

McNeil, David. Railroad with 3 Gauges: The Cincinnati, Georgetown & Portsmouth Railroad and Felicity & Bethel Railroad; also with<br />

Material on the Interurban Railway & Terminal Co. and the Ohio River & Columbus Railroad. Cincinnati, Ohio: David McNeil, 1986.<br />

Reprint, Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 2005.<br />

Neville Bicentennial Committee. <strong>Historic</strong> Neville on the Ohio River. Neville, Ohio: Neville Bicentennial Committee, 2008.<br />

New Richmond’s “150”, Inc. 1816-1966, New Richmond’s Sesquicentennial Program, August 4-5-6-7, 1966 and “The village in the Valley,” a<br />

Short History of New Richmond and it’s[sic] People by Chester Hamilton. New Richmond, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> Courier, 1966.<br />

Official Roster of the Soldiers of the American Revolution Buried in the State of Ohio. Compiled under the direction of Frank D.<br />

Henderson, John R. Rea, Jane Dowd Dailey. [Columbus, Ohio]: Daughters of the American Revolution, 1929.<br />

Rockey, J. L. and R. J. Bancroft. History of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio: with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of its Prominent Men and<br />

Pioneers. Philadelphia: Everts, 1880. Reprinted with Index compiled by the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Genealogical Society. Batavia,<br />

Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 1973.<br />

Roseboom, Eugene H. and Francis P. Weisenburger. A History of Ohio. 2nd ed. Columbus, Ohio: The Ohio <strong>Historic</strong>al Society,<br />

c. 1953, 1967.<br />

Scamyhorn, Richard and John Steinle. Stockades in the Wilderness: The Frontier Defenses and Settlements of Southwestern Ohio, 1788-<br />

1795. Dayton, Ohio: Landfall Press, 1986.<br />

Sipple, Edith Beach. Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong> Cemetery and Landmark Tour: Memorial Day 1976. Compiled by Edith Beach Sipple and<br />

edited by Linda McKinley. n.p., [1976]. Reprinted and illustrations added. Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong> Society, 2009.<br />

Slade, Robert K. Early Days in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Manchester, Ohio: Manchester Signal, 1964.<br />

Smalley, Stephen B. Interurban Railway and Terminal Company “The Black Line”, Vol. I. Cincinnati, Ohio: Stephen B. Smalley, 1972.<br />

Reprint, Cincinnati, Ohio: Anderson Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

Smith, Alma Aicholtz. Mt. Carmel and Summerside, Ohio: from 1788 to Modern Times. Cincinnati, Ohio: Alma Aicholtz Smith, 1983.<br />

Smith, Alma Aicholtz. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio Land Records, 1787-1812: Surveys, Patents, Deeds and Mortgages, with Index of Grantors<br />

and Grantees. Cincinnati, Ohio: Alma Aicholtz Smith, 1990.<br />

Smith, Alma Aicholtz. The Virginia Military Surveys of <strong>Clermont</strong> and Hamilton Counties, Ohio, 1787-1849. Cincinnati, Ohio: Alma<br />

Aicholtz Smith, 1985.<br />

Thompson, Roy C. The Schools of <strong>Clermont</strong>: A Study of the Development of Education in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> PTA Council and the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 1962.<br />

United States Department of Agriculture–NASS. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Crop Statistics: 1918-2006. Washington, D.C.: National Agricultural<br />

Statistics, USDA, 2009.<br />

Way, Frederick, Jr. Way’s Packet Directory, 1848-1983: Passenger Steamboats of the Mississippi River System since the Advent of<br />

Photography in Mid-Continent America. Athens, Ohio: Ohio University, 1983.<br />

White, John H., Jr. On the Right Track: Some <strong>Historic</strong> Cincinnati Railroads. Cincinnati, Ohio: Cincinnati Railroad Club, Inc., 2003.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. 2002 Reprint of Thirey & Mitchell’s Encyclopedic Directory and History of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, O.: Plus Additions, 1902 to<br />

2002 and Total Comprehensive Index. Amelia, Ohio: Aileen Whitt, 2002.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio, 1870: Atlas and History. Illustrated By Glenice Reeves. New Richmond, Ohio: Aileen<br />

Whitt, 1985.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio, 1891 Atlas & History: Millennium Reprint Edition with Comprehensive Index. New Richmond,<br />

Ohio: Aileen Whitt, 2000.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. Cranston Memorial Presbyterian Church, 1821-1993, New Richmond, Ohio. New Richmond, Ohio: J. B. Whitt, 1993.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. Monroe Presbyterian Church, Nicholsville, <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio. 1831-1950. New Richmond, Ohio: Aileen<br />

Whitt, 1996.<br />

Whitt, Aileen M. Veterans, New Richmond (Ohio) Area: Servicemen - Servicewomen - <strong>Historic</strong>al Honor List. Amelia, Ohio: Aileen<br />

Whitt, 2006.<br />

Selected Bibliography & Reading List ✦ 57


Whitt, Aileen M., ed. New Richmond, Ohio: <strong>Historic</strong>al Collections 1997. New Richmond, Ohio: <strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc., 1997.<br />

Williams, Byron. History of <strong>Clermont</strong> and Brown Counties, Ohio: From the Earliest <strong>Historic</strong>al Times down to the Present, in Two Volumes.<br />

Williamsburg, Ohio, 1913. Reprinted and indexed by <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Genealogical Society. Batavia, Ohio: <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Genealogical Society, 1987.<br />

Wood, Miriam. “<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s Covered Bridges.” Bridges and Byways, Journal of the Ohio <strong>Historic</strong> Bridge Association 13.<br />

Columbus, Ohio. 13, no. 4 (Autumn 2001) and 14, no. 1 (Winter 2002).<br />

Wood, Miriam. Covered Bridges of Ohio: An Atlas and History. Columbus, Ohio: Miriam Wood, 1993.<br />

58 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


SHARING THE HERITAGE<br />

<strong>Historic</strong> profiles of businesses,<br />

organizations, and families that have<br />

contributed to the development and<br />

economic base of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

SPECIAL<br />

THANKS TO<br />

Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong> .................................................................60<br />

Shaw Farms ...................................................................................62<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library........................................................64<br />

Duke Energy ..................................................................................66<br />

AmeriStay Inn & Suites ...................................................................68<br />

The Myers Y. Cooper Company..........................................................70<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society ...................................................72<br />

Auxier Gas ....................................................................................73<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber of Commerce........................................................74<br />

Gastrich Re-Bar, Inc........................................................................75<br />

SEM Retirement Communities ...........................................................76<br />

Holiday Inn & Suites Cincinnati Eastgate ...........................................77<br />

The Pill Box Pharmacy ....................................................................78<br />

Little Miami Homecare Inc. ..............................................................79<br />

Lykins Companies ...........................................................................80<br />

The Lykins Companies<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 59


MERCY<br />

HOSPITAL<br />

CLERMONT<br />

❖<br />

Above: At the groundbreaking for<br />

Mercy’s Emergency Department,<br />

J. Kermit Smith stands at the far left<br />

next to Sister Mary George Boklage.<br />

Opposite, top: The main entrance was<br />

updated in 2006.<br />

Opposite, middle: The 2006<br />

expansion included larger rooms<br />

designed specifically for critically<br />

ill patients.<br />

Opposite, bottom: Mercy Hospital<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> expanded in 2006 to<br />

include a new atrium and one of the<br />

largest ICU’s in the region.<br />

Since it was founded in 1973, Mercy Hospital<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> has been the leading healthcare provider<br />

for <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and the surrounding<br />

communities. The hospital is a member of Mercy<br />

Health Partners, a comprehensive healthcare<br />

network with more than thirty care-delivery<br />

sites throughout Greater Cincinnati, including<br />

five award-winning hospitals, senior living<br />

communities and health and wellness centers.<br />

Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

continues to build on a<br />

growing reputation for providing<br />

exceptional care.<br />

The hospital has received<br />

national recognition from<br />

a variety of organizations<br />

for excellence in quality of<br />

care and patient safety. In<br />

2008, Mercy <strong>Clermont</strong> was<br />

again rated one of the 100<br />

Top Hospitals in the nation<br />

for overall care by Thomson<br />

Reuters, marking the third<br />

time it has earned this<br />

prestigious recognition.<br />

The hospital also continues to grow its<br />

services to meet the needs of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s<br />

growing population. Today, Mercy <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

provides a wide range of healthcare services<br />

and programs, including a new and expanded<br />

intensive care unit (ICU), cancer care, diagnostic/<br />

imaging, emergency care, heart care, lung<br />

specialists, inpatient/outpatient surgery, and the<br />

first wound care center in southwest Ohio.<br />

The legacy of the hospital began as early as<br />

the 1940s as committees were created to study<br />

the possibility of a medical facility in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. But it was not until the 1960s that<br />

J. Kermit Smith, a prominent local business<br />

man, initiated efforts to build a hospital in the<br />

county. At that time, residents had to either<br />

travel east to a small hospital in Brown <strong>County</strong>,<br />

or drive to downtown Cincinnati, a trip that<br />

could take up to an hour due to the limited<br />

roads that were available at the time.<br />

Smith received some pushback from healthcare<br />

leaders in Cincinnati, but he had the support of<br />

many physicians and key leaders in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>. He teamed with Sister Mary George<br />

Boklage, a Sister of Mercy who had experience in<br />

hospital administration. A hospital commission<br />

was established by the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Board<br />

of Commissioners in 1968. Eventually, they were<br />

able to get the initiative on the ballot in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> and it was approved by voters in 1970.<br />

Construction began in 1972 and its doors were<br />

opened to patients and their families on September<br />

29, 1973. It remains the only hospital in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> today.<br />

The hospital quickly flourished with its<br />

outstanding modern facility and well-regarded<br />

medical staff. By 1980 a third floor shell of the<br />

hospital was completed to increase the number<br />

of beds by forty-eight. The J. Kermit Smith<br />

Pavilion debuted in 1983 and, as the hospital<br />

grew through the decade, it added a psychiatric<br />

unit of thirty beds, while also expanding the<br />

radiology department and providing new space<br />

for therapy services.<br />

In the last ten years, as <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s<br />

population continued to grow, Mercy <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

has kept up by expanding the services and levels<br />

of care available.<br />

In 2004 the first dedicated Wound Care Center<br />

in southwest Ohio opened at Mercy <strong>Clermont</strong>.<br />

The center continues to thrive today, providing<br />

care that is often life-changing for patients with<br />

chronic wounds.<br />

The hospital also began a new $18-million<br />

construction project in 2005 that added a new<br />

Physician Pavilion, atrium, and main entrance,<br />

as well as a new and expanded ICU.<br />

The three-story Physician Pavilion provides<br />

space for up to twenty-five physician offices, as<br />

well as more convenient access to outpatient<br />

services such as Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation<br />

and Physical and Occupational Therapy.<br />

The new main entrance and atrium feature<br />

centralized services that include registration,<br />

new visitor elevators, and a new gift shop.<br />

In 2008 the ribbon cutting was held for<br />

the new, state-of-the-art ICU. The unit nearly<br />

doubled the size of the old ICU, expanded<br />

from twelve to sixteen beds, and incorporates<br />

all of the comforts and amenities of patientcentered<br />

care.<br />

Mercy Medical Center Mount Orab opened<br />

in 2009. The center, which is operated by Mercy<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong>, enhances access to high-quality<br />

healthcare services and provides twenty-four<br />

hours per day, seven days a week emergency care<br />

and a full range of imaging and diagnostic care.<br />

60 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Today, Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong> is one of the<br />

largest employers in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. It is<br />

centrally located at 3000 Hospital Drive in Batavia<br />

Township, just off State Route 32. Mercy Medical<br />

Imaging–Milford is also a department of the<br />

hospital and provides comprehensive imaging and<br />

diagnostic services at its location near State Route<br />

28 and I-275 in Milford.<br />

Mercy <strong>Clermont</strong> has always been an<br />

excellent corporate neighbor and supports a<br />

wide variety of local organizations that provide<br />

invaluable services to the community. The<br />

hospital has been recognized for its<br />

contributions to the county by a number of<br />

local organizations, including the <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

