Vinexpo Daily 2019 - Preview Edition

cleverdis

PREVIEW EDITION

THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019

HALL 1

STAND D245

HALL 1

STAND AB25

DAILY

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW

Rodolphe Lameyse

Chief executive officer, Vinexpo

The truth is that devising a strategy is one

thing, ensuring its delivery is the real test.

See page 12

SPECIAL FEATURE

A MARRIAGE

MADE IN HEAVEN

WHEN GASTRONOMY MEETS THE

PERFECT PARTNER… IN A GLASS!

Go to page 15

DESTINATION SPOTLIGHT

NORTHERN EUROPE

When it’s cold outside, new product

development is hot – and exciting. Spotlight on

the cooler climes. See page 16

TRADE TALK

Stefan Norberg

Vice Chairman , Solera Beverage Group Holding AS

Organic wine is growing especially in

Sweden due to the tenders and the wish from

the monopoly to grow this segment. See page 11


EDITORIAL

Richard Barnes

Editor-in-chief,

Vinexpo Daily

Vinexpo Bordeaux 2019

PROGRAMME

VINEXPO 2019:

THE “HEAD

AND HEART”

EXHIBITION…

AND RESOLUTELY

INTERNATIONAL

Asked to sum up Vinexpo, Vinexpo’s new chief

executive officer, Rodolphe Lameyse was very

clear: “It’s a ‘head and heart’ exhibition”.

Head – because there is a strong business aspect

which has always been the case since the beginnings

of the show. But it’s also the information that can

be gathered thanks to the Vinexpo symposium,

which this year spotlights climate change.

Heart – because there is an “extra” programme

which is absolutely incredible, with tastings at a

very high level.

The show is at the same time 100% business and

100% international. Indeed, it’s a case of travelling

“around the world in four days”. Four days to

travel the world of wines and spirits, meet the

key decision-makers, do business, discuss the

strategic challenges the industry faces and enjoy

an immersive experience surrounded by the most

prestigious vineyards.

Buyers from the world over come to Vinexpo

Bordeaux to taste and order products. Row after row

of producer countries exhibit the wealth and variety

of the world’s wines and spirits. All of France’s

regions are there. International corporations sit

side-by-side with smaller, family enterprises. Wine

and spirits brands from South Africa, Austria,

Georgia, Portugal, Germany, Italy, the UK, the US,

Sweden, Turkey, Lebanon, Vietnam and China offer

tastings of their ranges. Where else can you taste

a New Zealand Chardonnay then a South African

Chardonnay within a few steps of each other,

before moving on to a Malbec or to appreciate the

skill behind the Bordeaux blends?

Bringing the wine and spirits world to you in one

place – like no other. That’s Vinexpo 2019.

MONDAY 13 TH MAY

CONFERENCES

How can you maximize your investment

in a wine estate?

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

Alibaba’s globalization in wine

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

E-commerce: what it takes to sell wine online!

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 5

TASTINGS

Presentation of the wines from Médoc,

Haut-Médoc and Listrac Médoc

> 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 4

Free admission

MASTERCLASSES

Gambero Rosso vini d’Italia 2019 special

awards masterclass

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 1 -

By invitation only

DAILY

Riedel: the importance of glass shapes

in the perception of aromas and taste

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

Port and chocolate, the perfect pairing

11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

The sweets wines

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By registration

The indigenous grape varieties

from the world

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

Port and chocolate, the perfect pairing

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

Shochu – Japanese traditional

distilled spirits

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

AN INDISPENSABLE TOOL: THE VINEXPO APP

For instant access to a plethora of information in your pocket, take a

minute to download the Vinexpo Smartphone App.

Whether it’s discovering all the events, finding and locating

exhibitors, reading-up on the list of speakers or learning more

about the world of wine and spirits, the app has it all.

Users have direct access to the “social wall”, videos and useful

information, while an interactive 3D map allows one to navigate

at the touch of a finger (or thumb).

VINEXPO DAILY is a CLEVERDIS Publication. 65 avenue Jules Cantini - Tour Méditerranée

13006 Marseille, France - Tel: + 33 442 77 46 00

SARL capitalised at e155,750 - VAT FR 95413604471 - RCS Marseille 413 604 471

info@cleverdis.com - www.cleverdis.com - www.vinexpodaily.com

• Publisher: Gérard Lefebvre • Managing Director: Jean-François Pieri • Publishing Director: Jean-Guy Bienfait • Project Manager: Benjamin Klene

• Editor-in-chief: Richard Barnes • Editorial coordinator: Kira Behr • Editorial team: Neil Cole, Andy Fry, Richard Siddle • Marketing Manager: Nathalie Meissner •

Art Director: Hélène Beunat • With the participation of: Bettina Badon, Siyu Geng, Jasdeep Singh, Wenchao Wang

>>>> To contact them : first name.last name@vinexpodaily.com

Cover: © Bodega Garzon - © CLEVERDIS 2019 - Registration of Copyright May 2019. Information presented in this publication is purely indicative in order to illustrate subjects contained therein. No guarantee can be

given as to the accuracy of data or content at time of printing and thus the latter should not be used for professional or commercial ends. While all efforts have been made as to accuracy and pertinence of content and data contained in this

publication, CLEVERDIS may in no case be held responsible for the consequences, whatever their nature may be, that may result from the interpretation of this data or content, or any eventual errors therein. Any reproduction of the content of

this publication, even partial, by any means whatsoever, is strictly prohibited without the prior autorisation of the publisher. Any copy, whether by photography, photography film, magnetic tape, disc or other means constitutes a forgery, liable to

punishment under French law according to the legislation of 11 th March 1957 covering copyright. All brands cited in this publication are registered trade marks and/or belong to companies which are their respective proprietors. The publishers

and editorial staff decline all responsibility as to opinions formulated in this publication by those interviewed or cited therein. Their opinions are entirely their own, and are included with the understanding that they contain, to our knowledge,

no malicious intent. The inclusion of all texts, photographs and other documents supplied by those included in this publication imply the acceptance by their authors of their free publication therein. Documents and photographs will not be

returned. It should be understood that this publication contains forward-looking statements that involve risks, uncertainties and assumptions. All statements other than statements of historical fact are statements that could be deemed forwardlooking

statements. Risks, uncertainties and assumptions include assumptions relating to the timing of the recorded date. If any of these risks or uncertainties materialises or any of these assumptions proves incorrect, actual results could differ

materially from the expectations outlined in these statements. Cleverdis assumes no obligation and does not intend to update these forward-looking statements during the period of publication. Photo Credits and Copyright: All Rights Reserved.

