Marketing Cheshire Annual Review 2018

MarketingCheshire

ANNUAL

REVIEW

2018

visitcheshire.com


CHAIRMAN’S WELCOME

Going from strength to strength

ANGIE ROBINSON

02

I am delighted to introduce this year’s annual

review and to be able to say that tourism

and the visitor economy across the region

continues to go from strength to strength.

The latest figures show that our

visitor economy (including retail and

hospitality) is now worth almost £4bn,

employing over 100,000 people.

This continues our rapid rate of

growth, which has seen Cheshire’s

tourist trade soar by more than 75%

since 2010.

However, tourism is changing fast.

From the impact of currency fluctuations

to changes in consumer behaviour, we

need to continue to evolve and to rise to the

challenges. While we have a great offer across

Cheshire and Warrington, and one that we

should be rightly proud of, we must continue

to offer a great experience for visitors and our

existing communities. This means providing

a mix of exciting events, great accommodation

and an offer for all ages, pockets and weathers.

Marketing Cheshire is also going through a

period of change. I am delighted to have taken

the baton from Clive Sykes who has worked

tirelessly to promote the region’s tourism

offer and am excited to be taking over as Chair

at such an exciting time. We have also said

a fond farewell to Katrina Michel who has

been succeeded as Chief Executive by Mark

Livesey, Deputy Chief Executive of the Cheshire

& Warrington Local Enterprise Partnership.

Katrina has been fundamental in securing the

future of Marketing Cheshire and through Mark

we hope to build on those sound foundations

and embed Marketing Cheshire as a key partner

in the regional economic agenda. This means

looking at the strategic role we can play e.g.

in support of productivity and skills, alongside

the continued delivery of successful projects

and initiatives. In short, making sure that the

tourism sector is prioritised.

This would ensure we are well aligned with

the national agenda, as the government has

recently confirmed that it has entered into

negotiations around a Tourism Sector Deal,

again centred around strategic interventions to

increase the economic outcomes of the sector.

As I said, we are building on sound foundations

and 2018 saw an unprecedented level of

success with all our bids to the Discover

England Fund being approved. As such, we are

doing more international marketing than ever

before. We have also launched our new look

website which is delivering exceptional results

and to close off the year on a high, we delivered

our first ever Christmas TV advertising

campaign for Chester.

As always, I want to close by thanking our

excellent board members, all our commercial

partners, and the Marketing Cheshire team, who

are committed to ensuring we continue to go

from strength to strength.


CHIEF EXECUTIVE INTRODUCTION

Promoting Cheshire & Warrington

as THE place to visit, work, invest and live

I am delighted to have been given the

opportunity to take over the reins at Marketing

Cheshire at such a critical time. The facts are

indisputable, we are a region that punches well

above our weight. With the second highest

GVA outside of London and as the engine of the

Northern Powerhouse, we have an economy

that is unparalleled anywhere in the north.

Just as important, we have a quality of place

that matches our economic performance and

unsurprisingly the two are intrinsically linked.

A clear priority for me is to ensure that this

link is recognised and that the visitor economy

is seen as a key contributor to the economic

performance and fabric of the region. In short,

to get our voice heard.

The quality of life we offer and the quality of

the attractions, from retail to leisure, have a

fundamental role to play in the future success

of the region, enabling us to attract visitors,

residents and businesses alike.

In order to do that, we need to work in

partnership across the entire region. Working

hand in hand with our local authority partners,

our Local Enterprise Partnership and our

local businesses, is the only way to deliver a

co-ordinated and compelling offer, to residents,

visitors and investors.

Our relationship with the Local Enterprise

Partnership (LEP), will enable us to play a

central role in developing a joined up and

co-ordinated approach to place marketing,

something the region will undoubtedly benefit

from. Skills, and in particular digital skills, also

feature prominently in the LEP’s plans and I am

keen to see those being made available to the

thousands of SMEs, amongst others, who work

tirelessly in our visitor economy. Increasing

productivity and visibility of the sector is critical

and will lead to better outcomes for businesses,

employees and the region itself.

I look forward to meeting many of you over

the course of 2019 and working together to

continue to drive growth across Cheshire &

Warrington.

IMAGES

TOP LEFT MARK LIVESEY

ROUNDEL: CHESTER RACES

03


WHAT’S HAPPENED IN

THE LAST YEAR

• Her Majesty The Queen & Duchess of Sussex visit Cheshire for the official opening

of Storyhouse and the Mersey Gateway Bridge

• Chester features in first episode of Channel 4’s ‘Britain’s Most Historic Towns’

and is named ‘most Roman city in Britain’ by Professor Alice Roberts

• Chester is awarded Purple Flag status

• Rookery Hall wins Business Tourism Award at Visit England’s Awards for

Excellence 2018

• Chester is named second best place to live in the north west

• Chester Zoo is #1 Zoo for 7th year, ‘England’s top attraction outside of London’

Cheshire Oaks embarks on £23m expansion

• Channel 4’s ‘Great Canal Journeys’ features Anderton Boat Lift, Lion Salt Works,

National Waterways Museum and The Danny

• Jodrell Bank nominated for UNESCO World Heritage Site status

• Chester voted UK’s 4th most popular city in a YouGov poll

• 1.3m Lottery Fund investment for ‘Field to Fork’ Story at Tatton Park

• New BBC Drama ‘Wanderlust’ filmed in and around Bollington,

Knutsford & Macclesfield

Cheshire celebrates 20 years of the RHS Tatton Park Flower Show

• Ellesmere Port – a ‘town to watch’ – is the subject of a new Sky TV advert

• Historic cotton mill at Quarry Bank reopens after a £10 million investment

• New ‘Bradt Guide to Cheshire’ launched

Marketing Cheshire has success with the Discover England Fund in three projects;

Brilliant Science, Sport of Kings and Buzzing for the Weekend

Cheshire’s booming visitor economy is now worth £3.5bn

• 20.5m investment confirmed for ‘First Light’ at Jodrell Bank

• Northwich shortlisted in the Great British High Street Awards 2018

• Chester Storyhouse wins prestigious National Architects Award

• Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor named one of UK’s best restaurants

• Peaky Blinders continue to use various locations in Cheshire for filming

• Chester Christmas Market voted in Europe top 20 and one of the best in the UK

• Blakemere Village celebrates 25 years of family fun and independent shopping

in Cheshire

• Joseph Benjamin retains Michelin Bib-Gourmand for 7th year

• Chester’s first ever Christmas TV commercial went live on Sky

04


RESEARCH AND INSIGHTS

Visitor Economy:

The Scarborough Tourism Economic Activity

Monitor (STEAM) provides a measure of the

value of the visitor economy.

In 2017, results showed impressive growth with

the latest figures for Cheshire’s visitor economy

coming in at a value of £3.5 billion.

Figures for this year also show that Cheshire

is accountable for employing more than 36,000

people in the tourism industry.

Thanks to 35 million visitors in 2017, the visitor

economy in Cheshire West & Chester has, for

the first time, exceeded £2 billion.

In Cheshire East there was a 6.3% increase in

visitors staying overnight and hotel occupancy

had risen by 1.9%. In addition to this, the

tourism growth rate was up by nearly 70%

since 2010.

05


SLANT

Cheshire’s Angle on Arts and Culture

In 2017 the sub region was successful in

securing £330,000 Cultural Destinations funding

from Arts Council England for a 3-year

project. The investment supports culture

and tourism organisations in Cheshire

East, Cheshire West and Warrington

to team up and develop a more joined

up approach to promoting the area’s

cultural offer.

The aim is to position Cheshire &

Warrington as a different cultural

proposition from its metropolitan

neighbours, taking advantage of its

rural location, showcasing its best,

innovative arts and cultural products as

an umbrella programme, whilst supporting

the development of a mutually beneficial

partnership between the arts, cultural and

tourism sectors for the long term.

Building on current investment, the project

is working to embed arts and culture in local

economic plans to attract new visitors to the

area. This is timely due to the growth in the

region’s tourism industry over the last few

years, as well as the opening of Chester’s major

arts venue Storyhouse, with theatre, library,

restaurant and cinema.

