FINAL Taylor Program

Create successful ePaper yourself

Turn your PDF publications into a flip-book with our unique Google optimized e-Paper software.


Bradley Taylor, MD, MPH, is Professor and

Chief, Division of Cardiac Surgery at the University

of Maryland School of Medicine. He also serves as

the Director of Coronary Revascularization and the

Co-Director of the Center of Aortic Disease.

Dr. Taylor graduated from the Oxford College of

Emory University and Emory College with a

Bachelor of Science in Biology. He received his

Master in Public Health with a focus in Health

Administration and a Medical Degree from the Emory University School of

Medicine. Dr. Taylor trained in both general and cardiothoracic surgery at the

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. There he studied the regulation and

expression of the Human Inducible Nitric Oxide Synthase (INOS) Gene. He has

published manuscripts in both the Proceedings of National Academy of Science and

the Journal of Biochemistry. After training, Dr. Taylor stayed at the University of

Pittsburgh Medical Center as an Assistant Professor in Cardiothoracic Surgery.

In 2006, Dr. Taylor completed a minimally invasive mitral valve cardiac surgery

fellowship at the OLV Hospital in Aalst Belgium

Dr. Taylor joined the faculty at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in

2012, after establishing a busy community-based practice in Cardiac and Vascular

surgery in South Central Pennsylvania. His clinical and research efforts have focused

on the surgical treatment of aortic disease, coronary artery bypass grafting as well as

the impact of cardiac surgery in the state of Maryland. He performs over 400

complex adult cardiac cases per year and leads a cardiac surgery team that performs

more than 1,800 cardiac operations annually. Dr. Taylor performs a full array of

cardiac surgeries and has been instrumental in developing and implementing an

advanced endovascular aortic repair program at the School of Medicine.

Dr. Taylor has a strong interest in outcomes research in thoracic aortic surgery and

has published over 85 articles in journals such as the Annals of Thoracic Surgery and

the Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. He serves as principal

investigator at the University of Maryland for the Cardiothoracic Surgery Trials

Network for multiple prospective randomized clinical trials sponsored by CTSN

through the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI). He is also the

principal investigator on multiple novel device clinical trials.


Mary Pooton

Associate Dean for Development

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Christine L. Lau, MD, MBA

Dr. Robert W. Buxton Chair of Surgery

University of Maryland School of Medicine


E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA

Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, UM Baltimore

John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and

Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine


E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA


Jeffrey McLaughlin, MD

Son of Dr. Joseph McLaughlin

Nelson Goldberg, MD

Professor, Department of Surgery

University of Maryland School of Medicine


Shahab Toursavadkohi, MD

Associate Professor, Surgery

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Mehrdad Ghoreishi, MD

Assistant Professor, Surgery

Co-Director, Center for Aortic Disease

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Anuj Gupta, MD, FACC, FSCAI

Associate Professor, Medicine

Clinical Co-Director of Cardiovascular Medicine

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Mark Taylor, MD, FASE

Chair, Enterprise Surgical Operations

Cleveland Clinic


E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA


Bradley S. Taylor, MD, MPH

The Dr. Joseph S. & Irene P. McLaughlin Professor of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery


Christine L. Lau, MD, MBA


he first endowed professorships were established more than

500 years ago with the creation of the Lady Margaret chairs

in divinity at Oxford and Cambridge Universities. The

original endowed chairs were sponsored by Lady Margaret,

countess of Richmond, and grandmother of Henry VIII in 1502.

Subsequently, private individuals began making financial contributions

to establish other endowed professorships and chairs such as the

Lucasian Chair of Mathematics, which Sir Isaac Newton held beginning

in 1669. Professor Stephen Hawking, the internationally renowned

physicist and recipient of the 2010 US Medal of Freedom, was another

prominent holder of this endowed chair.

The honor associated with appointment to an endowed position has

remained unchanged for the last 500 years and is recognized as one of

the highest tributes that an academic institution can bestow upon its

most distinguished faculty. These endowed professorships and chairs

continue to reward exceptional scholars uninterrupted to the present


The Office of Development is charged with securing private gifts to

ensure the School’s tradition of excellence is sustained through robust

research, clinical, and educational programs and initiatives. The

University of Maryland School of Medicine is fortunate to have nearly

85 endowed chairs & professorships in various stages of completion

and held by esteemed faculty members.


Dr. Joseph S. McLaughlin has been an

integral part of the University of Maryland

his entire adult life. A Maryland native, he

graduated from the University of Maryland

School of Medicine in 1956. Following

his residency and fellowship and a stint at

the National Institutes of Health Heart

Institute, Dr. McLaughlin returned to University Hospital to help set

up the Shock Trauma Unit, where he served as Clinical Director from

1965 to 1969. In 1961, Dr. McLaughlin was the first surgeon in the

world to treat a traumatic rupture of a mitral valve by open heart

surgery and placation of the valve. For nearly thirty years, he was

Director of the Thoracic Surgery Residency Program and Head of the

Division of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. After an association

with the University of Maryland School of Medicine for nearly 50

years, Dr. McLaughlin announced his retirement in December 1999

and then served as chairman of the Medical Alumni Association

Medicine Bulletin editorial board. Upon his retirement, colleagues,

former surgical residents, family and friends contributed to this

endowed professorship to honor Dr. McLaughlin’s legacy. Dr.

McLaughlin was married to the late Irene Paul McLaughlin and they

had four children.

For many generations of University of Maryland medical students,

residents, fellows and faculty members, Dr. McLaughlin commonly

known as “Dr. Mac”, was enormously influential both professionally

and personally. Through his superior skills as a surgeon and educator,

as well as his limitless good nature, he made numerous contributions

to the Department of Surgery and the School of Medicine’s growth and


Hooray! Your file is uploaded and ready to be published.

Saved successfully!

Ooh no, something went wrong!