IFA International 2020 SPECIAL EDITION - Review edition

cleverdis

REVIEW

MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020

Mission

possible

IFA 2020 PROVES TO BE A RESOUNDING

SUCCESS – A NEW BLUEPRINT FOR

THE EVENTS INDUSTRY

NEWS

#04

HYUNDAI – POWERED

BY HYDROGEN

#05

STAND OUT STANDS

#06

EXCLUSIVE

INTERVIEW

DIRK KOSLOWSKI

IFA Director

WHAT WE SAW

AND WHAT THEY SAID



I NEWS I

Ali Quereshi,

Product Marketing, HONOR UK

presents new MagicBook Pro

EDITORIAL

Richard Barnes

Editor-in-Chief,

IFA International

A crystal ball

could well have

come in use…

It was once said “everyone has 20/20 vision in

hindsight”. For all concerned, this edition of IFA

was a challenge – in many ways. But it was a

challenge that has paid off handsomely, yet again

proving that the bold decisions taken by IFA’s

senior management were the right ones.

Members of the media we have spoken to have

been delighted with the number of major product

launches and announcements made at the Global

Press Conference, making IFA the “global news

capital” for the sector at this highly important time

of the year. IFA NEXT meets SHIFT Mobility was

very well attended, and again, attendees were

very much inspired by what they saw. On the

business side, the IFA Business, Retail & Meeting

Lounges saw top buyers and retail executives not

only from Germany, but from a number of other

countries, meeting with key suppliers – bashing

out deals for the year-end and 2021 season.

As the first “real” global event of its kind since

the Covid-19 crisis hit, it’s been an unmitigated

success. Fingers are crossed for “all clear sailing”

for the 2021 edition. See you there

HONOR adds

new outdoor

smartwatch and

high-performance

laptop to its smart

life ecosystem at IFA

2020

Under the theme “Expand Your Smart Life,” HONOR leveraged the IFA

Global Press Conference to underline its commitment to empowering young

people, expanding the way they approach fitness, creativity, productivity

and everyday entertainment.

The HONOR Watch GS Pro is a rugged

smartwatch equipped with a 25-day battery

life, making the smartwatch one of the

longest-lasting smartwatches currently

available in the market. It is built to withstand

challenging environments, meeting the

14 MIL-STD-810G standard. Supported

by high-precision built-in dual satellite

positioning systems, the HONOR Watch

GS Pro is equipped with a “route back”

function and route deviation alert to help

users explore without worry. In addition, the

HONOR Watch GS Pro supports more than

100 workout modes including mountain

climbing, hiking, skiing, indoor and outdoor

running and free training. It also comes with

intuitive health features to monitor users’

wellbeing.

The HONOR Watch ES caters to “fashionforward”

fitness enthusiasts who aspire to

lead healthier lives. It helps users to manage

their physical and mental wellbeing while

sporting a trendy look, without the premium

price tag.

The HONOR MagicBook Pro boosts a stateof-the-art

AMD Ryzen 5 4600H processor

with integrated Radeon Graphics. It delivers

smooth performance even when handling

complex tasks, with 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD

storage drive and 16GB DDR4 dual-channel

RAM. Furthermore, it features a 16.1 inch

“FullView” (90% screen area) display with

100% sRGB colour gamut.

HONOR’s new product launches were

recognized by the 2020 IFA Product

Technology Innovation Award (IFA-PTIA).

The HONOR Watch GS Pro and HONOR

MagicBook Pro were awarded the Outdoor

Innovation Wearable Gold Award and High-

Performance Innovative Laptop Gold Award

respectively

IFA International is a CLEVERDIS Publication. 65 av. Jules Cantini - Tour Méditerranée, 13006 Marseille, France • Tel: + 33 442 77 46 00

• SAS capitalised at €155,750 • VAT FR 95413604471 • RCS Marseille 413 604 471

• info@cleverdis.com • www.cleverdis.com

During IFA: Room Jena 5, intermediate floor, middle foyer between the halls 1.2/2.2 and 3.2/4.2.

info@ifa-international.org • www.ifa-international.org

• President & Publisher : Jean-François Pieri • Project Manager: Bettina Badon • Editor-in-chief: Richard Barnes