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 3


Practical Guide

Vinexpo Academy (Tastings)

Accueil exposants (porte 34) /

Exhibitors reception (gate 34)

Prestataires agréés / Appointed suppliers

CEB

Café

ENTRÉE

ENTRANCE

K

Taxis

VTC officiels Handicapés

Hélistation

Hall 1 / A216

Hall 1 / CD90

Hall 1 / BC105

Hall 1 / D245

Hall 1 / C44

Hall 1 / BD216

Hall 1 / AB25

Press Kiosk

Press Kiosk

Press Kiosk

Press Kiosk

Vinexpo Lounge

(Press Centre, Vinexpo Club,

Head office)

Press Kiosk

One to Wine Meetings

Concierge

Boutiques

Partners

LAC / LAKE

HALL 1

03 05 06 08 10 13 15 17 19 20 22

24 26 27 29 33 34

Exposants

Exposants

Vinexpo Academy (conferences)

Vinexpo Symposium

UGCB / Gambero Rosso

Sud Ouest food meeting

Café

HALL 2

Visiteurs

Navette Vinexpo

Vinexpo shuttle

Navette parking / navette intérieure

Car park shuttle / inside shuttle

Verres / glace / eau / évier

Glass / ice / water / sink

Stands Exposants / Exhibitors stands

Espace Vinexpo / Vinexpo areas

Hall 1 / AB80

Hall 1 / A183

Parc des Expositions

Tram centre ville C

Tram city centre C

ENTRÉE

ENTRANCE C

Taxis

VTC officiels

Bus de ville

City bus

Parc des

Expositions

25 - 37 - 73

Hall 1 / CD197


NEWS

Single varietal Douro wines

11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

Joseph Phelps Insignia vineyards

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By invitation only

SPECIAL EVENTS

Sud-Ouest food meetings

9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 9

By invitation only

65 th Congress of the French National Federation of

Brokers in wine and spirits

9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room A

By invitation only

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented by the Institute of Masters of Wine and

the drinks business

11:45 am - 2:00 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 3

By invitation only

Sud-ouest food meetings

5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 9

Free admission

TUESDAY 14 TH MAY

CONFERENCES

Wine in moderation

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

Building tomorrow’s wine-growing company

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

Biocontrol wood diseases as part of an

agroecological protection into the vineyard

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

VINEXPO SYMPOSIUM

The impact of climate change on global vineyards

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 2, Room 8

By registration

The impact of climate change on vineyard

management and winemaking

12:00 - 1:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 8

By registration

The impact of climate change on the wine economy

3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 8

By registration

TASTINGS

Union des grands crus de bordeaux:

2016 vintage

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 6

By registration

Crus bourgeois du Médoc

10:30 am - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 5

Free admission

Awarded wines master class Challenge

International du Vin & Citadelles du Vin

2019

10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 4

Free admission

Renaissance des Appellations

10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 3

Free admission

MASTERCLASSES

Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

Free admission

Spirit tasting and review

of market trends

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

The japanese sake explained

by a sommelier

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

Single varietal Douro wines

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

mbero Rosso rosati d’Italia

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By invitation only

Invest in Chinese wine sector

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

SPECIAL EVENTS

Sud-Ouest food meetings

9:00 am - 6:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 9

By invitation only

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 5


NEWS

DNESDAY 15 TH MAY

VINEXPO EVENT

Vinexpo Explorer Beaujolais reception

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 3

Free admission

CONFERENCES

Experience codeonline.fr

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

Wine journalism in digital times

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

Cofco wines & spirits international

strategy release

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

Key global wine and spirits consumption trends:

2013-2023

3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

Free admission

TASTINGS

Tre Bicchieri 2019 versus 2020

10:00 am - 6:30 pm

Location: Hall 2, Room 6

Free admission

Saint-Estèphe wines “Précieux Terroir”

10:30 am - 4:00 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 4

Free admission

MASTERCLASSES

A “grand vin” is born in Argentina

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By invitation only

2016 vintage Port

11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

Sauternes Barsac

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By registration

2016 vintage Port

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Stand CD65

Free admission

The battle of the new generation

best sommeliers!

4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

Free admission

SPECIAL EVENTS

General Assembly of the FIJEV - International

Federation of Wine and Spirits Journalists

and Writers

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By invitation only

Cork’s French Federation 2019

11:30 am - 2:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 3

By registration

THURSDAY 16TH MAY

VINEXPO EVENT

Vinexpo Challenge by Marc Almert, Best

Sommelier of the World!

11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Hall 1, Room 3

Free admission

CONFERENCES

From grape to glass, logistics become the core

of the customer experience

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 2, Room 7

By registration

MASTERCLASSES

Koji, the secret of Japanese drinks

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 2

By registration

Tasting skills: a real trade challenge

10:00 am - 11:30 am

Location: Hall 1, Room 1

By registration

© Philippe Labeguerie

6 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


NEWS

© Philippe Labeguerie

CITADELLES DU VIN

NAMES AWARDS

FOR TOP 250 WINES

Vinexpo Bordeaux 2019 delivers

higher return on investment –

increasing business performance

A revamped Vinexpo Bordeaux this year

prioritises quality, return on investment

and relevant content, boasting 15% new

exhibitors.

Under the High Patronage of French

President Emmanuel Macron, Vinexpo

Bordeaux 2019 will consolidate its

reputation as a high-quality event with

a strong presence from key decisionmakers

and operators.

From 13-16 May, more than 1,600

companies in the wine and spirits market

from 29 countries will fill the 70,000 m2

of gross exhibition space, making it the

largest international wine and spirits

trade show in France. Vinexpo Bordeaux

will occupy the whole of Hall 1, as well

as the new Hall 2 – Palais2 l’Atlantique,

dedicated to tasting events.

Participating French brands with

international presence include

Champagne Bollinger, Henri Bourgeois,

Minuty, GH Martel & Cie, Grands Chais de

France, Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte,

Albert Bichot, Joanne, Baron Philippe de

Rothschild, Bernard Magrez and CVBG-

Dourthe Kressmann.

International exhibitors from 29

countries are also a key feature of

Vinexpo Bordeaux, including: Spain (Felix

Solis Avantis and Marqués de Cáceres),

Argentina (Clos de los Siete and Catena

Zapata), Italy (Piccini and Emilia

Romagna), South Africa (Robinson &

Sinclair), as well as China, with its Cofco

Greatwall.

Vinexpo is consolidating its offering

as an international meeting place for

market players, welcoming 15% new

exhibitors and 3 new countries: Sweden,

Turkey and Vietnam.