Chamber of Commerce and <strong>Clermont</strong> 20/20.<br />

Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong> specializes in<br />

providing exceptional care that puts the focus on<br />

the patient’s individual needs, taking the time to<br />

answer questions, explain procedures and let<br />

patients know what to expect. It has been part of<br />

the hospital’s Mission since the Sisters of Mercy<br />

and Franciscan Sisters of the Poor first began<br />

caring for those in need in Greater Cincinnati<br />

more than 150 years ago. Today, it continues in<br />

the nurses, doctors, staff, volunteers and all who<br />

make Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong> one of the<br />

leading hospitals in the region.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 61


SHAW FARMS<br />

❖<br />

Below: Jerry Shaw.<br />

Bottom: Jeff and Tyler Shaw.<br />

The historic Shaw Farms was originally<br />

established by Garold “Jerry” Shaw in 1948.<br />

Offering the finest in farm-fresh summer produce<br />

and outstanding fall family entertainment, the<br />

land itself speaks of a rich history that has been<br />

cherished in the area for two centuries.<br />

Before 1795, no white man had penetrated<br />

into what is now <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. In that year,<br />

pioneers settled in Miami, Washington, and<br />

Williamsburg Townships. In 1807, Thomas and<br />

Martha Shaw were farmers of Quaker ancestry<br />

who immigrated to <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> from<br />

Bucks <strong>County</strong>, Pennsylvania, with their nineyear-old<br />

son, James Bedford.<br />

James married Mary Banghart in 1836. Four<br />

children, William, Martha, Sarah, and James<br />

were born to the couple. Sarah married Zach<br />

Robinson. Old deeds show that Sarah was the<br />

owner of the current Shaw Farm. Sarah sold the<br />

land to Charles W. Shaw, Jerry’s grandfather, in<br />

1885. James M. Shaw, Sarah’s brother, acquired<br />

the property adjoining the farm located in<br />

Stonelick Township.<br />

Charles died at an early age from diphtheria<br />

and the land was left to his widow, Elnora.<br />

Elnora sold the land to their only living heir,<br />

Charles Samuel Shaw on September 21, 1935.<br />

At the death of Charles Samuel, Jerry’s father, in<br />

1972, the land went to his three children,<br />

Charles, Donald and Jerry, who began sole<br />

operation of the farm in 1948.<br />

In 1952 the family’s first sweet corn was raised<br />

and sold at the Farmer’s Market at Second and<br />

Main Street in Cincinnati. Sweet corn was sold<br />

for fifteen cents per dozen for yellow corn and<br />

twenty-five cents per dozen for white corn. The<br />

corn was picked early each morning, but the<br />

market did not open until 5 p.m. so customers<br />

passing by the loaded truck would stop to buy<br />

corn before it was taken to market. Eventually,<br />

the family decided to open a market at home.<br />

The first stand consisted of a few hamper<br />

baskets with a board across the top where the<br />

vegetables were placed, while the corn was<br />

placed in bushel baskets beside the table.<br />

The first pumpkins were raised between the<br />

rows of corn and were picked and placed in a<br />

pile in the front yard. The money earned was<br />

given to the children to spend on their vacations.<br />

In the late 1970s, Jerry decided to raise more<br />

pumpkins. His wife, Jean, made a stuffed man to<br />

62 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


sit in a chair among the pumpkins. Since Jean<br />

was not gifted in painting, she asked Pam, her<br />

future daughter-in-law, to paint a head for her<br />

pumpkin man—and the famed pumpkin display<br />

of Shaw Farms was born.<br />

As time went on, Jerry and his two sons,<br />

Mike and Jeff, were the only farmers left in the<br />

extended Shaw family.<br />

In 1987 the first section of the selling barn was<br />

built. This area soon became too small and two<br />

other additions were added in 1991 and 2001.<br />

Today, the farm remains a family-operated<br />

business and many participate and contribute to<br />

the successful business. During the summer<br />

months, locally grown produce is sold in the gift<br />

shop. Most of the vegetables are grown by Mike<br />

and Jeff and their sons Tyler, Ryan, and Dakota.<br />

In October, guests enjoy the sights of fall at<br />

Shaw Farms and enjoy hayrides, watching the<br />

animals, and enjoying the laughter of children<br />

as they play among the numerous pumpkin<br />

people and displays. Many groups and school<br />

children also come for educational field trips.<br />

The Shaw family is grateful for such a blessed<br />

past and to be able to continue sharing the farm<br />

with others.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 63


CLERMONT<br />

COUNTY<br />

PUBLIC LIBRARY<br />

It all began in 1948 with a resounding “yes”<br />

vote from residents of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. A public<br />

library system was desired and a seven member<br />

Board of Trustees was appointed and organized<br />

in 1949. However, it was 1955 before the money<br />

actually became available and the Board of<br />

Trustees immediately began establishing the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library.<br />

The Board of Trustees researched various<br />

service options while establishing the library.<br />

Since there were no large urban centers in the<br />

county at that time, the Trustees decided a<br />

bookmobile would provide the most people with<br />

library service. In the summer of 1955, Doris<br />

Wood was hired as head librarian, a bookmobile<br />

was ordered, books were purchased, and an<br />

office was set up in a storeroom at a local tire<br />

store. The budget permitted three support staff,<br />

which included the office clerk, bookmobile<br />

clerk, and driver.<br />

The Milford Branch Library was the first walkin<br />

location and opened as the first branch of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library in 1959. Today,<br />

located at the old Rock Bottom Grocery Surplus<br />

building at 1099 State Route 131, the library has<br />

a new name better identifying its service area:<br />

the Milford-Miami Township Branch Library. It<br />

has the largest collection of materials and is the<br />

busiest branch.<br />

❖<br />

Left: Williamsburg Branch Manager<br />

Chris Rich demonstrates the<br />

Nintendo Wii during a Senior<br />

Outreach Program.<br />

Right: Hap Hazard, CCPL Hands Up!<br />

Puppet Troupe’s star puppet.<br />

By the end of 1955, the bookmobile was<br />

traveling several days a week, serving 10 schools,<br />

and making 28 stops. One short year later the<br />

Board of Trustees realized the library needed<br />

more space and although property was sought,<br />

their immediate decision was to purchase a<br />

second bookmobile. The second bookmobile<br />

served only schools, while the original was<br />

reserved for adults. Bookmobiles continued to<br />

provide service until 1995.<br />

The Batavia Branch opened in 1961 and is<br />

located at the corner of 180 South Third Street<br />

and 326 Broadway Street. In 1990 the branch<br />

was renamed for Doris E. Wood in honor of<br />

her invaluable contributions as CCPL’s first head<br />

librarian. She was also instrumental in creating<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Genealogical Society,<br />

whose extensive collection is still housed and<br />

maintained by the library.<br />

The Union Township Branch Library, located at<br />

4462 Mount Carmel-Tobasco Road, opened its<br />

doors to the community in 1963. A large addition<br />

completed in 1988 tripled its size to an impressive<br />

twelve thousand square feet, providing space for a<br />

larger collection, programming for children and<br />

adults, and much needed staff workspace. In<br />

2004 the Union Township Branch became the<br />

first to offer bilingual services and programs.<br />

64 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


The Bethel Branch officially opened on August<br />

22, 1967. The library publicly announced<br />

construction plans for a new, larger building in<br />

2004 that is located at 611 West Plane Street.<br />

The new facility offers many firsts for CCPL:<br />

a drive-up window for people in a hurry, energy<br />

efficient utilities, enhanced children and teen<br />

areas, a large outside program area, and a great<br />

multifunctional room.<br />

The first New Richmond Branch opened in<br />

1980 offering services sixteen hours per week. It<br />

was located in a permanently housed bookmobile<br />

in the parking lot of the vacant New Richmond<br />

School on Market Street. After many moves<br />

through the years, the Harold F. Flannery New<br />

Richmond Branch finally settled in a new building<br />

at 103 Valley Boulevard on March 14, 2004.<br />

The Amelia Branch opened to the public on<br />

March 27, 1988, at 58 Maple Avenue. Just a few<br />

months later, on September 18, 1988, the<br />

Williamsburg Branch opened at 594 Main Street.<br />

Among its projects, the Williamsburg Branch<br />

developed Sidekicks, an intergenerational project<br />

for teens and seniors, which received the<br />

Excellence in Library Services to Young Adults<br />

Award from the American Library Association.<br />

With an opening day of October 29, 1989, the<br />

Goshen Branch is the second largest facility of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library, with its<br />

fourteen-thousand-square-foot facility located at<br />

6678 State Route 132. The Felicity Branch opened<br />

on January 30, 1994, at 209 Prather Road,<br />

directly across from the Felicity-Franklin School<br />

complex. The Owensville Branch, the last of the<br />

originally planned libraries, is located at 2548<br />

U.S. Route 50. The land was purchased from the<br />

Owensville Methodist Church in 1989 for the<br />

library’s tenth and final branch. It celebrated its<br />

grand opening on August 25, 1997, and was the<br />

only branch to be online when it opened.<br />

Please visit www.clermontlibrary.org for<br />

more information.<br />

❖<br />

Above: Felicity Branch Library<br />

Cardinal Quilters display their quilt<br />

squares. Four completed quilts have<br />

been donated to the library.<br />

Below: Executive Director Dave<br />

Mezack and Williamsburg Branch<br />

Manager Chris Rich present a<br />

collection of Veteran History Project<br />

DVDs to the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Veterans Service Commission.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 65


❖<br />

DUKE ENERGY<br />

Above and below: The Beckjord Plant.<br />

Duke Energy is proud of its role in helping<br />

the Tristate grow and prosper, including being<br />

part of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>’s rich history.<br />