• Art Director: Hélène Beunat • Design & Page Setting: Guillaume Vinrich

• With the participation of: Siqiao Fan, Benjamin Klene, Huidi Wu

>>> To contact them: first name.last name@ifa-international.org.com

• Printing: Möller Druck und Verlag GmbH, Ahrensfelde OT Blumberg, Germany • Cover: © Messe Berlin GmbH

© CLEVERDIS 2020 - Registration of Copyright September 2020. Information presented in this publication is purely indicative in order to illustrate subjects contained therein. No guarantee can be given as to the

accuracy of data or content at time of printing and thus the latter should not be used for professional or commercial ends. While all efforts have been made as to accuracy and pertinence of content and data contained

in this publication, CLEVERDIS may in no case be held responsible for the consequences, whatever their nature may be, that may result from the interpretation of this data or content, or any eventual errors therein.

Any reproduction of the content of this publication, even partial, by any means whatsoever, is strictly prohibited without the prior autorisation of the publisher. Any copy, whether by photography, photography film,

magnetic tape, disc or other means constitutes a forgery, liable to punishment under French law according to the legislation of 11 th March 1957 covering copyright. All brands cited in this publication are registered trade

marks and/or belong to companies which are their respective proprietors. The publishers and editorial staff decline all responsibility as to opinions formulated in this publication by those interviewed or cited therein.

Their opinions are entirely their own, and are included with the understanding that they contain, to our knowledge, no malicious intent. The inclusion of all texts, photographs and other documents supplied by those

included in this publication imply the acceptance by their authors of their free publication therein. Documents and photographs will not be returned. It should be understood that this publication contains forwardlooking

statements that involve risks, uncertainties and assumptions. All statements other than statements of historical fact are statements that could be deemed forward-looking statements. Risks, uncertainties

and assumptions include assumptions relating to the timing of the recorded date. If any of these risks or uncertainties materialises or any of these assumptions proves incorrect, actual results could differ materially

from the expectations outlined in these statements. Cleverdis assumes no obligation and does not intend to update these forward-looking statements during the period of publication. Photo Credits and Copyright: All

Rights Reserved.

COMPREHENSIVE

PROTECTION WITH

TP-LINK HOME SHIELD

ADVERTORIAL

The company is working with Avira to provide

comprehensive protection for home networks. With

integrated Home Shield features, TP-Link products

protect the consumer's entire network against security

gaps. Home Shield immediately detects potential threats

and warns against any security breaches. A monthly

report summarises the details of the user's network,

such as the usage history, blocked content, security

threats, and more.

TP-Link has been committed to improving customers’

internet experience, stability, speed,

and security for 24 years.

TP-Link Home Shield truly

ensures a secure home network

IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020 3


I NEWS I

Realme: a growing

commitment to the

European market

UX Design Awards -Virtual Award Ceremony 2020

At their IFA 2020 press conference,

smartphone manufacturer realme

announced it is aiming to make

Europe its #2 market after India

within the next two years.

The two-year-old Shenzhenbased

company already has

strong footholds in Indian and

Southeast Asian markets. At

IFA, under the theme “Dare to

Be”, realme announced that it

will launch the Realme 7 series

of smartphones in India. The

company will introduce Realme 7

and Realme 7 Pro under the new

series dubbed the Master Series.

The company announced it would

be bringing its existing range of

PRESS CORNER

realme Press Conference -

Speaker: Madhav Sheth,

realme Vice President,

CEO of realme Europe and India

smartphones to the continent,

as well as launching a new

smartwatch – the Realme Watch

S Pro. The company also plans

to launch a range of earbuds in

Europe – Realme Buds Air Pro –

featuring noise cancellation. Both

the watch and the earbuds are set

to be launched in Q4

© realme

UX Design Awards

- 2020 winners announced

The global competition for

outstanding user and customer

experience announced the 15

winners of the UX Design Awards

2020 during IFA week.

The three gold awards go to:

“All-in-one Hearing Health

Assessment System” by Tympa

Health Technologies and Team

Consulting (Product), “Lotus –

Next generation NICU”, designed

by Philips Experience Design

(Concept), and “Nachklang – an

Interactive Sound Installation” by

Erik Weiss, Lars Schönfelder and

Valentin von Uslar-Gleichen (New

Talent).

