2020 SLSNZ Awards of Excellence Winners Booklet


The Surf Life Saving National Awards of Excellence programme recognises the contribution of our amazing members from the grass roots of Surf Life Saving during the 2019/2020 season. Congratulations to all of our winners and award recipients.

Greg Rieger, from the Mount Maunganui Lifeguard Service, is

the TSB Official of the Year after yet another busy season on

the sand. It would be easier to list the events Rieger hasn’t

officiated at because his contribution is so immense. He was an

official at the Bay of Plenty junior and senior champs, Mount

Monster, Champion of the Bays and Owen Chapman, then add

to that the Eastern Regional pool, junior and senior champs.

At a national level Rieger was chief judge at Oceans, an arena

referee at Nationals and event referee at the National Pool

Champs - and found the time to mentor 10 other officials.

Not only is Greg one of the most heavily utilised officials, he’s

also one of the most popular. It is fair to say if we could clone

Greg we would because his passion and philosophy around

making events enjoyable are attributes that surf deeply values.

Awards of Excellence

More magazines by this user