Duke Energy’s Ohio utility operations are<br />

rooted in the Cincinnati Gas Light & Coke<br />

Company, which was established in April 1837.<br />

The company was formed to supply gas, distilled<br />

from coal, for lighting the homes and business of<br />

the thirty-five thousand people living in the<br />

growing community of Cincinnati at that time.<br />

The new lighting medium became popular and<br />

the gaslight era boomed. Then in 1889, and after<br />

Thomas Edison invented the incandescent<br />

electric light bulb, the Cincinnati Gas Light<br />

and Coke Company built a 1,200 horsepower<br />

electric power generating plant, “Station A,”<br />

on the Ohio River next to its West End Gas<br />

Works Station.<br />

In 1901 the company consolidated with<br />

other local interests in the electric supply<br />

industry to become the Cincinnati Gas &<br />

Electric Company (CG&E). The company’s<br />

major generating facility during this time was<br />

its Plum Street Station, located on the Miami<br />

and Erie Canal. From an original capacity of<br />

4,000 kilowatts, this station’s generating<br />

capacity grew to 34,800 kilowatts by 1917.<br />

The abandonment of the canal necessitated<br />

building a new plant, and West End Station<br />

was constructed with two 25,000-kilowatt<br />

units as the original installation near the site<br />

of Station A. By 1921 the capacity of West End<br />

Station was doubled to one hundred thousand<br />

kilowatts due to continuing service area expansion.<br />

Rapid load growth following the end of<br />

World War II, required additional generating<br />

capacity. In November 1948, CG&E announced<br />

that a new generating station would be built on<br />

the Ohio River, about eighteen miles upstream<br />

from Cincinnati near New Richmond, Ohio,<br />

in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. It would have an initial<br />

unit with a rated capacity of more than one<br />

hundred thousand kilowatts. During its<br />

construction, CG&E’s board of directors named<br />

the plant the “Walter C. Beckjord Station,” in<br />

recognition of CG&E past President and<br />

Chairman Walter Beckjord’s outstanding record<br />

of company, community and industry service.<br />

Beckjord Station was dedicated in June 1952<br />

with the first of five coal-fired generating units,<br />

a 115-megawatt unit going into commercial<br />

operation shortly thereafter. A second 113-<br />

megawatt unit went into operation in 1953.<br />

Unit 3, with 125 megawatts of capacity began<br />

commercial operation by late 1954. Unit 4,<br />

with a capacity of 165 megawatts, followed<br />

in 1958, and Unit 5, with 240 megawatts of<br />

capacity, came on line in 1962. An additional<br />

460 megawatt coal-fired unit was added in<br />

1969 along with more than 210 megawatts<br />

of oil-fired units. The later units gave the<br />

plant a total nameplate capacity of more than<br />

fourteen hundred megawatts.<br />

66 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


To meet the Tristate’s growing demand for<br />

electricity, the William H. Zimmer Generating<br />

Station, named for the company’s past<br />

president, began commercial operation in<br />

March 1991 with a total plant capacity of<br />

thirteen hundred megawatts. The plant is<br />

located on the Ohio River in Moscow, Ohio, also<br />

in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, about thirty-five miles east<br />

of Cincinnati and about fifteen miles from<br />

Beckjord Station.<br />

Zimmer Station was originally built to be a<br />

nuclear power plant, but it was ultimately<br />

converted to coal-fired generation upon its<br />

completion—the first such conversion project<br />

in the United States. The plant is regarded as the<br />

largest single-unit power facility in the United<br />

States. Zimmer Station set a world record in<br />

1992 for the most coal burned in a year by a<br />

single generating unit when it consumed<br />

4 million tons of coal.<br />

In October 1994, CG&E merged with PSI<br />

Energy, the largest electric utility in Indiana, to<br />

form Cinergy Corp. In April 2006, Duke Energy<br />

was formed with the merger of Duke Energy,<br />

headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina,<br />

and Cinergy, headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio.<br />

Today, Duke Energy is the third largest<br />

electric power holding company in the United<br />

States, based on kilowatt-hour sales. Its<br />

regulated utility operations serve approximately<br />

4 million customers located in five states—<br />

North Carolina, South Carolina, Indiana, Ohio,<br />

and Kentucky—representing a population of<br />

approximately 11 million people. Duke Energy’s<br />

commercial power and international business<br />

segments operate diverse power generation<br />

assets in North America and Latin America,<br />

including a growing portfolio of renewable<br />

energy assets in the United States.<br />

Headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina,<br />

Duke Energy is a Fortune 500 company traded<br />

on the New York Stock Exchange under<br />

the symbol DUK. More information about the<br />

company is available at www.duke-energy.com.<br />

❖<br />

Above and below: The Zimmer Plant.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 67


AMERISTAY<br />

INN & SUITES<br />

The Batavia hotel was opened in July 2004<br />

with sixty-four guest rooms and Terri Morgan<br />

serving as the hotel’s first manager. Previously<br />

an AmeriHost Inn & Suites © , the property<br />

consistently was rated among the top hotels in<br />

the chain. Cleanliness, Value, and Service are<br />

the values that the staff has been trained to<br />

provide, and those traits have carried over<br />

to the all-new AmeriStay. Aside from the<br />

deluxe guest rooms, the hotel contains twelve<br />

whirlpool suites, including two executive class<br />

rooms that overlook the indoor pool area.<br />

AmeriStay Inn & Suites is located at 2188<br />

Winemiller Lane off Ohio State Road 32 at<br />

Bauer Road, six miles east of Interstate 275 and<br />

is conveniently located to area attractions,<br />

restaurants and shopping. Within two miles,<br />

you will find a lake where you can enjoy<br />

boating, canoeing, or fishing.<br />

In April 2007, Rachel Hawks-Overstake<br />

became manager of AmeriStay Inn & Suites<br />

and has led the site through a series of<br />

renovations that continue to enhance the<br />

AmeriStay experience.<br />

68 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Owned by Randall Roe and his children<br />

Trevor and Tara Roe, and a subsidiary of Roe<br />

Properties, Ltd., AmeriStay Hotels is a chain<br />

of luxury hotels offering affordable prices<br />

and catering to business and leisure travelers,<br />

as well as families. The company’s goal is to<br />

provide the cleanest, quietest rooms possible<br />

to make one’s stay just as if they had never left<br />

home. AmeriStay’s staff will go the extra mile<br />

to meet any needs or concerns customers may<br />

have and will address any issue, before you<br />

leave for your next destination.<br />

AmeriStay offers handicapped accessible<br />

rooms, connecting rooms as well as smoking<br />

or non-smoking rooms. Amenities at AmeriStay<br />

include Continental breakfast, cable/satellite<br />

television, in-room coffeemakers, hairdryers,<br />

iron and ironing board, free local telephone<br />

calls, voice mail, and much more. After a day<br />

of business appointments, meetings or<br />

exploring the Batavia area, you can enjoy the<br />

indoor hot tub or pool. Or if you are in need of<br />

a workout, a fitness center is available onsite or<br />

you may just want to relax in your air<br />

conditioned room.<br />

With future expansions planned, AmeriStay<br />

is also located in Waverly and Portsmouth,<br />

Ohio. For more information about AmeriStay<br />

Inn & Suites, please visit them online at<br />

www.ameristay.com/batavia.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 69


THE MYERS Y. COOPER COMPANY<br />

The Myers Y. Cooper Company is a real<br />

estate development and management business<br />

with a primary focus on commercial buildings<br />

including grocery-anchored shopping centers,<br />

neighborhood retail complexes, and medical<br />

professional office development.<br />

The company was founded in 1895 by<br />

Myers Cooper, an active developer of<br />

residential communities at Mount Lookout,<br />

Hyde Park, Mariemont, Forestville, and<br />

Montgomery. Cooper came to Cincinnati<br />

from Licking <strong>County</strong> to join his older<br />

brothers in their real estate brokerage<br />

business. After a few years of literally working<br />

“under his brothers”—they occupied the<br />

desirable second floor offices, assigning Myers<br />

to the first floor lobby—Cooper set out on<br />

his own.<br />

With his new bride, Martha Kinney, Myers<br />

moved out of the city to Mornington, the<br />

precursor to Hyde Park. Here he began selling<br />

home lots and building homes on the property<br />

of his in-laws. As this new community grew,<br />

so did the business of Myers Y. Cooper. The<br />

development of a street car system down<br />

Madison Road made the area accessible to the<br />

city and a desirable place to live.<br />

Myers Y. Cooper was inclusive in his<br />

business and social activity, surrounding<br />

himself with hardworking, like-minded<br />

individuals. His energy, strategic thinking, and<br />

good nature made him a natural leader and<br />

eventually drew him to politics. In 1928, he was<br />

elected the fifty-first governor of Ohio. His love<br />

of people and enterprise also drew him to other<br />

parts of the United States and resulted in<br />

business development in Coral Gables, Florida,<br />

70 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


with Geo Merrick, onion farming in south<br />

Texas, farmers’ fertilizer in Columbus, Ohio,<br />

and coal mining in Kentucky.<br />

Love of country and patriotic necessity drew<br />

Cooper’s son, R. K. Cooper, to serve in World<br />

War I and World War II. Before and after the<br />

war efforts, R. K. became an active manager of<br />

the family real estate business. Great Grandson<br />

Raymond K. Cooper II, current president<br />

of The Myers Y. Cooper Company, became<br />

interested in directing the business toward retail<br />

development and is now the fourth generation<br />

to pilot the organization.<br />

Raymond K. Cooper, II (Randy) identified<br />

Miami Township as a good place to grow<br />

based on plans for a Route 28 bypass highway,<br />

explosive home growth and a friendly business<br />

community. He brought Kroger, Sears, and<br />

other national retailers to the community. In the<br />

early days, plans for Mulberry Square were<br />

reviewed and approved by Township officials.<br />

Jean Schmidt, Joe Uecker, and Ed Humphrey<br />

oversaw the development and are now active<br />

in state and national politics. Attention has<br />

often followed opportunity, and the company<br />

has developed retail buildings for CVS drug<br />

store and other companies in Cincinnati and<br />

Atlanta, Georgia. Recent opportunity was<br />

again identified for the company in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> with the acquisition of the Eastgate<br />

Professional Building.<br />

The present headquarters of the company<br />

has been located in Mulberry Square Shopping<br />

Center in Miami Township since 2002.<br />

The company has immersed itself in the<br />

local community by becoming involved<br />

with the Chamber of Commerce, a local<br />

Boy Scout troop, and the Miami Township<br />

government. Myers Y. Cooper was fond of<br />

farming and education and chaired the<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong> Fair and supported Hirum<br />

College, among many other activities. The<br />

current Cooper generation continues the support<br />

of education with active roles with the<br />

Springer School and Transylvania University,<br />

also donating time and resources to the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Chamber of Commerce, Fine<br />

Arts Fund, and Ohioana Library (founded by<br />

Mrs. Myers Y. Cooper).<br />

For more information about The Myers Y.<br />

Cooper Company, visit www.cooper-co.com.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 71


CLERMONT<br />

COUNTY<br />

HISTORICAL<br />

SOCIETY<br />

❖<br />

Harmony Hill Association Building;<br />

office, museum and archives of the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

The <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society was<br />

formed in 1958 and incorporated as a nonprofit<br />

organization. The founding members were John<br />

MacKeever, Rose Cox, Hilda Johnson, Mabel<br />

Smith, Ruth Patchell, Fred Stairs, Evelyn<br />

Devine, Anna and Oscar Dumford and Diana<br />

Womach. The first president was Robert Hyde.<br />

The mission of the organization is to preserve,<br />

protect and promote the historical heritage of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, Ohio, for the betterment,<br />

enlightenment and well-being of it citizens by:<br />

• Actively collecting and preserving historical<br />

records, documents, photographs and artifacts<br />

and making them available to the public;<br />

• Disseminating information through interpretive<br />

exhibits, presentations, and publications to<br />

schools, civic organizations, local government,<br />

and the public;<br />

• Encouraging the preservation of buildings,<br />

monuments, and sites of historical value; and<br />

• Cooperating with other historical societies and<br />

organizations having purposes in keeping<br />

with those of the Society.<br />

The Society maintains an archive, small<br />

museum and office at Harmony Hill, 299 South<br />

Third Street in Williamsburg, Ohio. Harmony<br />

Hill was the homestead of William Lytle, the<br />

“Father of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>.” At the same site<br />

the Harmony Hill Association (Williamsburg<br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society) has a museum and the oldest<br />

structure in the county, the Lytle Dairy House.<br />

The museum has displays of historical artifacts<br />

concerning <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. An extensive<br />

archive of documents, books, photographs<br />

and other materials related to county history<br />

is available to the researcher and public. The<br />

archive is indexed as an aid. The Society<br />

publishes ten newsletters a year with information<br />

of the activities of the Society and historical<br />

information. Meetings are held ten times a<br />

year at <strong>Clermont</strong> College, Batavia.<br />

For additional information about the Society,<br />

please visit www.clermonthistoric.org, email<br />

clermonths@aol.com, or write <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society, P.O. Box 14, Batavia, Ohio,<br />

45103.<br />

72 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Around 1925, Garland “Red” Auxier started<br />

a family business: a meat market in Amelia,<br />

Ohio. Soon after, he became a Hudson-Essex<br />

Automobile dealer in Batavia. The dealership<br />

became a Chevrolet dealership in 1932, and<br />

Auxier operated it until 1955. His son Tom<br />

became involved in the trucking business after<br />

Red retired. Tom’s business is still operating<br />

today with its third generation involved.<br />

In 1945, Red’s brother, William “Bun” Auxier<br />

returned from World War II and opened a small<br />

appliance store with Red as a<br />

silent partner. Bun sold radios<br />

and some new devices called<br />

televisions, as well as furniture,<br />

stoves, refrigerators and freezers.<br />

At the time, electricity was not<br />

available in all rural areas. He<br />

started selling gas (propane)<br />

ranges and, yes, propane powered<br />

refrigerators and freezers. This led<br />

to his need for a propane supplier<br />

to furnish his appliance customers<br />

with propane. He acquired<br />

a small propane company in<br />

Batavia, which eventually became<br />

the foundation of Auxier Gas, Inc. In 2010,<br />

Auxier Gas marked the sixty-fifth year of serving<br />

the Greater Cincinnati area.<br />

Auxier Gas has become a trusted partner in<br />

more than 5,000 homes in the Tri-state area.<br />

Today, the family-owned company proudly<br />

serves ten counties in Southern Ohio and<br />

Northern Kentucky, keeping local families safe<br />

and warm throughout the winter season.<br />

Auxier Gas is located at 2698 Old State Road<br />

32 in Batavia and at www.auxiergas.com.<br />

AUXIER GAS<br />

❖<br />

Above: June 1957.<br />

Below: The Auxier fleet, 1993.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 73


CLERMONT<br />

CHAMBER OF<br />

COMMERCE<br />

❖<br />

Leadership of the <strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber<br />

of Commerce, c. 1970.<br />

As one of the county’s most visible and<br />

critical resources for businesses in the region,<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber of Commerce was<br />

formed in 1969 with only a phone and a desk<br />

in one room in Batavia to support a part-time<br />

staff person. Gradually, the organization grew<br />

through the efforts of hard-working, visionary<br />

individuals who saw a different <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> in the future.<br />

From a county growth perspective, the<br />

Chamber became the place where developers,<br />

realtors, investors, and bankers could come<br />

and be seen. The Chamber was a remarkable<br />

resource for potential businesses to gather<br />

information in complete confidentiality. During<br />

the 1990s the Chamber also expanded its offerings<br />

to manage more information relating to current<br />

economic and demographic factors that would<br />

help businesses understand more of their market.<br />

Today, the <strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber has reestablished<br />

itself as a pre-eminent organization<br />

for business. It fills the serious need<br />

in coaching, counseling and developing<br />

entrepreneurs and remains focused upon three<br />

strategic concerns: economic growth, advocacy<br />

and member/investor benefits.<br />

The Chamber strives to be a highly effective<br />

voice in advocating for its members in order<br />

to influence public policy and is a relationshipbuilder<br />

to facilitate responsible public<br />

decision making.<br />

The Chamber works to provide effective and<br />

active involvement with the state government<br />

issues, to actively work with lobbyists to address<br />

issues of concern, to pursue involvement with<br />

fundraisers that support <strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber<br />

goals, to create and publish the Chamber’s<br />

public-policy agenda and<br />

to identify, recruit,<br />

educate and evaluate<br />

current and potential<br />

individuals interested in<br />

public service positions.<br />

The role of the<br />

Chamber in economic<br />

growth focuses on its<br />

expertise and ability to<br />

anticipate, navigate, simplify,<br />

and educate both the<br />

public and private communities.<br />

Within that role,<br />

the Chamber works to direct proactive educational<br />

initiatives for workforce development, advance<br />

land/infrastructure initiatives, advocate and facilitate<br />

in the areas of transportation and growth and<br />

partner with businesses and chambers throughout<br />

the region to develop strategic associations while<br />

working to align goals and resources.<br />

The Chamber began presenting a Pacesetter<br />

Award each year to an individual who has<br />

shown genuine concern for the welfare of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and its residents and who<br />

has exhibited outstanding qualities of character,<br />

citizenship and leadership. Individuals<br />

presented with the award include Jeff Lykins,<br />

James McDonough, Andy McCreanor, Robert<br />

“Mick” McLaughlin, Cindy Jenkins, Denny<br />

Begue, George Brown, Harold Herron, John Von<br />

Lehman, James Sauls, Jr., John Greer, Joseph<br />

Boruszewski, Ed Parish, James Meyer, Dan<br />

Rolfes, Roger Barry, Daniel Earley, R. James<br />

Parker, Sister Mary George Boklage, William<br />

Over, Ralph Hill, August Schwark, Jr., Thomas<br />

Ruthmeyer, David Tipton, Jeff Wyler, Frank<br />

Middleberg, Jesse Smith, James Sauls, Sr.,<br />

Harold and Horace Flannery, William Harsha,<br />

Ralph Houser, Lois Brown Dale, J. Kermit<br />

Smith, Harold Nichols, and Carl Sedacca.<br />

The Chamber supports the University of<br />

Cincinnati <strong>Clermont</strong> College with two annual<br />

scholarships and supports <strong>Clermont</strong> 20/20, a<br />

leadership development organization, as well as<br />

United Way of Greater Cincinnati Eastern Area.<br />

The <strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber is currently located<br />

in the Eastgate Professional Park, 4355<br />

Ferguson Drive, Suite 105 in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong>’s Union Township, and online at<br />

www.clermontchamber.com.<br />

74 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


“Small Enough to Serve You” best describes<br />

Gastrich Re-Bar, Inc., a small full service steel<br />

company in Cincinnati, Ohio. Established in<br />

1991 by an industrious couple from <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> and specializing in steel reinforcing bar<br />

fabrication, it has served hundreds of customers<br />

while providing jobs for many people from<br />

the community. Originally confined to less than<br />

10,000 square feet and finding their niche with<br />

twenty ton jobs or smaller, the company has<br />

grown to a facility of 30,000 square feet and can<br />

easily produce up to one hundred ton work, but<br />

continues to stand by its motto of providing<br />

good customer service.<br />

GRI had its roots in several events that<br />

occurred in the 1980s. Formerly owners of a<br />

small transport company, and entrepreneurs at<br />

heart, Dennis and Virginia Gastrich were looking<br />

for new employment opportunities when two<br />

events converged in 1983 that led them into the<br />

steel industry. Those two events were: trucking<br />

deregulation and the closing of a large rebar<br />

fabricator in Cincinnati. Not only was it a good<br />

time to get out of trucking, but also the plant<br />

closing left a void in the reinforcing bar market.<br />

Therein began a journey that would take many<br />

twists and turns, culminating in the present day<br />

Gastrich Re-Bar, Inc.<br />

After a few false starts, they decided a key to<br />

their success was the partnership between them<br />

and began their journey in earnest, with Virginia<br />

at the helm as president, and Dennis serving as<br />

vice president. Securing the necessary start up<br />

cash, they opened the doors of Gastrich Re-Bar,<br />

Inc., on April 1, 1991. The mission statement,<br />

“Our principle is to provide quality products<br />

and excellent service to our customers at<br />

competitive rates. Our goal is to be a viable force<br />

in the reinforcing steel market in the Tri-State<br />

area” helped them focus their energies on their<br />

goals. With the help of one employee, the future<br />

looked bright as sales were strong and steady,<br />

but they proceeded with caution. They focused<br />

on developing strong relationships with<br />

suppliers and customers, which created a secure<br />

base upon which to build. They were right on<br />

target with sales totaling just under $400,000<br />

at the end of the first year of eight months and<br />

by the end of 1994 sales topped one million<br />

dollars. This bred confidence and a need for<br />

more space.<br />

Purchasing the building they had previously<br />

leased, they continued to expand and develop<br />

it into the current facility. In addition to<br />

improving facilities, they added several key<br />

people who ensured their success.<br />

Being on target and hiring skilled personnel<br />

did not protect them from a volatile economy,<br />

though. That required ingenuity and perseverance.<br />

Conservative and focused, they managed to find<br />

a foothold in a struggling economy. The turning<br />

point came when they began a campaign to change<br />

the internal workings of GRI. Those changes<br />

included directly buying larger quantities of<br />

accessories, and expanding services offered to<br />

customers. Neither of these was a huge departure<br />

from what they were already doing, but both<br />

enhanced the main occupation. These changes<br />

brought good results as they felt a higher level of<br />

satisfaction in their efforts; and that translated into<br />

steady profits.<br />

The Gastrichs have come a long way. They<br />

have made some mistakes; they have made<br />

some good decisions, too. They feel blessed<br />

with skilled employees, loyal customers, and<br />

vendors that believe in them and trust their<br />

ability. Gastrich Re-Bar, Inc., has made a<br />

difference in Cincinnati and the lessons they<br />

learned have improved their lives and those of<br />

their employees and customers. As residents of<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, they continue to maintain a<br />

strong connection there—and hope to continue<br />

to use their ingenuity and experience to make<br />

GRI a success.<br />

GASTRICH<br />

RE-BAR, INC.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 75


SEM<br />

RETIREMENT<br />

COMMUNITIES<br />

A beautiful campus, rich in history, awaits<br />

our senior citizens at the SEM Retirement<br />

Communities, a nonprofit ministry sponsored<br />

by the Southeastern Ecumenical Ministry. The<br />

fifty-five acre campus, bordered by the Little<br />

Miami River was first settled in 1895 by a<br />

Cincinnati stockbroker who built a mansion<br />

that could accommodate twenty-three guests.<br />

They had lavish, colorful parties for up to 400<br />

people. In 1925 the estate was sold to St. Xavier<br />

College and an impressive Novitiate for the<br />

Jesuits was constructed.<br />

In 1971 the property was purchased by SEM<br />

and, the novitiate was remodeled into SEM<br />

Villa. It currently provides 127 private rooms<br />

with a large central dining room for meals.<br />

Residents still enjoy the gorgeous chapel and<br />

grounds. In 1976, SEM Terrace was constructed<br />

with 115 living units, each with its own<br />

patio. All meals are served in a beautiful,<br />

central dining room. In 1979, SEM Laurels<br />

was built, providing 122 efficiency, one and<br />

two bedroom apartments, each equipped with a<br />

full kitchen.<br />

SEM Haven Health Care Center opened in<br />

1980 and offers assisted living, short-term<br />

rehabilitation, nursing care, and Alzheimer’s/<br />

memory care. Inspired by the Eden Alternative<br />

philosophy, the home is alive with pets, plants,<br />

children, and visitors. The household design<br />

allows a lifestyle in which residents have ample<br />

personal space, privacy, and participation in<br />

decision-making about their life and care.<br />

SEM residents enjoy affordable living<br />

with amenities such as large activity rooms,<br />

drugstores, beauty shops, transportation,<br />

garden areas, on-site managers and on-site<br />

laundry facilities.<br />

At the SEM Retirement Communities elders<br />

are respected and can continue to grow. Most<br />

folks in Milford and Miami Township know a<br />

friend or relative who has enjoyed many good<br />

times and great friendships on the campus.<br />

For more information about the SEM<br />

Retirement Communities, visit them online at<br />

www.semcommunities.org.<br />

76 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


HOLIDAY INN<br />

& SUITES<br />

CINCINNATI<br />

EASTGATE<br />

Owned and operated by Winegardner &<br />

Hammons, Inc. Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Inn<br />

& Suites Cincinnati Eastgate provides guests<br />

with a wide range of outstanding amenities that<br />

have become its signature trademark.<br />

The hotel was originally established in 1983<br />

when its owners were considering construction<br />

in a growing market and found that <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> offered that experience.<br />

The hotel has shared in many unique and<br />

historic events throughout its existence. When<br />

the historic Zimmer power plant was set to be<br />

built near Route 52 in Moscow, the company<br />

held offices at the hotel, which included an onsite<br />

real estate office for relocation of engineers<br />

and other employees to the Cincinnati area.<br />

During his Presidential re-election campaign,<br />

then President George H. W. Bush visited the<br />

hotel to accept the nomination of the GOP. For<br />

three days the hotel was occupied by Secret<br />

Service agents to prepare the hotel for his visit.<br />

Entire rooms were cleared and inspected for<br />

their use, which included secured phone lines<br />

and added security. The hotel associates had to<br />

undergo security clearance checks and were<br />

required to wear special badges to allow access<br />

to certain areas of the hotel.<br />

Late actor Charlton Heston was the first<br />

celebrity to stay at the hotel, shortly after its<br />

opening. Heston was participating in a local<br />

charity event that included the premiere of his<br />

movie “Chiefs.” He stayed at the hotel for several<br />

nights and attended the movie premiere.<br />

Interestingly enough, all items that he used while<br />

in his room (towels, sheets, etc.) were given to<br />

the charity and were auctioned off for donations.<br />

The hotel has undergone an exciting new<br />

renovation. New guest rooms include marble<br />

countertops and flat screen LCD televisions, as<br />

well as a fresh new approach to bedding and<br />

décor. Of major note, the guest tower of the hotel<br />

has been transformed and now includes thirtytwo<br />

suites. The suites feature two and three<br />

rooms, two full baths, a separate living room with<br />

queen sofa bed, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar,<br />

and two or more thirty-two inch LCD televisions.<br />

Given these exciting additions, the hotels’<br />

name has been officially changed to the Holiday<br />

Inn & Suites Cincinnati Eastgate. Also as part of<br />

the renovation, all outlets including the atrium<br />

lobby, McKenna’s Restaurant, and the ballroom<br />

have a completely new look.<br />

The hotel is located at 4501 Eastgate Boulevard<br />

in Cincinnati and is available for reservations<br />

online at www.holidayinn.com/cvg-eastgate.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 77


THE PILL BOX<br />

PHARMACY<br />

The Pill Box Pharmacy has been locally owned<br />

and operated since its opening in 1979. The<br />

mission and purpose of The Pill Box, since taking<br />

over from the Wiesenhahn family, has been to<br />

deliver affordable, personalized medication and<br />

care for the people of the community.<br />

The store offers state-of-the-art computer<br />

services and record keeping, but keeps<br />

prescription services efficient so the customer<br />

does not have to wait. The staff is also very<br />

willing to take the necessary time to answer<br />

questions and concerns and to know each<br />

customer personally.<br />

Mediset and delivery services are available to<br />

all The Pill Box customers. Delivery is available<br />

Monday through Saturday, for a small fee.<br />

Mediset service is also available on a weekly<br />

(preferred), biweekly, or monthly basis and<br />

allows the pharmacist to monitor medication<br />

usage and ensure the prescriptions do not run<br />

out of refills, so there is no lapse in medication<br />

treatment if the prescriptions are being filled at<br />

The Pill Box Pharmacy. Mediset service is also<br />

available to customers who do not get their<br />

prescriptions filled at The Pill Box Pharmacy, for<br />

a nominal fee.<br />

The pharmacists at The Pill Box Pharmacy<br />

are always willing to take the time necessary to<br />

answer customers’ questions and concerns. In<br />

addition, each new prescription that is filled is<br />

checked against the medication history for<br />

interactions and allergies. The pharmacists also<br />

check for alternatives for medications when<br />

insurance dictates. The Pill Box is an A.A.D.E.<br />

certified site for diabetes care.<br />

For those patients with asthma and/or<br />

diabetes, programs have been developed<br />

specifically aimed at these disease states. These<br />

programs help the patient to understand both<br />

the disease and the treatments and are<br />

individualized to each person’s needs.<br />

The Pill Box Pharmacy is located online at<br />

www.pillboxamelia.com and at 1400 SR 125 in<br />

Amelia and is open Monday through Friday<br />

8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m.<br />

to 4:30 p.m.<br />

78 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Here is another interesting little story in the<br />

history of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. Susan Flynn, her<br />

husband Tom and their three children moved to<br />

the Cincinnati area in 1993. It was not long after<br />

that Sue found she could use her skills as a nurse<br />

and help fill a growing need in the community.<br />

Sue founded Little Miami HomeCare, Inc.<br />

Dedicated to the highest quality service in<br />

personal home care, Little Miami HomeCare<br />

offers elderly family members the opportunity to<br />

remain in their homes as an alternative to going<br />

to a nursing home.<br />

Sue, a registered nurse and graduate of St.<br />

Francis Hospital School of Nursing in Pittsburgh,<br />

Pennsylvania, originally moved to Ohio in 1974<br />

and spent the first ten years of her career in an<br />

operating room. In 1980 she joined a Home<br />

Health Agency, and her career evolved from<br />

direct patient care to administration. Sue realized<br />

she liked what she was doing.<br />

While searching for their new home in<br />

relocating to Cincinnati, Sue discovered the<br />

SEM Retirement community. She stopped in<br />

the facility, talked with the staff and got a tour.<br />

As they talked, Sue learned that residents who<br />

needed assistance had to move to an Assisted<br />

Living arrangement or to a Nursing Home. That<br />

was not what either the facility or the residents<br />

wanted. Sensing she could help both the<br />

SEM and their residents, Sue convinced the<br />

administration that a homecare service would<br />

allow their residents to “age in place.” Offering a<br />

little assistance in the morning as well as tuckin<br />

services and medication prompting was all<br />

that was needed in many instances.<br />

Little Miami HomeCare incorporated in 1993.<br />

Sue provided all the services singlehandedly. The<br />

business grew due to the tremendous needs of<br />

the residents in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>, and Sue hired<br />

aides to keep up with the growth. Over the years<br />

Little Miami HomeCare grew to providing<br />

services across the community.<br />

Sue understands what goes through the<br />

minds of her patients. “Imagine working all<br />

of your life for the things that you have, and<br />

then having to give all of that up to move to<br />

a nursing home or assisted living. Although,<br />

those decisions are sometimes necessary,<br />

there is a very gray area between living<br />

independently and having to move to a<br />

nursing home. That is why Little Miami<br />

HomeCare, Inc. is proud to have been<br />

serving <strong>Clermont</strong> and the eastern side of<br />

Hamilton <strong>County</strong> since 1993.”<br />

The primary focus of Little Miami<br />

HomeCare is to provide services such<br />

as bathing and dressing, light housekeeping,<br />

laundry, and meal preparation.<br />

Companionship is very important to the<br />

elderly. Every client is individually assessed<br />

by an RN to determine their needs.<br />

Little Miami HomeCare also offers<br />

respite care and care for at-home Alzheimer<br />

patients as well as relief for patients’ caregivers.<br />

Little Miami HomeCare strives to provide the<br />

compassionate and caring help clients deserve.<br />

At the same time, Little Miami HomeCare<br />

offers the patients’ caregivers time to handle<br />

personal needs, such as surgery, shopping,<br />

doctor appointments, hair appointments or just<br />

to enjoy being with friends.<br />

Little Miami HomeCare was the first home<br />

health agency in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. The needs<br />

of the community have grown with an aging<br />

population. Sue and her staff now find themselves<br />

caring for the adult children of past clients.<br />

Assignments at Little Miami Health Care<br />

are flexible and offer opportunities to moms<br />

who have small children or children to get<br />

off the bus, student nurses, and older workers,<br />

who would have difficulty working a full<br />

time job. If interested, more information<br />

about the outstanding service and assistance<br />

offered by Little Miami HomeCare is available<br />

online at www.littlemiamihc.com or by calling<br />

513-248-8988.<br />

❖<br />

LITTLE MIAMI<br />

Susan Flynn.<br />

HOMECARE<br />

INC.<br />

Sharing the Heritage ✦ 79


LYKINS<br />

COMPANIES<br />

Lykins is a family owned and operated<br />

business. Founded in 1948 by Guy Lykins, Sr., and<br />

now in the third generation of management,<br />

Lykins Companies has a rich and diverse heritage.<br />

LYKINS COMPANIES<br />

AT A GLANCE<br />

• Annual Revenues: $750 million<br />

• Gallons Sold Annually: 470 million<br />

Lykins Companies’ business service area<br />

includes Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana<br />

throughout the Midwest, and the Southeast<br />

United States.<br />

Guy was a tenant farmer in 1948 when he<br />

decided to open a White Rose service station in<br />

Newtonsville to support his family. Guy went to a<br />

local bank, with his family in tow, to secure the<br />

$750 bank loan. His son Don was sitting in the<br />

lobby and overheard the loan officer tell his<br />

secretary, “This loan will never be repaid.”<br />

The business soon grew to include a lube bay,<br />

which increased the monthly rent from $50 to<br />

$100. The skeptical loan officer’s dire prediction<br />

proved to be inaccurate, and the loan was repaid<br />

in full.<br />

Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, the station<br />

expanded and flourished in the area even as it<br />

transitioned from its original distributor, White<br />

Rose to Sinclair and finally Gulf Oil. Don<br />

purchased his first fuel oil truck at the age of<br />

fourteen and, always the dealmaker, worked out a<br />

plan with the school principal to leave after<br />

lunch—if he would look the other way when he<br />

LYKINS COMPANIES<br />

CURRENT OWNERS<br />

Donald F. Lykins<br />

Chairman<br />

D. Jeff Lykins<br />

President / CEO<br />

climbed out of the classroom window, he would<br />

supply the pricipal three dollars’ worth of gasoline<br />

per week. This was the beginning of Lykins<br />

Heating Oil business with Don and his older<br />

brother, Guy, Jr., supplying customers with their<br />

own trucks.<br />

Today, the company continues to strive to<br />

provide its customers with the highest quality<br />

products delivered in the most efficient<br />

manner at the lowest possible price. Whether<br />

a customer needs fuel for its business needs,<br />

transportation of petroleum products, or fuel<br />

to heat their home, Lykins Companies can meet<br />

their needs. Once, during a heavy snowfall, Guy<br />

demonstrated his devoted commitment to his<br />

customers. Early one morning, he woke his two<br />

sons to shovel a path to the station. Although they<br />

had only one customer that day, Guy made a point<br />

to his two sons…customers come first.<br />

Lykins employs 180 people and represents<br />

five major brands: BP, Marathon, ExxonMobil,<br />

Shell, and Clark. It is among the top 100 largest<br />

privately held companies in Ohio, and remains<br />

one of the top 10 largest petroleum marketing<br />

companies in Ohio. Lykins is located at 5163<br />

Wolfpen-Pleasant Hill Road in Milford and at<br />

www.Lykinscompanies.com.<br />

LYKINS COMPANIES<br />

SERVICES/ DIVISIONS<br />

Ronald Lykins<br />

Vice President of Transportation<br />

Robert J. Manning<br />

Executive Vice President and CFO<br />

• Branded Petroleum Fuels<br />

• Wholesale Fuels<br />

• Commercial Fuels<br />

• Petroleum Transportation<br />

• Home Heating Oil<br />

80 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


SPONSORS<br />

AmeriStay Inn & Suites..................................................................................................................................................................68<br />

Auxier Gas .....................................................................................................................................................................................73<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Chamber of Commerce...................................................................................................................................................74<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society ...............................................................................................................................................72<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library ....................................................................................................................................................64<br />

Duke Energy ..................................................................................................................................................................................66<br />

Gastrich Re-Bar, Inc. ......................................................................................................................................................................75<br />

Holiday Inn & Suites Cincinnati Eastgate.......................................................................................................................................77<br />

Little Miami Homecare Inc.............................................................................................................................................................79<br />

Lykins Companies..........................................................................................................................................................................80<br />

Mercy Hospital <strong>Clermont</strong> ...............................................................................................................................................................60<br />

The Myers Y. Cooper Company......................................................................................................................................................70<br />

The Pill Box Pharmacy ...................................................................................................................................................................78<br />

SEM Retirement Communities........................................................................................................................................................76<br />

Shaw Farms ...................................................................................................................................................................................62<br />

Sponsors ✦ 81


ABOUT THE AUTHORS<br />

Janet Brock Beller<br />

Janet was born and raised in Loveland. She has been director of the Greater Loveland <strong>Historic</strong>al Society Museum since 1999 and<br />

author of Passages Through Time, a Loveland History. She has a B.A. degree from Ohio University and a master’s in social work from the<br />

University of Cincinnati.<br />

Libbie Bennett<br />

Libbie was born just a few miles from Grant’s birthplace and is devoted to preserving local history and promoting the Grant<br />

Birthplace. In 2003 she organized the Monroe Township Bicentennial and edited the first Monroe Township history book. In 2004<br />

she helped organize the Monroe Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society and serves as chair of the board.<br />

Janet Blackburn<br />

The Blackburn family has a long history in Neville. They operated a store there for years. Janet was instrumental in the Neville<br />

Bicentennial Celebration and the preparation of the bicentennial book about Neville.<br />

Richard Crawford<br />

Rick is noted as a <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> historian. He has written several books and assisted with numerous other publications pertaining<br />

to <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> history. He is a popular lecturer and tour guide on county history. He has received numerous awards and<br />

honors during his writing career.<br />

Terri Daughtery<br />

Terri is a member of the Bethel <strong>Historic</strong>al Association and the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

John Dial<br />

John was related to Shadrach Dial who settled in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> in 1804. He was a student of Batavia history and a member of<br />

the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Genealogical Society and <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

Tom Dix<br />

Tom has served as a Washington Township Trustee. He was instrumental in forming the Ohio River Trails, Inc., that manages the<br />

Ohio River Scenic Route, Ohio’s first National Scenic Byway.<br />

Rick Grgetic<br />

Rick is a member of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society and has served as President. He has been editor of the <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

Historian since 1999.<br />

Julia Liggett Hess<br />

Julia is a member of the Harmony Hill Association.<br />

Ron Hill<br />

Ron has been a member of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society for forty years. He has held numerous positions with the Society<br />

including president. He was editor of the <strong>Clermont</strong> Historian for eighteen years, has been editor of several of the Society’s books, and<br />

written numerous articles on local history.<br />

Gary L. Knepp<br />

Gary practices law in <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> and teaches history and political science at <strong>Clermont</strong> College. He is author of Freedom’s<br />

Struggle-A Reponse to Slavery from the Ohio Borderlands. He has published several other books on local history.<br />

James L. Koch<br />

James acquired a B.S. in Botany from Miami University. He is a long-time member and officer of the Goshen Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

82 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Kathy McCurdy<br />

Kathy is the librarian of the Greater Milford Area <strong>Historic</strong>al Society’s museum, Promont.<br />

Hugh L. Nichols II<br />

Hugh is a long-term resident of Batavia with a keen interest in local history. The Nichols Family has been active in <strong>Clermont</strong><br />

<strong>County</strong> for generations.<br />

Bethany Richter Pollitt<br />

Bethany is a native of <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong>. She received her B.S. in history from Northern Kentucky University and is currently attending<br />

Wright State University for her Masters in History. She has published two articles. She is a member of the New Richmond<br />

<strong>Historic</strong>al Society<br />

Greg Roberts<br />

Greg is a member of the Monroe Township and New Richmond <strong>Historic</strong>al Societies. He has conducted extensive research on the<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Academy and the Girls’ Friendly Home. He currently owns and lives in the former Girls’ Friendly Home.<br />

Jim Shafer<br />

Jim is president of the Franklin Township <strong>Historic</strong>al Society.<br />

Patsy Murphy Shiveley<br />

Patsy is a lifelong county resident and retired from the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public Library after twenty-five years in the reference and<br />

genealogy department. She is a member of the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> <strong>Historic</strong>al Society and <strong>Historic</strong> New Richmond, Inc.<br />

Alma Aicholtz Smith<br />

Alma is a former educator and librarian and devotes her time to historical and genealogical research. She specializes in early land<br />

records of the area and the history of Union Township and the Mount Carmel area. She has written several books on these subjects.<br />

About the Authors ✦ 83


#<br />

153rd Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 52<br />

2nd U.S. Heavy Artillery, 52<br />

55th Massachusetts Infantry, 52<br />

59th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 15, 16, 52<br />

60th Ohio Infantry, 55<br />

89th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 52<br />

8th Cavalry, 55<br />

9th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry, 52<br />

A<br />

Adams, Rosan Krippendorf, 36<br />

Adena, 9<br />

Administration Building, 13<br />

Afghanistan War, 15, 37, 53, 54<br />

Aicholtz farm, 36<br />

Albers, 22<br />

Allison, Henry, 31<br />

Allison, Richard, 31<br />

American Antislavery Society, 26, 51<br />

American Colonization Society, 51<br />

American Legion Post 406, 33<br />

American Micro Products, 11<br />

Amtrak, 47<br />

Anderson State Road, 21, 31, 44, 45<br />

Anderson, Isaac, 44<br />

Anderson, Noah, 24<br />

Appalachian Highway, 13, 36, 39, 45<br />

Archaics, 9<br />

Armory Building, 54<br />

Ashburn, Thomas, 27<br />

Aston, Edgar R., 55<br />

Atlantic & Pacific Highway, 24, 27, 36<br />

Avey, Joseph, 35<br />

B<br />

Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, 20, 23, 24,<br />

45, 46, 47, 48<br />

Baptized Licking Locust Association, 52<br />

Barnett, Susan Stout, 17<br />

Batavia Brickyard, 13<br />

Batavia Pike, 11, 36<br />

Batavia Roller Mill, 11, 13<br />

Batavia Township Hall, 12<br />

Batavia-Williamsburg Pike, 44<br />

Battle of Chaffin Farm, 52<br />

Battle of Fallen Timbers, 5, 31<br />

Battle of Grassy Run, 19<br />

INDEX<br />

Battle of Perryville, 52<br />

Battle of Petersburg, 52, 55<br />

Bausch & Lomb, 23<br />

Beck, Jeremiah, 33<br />

Beck, Samuel, 33<br />

Beckjord Power Station, 28, 29<br />

Beecher, George, 12<br />

Beecher, Henry Ward, 12<br />

Behymer family, 29<br />

Belpre & Cincinnati Railroad, 46<br />

Ben Hur, 52<br />

Bethel Airport, 33<br />

Bethel Feed & Supply, 34<br />

Bethel Feed Mill, 34<br />

Birney, James, 25<br />

Bitzer, Pam, 12<br />

Black Line. See Interurban Railway &<br />

Terminal Co.<br />

Blair, Alexander, 33<br />

Blair, Brice, 51<br />

Blair, John, 33<br />

Blanchard, William, 41<br />

Bless, G. M. D., 20<br />

Boggess, John, 33<br />

Boone, Daniel, 13, 38, 41<br />

Bowdoin, Armilla "Amelia", 30<br />

Bower, Benjamin, 45<br />

Boyce, Archie Lee, 33<br />

Branch, John, 20<br />

Bridge Café, 22<br />

Broadwell, Lindley, 43<br />

Brooks, Harold "Heck", 33<br />

Brown, A. A., 33<br />

Brown, Isaac H., 33<br />

Brown, John, 33<br />

Brown, William, 33<br />

Brown’s Shoe store, 26<br />

Bryan, Morgan, 12, 14, 15<br />

Buchanan Farm, 36<br />

Buchanan, William, 36<br />

Buckingham family, 20<br />

Buerkle general store, 32<br />

Bullskin Trace, 13, 16, 19, 38, 39, 41, 43<br />

Bullskin Trail. See Bullskin Trace<br />

Bureau, William, 43<br />

Burke Park, 34<br />

Burke, Edmund Glenn, 34<br />

Bushman, Rebecca, 24<br />

Butler, John O., 30<br />

Butterworth farm, 23<br />

Butterworth, Samuel, 22<br />

C<br />

Camp Allyn, 11<br />

Camp Dennison, 46, 52<br />

Camp Lucas, 11<br />

Camp Repose, 20<br />

Camp Scott, 11<br />

Camp Shady, 20<br />

Carman farm, 18<br />

Carpenter, Elizabeth, 31<br />

Carter, Nicholas, 14, 15<br />

Cary House, 28<br />

CECOS International, 19<br />

Cemeteries<br />

Arlington National, 55<br />

Clover, 55<br />

Evergreen, 20<br />

Goshen, 18<br />

Greenlawn, 9<br />

Hartman, 19<br />

Mt. Moriah, 35<br />

Myers, 18<br />

Old Bethel Church, 8, 33, 53<br />

Paxton/Ramsey, 22<br />

Tate Township, 55<br />

United Methodist, 21<br />

Wood, 36<br />

Champion Bridge Co., 31<br />

chautauqua, 20, 50<br />

Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad, 16, 24, 43,<br />

47, 48, 49<br />

Chilo (packet boat), 41, 42<br />

Chilo Lock & Dam 34, 42<br />

Cincinnati & Columbus Traction Co., 19,<br />

21, 22, 49, 50<br />

Cincinnati & Eastern Railroad, 11, 21,<br />

27, 29, 35, 40, 47, 48<br />

Cincinnati & Portsmouth Railroad, 47<br />

Cincinnati Camp Meeting, 20<br />

Cincinnati Columbus & Wooster<br />

Turnpike, 21<br />

Cincinnati Electric Railway, 29<br />

Cincinnati Enquirer, 20, 42<br />

Cincinnati Georgetown & Portsmouth<br />

Railroad, 11, 16, 29, 30, 35, 47, 48<br />

84 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Cincinnati Milford & Blanchester Traction<br />

Co., 49, 50<br />

Cincinnati Milford & Loveland Traction<br />

Co., Co., 21, 22, 38, 39, 49, 50<br />

Cincinnati Nature Center, 18, 36<br />

Cincinnati Portsmouth & Virginia<br />

Railroad, 48<br />

Cincinnati Rotary Club, 11<br />

Cincinnati Shoe Factory, 35<br />

Cincinnatian (train), 47<br />

Cincinnati-Batavia Pike, 35, 44, 45<br />

Cincinnati-Williamsburg Pike, 44<br />

Civil War, 11, 12, 15, 20, 24, 33, 37, 40,<br />

43, 46, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55<br />

Civilian Conservation Corps, 34<br />

Clare, Joe, 34<br />

Clarke Farm, 9<br />

Clarke, Houton, 33<br />

Clasgens, Henry, 28<br />

Clasgens, J. H., 28<br />

Clasgens, Joseph, 28<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> (steamboat), 27<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Academy, 24, 25, 26, 54<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Airways, Inc., 7<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Airport, 7, 11<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial Marker,<br />

12, 19, 25, 38, 39, 41<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Fair, 11, 32<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Farm Bureau, 34<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Park, 19, 42<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> Industrial Parks, Inc., 7<br />

Cleveland, Aaron, 30<br />

Cleveland, Grover, 30<br />

Cold War, 37<br />

Collins, Charles, 8<br />

Collins, John, 8<br />

Combs, Thomas, 20<br />

Comstock, Andrew, 47<br />

Cones farm, 24<br />

Cones, James, 23, 24<br />

Cones, Nancy Ford, 23, 24<br />

Coney Island, 50<br />

Congressional Medal of Honor, 52, 53, 55<br />

Conrail, 46<br />

Conway, Cornelius, 20<br />

Cook family, 18<br />

Coombs family, 26<br />

Coombs, Andrew, 51<br />

Cooper, 16<br />

Corbin, Henry Clark, 12, 25, 52, 54, 55<br />

Cornwell, Adeline, 17<br />

Country Life in America, 23<br />

<strong>County</strong> Courthouse, 13<br />

covered bridges, 31, 45<br />

Goshen Road, 17<br />

Jackson Pike, 45<br />

Stonelick, 31, 45<br />

Cox, James M., 12<br />

CSX, 47, 49<br />

Curry House, 28<br />

D<br />

Daughters of the American Revolution,<br />

39, 41<br />

Davis, Owen, 37<br />

Day, Mathew, 15<br />

Day, Timothy, 35<br />

Dean, Dovie, 13<br />

Dean, Hawkins, 13<br />

Denham, Mary, 33<br />

Denham, Obed, 33, 34, 51, 52<br />

Dennison house, 12<br />

Devanney Site, 9<br />

Devou Line, 27, 29, 48<br />

Devou, W. P., 48<br />

Dickey’s Tavern, 19<br />

Dimmitt, Ezekiel, 12<br />

Donham family, 29<br />

Donnel, John, 35<br />

Donnel’s Trace, 35<br />

Donnels, John, 44<br />

Dormer Brothers manufacturing plant, 28<br />

Dred Scott decision, 51<br />

Dumford Store, 32<br />

Duncan, Gladys, 20<br />

Durham, Daniel, 35<br />

E<br />

East Fork State Park, 7, 8, 9, 11, 33, 39, 40<br />

East Fork Wastewater Treatment Plant, 9<br />

Eastern Cincinnati Aviation, 7<br />

Eastgate Mall, 7, 36<br />

Edgington Mound, 9<br />

Eisenhower, Dwight, 18<br />

Elk Lick Mound, 8, 9<br />

Ely, George, 11, 12<br />

Este, Daniel, 35<br />

Evans, Nancy, 34<br />

Expressway Park, 9<br />

F<br />

Fambes, Grandville, 16<br />

Farmers’ Institutes, 30<br />

Fee family, 15, 33<br />

Fee Villa, 37<br />

Fee, Daniel, 24<br />

Fee, Margaret, 15<br />

Fee, Oliver Perry Spencer, 51<br />

Fee, Robert, 33, 37, 51<br />

Fee, Thomas, 15, 37<br />

Fee, William, 15<br />

Felicity Times, 15<br />

Felter, George W., 22<br />

Ferguson family, 26<br />

Ferguson, Isaac, 5, 43<br />

Ferris Site, 9<br />

Fetter general store, 32<br />

“Fighting Chaplain”, 52<br />

Fletcher, 15<br />

Flynn, Dick, 17<br />

Ford Motor Co., 7, 11<br />

Ford, Henry, 34<br />

Forester (steamboat), 27<br />

Fort Detroit, 13<br />

Fourierite Association, 14<br />

Franklin, Benjamin, 13<br />

Franklin, James, 22<br />

Frazee, Jacob, 33<br />

Free Soil Party, 51<br />

Fridman Lumber Co., 28<br />

Fridman Seating Co., 28<br />

Fridman, Franklin, 24<br />

G<br />

G.A.R., 15<br />

Garfield, James A., 54<br />

Gaskins, Henry, 35<br />

Gatch farm, 9<br />

Gatch Site, 9<br />

Gatch, Charles, 52<br />

Gatch, Lewis, 21<br />

Gatch, Oliver, 52<br />

Gatch, Philip, 51<br />

Gatts Auto Buggies, 34<br />

Gatts, Alfred Palmer, 34<br />

Gauche home, 32<br />

Gauche Park, 32<br />

Gibson, David, 42<br />

Gillcroft Inn, 22<br />

Gilliam, Melanie, 5<br />

Gipson, 15<br />

Index ✦ 85


Girls’ Friendly Home, 25, 26<br />

Glancy, John, 18<br />

Glen Mary Fish Farm, 30<br />

Goetz, Larry, 18<br />

“Gold King of the Philippines”, 27<br />

gold mining, 12<br />

Goodwin, John, 34<br />

“Goshen Schoolmaster”, 18<br />

Grange, 15, 24<br />

Grange Hall, 24<br />

Grant Memorial Bridge, 25, 53<br />

Grant Memorial Building, 35<br />

Grant Memorial Highway, 27<br />

Grant, Hiram Ulysses. See Grant, Ulysses<br />

S.<br />

Grant, Jesse, 24, 34<br />

Grant, Ulysses S., 8, 24, 25, 33, 34, 46, 52,<br />

53, 54<br />

Great Depression, 12, 47<br />

Gregg, John, 43<br />

Guinness Book of World Records, 35<br />

H<br />

Hagan, Scott, 39<br />

Hageman, John, 21<br />

Hamilton, Sue, 12<br />

Hammock, Joe "Far Raven", 9<br />

Harding, Warren, 12, 25<br />

Harmony Hill, 39<br />

Harper’s Weekly, 49<br />

Harris, Allen Lee, 34<br />

Harsha Lake, 7, 8, 11, 39<br />

Harsha, William, 8<br />

Hartman Log Cabin, 19<br />

Hartman, John, 19<br />

Hartman, John Kelby, 19<br />

Hastings, 13<br />

Hastings, Peter, 15<br />

Haussermann, Jessie Moonlight, 27<br />

Haussermann, John W., 27<br />

Hayden, John, 16<br />

Hendrick, Leonard A., 21<br />

Hercules Missile Base, 37<br />

Heritage Village Museum, 8<br />

Heverling, Guy T., 16<br />

Hewett family, 34<br />

Hewett, Earl, 34<br />

Hewett-Brooks, Debbie, 34<br />

Hickok, Wild Bill, 20<br />

Highland Park, 11, 47<br />

Hill, John, 10, 46, 50<br />

Hills Station depot, 48<br />

Hillsboro & Cincinnati Railroad, 46, 47,<br />

48<br />

Hitchcock, Frank, 30<br />

Hi-Way 28 Drive-In, 17<br />

Holtzingterat, J. L., 25<br />

Hopewell, 9<br />

Hopper, Abram, 29<br />

Huber, Charles, 51<br />

Hughes, Edward, 21<br />

Hulick, James, 12<br />

I<br />

IGA grocery store, 32<br />

Indian Wars, 19, 41, 54, 55<br />

Infirmary, 11, 12, 13<br />

Interstate-275, 7, 19, 22, 36, 45<br />

Interurban Railway & Terminal Co., 27,<br />

29, 30, 35, 50<br />

Iraq War, 15, 37, 53, 54<br />

Iroquois Trail, 36<br />

Irwin, John, 18<br />

J<br />

J&H Clasgens Co., 28<br />

Jackson, Andrew, 19<br />

James I, 4<br />

James Madison (rail car), 21<br />

Jefferson, Thomas, 22, 51<br />

Jernegan, David, 30<br />

John family, 29<br />

Jolliffe, John, 51<br />

Jones, Zanis, 22<br />

K<br />

Kain house, 40<br />

Kearns, Charles Cyrus, 30<br />

Kelch Hotel, 28<br />

Kenton, Simon, 5, 13, 19<br />

Kergan. See Kirgan, Daniel<br />

Kirgan, Daniel, 30<br />

Knights of Phythias, 15, 30<br />

Kodak, 23<br />

Korean War, 55<br />

Kresge’s, 22<br />

Krippendorf, Carl, 36<br />

Kugler, John, 21<br />

Kugler, Mathias, 35<br />

L<br />

Land-of-Goshen, 17<br />

Lee, LeRoy, 52<br />

Leever, Sam, 18<br />

Legendary Run golf course, 29<br />

Lever, Nancy, 24<br />

Lewin, Cranston, 31<br />

Lewis Adams Ferry, 43<br />

Lewis, Susan, 12<br />

Libby prison, 52<br />

Liberty Party, 51<br />

Libraries<br />

<strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Public, 7<br />

Felicity Library and Reading Room<br />

Association, 15<br />

Milford Public, 22<br />

Light, George, 51<br />

Light, Jacob, 27<br />

Lincoln, Abraham, 46, 52<br />

Lions Club, 15, 35<br />

Liquor Court, 21<br />

Little Miami (rail car), 21<br />

Little Miami Park, 46<br />

Little Miami Railroad, 20, 21, 23, 45,<br />

46, 47<br />

Little Miami Scenic Trail, 23, 24<br />

Lob’s Woods, 36<br />

Logston, 13, 43<br />

Long Branch Farm, 18<br />

Longworth, Nicholas, 30<br />

Loveland, James, 22<br />

Lucy Run School, 12<br />

Luithle, Dennis, 5<br />

Lyceum Hall, 23<br />

Lytle Dairy House, 39<br />

Lytle, John, 40<br />

Lytle, William, 6, 39, 40, 44<br />

M<br />

Mace, Richard, 33<br />

Maddux, Charles M., 29<br />

Major League Baseball, 18<br />

Malone College, 32<br />

Malone, John Walter, 32<br />

Manchester Ferry Co., 43<br />

Manning, Elisha, 5<br />

Manning, John, 5<br />

Manning, Nathan, 5<br />

Maple Lane Farm, 43<br />

Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad, 23, 46,<br />

47, 48<br />

Marietta (train), 47<br />

Marr, Kathryn, 18<br />

86 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


Maslowski, Karl, 36<br />

Masonic Lodge, 37<br />

Masons, 15<br />

Mathews, 29<br />

Mathews, Edwin, 25<br />

Mathews, Milton H., 29<br />

Mattox, Nellie, 30<br />

McElroy, Neil, 18<br />

McGraw, Charles, 15<br />

McGraw, John, 15<br />

McGrew, John, 30<br />

McKinley, William, 55<br />

McLefresh, 43<br />

McMullen, Red, 23<br />

Megrue, William, 21<br />

Meldahl Locks & Dam, 36, 42, 43<br />

Meldahl, Anthony, 42, 43<br />

Merchant Marine Monument, 28<br />

Mercy Hospital, 7, 11<br />

Mexican War, 19, 54<br />

Miami Valley News, 22<br />

Michaels, Franklin, 17<br />

Midland Co., 11<br />

Mid-Maples house, 30<br />

Midway Theater, 34<br />

Miles, Juliette, 51<br />

Milford Frontier Days, 22<br />

Milford Shopping Center, 22<br />

Milford Water Works, 22<br />

Milford-Chillicothe Pike, 19, 20, 21, 50<br />

Millcroft Inn, 22<br />

Miller, Abraham, 16<br />

Moffort, Harriet, 25<br />

Monroe, James, 24<br />

Moonlight, Tom, 27<br />

Moore, Charles, 11<br />

Morgan, John Hunt, 20, 32, 40, 46, 52<br />

Morgan’s Raiders, 12, 20, 21<br />

Morris, Thomas, 40, 51<br />

Morse, Increase Summer, 30<br />

Moselle (steamboat), 21<br />

Motsinger, 22<br />

Motsinger & Eveland Funeral Parlor, 22<br />

Motsinger, Felix, 20<br />

Mt. Gilead Anti-Slavery Society, 26<br />

Municipal Court, 11, 13<br />

Municipal Courthouse, 12<br />

Myers, Jacob, 16<br />

NAACP, 26<br />

N<br />

Nader, Ralph, 8<br />

National Automobile Museum, 34<br />

National Guard Armory, 12, 55<br />

National Register of <strong>Historic</strong> Places, 8, 9,<br />

24, 25, 28, 31, 33, 45<br />

Native Americans, 5, 9, 10, 13, 19, 24,<br />

31, 36, 38, 41, 52<br />

Delaware, 9, 10<br />

Miami, 9, 10, 19<br />

Mingo, 9, 10<br />

Shawnee, 9, 10, 13, 19, 38, 41<br />

Wyandot, 9, 10<br />

Nellie Steele (ferry boat), 43<br />

Network to Freedom, 15<br />

Neville, John, 4, 37<br />

New Orleans (steamboat), 41<br />

New Richmond (ferry boat), 43<br />

New Richmond Pike, 27<br />

New Richmond Water Works & Electric<br />

Station, 28<br />

Newman, Steven, 35<br />

Nichols, Hugh, 25<br />

Nichols, Hugh L., 12<br />

Nichols, N. B., 24<br />

Nike Missile Base, 37<br />

Nobis, Paul B., 43<br />

Norfolk & Southern Railroad, 11, 13, 21,<br />

48<br />

Norfolk & Western Railroad, 11, 45, 48,<br />

49<br />

Northwest Ordinance, 4, 51<br />

Northwest Territory, 6, 36, 43, 44<br />

O<br />

O’Bannon Creek Wastewater Plant, 18<br />

O’Bannon, John, 4, 5, 13, 14, 19, 20, 37<br />

Odd Fellows, 15<br />

Odd Fellows Hall, 31, 39<br />

Ohio & North Western Railroad, 48<br />

Ohio Environmental Organization, 8<br />

Ohio Farm Bureau, 34<br />

Ohio <strong>Historic</strong>al Society, 24<br />

Ohio National Guard, 12, 37<br />

Ohio Pike, 29, 30, 35, 36, 45, 47<br />

Ohio River Pike, 24, 25, 28<br />

Ohio State Fairgrounds, 25<br />

Ohio State University, 16<br />

Ohio Turnpike. See Ohio Pike<br />

Opera House, 22, 23<br />

Owens, William, 31<br />

Owensville Overall Factory, 32<br />

P<br />

Page, Thomas, 24<br />

Parker Academy. See <strong>Clermont</strong> Academy<br />

Parker, Daniel, 24, 25<br />

Parker, James, 25<br />

Parker, Priscilla, 25<br />

Parrish, Joseph, 15<br />

Parsons, Brooks, 28<br />

Pattison, John, 21, 32<br />

Paxton, Thomas, 5, 21, 22<br />

Pearl Harbor Survivors Monument, 28<br />

Peavine Branch, 11, 48<br />

Pence, Frank, 47<br />

Penn, E. G., 30<br />

Penn, Lena, 30<br />

Penn-Central Railroad, 24<br />

Pennsylvania Railroad, 23, 24, 46<br />

Perin family, 21<br />

Perin, Ira, 21<br />

Perin, Isaac, 21<br />

Perin, Samuel, 20<br />

Perry, Oliver, 41<br />

Persian Gulf War, 55<br />

Philanthropist, 25<br />

Phillips, James, 35<br />

Pierce, Franklin, 29<br />

Pinkham farm, 32<br />

Pinkham, Andrew, 8<br />

Pittsburgh & St. Louis Railway Co., 46<br />

Pittsburgh Pirates, 18<br />

Pommert family, 30<br />

Presley, Elvis, 18<br />

Procter & Gamble, 18<br />

Promont, 21<br />

Pursell, Francis Marion, 27<br />

R<br />

Ramsey, William, 22<br />

Randall, John, 18<br />

Randall, William, 52<br />

Rankin, John, 26<br />

Rapp, Sandy, 12<br />

Rauscher Mobil, 23<br />

Reed, Isaac, 33<br />

Reeves, Susan, 34<br />

Republican Party, 51<br />

Revolutionary War, 4, 13, 31, 53<br />

Rhodes, James, 7<br />

Rice, Benjamin, 33<br />

Rich, Charles Henry, 20<br />

Riley family, 33<br />

Index ✦ 87


Riley, Gerard P., 52<br />

River Hills Community Center, 37<br />

River Road, 27<br />

Rivers Edge Shopping Center, 22<br />

Riverside Park, 21<br />

Riverview Park, 38<br />

Road’s End farm, 23<br />

Roberts, Greg, 26<br />

Robinson, John, 30<br />

Robinson, Moses F., 20<br />

Rockwell, Norman, 18<br />

Rogers, John, 51<br />

Rookwood Pottery, 16<br />

Roosevelt, Alice, 30<br />

Roosevelt, Franklin D., 12<br />

Roosevelt, Theodore, 30<br />

Rose, John, 35<br />

Rosenhoffer, Chris, 8<br />

Rowe, Stanley, 36<br />

S<br />

Salt Family Home, 33<br />

Salt, John, 33<br />

Salvation Park, 50<br />

Sargent, James, 51<br />

Schmidgall, Tom, 25, 43<br />

Seminaries<br />

Felicity Young Ladies’, 15<br />

Goshen, 18<br />

Milford, 21<br />

Moscow, 37<br />

Mulberry, 20, 21<br />

Sharon Woods Park, 8<br />

Shenandoah (train), 47<br />

Sheriff’s House, 11<br />

Shiveley, Patsy, 27, 37<br />

Shumard, Thomas, 20<br />

Simons, Clara, 38<br />

Simpson, Hannah, 24, 33<br />

Simpson, John, 33<br />

Singleton, Shirley, 12<br />

Slab’s Camp, 39<br />

Slade house, 8<br />

Sleet, William, 15<br />

Slye, William, 24<br />

Smith, Alma, 4, 36<br />

Smith, Henry, 30<br />

Snead Mound, 9<br />

Snell barn, 39<br />

Snell, Charles, 39<br />

Snell, Lucy, 39<br />

South Park, 15, 16<br />

South, D. R., 34<br />

South, Edith H., 34<br />

South, James, 33<br />

South, Wilmer P., 15<br />

Southwestern Ohio Power Co., 27<br />

Spanish American War, 12, 16, 27<br />

Spann General Store, 28<br />

Sporty’s Pilot Shop, 7, 11<br />

“squirrel hunters”, 52<br />

St. Clair, Arthur, 6, 31, 40, 43<br />

Starlite Drive-In, 34<br />

Stimson, Lilly, 22<br />

Stonelick State Park, 38<br />

Stout, Bernice, 17<br />

Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 12<br />

Sunny South Shoe Factory, 34<br />

Supreme Court, Ohio, 12, 25, 51<br />

Supreme Court, U. S., 51<br />

Sweet Lips, 13<br />

Sycamore Park, 11<br />

T<br />

Tacoma (packet boat), 41, 42<br />

Tate-Monroe Water System, 33<br />

Teal, Jacob, 35<br />

Tecumseh, 5, 19<br />

Thomas-Fuller House, 30<br />

Thompson, William, 34, 51<br />

Thompson, William E., 34, 52<br />

Tobasco General Store, 35<br />

Town Hall, 22, 23<br />

Treaty of Greene Ville, 5<br />

Tri-State Warbird Museum, 7<br />

Tunnel Mill, 39<br />

U<br />

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 7, 8, 42, 43<br />

Ulrey’s General Store, 32<br />

Uncle Tom’s Cabin, 12<br />

Underground Railroad, 12, 13, 15, 19, 25,<br />

26, 33, 34, 37, 41, 51, 52<br />

Union Bridge-Batavia Turnpike, 44<br />

Union Township Civic Center, 36<br />

Universal Spiritualistic community, 14<br />

University of Cincinnati <strong>Clermont</strong> College,<br />

7, 11<br />

V<br />

Van Briggle Pottery & Tile Co., 16<br />

Van Briggle, Artus, 16<br />

Van Buren, Martin, 24<br />

Veterans Monument, 28<br />

Veterans Park, 36<br />

Vickey, Kent, 9<br />

Vietnam War, 55<br />

Vineyard golf course, 30<br />

Virginia Military District, 4, 5, 22, 33, 37<br />

Voll, John, 18<br />

W<br />

Wageman, John, 52<br />

Wageman, John H., 55<br />

Wallace, Lew, 52<br />

War of 1812, 19, 41<br />

Ward, Emit, 23<br />

Warner, Marvin L., 29<br />

Washington, George, 5, 13<br />

Wayne, Anthony, 5, 10, 31, 39, 41<br />

Whetson, Jacob, 35<br />

Whitaker Schoolhouse, 12<br />

White Collar Line, 48<br />

Whitney, Diana, 14<br />

William Tell (steamboat), 27<br />

Williamsburg Chair Factory, 40<br />

Williamsburg Saw Mill, 40<br />

Willing Workers, 39, 41<br />

Wilson, Peter, 11<br />

Winans, 16<br />

Witham, Maurice, 35<br />

Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, 39<br />

Woman’s Temperance Society, 15<br />

Women’s Home Companion, 23<br />

Wood, David, 5<br />

Wood, Jeriah, 5<br />

Wood, John, 5<br />

Woodland Mound Park, 30<br />

Woodland Park, 39, 50<br />

Wood-Manning Station, 5, 36<br />

World War I, 33, 47, 50, 54, 55<br />

World War II, 7, 13, 16, 18, 28, 33, 55<br />

X<br />

Xenia State Road, 38, 41<br />

Xenia Trace, 41<br />

Z<br />

Zimmer Power Station, 36, 37<br />

88 ✦ HISTORIC CLERMONT COUNTY


About the Cover<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

$34.95<br />

The cover is a picture of the stained-glass window installed in the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong><br />

Courthouse for the <strong>Clermont</strong> <strong>County</strong> Bicentennial in 2000. Beginning in the upper, lefthand<br />

corner and proceeding clockwise: the Miami Township flag; Anchorage House, Goshen Township;<br />

Covered Bridge, Stonelick Township; Stonelick State Park, Wayne Township; Hartman Log Cabin,<br />

Jackson Township; Old Courthouse, Batavia Township; Lytle Dairy House, Williamsburg<br />

Township; Grant Memorial Building, Tate Township; the Bicentennial Celebration logo; Number<br />

34 Lock House, Franklin Township; Underground Railroad Signal, Washington Township; Board<br />

of <strong>County</strong> Commissioners logo and Great Seal of Ohio; U. S. Grant Birthplace, Monroe Township;<br />

Amelia Methodist Church, Pierce Township; a riverboat, Ohio Township; Mt. Carmel School,<br />

Union Township; and Promont Museum, City of Milford.<br />

ISBN: 978-1-935377-29-0

Hooray! Your file is uploaded and ready to be published.

Saved successfully!

Ooh no, something went wrong!