The jury had nominated 102

projects from over 34 countries

to participate in the UX Design

Awards 2020. A full list of prizewinners

can be found at https://

ux-design-awards.com/en

David Nivière

Photographer Paris

We asked photographer David

Nivière - an "IFA regular" to

give us his thoughts on this

Special Edition…

The organisation was as

exceptional as it always has

been. The welcome offered

by the IFA staff was highly

professional and fluid. The press

conferences were all interesting

and well presented. It was

great to discover so many new

technologies and ideas after all

we’ve been through.

For me it was important to be here,

to follow the market evolution.

What marked me the most was

the enthusiasm of all the people

here – both on the exhibitor side

and among my fellow media

workers. The fact that there

were some presentations done

by videoconference came as

part of the new normal, and this

has been a learning experience

for everyone. While respecting

health and safety regulations,

it has been possible to see

and touch new products at the

stands – of course each product

was cleaned after being touched.

IFA has shown us that when

everyone is disciplined, events

like this can indeed take place

Hyundai drives hydrogen

fuel cell strategy

Hyundai presented its future

mobility strategy and showcased

its expertise in fuel cell technology

at the SHIFT Mobility Convention

as part of IFA 2020.

This year's event took place as

a hybrid digital-live format. It

included a keynote speech by

President and CEO of Hyundai

Motor Europe Michael Cole on

Hyundai's transition from a car

manufacturer to a smart mobility

company, and a deep-dive panel

discussion on hydrogen fuel cell

mobility.

The auto maker continues to

enhance its product line-up with

vehicles which it says are helping

to build solutions for a more

sustainable future, such as NEXO

– the world’s first dedicated

hydrogen-powered SUV (on

show at SHIFT MOBILITY meets

IFA NEXT).

During the Global Press

Conference, President Cole

outlined Hyundai’s eco-mobility

strategy and shared insights

about the new IONIQ brand. With

the event, Hyundai set out to

show that it is at the forefront

of developing innovative fuel

cell solutions in various sectors,

including affordable, massproduced

fuel cell vehicles for

private and commercial mobility

needs

4 IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020

www.ifa-international.org


I EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW I

Dirk Koslowski

IFA Director

New proof of concept validated

IFA Director Dirk Koslowski looks back at the 2020 Special Edition

We asked IFA Director Dirk

Koslowski to give us his

thoughts on this year’s show.

First and foremost, everyone

was wondering whether it would

be possible to organise an

event according to the current

circumstances with regard to the

Covid-19 pandemic. And if a show

was organised in Berlin, how could

this be managed? Everyone we

talked to was highly confident that

this kind of role model or blueprint

could work for the future. It’s even

much safer than what had been

expected, because the aisles

are quite wide, and according to

security measures and standards,

we reached out for the maximum,

not for the minimum.

From the exhibitor side, we had

some “wow” moments. One

of them was at the LG Press

Conference, with their holographic

presentation. I was also fascinated

by the presentations of Ecovacs

and Neato robotics. It showed that

not only the big names are able

to promote themselves in a highly

professional way.

It must have been a massive task

to put all this together, under the

circumstances.

It has been a roller-coaster ride

over the past four or five months.

While the situation with regard

to Asia and the Americas is very

tricky, even here in Europe the

situation remains unclear. So,

nothing could be taken for granted.

Making preparations, but then

having to readjust and readapt

again and again was highly

challenging.

Would you say that this event now

becomes a model for the entire

global events industry?

That was one of our major

targets. The positive aspect is

that we have proven it’s possible

to run an event like this in the

current circumstances. With the

healthcare institutions in Berlin,

we have carved out a role model.

It’s good for Messe Berlin, for

other trade shows which can now

hopefully step into the planning

process for events in mid-2021. A

global trade show has to finalise

its preparations at least six months

before the event itself. If you miss

the time loop, you can’t run the

show. On the other hand, if you look

at the entire service industry that

relies on trade shows, including

restaurants, hotels, transport, and

so on, they are taking this as an

WE CAN ANNOUNCE

THAT FOR 2021,

SO FAR MORE

THAN 60% OF THE

EXHIBITION SPACE

HAS ALREADY BEEN

BOOKED.

energising factor heading into the

future. For us, this year was very

special, because by doing this, we

have strengthened the position of

IFA as a brand.

What lessons did you learn from

this event?

Firstly, people want to meet each

other – to look into the faces of

their partners and customers.

Secondly, the network of IFA is

stable and strong – not just with

regard to the headquarters of

our industry partners, but also in

the media landscape. They are

supporting us in these times of

crisis. And lesson number three –

for us as trade show organisers,

it’s not fun organising such a show.