Smaller-scale producers will also be

catered for, for example in the AANA

(Nouvelle-Aquitaine Food Agency) area,

and in the pavilion created by Vinexpo

to make the show more accessible to

smaller entities.

Organic and biodynamic wines and

spirits from around the world will be

showcased at WOW! World of Organic

Wines and will feature 150 producers

from 10 countries. This event within

the event benefits from the worldwide

appeal of Vinexpo Bordeaux and will

attract buyers seeking wines with the

organic or biodynamic label

The official award ceremony for the

Citadelles du Vin will take place at

5pm on Sunday May 12 th at the Cité

du Vin.

Tasting and selection for the 19 th

edition of the Citadelles du Vin took

place from March 16 th to March 18 th

at the CDV headquarters (Concours

des Vins) in Bourg.

40 tasters from 19 different

nationalities (40% EU, 32% FR,

18% North and South America,

7% Asia, 3% Africa) gathered to

identify the 2019 winners. This

year, 34 countries presented their

wines in the competition (average

price/bottle: 10,40 € ex-cellar)

representing 867 bottles to be

tasted under the strictest protocol.

The Citadelles du Vin are part of

VinoFed (World Federation of Great

International Wine Competitions),

renowned as the elite of

competitions. The Citadelles du

Vin are also a member of the OIV

(International Organization of

Vine and Wine) which gives an

additional guarantee of quality

for both professionals and for the

reputation of the medals.

This year, 250 wines have been

awarded with a Gold or Silver

medal and 18 Special Prizes have

been granted

Hall 1 / Stand CD267

MASTER-CLASS

AWARDED WINES

Presentation of the winners

to the buyers

Tuesday May 14 th

(10 am – 6 pm)

Vinexpo Academy -

Hall 1, Room 4

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 7


NEWS

ADVERTORIAL

Discovering

distinctive

personality

Castilla y León’s wonderful

wines reveal their complexity and

uniqueness at Vinexpo

Leon vineyards

A selection of wineries from Castilla y

León are present at Vinexpo Bordeaux

2019, giving visitors the opportunity to

discover the reasons why their products

are among the finest and most appreciated

in the world.

The red wines produced in the Ribera del Duero

have forged their own unique personality; yet

this is something that did not come about by

chance. The Tempranillo grape variety, the

soil and the climate, combined with skilled

winemaking knowhow, have positioned these

wines produced on the banks of the River Douro

amongst the finest and most appreciated in

the world.

In addition, the Rueda Designation of Origin is

considered one of the best white wine making

areas in Spain and the world, although it

also produces red and rosé wines. Rueda is

associated with its own unique white grape

variety, Verdejo.

In recent years, Toro has become another

major driving force for the mid-Douro reds,

produced from its own unique variety: Tinta de

Toro.

The Vino de la Tierra de Castilla y León quality

seal can include all the vineyards located

in the Autonomous Community, extending

to both those that already hold some type

of official quality seal and those that do not.

In all, Castilla y León has 75,000 hectares

dedicated to wine production (6% of the

national total). It ranks fourth in terms of

grape production in Spain and is home to more

than 500 wineries that are flourishing thanks

to the dedication and enthusiasm of 18,500

producers of fine wines.

CASTILLA

Y LEÓN HAS

75,000 HECTARES

DEDICATED TO WINE

PRODUCTION

The autonomous community boasts no fewer

than 14 Designations of Origin, including 4

quality wine areas (Protected Designations

of Origin). There is also a specific quality seal

for the entire territory: the Vino de la Tierra

de Castilla y León Protected Geographical

Indication (PGI).

To taste some of the wines mentioned above, as

well as some spirits (gin and liquors), visit the

Castilla y Léon stand

Hall 1 / Stand E102

8 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


NEWS

ADVERTORIAL

OUR PASSION IS TO

GIVE PEOPLE SOMETHING

NEW TO DISCOVER.

Damiens Sartori

Oenologist, Lionel Osmin & Co

with Lionel Osmin

Founder, Lionel Osmin & Co

Taking southwest France to the world

Exclusive interview with Lionel Osmin, founder of Lionel Osmin and Co.

Lionel Osmin & Co is a specialist producer and distributor from the

south west of France. We talk to its founder, Lionel Osmin, about what

difference he wants to make, but we began by asking how he started out

in the field.

The story began at the foot of the

Pyrenees, as I was born in a village next

to Pau, in the Jurançon appellation.

My father was a wine lover who first

introduced me to this “universe”. After

doing internships at producers in

France and Spain I had the taste and

wanted to work in this field.

Why did you start Lionel Osmin & Co?

We wanted to make people more

aware of the true value of France’s

southwestern wines. The region is

not traditionally well known to wine

drinkers around the world and we

wanted to showcase what the region

can do and help promote the excellent

wines it is producing.

We also wanted to demonstrate the

support and pride our local producers

have in working with local grape

varieties that stretch back to the 1960’s.

We have an incredible diversity of grape

varieties in southwest France, but

what we don’t have is a long history, or

reputation for producing them, unlike

Bordeaux.

We can only pinpoint specific quality

improvements since the 1980’s, so

there is still a lot to do for this work

to be recognised. But we see every

day that markets are more and more

searching for original wines.

These producers have dedicated their

professional lives to these indigenous

grape varieties in order to make wines

that are more than just interesting.

These wines retain a great deal of

vinexpodaily.com

character and identity. These local

winegrowers are close to my own roots,

which is why I wanted to do what I could

to help them.

How have you done that?

I first launched Maison de Vins de

Jurançon, with all the winegrowers

of the appellation. Then for 12

years, I worked as a kind of pilgrim,

travelling the world promoting the

qualities of these wines, explaining

Tannat, and the fact Malbec originates

from Cahors.

In 2010, I wanted to bring my own

personality to the wines, and start my

own production and founded Lionel

Osmin & Co with winemaker, Damiens

Sartori. We did this without buying

vineyards but grapes, so that we could

group together a number of indigenous

varietal wines under one roof, and

present a more simplified offer to

distributors, and importers around the

world. We introduced our first wines to

the market in 2011.

What differentiates the grapes of

the southwest to other varieties and

regions?