In 2018 the programme included world-class

events and festivals – breaking ground in

terms of digital cultural experiences with

SHIFT, combining arts with science at Bluedot,

and embracing the magical countryside with

Just So Festival. It also helped to reposition

culture as a prominent offering in a county

traditionally known for countryside, villages and

pretty towns as well as increasing the profile

of the county’s arts and culture offer with new

audiences, and on strengthening links with the

tourism industry.

The Slant programme headliners for 2018

included: Storyhouse, Shift Digital, Bluedot

Festival, Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre,

Moonlight Flicks, Trust New Art, Clonter Opera,

Just So Festival, Spare Parts at Crewe Traction

Festival, Warrington Contemporary Arts

Festival, the Enchantment of Chester Zoo, and

the Lead Artists Programme.

visitcheshire.com/slant

06


ENGLAND ORIGINALS

England Originals is a £1million Discover England

Fund project running on behalf of England’s Historic

Cities (13 of England’s Most Historic Cities) along with

a number of other project partners. Nicola Said has

been Project Manager for England Originals for the

last 18 months and is working hard to ensure

Chester reaches new international audiences through

the project.

This last year has been very busy!

• A new project brand and toolkit developed and the

website was launched

www.visitlondon.com/englandoriginals

• We launched England Originals at the Visitor

Information Centre

• A travel trade brochure has been produced and

two sales missions to the US took place in October

2018, including Destination Britain North America,

and one-to-one sales meetings with top travel

companies in New York

• We also promoted the campaign at World Travel

Market where we had an ‘England Originals’ stand

and one-to-one meetings with travel trade

• The ‘England Originals’ augmented reality app is

now live in the App Store

• A welcome training programme is being developed

to help destination front of house teams to be

better equipped to sell and promote England’s

historic cities and our experiences

• We are also developing a travel trade agent

training programme to help them to more

effectively sell England Originals

07


BRILLIANT SCIENCE

We have relaunched our business tourism proposition

under the theme of #roomstobreathe which

articulates our point of difference, beginning to align it

with the Brilliant Science funded project:

• Completed a comprehensive research programme

to assess the appeal of the concept -

We completed 408 questionnaires to

assess the appeal of the project

to scientific delegates attending

conferences in the UK. Of

these, 21% of international

delegates say they would

‘definitely’ be interested in a

Brilliant Science discovery

trip if attending a conference

in north west England, and

a further half (54%) say they

would ‘possibly’ be interested.

In addition, most (74%) of those

interested in the concept would be

interested in itineraries/experiences

that are relevant to their field of work.

• Delivered in-depth research to map scientific

associations with the science that is happening

on the ground in the region – This research

identified an extensive list of over 250 associations

and a shortlist of 107 conferences that have the

potential and the fit to bring a scientific conference

to Cheshire & Stoke. This 107 are being further

qualified and will provide 16 leads ready for a bid.

• Developed 4 scientific extender trip itineraries

and over 10 bespoke products – We worked with

the attractions to develop their business tourism

product offerings on site as most of them were

focused on a leisure market. The itineraries

showcase the region in a thematic manner but can

be adapted to suit the specific scientific field of

the association.

• Launched Brilliant Science at World Association

Congress – We had a stand and met with

numerous scientific associations. From our

conversations it was clear that presenting our

partnership in such a distinct and focused manner

helped us to stand out against all of the other

destinations who, when standing side-by-side,

were effectively offering the same thing.

• Held two association lunches to introduce the

concept – Our lunches – We hosted a lunch at the

Royal Society, attended by Teresa Anderson and

over 20 scientific associations whom were very

warm to the concept and are keen to explore the

opportunities relevant to their associations.

• Secured a Destination Management Company

partner to assist with fulfilment – Having one

central company that can book and coordinate

the trips will assist significantly. In addition, their

brief, being meetings-and-incentives-focused,

means that they understand the market and are

used to developing bespoke trips. They will also

promote the concept through their channels.

We have successfully applied for continuation funding

for Brilliant Science which will have a focus on

converting conference bookings to the region.

For more information visit

brilliantscience.co.uk

08


HORSERACING

SPORT OF KINGS

Sport Of Kings is a £280,000 Discover England Fund

project, running from summer 2017 to March 2019, for

which Marketing Cheshire is the accountable body and

project manager.

Overview

The core objective for this project is to develop a new

proposition that brings together England’s premier

racecourses, along with quintessentially English

activities, targeted at high spend international markets

within the GCC and China.

England boasts a significant racing heritage and a

number of very special racecourses. Individually,

they enjoy strong domestic visitor numbers

but struggle to secure international profile. By

packaging racing related itineraries across the

partner racecourses involved in the project – Ascot,

Chester, Newmarket, York and Windsor – with luxury

accommodation in unique heritage destinations,

there is great scope to develop the racing break offer

for international markets.

An important part of the project will be scoping the

relevant audiences and target markets to ensure that

itineraries are developed with maximum potential pull,

combining the racecourse experience as one element

within broader itineraries which showcase the

luxury product offerings and combined added value

experiences nearby.

Target audience:

The Discover England research programme has

identified that the potential visitor markets in China

and GCC* have registered the highest propensity

to visit England within the next 5 years

(82% and 72-75% respectively).

We have chosen to focus on both the GCC market

and Chinese market due to the superior connectivity,

proximity, and the higher spend from that market.

On average, visitors from GCC countries spend

approximately £2,200 per visit (average spend per

visit across all international markets is £599). 2017

was a record year for Chinese visitors with spend up

by 35% (this has quadrupled since 2010). They are the

10th most valuable market for Britain and are the 5th

highest spenders, 3.3 times the world’s average.

Our intention is to maximise the potential economic

impact of the visitors attracted.

The new product will be targeted at lifestyle

travellers. Again, they demonstrate a high propensity

to visit England (42% register an interest to visit

within the next year), and an interest in attending a

sporting event (66%).

09


BUZZING FOR THE WEEKEND

‘Buzzing’ is our £275,000 Discover England Fund

project running from summer 2018 until March 2019,

for which Warrington & Co. is the accountable

body and Marketing Cheshire are providing the

project management.

Overview

This is a partnership project between Marketing

Cheshire, Marketing Lancashire, Marketing Liverpool

and Warrington & Co. named Buzzing for the Weekend.

The project aims to develop the appeal of Liverpool,

Blackpool and Chester to millennial travellers with a

goal to increase millennial and generation Z travellers

from Spain & Portugal.

Liverpool has some of the best nightlife Europe has to

offer, with a rich history in Music, Culture and Sport.

This will provide the main pull for the target market.

Visitors will be encouraged to visit Chester, Blackpool

and Warrington for added extra value. With a

collection of budget hotels, unique heritage, adventure

activities and nightlife spots, there is a great scope to

develop an attractive product for the younger

Spanish visitor.

An essential part of the project will be securing

carrier partnerships with Easyjet & Ryan Air and a

student programme with the International Student

Identity Card.

The project will cover the following;

- Concept research with the target market and

testing of branding and product itineraries. We

aim to establish end user benefits, motivators to

travel, booking logistics, barriers and the

visitor’s budget.

- Development of destination films, that capture

essence of the project and appeal to the target

market. Each destination will use this footage for

further usage, which will be fantastic for social

media and will help generate interest.

- Travel trade activity and distribution channels –

attendance at several travel trade conferences in

Europe with the aim to build partnerships with the

online travel trade and booking platforms.

- Influencer activity - we will be working with up to

three influencers over the course of the project.

Working within our target market and using the

concept research, we have identified that this is

the marketing approach.

- Business education & student programmes – we

will work with restaurants, bars and attractions

in each destination to educate them on young

international tourists. We will also be working

with student programmes to provide discounted

goods and/or services for our visitors to enjoy.

10


CHRISTMAS CAMPAIGN 2018

For 2018, the Christmas campaign focused on

the idea that Chester offers a more nostalgic,

less commercialised destination for a festive

break. The Christmas Market showcases

70 independent retailers, surrounded

by the boutique stores on the rows.