We want to get back a full-scale

IFA with high energy dynamic,

with all the consumers here, and

with more than 40 show floors full

of exhibitors.

What are the plans for 2021?

We can announce that for 2021, so

far more than 60% of the exhibition

space has already been booked.

All the industry partners are now

watching carefully to see what

will happen to other major events

between now and the next IFA,

and they will have to decide by

March at latest what they will do

at IFA 2021. Another exciting piece

of news is that next year we will

be partnering with Berlin Photo

Week, which will start a few days

before our show

SAVE THE DATE

IFA 2021, SEP 3-7

IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020 5


I STAND OUT STANDS I

Stands and statements

What we saw and what they said

While IFA 2020 was a "limited edition", it nonetheless hosted

a number of highly interesting stands, and received highend

visitors - despite the numerous constraints tied to the

Covid-19 crisis. We visited some of the key stands, and gathered

comments from the "top brass"...

BISSEL

Carsten Ritter, International Account

Manager D/A/CH - BISSELL

We are very pleased that the IFA has

taken the special circumstances this

year as an opportunity to develop an innovative

and attractive event concept. The

#IFAGlobalPressConference enabled BISSELL

to present its product innovations to a top-class

international audience. With the IFA innovations

we are taking our portfolio for

the European market to a new

level and now hold the largest

variety of floor cleaning

solutions in the segment.

These include the 'CrossWave

Cordless Max' as the next

generation of our multiaward-winning

vacuum

cleaner and the 'SpinWave

Robot' as the first wet & dry

vacuuming robot from

BISSELL

6 IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020

www.ifa-international.org


I STAND OUT STANDS I

FITBIT

Michael Maier, Cluster Manager

Central Europe - Fitbit

We are very excited to be part

of the IFA Special Edition this

year. During these unprecedented

times, we all need to find new ways to

launch our products and I am glad that

IFA gives us the opportunity to let

people experience the new Fitbits in a

safe environment before they are

available on shelves. Fitbit just

introduced its most advanced health

smartwatch, Fitbit Sense, which comes

with the world’s first EDA sensor for

stress management, an ECG app and

skin temperature sensor

HUAWEI

Walter Ji, President of Huawei

Consumer Group, Europe

We believe that events like

this are vital as we continue

to define the new role technology

plays in our lives against an

extraordinary backdrop. At Huawei,

we’re excited to share our vision and

commitment for Europe beyond 2020,

and what this means for our millions

of European customers

© Huawei

IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020 7


I STAND OUT STANDS I

JVC

KENWOOD

JVC KENWOOD Deutschland

GmbH – Thorsten Godulla,

Managing Director

Especially in these difficult times,

it is particularly important to

provide positive impulses for retailers and

consumers with innovative products and

new technologies. As an important part of

IFA2020, the Global Press

Conference offered us the ideal

platform to present JVC's

EXOFIELD technology and other

product innovations from

Kenwood and JVC to a broad

public

RESOUND

Jochen Meuser, Managing

Director GN Hearing GmbH

For more than 150 years, it has

been part of our company's

DNA to develop technological

innovations that improve and expand

communication. This is what made us a

regular exhibitor at IFA. Of course, the

event was different than usual due to

the current situation. We used the IFA

Special Edition to inform IFA journalists

in person about our latest, multiconnected

hearing aids

8 IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020

www.ifa-international.org


I STAND OUT STANDS I

TP-LINK

Pingji Li, VP & GM of TP-Link Consumer & Enterprise BU

Because of the pandemic, people's lives have been dramatically

changed. Smart living has really and truly become a part of the

public's daily life. So, it is great to see that IFA is going on as planned. As the

world's largest brand of home networking products, TP-Link is committed

to providing users with a more reliable and convenient Internet experience.

For this IFA, we have brought brand new networking products and smart

home products to continue the adoption of smart lifestyles

WESSEL-WERK

Marcus Cleff, CEO of Wessel-Werk

We are very pleased to be part of the IFA 2020 special edition

and have had interesting and inspiring exchanges with both

– industry partners and media representatives. For us, the Global

Press Conference was the ideal setting to present our new product for

the first time

IFA INTERNATIONAL • MONDAY 14 TH SEPTEMBER 2020 9


More magazines by this user
Similar magazines