The southwest is a vast wine producing

region, stretching west to east, from the

Atlantic Ocean to the Massif Central,

and south to north, from the Pyrenees

to Bordeaux. This territory has multiple,

and very different climatic, geologic

and geographic features. This means

we don’t have a unity of production

that one might find in Burgundy or

Bordeaux, where you will find the

same geography and climate across

most vineyards. This is why each of our

appellations have such a diverse range

of different grape varieties that have

all adapted to the unique climate and

geography… like Malbec. Whilst it has

become an internationally renowned

grape variety, its source and origin is

Cahors in the Lot Valley. Traditionally

it’s full-bodied, but we now produce two

very distinct styles of this native grape,

including a fresh, fruity version that no

way resembles the historic, traditional,

rustic style. Malbec is not only French,

but comes from the southwest and is

the “original French, fresh Malbec”. The

Négrette is also very unique, planted

only at Fronton just north of Toulouse,

producing excellent rosé wines.

We want to bring these amazing wines

to the attention of the world’s wine

lovers and not just present them with a

50th Merlot or 35th Syrah. Our passion

is to give people something new to

discover

Hall 1 / Stand CD197

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 9


MEET THE WORLD’S ONLY

PALINDROMIC GRAPE

Tannat is the only grape WORLD in the OF world ORGANIC modernising WINESit. Certified organic wine

that reads the same in both directions (a producer since 2011, they consider these

palindrome). But that’s not all! With its practices as a promise for the future.

red wines, Domaine Damiens reveals 3 Always looking for development in the vine

different expressions of the Tannat. 3 wine as in the cellar, today their goal is to better

profiles which preserve the meridional and organise their work, and to make these

Atlantic singularity of this Southwestern wines known globally

France grape.

After 50 years, 3 generations and 1000

questions, the Domaine Damiens has

kept the family tradition of vine growing,

Hall 1 / Stand W227

CHÂTEAU DES BACHELARDS:

PIONEERING A DIFFERENT

STYLE OF WINES AND

PHILOSOPHY IN FLEURIE

Château des Bachelards’ wines

are doubly certified organic and

biodynamic - Demeter, which

changes dramatically the profile

of the wines. They are the only

winery of Fleurie, Saint-Amour

and Moulin-à-Vent to do so.

Château des Bachelards’ vineyard

was established by the monks

of Cluny around the year 1100

and has only had three owners

since. The vineyard stretches over

12 hectares, six of which are in

Fleurie in a single “clos” around

the Château, cultivated like a

garden and plots in Moulin-à-

Vent and in Saint-Amour. Their

wines are characterised by

a combination of Burgundy’s

elegance and Rhône Valley’s

gourmandise.

The Château’s soils have been

clean for more than 12 years:

“They are our treasure and

we care”, explain Château

staff, adding, “Similarly, we do

not use any of the so-called

‘Beaujolais winemaking methods’

i.e. carbonic maceration,

thermovinification etc. and we

don’t use any chemicals. Our

wines are alive.”

Countess Alexandra de Vazielles,

with an MBA from the Kellogg

School of Northwestern University

in Chicago, is a viticulture and

oenology graduate. She lived and

worked fifteen years in the US as

a strategy consultant within the

tech industry. Before acquiring

her own estate, which allowed her

to fully express herself and make

her dream come true, she trained

with the very best at Château

Latour in Pauillac, Domaine de

Montille in Volnay and Domaine

Roulot in Meursault.

“You don’t like Beaujolais wines

too much? Neither do I, that is

why I created mine,” explains

Alexandra de Vazeilles.

Alexandra de Vazeilles has no

Beaujolais family roots and

chose Bachelards for its terroir

uniqueness and quality since she

considers Fleurie’s granitic soils

to be among France’s greatest

terroirs. Indeed, up until the end of

the 1970s, the price of wines from

Fleurie, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-

Amour was higher than those

from Gevrey-Chambertin, Nuits-

Saint-Georges, Châteauneuf-du-

Pape and Margaux

Hall 1 / Stand W185

NEW ADOBE LABEL STRENGTHENS

ORGANIC MESSAGE

Emiliana Organic Vineyards, which claims

to be the world’s largest organic winery,

has chosen the image of a crowing

rooster announcing the dawn of a new day,

surrounded by vineyards and nature for the

new label of its Adobe line that is set to

reach the market with a new air.

Available in more than 35 countries, Adobe,

one of the most widely sold organic wines,

has renewed its image with icons that

strengthen its attributes of organics and

quality that stand above those of its peers.

Emiliana brand manager Paula Millán

stresses that he wants the new label to

distinguish the characteristics of the wine

even more: “We believe that the illustration

of the rooster as the primary element,

surrounded by the natural world, represents

light and awakening. We continue to hear

his crowing as the first rays of sunlight

appear when we are in the countryside. It

also makes an almost-perfect analogy with

Emiliana’s own awakening

when it decided to transform its vineyards

to sustainable agriculture more than 20

years ago.”

Camila Bravo, the brand’s strategic

designer, says the label includes a range

of 11 colours, one for each variety in the

Adobe line. “Every variety is a different

colour. This natural range of colours comes

the colours of a rooster’s feathers, which

ties in very nicely with this project.”

“Adobe is the foundation of Emiliana’s

portfolio, and with its wines we want to

invite everyone to discover this organic

world. It is the first step toward nature,”

concludes Paula Millán

Hall 1 / Stand W227

10 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


TRADE TALK

Drinks for

every moment

PRESS CORNER

Nordic-based Solera Beverage Group is at

Vinexpo Bordeaux on the look-out for new

strategic partners

Thomas Matthews

Executive editor, Wine Spectator

Stefan

Norberg

Vice Chairman,

Solera Beverage Group

Solera Beverage Group consists of many importers in Sweden, Finland and

Norway. We asked Stefan Norberg - Vice Chairman - Solera Beverage Group

Holding AS to tell us more about the group and its activities.

Solera Beverage Group is the leading

importer of beverages in the Nordics,

specialising in imports of wine, spirits,

beer and other beverages. Over the past

10 years Solera has had a growth rate that

has outperformed any other Beverage

Group in the business, and we continue to

grow at the same strong pace. Solera thus

has a deep understanding of the Nordic

market and work intensely on developing

new and innovative ways to drive profitable

growth for producers/brand owners

and customers. Solera has 150 highly

competent and passionate employees.

Our turnover is €178m. My role is, apart

from the Vice Chairman of the Board of

Directors, the overall responsibility to

develop the portfolio of Solera Beverage

Group.

What do you see as being the most

important sales trends in your territory?

In general, consumers are becoming

more and more educated when it comes

to wine. Sales trends are different

depending on the geographic markets.

White wine grew as well as sparkling

wine last year due to the nice weather we

had. Since we are serving the Monopolies

and their tenders, we are constantly in

dialogue with them in order to present the

best possible products. Organic wine is

growing especially in Sweden due to the

ORGANIC

WINE IS GROWING

ESPECIALLY IN

SWEDEN DUE TO

THE TENDERS AND

THE WISH FROM

THE MONOPOLY

TO GROW THIS

SEGMENT.

tenders and the wish from the monopoly

to grow this segment. Allowing products

with higher alcohol content in the retail

(grocery) market in Finland, has been a

game changer as well.

What are you primarily looking for at

Vinexpo Bordeaux?

To meet existing partners and potential

new strategic partners for Solera.

What are your secrets for getting the best

out of a busy Vinexpo?

The most important thing is advance

planning, and keeping your schedule

VINEXPO 2019:

THE SPECTATOR’S

VIEWPOINT

Wine Spectator was founded in California in 1976 and is

today the world’s leading authority on wine, reaching about

3 million readers worldwide. We asked executive editor

Thomas Matthews to tell us more about what he is primarily

looking for at Vinexpo this year.

As I am Wine Spectator’s lead

taster for the wines of Spain,

I make a point to taste widely

among the Spanish producers at

Vinexpo. I am also on the lookout

for interesting new wines

from around the world. And I

look forward to catching up with

many old friends at the fair.

Which wines or spirits do

you feel are gaining most in

popularity in the US?

The two strongest categories

in the US at the moment are

dry roses and sparkling wines.

Interestingly, neither is tethered

to a specific place, style or prices

point (though Provence rose and

Prosecco sparklers continue

to lead their categories). As a

result, adventurous consumers

can turn to distinctive wines from

many regions and in many styles.

Spanish Cava, Lambrusco and

French crémants are benefiting

from the sparkling boom, while

Rioja in Spain, Puglia in Italy

and Oregon in the US offer

interesting versions on rose.

From your tasting experience

over the past 12 months

what have been the stand out

highlights in terms of countries/

regions and styles?

For Wine Spectator, I focus on

the wines of Spain. I continue to

be impressed by their diversity,

character and increasing quality.

I am currently impressed by

the fresh whites of Galicia, the

elegant reds of Priorat and the

extraordinary range of offerings

from Rioja. As Executive editor, I

am privileged to travel and taste

quite widely. I’m excited about

the 2015 and 2016 vintages from

Bordeaux. I think Bolgheri and

Sicily are two of Italy’s most

interesting regions. Australia is

successfully re-inventing itself.

Chile is exploring a growing

range of terroirs. Oregon, in the

US, has staked a serious claim

to Pinot Noir. The wine world

continues to grow in every way

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 11


EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW

New blood, new ideas, n

Face to face with Vinexpo’s chief executive officer Rodolphe

Rodolphe Lameyse

CEO, Vinexpo

THE TRUTH IS

THAT DEVISING A

STRATEGY IS ONE

THING, ENSURING ITS

DELIVERY IS THE REAL

TEST.

Vinexpo’s dynamic new CEO Rodolphe Lameyse has been

an international trade event organiser for more than 20

years, most recently running Food & Hotel Asia (FHA) out

of Singapore. In that time, he has developed a breadth of

experience that makes him the perfect candidate to guide

the Vinexpo brand through an exciting phase in its growth

and diversification – typified by the launch of groundbreaking

new Vinexpo events in Chinese commercial hub

Shanghai later this year, and in French capital Paris during

January 2020.

Vinexpo Daily caught up with Rodolphe Lameyse as he

prepared to immerse himself in his first Vinexpo Bordeaux

2019; and began by asking him what he regards as the

main challenge facing him in his new role.

There are several challenges

associated with managing a

prestigious exhibition brand

like Vinexpo, but at this juncture

I would say that my first priority

is to ensure the smooth

running of our expanded

portfolio of annual events.

In addition to 2019 Vinexpo

exhibitions in Bordeaux, Hong

Kong, Shanghai and New York,

we are introducing our new

exhibition in Paris in January

2020. So it is imperative that

we make this annual cycle of

events as exciting and effective

as possible. It is critical for us

to clearly articulate the unique

benefits of each of these

exhibitions to our clients, and

explain why hosting a network

of exhibitions in different

regions around the world can

be of real value to them.

Why did it make sense to hire

a CEO from outside the wine

business?

This is the first time Vinexpo

has hired a chief executive from

outside the wine business; but

the crucial point to recognise

is that my experience and

expertise in marketing and

the exhibition industry directly

matches the wider industry

that Vinexpo operates in. So

what I bring to the table is a

highly relevant set of skills

rather than narrowly-defined

experience of the product being

exhibited. This was a deliberate

strategic choice on the part

of the Vinexpo board in order

to meet the challenges and

demands of an increasingly

competitive marketplace.

The ideas and insights I am able

to introduce from the broader

event marketing business will,

I believe, deliver the growth

that Vinexpo’s new global

development plan has been

set up to achieve. Keep in mind

also that I will be supported

by a close-knit and talented

team that has demonstrated

vast know-how and success in

creating specialist events in the

wine and spirits sector.

How will your experience as

an event organiser shape your

role at Vinexpo?

During my career, I have

acquired a lot of experience

working on events all over the

world; in various time zones,

with different customers,

across a wide array of industry

sectors. So I am acutely aware

of the opportunities and

challenges that the portfolio of

Vinexpo exhibitions bring; and

especially what needs to be

done for each event to stand

out. In particular, I would argue

that my experience working on

the Food & Hotel Asia portfolio

will bring real added value to

the Vinexpo proposition. At

Vinexpo, we welcome clients

from all over the world, with

a myriad of cultures and

expectations. We also work with

numerous trade associations

and government bodies on our

international exhibitions. So

the knowledge bank I have built

up will help Vinexpo tackle its

key challenges.

What would you say is key to

delivering a great exhibition?

When you run an exhibition like

Vinexpo, you need to have a

genuine 360-degree approach

to servicing the needs of

exhibitors and visitors. You

need to be agile, responsive

and have the capacity to cope

with all the different issues

that inevitably come up in such

a fast-moving environment.

It goes without saying that

our exhibitions need to have

a strong business dimension

and be completely relevant to

our exhibitors’ and visitors’

commercial needs. But it’s not

all about business. I’d say the

most important ingredient for

anyone coming to one of our

exhibitions is that they have

a great experience. We want

them to feel immersed in it,

engaged and inspired – so that

they really want to come back

next time!

What excites you most about

the new job?

This was a fantastic opportunity

for me to join the Vinexpo

brand at a critical time in its

history. It is exciting that we

are expanding the number of

exhibitions we do each year,

particularly when you consider

our newest host cities are

Shanghai and Paris.

I am also excited to be

spearheading Vinexpo at a

time when it has elected to

introduce a re-energised brand

management strategy. But

there is much more to it than

that. The truth is that devising a

strategy is one thing, ensuring

its delivery is the real test.

Over the coming year, we will

do everything in our power to

convince the market and our

12 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW

ew events…

Lameyse

stakeholders of Vinexpo’s benefits.

This was what attracted me the

most - because it’s an intriguing

challenge.

What is new at Vinexpo Bordeaux

that you are keen to talk about?

First of all, we are delighted to

welcome new countries to the

exhibition for the first time: Turkey

and Vietnam. It will probably be the

first time that people get the chance

to taste wines, for example, from

Vietnam.

It is an important part of the Vinexpo

promise for us to be able to offer

something new to taste. At the

same time, we need to stay abreast

of key trends in the market. So we

are also extremely pleased to be

able to present WOW (World of

Organic Wines). Organic wine is an

increasingly important market.

In addition, there is the first Vinexpo

Symposium on climate change.

This is clearly a defining issue for

the entire food and drinks sector, so

the Symposium will be a significant

opportunity to see what steps key

stakeholders are taking to address

the enormity of this challenge. We

have managed to pull together a

very impressive line-up of experts

and commentators as speakers,

so it is going to be fascinating and

educational to listen to their views.

Beyond the treat of hearing them

speak, it is also a rare opportunity

to network and engage with them

during the exhibition. That’s really

important. I am convinced we will

have many more symposiums in

the future on other important topics

and themes.

Vinexpo is not just about Bordeaux;

it is becoming a global brand

through its network of events. Tell

us more about what we can expect

in the future.

Vinexpo is reinventing itself in a

tough, competitive international

climate. I am convinced the brand’s

global reach gives it a compelling

advantage. We are the only truly

global brand offering a platform

for our exhibitors and visitors to

network, come together and do

business on three continents: the

US; Europe and Asia.

Historically, the foundation of

Vinexpo’s growth has been the quality

of the offer at each of its exhibitions,

the relevance of its content and the

return on investment it generates.

What we must do now is continue

to expand the geographical and

THE

SYMPOSIUM WILL

BE A SIGNIFICANT

OPPORTUNITY

… WE HAVE

MANAGED TO

PULL TOGETHER A

VERY IMPRESSIVE

LINE-UP OF

EXPERTS AND

COMMENTATORS

AS SPEAKERS (…)

strategic remit of our exhibitions.

We are doing this in France,

with Vinexpo Paris launching in

January 2020, and we will also

extend internationally this year,

with Shanghai in October. Those

are the immediate opportunities.

But we are not going to stop there

and will look at how we can expand

our portfolio and develop it for the

benefit of our exhibitors.

Geographic expansion, however,

cannot be an end in itself. In a

wider sense, we need to continue

to improve our customer-led

solutions to consolidate our role

as the global leader for all players

in the international wine and

spirits sector. We want to nurture

a reputation for giving a “Vinexpo

touch” to everything associated

with our exhibitions. This can

already be seen in the quality of the

conferences, the rich programme

of tastings and masterclasses, the

food, the restaurants and the overall

hospitality. As I said earlier, making

a long-term sustainable success of

Vinexpo is not just about getting the

business side right, we also have to

deliver an engaging hospitality and

visitor experience as well.

Will the various Vinexpo events be

identical or differentiated in some

way?

Vinexpo Bordeaux is a blueprint

for the bespoke approach we will

be implementing worldwide. We

want to focus on differentiating

the new-look Bordeaux exhibition

from Vinexpo Hong Kong, or in the

near future the new Vinexpo Paris

- with its focus on spirits. We are

tailoring the content according to

each exhibition, so that it is uniquely

positioned to serve the needs of the

exhibitors, producers and visitors

who, ultimately, make it what it is.

We are adopting a ‘think global,

act local’ approach which perhaps

I can describe with the phrase

‘quality of discovery’. This discovery

experience is about making each

Vinexpo exhibition unique. But,

at the same time, discovery is

something I want to develop as

common ground for each exhibition.

So it is an example of a unified

vision for the brand, supported by a

localised, relevant execution

RODOLPHE

LAMEYSE

CAREER

HIGHLIGHTS

Rodolphe Lameyse, 46, graduated

from Kedge Bordeaux (formerly Sup

de Co Bordeaux) and holds an MBA

from HEC Paris.

As head of marketing and client

services at Reed Midem in France,

he oversaw digital marketing,

e-business and the entire customer

experience, from visitor recruitment

to the in-exhibition experience.

Between 2014 and 2019 Lameyse

was based in Singapore, initially

managing a consulting company in

the exhibition industry, before joining

Informa (formerly UBM) as director

of Food & Hotel Asia (FHA) events.

Lameyse has more than 20 years

of experience working on major

international trade exhibitions. His

focus is on delivering added-value

support and expertise to exhibitors

and visitors, while helping customers

maximise their international

expansion strategies by delivering

exhibitions that best showcase their

offer.

© Jean-Bernard Nadeau

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 13


“The impact of climate

change on the wine and

spirits industry”

For this first edition, Tuesday 14 th

May 2019 from 10 am to 4:30 pm, the

International Vinexpo Symposium “climate

change and wine” will address the impact

of climate change on the wine and spirits sector

with conferences, debates and round tables. It will

present current actions, possible solutions and technologies

mobilised

PROGRAMME

10:00 am

OPENING

Christophe Navarre,

Chairman of Vinexpo Board

Allan Sichel,

President of CIVB

Alain Rousset,

President of the Regional Council of Nouvelle-

Aquitaine

THE IMPACT OF CLIMATE CHANGE

ON GLOBAL VINEYARDS

Climate change: from doubt to obvious fact

Michel Jarraud,

Secretary-General emeritus of the United

Nations World Meteorological Organization

Wine and climate change

Jean-Robert Pitte,

Geographer. Former President of the

Sorbonne, President of the Society of

Geography and the French Wine Academy

How the taste evolves

Questions to… Jeannie Cho Lee,

Master of Wine, critic, writer (Hong Kong)

ROUND TABLE DEBATE: HOW TO PRODUCE

AND ADAPT IN UNSTABLE ENVIRONMENTAL

CONDITIONS?

Gregory V. Jones,

Climatologist and Director of the Evenstad

Center for Wine Education, Evenstad Chair

in Wine Studies, Professor of Environmental

Studies, Linfield College US (Oregon)

Laurent Panigaï,

Deputy Director General of the Wine Center -

Champagne Nicolas Feuillatte and oenologist

Jonathan Ducourt,

Sales & marketing manager,

Vignobles Ducourt

Catherine Le Page,

General Manager, BNIC

12:00

THE IMPACT OF CLIMATE

CHANGE ON VINEYARD

MANAGEMENT AND

WINEMAKING

Which vines and which wines for

tomorrow?

Philippe Mauguin,

President of INRA, French National

Institute for Agricultural Research

Water, vine and wineyard

Brice Lalonde,

Former Minister of the Environment,

President of the “Académie de l’eau”,

President of the Association “Equilibre

des énergies”

Questions to…

Dr Dan Johnson,

Managing director of The Australian Wine

Research Institute (AWRI, Australia)

DEBATE: HOW CAN RESEARCH AND

TECHNOLOGIES SUPPORT PRODUCERS

IN THEIR EVOLUTION AND ADAPTATION

STRATEGY?

In partnership with Wine Spectator

Katie Jackson,

Vice-President of Sustainability at

Jackson Family Wines (United States)

Pau Roca,

Director General of the OIV, International

Organization of vine and wine

Miguel Torres Jr,

President of Bodegas Torres, member of

Primum Familiae Vini Institute (Spain)

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Tuesday 14 th May

from 10:00 am to 4:30 pm

Hall 2, Room 8

Registration, click here

3:00 pm

THE IMPACT OF CLIMATE

CHANGE ON THE WINE

ECONOMY

Presentation of a global foresight study

Patrice Geoffron,

Professor of Economics at the University

Paris-Dauphine

ROUND TABLE DEBATE 1: HOW DO WINE

PRODUCERS INTEGRATE CLIMATE

CHANGE INTO THEIR BUSINESS

STRATEGY?

Christian de Boissieu,

Economist, Professor of Economics

at Paris I Sorbonne

Antonio Amorim,

CEO, Antonio Amorim (Portugal)

Eduardo Chadwick,

CEO, Viña Errázuriz (Chile)

Questions to…

Jose Luis Benitez,

CEO FEV (Spanish Federation of Wine)

ROUND TABLE DEBATE 2: WHO ARE

THE WINNERS OF CLIMATE CHANGE ?

WHERE ARE THE NEW ELDORADOS ?

Pedro Ferrer,

Vice-president and CEO, Freixenet (Spain)

Bruno Kessler,

Chiefwinemaker Group, In Vivo Group

Éric Giraud-Héraud,

Economist, ISVV (Institute of Vine & Wine

Science), University of Bordeaux

14 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


SPECIAL FEATURE: GASTRONOMY

CHATEAU DAUZAC

PROMOTES “PAIRING”

WORKSHOPS IN-SITU

François Adamski & Michel Roth

MOFs and Michelin-starred Chefs

An exceptional 120-hectare estate just

20 minutes from Bordeaux, Château

Dauzac invites visitors to spend a

timeless moment. Once the visitor

has toured the property, he or she is

invited to take advantage of a convivial

moment via one of a number of

possible workshops:

“WINE & CHEESE PAIRING”

WORKSHOP

A workshop that will appeal to one’s

sense of smell. This workshop

includes an introduction to wine

tasting as well as food & wine pairing

around two vintages.

an introduction to wine tasting as well

as a food & wine pairing around three

vintages.

“DISCOVERING WAGYU BEEF”

WORKSHOP

Château Dauzac introduces the visitor

to Japan’s prestigious Wagyu beef:

unbelievably tender marbled meat

that it sure to titillate one’s taste buds.

It is showcased by a journey through

time where one learns to taste some

old vintages and discover a food &

wine pairing.

“VINTAGE SWEETS”

WORKSHOP

This tasting of sweet delicacies with

a wine & chocolate pairing sparks

all one’s senses, as the visitor tastes

three wines and blindly discovers five

aromas

TASTING

Le Diner du Palais

On Tuesday 14 May, “Le Diner

du Palais” will take place in the

elegant surroundings of the Palais

de la Bourse. This exceptional

gala evening will give exhibitors

at Vinexpo Bordeaux 2019 the

opportunity to welcome their guests

at a table where their own wines

will be served, paired with menus

prepared by Michelin-starred chefs

Michel Roth and François Adamski.

The dinner will be the occasion for

numerous kinds of pairings. An

example is that with the foie gras

as an entrée, served in two different

ways:

• In Crust | marbled foie gras with

red wine, strawberry in jelly and

candied with balsamic, crumble and

gold leaf.

• In Terrine | pressed “au naturel”

with smoked eel, brunoise of season

vegetables in jelly and pickled carrot.

the eel, giving elegance to the dish.

In view of the characteristics of

the entrée, a classic agreement is

proposed with a slightly sweet wine

aged between 5 and 8 years. The

marriage will be even better with

a botrytised wine, whose aromatic

complexity will play an important

role along with the smoky aspect of

the dish.

France: Sauternes, Coteaux du

Layon, Alsace vendange tardive.

From around the world: Tokaji,

Passito, Recioto, Late Harvest.

DRY WHITE WINES

Here, the best option will be an

intense, creamy, and fleshy wine,

with good persistence on the palate

and delicate acidity. An aged wine in

oak barrels will be perfectly married

with the smoky character of the eel.

The aromatic complexity of this type

of wine will bring greater richness.

“WINE, DELICATESSEN

MEAT & CHEESE PAIRING”

WORKSHOP

A delicatessen meat & cheese platter

is made up of pata negra ham, cured

pork loin, chorizo, dried sausage &

local cheeses. The workshop includes

BODEGA GARZÓN

– A “FOODIE” CONNECTION

This year, Bodega Garzón is the

Main Sponsor of Mesabrava, a

series of itinerant gastronomic

events carried out once a month

this year in different parts of

Uraguay, with different outstanding

guest chefs. The first edition of

2019 took place in a pine forest

in El Pinar, and had Agustina

Gagliardi and Juancho Caubarrere

as guest chefs.

Meanwhile, Garzón also arrives at

Vinexpo Bordeaux 2019, boasting

the fact that world-famous chef

Union des grands crus de

bordeaux: 2016 vintage

Tuesday 14 th May,

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hall 2, Room 6

Francis Mallmann is ambassador

and culinary director of Bodega

Garzón Restaurant, having

provided advice to develop the

open-flame cooking technique

and develop a Market Menu.

Malmann’s fires techniques take

place in the restaurant’s kitchen,

as well as in the different events

organized by the winery in Pueblo

Garzón and the region

Hall 1 / Stand C271

SWEET WHITE WINES

The marbling of foie gras with red

wine slightly acidifies the dish.

The taste of the strawberry is well

marked and will create a delicious

contrast with foie gras. The Terrine

is marked by the smoked taste of

France: Burgundy 1 er or Grand

Cru, Pessac-Leognan Blanc,

Savennières,

From around the world: Australian

Sémillon, Californian Chardonnay,

Verdejo Rueda from Spain, Chenin

Blanc - South Africa

vinexpodaily.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019 15


REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT: NORTHERN EUROPE

JAMES EADIE

REVIVES TRADE

MARK ‘X’ BLENDED

SCOTCH WHISKY

IRISH FOOD

BOARD’S

ORIGIN GREEN

– A FIRST FOR

SUSTAINABILITY

CREMÕR IRISH CREAM

LIQUEUR FLOATS TO

THE TOP

Mixologists and the technical

team at Avondhu Liqueur

Company have come together

to create Cremõr Irish Cream

Liqueur.

The new liqueur is a

combination of using

fresh Irish cream from the

company’s sister dairy, Silver

Pail, Ireland’s biggest ice

cream producer, and quality

Irish spirit and whiskey.

The Irish Food Board’s Origin Green initiative claims

to be the world’s first food and drink sustainability

programme to operate on a national scale that unites

government, private sector, farmers and food producers.

It has been set up to provide independent accreditation

and verification at every stage of the food and drink

supply chain and an infrastructure to measure its

sustainability performance. To become an Origin Green

member, food and drink manufacturers must sign up to

the Origin Green Manufacturing Sustainability Charter

that sets measurable sustainability goals across key

target areas over three to five years

Hall 1 / Stand DE253

It has been made specifically

so it can be used in many

ways, either as a drink on

its own, or to float neatly on

any liquid, hot or cold, that is

denser than water. Making

it ideal for cocktails, such as

espresso martinis and Irish

coffee, that can now easily be

made at home

Hall 1 / Stand DE253

James Eadie whiskies are now run by the great Scottish

brewer’s great-great grandson, Rupert Patrick, who

is carrying on the family’s traditions. This includes

bringing back his ancestor’s Eadie’s Trade Mark ‘X’

Blended Scotch whisky that dates back to 1877, when it

was registered as one of the world’s first brands. Last

bottled in the 1940s the components of the blend were

unknown until Patrick made the chance discovery of

James Eadie’s 19 th -century ledgers.

James Eadie specialises in single cask and small

batch bottling including malts from Speyside, Highland

and Islay, with a history that goes back to 1854.

A visit to their stand is the chance to taste a piece of

history, a forgotten blend that has been pieced together

by master blender, Norman Mathison, using what he

claims is “diverse flavours of every whisky-producing

region of Scotland”. The results are an elegant, peaty

dram bottled without chill-filtration in limited editions.

James Eadie whiskies specialise in accessing the

best stocks of malt and grain in Scotland, paying

particular attention to wood type and maturation age

and only picking the best samples from dozens of

casks tasted every year. As well as purchasing mature

whiskies, James Eadie also buys young spirit on the

WhiskyInvestDirect platform to bottle when they reach

maturity.

All its single malts are bottled without chill-filtration, at

46% vol, or cask strength, and at natural colour. All its

single malts carry an age statement.

Other highlights include Eadie’s Single Casks, Small

Batch and Cask Finish range. These consists of only

two to four casks, selected “to highlight, contrast and

harmonise the huge range of flavours that just a few

casks can create”, with the Single Casks coming from

“barrels that are truly one-of-a-kind”

Hall 1 / Stand 250

NEW LOOK FOR ISLAY STORM

SINGLE MALT

The Vintage Malt Whisky

Company is showcasing its new

look Islay Storm packaging at

this year’s Vinexpo.

The new design presents a

dark, stormy image of Islay’s

lighthouse, featuring a gold

foil finish, that looks to reflect

the rich, complex, coastal and

pungent peaty flavours to be

found in the bottle. It comes

with a quality upmarket carton

for gifting.

“We really wanted to give this

award-winning Islay Single

Malt a look more worthy of

the medals it has won and to

reflect the quality and depth of

the liquid,” said Andrew Crook,

managing director of the

Vintage Malt Whisky Company

Hall 1 / Stand A203

16 VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW / THURSDAY 9 TH MAY 2019


© Les Williams

HOSPITALITY / RESTAURANTS / BARS

WHERE

TO GO

IN

Bordeaux

CLUBS / EVENTS / SHOPPING / CULTURE

Taking Vinexpo to the People of Bordeaux:

La Grande Degustation

La Grande Degustation will open as a preview showing at Vinexpo on May 12 from 4 pm to 8 pm in

the Palais de La Bourse in Bordeaux. It will be an amazing selection of wines and spirits from five

continents and 20 countries. We asked Rodolphe Wartel, General Manager, Terre de Vins, how

the idea came about and he became involved.

Rodolphe Wartel

General Manager, Terre de Vins

This “Grande Degustation” is a sign of openness

and willingness on behalf of Vinexpo to include and

involve the people of Bordeaux with exclusive events

outside of the exhibition. Terre de Vins wanted to play

its part in helping Vinexpo achieve that goal. Although

the international trade fair is exclusively reserved

for sector professionals, Gironde’s entire capital

lives and vibrates through the rhythm of the event

for several days.

Do you see this as a way for the producers that

come to Vinexpo to engage with the people of and

visitors to Bordeaux?

The exhibitors will be able to connect directly with

consumers. The event allows the public to go behind

the scenes of Vinexpo and discover wines that even

the exhibition doesn’t see. This is a nice gift from

Vinexpo to wine lovers.

How many people are you expecting and how many

wines and spirits can they taste?

We expect to welcome 600 people who will have

the chance to taste more than 80 vintages from 40

or so producers from around the world. There will

also be a special spirits area with around a dozen

spirits companies.

What is Terre de Vins and what do you do?

We offer a global perspective of the

wine industry through our magazine dedicated

to French wine and French art-de-vivre (lifestyle)

including a range of tasting guides. We also run our

own website, www.terredevins.com. Terre de Vins

organises several wine tasting events in various

cities around France, including our ‘Bordeaux

Tasting’ that hosts up to 200 wineries and welcomes

7,500 visitors.

What other activities can you organise and

recommend for visitors to Vinexpo?

On May 14 Terre de Vins will gather estates from

the Pomerol appellation at the Grand Théatre, Place

de la Comédie. The “Inclassables”, representing 20

unclassified but high-class wineries will be open

to the public on May 15 at the Banque Populaire

Aquitaine Center Atlantic.

Reservation on: www.terredevins.com

VINEXPO DAILY / PREVIEW EDITION / THURSDAY 9 TH JUNE 2015 17

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines