Views
5 years ago

WELCOME TO THE 2011 - Harvard Initiative for Global Health ...

WELCOME TO THE 2011 - Harvard Initiative for Global Health ...

32) The mycobacterial

32) The mycobacterial protein Rv1422/MS3080 localizes to the growing cell pole and is required for cholesterol utilization and virulence in mycobacteria Mushtaq Mir, Choong-Min Kang, Shichun Lun, Jeffrey Murry, Eric Rubin, Robert N. Husson Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA 02115 Mycobacterium tuberculosis Rv1422 is a protein of unknown function that is conserved across a broad range of prokaryotes. In M. tuberculosis, this protein is a substrate of the Ser/Thr protein kinases PknA and PknB. The Bacillus subtilis homologue has been linked to utilization of specific carbon sources and localization of cell wall synthesis, though its mechanism of action is unknown. We find that in mycobacteria this protein localizes asymmetrically to the growing cell pole but is not required for localized polar peptidoglycan synthesis. Deletion mutants of Rv1422 or its M. smegmatis homologue MSMEG3080 grow normally on most carbon sources but poorly on cholesterol. The M. tuberculosis virulence in a mouse model of infection. These findings suggest that Rv1422 links cell wall synthesis with cholesterol uptake at the cell pole, and that this function is required for bacterial survival during infection. 33

PARTICIPANT LIST Last Name First Name Organization Email Abeel Thomas Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard tabeel@broadinstitute.org Akabayov Barak Harvard Medical School barak_akabayov@hms.harvard.edu Aldridge Bree Tufts School of Medicine aldridge@hsph.harvard.edu Amondi Tabitha Harvard School of Public Health tabitha.amondi@tufts.edu Anandaiah Asha Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center aanandai@bidmc.harvard.edu Andersen Janet Harvard School of Public Health andersen@sdac.harvard.edu Andersen Anna Harvard School of Public Health aanders@hsph.harvard.edu Armstrong Catharina Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center carmstr2@bidmc.harvard.edu Atasoylu Ayse Harvard University Health Ayse_Atasoylu@hms.harvard.edu Au Matthew Boston University mau115@bu.edu Avraham Roi Broad Institute avraham@broadinstitute.org Baer Christina UMass Medical School Christina.Baer@umassmed.edu Bao Yajing CBAR/Harvard School of Public Health ybao@sdac.harvard.edu Barczak Amy Broad Institute/Harvard School of Public Health abarczak@partners.org Baxter Michael Institute for Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery Mbaxter@ic.sunysb.edu Becerra Mercedes Harvard Medical School mbecerra@post.harvard.edu Bellerose Michelle UMass Medical School Michelle.Bellerose@umassmed.edu Berland Robert Boston University/NEIDL rberland@bu.edu Bernard Mark Harvard Medical School mbernar2@bidmc.harvard.edu Bhattacharya Bidisha NEIDL, Boston University bbidisha@bu.edu Bissell Anthony Antimicrobial Discovery Center anthony.bissell@gmail.com Bloom Barry Harvard School of Public Health bbloom@hsph.harvard.edu Booty Matthew Harvard University mbooty@fas.harvard.edu Boutte Cara Harvard School of Public Health cboutte@hsph.harvard.edu Bryson Bryan MIT/Harvard School of Public Health bryand@MIT.EDU Butler Scott AstraZeneca scott.butler@astrazeneca.com Campos-Neto Antonio The Forsyth Institute acampos@forsyth.org Chan Gerald Morningside Group glchan@morningside.com Chindelevitch Leonid Massachusetts General Hospital leonidus@mit.edu Chou Michael Harvard Medical School mchou@genetics.med.harvard.edu Clemens Christal Harvard School of Public Health rupalrshah@aol.com Cohen Nadia Boston University nadia.cohen@wyss.harvard.edu Cohen Ted BWH - Global Health Equity tcohen@hsph.harvard.edu comer Eamon Broad Insitute ecomer@broadinsitute.org Corleis Bjorn Ragon Institute bcorleis@partners.org Correa Nidia Children's Hospital Boston nidia.correa@childrens.harvard.edu Crumpacker Clyde Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center ccrumpac@bidmc.harvard.edu Dandapani Sivaraman Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard sivaram@broadinstitute.org Datta Meenal Tufts/Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Meenal.Datta@tufts.edu Deng Lynn Lingyi Boston University lynndeng@bu.edu Dharmadhikari Ashwin Brigham & Women's Hospital adharmadhikari@partners.org Dhiman Rakesh Forsyth Institute rdhiman@forsyth.og Diouf Khady Brigham and Women's hospital, Harvard Medical School kdiouf@partners.org Dragset Marte Harvard School of Public Health marte.dragset@biotech.ntnu.no Drain Paul Massachusetts General Hospital ID Unit pkdrain@gmail.com Duncan Ken Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation ken.duncan@gatesfoundation.org Dunne Christopher Harvard School of Public Health cdunne@hsph.harvard.edu Eccles Nora Harvard Global Health Institute neccles@college.harvard.edu Edifor Regina Children's Hospital Boston regina.edifor@childrens.harvard.edu Erat Kathryn Regis College eratshepcenter@aol.com Farhat Maha Massachusetts General Hospital mrfarhat@partners.org Fernandez Suarez Marta Daktari Diagnostics mfernandezsuarez@daktaridx.com Fishbein Skye Brandeis University skyefishbein@gmail.com Fitch Lauren Northeastern University fitch.l@husky.neu.edu Ford Christopher Harvard School of Public Health cford@hsph.harvard.edu 34

MD-PhDProgram - Harvard Medical School - Harvard University
Welcoming Remarks - UNEP Finance Initiative
MD-Ph.D. Class of 2011 - Harvard Medical School - Harvard University
Presentation - Breast Health Global Initiative
BreastTogeTher AgAinsT - Breast Health Global Initiative
BHGI_Report_2008 - Breast Health Global Initiative
Bushnaq - Breast Health Global Initiative
Bright - Breast Health Global Initiative
El Saghir - Breast Health Global Initiative
A global review of disaster reduction initiatives - Welcome to the ...
Presentation - Breast Health Global Initiative
Options for Contraceptive Procurement - Health Policy Initiative
Annex: PEPFAR's Contributions to the Global Health Initiative
The United States Government Global Health Initiative - Centers for ...
Presentation - Breast Health Global Initiative
niens - Breast Health Global Initiative
Annual Report 2011/12 - Global Reporting Initiative
N - Global Health Institute - University of Arizona
Health care in danger A global ICRC initiative - OAS
Grants & Foundation Initiatives - Carlisle Area Health & Wellness ...
FIFTH EDITION - Catholic Health Initiatives
Breast Cancer Nurse Navigation - Breast Health Global Initiative
3.4-Breast cancer subtypes (Newman) - Breast Health Global Initiative
Chuck Dietzen - Timmy Global Health
2011, Issue 3 - University of North Texas Health Science Center
K. brevis - The Oceans and Human Health Initiative - NOAA
BIO BOOK | 20 10 – 20 11 - Harvard Business School