Athens Concerto (1)_new

Create successful ePaper yourself

Turn your PDF publications into a flip-book with our unique Google optimized e-Paper software.



Concerto Grosso for Wind Ensemble




2 Flutes

2 Oboes

2 Bassoons

6 Clarinets in B-flat

Bass Clarinet in B-flat

2 Alto Saxophones in E-flat

Tenor Saxophone in B-flat

Baritone Saxophone in E-flat


Solo Clarinet in B-flat

Solo Alto Saxophone in E-flat

Solo Trombone

Solo Percussion (with assistant): Timpani, Marimba, and Multi-percussion Setup

Solo Piano


3 Trumpets in B-flat (straight mutes)

4 Horns in F (straight mutes)

2 Trombones (straight mutes)

Bass Trombone





Percussion 1: Marimba, Snare Drum, Crotales (share with perc. 2), Brake Drum (shared with perc. 2), Tam-tam

Percussion 2: Bass Drum, Suspended and Crash Cymbals, Brake Drum (shared with perc. 1), Crotales (share with perc. 1),


Percussion 3: Vibraphone, 4 Tom-toms, Glockenspiel


Contrabass (Optional)


Score is Transposed

Duration: 16 minutes


Commissioned by:


The University of Georgia Wind Symphony, Jaclyn Hartenberger, Director

The MOD[ular] Ensemble: Timothy K. Adams, percussion, Josh Bynum, trombone,

Connie Frigo, saxophone, Heather Gozdan-Bynum, clarinet, and Greg Hankins, piano



California State Polytechnic University Wind Ensemble, Rickey H. Badua, Director

Mercer University Wind Ensemble, Douglas Hill, Director

Truman State University Wind Ensemble, Curran Prendergast, Director

University of Illinois at Chicago Wind Ensemble, José Riojas, Director of Bands, Brenna Curtis, conductor

University of North Texas Wind Ensemble, Nicholas Enrico Williams, Director

University of West Georgia Wind Ensemble, Josh Byrd, Director






Suggestion for Concerto Setup:


Percussion Tpts T-bones Euph Tuba



Saxes Piano Horns




Flutes, Picc.


Perc. Assistant Alto Sax Clarinet Trombone Solo Perc.




This arrangement was used at the Premiere by the UGA Wind Symphony, March 22, 2017. For an even

clearer picture, consult the video at johnhennecken.com



Program Note:


The Athens Concerto was written to feature the performers of the MOD[ular] Ensemble with the

University of Georgia Wind Symphony in a concerto grosso. The MOD[ular] ensemble has a unique

instrumentation, and I crafted each part with a distinct character. From the clarinet comes both a piercing

soprano voice and a warm lyricism, while the saxophone delivers an impassioned cantabile and sets the

ensemble ablaze with its virtuosic technique. The trombone often brings a powerful pesante and shatters

the tonality through its pitch-bending glissandi. I focused the percussion part on the timpani and

marimba, the latter of which provides both a mysterious sustained accompaniment and a scintillating solo

at break-neck speed. I showcase the piano through thunderous chords, continuous driving

accompanimental figures, and pensive adagio moments. The wind symphony is spotlighted through

sonorous ritornellos and also provides a resonant accompaniment for the soloists. There are two main

themes in this sonata-form work. The first is an angular and syncopated melody, which is, after the

overture, stated emphatically by the soloists in unison. The second theme is characterized by melodic lines

that descend further and further after returning to an initial high point, and is first heard in the solo

clarinet over rolling marimba harmony. The interplay and variation of these themes generates the form of

the piece.



Hooray! Your file is uploaded and ready to be published.

Saved successfully!

Ooh no, something went wrong!