The city’s surrounding assets focus

on the magical, with The Lanterns at

Chester Zoo and the epic Christmas

tree at Cheshire Oaks, and our

accommodation and food and drink

offer is stand-out, not standard.

The campaign featured the same

illustrative style used in 2017 which

seeks to capture that nostalgic feeling.

Activity included an overhaul of the Christmas

in Chester website, embedding it into the main

destination site to enhance the user journey

and increase reach. Targeted social media and

digital advertising pushed campaign messages

to people from a 90-minute drive time.

A key area of success was the Sky TV

commercial, the first commercial for Chester

at Christmas time. The commercial was in

keeping with the illustrative style, bringing the

still images to life, and included a voiceover

promoting Chester. The 30-second video had

over 130,000 impressions, was live for 4 weeks

and had an average of 6.8% impressions

per household. The campaign was produced

through Sky AdSmart which uses demographic

and geographic technology to only reach your

target market, so that an impression is never

wasted. The announcement of the Sky TV

commercial featured in the Chronicle, Standard

and Cheshire Live.

We were hugely successful with media

engagement for Chester Christmas Market with

featured content in The Mirror and on The Mail

Online. The market also featured in Europe’s

Best Destinations which ranked the market

20th in Europe and first in the UK, ahead of

Manchester, Bath and Birmingham.

Key Statistics

• Incorporating the Christmas content into the

main destination site again, definitely helped

with a 215% increase in traffic.

• The Chester Christmas Market Facebook

followers grew from 34,841 to 38,126 (an

increase of 3,285).

• The Instagram channel went live back in

2017 and in 2018 it boasted a total of 25 posts

generating 2,122 likes. We also saw a 34%

increase in followers from Oct-Dec and we

added 83 stories in addition to posts on the

newsfeed.

• Our Christmas content on the website was

viewed 63,227 times throughout November

and December.

• Our Christmas competitions (we ran three,

which featured campaign partners and our

market traders) reached over 30,000 people.

The prize was a festive hamper with four

Merseyrail train tickets, Complimentary drinks

& food vouchers for the Christmas Market,

Christmas gifts, vouchers and fresh produce.

11


SPOTLIGHT ON MIPIM

MIPIM (Le Marche International

des Professionnels d’Immobilier)

is the annual gathering of the

world’s property professionals

in Cannes. The Cheshire and

Warrington Local Enterprise

Partnership, supported by

Marketing Cheshire, led a

delegation of 54 partners – about

twice the number we achieved

in 2017.

The Cheshire and Warrington

LEP area is one of the UK’s most

successful in economic terms

– we are growing faster, more

productive, more highly educated

and better connected than any

other destination north of Oxford.

But these facts need to be much

more widely known.

The initiative generated over

200 contacts and £300k of media

coverage communicating the

key messages and supporting

investment propositions.

In 2019, we will once again be

supporting the LEP at MIPIM,

with an even larger presence,

illustrating what an outstanding

investment proposition Cheshire

and Warrington has.

12


Residents Ad_Layout 1 13/12/2018 11:32 Page 1

CHESHIRE

RESIDENTS’

FESTIVAL

2019

30th March - 7th april

For one week only, enjoy FREE and

discounted entry to over 30 attractions

across Cheshire!

Be a tourist for a day and discover

what's on your doorstep.

Tickets are limited, find out more at

www.visitcheshire.com/residentsfestival

RESIDENTS FESTIVAL

Cheshire’s second Residents’

Festival took place in March 2018,

organised by Marketing Cheshire

on behalf of Cheshire East Council

and Cheshire West and Chester

Council. The festival was the

Councils’ way of saying thank you

for the warm welcome residents

give to Cheshire’s 62 million

visitors, and to encourage them

to be a tourist in their own county

discovering the attractions and

hidden gems on their doorstep.

Over 20 attractions signed up to

participate in the festival, from

Tatton Park to Cholmondeley

Castle, Macclesfield Museums to

behind-the-scenes at Storyhouse

in Chester, offering free entry,

discounted tickets and special,

‘money can’t buy’ events.

The festival was a great success

- tickets and offers had sold out

in just three weeks! Over 80% of

people redeemed their tickets,

which is extremely high for a

free promotion. Perhaps even

more importantly, over 25% of

people had revisited one or more

of the attractions featured within

just three months after the

festival ended.

The 2019 festival is set to be even

bigger and better than ever.

Timed to coincide with English

Tourism Week, we will be working

with Visit England to secure

maximum profile.

We will also ramp up our media

engagement so that all residents

of Cheshire and Warrington can

get involved.

AMAZED

BY SCIENCE

The Amazed by Science Festival continues to grow year

on year, engaging thousands of children and their families

over the May half term. Essar were headline sponsors for

2018, which also included Urenco, Global Atkins, Waters, SP

Energy Works and Siemens, delivering over 100 activities

across 10 different venues. Once again, the festival proved

to be very popular with 94% of visitors rating it 8 out of 10

or above and 84% said they learnt something new. With

the average age of children attending just 8 years old, the

festival is a great way to inspire scientists of the future, as

well as highlighting Cheshire’s strengths in science and

technology.

For more information visit

amazedbyscience.co.uk

13


DIGITAL

14

visitchester.com and

visitcheshire.com were both

combined in February 2018 and

our new Chester, Cheshire &

Beyond site was launched with

new branding and fully integrated

content. The new site combines

listings for all of our attraction,

accommodation and food and drink

members as well as being the

go to hub for events throughout

the county. The site brought

everything together in one hub

offering special offers, itineraries,

short break ideas and a blog to

inspire people to visit Chester and

Cheshire for a day or short break.

Visitors can view video content,

download maps and guides and

book accommodation/attraction/

event tickets, all from the same

website. The site has had 1.2

million visits since it’s launch

with 2.6 million page views. This

is a 60% increase in views from

2017 to 2018, and is only going

to increase further as we head

into 2019 and make every effort

to constantly update content and

work on the SEO.

Websites:

We continue to manage and create

websites for clients with a new

site in the pipeline for the Cheshire

Science Corridor and another for

our Brilliant Science project. We

also continue to maintain websites

for clients such as the Cheshire

East Registrar Service, Cheshire

and Warrington Local Enterprise

Partnership and Cheshire Heritage

Festival.

Enewsletters:

B2C - Post GDPR our popular

consumer e-newsletter goes out to

a smaller, more targeted database

of 4,000 organic subscribers on a

monthly basis. The e-newsletter

is themed by season and includes

events and promotions from our

partner venues and attractions.

The newsletter currently has

an average open rate of 38%,

with an average click-through

rate of 5.6%, both well above the

national average for travel-related

consumer e-newsletters. We

have started investing in a new

emarketing system which we hope

will streamline the way we do our

e-marketing and help to grow our

subscriber lists.

B2B – Our Cheshire Bulletin,

which features good news stories

from Cheshire and Warrington,

goes out on a fortnightly basis to

500 businesses and continues to

grow in popularity with an above

average click through rate of 40%.

Always On Campaign:

Our ‘Always On’ campaigns have

been really successful with each

month of the year having a mini

themed campaign featuring a

select number of members. These

campaigns use a number of our

marketing channels with a themed

page on visitcheshire.com, social

media promotion, a banner advert

on the website, an ad in one of

our consumer e-newsletters and

a themed blog. One of the most

successful months was November

– our ‘Fireworks, Frights and

Festive beginnings’ campaign

which had 3,684 page views during

the month. June was also a good

month with the ‘Amazing things to

do this June’ page receiving 3,551

page views.

Video:

We are continuing to develop our

video content offering, working

with new clients and producing

video content for many of our

funded projects. We are also

accessing new channels with this

content using targeted audience

marketing.

Having now managed several Sky

AdSmart television commercial

campaigns, we have the ability to

access highly-targeted consumers,

directly in their homes. If you are

interested in discussing how we

can get your brand and business

on TV or incorporate video into

your marketing strategy; please

get in touch.


SOCIAL MEDIA

Over the past twelve months, our social media strategy has primarily been aimed at growing our consumer

channels, supporting the monthly ‘Always On’ campaign and profiling the best events, things to do, places to stay

and all things ‘Chester, Cheshire and beyond’.

We have increased our activity on Instagram, with a 32% organic increase in followers on the main account

(@visitchesterandcheshire) and a huge 157% increase on the Christmas Market account (@chesterxmas)

With the ever-changing targeting options available on Facebook, general organic reach restrictions imposed by

Facebook and the introduction of GDPR in May 2018, we worked hard on creating effective paid ads with targeted

audiences and strategic posting tactics to ensure a valuable ROI for our partners.

CHANNELS AUDIENCE SIZE % GROWTH

Facebook @VisitCheshire 16.8k 16%

@ChesterChristmasMarket 38.1k 9%

Twitter @VisitCheshire 36.2k 4% (organic)

@VisitChester_ 17.7k 5% (organic)

Instagram @visitchesterandcheshire 4.2k 32% (organic)

@chesterxmas 1.6k 157% (organic)

EXAMPLE

Targeting: Female, aged 21-50, living within a 1.5hr drive time of

Cheshire Oaks, interested in designer brands such as; Ted Baker, Ralph

Lauren, Michael Kors, Hugo Boss, Pandora etc. Behaviours include;

engaged shoppers, frequent shoppers.

Results:

22.4k reach

6.3k video views

Budget: £50

COMPETITION

Results:

136k organic reach

12.8k post clicks

7.9k reactions, comments & shares

Testimonial from Hannah Pennell at The Mere

“I am really impressed with the competition results – we had a huge

increase in followers to our Facebook page too which was great”

The Christmas social media had a huge overall reach of 2, 202, 963

15


VISITOR INFORMATION CENTRE

2018 was a year of growth and

new opportunities for us. The

loss of Storyhouse tickets as an

income and footfall stream urged

us to search out new partners

and attractions to introduce to

visitors. This has really broadened

our offer as we are now selling

cycling, running, walking and

food tours. We have also seen a

pleasing growth in our ticket sales

for Roman Tours and Ghost

Tours alike.

We found a great new Partner in

Tip Top productions, based at the

Forum Studio Theatre and enjoyed

selling tickets for their pantomime

Aladdin. Feedback from their

customers is really positive as

we are able to provide them with

tickets seven days a week.

This year we were able to start

selling Stagecoach bus tickets to

enable visitors to reach Cheshire

Oaks, Chester Zoo and Liverpool. We

are increasingly selling a transport

ticket with an attraction ticket in

addition to providing comprehensive

information about how to get there.

We are also able to offer tickets for

some Liverpool attractions - an area

to develop this year.

We added to our event ticket offer

by selling tickets for the RAF

Cosford Show, held in June. The

ticket sales were a huge success, so

much so that we will be selling them

again this year. We also introduced

new music group tickets for The

Operatic Society and look to build on

that success this year.

We hosted our own Information

Centre events with face painting,

book signings, ‘meet the artist’

and tonic tastings. This has been

extremely fun and we have even

more planned for the coming year.

We were also able to have Father

Christmas in store on the last

two Saturdays before Christmas,

capitalizing on the high footfall at

the Christmas Market.

We have welcomed visitors

from all over the world and

have enjoyed hosting work

placements for students from

Spain, Italy, France and Germany.

We also hosted placements for

students from Chester University

completing work based learning

and students from Petty Pool, a

local centre for young adults with

learning difficulties.

A new relationship was formed

with the popular Chester Half

Marathon where we hosted the

information desk on the day of the

race and hope to repeat that again

this year. We have worked well

through the year with Chester BID

selling the Comedy Festival tickets

and also collecting completed

Treasure Trail forms. We are

looking forward to making 2019

even better.

16


TRAVEL TRADE

The Travel Trade campaign aims to increase the number of

domestic and international visitors to Chester and Cheshire

by positioning the area as a ‘must see’ short break destination

for coach and tour operators, agents and groups.

In 2018, Marketing Cheshire hosted a number of Chinese,

Scandinavian and American FAM trips as well as attending

ExploreGB, VisitBritain’s flagship Travel Trade event.

ExploreGB provided an invaluable opportunity to meet and

do business with over 80 hosted, international travel buyers

from over 35 countries. During the one-to-one meetings,

international travel buyers were shown an image-led

presentation, highlighting Cheshire’s central location along

with images and details of our Travel Trade partners.

Other key activities include a full website re-fresh with more

itineraries and FAQ’s, to make accessing information and

booking as easy as possible. Plus, the development of our

Travel Trade database, which now has over 2,000 quality

contacts whom are sent targeted communications throughout

the year.

17


CHESHIRE IN THE NEWS

18

In 2018, Marketing Cheshire

continued to push the media

profile for the county. Over the

course of the year, we have

secured over 70 pieces of positive

coverage in local, regional,

national AND international media,

reaching an online readership of at

least 240 million.

Highlights include substantial

coverage in November, in local and

national media, print, online and

broadcast, with a story, about the

forgotten soldiers from Cheshire’s

waterways to mark the 100th

anniversary of the Armistice of

the First World War. The day was

commemorated with a dramatic

poppy petal drop from the top

of the Anderton Boat Lift. The

story was covered by the Sunday

Telegraph, the Press Association,

ITV News (early evening and 10

o’clock news), BBC North-West

Tonight, Granada News and a

German news agency with further

extensive coverage by local and

waterways press.

In August, news that tourism

in Cheshire was booming was

covered on BBC North-West,

broadcasting interviews with

Marketing Cheshire’s Nicola Said

and the National Waterways

Museum. Cheshire also made

the news pages of The Sunday

Times and The Guardian with the

opening of an innovative new

slaughterhouse attraction at

Tatton Park’s Farm. The coverage

was followed up by other national

media, including BBC Breakfast.

Cheshire welcomed visiting

journalists, among them writers

from The Sunday Times Travel

Magazine, to report on our canals

and gardens and The Daily

Telegraph to review the new

‘Amazing Women by Rail’ trail.

The trail was launched on the

Mid-Cheshire Line in spring to

celebrate 100 years of women’s

suffrage. Furthermore, the Times’

walking writer, Christopher

Somerville, visited Wrenbury for a

hike to inform his popular column.

The county was the subject of

a new guide book, Slow Travel

Cheshire by Bradt Guides,

the first modern commercial

guide to the county. The book’s

publication captured the interest

of the national media, with the

authors writing pieces for the

Daily Telegraph on why Cheshire

is a rewarding place to visit, and

another for The I Newspaper

highlighting some of Cheshire’s

summer attractions.

The ‘Favourite Days Out’

campaign, offering great moneyoff

deals to local attractions, was

profiled by The I Newspaper.

Cheshire’s ‘Gardens of Distinction’

featured on Gardener’s World and

in Cheshire Life with interviews

on regional radio stations

and extensive regional press.

Cheshire’s ‘Rooms to Breathe’

campaign, championing the

county’s high-quality conference

locations and facilities, captured

the attention of leading outlets for

the industry sector.

Meanwhile, a steady flow of

information was communicated to

the media from seasonal events

to festivals, as well as deals and

offers to encourage overnight

stays and day trips to the county,

resulting in further mentions

of reasons to visit Cheshire, for

everything from cosy country inns

to Chester’s Christmas Market.


19


PUBLICATIONS

The Ultimate Guide to Chester & Cheshire

Launched in 2017, Marketing Cheshire’s flagship publication The Ultimate

Guide to Chester, Cheshire & Beyond is growing from strength to strength

showcasing events across the region and themed features written by

editor, Susie Stubbs who has written for the Guardian, the Independent and

Time Out. 50,000 copies of the magazine are printed per issue, distributed

to carefully targeted, high footfall areas and new for this year, extended

distribution to Liverpool, Manchester and Staffordshire. The magazine is

also available to download on our website.

20


The Ultimate Attractions &

Shopping Map and The Ultimate

Food & Drink Map

Both the Attractions & Shopping Map and Food &

Drink Map have proven popular this year, with a

combined print run of 325,000 copies distributed

to high footfall areas and key gateway sites.

The leaflets bring together attractions, shopping

and the best places for eating out and drinking

providing inspiration whilst visitors are here.

The leaflets are also available to download on

our website.

THE

ULTIMATE

ATTRACTIONS &

SHOPPING MAP

FOR CHESTER & CHESHIRE

2017/18

THE

ULTIMATE FOOD

& DRINK MAP

FOR CHESTER & CHESHIRE

2017/18

visitchester.com

visitchester.com

Approved Venues Brochures

Marketing Cheshire produces an annual Approved Venues

brochure for both Cheshire East and Cheshire West and

Chester Registration offices, featuring beautiful venues across

the region. Cheshire East distribute the brochure to various

regional and national wedding shows across the UK.

The brochures are available in print and online.

21


MARKETING CONSULTANCY

In 2018, we continued to provide marketing

consultancy services for a range of clients in the

private and public sectors.

Anderton Boat Lift

For the third consecutive year, Anderton Boat

Lift, managed by the Canal & River Trust,

outsourced their entire marketing resource

to us. We are responsible for the planning,

delivery, reporting and management of the

marketing activity with campaigns delivered via

various channels inc. social media, digital, print,

direct mail, radio and PR. We have also

continued to sell Anderton Boat

Lift’s event tickets through our

Visit Cheshire digitickets

platform with great

success; In 2018 we

sold 1,760 tickets

for the Firework

Spectacular (113%

more than 2017)

and 2,054 tickets for

the Santa Cruises.

Lion Salt Works Museum

The Lion Salt Works Museum, run by Cheshire

West & Chester Council has renewed its PR

contract with us for the fourth consecutive

year. Marketing Cheshire’s PR programme

provides fresh, engaging and high-quality

content to support the Museum’s thriving activity

programme. This is delivered through press

releases, briefings, press trips, filming and

photography. The PR team add value with their

creative ideas, extensive heritage and attraction

expertise and close working knowledge of the

client’s requirements.

National Waterways Museum

Following on from the success of 2017, the

National Waterways Museum Ellesmere Port,

also managed by the Canal & River Trust,

renewed their social media marketing contract

with Marketing Cheshire. This is comprised of

quarterly planning, delivery and management

of social media campaigns using targeted

ads and PPC to ensure messages reach the

right audience. In just nine months, we have

succeeded in growing the museum’s Facebook

audience by 13% and Twitter audience by 15%.

22


THE

CHESHIRE

SCIENCE

CORRIDOR

Cheshire Science Corridor

We have delivered and managed the social media

presence for the Cheshire Science Corridor

Enterprise Zone, since September 2017, managing

both their Twitter and LinkedIn accounts. We have

managed to grow the Twitter following by 105%

in this time. In 2019 we will also be developing a

new website for the Science Corridor.

Chester Heritage Festival

In 2017 we took over the management of the

Chester Heritage Festival’s website, ticketing

box office and social media management. In 2018

the website received 7,088 page views, we sold

over 280 tickets and grew the twitter following

by 418%. This activity will continue with the 2019

event which takes place this June.

The Port’s the Place

Following the 2017 launch of the ‘The Port’s the

Place’ we decided to take the campaign directly

into the homes of thousands of homebuyers

using the Sky AdSmart service. We produced a

30-second television commercial highlighting

some of the fantastic leisure attractions, new

homes, transport links and community spirit

Ellesmere Port has to offer.

This service has allowed us to target people

who are looking to move homes within Cheshire

West, Flintshire, Liverpool, Wrexham and Wirral,

ensuring the commercial was seen by the

relevant audience (with over 66,000 impressions).

The advert concluded with a call to action

pointing users to a landing page on the Visit

Cheshire website with additional information.

theportstheplace.com

23


MEET THE TEAM

MARK LIVESEY

Chief Executive

NICOLA SAID

Commercial Director

DEBBIE BLAND

Finance Manager

ISABEL ROBERTSON

VIC Manager

ASHLEY SHACKLADY

Head of Sales

REBECCA WAINWRIGHT

Tourism Manager

SHARON POND

Executive Assistant to CEO & Board

ANNA WILLIAMS

Freelance Marketing Consultant

LEANNE EATON

Freelance Sales Consultant

LEONIE HALLAM

Independent Consultant - Events

PHILLIPPA MEACHIN

Digital Manager

AMIE PIPER

Marketing Account Manager

ANDY MCKINNEY

Marketing Account Executive

STEPHEN JONES

Finance Executive

ZACHARIAS CAMPO MCEVOY

Marketing Project Executive

24


MEMBERSHIP

& ADVERTISING

Opportunities

MARKETING CHESHIRE

The agency that

champions Cheshire

Marketing Cheshire is the agency for promoting Cheshire and Warrington nationally

and internationally to investors, business and leisure visitors and those lucky enough

to live and study here.

marketingcheshire.co.uk 2019/20


MEMBERSHIP OVERVIEW

Make the most of 1m visitors to

visitcheshire.com

MEMBERSHIP BENEFITS

WEBSITE PROMOTION

ATTEND MEMBERSHIP MEETINGS

ENTER THE PRESTIGIOUS AWARDS

PR - Opportunities to be included in press visits &

editorial where relevant

DISCOUNTS - On advertising in Marketing Cheshire’s

suite of printed publications

TRAINING - Attend one-to-one workshops to make the

most of your page on the website

OFFERS - Upload your offers to the website

EVENTS - Upload your events to the website via

the following link - visitcheshire.com/whats-on/

submit-event

BRANDING - Add the official Marketing Cheshire

member logo onto your website

NEWSLETTERS - Receive quarterly update newsletters

visitcheshire.com


VITAL STATISTICS...

Web stats for 2018/19

visitcheshire.com’s

traffic would cost

£79,074 per month

if bought through

pay-per-click!

visitcheshire.com

268,000

average page views per month

Unique Users: 928,070 • Page Views: 2,684,524

Views: Bronze 2,722 / Silver 5,001 / Gold 11,800

TOP 5 UK LOCATIONS

London

Liverpool

Manchester

Stoke-on-Trent

Chester

TOP 5 WORLD LOCATIONS

UK • USA

Australia • Ireland

Germany

SOCIAL MEDIA

Twitter 53,915

@VisitCheshire

@VisitChester_

78%

Facebook

16,907

Facebook likes

Instagram

4,244 followers

@visitchesterandcheshire

20%

25-44 (46%)

visitcheshire.com

61% 39%

AGE

18 – 24 = 5%

25 – 34 = 21%

35 – 44 = 19%

45 – 54 = 20%

55 – 64 = 19%

65+ = 16%


MEMBERSHIP:

Bronze Membership

CONTACT DETAILS

£150

annual or

£12.50

monthly

+ VAT

Additional pages will be charged at

£75 per page ie. Restaurant, Golf etc.

Videos – extra £25 per video

2 IMAGES 50 WORDS OF COPY

MEMBERSHIP:

Silver Membership

Additional pages will be charged at £75

per page ie. Restaurant, Golf etc.

Videos – extra £25 per video £300

annual or

£25

monthly

+ VAT

4 IMAGES

CONTACT DETAILS

UPLOAD AVAILABILITY

DIRECT CLICKS TO YOUR

WEBSITE & EMAIL

UNLIMITED COPY


MEMBERSHIP:

Gold Membership

£750

annual or

£62.50

monthly

+ VAT

FULL PANORAMIC

IMAGES TO WHICH

VIDEOS CAN BE

INCLUDED

FEATURE IN THE

BE INSPIRED

SECTION

1 OF 8 TO BE

FEATURED

LIVE SOCIAL

MEDIA FEED

ADDITIONAL PAGES FEATURED (FREE OF CHARGE) - SPA, GOLF, RESTAURANTS ETC.


MEMBERSHIP:

The Platinum Membership

£1,250

annual or

£104

monthly

+ VAT

ALL THE

BENEFITS

OF GOLD

MEMBERSHIP

PLUS

YOUR OWN

MICROSITE

AND PRIORITY

WITHIN

SOCIAL

MEDIA, PR,

CONTENT AND

BLOGS


DIGITAL OPPORTUNITIES

TICKETING

• Quick set up and can run parallel

with your ticketing system

• Receive all customer details

• View sales in real time

• Individual system login

• Flat rate commission of 10%

• No booking fees or additional charges

• Additional promotion through social media

Contact Phillippa Meachin

p.meachin@marketingcheshire.co.uk


DIGITAL OPPORTUNITIES:

Advertising

NAVIGATION LINK

Appear in the dropdown navigation

link under the relevant category and

promote your business first

Only 6 spaces per choice of section

£1,500 + VAT per year

MPU BANNER OR

EVENT ADVERTISING

Our website banners get on average

9,700 impressions a MONTH on

visitcheshire.com with an average

click-through rate of 0.26%

This is well above the average clickthrough

rate for banner adverts on

the internet, which is generally 0.05%

£150 + VAT per month or

£350 + VAT for 3 months

(internal pages ie. accommodation

& attractions)

£200 + VAT per month (homepage)


DIGITAL OPPORTUNITIES:

E-Newsletters

INCLUSION

BESPOKE

Ad Inclusion

Member Price -

£99+VAT

Non-Member

Price +25%

MAX. 6 ADVERTISERS PLUS FOOTER AD

Footer Ad

Inclusion

Member Price

£150+vat

Non-Member

Price +25%

£250 & VAT

All content is

your own, ideal

for competitions

with added value

social media

exposure

PARTICIPATE IN AN E-NEWSLETTER, OR HAVE AN ENTIRE BESPOKE

E-NEWSLETTER WITH ALL WORDING, LINKS AND IMAGES,

DISTRIBUTED TO OUR DATABASE.

• Sent to a database of 4,000 unique email addresses

• 38% average open rate

• Average open rate of Travel related Consumer e-newsletters is 24.96%

• 5.6% average click-through rate

• Average click-through rate of travel-related Consumer e-newsletters is 3.22%

stats from MailChimp

INCLUSION

Member Price - £99+VAT

£150+VAT (Footer Ad)

Non-Member Price + 25%

BESPOKE

Member Price - £250+VAT

Non-Member Price + 25%


NEW BESPOKE DIGITAL OPPORTUNITIES:

Advertising

Twitter

53,915

@VisitChester_

9,232

@Invest_Cheshire & @MktgCheshire

1,170

@CheshireConf

78%

Facebook

16,907

Facebook likes

20%

25-44 (46%)

Instagram

4,244 followers

@visitchesterandcheshire

NEW* SKY ADSMART MANAGEMENT

We are also accessing new channels with this content using targeted audience marketing.

Having now managed several Sky AdSmart television commercial campaigns we have the

ability to access highly targeted consumers, directly in their homes. If you are interested in

discussing how we can get your brand and business on TV or incorporate video into your

marketing strategy; please get in touch. Price quoted on requirements

COMPETITIONS

A great way to promote your upcoming event, special offer or seasonal promotion is to run

a competition across our trusted social media channels, with an audience of over 75k. Take

the stress out of organising your competition post and simply let us know what your prize is

(minimum value suggested £250) along with your key messages and any images/videos/links

you’d like us to include, and we will put together an enticing and attractive competition posted

to all our social channels to give maximum impact.

Our usual method of entry is on Facebook using the ‘like’ and ‘comment’ mechanism which

currently adheres to Facebook’s strict policy on external competitions. Due to GDPR rules we

are no longer able to use any data collection to pass onto a third party. If you’d like to discuss

an alternative entry method, get in touch and we’ll see if we can make it happen!

All competition statistics are shared with you after your promotion has ended.

Take a look at a recent competition we ran for The Mere Hotel and Spa...

Results:

* 136k organic reach

* 12.8k post clocks

* 7.9k reactions, comments & shares

Testimonial from Hannah Pennell at The Mere

“I am really impressed with the competition results -

we had a huge increase in followers to our Facebook

page too which was great” Price quoted on requirements

TARGETED SOCIAL MEDIA CAMPAIGN:

With a tailored, targeted social media campaign run across our trusted channels, you can

ensure we’ll be promoting your business or event to your key target markets, finely tuned,

tracked and tweaked using the latest paid ads techniques to drive engagement, sales and boost

your presence online. Price quoted on requirements


CAMPAIGNS:

Advertising & Bespoke

April - Amazing Things To Do

May - The Great Outdoors

June - Foodie Heaven

July - Here Comes The Sun

August - Festivals and Fun

September - Get Away With The Girls

October - Spooks and Sparks

November & December - Christmas

January - Beat The January Blues

February - Favourite Days Out

March - Easter

Included within 1 x theme

of your choice

1 x internal banner on

the website

Inclusion in 1 x blog

Inclusion in 1 x e-newsletter,

(1 of 7 to be featured)

*3 x social media posts

( 1 per channel)

*Boosted Instagram and

Facebook post

Member Price - £599+VAT

Non-Member + 25%

BESPOKE WEBSITE

DEVELOPMENT

yourceremony.org.uk

cheshiresciencecorridorez.com

constellationpartnership.co.uk

brilliantscience.co.uk

broadwaybroadband.co.uk

In today’s climate every business should have their

own website. There are a few reasons for this but the

main one is to make your business visible on the web.

A good website will help you to build your brand

and showcase your business and services to a much

wider audience than traditional marketing methods.

It will give you credibility and instil a certain level of

trust in you from your customers.

If you wouldn’t know where to start, don’t worry!

We can help you with this! We have the in-house

skills required to build a fully responsive multi-page

website that will work across all browsers and will

be search-engine-optimised to help your business to

be visible and rank on google. The site can be built

using your branding, colours, imagery and fonts

to get the exact look and feel you require. We will

also install Google Analytics for you so that you can

track the success of your website and work out what

content is working for you.

Price quoted on requirements

*Only 4 partners per theme

Please note that Christmas advertising

is over two months, November and

December and is priced at £1198+VAT

VIDEO

Why video content?

• Recently, online video content has shifted from a luxury

to a necessity

• Video results now appear in 70% of the top 100 listings on Google

• The chance of getting a page one listing on Google increases a staggering 53 times

with video

• Your customers are now using online video to choose where to stay

• 81% of business travellers watch videos before making a booking

• 74% of travel shoppers were prompted to book by online video during planning

• This year video is set to represent 74% of all internet traffic

• Including video in a landing page can increase conversion by 80%

• Studies show that viewers retain 95% of a video’s message compared to

10% when reading text

Price quoted on requirements


DIGITAL PACKAGES

1

Package 1

12 x month homepage navigation link and image

1 x bespoke newsletter

1 x competition

Always on campaign included within 4 x themes of your choice

- 4 x banner ads on the homepage of the website

- Inclusion in 4 x blogs

- Inclusion in 4 x e-newsletters - 1 of 7 to be featured

- Inclusion in 12 x social media posts

Member Price - £3500+VAT reduced from £4,341+VAT

2

Package 2

12 x month homepage navigation link and image

1 x bespoke newsletter

1 x competition

Always on campaign included within 3 x themes of your choice

- 3 x banner ads on the homepage of the website

- Inclusion in 3 x blogs

- Inclusion in 3 x e-newsletters - 1 of 7 to be featured

- Inclusion in 9 x social media posts

Member Price - £2,999+VAT reduced from £3,597+VAT

3

Package 3

6 month homepage navigation link and image

Always on campaign included within 2 x themes of your choice

2 x banner ads on the homepage of the website

Inclusion in 2 x blogs

Inclusion in 2 x e-newsletterss - 1 of 7 to be featured

Inclusion in 6 x social media posts

Member Price - £1,499+VAT reduced from £1,798+VAT

Non-Member Price + 25%

4

Package 4

Included within 1 x theme of your choice

1 x banner ad on the website

Inclusion in 1 x blogs

Inclusion in 1 x e-newsletters - 1 of 7 to be featured

3 x social media posts

Member Price - £599+VAT

Non-Member Price + 25%


Produced by

CAMPAIGNS

Graduation Guide & Favourite Days Out

SOUVENIR GUIDE

MARCH 2019

Graduation

Awards

Essential Information

Graduation Guide (£175+VAT per issue)

Marketing Cheshire work with the University of Chester

to produce their Graduation Souvenir brochures twice

a year which are sent out with students results to help

plan their graduation celebrations with their families.

There is a small amount of space available to advertise

your graduation offer which will work on a first come

first served basis.

Please contact Leanne Eaton -

l.eaton@marketingcheshire.co.uk

Non Member Price: + 25%

WITH ALL YOUR

ULTIMATE

ATTRACTIONS

& shopping map

favourite

Chester, Cheshire & Beyond

DAYS OUT

in Cheshire

visitcheshire.com

Favourite Days Out (£999+VAT, annual price)

Favourite Days Out in Cheshire is Marketing Cheshire’s

main family fun campaign targeting ‘explorer families’

within a 1.5 hour drive time of Cheshire, promoting the

wealth of quality attractions across the county. The 2019

campaign message is ‘Favourite Days Every Day’ and will

focus on the opportunity to experience old favourites,

new favourites, favourite lazy days, favourite active days,

favourite spring days etc.

Participate in this campaign, join a consortium of over 25

attractions and benefit from:

• Invite to exclusive attractions networking events

• Inclusion in the Ultimate Map – 200,000 copies produced

and distributed across the north west

• Listing on the FDO website, average of 15k views per

month

• FDO digital vouchers available to download via the

website

• Your news, events and special offers shared on the FDO

Facebook page - 12K followers

• Inclusion in a new FDO video to be used across

all channels


CAMPAIGNS

Cheshire’s Gardens of Distinction

ORIOUS

ents

ALKS AT

& GARDENS

ay 2018

ing carpet of

he Old Wood,

utiful blooming

leas and early

ns.

ENER’S

LUNCHEON AT

RK

e 2018

ark’s Head

on Tetlow, for an

t into the Garden’s

‘behind the

se at how Simon’s

er this ‘Garden of

fter working up an

y a light lunch in

’s Cottage Tea

produce from the

en.

DEN FESTIVAL

018

ular floral displays,

es, children’s

t and garden

s well as

raft Fair, live jazz

cert band.

R SHOW

RK

018

eshire’s Gardens

asing the best of

ns. Visit us and

great hints and

e of Cheshire’s

l gardens.

DAILY WALKING

TOURS OF PORT

SUNLIGHT VILLAGE

August 2018

Throughout the month

of August, enjoy daily guided

walks past historical points

of interest and architectural

gems. Departing from

Port Sunlight Museum

at 11.30am and 2pm.

NATIONAL GARDENING

WEEK AT DOROTHY CLIVE

30 April to 6 May

Join the country’s biggest

celebration of gardening at

Dorothy Clive’s independent 12

acre hillside garden. Enjoy free

talks and seed swaps

throughout the week.

CHRISTMAS AT

CAPESTHORNE

23 – 25 November 2018

See the Hall’s magical

Christmas decorations and

be entertained by local choirs

and musicians. Visit the craft

marquee for your Christmas

shopping and the Butler’s

Pantry for festive refreshments.

SNOWDROP WALKS AT

NESS BOTANIC GARDENS

February 2019

The snowdrop collection at Ness

has grown across the years and

you can now see a collection of

over fifty types planted

throughout the gardens.

THE LOVELL

QUINTA ARBORETUM

SNOWDROP WALK

Sunday 10 February 2019

Enjoy the snowdrops at

this horticultural treasure,

nestled in the heart of the

Cheshire countryside.

For a full list of exciting events go to:

cheshiresgardens.com/events

Cheshire’s Gardens of Distinction

(£550+VAT, annual price)

Bringing you more

Cheshire’s Gardens of Distinction

celebrates of and what promotes you the diverse love

range of horticulture on offer in Cheshire.

In 2019, the campaign will lead with a

Cheshire’s Glorious Gardens’ message

and will focus on three areas of activity;

1. Inclusion in the Cheshire’s Gardens

guide - 60,000 copies produced and

distributed across the north west

2. A dedicated Cheshire’s Gardens area

at the RHS Flower Show Tatton Park

and Discover the opportunity a destination to create a ‘show’

or ‘feature’ with a difference. garden. Targeting a core

Somewhere you can spend the whole day

horticultural audience of 50,000+

come rain or shine. We’ve got something

for everyone to enjoy from our extensive

dining choices to the Weeping Ash Garden

3. Featured listing on

cheshiresgardens.com

and our outside adventure play area.

From our quality home grown plants,

to a wide selection of top brands in our

Clothing and Gift departments,Cook Shop,

Children’s Boutique, Food Hall and The Pet

Place, we have it all at Bents.

GARDEN HOME LIFE FOOD

Bents Garden & Home, Warrington Road, Glazebury, Cheshire WA3 5NT.

Telephone: 01942 266300. Check online for seasonal opening times.

For the latest events and online shopping visit bents.co.uk

CHESHIRE’S

GLORIOUS

Gardens

cheshiresgardens.com

Cheshire Gardens of Distinction Ad - 87mm x 200mm.indd 1 21/02/2018 09:58:47


CAMPAIGNS

Travel Trade

From £500+VAT per year

The Travel Trade campaign aims to increase the number of domestic and international visitors

to Chester and Cheshire by positioning the area as a ‘must-see’ short break destination for

coach and tour operators, agents and groups.

• Travel trade dedicated website making it easy for travel trade providers to access

information, see what is on offer, provide suggested itineraries and give them a contact

where they can discuss options and get advice

• Quarterly e-newsletters to our dedicated database of 2000+ travel

trade contacts

• Inclusion in regular FAM visits across the county where relevant

• Promotion at events across the UK including ExploreGB

• Inclusion in our NEW 2019/20 Travel Trade online pdf guide

• Access to specific training courses e.g China Welcome

• Promotion through social media & LinkedIn

£1000+VAT Silver package

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Where can I drop off my passengers in Chester?

A. There are new drop-off restrictions in Chester city centre, please note

drop-offs are limited to 10 minutes. Current drop-off points are:

• Vicar’s Lane (westbound, CH1 1QU)

• Grosvenor Street (southbound, CH1 2DD)

• Pepper Street (eastbound, CH1 1DW)

• Little Roodee Car Park (Castle Drive, CH1 1SL)

• Foregate Street (eastbound, CH1 1HE)

• *Hunter Street (CH1 2AR)

Half page advert in PDF travel trade brochure

*Coaches can use the space in the old bus station (Hunter Street) until

further notice however they are not permitted to enter the new bus

station on Gorse Stacks

Inclusion in quarterly enewsletters to travel trade organisers

Feature within the travel trade video

6 social media posts

Q. Where can I park my coach in Chester?

A. The Little Roodee coach and car park

• Up to three hours - £5.50

• Three to six hours - £8

• Over six hours - £10

• Arrivals after 5pm - £5

• *Multiple Access - £10

Dedicated content within a travel trade blog

FAM trip inclusion when appropriate

Promotion at Explore GB and travel trade events

£500+VAT Bronze package

Quarter page advert in travel trade brochure

*If you wish to obtain a multiple access ticket, you must first take a ticket

from the entry machine, this can then be discarded and you should collect

a ‘Coach Ticket’ from the payment machine (£10). You will also be issued

with another ticket allowing you to enter and exit the Roodee for the

remainder of the day.

Large vehicles which exceed the size of a standard marked bay should pay

for the number of spaces occupied.

The car park is open 24 hours; vehicles may be parked overnight but

should be moved by 9am the following morning.

Inclusion in quarterly enewsletters to travel trade organisers

Inclusion within social media posts

FAM trip inclusion when appropriate

Promotion at Explore GB and travel trade events

Listing within a travel trade blog

There are on site toilet facilities for passengers and coach drivers. There is

a radar key toilet situated outside of the building.

When the fair arrives in May, alternative coach parking is available at the

Park & Ride on Wrexham Road.


CAMPAIGNS

Business Tourism Membership

Would you like advance notice of

what type of clients are considering

Cheshire for conference and meetings

and find out exactly what they are

looking for? Would you like advice on

tailoring your business tourism pitch to

hot prospects and to be kept constantly

in the loop about market trends? If you

are someone who specialises in or who

is hoping to grow your income from

business tourism, then think seriously

about joining Marketing Cheshire as a

Business Tourism partner.

We recognise the potential impact

of business tourism to the Cheshire

economy. We have a dedicated

Business Tourism Sales Executive

who is responsible for proactively

marketing Cheshire venues to

appropriately sized prospects.

We offer a comprehensive listings

package which allows you to be

profiled on our website

conferencingcheshire.com

We will build on the work that we

have already carried out in attracting

science-based associations through our

Brilliant Science fund, which we hope

to continue into 2020 working with the

LEP, and provide a lead generation and

bidding process.

Apart from all of our specific Business

Tourism benefits, all of our partners

are invited to members’ meetings

and networking events where you

can meet your peers or potential

clients. Furthermore, because our job

is to market Cheshire we are always

delighted to publicise your venue,

celebrate your success and cover your

news stories. Your membership

will include:

* Representation at events, sales

missions and exhibitions

* Inclusion in relevant familiarisation

and press visits

* Special offers and news facility on

the website

* Dedicated twitter account to link

into @CheshireConf

* Featured on relevant searches

ie. unique venues

* Room layouts and capacities

detailed

* Web listing with 6 images, contact

details and direct click-throughs to

your website

£500+VAT

* If a Marketing Cheshire lead is

confirmed with you, we will

invoice for 10% commission on the

booking value

2

T

Ul

Gu


Issue 06

JANUARY —

APRIL

2019

The Ultimate

Guide to

CHESTER

CHESHIRE

& beyond

Version 2

JANUARY 2018

Chester

& Cheshire

Spring

2019

The

Ultimate

Guide

Rate Card 2019/20

Featuring:

CHESHIRE’S BEST

WINTER WALKS

AND GARDENS

That happen

start and

the pu

Chester

&

Cheshire

Autumn

2018

Issue 05

SEPTEMBER —

DECEMBER

2018

The

Ultimate

Guide


Marketing Cheshire’s

flagship publication

‘The Ultimate Guide

to Chester, Cheshire &

Beyond’ is growing from

strength to strength. 2019

is going to be another

exciting year...

50,000 COPIES PER ISSUE

2 EDITIONS PER YEAR:

MAY-OCTOBER / NOVEMBER-APRIL

Modern,

beautiful and

well-crafted...

The Ultimate Guide

to Chester, Cheshire

& Beyond will touch

on various themes

throughout the year

including key events, food

& drink, family days out

and what’s on in the area.

The magazine will also

include interviews and

stories from across the

city and county. Plus

sophisticated features

on shopping, dining out

and the region’s beautiful

gardens.

Produced to a high

specification with a

modern design in a

handy-sized B5 format.

There will be two editions

published per year and

the distribution will be

very carefully targeted

in and around Chester,

North Wales, Wirral,

Liverpool, Manchester

and Staffordshire.


THE ULTIMATE GUIDE

Distribution

The 50,000 copies will be distributed to high footfall locations including

shopping centres, railway stations, motorway services, major hotels, large

attractions, visitor information centres, corporate organisations and major

supermarkets in and around Chester, Cheshire, North Wales, the Wirral,

Liverpool, Manchester and Staffordshire.

TARGET AUDIENCE

Prosperous planners, free and easy mini breakers,

explorer families and couples visiting the area as well

as coach visitors to the city and surrounding area,

international visitors, day trippers within a 1.5 hour

drive time, and local residents.

DIGITAL

visitcheshire.com

Digital views 12,500

per issue

Example Key Sites

Shopping Centres: Grosvenor Shopping Centre,

Broughton Shopping Park, Octagon Shopping

Centre, Burton upon Trent

Railway Stations: Chester, Crewe, Liverpool Lime

Street, Manchester Victoria, Manchester Piccadilly,

Burton upon Trent

Chester M56 Services,

Stafford South Roadchef Services

Visitor Information Centres: Chester, Cheshire Oaks,

Delamere Forest, Wrexham, Nantwich, Northwich,

Macclesfield, Congleton and Warrington

Top / large hotels within Chester, Cheshire,

North Wales, Wirral, Liverpool and Stafford

Corporate Organisations: MBNA and

M&S Financial Services

Large Attractions: Chester Zoo, The Ice Cream Farm,

Chester Racecourse, Ness Gardens, Vue Cinema,

The Beatles Story, National Brewery Centre,

World of Glass, Liverpool FC and Alton Towers

Supermarkets: Tesco, Asda, Sainsburys

and Morrisons


THE ULTIMATE GUIDE

Pricing

Advertisers receive guaranteed inclusion on the map within the guide

MEMBERS

SPACE / POSITION

PRICING

Back Cover (a) £1,750

Inside Front Double (b) £2,300

Inside Back (c) £995

Full Page (d) £825

Half Page (e) £550

Quarter Page (f) £395

All prices +VAT / Non Member Price +25%

BACK COVER (A)

Size - 165mm x 240mm

(+3mm bleed on all

edges)

INSIDE FRONT DOUBLE (b)

Size - 310mm x 220mm

Bleed Size - 330mm x 240mm

(+3mm bleed on all edges)

Please Note: The publication is PERFECT BOUND.

Please keep text or important information away

from the gutter (at least 25mm)

HALF PAGE (e)

Size - 145mm x 107mm

1/4

PAGE (f)

Size -

70mm x

107mm

1/4

PAGE (f)

Size -

70mm x

107mm

INSIDE BACK (c)

FULL PAGE (d)

Size - 145mm x 220mm

Bleed Size - 165mm x

240mm (+3mm bleed on

all edges)

ADVERTORIAL PAGE RATE IS AS

ABOVE. COPY TO BE SUPPLIED BY THE

ADVERTISER. SUBJECT TO APPROVAL.

RIGHT HAND PAGE PREMIUM POSITION

ADDITIONAL 10%


THE ULTIMATE GUIDE

Booking Form

Company:

Contact:

Address:

Tel No:

Email:

Signature:

Members: (Please Tick)

MAY - OCT 2019

Quarter page: £395

Half page: £550

Full page: £825

Inside back cover: £995

Inside Front Double: £2,300

Back cover: £1,750

NOV - APRIL 2020

Quarter page: £395

Half page: £550

Full page: £825

Inside back cover: £995

Inside Front Double: £2,300

Back cover: £1,750

Non Members: +25%

All prices +VAT

Please return form and send artwork to: l.eaton@marketingcheshire.co.uk

TERMS & CONDITIONS

1. Marketing Cheshire retains the right to edit the advertisers’ copy if deemed necessary.

2. Marketing Cheshire has the right to refuse acceptance of certain advertisements and can issue the publication with amended advertisements without assigning

a reason.

3. Proofs must be carefully checked and returned immediately with corrections and additions clearly marked. All additions and alterations except recognised

printing errors will be charged at an extra rate.

4. In submitting the advertisement you are warranting that the description and information provided is accurate in every respect.

5. The Trade Descriptions Act 1968 makes it an offence for any person in the course of any trade or business to give any false indications or statement, direct

or indirect about any goods supplied by him. The Act also applies to services; accommodation or facilities and advertisers are strongly advised to check their

advertisement copy very carefully before submitting it for publication.

6. Whilst Marketing Cheshire will use all reasonable endeavours to ensure the accuracy of advertisement details the advertiser accepts that Marketing Cheshire

nor its Agents will not accept responsibility for any errors or omissions that may occur.

7. Marketing Cheshire will not be liable for any consequential loss, damage, cost or expense incurred by the advertiser resulting from any errors or nonpublication.

8. If you attempt to cancel your order at any stage after the order has been placed with Marketing Cheshire you will not be entitled to a refund.


For more information please contact

Ashley Shacklady at a.shacklady@marketingcheshire.co.uk

or call 01244 405600

MARKETING CHESHIRE

The agency that

champions Cheshire

marketingcheshire.co.uk

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines