Ottawa - Ottawa Catholic School Board

Ottawa - Ottawa Catholic School Board



Foreword ..................................................................................................................5

Archbishop’s Message..............................................................................................7

Chairperson’s Message.............................................................................................9

OCCSB Board of Trustees....................................................................................................9

Director’s Message .................................................................................................11

In Appreciation .......................................................................................................13

Introduction to Catholic Education in the Province of Ontario...............................15

The Struggle Begins ..........................................................................................................15

The Taché Act and the Scott Act .......................................................................................16

The British North America Act...........................................................................................16

The Tiny Township Case....................................................................................................16

The Catholic Taxpayers’ Association..................................................................................17

The Hope Commission ......................................................................................................18

Working Together towards One Goal................................................................................18

The Blair Commission........................................................................................................18

Bill 160..............................................................................................................................18

Catholic Education — A Gift not to be Squandered ..........................................................19

Highlights of Catholic Education in Ontario ......................................................................19

History of the Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate School Board..............................21

History of the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School Board ............................27

History of the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board..........................................33

Catholic Education Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton...............................................37

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic Child Care Corporation.................................................39

NECTAR Foundation ...............................................................................................41

Derry Byrne Teacher Resource Centre.....................................................................43




Catholic Education Museum of Ottawa-Carleton...................................................45

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board Children’s Choir ......................................47

History of Ontario Association of Parents in Education .........................................49

History of Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association.....................................51

Special Education....................................................................................................55

Continuing and Community Education...................................................................57

St. Nicholas Adult High School...............................................................................59

School Board Chairpersons.....................................................................................61

Director of Education Commendations...................................................................63

School Histories

All Saints High School .......................................................................................................69

Assumption .......................................................................................................................73

Bayshore Catholic..............................................................................................................75

Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha .................................................................................................77

Brother André ...................................................................................................................79

Chapel Hill Catholic...........................................................................................................81

Convent Glen Catholic ......................................................................................................83

Corpus Christi ...................................................................................................................85

Divine Infant .....................................................................................................................89

Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic ................................................................................................91

Frank Ryan Catholic Senior Elementary ............................................................................93

Georges Vanier Catholic ....................................................................................................95

Good Shepherd .................................................................................................................97

Guardian Angels..............................................................................................................101

Holy Cross.......................................................................................................................105

Holy Family.....................................................................................................................107

Holy Redeemer ...............................................................................................................109

Holy Spirit .......................................................................................................................111

Holy Trinity Catholic High School....................................................................................115

Immaculata High School .................................................................................................119

Jean Vanier Catholic Intermediate ...................................................................................125

John Paul II .....................................................................................................................127




Lester B. Pearson Catholic High School ...........................................................................129

McMaster Catholic..........................................................................................................133

Monsignor Paul Baxter....................................................................................................135

Mother Teresa High School .............................................................................................137

Notre Dame High School ................................................................................................139

Our Lady of Fatima.........................................................................................................141

Our Lady of Mount Carmel ............................................................................................145

Our Lady of Peace ..........................................................................................................147

Our Lady of Victory ........................................................................................................151

Our Lady of Wisdom ......................................................................................................153

Pope John XXIII...............................................................................................................155

Prince of Peace ...............................................................................................................157

Sacred Heart High School................................................................................................161

St. Andrew ......................................................................................................................167

St. Anne..........................................................................................................................169

St. Anthony.....................................................................................................................171

St. Augustine...................................................................................................................175

St. Bernard ......................................................................................................................177

St. Brigid .........................................................................................................................179

St. Catherine ...................................................................................................................181

St. Clare ..........................................................................................................................185

St. Daniel ........................................................................................................................187

St. Elizabeth ....................................................................................................................191

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton...................................................................................................193

St. Emily..........................................................................................................................195

St. Francis of Assisi..........................................................................................................197

St. George.......................................................................................................................199

St. Gregory......................................................................................................................203

St. Isidore ........................................................................................................................205

St. James.........................................................................................................................207

St. Jerome .......................................................................................................................209

St. John the Apostle ........................................................................................................211

St. Joseph High School....................................................................................................213

St. Leonard......................................................................................................................215

St. Luke (Nepean) ...........................................................................................................219

St. Luke (Ottawa) ...........................................................................................................221

St. Marguerite d’Youville .................................................................................................223

St. Mark High School ......................................................................................................227

St. Martin de Porres ........................................................................................................229

St. Mary (Gloucester) ......................................................................................................233

St. Mary (Ottawa)...........................................................................................................235




St. Matthew High School ................................................................................................239

St. Michael (Corkery) ......................................................................................................241

St. Michael (Fitzroy) ........................................................................................................243

St. Michael (Ottawa).......................................................................................................245

St. Monica.......................................................................................................................249

St. Patrick........................................................................................................................251

St. Patrick’s High School..................................................................................................253

St. Patrick’s Intermediate.................................................................................................259

St. Paul High School........................................................................................................261

St. Peter High School ......................................................................................................265

St. Philip..........................................................................................................................269

St. Pius X High School.....................................................................................................271

St. Rita ............................................................................................................................273

St. Theresa ......................................................................................................................275

St. Thomas......................................................................................................................277

St. Thomas More ............................................................................................................279

Thomas D’Arcy McGee Catholic .....................................................................................281

Uplands Catholic.............................................................................................................283

Faith Development ...............................................................................................285

Index of Schools by Families of Schools...............................................................289

Index of Schools by Zone .....................................................................................291

Bibliography .........................................................................................................293



This history of Catholic education

in the Ottawa and Carleton areas

is dedicated to all those who have

shared its vision and life in the community

over the years. Its inspiring record came

about as we know it today, only through the

hard work and dedication of everyone who

made sure that Catholic schools existed and

were solidly entrenched. A special role in

all of this, especially in the formative early

years, was played by members of various

religious communities of sisters and

brothers, along with the local clergy.

We would like to acknowledge

the contribution to this history by all those

people who have taken the time and put

forward the effort to help bring this project

to reality. All of the submissions and input

received are appreciated and has contributed

to the extensiveness of this history.

We do not pretend that this effort

covers everything that should be known or

recorded about the history of Englishlanguage

Catholic education in Ottawa-

Carleton. Much of the story still remains

to be told, such as the individual records of

all of the Catholic schools, which have been

closed. There are also, we are sure, many

stories and events relevant to Catholic

education in this area that are not

chronicled in this history. That is why

we encourage anyone with additional

information, corrections, or improvements

to what is recorded here to provide the

data and stories. These will be included in

subsequent revisions to this initial effort.

Any additional information and/or

corrections should be e-mailed to the

Historical Committee at

The collection of information about

English-language education in Ottawa-

Carleton and the telling of its story will

continue, so this project must be seen not

as the end of a process but rather as its







beginning. Much is recorded about Englishlanguage

Catholic education in the following

pages; much remains to be told. It is an

historical journey on which it is hoped we

will all travel together, as the inspiring

and faith-filled story is fully unveiled.

The history of English-language

Catholic education in the Ottawa-Carleton

area is very much a work in progress, not

only in terms of new things of an historical

nature happening all of the time, but also

in terms of our discovering more and more

about past struggles, challenges and

successes. It will continue to evolve and

unfold. The Historical Committee of the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

hopes to be there to shine a brighter light

on the accomplishments of the past and to

highlight the achievements of the present,

so that Catholic education will be there,

vibrant and alive, to nurture the success

of students in the future.

John Curry


Historical Committee

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

Arthur J.M. Lamarche

Chairperson, Sub-Committee

Historical Committee

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

In reading this history of the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board, you

will be engaging in a process that is

at the heart and soul of Christianity:

remembering, celebrating, and drawing

strength from our story.

The Gospels are the first attempts

of the early Christian communities to come

to terms with the Jesus that they knew,

His life, His teachings, His death and

resurrection. What was the original impulse

to write things down? One aspect, no doubt,

was a care and concern for the fragility and

sacredness of human experience. By writing

it down, the story can be passed to the

generations, not completely, but written so

that it will never be lost.

All the efforts to establish, enrich

and maintain Catholic education in Ontario,

and specifically in the Ottawa-Carleton area,

are certainly the ingredients of a story worth

telling and hearing. How can we really

appreciate who we are without some

understanding of where we come from? This

history will help shape an appreciation of

the gift of Catholic education, in some ways

fragile, but in other ways strong in its

commitment to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus

Christ to a troubled world.




Photo credit: Jean Levac and The Ottawa Citizen



The Gospels tell the story of Jesus

calling the children to Himself. One wonders

what He said to them, but we know for

certain what His gestures communicated –

a warm welcome. Over many years in our

area, with many teachers and with many,

many children and young people, the Gospel

of Jesus Christ has been shared with care

and gentleness. May this history of Catholic

education in our area stir your hearts and

renew your commitment to keep this gift

of Catholic education alive for future


Archbishop Marcel Gervais

On behalf of the Board of Trustees

of the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board, I invite you to

explore the pages of this book and discover

the history of Catholic education in Ottawa-


Over the past 150 years of Catholic

education in Ottawa-Carleton, people

have grounded themselves in a life-giving

spiritual tradition. Parents, students,

inspired leaders, and milestone organizations

created historic moments that have been

captured and are revealed in this book.

The Holy Spirit has truly been

at work in the voices of literally thousands

of people who have given of their time and

insight to help shape the future of our

children. As we go forward, we must

consider our part and prepare for the new

challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.


Zone 4

(Bell-South Nepean)

June Flynn-Turner


Zone 9


Kathy Ablett, R.N.

Zone 1

(West Carleton/Goulbourn/


John Curry






Zone 2


Arthur J.M. Lamarche

Zone 3


Des Curley

Zone 5

(Beacon Hill-Cyrville/Innes)

Jacqueline Legendre-McGuinty

Zone 6


Gordon Butler



My thanks and appreciation is

extended to the Historical Committee of

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

in recognition of their work to produce

this book.

Yours truly,

June Flynn-Turner


Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

Zone 7


Betty-Ann Kealey

Zone 8

(Alta Vista/Gloucester-Southgate)

Mark D. Mullan

Zone 10



Thérèse Maloney Cousineau

As you read through A Faith-Filled

Mission: 150 Years of Catholic

Education in Ottawa-Carleton,

you will discover a long and proud history.

Parents welcomed an education for their

child that was anchored in faith and they

willingly invested to establish a Catholic

education system in Ottawa-Carleton. They

united in the belief that every child is a gift,

and every child deserves a Catholic


Our history began with the work of

the women and men in the religious orders

who taught in parish schools. The Ottawa

Roman Catholic Separate School Board was

established in 1856. The Carleton Roman

Catholic School Board was formed in 1969.

Our amalgamated board, the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board, began in

1998. We have grown in numbers to over

41,000 students and 2,400 teachers. We are

blessed to have had pioneers who led the

way and devoted individuals of today who

have made strong commitments to Catholic

education and its mission of teaching the

message of Jesus Christ.







I would like to recognize the

dedicated work and contributions of the

Historical Committee of the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board in preparing

this book to mark the 150 th anniversary of

Catholic education in Ottawa-Carleton.

With the assistance of staff, former staff and

students, parents, parishes and community

members, this keepsake filled with

memories of our past came to fruition.

Our God is with us yesterday,

today and forever.

God Bless,

James G. McCracken

Director of Education

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

The Historical Committee of the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board has been able to undertake

this project about 150 years of Catholic

education in the Ottawa-Carleton area due

to the dedication and historical enthusiasm

of the members of the committee, both past

and present. A most sincere thank you is

offered to each and every one of them for

their wisdom and their guidance in bringing

this project from idea to reality.

Present Members

John Curry, OCCSB Trustee

Arthur J.M. Lamarche, OCCSB Trustee

Jacqueline Legendre-McGuinty,

OCCSB Trustee

Sister Jean Goulet,

Sister of Holy Cross, Resource

Fred Chrystal, Superintendent of Planning

and Facilities

Sam Coletti, Principal (retired)

Ralph Watzenboeck, Principal (retired)

Anna Yates, Principal (retired)

Alana Schryburt, Assistant to the Director

of Education

Cynthia Montgomery, Records Management




Former Members

Betty-Ann Kealey, OCCSB Trustee

Jim Shea, Superintendent of Corporate

Affairs and Information Technology (retired)

Michael Strimas, Superintendent of Schools

– Operations (retired)

Bill Gartland, Former Assistant to the

Director/Manager of Corporate Affairs

Georges Bouliane, Principal (retired)

Bert O’Connor, Principal (retired)

Lucille Pummer, Principal (retired)

Faye Powell, Principal (retired)

(representing Millennium Museum


Marilyn Kasian, Research Officer

Carol Thibault, Research Officer (retired)

Trevor Arnason, Former Student


Rita Boutros, Former Student


Jubilee Jackson, Former Student


Jonathan Ng, Former Student


Historical Committee Members (pictured left to right): John Dorner, Anna Yates,

Arthur J.M. Lamarche, John Curry, Jacqueline Legendre-McGuinty, Cynthia Montgomery,

Ralph Watzenboeck.

Missing from photo: Sister Jean Goulet, Fred Chrystal, Sam Coletti and Alana Schryburt



Additional Resource

Des Curley, Trustee

John Dorner, Principal (retired)

Bob Kendall, Principal (retired)

Donna McGrath, Principal (retired)

Mae Rooney, Principal (retired)

Mardi de Kemp, Communications Officer

Lauren Rocque, Communications Assistant

Particular thanks must go to

the members of the History of Catholic

Education Working Sub-Committee —

Trustees John Curry, Arthur J.M. Lamarche

(chair), and Jacqueline Legendre-McGuinty;

John Dorner, Ralph Watzenboeck, Anna

Yates, and Cynthia Montgomery — for their

extended and dedicated work in reading

draft articles and tracking down needed

clarification or missing information.

Appreciation is also extended to Trustee

Des Curley for his support and involvement

in sub-committee meetings as his schedule


A special thank you is directed

to Bob Kendall, a retired Ottawa Roman

Catholic Separate School Board principal,

for his dogged but good-natured

perseverance, his expertise and his

conscientious work in editing this extensive

publication and ensuring that it reflects

literary standards that are consistent with

a school board that strives for excellence in

all that it does.

Catholic Education in the Province

of Ontario was written by Mark

G. McGowan, PhD, of the

University of Toronto and St. Michael’s

College, and is reproduced in this

publication with permission from the author.

He has written numerous articles on the

history of the Catholic Church in Canada

and is a past president of the Canadian

Catholic Historical Association.

A native of Nepean, Mark

McGowan was a student of the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School Board,

having attended Our Lady of Peace Catholic

School and St. Pius X Catholic High School.

Catholic Education in the Province of


By Mark G. McGowan, PhD.

The Enduring Gift

Catholic Education in the Province of


Written by: Mark G. McGowan, PhD.

University of St. Michael’s College

Toronto Ontario

Published by: Ontario Catholic School

Trustees’ Association, Toronto, Ontario

The Struggle Begins

The creation of a state-supported,

universally accessible, and comprehensive

Catholic education system in Ontario was

never anticipated by the first pioneers in

what was then called Upper Canada. In the

1830’s, Catholic education — for that matter,

any education — was considered to be

within the realm of the few young men

training for the Church, public service, or

the professions. Bishop Alexander Macdonell

of Kingston secured some financial support

from the Crown for schoolmasters, some of

whom were his priests. Small groups of










children undertook a classical and

catechetical education in their parish

rectory, in a local home, or in log school

houses often shared between Catholics and

their non-Catholic neighbours.

In 1841, Macdonell’s dream of

more permanent funding for Catholic schools

by the State was partially realized, when

the new School Act for the United Province

of Canada (a union of Upper and Lower

Canada, today’s Ontario and Quebec)

included a clause that permitted Catholics

and others to establish denominational



schools. The growth of Catholic schools over

the next twenty-five years was punctuated

by sectarian violence, linguistic conflict,

and political maneuvering within the poorly

conceived and constitutionally flawed

legislature of Canada. These schools also

emerged at a time in the 1840’s and 1850’s

when Egerton Ryerson, the school

superintendent of Canada West, pushed

for a free, universal, and academically

progressive public school system in Upper

Canada. He believed such schools would

promote loyalty to the Crown, solid

citizenship, a sound curriculum, and

a generic Christianity.

The latter point was troubling

to many Catholics, who believed that the

nonsectarian Christianity promoted in

public schools, and fostered by the large

numbers of Protestant schoolmasters,

amounted to little more than Protestant

proselytization. Bishop Armand de

Charbonnel of Toronto (1850-1860) went so

far as to call public schools an “insult” to the

Catholic population and he urged his flock to

establish and support distinctively Catholic

schools. All of this squabbling over education

came at a time of troubled relations between

Catholics and Protestants in Canada.

Although these were caused, in part, by

sectarian bitterness imported from Europe,

Upper Canadian Christians created their

own reasons to prey upon one another; the

arrival of thousands of Irish Catholic

refugees from the potato famine was

regarded as a scourge upon the land, while

French-Canadian Catholic legislators were

accused of furthering the interests of

Catholicism by means of their strong

presence in the Canadian Assembly. In the

1850’s, expressions of sectarian bitterness

varied from hateful rhetorical exchanges

between Protestants and Catholics in the

public press, to full-fledged riots in the

towns and cities of Ontario.

The Taché Act and the Scott Act

The extension of Catholic schools

in Upper Canada was often at the heart of

the bitterness and bloodshed. In 1855, by

the weight of French-Canadian Catholic

votes, the Assembly passed the Taché Act,

which extended the rights of Upper Canada’s

Catholic minority to create and manage

their own schools. Similarly, in 1863, the

votes of French-Canadian Catholic

legislators and their moderate Anglophone

allies passed the Scott Act, which, among

other things, confirmed that Catholic school

trustees possessed the same rights and

privileges as their counterparts in the public

schools, and allowed Catholic schools a share

of the Common School Fund provided by

the Canadian Government. What infuriated

English-speaking Protestants in Upper

Canada was that they did not want these

schools in their section of Canada, but

were forced to accept them because of the

preponderance of French-Canadian Catholic

legislators (from the Lower Canadian section

of the Assembly) who were determined to

secure educational rights for their Catholic

brothers and sisters who were a minority in

Upper Canada.

The British North America Act

The sectionalism that helped to

create Catholic schools also prompted Upper

Canadian Protestants to demand the end to

the farcical union between Upper and Lower

Canada. In 1867, the British North America

Act (BNA) created Canada, with both federal

and provincial governments, the latter of

which were solely responsible for education.

Catholics in the new Province of Ontario

now faced a hostile Protestant majority,

without the security of their old French-

Canadian allies from the new Province of

Quebec. In advance of Confederation, with

their fragile minority rights to Catholic

schools in mind, Archbishop John Joseph


Lynch of Toronto (1860-88) and politician

Thomas D’Arcy McGee initiated a process

to secure the rights of Catholic schools.

Under section 93 of the BNA Act, all the

educational rights held by religious

minorities at the time of Confederation

would be secured constitutionally thereafter.

For Catholics in Ontario this meant the

right to establish, manage and control their

own schools, and to share proportionally in

the government funds allotted to education.

In time, this Section 93 would become the

touchstone for most constitutional and legal

debates regarding Ontario’s Catholic schools.

Ryerson never thought

denominational schools would survive. In

the late nineteenth century, Catholic schools

were chronically under-funded because of

their small tax base, their inability to share

in the business tax assessment, and their

securing of only a tiny share of government

school funds. Moreover, after Confederation,

Ontario grew rapidly and emerged as

Canada’s industrial and urban heartland.

The population increased dramatically and

new strains were placed on the education

system. Ontarians demanded progressive,

high-quality education commensurate with

the commercial and industrial advances of

their society. Catholic schools survived the

stresses of the new Ontario because of the

dogged dedication of Catholic leaders to

fight for legislative changes favouring their

schools and, because of the generosity of

Catholic religious orders whose members

dominated the teaching ranks in these

schools, adapted to the new curricular

changes, and donated much of their salaries

back into the schools. Women in religious

orders were notable in their ability to attain

provincial teaching certification, despite the

popular belief (particularly among Catholics

themselves) that “nuns” would never expose

themselves to the dangers of “Protestant”

teacher’s colleges (Normal Schools).



The Tiny Township Case

In no other instance was the selfsacrifice

of Catholic school supporters more

evident than in the case of high schools.

Created by an act of the Ontario Legislature

in 1871, Ontario’s high schools would

emerge as one way in which young

Ontarians could be moulded to meet the

demands of their burgeoning urban

industrial society. Because they had not

existed as such at the time of Confederation,

Catholic high schools were not eligible for

provincial grants. Before Confederation,

however, some Catholic schools offered

instruction to older students under the

auspices of the common school. Later,

several Catholic schools offered fifth book

classes (closely resembling grades 9 and 10)

and were in a legal position to do so after

1899, when the government broadened its

regulations regarding schools that offered

a “continuation” of the curriculum beyond

what is now grade eight. In reality, however,

Catholics could direct their taxes only to

public high schools and, if they so desired,

could pay tuition fees to have their children

receive a full high school education in

“private” Catholic schools, usually run by

religious orders. After decades of Catholic

lobbying and sectarian fighting over this

injustice, the Catholic bishops and the

Ontario Government agreed that a test case

be brought before the courts to establish

whether or not Catholic high schools were

entitled to government funding under the

terms of the BNA Act.

In 1925, Catholics in the Township

of Tiny (Simcoe County) launched the legal

challenge poetically named “Tiny vs. The

King.” By 1928, the highest court of appeal

in the British Empire — the Judicial

Committee of the Privy Council — offered

a bittersweet decision on the Catholic high

school issue: Catholics, due to the pre-

Confederation precedents and the

subsequent development of the “fifth

book” continuation classes had just claims

to funding for grades nine and ten; but

Catholics had no constitutional right

to funding beyond that, although the

Provincial Government was at liberty

to grant it, if it desired.

The disappointing result of the

Tiny Township case came at a time of

financial crisis and faltering morale within

Ontario’s Catholic schools. Since 1912,

English-speaking and French-speaking

Catholics had been torn apart by the

Ontario Government’s attempt to eliminate

“bilingual schools,” the majority of which

came under the jurisdiction of Catholic

school boards. Regulation 17 restricted

French-language education to grades one

and two, and Regulation 18 threatened

to withdraw provincial funding from any

boards that violated the new restrictions

on French-language education in the

upper grades. Fearful of the maelstrom of

linguistic and religious politics that swirled

about the bilingual schools issue, the

Government of Premier James P. Whitney

terminated its negotiations with the Ontario

Catholic bishops on issues of financial relief

for separate schools. The bishops were

shocked that the intensity of the language

issue scuttled what they thought was an

imminent agreement with the Government.

The Catholic community was frustrated,

divided and angry; on the one side,

Francophone Catholics desperately tried

to preserve their distinctive schools while,

on the other, their Anglophone co-religionists

appeared more supportive of the

Department of Education’s effort to anglicize

and “improve the quality of education” in

the bilingual schools. In 1927, after nearly

fifteen years of litigation, appeals, protest

and even the suspension of the Ottawa

Catholic School Board, the Ontario

Government relaxed Regulation 17, and

limited funding for French--language

education was preserved. Few at the time


would have imagined that, within sixty

years, Francophone children would enjoy

state-supported Catholic education from

junior kindergarten to grade 13. In the

1920’s, however, Catholic bishops,

particularly Neil McNeil of Toronto, and

leading laypersons endeavoured to ease

the strained relations and the lingering

bitterness between English-speaking and

French-speaking Catholics.

Amidst these heightened linguistic

tensions and the failed appeals to the courts,

it became increasingly clear that the

financial pressures on Catholic schools

threatened the survival of the system itself.

In 1900, there were 42,397 students in the

system; twenty-five years later, the Catholic

school population had more than doubled to

95,300 students. A low municipal tax base,

a minute share of the business tax (from

only those Catholic businessmen who wished

to direct their taxes to separate schools),

slim government grants, and a caution to

keep their tax rates competitive with the

affluent public school boards collectively

spelled financial hardship for Catholic

schools. Facilities were old, classrooms

generally were crowded, the growing ranks

of lay teachers were paid less, and

programmes of study were limited in both

breadth and variety. Despite the fact that

Catholic schools matriculated students who

were competitive with their peers in the

public system, and although Catholic youth

moved on to university in greater numbers

by the 1930’s, Catholic schools were still

saddled with the label of “inferiority.” The

onset of the Great Depression in the 1930’s

threatened the very existence of the system.

The Catholic Taxpayers’ Association

As it had so many times in its

history, the Catholic community rallied to

save its schools. By the 1930’s, the mantle of

leadership in the fight for Catholic education



was passed from the clergy to the laity.

Martin J. Quinn, a Toronto businessman,

organized the Catholic Taxpayers’

Association to lobby the Provincial

Government to secure the equitable

distribution of corporate and business taxes

to Catholic school boards. With chapters in

over 400 parishes across the province, the

CTA helped to elect Mitchell Hepburn’s

Liberals in 1934, and subsequently his

government passed the much-sought

legislation in 1936. The victory on the

corporate tax issue, however, was shortlived.

In December 1936, a wild by-election

fight in East Hastings, reminiscent of the

sectarian explosions of the 1850’s, spelled

disaster for the Liberals and convinced

Premier Hepburn that the fair distribution

of business taxes to Catholics would defeat

his government in the next general election.

The bill was withdrawn and the Catholic

community’s hope for economic justice

was dashed.

Canada’s involvement in World

War II (1939-45) effectively ended the Great

Depression. The post-war situation, however,

merely heightened the crisis facing Catholic

schools. Renewed migration from Europe,

particularly from the Catholic communities

of southern and central Europe, and the

natural increase in population that came as

a result of the “baby boom” placed increased

demands on Ontario’s Catholic schools.

More spaces were needed for the increasing

number of students in Ontario’s cities,

particularly in Hamilton, Ottawa, and

Toronto. The suburbanization of Ontario in

the 1950’s necessitated new Catholic schools

in rural areas. A decline in religious orders

and the increase in the numbers of lay

teachers placed additional financial burdens

on school boards that were already trying

desperately to keep their school facilities

and programmes up to provincial standards.

The Hope Commission

In 1950, the offer of the Hope

Commission (Ontario’s first Royal

Commission on Education) to fund Catholic

schools fully to the end of grade six, but not

to subsequent grades, was indeed tempting.

Such ideas posed an interesting dilemma for

Catholic leaders: an abbreviated but equally

and fully funded system at the primaryjunior

level or a complete system from

kindergarten to Grade 13, only partially

funded, and ever-struggling at the secondary

level. The Catholic commissioners, after

much deliberation with the Ontario bishops,

decided to dissent from the Commission;

they submitted a brief minority report,

highlighted by historian Franklin Walker’s

readable and concise (less than 90 pages)

outline of the history and constitutionality

of Catholic schools. In contrast, the overdue

and oversized (900 pages plus) majority

report of the Hope Commission was

generally ignored, as was its demand for

a scaling back of government funding to

separate schools. The system would survive

but would continue to struggle, given the

many demands placed upon it by a growing

and increasingly upwardly-mobile Catholic


Working Together towards One Goal

Given the demographic, economic,

and social pressures facing the Catholic

schools, Catholics once again rallied for

justice. The Ontario Separate School

Trustees’ Association (OSSTA), the fledgling

Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association (OECTA) and the English

Catholic Education Association of Ontario

(ECEAO) worked hard as individual groups

and, at times, cooperatively, to better the

situation of their schools. Cooperative

lobbying efforts bore fruit in the late 1950’s

and early 1960’s when the Ministry of

Education initiated such programmes as

“equalized assessment,” the “growth-needs


factor,” and the Ontario Foundation Tax

Plan (1963) to “have-not” boards. Many

separate school boards gleaned additional

funds by means of these progammes. In

1969, rural boards were amalgamated into

larger county-based units with the hope

that larger boards would have access to

more funds, be more efficient, and provide

improved progammes and facilities.

Together, the funding provided by the

Foundation Tax Plan, and the opportunities

created by board restructuring, meant a

new influx of cash into Catholic elementary


The Blair Commission

Catholic high schools, however,

continued to suffer, because their junior

grades were funded only at an elementary

level, and their senior grades were sustained

principally by tuition fees. Catholics were

forced to develop innovative ways to keep

the high schools afloat. To make matters

worse, the late 1960’s and early 1970’s

witnessed a decline in vocations to religious

life, and a slow erosion through increased

retirements within the existing cadre of

priests, brothers, and sisters in the schools.

High schools depended on lay teachers

accepting lower salary levels, parents

operating lotteries and bingos, and students

helping to clean and maintain school

facilities. In the election of 1971, the

Progressive Conservative Government

of William Davis won a healthy majority,

sustained, in part, by its public refusal

to extend funding to Catholic high schools.

When this same government proposed

changes to Ontario’s tax laws that would

see Catholic high school property subject

to taxation, it appeared that Catholic high

schools were about to sing their death song.

In 1976, the Blair Commission traveled the

province to assess the reaction to the tax

plan and was greeted at each stop with

formidable submissions by the Catholic

“partners.” Through the combined efforts



of clergy, trustees, teachers, parents and

students, the tax plan was scrapped and

Catholic high schools dodged a bullet.

Ironically, in 1984, William

Davis surprised his own caucus when he

announced that there would be extended

funding to grades eleven, twelve and

thirteen in Ontario’s Catholic schools.

Davis regarded the decision as “justice”

to Catholic schools; the cynical saw the

Government fishing for Catholic votes.

Within three years, having faced and

survived constitutional challenges, Ontario’s

Catholic schools finally enjoyed extended

funding from junior kindergarten to the

end of grade thirteen. Funds poured into

the Catholic system and the landscape of

Ontario bore the imprint of new schools,

complete with facilities, equipment, and

comforts scarcely imagined in previous


Bill 160

In our own time, both the Catholic

and public education systems have

witnessed an unprecedented “revolution”

of institutional and curricular change.

In 1995, school councils were instituted to

bring parents and teachers together for

the local management of their community

schools. Shortly thereafter the Progressive

Conservative Government reduced the

number of school boards, in addition to

cutting the number of school trustees,

while placing a cap on their salaries. In

1997, in a move that may have startled

Ryerson himself, the Provincial Government

suspended the right of trustees to raise

taxes for schools and placed educational

funding exclusively in the hands of the

Province for the first time.

In Ontario’s educational history,

funding is no longer a shared responsibility

between the local community and the central

government. For Catholics, however, the new

financing model means equality of funding

for Catholic and public schools. Those who

have reflected upon the history of their

schools have realized that, finally, justice

has been accorded to Catholics, under the

terms of the Constitution (BNA) Act. Not all

Catholics, however, have been in favour of

the changes; teachers and others have seen

this new centralization as jeopardizing the

ability of Catholics to control and manage

their own schools. There is some fear that

the Provincial Government will take an

increased role in dictating to Catholic

schools, perhaps to the detriment of their

distinct denominational character. In the

current ideological climate dominated by the

proverbial “bottom line” and secular values,

it is believed by some that the taxpayers

of Ontario will be loath to support two

education systems. In addition, the demise

of publicly-funded Catholic schools in

Quebec and Newfoundland has contributed

to a growing uneasiness about the future

of Ontario’s Catholic schools.

Catholic Education —

A Gift not to be Squandered

Catholics in Ontario must be

awake to the “signs of the times.” With

legislation supporting funding equity in

hand, Catholics cannot afford to become

complacent about their education system.

In a secular and pluralistic society,

denominational rights, particularly in the

matter of schools, are not widely supported.

Those who know the story of the

development of Catholic schools in this

province must realize that these schools

are a gift that should not be squandered.

Ontario’s Catholics have a

responsibility to nourish, improve and

defend their schools as a distinctive and

valuable contribution to the vitality of their

faith community and to Ontario society as

a whole. As history has demonstrated, and


as Vatican II has confirmed, the laity have

a vital role to play in the development of

Catholic education.

There is a need for schools that

place Gospel values at the centre of an

holistic education. In Ontario, our

inheritance as Catholics has been

considerable, but so are the challenges that,

no doubt, the future will bring.

Highlights of Catholic Education

in Ontario

1817 – Bishop Alex Macdonell promotes

Catholic education in the Kingston area

as early as 1817.

1841 – The Act of 1841 establishes the

Common School System of Ontario which

had three sectors – a non-denominational

sector which would become known later as

public schools, a Roman Catholic separate

school sector and a Protestant school sector.

1843 – Legislation in Ontario retains the

school rights granted in 1841. Subsequent

amendments to the law, up until 1863,

improve the conditions for both public and

separate schools.

1863 – The Scott Act is passed, bringing all

aspects of existing legislation on Protestant

and Catholic schools into line with

legislation governing common schools.

1867 – The British North America Act

creates Canada. This legislation required

that the rights granted in Ontario and

Quebec to denominational schools are to

be protected and retained.

1871 – The province of Ontario introduces

district secondary school boards apart from

the Common School System, which are to be

responsible for the new high school system.

No provision was made for Catholic



secondary schools, deviating from the spirit

of the commitments made both before and

at the time of Confederation.

1890 – The non-denominational common

school system and the separate school

system are both given the authority to offer

continuation classes, i.e. grades nine and ten

to students who graduated from elementary


1908 – Legislation allows common schools

to operate continuation schools offering

programs from grades nine to 13. These

continuation schools could only exist where

there is no district secondary school board.

1927 – The Privy Council decides that

separate school supporters cannot assign

their secondary school taxes to support

certain schools. It also decides that the

Provincial Government has the right to

determine which kinds of schools will offer

secondary school programs.

1964 – The Robarts Foundation Plan

rectifies some of the financial difficulties

for separate schools, as the funding of the

kindergarten to grade eight program in

separate schools is made equal to that of

public schools. Grades nine and ten continue

to be funded as elementary grades.

1969 – The Provincial Government requires

that every county or city have one board of

education to administer both elementary

and secondary schools, meaning that

common or public school trustees now

govern secondary education. This authority,

though, is not given to separate school

trustees. This is a deviation from the

practice of equal treatment for both sectors

of the publicly-funded provincial education


1978 – The Provincial Government

introduces a grant weighting factor for

students in grades nine and ten of the

separate school system.


1982 – The new Canadian Charter of Rights

and Freedoms is enacted. It states that

“nothing in this Charter abrogates or

derogates from any rights or privileges

guaranteed by or under the Constitution

of Canada in respect of denominational,

separate or dissentient schools.”



1984 – Ontario Premier William Davis

announces that the Provincial Government

will grant separate schools the same rights

and privileges that were granted to the

non-denominational public school system in

1969, namely authority to govern secondary


Catholic education in Bytown existed

before the formation of the Ottawa

Roman Catholic Separate School

Board (ORCSSB) in 1856. This earliest of

Catholic education in what is now the core

of the City of Ottawa was very much a result

of initiatives by the religious establishment.

The Grey Sisters of the Cross founded a

school in 1845, while Bishop Guigues

established the Bytown College for Boys,

a forerunner of the University of Ottawa.

The Grey Sisters of the Cross opened a

second school for girls in 1848.

Although separate schools were

legally permitted in Upper Canada, there

was always the question of funding.

Legislation such as the Scott Act of 1863,

drafted by Richard William Scott, helped

entrench the principle of separate schools in

what would become the Province of Ontario.

Scott had been mayor of Bytown in 1852

before becoming a member of the Provincial

Legislature for Ottawa and later a longtime

federal senator. But it was still the common

schools, which prevailed, although the

religion of the majority of the students in

these schools usually determined the religion

of the teacher.

Towards the end of the 1840s, this

principle of coordinating the religion and

language of the teacher with those of the

majority of the students at a school began to

erode. This caused disenchantment among the

Catholic community and led to the formation

of a separate school board in Ottawa in 1856,

in which the Grey Sisters of the Cross played

a key role. The first six teachers hired by this

new Ottawa Roman Catholic School Board, all

Grey Sisters, had no guarantee of a salary.

Other religious communities became involved

in the Catholic schools of Ottawa. For

example, the Brothers of the Christian

Schools established a school in 1864, and the

Sisters of the Congregation of Notre Dame

opened three schools before the turn of the










century. Indeed, the beginnings of a formal

Catholic education system in Ottawa came

about largely through the efforts of various

religious communities. This, of course,

helped offset to some degree the virtual lack

of public funding which flowed to these early

Catholic schools and meant that Catholics

paid school taxes well in excess of those

required of public school ratepayers.

Struggle and growth were two constants in

the provision of Catholic education in

Ottawa through these early years.

While Catholic schools continued

to struggle with finances and internal

challenges, mainly associated with the French-

English reality of Ottawa's population, these



same schools continued to grow, a fact which

must be attributed, ultimately, to the desire of

Catholic parents to have their children

educated in schools where religious values

and the Catholic faith played a dominant

role. The first budget of the new ORCSSB

was $2,985.47, of which only $300.30 came

from provincial grants, with Catholic

ratepayers providing the rest; a substantial

amount in those years when the Catholic

populace of the city was generally anything

but prosperous. The vast majority of the

Board's expenditures went toward salaries.

Yet, despite these obvious financial

challenges, the Catholic school system in

Ottawa grew. By 1867, the year of

Confederation, there were 1,780 students in

schools under the jurisdiction of the Ottawa

Roman Catholic School Board, although the

Board's budget of $3,029.38 had remained

about the same as when it was formed in

1856. Provincial grants had tripled to $934.

By 1895, there were seven English Catholic

schools and 13 French-language schools

operated by the ORCSSB. Ninety-two

teachers were employed to instruct

4,980 students. The English schools at this

time were St. Patrick (boys), St. Patrick

(girls), St. Brigid, St. Joseph (boys), St.

Joseph (girls), Our Lady, and Youville. By

1900, there were 23 schools (English and

French) under the jurisdiction of the Board,

educating 5,487 students.

In those early years, the differing

interests and outlooks of the two linguistic

groups, which made up the Catholic

population of Ottawa, took a dominant

position. The initial single administration of

the school board was changed in 1886 when

it was divided into English and French

sections, each of which had control over the

funds required for its schools. This worked

for a number of years, but early in the new

century, linguistic friction boiled over,

resulting in an agreement where each

language group elected only its own trustees.

These trustees controlled the appointment

and supervision of teachers within their own


The very existence of French or

bilingual schools was threatened by the

implementation of the infamous Regulation

17 by the Provincial Government in 1912.

This regulation forbade the use of French

in the classroom after the first two years of

schooling. The ORCSSB had about 4,300

students attending its 17 French (bilingual)

schools at that time. Resistance boiled over

and the Board did not comply with the

regulation. As a result, the province cut off its

grants to the Board. A variety of legal actions

ensued. There were demonstrations, including

a march by 4,000 students through the streets

of Ottawa in protest. Guigues School became

the focal point of this resistance to Regulation

17, as the students followed their discharged

teachers, leaving the classrooms empty. This

was followed by parents re-taking possession

of Guigues School, resisting police efforts to

have them withdraw. Eventually, Regulation

17 was repealed and the French- and Englishspeaking

communities of Ottawa continued to

work together in the one Catholic school

board, although linguistic tensions continued

beneath the surface, with trustees of both

groups wanting to have exclusive control

over the management of the schools serving

their language group as well as the setting

of tax rates for those schools.

Despite these difficulties, the one

Catholic school board remained in place

and the French and English communities

cooperated as best they could. Linguistic

challenges did not impede expansion of the

Catholic school system, which grew from its

23 schools in 1900 to 44 in 1930, with a doubling

of the number of students from 5,487 to 10,468.

The Board's budget, likewise, rose

from $75,000 in 1900 to $395,000 in 1930, as

staffing grew from 80 teachers in 1900 to


265 teachers in 1930. The system remained

relatively unchanged from 1935 through

to the years immediately following the

Second World War. In 1935, there were

4,376 English students in Catholic schools in

Ottawa, and in 1950 this number had grown

only slightly, to 4,597 students. On the

French side, the 7,060 students in Catholic

schools in 1935 increased to 7,201 by 1950.

However, it was then that the post-war

growth in Ottawa, including municipal

annexations in both the Nepean and

Gloucester areas, accelerated, with Catholic

school enrolment bursting at the seams.

The five-year period from 1950 to 1955 saw

a growth in English student enrolment from

4,597 to 7,748, an increase of over 3,000

new students in that period. The French

schools also saw growth, adding more than

2,000 students in this five-year period as

they grew from an enrolment of 7,201 in

1950 to 9,330 in 1955. The total Catholic

school population in 1955 stood at 17,078.

It was at this same time, despite

the easing of linguistic tensions following the

repeal of Regulation 17, that the ORCSSB

and its ratepayers struggled with serious

financial problems. School construction was

a particular concern, with the Board issuing

debentures to meet its capital needs.

Guarantees from the Ottawa Roman Catholic

Episcopal Corporation (the Diocese) gave the

school board access to some bank financing,

while there were some special grants from

the province to help the Board meet its

salary obligations. The Board's

administration was taken over by the

Provincial Government for the 1942-44

period. Funds allocated for building

maintenance and urgent repairs were cut

back. The Catholic school system was able

to survive these financial struggles only

because teaching staff at the time accepted

much lower salaries than those in the public

school system. This, combined with Catholic

school tax rates that were usually at least

twice and sometimes almost three times as



high as those in the public school system,

was what saved Ottawa's Catholic school

system in those difficult financial years

before, during, and after the Second World

War. In addition, the Board was rescued from

financial collapse by the onset of the postwar

era, beginning a period of phenomenal

enrolment growth and school construction

that lasted well into the 1960s. Two hundred

and thirteen new classrooms were added in

the system between 1946 and 1956, as

student enrolment grew from 9,944 to

18,318. Continued population growth in the

west and east ends of the city in the 1950s

and 1960s allowed the Ottawa Roman

Catholic School Board to soar, as it were;

a far cry from the linguistic and financial

struggles which had beset the Board in the

first decades of the 20th century.

In 1964, the Board introduced an

adult education department. September 1965

saw the introduction of the first special

classes for handicapped children. An audiovisual

department was established in 1965

and, in the fall of 1966, the Centre

Polyvalent Vanier opened for students who

wanted technical studies in Grades 7 to 10.

In 1968, the seemingly impossible

happened. For the first time in the history

of the Board, Catholic school taxes were

identical to public school taxes: $21.96 per

$1,000 of assessed property value.

In 1969, the Board introduced as

an option its innovative French-language

Program for English-speaking students.

This laid the groundwork for the French

Immersion program, which flourished in

Ottawa Roman Catholic School Board schools

in the last three decades of the twentieth

century. In 1970, the Board took the separate

school system in Vanier under its wing.

The 1970s turned out to be a

decade of dynamic innovation for the

ORCSSB. A Student Services Centre was

created in 1971. In the same year, 23 junior

kindergarten classes for four-year-old pupils

were opened. It was a busy year, as audiovisual

services, educational television and

library services were all integrated into a

resource centre. In 1972, a bilingual

exchange program began, enabling students

to improve their French during summer

exchanges in Quebec. The year 1972 was also

when the Board developed the basic planning

for four junior high schools which opened in

1973: St. Raymond's, St. Joseph's, St. Jude's

and Heron Road Intermediate.

The next decade brought different

challenges before the Board. Declining school

enrolments required that the Board develop

a consolidation policy. It was during the

1982-83 school year that a decision was made

to close several schools under this policy.

The Board also had to meet the challenge of

advances in computer education. A two-year

pilot project on the use of computers in

classrooms resulted in the placement of

83 computers in schools in September 1983.

New legislated responsibilities meant that

the Board was required to set up special

program for students with learning

difficulties and for gifted students. Ontario

legislation required that school boards had

to meet the needs of all their exceptional

students by 1985. With this in view, the

Board set up a special pilot program for

gifted students in the 1983-84 school year.

The initial program was developed by

Teachers Janice Lemire and Anne Philion

in collaboration with Consultant Denise

Marquis and Psychologist John Dorner.

Called the Program for Advanced Learners

(PAL), the program involved 80 gifted and

potentially gifted students from Grades 3

and 4. The students were withdrawn from

their home school one day a week and bused

to and from a PAL class at one of two central

schools, Corpus Christi Catholic School or

St. Daniel Catholic School. Classes were kept

to a maximum of ten students. Students

studied an extension of the regular school


curriculum as well as areas of special

interest. Each student was encouraged to

plan his or her own method of study and

way of researching the information, thus

becoming an independent learner. Topics

studied included computer programming,

arts and crafts, drama, environmental

studies and ecology. The program proved

successful and grew to become the Board’s

Program for Gifted Learners (PGL). At this

same time, the Board also became involved

with continuing education for adults,

athletics meets for students, intramural

sports competitions, outdoor education,

enrichment courses, religious activities,

science fairs, public speaking competitions

and multicultural initiatives.

In 1984, the Provincial Government

announced full funding for Catholic schools

resulting in senior high school grades being

added to the Board's jurisdiction. In 1986,

its 130th anniversary, the Ottawa Roman

Catholic School Board was operating

23 English elementary schools (Assumption,

Corpus Christi, Dr. F.J. McDonald, Holy

Cross, Holy Family, Immaculate Heart of

Mary, McMaster Catholic, Our Lady of

Fatima, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Our

Lady of Victory, Prince of Peace, St. Anthony,

St. Augustine, St. Brigid, St. Daniel,

St. Elizabeth, St. George, St. Leo, St. Luke,

St. Margaret Mary, St. Mary, St. Michael

and St. Victor) as well as three high schools

(Immaculata, St. Joseph's and St. Patrick's),

and St. Raymond’s Intermediate School.

There were also 19 French elementary

schools, one French high school and two

French special schools. In 1988, provincial

legislation mandated that all French schools

(elementary and secondary, Catholic and

public) in the area were to be merged into one

school board with two semi-autonomous

branches, Catholic and public. This

arrangement, begun in 1989, did not work

out. Consequently in 1995, two autonomous

French school boards, one Catholic and one

public, were created for the area.



In 1998, the ORCSSB and the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board (CRCSSB) were combined by

provincial legislation to form the new

Ottawa-Carleton Roman Catholic School

Board (OCCSB). A new funding formula

accompanied this province-wide

amalgamation process, resulting in fewer

but larger school boards. Thus began a new

chapter in the governance of Catholic schools

in the Ottawa area.

In compiling this overview of the

history of the ORCSSB, reliance was placed

on two outstanding previously published

works about the Board and Catholic

education in Ottawa:

130 Years of Dedication to Excellence,

by Paul-François Sylvestre, A History

of the ORCSSB from 1956 to 1986.

The chapter entitled Catholic

Education in the Diocese: An Overview by

Lionel Desjarlais in the book Planted by

Flowing Water: The Diocese of Ottawa 1847-

1997, authored by Pierre Hurtubise, Mark

McGowan and Pierre Savard, and published

by Novalis Publishing for the Roman

Catholic Archdiocese of Ottawa in 1998.

Directors of Education and/or


William Ring was the first

Secretary-Treasurer of the ORCSSB, serving

from its start in 1856 to 1857. Unfortunately,

due to the loss of the initial archives of the

Board caused by fire, the secretary-treasurer

of the Board is unknown.

The 13 Directors of Education

and/or Secretary-Treasurers of the Board

from 1888 until the end of 1997, when the

Board amalgamated with the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School Board to

form the new Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board were:

1888-1904 – William Finley

1904-1911 – Achille McNicoll

1911-1915 – J.E. Doyle

1915-1917 – Albert Foisy

1917-1920 – Albert Carle

1920-1940 – Ernest Desmormeaux

1941-1962 – Aime Arvisais

1962-1969 – Raymond Groulx

1969-1975 – Roland Beriault

1975-1979 – Lionel Desjarlais

1980-1988 – Pierre Xatruch

1989-1992 – George Moore

1992-1997 – Dennis Nolan

Administrative Offices

During the tenure of J.E. Doyle

as Secretary-Treasurer of the ORCSSB

from 1911 to 1915, his personal offices at

202 Queen Street served as the Board’s

administrative headquarters.

From 1915 onwards, Guigues

School, located at 159 Murray Street,

was used as the Board’s head office.

Subsequently, the administration offices

were housed on the site of a former school on

Bolton Street. An extension to this facility

in 1958 resulted in the address changing to

140 Cumberland Street, which was the

address of the Board’s administration offices

until 1998 when it joined with the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School Board to

become the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board. This building continued to be used for

Board office purposes, along with the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board’s administration offices facility on

Merivale Road in Nepean, until 2002 when

the Board’s administration staff was

centralized at the Catholic Education Centre

at 570 West Hunt Club Road in Nepean.


Religious Orders whose members taught

for the ORCSSB from

1856 - 1996

Since 1856 Soeurs de la Charité d’Ottawa

1856 – 1968 Oblats de Marie-Immaculée

1864 – 1985 Frères des Ecoles chrétiènnes

1868 – 1983 Congregation de Notre-Dame

1891 – 1983 Filles de la Sagesse

1911 – 1970 Soeurs du Sacre-Coeur-de-Jesus

1911 – 1985 Frères du Sacre-Coeur

Since 1928 Grey Sisters of the Immaculate


1928 – 1934 Frères de l’instruction


Since 1929 Sisters of Holy Cross

1929 – 1972 Oblates of Mary Immaculate

1935 – 1969 Soeurs de Sainte-Croix et des


1940 – 1975 Soeurs de Sainte-Marie de


1940 – 1980 Sisters of St. Joseph of


1954 – 1972 Soeurs du Bon-Pasteur


1958 – 1972 Basilian Fathers

1959 – 1967 Religieuses de Jesus-Marie

1970 – 1972 Sisters of St. Joseph of


1970 – 1972 Sisters of St. Ann

Former ORCSSB Schools

Following is a list of former English

elementary, intermediate and secondary

OCRCSSB schools that have been closed over

the years:

• Canadian Martyrs, 20 Graham Avenue (now

operating under the Adult School program of

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board)

• Holy Rosary, 35 Melrose Avenue (now operating

as St. Francois d’Assise under the Eastern

Ontario French Catholic School Board)

• Immaculate Heart of Mary, 445 Pleasant

Park Road (vacant)

• St. Peter Intermediate, 1480 Heron Road

(sold to the City of Ottawa)



• Our Lady of Perpetual Help, 22 Eccles Street

• Our Lady’s Primary, 287 Cumberland

Street (vacant - unknown ownership)

• Queen of the Angels, 1481 Heron Road (now

operating as one of the Adult Schools of the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board)

• Queen of the Angels Annex, Briar Hill

• Sacre-Coeur (Holy Rosary Annex) – (vacant

for sale)

• St. Joseph Centre, 339 Wilbrod (sold to

International School)

• St. Agnes, 18 Louisa (used as an OCCSB

Adult School – recently became vacant and

was sold by the Board in 2006)

• St. Andrew, 1119 Lazard Street (sold to

Tohra Academy)

• St. Basil, 1774 Kerr Avenue (sold to Jewish


• St. Christopher, 335 Lindsay Street

• St. Ignatius, 1151 River Road (sold to

St. Peter and Paul Parish)

• St. Joseph, 200 Wilbrod

• St. Leo, 860 Colson Avenue

• St. Leonard, Rob Roy Avenue

• St. Louis, 1435 Larose Avenue

• St. Margaret Mary, 88 Bellwood (sold with

site redeveloped for residential purposes)

• St. Mark, 803 Canterbury

• St. Patrick, 290 Nepean Street (now

operating under the Adult Education

program of the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board)

• St. Raymond’s Intermediate, 1303 Fellows

Road (transferred to the French Public School


• St. Theresa, 156 Waverley Street

• St. Victor, Brookfield Road (transferred to

the Eastern Ontario French Catholic School


• Notre Dame High School, 1487 Heron Road

(was operated by the ORCSSB but owned

by the Grey Nuns and was sold to the

federal government as the Campanila

Study Centre)

• St. Joseph’s High School, 881 Broadview

Avenue (was operated by the ORCSSB but

owned by the Grey Nuns and was sold to

the Jewish Academy)

A future project of the Historical

Committee of the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board is to research and record as

much as possible, the history of these closed

schools where many students received their

Catholic education, guided by dedicated



As an integral part of the story of

Catholic education in the Ottawa-Carleton

area, we ask that if anyone has any

information or stories about any of these

closed schools, please pass them along to the

Historical Committee for possible inclusion

in future editions of this historical

publication. Information or stories about

these schools should be e-mailed to: or sent

via regular mail to Cindy Montgomery,

Records Management Administrator, Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board, 570 West

Hunt Club Road, Nepean, Ontario K2G 3R4

(Phone 613-224-4455, extension 2328).



The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board (CRCSSB)

was formed in 1969 but this was

not the beginning of Catholic education in

Carleton County, the rural area surrounding

the City of Ottawa. Indeed, Catholic

education in Carleton was a reality almost

from the days of the earliest settlers.

Wherever there was a settlement

of sufficient numbers of Catholics, there

almost invariably emerged Catholic schools.

This is what happened in the South March

area of March Township, in the Corkery region

of Upper Huntley, in the Fallowfield and

Merivale parts of Nepean, in the West Osgoode

area, in the Metcalfe vicinity of Osgoode and

in the Gloucester South neighbourhood of

Gloucester. Catholic schools existed in these

regions, run by local school section school

boards, well before anyone thought of a

county-wide system. In addition, there were

situations such as at the Jockvale School (S.S.

No. 10) in Nepean, where nine out of ten

students were Catholics, as was the teacher.

In such a situation, there was no need to

establish a separate school because the

existing public school was, in essence, Catholic.

Formal separate schools tended

to be created only where the numbers of

Catholic and Protestant families were fairly

balanced. In circumstances such as this,

there were sufficient student numbers for

the minority group to establish a viable

school of its own. If one religious group or

the other dominated an area in numbers, the

school invariably reflected the beliefs of that

group. Nepean, with its burgeoning post-war

growth, saw a number of Catholic schools

opened. By 1969, when county-wide school

boards were imposed by the province, there

were ten Catholic schools in Nepean. It was

these schools, in addition to the far-flung

schools operated by other small Catholic

school boards, that formed the basis of the

newly-established Carleton Roman Catholic









1969 - 1997

Separate School Board in 1969. At its birth,

this county-wide Catholic school board had

a student enrolment of 9,978 students and

a staff of 443 teachers.

From its inception, the CRCSSB

experienced growth, reflecting the suburban

development that was taking place in the

Carleton area, including such fast-growing

locations as Kanata, Barrhaven and Orléans.

By the 1988-89 school year, the Board was

operating 34 elementary schools and five

high schools with a total enrolment of 18,317

students, 1,010 teachers and approximately

400 other administrative and support staff.



By 1997, the last year of the

operation of the Board before its provincially

mandated amalgamation with the Ottawa

Roman Catholic Separate School Board,

it had grown to an enrolment of 26,100

students ranging from junior kindergarten

to the Ontario academic credit year

(formerly Grade 13). The Board employed

1,487 teachers and 585 support staff, and

operated 37elementary schools, seven high

schools and one adult school. It covered an

area of approximately 1,100 square


C. Basil MacDonald of Nepean

was elected as the first Chairman of the

CRCSSB in 1969, while René Lefebvre was

the first Vice-Chairperson. The original

trustees, each one representing a different

part of the Board’s far-flung area, included

Harry Beingessner, James Colton, Leo Coté,

Lorne Gignac, Carmel Kasper, Michael

Kelly, Bernard Labelle, Roch Lafleur, Lionel

McCauley, Mathias Pagé, Norman Wilson

and Vernon Zinck.

Dr. William Crossan, a former

provincial school inspector, was the Board’s

first Director of Education, serving from

1969 through to 1991. Subsequent Directors

of Education were Derry Byrne (1991 – 1995

and Philip A. Rocco (1995 – 1997).

Under Dr. Crossan’s guidance,

supported by senior staff such as educator

Michael Revells and Ronald P. Larkin, as

Superintendent of Planning and Facilities,

the CRCSSB not only managed its rampant

growth but also became an innovative school

board that accomplished much despite its

meagre tax base. Dr. Crossan’s legacy

includes the junior high school concept, the

media integration project, the integration

of all students, a balanced French-language

program, and the provision of new school


In January 1989, the media

integration project began with the secondment

of Dale Henderson and Brent Wilson. The

venture focused on mathematics, language

arts and environmental science in Grades 4, 5

and 6, by treating them in an integrated

manner. In the high schools, the project

focused on the Ontario Academic Credit (OAC)

Calculus course, the Technological Journalism

course and the Grade 12 General-level

English course. In May 1989, the first

units were tested in a pilot classroom at

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School in Barrhaven.

By October 1989, five additional classrooms

were implemented at Convent Glen Catholic,

Thomas D’Arcy McGee Catholic, St. Rita,

St. Mary (Gloucester) and Georges Vanier

Catholic Schools. This preceded the Board’s

initiative to open a media integration

classroom in all of its schools.

Beginning with programs that

were developed in the early 1970s such as

mathematics, language arts, religion and

science, the Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board came to be

considered by others, including the Ontario

Ministry of Education, as a leader in the

field of programming.

A music coordinator was hired in

1969, followed by the development of a music

department and, in 1972, publication of the

Let’s Sing songbook for primary students.

Industrial Arts and Family Studies classes

were first offered by the Board at Frank

Ryan Catholic Senior Elementary School in

1970, expanding to other schools by 1972.

Initially, in 1969, the new

CRCSSB set up its administration office

in a Merivale Road strip mall. This

changed in 1972 when the Board built an

administration office and resource centre

farther south on Merivale Road.

The first ten years of the life of

the CRCSSB were years of rapid growth and


expansion. The increase in enrolment to

17,141 students in 1979 from the 9,978 in

1969 resulted in the building of 15 new

schools and ten major school additions.

But it was not constant growth

all of the time. In 1983, the CRCSSB closed

Our Lady of Good Counsel School on Bowhill

Avenue, which had opened in 1965. The

Board also closed St. Nicholas School in the

St. Claire Gardens area in 1990 due to

declining enrolment in this older area of

Nepean. In the ten years from 1979 to 1989,

student enrolment grew by fewer than

500 in total, with the Board’s enrolment

in 1989 totaling 17,622 students. However,

by 1994, the Board’s 25 th anniversary year,

there were 45 schools housing a total of

more than 21,000 students.

The county-wide school board

concept was a target for criticism right from

the start. The Mayo Commission on regional

government, along with Nepean Mayor

Andrew Haydon, recommended regional

school boards, just as this new county-wide

school board was getting its feet wet. In

1985, a CRCSSB trustee, Rick Chiarelli, who

was to play a prominent role in the fullfunding

debate for Catholic schools, led a

group of trustees in asking for a plebiscite

on uniting the Ottawa and Carleton public

and Catholic boards into two regional school

boards, one for the public schools and one

for the Catholic schools. It was thought that

the Ottawa schools, which were losing

enrolment, would benefit from the addition

of the growing Carleton schools, while the

Carleton schools would benefit from access

to the city’s large corporate tax base.

However, the Carleton school boards resisted

this move, fearing negative consequences

for their suburban and rural students. Hal

Hansen, Chairman of the Carleton Board

of Education, the coterminous public board

with the CRCSSB, frequently proposed, as

an alternative, merging the Carleton public

and Catholic boards because they shared the



same rural and suburban residents. The

CRCSSB rejected this suggestion, citing

religious reasons. However, their position

was not enhanced when the province created

the Ottawa-Carleton French-Language

School Board in 1989 to serve the

educational needs of Francophones in the

area. This was a combined Catholic and

public school board. History would vindicate

the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board when the combined French

board was divided into two separate boards,

one public and the other Catholic, in 1995.

While 1989 saw the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School Board

become for the first time, an English-only

school board, the loss of its Francophone

students, ratepayers and facilities was

something of a setback. The division of assets

and the loss of students (28 percent of its

enrolment) meant that the Board had

even fewer resources to meet its constant

challenges. There was an ongoing and

persistent campaign for more and fairer

funding for Catholic schools. This inequity,

as seen by the CRCSSB, centred around five

issues: revenue inequity, because some public

school boards were able to spend over

$1,000 more per elementary student than

their neighbouring Catholic boards due to

access to a larger tax base; assessment

inequity, because some public school boards

had tenfold the commercial assessment of

similar Catholic boards even though student

enrolment could be identical; grant inequities

at the grades 9 and 10 level, because

Catholic school boards had to provide

education for students in those grades with

less funding in grants than were available to

their public school board counterparts; grant

inequities for Grades 11, 12 and 13, because

no funds were provided to Catholic boards for

these grades; and a capital grant allocations

inequity for school facilities, because Catholic

school boards were receiving approximately

20 percent less in capital grants than their

public counterparts.

In 1988, the Carleton Roman

Catholic Separate School Board had a budget

totaling $143,911,688. It received its

revenues from government grants (69.6%),

local taxes (23.3%) and other sources (7.1%).

A total of $13,214,810 or 9.2 percent of this

budget was allocated to student

transportation as the Board provided bussing

for its students at all grade levels if they

lived beyond a required walking distance. It

provided this student transportation through

its own fleet of school buses, as well as via a

number of contracted services. These vehicles

traveled more than 28,000 kilometres a day,

serving a vast jurisdiction. By 1997, the

Board’s operating budget had grown to

$160,404,654, along with a capital budget

of $14.3 million, with the majority of these

monies directed to the construction of a new

Catholic high school in Barrhaven.

The Board’s Program Department,

just prior to the amalgamation with the

Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate School

Board in 1997, was responsible for all

curricular and co-curricular programs from

junior kindergarten through to OAC.

This included the review, development

and implementation of curriculum in

every subject area, the support of all intrascholastic

and inter-scholastic activities, the

coordination of a number of special programs

such as English as a Second Language and

Cooperative Education, and leadership for

a number of student activities such as peer

helpers and the children’s choir. The Staff

Development, Evaluation and Technology

Department of the Board focused on staff

professional development. It piloted the new

provincial report card because of its

combination of expertise in staff

development, evaluation and technology.

To meet the needs of students with special

learning requirements, the Board embraced

the goal of inclusion, meaning that most

students with special needs spent all or

most of their day with age peers in regular

classrooms in neighbourhood schools. At the


same time, the Continuing Education

Department was growing, as enrolment in

the Adult High School reached approximately

700 students and nearly 20,000 people took

continuing education courses. The Child

Care Services Foundation also continued to

grow in that year, providing services to

approximately 500 students at various

school-based centres under its control.

The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board grew to achieve very

high retention rates in its high schools.

In 1995-96, for instance, the Board placed

in the top five in Ontario for retaining

students, the second straight year for this

achievement. The dropout rate was only

about three percent, well below the Ontario

average of 16 percent and the national

average of 18 percent. The Board attributed

this success in part to a variety of strategies

designed to keep students in school. These

included programs for early identification of

at-risk students, teacher in-service training

regarding learning styles, mentorship,

apprenticeship, a mini-course in association

with Algonquin College, peer helpers, and

an alternate school.

Carleton Roman Catholic School Board


1969: Twenty-four Roman Catholic school

boards in Carleton County are

reorganized to form the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School

Board with 40 schools and

10,000 students

1970: First Industrial Arts and Family

Studies classes are offered

First summer school courses are


1971: Music and Art Departments are


1972: Board Administration Office and

Central Resource Centre built on

Merivale Road



St. Pius X Preparatory Seminary

becomes St. Pius X High School

1978: Central Resource Centre moves

to Pope John XXIII School

Personnel Department is created

1979: Board’s tenth anniversary is celebrated

First psychologist is hired

1981: First heritage language classes offered

1982: First French public-speaking contest

for Immersion students

1983: First Board-wide public-speaking


1984: Board adopts a logo

Bill 30 for full public funding for

Catholic secondary schools is


1985: First full year of grade 11 classes at

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board schools

Developmentally Disabled Centre

opens at Thomas D’Arcy McGee

Catholic School

1987: Supreme Court supports Bill 30 full

funding for Catholic secondary schools

1988: Board adopts multicultural and racial

equity policy

First night school program offered

Bill 109 creates Ottawa-Carleton

French Language School Board

1989: First Board child care centres open at

St. Francis of Assisi and Holy Spirit


Fresh Start part-time work and school

program for adults is introduced

Media Integrated Curriculum

Department formed

Department of Continuing Education

is established

1990: Apprenticeship/co-op program


Transition Years curriculum for

Grades 7 to 9 is introduced

First Adult Secondary School diploma

graduation ceremony is held

1991: Founding Director of Education

Dr. William Crossan resigns

Derry Byrne is appointed as Director

of Education

New school bus safety program and

training are introduced

1992: Mobile Adult Learning Centre for

Literacy is introduced

1995: Philip A. Rocco is appointed as

Director of Education

1996: The Teacher Resource Centre is

dedicated as the Derry Byrne Teacher

Resource Centre in honour of the late

Derry Byrne, Director of Education

at the time of his death

Separate School No. 7, Nepean


Catholic education in the

community of Fallowfield in Nepean goes back

over 130 years and is one of the examples of

how Catholic education existed in various

pockets in rural Carleton County over the

years. It provided a base of support, which

was essential when township-wide school

boards, and then a county-wide school board

came into being in the 1960s. Schools similar

to S.S. No. 7, Nepean at Fallowfield existed in

such far-flung areas as South March, Corkery,

Kelly’s Landing and South Gloucester.

S.S. No. 7, Nepean was built

in 1871 near the intersection of today’s

Fallowfield Road/Richmond Road

intersection. It was a one-room school heated

by a wood box stove, with the students

sitting according to age, the younger ones

in front and the older students at the back.

This school building was closed in 1959.

A new S.S. No. 7 opened on a site on Steeple

Hill Crescent across from St. Patrick

Church, comprised of two classrooms, one

on the main floor and the other on a lower

level. The grades 1 through 4 students were

housed on the main floor so that the smaller

children did not have to climb stairs. The

grade 5 through 8 students occupied the

lower level classroom.


Christmas and St. Patrick’s Day

concerts were always highlight events in

the life of S.S. No. 7, Nepean.

The school eventually closed, and

the facility became a depot building for the

Carleton Roman Catholic School Board.

With the coming of the new millennium, the

need for this depot facility had diminished,

resulting in the Board selling the property

and facility.

French Schools

The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board operated both French

and English schools during much of its

history until the province moved to create

French-language school boards in 1989.

In the 1986-87 school year, the

Board operated 18 French-language schools

as well as 34 English-language schools

with enrolment of approximately

6,200 Francophone students and

13,900 English-language students.

French-language schools under the

CRCSSB in the 1986-87 school year were:

Des Pins, Gloucester

Des Voyageurs, Orléans

Intermediate Leo D. Coté, Orléans

Intermediate Pauline Vanier, Gloucester

Laurier Carrière, Nepean

La Verendrye, Gloucester

Notre Dame du Cap, Orléans

Notre Dame des Champs, Navan

Preseault, Orléans

Reine des Bois, Orléans

Roger Saint-Denis, Kanata

Ste-Bernadette, Gloucester

St-Gabriel, Gloucester

St-Guillaume, Vars

St-Hugues, Sarsfield

St-Laurent, Carlsbad Springs

Ste-Marie, Gloucester

Ste-Thérèse d’Avila, Marionville



The Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board Logo

The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board logo was created in

1984, 15 years after the establishment of the

Board itself. From 1969 to 1984, the Board

did not have an official logo but an outline of

the Carleton County map was incorporated

in letterhead and other Board printed

materials. In 1984, the Board adopted a

logo, which was developed under a $750

contract with John Cook Industrial Design.

The logo featured a double “C”

along with an offset flame and a cross inside

the flame. The two C’s, with the outside one

black and the inside one white, represented

“Carleton Catholic.” The red flame signified

a modern version of the lamp of learning

and also the Holy Spirit. Inside the flame,

the white Celtic cross signified a belief in

the redemption of the people of the world

through the crucifixion, death and

resurrection of Jesus Christ. The cross and

the flame also symbolized the gift of the

Church, established on the first Pentecost

when the Holy Spirit gave to Peter and the

Apostles the knowledge needed for them to

be heirs of the Kingdom of God.

25th Anniversary of the CRCSSB


The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board marked its

25 th Anniversary in December 1994. In

recognition of the 79 employees who had

been with the Board since its very existence,

special tribute was made to the following


Grace Anderson

M. Lee Armstrong

Ronald Avon

Marilyn Beckstead

Lyle Bergeron

André Blain

Beverley Box

Sandra Boyer

Lorna Brisson

Derry Byrne

Terry Ann Carter

Leah Cassidy

Nancy Jane Cawley

Maurice Charron

Dorothy Collins

Robert Curry

Julien de la Durantaye

John Delorme

Michelle Desjardins

Richard Despatie

Alan Dickinson

Nicole Dickinson

Mildred Donnelly

Irene Doth

Theresa Dubien

Claude Dubois

Marion Fuder

Louise Gallagher

Margaret Girgrah

Helen Gordon

Patrick Jennings

Suzanne Mary Jones

Deanna Lynn Kelly

Starr Kelly

Lois Keon

Janet Laba


Daniel Lahey

Rolland Lapointe

Ronald Larkin

Linda Legault

Gerald Leveque

Peter MacKinnon

Monica McCarthy

Patrick McEvoy

Ruth McGretrick

Andrew McKinley

Michael McNally

Kathryn McVean

Elizabeth Anne Moore

Noreen Murphy

Terrence Murphy

William Murphy

Stephen Newton

Phyllis O’Neill

Barry Olivier

Rita Ovington

Leo Payant

Gregory Peddie

Ann Read

Susan Rheaume

Kathleen Robillard

Elizabeth Rock

Martin Rollocks

Claire Rondeau

Gayle Sadler

Patricia Scrim

Helen Sheehan

Robert Slack

Kathleen Stauch

Gloria Sterling

Patrick Sterling

Patricia Switzer

Sandra Tischer

Susan Vail

Garry Valiquette

Theodorus Vandenberg

Ralph Watzenboeck

Mary Whiticar

Philip Yates




In compiling this history of

Catholic education, we have had the good

fortune to receive personal reflections from

past employees.

With sincere appreciation to all

who took the time and effort to submit their

thoughts and memories, we would like to

share their stories.

Bernadette MacNeil

Superintendent of Education (retired)

Bernadette MacNeil worked as

a teacher, vice-principal, coordinator of

the Family Life program, principal and

superintendent of education during her

career in education in the Ottawa area.

She worked for the Ottawa Roman Catholic

Separate School Board from 1957 to 1959

and for the Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board and its Nepean

predecessors from 1960 to 1994.

Among the highlights of her career

in education are the following:

Working with the Nepean Separate

School Board prior to the formation of the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board in 1969. Trustees had a real sense

of “community service,” family values were

honourable and teachers were respected.

Family Life education began with this


Amalgamation of the smaller

school boards in the Carleton area to form

the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board in 1969 brought a whole new

dimension, with excellent administrative

leadership, new initiatives and a desire to

achieve full funding for Catholic schools.

New programs were continually developed

and the Board, under the direction of

Dr. William Crossan as Director of

Education, was respected provincially as

a leading school board. The Family Life

program was a model for Ontario and the

Board developed the first Ontario Ministry

of Education course in Family Life for

teachers in Ontario in 1972. The

kindergarten program was also an

outstanding initiative, along with French

as a Second Language & Technology in the

classroom, to mention just a few. All of these

developments were exciting because staff

always felt “ownership.” There was a

wonderful balance of “grass roots”

involvement and real leadership at the top.

Everyone always felt proud to be employees

of the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board.

The Board weathered all of the

normal but difficult challenges with “class

and concern,” for example, governance of

the French schools, full funding for high

schools (the Board was ready with its junior

high schools) and amalgamation with the

Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate School

Board in 1998.

“My memories are those of

wonderful colleagues, tremendous families,

strong leadership and dedication and lots

of fun.”


Claude Dubois

Coordinator (retired)

French as a Second Language

Throughout most of its existence,

the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board operated a French as a Second

Language program (FSL), which proved

highly successful and was the envy of many

school authorities both provincially and


Starting with a strong half-English

and half-French language program in the

two kindergarten years, students then

progressed to a three-quarter English and

one-quarter French language program

during the primary and junior divisions.

This allowed students to develop strong

skills in their mother tongue while acquiring

solid fundamentals in the French language,

thus enabling them to pursue their second

language aspirations in high school.

All three FSL program options

were made available to students beginning

in Grade 7 and extending to the end of high

school, namely: core, extended and


In particular, the success of the

Late Immersion option (50%-50% and later

75% French and 25% English) was such a

resounding success that many institutions

from across the country and Europe lauded

our practice and acquired our curricula.



Helen & Gerry Coulombe

Teacher/Principal (retired)

Our careers with the Carleton

Roman Catholic Separate School Board

spanned from the late 1970s through to

amalgamation with the Ottawa Roman

Catholic Separate School Board in 1998 –

a time of staggering growth and enthusiasm

for Catholic education.

Full funding brought expansion

to the high school level. Because of Bill 81,

we gave expression to an inclusionary focus

for special needs students.

What stands out above all is a

strong thread of community, friendship

and solidarity. Christian Community Days

brought us together every fall, a time of

thanksgiving both literally and figuratively,

reminding us of our mission.

The way in which we pursued

professional development, upgrading and

in-service during those years was part of

an overall plan. Religious education courses,

special education and technology kept us on

a steady course. The conviction that we were

a school board where heart, mind and soul

kept children at the centre, was the vision

which steered us.

At a personal level, we were

both blessed with leadership and career

opportunities beyond the cherished

classroom walls. We look back with pride,

a sense of satisfaction and feelings of

gratitude that we spent our working years

with the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board. Teaching as a profession

remains dear to us and passing the torch

to our son keeps the passion for it alive.

The amalgamation of the two

English Catholic school boards in

the Ottawa area, legislated by the

Provincial Government, took effect in 1998,

launching a period of uniting two entities

with different structures, philosophies and

programs. However, three constants eased

the transition and formed the basis on

which the new board could move forward

to become a provincially-recognized leader

in education: student success, staff

development and the wise use of resources.

It was not easy in the early years

of amalgamation to develop one entity where

previously there had been two. Along with

the amalgamation was a new provincial

funding formula for education that

presented challenges in implementation

but also, at least for Catholic school boards

across the province, brought equity to

funding. The right to tax was removed from

school boards, with the Provincial

Government providing revenue based on a

student per capita formula. In other words,

each board in the province, whether Catholic

or public, rural or urban, English or French,

was funded equally.

For Catholic school boards, this

usually meant an increase in funding, a fact

that was very significant for boards like the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board which had previously been dependent

on a tax base with a low commercialindustrial

assessment resulting in smaller

revenues than some more assessment-rich

school boards. In some respects, this was

preferable because these school boards knew

how to make do with less, while still

providing quality education. These practices

would ultimately benefit the newlyamalgamated

school boards, since the new

provincial funding formula would lag behind

real costs as the post-amalgamation years

unfolded. Amalgamated school boards had

to become imaginative in their programming









and efficient in their management in order

to maintain a financial equilibrium.

Amalgamation itself was opposed

by the CRCSSB, with the issue becoming a

major topic of study and concern during the

1990s. The Board contended that the real

problem facing school boards in the province

was the disparity of assessment wealth

among boards, as well as shortcomings in

the provincial funding program that was

in place. This, in the view of the CRCSSB,

failed to distribute resources equitably

among school boards. Little did the CRCSSB

know that, when forcing the amalgamation

of school boards, the province would

radically alter the education funding



formula, removing them from dependence on

assessment wealth and providing equal

funding for every student in Ontario.

The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board entered

amalgamation with more Catholic school

ratepayers than its new partner, the Ottawa

Roman Catholic Separate School Board, as

well as with more students, but with less

assessment wealth. In 1991, the CRCSSB

had 77,462 Catholic ratepayers in its

jurisdiction. This included the rural and

suburban portions of the Ottawa-Carleton

area, including the Townships of

Cumberland, Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau

and West Carleton and the suburban cities

of Nepean, Gloucester and Kanata. The

ORCSSB, in 1991, had 69,536 ratepayers

located in what was then the City of Ottawa,

as well as the Village of Rockcliffe Park and

the City of Vanier. It had access to more

than twice the equalized assessment wealth

per pupil at both the elementary and high

school levels compared to the CRCSSB.

This difference was reflected in the level of

expenditure per pupil by each board. Again

using 1991 figures, the ORCSSB spent

$437.55 more per pupil at the elementary

level and $914.35 more at the high school

level. With regard to student enrolment, the

CRCSSB had about twice as many students

as the ORCSSB.

The 1991 figures, used here

because they are the best available

comparable data on the two former boards,

show that the Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board had 20,729 students

while the Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate

School Board had 10,080 students.

If amalgamation were just a

matter of board assessment wealth and

number of ratepayers and students, it would

have been a relatively easy transition. But

the real challenge to the amalgamation

process came in bringing together the

different programs and philosophies of the

boards; programs and philosophies, dictated

by the unique history, geography and

clientele of each board. Fortunately, both

boards had the same philosophical and

theological foundations with regard to

Catholic education, so this most basic and

relevant of considerations, the provision of

an education based on Gospel values and

the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church,

was the common bond upon which the

success of amalgamation was based. The

belief was strong in both boards that a

Catholic school must be one in which God,

His truth and His life are integrated into

the entire syllabus, curriculum and life of

the school. But there were challenges to

the amalgamation.

There were differences in school

structure and organization, French as a

second language, the curriculum delivery

model, special education programs and

services, the evaluation of student

achievement, kindergarten programs and

English as a second language. All of these

had to be rationalized and harmonized across

the jurisdiction of the new board, a task

which, in some cases, such as French as a

second language, took until 2005 to resolve.

The most contentious issues facing

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

was the rationalization of school space

and facilities. This was an issue that was

driven more by the new funding model

implemented by the Provincial Government

than the actual amalgamation of the two

former school boards. A school board could

not qualify for capital funding to build

needed new schools unless it had more

students than pupil places in the system.

Inevitably, the need for new schools in the

amalgamated board existed in the suburban

growth areas of the former Carleton board

jurisdiction, while the vacant spaces, mainly

but not exclusively within the area of the


former Ottawa board, were bloating the

overall pupil places count. The exception to

this urban-suburban distribution of spaces

was in some of the older sections of Nepean

and Gloucester, where enrolment was

declining. This stemmed the flow of capital

dollars for the needed new schools, and

resulted in a prolonged and at times heated

process, which led to the closing of a number

of schools, eliminating pupil places, thus

providing the OCCSB with access to capital

funding so that new schools could continue

to be built in growth areas within its

jurisdiction. This was accomplished, but the

school closure and rationalization situation

was the overriding issue in the first years

of the new board.

At its birth in 1998, the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board had

61 elementary schools, 11 high schools, five

intermediate schools, one adult high school

and four adult day schools. In total, there

were 38,528 students guided by a staff of

2,217 teachers, vice-principals, principals

and other education staff. Trustee Ronald P.

Larkin was the first chairperson of the new

board, which had been reduced to only ten

members. Trustee Thérèse Maloney

Cousineau was the first vice-chairperson of

the Board. Other trustees serving from 1998

to 2000 were John Chiarelli, Mary Curry,

June Flynn-Turner, Arthur J.M. Lamarche,

Catherine Maguire-Urban, Des Curley, Mark

Mullan and Patrick Mullan. Philip A. Rocco,

the former Director of Education for the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board, was selected as the first Director of

Education of the new OCCSB.

The Board established its head

office at the C.B. MacDonald Catholic

Education Centre on Merivale Road in

Nepean, the former headquarters of the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board. The budget for the new school board

for the 1998-99 school year was

$235.8 million. In addition, the Board had



a restructuring fund budget of $4.4 million

and a capital budget of $17.4 million.

By the 2003-04 school year, the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board had

rationalized many of its operations, had

moved into a new headquarters facility on

Hunt Club Road in 2002, had a new director

of education and was continuing to grow.

By this time, it had 60 elementary schools,

14 high schools, three intermediate schools,

one adult high school and four adult day

schools. Student enrolment reached

approximately 40,900, supported by a

professional staff of more than 2,400 teachers,

vice-principals, principals and education staff.

James G. McCracken was appointed Director

of Education for the OCCSB in July 2003,

implementing an era of focus on student

success, staff development and the

responsible use of resources.

The Educational Programs

Department of the Board developed

initiatives aimed at these three goals. Success

for students initiatives included programs

focused on literacy and numeracy, such as

completion of an early literacy initiative

for grade 3 teachers and continued

implementation of the Primary 4 Blocks

initiative for teachers of French as a second

language. There was also a focus on helping

at-risk students through the development of

a department model for the implementation

of remedial programs, the creation of an

assessment manual and the use of PM

benchmarks for the tracking of student

progress and the continuation and expansion

of the Board’s “Everybody Learns” project.

There was also a focus on literacy and

numeracy at the secondary level with ongoing

support for the “Pathways for Success”

initiative. Enhancement of programs in the

area of technology was also a focus at the

secondary level at this time. Professional

development and support for all Educational

Programs Department innovations continued

including support for elementary teachers

of Religious Education, Family Life, and

sacramental preparation. There were also

adult faith initiatives for staff.

The Information Technology

Department of the OCCSB was also busy

at this time developing communications

infrastructure, connectivity among schools

and to the internet, deployment of hardware

and software to all Board facilities and the

professional development of staff in

technology matters. Academically, department

staff developed the RoboDome program,

video conferencing in high schools, the rollout

of the new teacher performance appraisal,

replacement of computer labs in high schools

and continual upgrading and replacement

of computer hardware and software.

The Student Services Department,

at the same time, continued to promote the

goal of inclusive programming for students

with special needs. This meant that

wherever possible, special needs students

would be educated in regular classrooms

with age-appropriate peers in their

community schools. The department was

in the process of developing programs for

autism and for developmentally challenged


In 2003-04, the Continuing and

Community Education Department provided

programs and services for more than

45,000 students annually, including four

daytime adult schools for English as a

second language (Queen of the Angels,

St. Agnes, St. Joseph’s and St. Patrick’s),

and 22 community locations offering English

as a second language programs, with over

15,000 adult learners benefiting from them

over the course of the year. There were also

five federally-funded language instruction

classes for newcomers, 27 languages

provided to over 2,500 students at

11 elementary sites each Saturday, and

13 languages and 55 credits available to

more than 750 secondary students each


Saturday at St. Pius X High School.

Elementary summer schools and camps were

provided to over 1,000 students. Literacy

and numeracy programs, operating in seven

locations, served up to 400 adults each year,

and night and summer school credit courses

had an enrolment of more than 10,000

students. On-line credit courses, youth

camps during March break and summer and

a driver-education program were offered to

about 600 high school students annually.

The operating budget for the 2003-

04 school year totaled $316.1 million, in the

service of approximately 39,200 students.

This budget represented an increase in

spending of about $34 million over the

previous budget year due to additional

funding provided by the Provincial

Government. The Board at this time

employed 2,439 active permanent teachers

including 126 who were newly-hired for

2003-04. There were also 850 teachers on

the occasional teachers’ list. Also employed

were approximately 1,000 non-teaching staff

comprised of teaching assistants, library

technicians, secretaries, custodians and

central board office staff. Continuing

Education staff numbered upwards of

1,400 personnel.

In 2006, the Board approved a tenyear

Capital Plan that included a number

of projects in its first five years aimed at

providing school accommodation in those

areas of the Board’s jurisdiction where

student enrolment growth was straining

existing school facilities. These new school

facilities include a new 30-room addition at

Mother Teresa High School in South Nepean

in 2007, a new 24-room addition at Holy

Trinity Catholic High School in Kanata in

2007, a new 30-room addition at All Saints

High School in Kanata in 2007, a

renovation-conversion program at St. Mark

High School in Manotick in 2006 (followed

by construction of a new addition in 2007),

construction of a new elementary school in



Stittsville in 2008, construction of a new

secondary school in Riverside South in 2008,

and additions to St. Michael School in

Corkery, Lester B. Pearson Catholic High

School and St. Matthew High School in


Trustees of the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board

1998 to 2000

John Chiarelli, Des Curley, Mary Curry,

June Flynn-Turner, Arthur J.M. Lamarche,

Ronald P. Larkin, Catherine Maguire-Urban,

Thérèse Maloney Cousineau, Mark Mullan,

Patrick Mullan

2000 to 2003

Kathy Ablett, John Chiarelli, Des Curley,

John Curry, June Flynn-Turner, Betty-Ann

Kealey, Arthur J.M. Lamarche, Jacqueline

Legendre-McGuinty, Thérèse Maloney

Cousineau, Mark Mullan

2003 to 2006

Kathy Ablett, Gordon Butler, Des Curley,

John Curry, June Flynn-Turner, Betty-Ann

Kealey, Arthur J. M. Lamarche, Jacqueline

Legendre-McGuinty, Thérèse Maloney

Cousineau, Mark Mullan

The Catholic Education Foundation

of Ottawa-Carleton (CEFOC) was

created in 1999 as a registered

fundraising entity operating at arms-length

from the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School


The Foundation was set up initially

with the view that it would undertake a variety

of fundraising initiatives. These included a

capital campaign to help pay off the debt

related to the construction of the Sacred Heart

High School theatre, an upgrading of computer

technology, and the provision of help to

alleviate poverty in schools. Dr. David Pfeiffer

was the inaugural Chairperson of the Board of

Directors of the Catholic Education Foundation

of Ottawa-Carleton. Philip A, Rocco, the

Director of Education for the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board at the time, was the first

President and Secretary. Wayne Bishop, the

recently retired Manager of Corporate &

Administrative Services with the OCCSB, was

the first Vice-President and Treasurer.

Inaugural members of the Board

of Directors of the Catholic Education

Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton were Bill

Collins of the Ottawa Centre for Research

and Innovation, June Flynn-Turner, Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board Chairperson,

OCCSB Trustee Mary Curry, Rev. Joe

Leclair, and lawyers James Leal and Peter

Vice. Lisa Hopkins was the Administrative

Officer in charge of the development office

of the school board, which administered the


By 2004, the Catholic Education

Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton had honed its

focus to concentrate on helping to alleviate

poverty in Board schools. By 2006, the

Foundation had awarded a total of $205,000

to 20 innovative programs and projects under

its “Helping To Alleviate Poverty In Our

Schools” campaign. Some of the projects

receiving assistance included the following:







• Summer camps coordinated by the

Children’s Support Committee of the

Board - $25,500

The Committee coordinated six one-week

camps over the course of four summers in

six different school locations, providing an

opportunity for students from each school

to attend a week of fun-filled activities.

Priority for attendance was given to

students whose families were financially

disadvantaged and would not normally

have the opportunity to attend such a

summer camp.

• A school readiness project by the Child

Care Services Department of the Board -

$6,000, with the funds matched by the

Ontario Ministry of Community and

Social Services



This three-year pilot project offered home

visits by trained early-childhood

professionals to families whose children

were entering kindergarten in designated

high-needs schools.

• A Big Sisters, Big Brothers of Ottawa

mentorship program at Immaculata High

School - $21,500

This co-op mentorship program matched

highly-motivated secondary school student

leaders with “at risk” elementary students

between the ages of seven and 11.

• An early literacy project at Our Lady

of Mount Carmel School - $21,500

This multi-year project focused on

improving the literacy of children in the

primary grades in a partnership with

students from the University of Ottawa

and Carleton University

• A Rich Mind Club at Brother André

School - $7,305

This after-school club was designed for

45 grades 2 to 6 students, offering a safe,

nurturing and accepting environment to

concentrate on homework, reading and

computer skills.

• A junior division swim program at

St. Anthony School - $4,000

The funds provided four nine-week

swimming programs for a total of

80 impoverished or at risk students

at a local swimming pool.

• A program called “Holistic Education:

Making A Better World One Child At

A Time” at Bayshore Catholic School -


This is part of an ongoing literacy

initiative at the school, contributing

funds to purchase additional reading

materials and incorporating “Second

Steps,” a research-based curriculum

designed to teach social and emotional

skills to help prevent aggression and

violence. The program also includes

a three-day trip to camp.

Besides its “Helping To Alleviate

Poverty In Our Schools Campaign,” the

Catholic Education Foundation of Ottawa-

Carleton also has emergency response funds

which provide immediate assistance to

impoverished children and their families.

This assistance includes the provision of eye

glasses, EpiPens, medical supplies, food and

clothing, transportation and other financial

needs resulting from situations of family


Fundraising efforts of the Catholic

Education Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton

to support its assistance to these educational

programs and emergency response

situations include special events, in

memoriam programs offered through all

local funeral homes, payroll deduction via

the United Way, partnerships with other

organizations and corporate-sponsored

Broadway musical productions which


annually include over 600 Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board students. Having the

Catholic Education Foundation of Ottawa-

Carleton included as a United Way agency

and eligible to be assisted through directed

United Way payroll deductions began in

2005 and resulted in a substantial increase

in funding provided to the Foundation.

CEFOC’s major fundraising event

is the annual Broadway musical involving

students from schools across the Board’s

jurisdiction. This tradition began in 2003

with the production of Joseph and The

Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, presented

at the Sacred Heart High School Theatre. In

2004, the musical The Music Man was

presented, again at the Sacred Heart High

School Theatre. In 2005, the venue changed

to the St. Paul High School Theatre where

Annie was presented. In 2006, the musical

featured was Anything Goes, which was held



at the St. Paul High School Theatre. Another

fundraising event benefiting the Catholic

Education Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton

is the annual O.C. Idol singing competition

organized by the Board’s student trustees

in cooperation with the student council

co-presidents from the high schools across

the system. In 2006, this O.C. Idol

competition was held at St. Paul Catholic

High School with 12 singers involved, with

Student Trustees Phillip MacDougall and

Lisa Daly serving as the Masters of


In 2006, Trustee Arthur J.M.

Lamarche serves as Chairperson of the

Board of Directors of the Catholic Education

Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton. James G.

McCracken, OCCSB Director of Education,

is the President and Secretary and Lisa

Hopkins is the Executive Director.

Over the past 17 years, the

provision of child care services

has become an increasingly

significant initiative. This has been

accomplished through the work of the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic Child Care

Corporation, an arms-length corporation

first established by the Carleton Roman

Catholic Separate School Board, developing

a variety of programs and services. This

involvement with child care programs and

service really began in June 1987, when

the Ontario Ministry of Education and the

Ministry of Community and Social Services

launched an initiative called “New

Directions in Child Care,” which was aimed

at involving schools and school boards more

fully in the provision of child care services

and programs.

At that time, the Carleton Roman

Catholic School Board studied the matter and,

following the hiring of a child care manager

in November 1988, established the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic Child Care Corporation

in April 1989. Its role was to facilitate the

development of child care services.

The new corporation took its first

steps in this regard in September 1989, with

the opening of the first child care centres at

Holy Spirit School in Stittsville and at

St. Francis of Assisi School in Orléans.

This was followed in February 1991,

with the opening of the Katimavik Preschool

Resource Centre at Holy Trinity Catholic

High School in Kanata. Several months

later, in July 1991, the Corporation opened

the Katimavik Kindergarten/School Age

Program at Holy Trinity Catholic High

School. Next came the Charlemagne

Preschool Resource Centre at St. Peter

High School in Orléans in February 1993,

followed by the expansion of school age care

at both the St. Francis of Assisi Child Care

Centre and the Katimavik Kindergarten/

School Age program in September of that

same year.





The Corporation was busy in July

1994, opening three school age programs:

the Mountshannon School Age Program at

St. Luke School in South Nepean, the

Gardenway School Age Program at St. Clare

School in Orléans and the Stonehaven

School Age Program at St. James School

in Kanata. The programs at both the

Stonehaven School Age Program and the

Mountshannon School Age Program were

expanded in 1995 and 1996 respectively as

the steady growth of the Board’s child care

services and programs continued.

In September 1996, the

Charlemagne Nursery School opened in

St. Peter High School in Orléans.

The years 1996 and 1997 also

saw the opening of four after-school clubs.

During the years 1998 through

2003, the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic Child

Care Corporation continued to expand and

grow its services and programs. This included

the opening of the following facilities:

January 1998 St. Nicholas Catholic School

Preschool Program

September 1998 A before-school club

September 1999 A before-school club and an

after-school club

Five Ontario Works programs

April 2000 Assumption of responsibility

for the Language Instruction

for Newcomers (LINC) child




June 2000 Strandherd School Age

Program at Monsignor Paul

Baxter School in South


Baywood School Age

Program at Guardian Angels

School in Stittsville

Emerald Meadows School

Age Program at St. Anne

School in Kanata

September 2000 Two additional after-school


September 2001 Two additional before-school

clubs and three more afterschool


August 2002 Portobello School Age

Program at St. Theresa

School in Orléans

Keyworth School Age

Program at St. George School

September 2002 One additional before-school

club and one after-school


September 2003 One additional before-school

club and one after-school


December 2003 Crestway School Age

Program at St. Andrew

School in South Nepean

In September 2005, the Shoreline

School Age Program was opened at

St. Jerome School in Riverside South. In

2006, four more child care centres were

created at Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board schools under the “Best Start”

program initiated by the Provincial

Government as a result of the availability

of Federal Government funding. New child

care centres were added at Brother André

School and Thomas D’Arcy McGee Catholic

School, both in Gloucester, Prince of Peace

School in South Ottawa and Our Lady of

Peace School in Bells Corners.

The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

Child Care Corporation has its own Board

of Directors consisting of two trustees of

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board,

a person appointed by the Director of

Education and four to six persons who are

neither trustees nor employees of the school

board. For 2006, Board Chairperson June

Flynn Turner is the President of the Board

of Directors, Catherine Maguire-Urban is

Vice-President and the Directors are Trustee

Betty-Ann Kealey, Leslie Kopf-Johnson and

Sandy Tremblay. Dr. Lucy Miller,

Superintendent of Educational Programs for

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board,

is the corporation’s Secretary-Treasurer.

Programs offered by the Child Care

Corporation include: Kindergarten/School

Age programs (13 locations); preschool

resource centres (two locations); and nursery

school programs (one location).

School board programs under the

auspices of the Child Care Corporation

include before/after-school clubs, and Ontario


Works Child Care and Language Instruction

for Newcomers( LINC) child care. In 2006,

before/after-school clubs exist at 12 schools

(St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, Chapel Hill

Catholic, St. Mary in Ottawa, St. Mary in

Gloucester, Our Lady of Wisdom, Blessed

Kateri Tekakwitha, St. Isidore, St. Brigid,

St. Marguerite D’Youville, Georges Vanier

Catholic, McMaster Catholic and St. Patrick

Schools). These programs provide

recreational activities including outdoor play,

cooperative games and sports, arts and

crafts, board games and dramatic play.

Activities may also involve cooking, watching

films or videos and homework time.

In 2006, the Ontario Works Child

Care exists at three locations. This is a

program offered to adult students

participating in English as a Second

Language or Continuing Education as part

of their Ontario Works development plan.



The programs provide a relaxed

child-centered environment where children

can learn safely through play. The programs

encourage development in social, emotional,

physical and cognitive skills.

In 2006, there was one location

offering the Language Instruction for

Newcomers (LINC) Child Care program.

This is a service offered to adult students

participating in LINC language classes.

The program is similar to the one offered

through the Ontario Works Child Care

program. However, whereas in the Ontario

Works Child Care program the costs are

funded through the City of Ottawa, the

program costs for the LINC Child Care

Program are funded through federal

government grants for children of new

Canadians participating in LINC language


Innovative, state-of-the-art curriculumbased

educational software products

developed by the NECTAR Foundation are

now in use around the world as well as within

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

schools. This has all come about as the result

of the creation and ensuing development and

growth of the NECTAR Foundation, a nonprofit

organization incorporated under the

Ontario Corporations Act with letters patent

issued in 1990 by the Ontario Ministry of

Consumer and Commercial Affairs. The

acronym NECTAR stands for New Era

Classroom, Technology and Research.

Dedicated to the development of

innovative educational programs featuring

the integration of interactive multimedia

technologies and individualized student

programs, the NECTAR Foundation grew

out of a demand in the late 1980s to use

computers to support student learning and

to provide students with technical skills for

future careers.

The Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board emerged as a leader

in this field, developing unique curricula

that incorporated technology with

traditional programs. Other school boards

indicated an interest in obtaining these new

programs which use the power of technology

in student learning. In addition, companies

such as Unisys Canada wanted to undertake

joint development projects with the CRCSSB

to develop software applicable to the

curriculum. However, the Education Act does

not allow school boards to sell materials

and products. As a result, the NECTAR

Foundation, a non-profit, independent and

self-sustaining foundation, was formed to

be the legal entity that could develop and

market curriculum-based software and also

partner with private sector organizations.

The development of curriculumbased

software, such as NECTAR’s

renowned TREK series, has meant that







NECTAR products are now marketed and

used around the world. A number of its

software programs have been licensed for

use in large educational jurisdictions such

as the Province of Ontario, Schoolnet India,

South Africa, Barbados and large counties

in the United States. NECTAR products

are now available in English, French and

Spanish in both Macintosh and Windows

formats and in both educational and home


NECTAR usually works with

partners to develop and market its

curriculum materials, including educational

partners such as the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board and many other

school boards. Staff from the various school

boards have been invaluable in contributing

their educational expertise to the

development of these curriculum-based

software products.

Among NECTAR’s development

partners are or have been Unisys Canada

Inc., the Eastern Ontario Staff Development

Network, Gage Publishing, Inukshuk

Internet Inc., the Canadian Space Agency

and Schoolnet India.

NECTAR products are distributed

directly by NECTAR throughout the world

and by distributors such as Bradford

Publishing, Siboney Learning Group,



Academic Distributors and Curriculum

Services Corporation in the United States,

W & G Marketing in Australia and New

Zealand, Schoolnet India in South Asia

and Rheids Education in South Africa.

The NECTAR Foundation is a selffunded

organization. Its operating capital

comes from the sale of its educational

products. The capital is then reinvested in

further product development. Partnership

initiatives also are a source of funding for

the Foundation.

NECTAR staff have produced a

wide variety of educational materials over

the years including print, video and audio

kits, educational software and CD ROM

disks. NECTAR staff have won awards

for their work in curriculum development

including the Prime Minister’s Award for

Excellence in Technology, the Ontario

Association of Curriculum Development

Award and the National Institute Award

from Northern Telecom (Nortel). NECTAR

work has been featured in a video produced

by the International Society for Technology

in Education. This video focuses on how

technology should be and will be used in the

classroom in the future.

Among the NECTAR educational

software now on the market are: the MATH

TREK series of multimedia programs

covering the Mathematics curriculum from

Kindergarten to Grade 12; the LANGUAGE

TREK series of multimedia programs which

covers the Language Arts curriculum from

Kindergarten to Grade 10; the SCIENCE

TREK 4, 5 and 6 series for the Science

program in Grades 4, 5 and 6; Professional

Learning Courses for Teachers, a series of

79 courses produced in partnership with

the Eastern Ontario Staff Development

Network, which features courses self-paced

and designed for the personal professional

development of teachers and which are

provided to teachers at no cost; and the

Canadian Space Agency series, two

programs, one for Grades 4, 5 and 6 and

the other for Grades 10 to 12 which were

developed for the Canadian Space Agency,

focusing on teaching Math skills in the

context of space navigation.

The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board and its students benefit from

the existence of NECTAR because they have

these state-of-the-art curriculum-based

software products available to them.

NECTAR provides the software to the Board

and also offers home versions to parents

and families at a reduced cost.

Board of Directors


A Board of Directors governs the

NECTAR Foundation. Traditionally, since

its formation in 1990 at the instigation of

the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board, several trustees and the

Director of Education have served on the

Board of Directors, along with

representatives from business and industry

and other educators.

Members of the first Board of

Directors of the NECTAR Foundation were:

Dr. William Crossan, Director of Education

Arthur J.M. Lamarche, Trustee

James Lea, Lawyer

Dale Henderson, Educator

Brent Wilson, Educator

Vic D’Amico, Executive Director



The Board of Directors was

expanded to eight members in the second

year of operation of NECTAR.

Members of the Board of Directors of the

NECTAR Foundation in 2006 are:

James G. McCracken, Director of Education

Gordon Butler, Trustee

Des Curley, Trustee

Arthur J.M. Lamarche, Trustee

Mark Mullan, Trustee

Gerry Clarke

Margot Crawford

David Leach

Brent Wilson

The Carleton Roman Catholic School

Board Central Resource Centre,

which was established in 1972,

was dedicated as the Derry Byrne Teacher

Resource Centre in 1996 in honour of the

late Derry Byrne, Director of Education of

the Board at the time of his death.

The Teacher Resource Centre

initially served 22 schools in the Carleton

Roman Catholic School Board’s English

panel and 18 schools in the French panel.

The Centre was initially located in a

770 square foot room at the Board’s

administration building at 1695 Merivale

Road in Nepean. At its inception it held

about 875 volumes, under the direction of

consultant Sister Lillia Teaffe. In September

1973, Lloyd Ambler, who was later to become

a principal with the Board, was hired as

Coordinator of the Teacher Resource Centre,

and Sister Teaffe stayed on as the full-time

consultant. Edwin Costello was the full-time

audio-visual consultant.

This Teacher Resource Centre was

considered a showplace, as it was a brand

new concept, fulfilling the role of a teacher

resource centre but also strongly tied into

the development of all of the school libraries

as well.

As the Carleton Roman Catholic

School Board built new schools with

libraries, and expanded existing school

libraries to accommodate ever-increasing

enrolment growth, financial resources often

prevented the purchase of duplicate holdings

for every school. The Teacher Resource

Centre overcame this problem by stocking

materials which all staff in any school could

borrow. As the Board continued to grow,

school teacher-librarians each spent one

half-day per month working at the Centre

for the first few years of its existence.






While school librarians were

developing their own individual resources,

the centralizing of consultative and

administrative material continued. The

Teacher Resource Centre was given wider

responsibilities to equalize all school

resource materials, to develop and plan new

resource facilities and to implement a core

curriculum for the Board. At the same time,

the Teacher Resource Centre introduced

services in video programming, inter-board

film and television liaison, slide production,

audio-visual loans, video editing and

copying, audio reproduction and core

program control and distribution. The

Centre had the first laminating machines

within the Board, equipment far beyond the

resources of individual schools at that time.

The Teacher Resource Centre also oversaw

the introduction of colour televisions to the

Board schools.

The Teacher Resource Centre grew

and evolved along with the Board and with

the education system in Ontario in general.

In its first five years of operation, it

expanded from 875 volumes to over 15,000.

This growth meant that a new, larger home

was needed, just as more than 6,000 square

feet of space became available in the lower

level of Pope John XXIII School in Nepean.

The move began on July 1, 1978, and was



completed in March 1979. An official open

house was held in April 1979 to mark the


Besides having space to house the

Teacher Resource Centre’s holdings, the new

location also provided rooms that could be

used for meetings, professional development

sessions and other events. By 1996, the

Teacher Resource Centre, newly renamed

the Derry Byrne Teacher Resource Centre,

had over 20,000 holdings. But while the

Centre was still a vital support to ensure

high-quality Catholic education in the

CRCSSB schools at that time, it became

much more than a supplier of text books.

It began to provide curriculum support

materials and professional resources to

teachers. The provision of resource materials

in computer CD format became more and

more important.

The Derry Byrne Teacher Resource

Centre continues to play an important role

in providing the support materials and

resources required to ensure that Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board teachers and

students have the tools they need to ensure

top-quality Catholic education in Board


When the Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board’s Central

Resource Centre was dedicated as

the Derry Byrne Teacher Resource Centre in

1996, a display of historical items related to

education was assembled for the ceremony.

This proved to be the genesis of the Catholic

Education Museum of Ottawa-Carleton.

For that display, school board

archives were searched for appropriate

materials, individual schools were asked to

submit items and materials, and artifacts

were borrowed from the Mae Rooney

collection of school-related memorabilia

dating back to the early 1800s. This

successful display of historical items was still

a fresh experience when a committee, under

the chairmanship of Paulina Brecher, was

established on August 31, 1999 to plan the

celebrations and events for the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board to mark the

coming of the Millennium in 2000. One of the

suggestions which arose was to establish a

permanent Board museum to display items

of historical significance, including both

written and pictorial documents, and items

used by students and teachers in the past.

A millennium museum subcommittee

was formed under the direction

of Faye Powell as Chairperson. Others on

this museum sub-committee were Paulina

Brecher, Chairperson of the Millennium

Committee, Wayne Bishop, Ralph

Watzenboeck, Glenda Archer, Starr Kelly,

Carol Thibault and Glenda MacDonnell. This

sub-committee was tasked with directing

the museum project, including making an

application for a federal millennium grant.

Sub-committee members Wayne Bishop and

Paulina Brecher completed the detailed work

on the federal grant submission, with

Trustee Arthur J.M. Lamarche providing

invaluable liaison advice.

Upon approval of the federal

millennium grant, the museum project moved








ahead, with discussions held with Mae

Rooney, a retired principal, for the purchase

of all or part of her collection. She had put

together the collection over many years,

developing it into a unique collection of school

items and memorabilia including sets of

textbooks, provincial examinations, a set

of pupil lunch kits dating back to the early

1800s and a complete series of Catechisms

used in Catholic schools in Ontario over the

years. It was an invaluable collection of

school-related historical materials.

The timing to acquire this collection

proved to be just right, as the collection had

outgrown Mrs. Rooney’s home and she was

looking for an appropriate new venue for it.

The discussions between the school board

and Mrs. Rooney proved fruitful and an

appropriate deal was struck. Space to house

the collection was provided at the Derry

Byrne Teacher Resource Centre and the

collection was moved there thanks to the

efforts of the members of the museum subcommittee

and with the advice of Mrs. Rooney.



An official dedication, opening and

reception for the new Catholic Education

Museum of Ottawa-Carleton was held at the

Derry Byrne Teacher Resource Centre on

April 4, 2001, with representatives of the

federal government, the school board and

others in attendance. The ringing of an

antique school bell, part of the collection,

announced the opening. A plaque unveiled to

mark the occasion was provided through the

efforts of Trustee Arthur J.M. Lamarche.

With the opening of the Catholic

Education Centre, the Board’s new central

administration facility on Hunt Club Road,

a room just inside the doorway leading to

the Board Room was provided to house the

museum and its collection. The transfer of

the collection from the Derry Byrne Teacher

Resource Centre premises to the new

location was undertaken by Faye Powell

and a group of retired Board personnel.

The Catholic Education Museum of Ottawa-

Carleton was set up and ready in time for

the official opening of the Catholic

Education Centre on February 16, 2003.

The Mae Rooney collection, which

is the foundation of the museum, is available

for research purposes. In addition, items

can be borrowed by schools for special

celebrations. The museum is open for visits

and presentations by teachers, students and

community groups. The museum is filled

with original school desks, books and

classroom memorabilia, set up in a school

room setting, reminiscent of the one-room

school house of the past where a single

teacher would be in charge of students at

every level of learning.

The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board is now the custodian of the

museum and the Mae Rooney collection.

The direction of the museum and its

operation fall under the jurisdiction of the

Historical Committee of the Board.

The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board is one of the few school

boards in the province with a choir

comprised of students drawn from schools

across its jurisdiction. Directed by Mrs.

MaryAnn Dunn since its formation in 1991,

the OCCSB Children’s Choir celebrated its

15 th anniversary at its spring concert in

June 2006.

Approximately 500 students

have been chosen for the choir over the

course of its 15-year history. Originally

a group of 54 singers, the choir currently has

80 members with 35 senior members forming

a more advanced chamber choir. Due to

increasing interest, there is now Young Voices

(a training choir) and a new boys’ choir.

Over the years, the Children’s

Choir has competed successfully at the

annual Kiwanis Music Festival. The choir

has also performed at many different venues

for the school board and the City of Ottawa

as well as at national events, always

representing the OCCSB and the area with

pride, honour and distinction.

From the beginning, the Children’s

Choir was an honours group, chosen by

audition from across the jurisdiction of the

Board. The Chamber Choir was formed in

1998 so that senior choir members could

continue singing. The training choir (Young

Voices) was begun in 2000 while the boys’

choir started in 2004.

Choir members are selected based

on their natural talent and their joy of

singing regardless of their experience.

Many members stay for the duration of

their elementary school careers while some

remain in the choir for only a year or two.

Whether a novice or a veteran, each child

makes his or her contribution to the vocal

and musical excellence of the choir.









The Children’s Choir has sung in

over a dozen languages, performing a variety

of music from classical to contemporary,

folk to sacred. The choir has produced two

compact discs, Light of the World and Shine.

It has also performed several songs

especially commissioned for it, including

You Are The Light of the World by Michel

Guimont and Our Father, The Candle, Jack

Was Every Inch A Sailor and When the Ice

Worms Nest Again, all by Tony Dunn.

Among the highlight performances

by the Children’s Choir over the years have

been at the National Citizenship ceremony

for Nelson Mandela at the Museum of

Civilization; at the 80 th birthday party for

Alex Colville at the National Gallery of



Canada; at Young People’s Concerts at

the National Arts Centre with the NAC

Orchestra; at the Festival of Carols at

the National Gallery of Canada; at the

50th anniversary of the United Nations at

Centrepointe Theatre in Nepean; at the

50th anniversary of Canadian Citizenship

in the House of Commons; at the Ontario

Music Educators’ Conference at the National

Library; at Unisong 2000; at the Niagara

International Festival in Niagara Falls; at

citizenship ceremonies at the Supreme Court

of Canada; at the Kiwanis Music Festival

highlights concert; at the National Memorial

concert for fallen police officers; at the

Conference of Catholic Superintendents of

Ontario; at annual Christmas and Spring

concerts; and at the Board’s annual

Education Week Mass.

The Children’s Choir has been able

to support numerous charities over the years

including the Ottawa-Carleton Homes for

the Aged, the Bosnian Refugee Sponsorship

Group, Sylvia House Hospice, the Nelson

Mandela Children’s Fund, the Children’s

Hospital of Eastern Ontario, the Catholic

Education Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton,

the Shepherds of Good Hope, The Mission,

the Canadian Cystic Fibrosis Foundation,

May Court Hospice, the St. Isidore Church

Building Fund, the St. Basil’s Church

Building Fund, Aid for the Children of

Chernobyl, and the Terry Fox Foundation.

Ottawa has played a role in the

provincial Catholic Parents’

Organization right from its very

beginnings. T.J. Kerr of Ottawa was the first

president of the new Federation of Catholic

Parent-Teacher Associations of Ontario,

which held its inaugural meeting in Toronto

in April 1949. In September 1951, the

Federation of Catholic Parent-Teacher

Associations of Ontario became an

incorporated federation. Its charter was

prepared by Hush Gadbois of Ottawa.

Mrs. F.M. Viau of Ottawa designed the

Association’s crest.

The Federation of Catholic Parent-

Teacher Associations of Ontario held its

convention in Ottawa in 1975 where Father

Patrick Fogarty delivered a landmark

address regarding the rights of Catholic


Another annual general meeting

and conference was held in Ottawa in 1985.

Through the years, the Federation

has worked to develop diocesan and regional

councils to liaise with parents in Catholic

schools. It has encouraged parents to become

involved in Catholic education, and to

express their views, while expecting that

their views are respected by other

shareholders in education.








The Federation of Catholic Parent-

Teacher Associations of Ontario has, over

the years, worked side-by-side with other

Catholic partners to bring about changes

benefiting Catholic education in the

province, including the extension of full

funding announced by Premier William

Davis in 1984. The Federation has prepared



briefs and presentations on all aspects of

Catholic education, becoming the unified

voice of Catholic parents in Ontario. The

Ontario Ministry of Education and other

Catholic partners in education have

recognized this role of the Federation by

including it in various discussions and

consultations regarding education reforms.

The Federation submitted its first triennial

review to the Ministry of Education in 1989,

the same year that Patrick Smith was

appointed as its first Executive Director.

In 1996, the name of the

Federation was changed to the Ontario

Federation of Catholic School Associations

in order to broaden its representation to

include all Catholic school groups. January

1998, saw the Federation gain status as

a board member on the Institute for

Catholic Education.

At the 1998 annual general

meeting, another name change was made.

Now known as the Ontario Association of

Parents in Catholic Education, the

association held its first-ever conference

in Thunder Bay in 2004, followed by a

conference in London in 2005, and a third

in Ottawa in 2006. Ann Callaghan of

Ottawa is the current Executive Secretary

of the Association.

Ottawa teachers and educators

not only played pivotal roles

in the creation of the Ontario

English Catholic Teachers’ Association

(OECTA) but they have contributed in

important ways to its operation and success

over the years. Ottawa’s contribution to the

formation of the organization in 1944 was far

more than just being the site for its founding

meeting. Indeed, it was largely through the

efforts and leadership of Ottawa educator Dr.

F.J. McDonald that the provincial teachers’

organization became a reality.

While Catholic teachers in the

province are now collectively represented

by the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association, such was not always the case.

Catholic teachers in Ontario, including

Ottawa, had for years carried on without a

province-wide organization. These teachers,

many of them religious, were devoted to a

Catholic education system but lay teachers

in particular faced the problem of earning

a livelihood in a Catholic system always

facing financial problems. The salaries and

working conditions of Catholic lay teachers

were less than ideal, sacrificed for the

greater good of having a functional Catholic

education system.

For many years, the late Dr. F.J.

McDonald, the inspector of separate schools

in Ottawa, had been convinced that the

efforts and achievements of separate school

teachers were neither understood nor

appreciated. In 1930, under his leadership,

separate school teachers in Ottawa set up

their own local organization which resulted

in both professional and economic gains. Yet,

despite this, Dr. McDonald realized that a

provincial organization would bring benefits

to all Catholic teachers in the province.

But this was far easier said than done, even

in the context of a call to Catholic action

by His Holiness Pope Pius XI urging the

organization of workers and other groups,

especially in educational institutions.








In light of this, discussions

continued for several years before concrete

action was realized. Consultation with

clergy, in particular with the Most Reverend

John C. Cody, Bishop of Victoria, resulted

in a green light from the Church with regard

to forming a provincial Catholic teachers’

organization. With this endorsement,

Dr. McDonald then consulted separate

school inspectors across the province who,

in turn, encouraged Catholic teachers to

proceed with the formation of a provincial

organization. Cecilia Rowan, who was

President of the Ottawa English Catholic

Teachers’ Association, and her executive,

wrote to the superiors of all of the religious

congregations teaching in Ontario, seeking

their support for a province-wide association.

These superiors all replied that such an

organization would be productive and

offered their wholehearted cooperation to

the initiative. The clergy were also consulted

and very supportive.



The work of organizing English

Catholic teachers across the province got

under way. Ottawa was the site for a

meeting of diocesan delegates on February

18, 1944, attended by teachers from

Windsor, London, Belleville, Kingston,

Toronto, Peterborough, Pembroke, Cornwall,

Alexandria and, of course, Ottawa.

Dr. F. J. McDonald and another

inspector of separate schools, C.P. Matthews

of Kingston, were at the meeting to lend

their support to the undertaking. The

delegates decided unanimously that there

must be an English Catholic teachers’

association in the province, with

membership open to all English-speaking

Catholic teachers. A provisional executive

was chosen to hold office until a provincial

meeting could be held. The first executive,

headed by Margaret Lynch of Windsor,

included Cecilia Rowan of Ottawa as


The creation of this provisional

provincial executive was most timely,

because a few weeks later, the Ontario

Department of Education asked the newlyminted

Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association to send a delegate to a Toronto

meeting to discuss inclusion of the group in

a new provincial professional organization

called the Ontario Teachers’ Federation.

Indeed, Ottawa teachers had once again

played a significant role in ensuring that

an English Catholic teachers’ organization

would be included in the structure of the

new provincial federation. The Ottawa

teachers’ organization had taken a lead in

this since there was not yet any provincial

organization in existence when this matter

came to a head in 1943.

The Department of Education

brought forward a Teaching Profession Act

which included automatic membership in

a federation for all teachers in the taxsupported

schools of the province.

At that time there were four

provincial teachers’ organizations in the

province: the Ontario Secondary School

Teachers’ Federation, organized in 1919; the

Federation of Women Teachers’ Association

of Ontario (1918); the Ontario Public School

Men Teachers’ Federation (1921); and the

Association of Franco-Ontarian Teachers

(1939). When the executive of the Ottawa

Catholic teachers’ group discovered that the

draft legislation gave the Catholic teachers

in the province the choice of becoming

members of the new Ontario Teachers’

Federation either by joining one of the

three existing English teacher groups or

by forming a new group (which was the

preference in Ottawa), they acted quickly.

All Catholic teachers were to be

polled by the Department of Education

regarding their preference regarding the

proposal by the province. However, fearing

that many English Catholic teachers might

not know of the proposal to form a new

English Catholic teachers’ association,

the Ottawa teachers’ organization sent

explanatory letters to all principals and

teachers in Ontario, urging them to vote

for a Catholic teachers’ group as their

representative in the new Ontario Teachers’

Federation. The resulting vote was conclusive

and the Department of Education included

an English Catholic teachers’ organization

as one of the groups to fall within the

Ontario Teachers’ Federation. Shortly after

the new Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association was created, the Department

of Education sought a meeting with this

fledgling group concerning its inclusion in the

new Ontario Teachers’ Federation. To carry

its banner in these talks, OECTA sent Rev.

Lawrence Poupore, OMI, of St. Patrick’s

College High School in Ottawa to the Toronto

meeting. Father Poupore was rector of

St. Patrick’s College High School from 1944

to 1953 and would play a key role in the early

development of OECTA.


The talks resulted in the Ontario

English Catholic Teachers’ Association

joining the Ontario Teachers’ Federation

as an independent Catholic group, sharing

ten governor seats with the Association of

Franco-Ontarian Teachers. Father Poupore

went on to serve as chairperson of the

legislation committee of OECTA from 1944

to 1952 as well as chairperson of the

legislation committee of the Ontario

Teachers’ Federation during its first year of

existence, and for a second time in 1951-52.

In the spring of 1944, 600 English

Catholic teachers from across the province

crowded the Royal York Hotel in Toronto for

the formal founding meeting

of the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association. The constitution was adopted

and the temporary executive from the earlier

meeting in Ottawa was ratified. There was

general agreement that all English-Catholic

teachers in Ontario needed a provincial

organization to represent them.

The first year of operation required

all of the organizing abilities of its founders,

and was demanding not only for President

Margaret Lynch of Windsor but also for the

secretary of the group, Cecilia Rowan of

Ottawa. Everything had to be built virtually

from scratch, since there were only three

Catholic teacher organizations in the province

(Ottawa, Toronto and Windsor). For example,

while the Ottawa organization had existed

for a number of years thanks to the work of

Dr. F.J. McDonald, it was composed only of

lay teachers and was not affiliated with any

outside group. The main task lying ahead

for the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association in its first year was to assist in

organizing each of the 19 districts across

the province which had been set up at the

founding convention in Toronto. Requests for

information and advice poured in from all of

these districts to Cecilia Rowan whose work

in this inaugural year set the foundation for

the organizational structure of the



Association. With no experience, little help

and only a $300 secretary’s honorarium, she

essentially organized the 19 districts by mail.

Among those from Ottawa who

served OECTA on the board and committees

of the Ontario Teachers’ Federation in its

early days were Father Poupore, Sister

Maureen of the Grey Sisters of the

Immaculate Conception of Ottawa, and

Ray Bergin of Ottawa.

The Ontario English Catholic

Teachers’ Association grew and stabilized,

hiring a full time secretary in 1949. By

1960, it had a staff of five and by 1969, its

25 th year, it boasted a membership of about

14,000 teachers and a staff of 19.

In the 1970s, OECTA faced a

number of serious issues, as did the entire

educational community in Ontario. This

period saw the passing of legislation giving

teachers the right to strike, the creation of

the Qualifications Evaluation Council of

Ontario, the establishment of religious

education courses and the provision in

legislation for Catholic schools to teach

students with developmental disabilities.

Father Frank Kavanagh, OMI,

a former principal of St. Patrick’s College

High School in Ottawa (1964-69) became

Executive Director of the Ontario English

Catholic Teachers’ Association in 1981. A

former president of both the Ontario English

Catholic Teachers’ Association and of the

Ontario Federation of Teachers, Father

Kavanagh had worked for years to develop

the position of the Catholic community on

extension of the separate school system to

Grade 13. The extension of full funding took

place in 1984. In 1985, Father Kavanagh

was one of those involved in the creation of

the Institute for Catholic Education, whose

primary focus would be to ensure the

Catholic character and features of the

separate school system in the province.

When he retired in 1990, Father Kavanagh

left behind an organization representing just

over 30,000 members.

In the 1990s, the Ontario English

Catholic Teachers’ Association faced a

number of challenges such as the “Social

Contract” imposed by the Provincial

Government of Premier Bob Rae and the

agenda of the Mike Harris Conservative

government elected in 1995.

The organization marked its

50 th anniversary of representing the welfare

of Catholic teachers in the province in 1994,

holding its annual general meeting in

Ottawa, considered its birthplace.

The years of the Mike Harris

Provincial Government saw the Ontario

English Catholic Teachers’ Association work

against the attacks on the public sector and

labour by the government. OECTA organized

a Rally for Education at Queens’ Park on

January 13, 1996, which attracted about

37,000 demonstrators in opposition to the

policies of the provincial government.

There was a constant barrage

of issues emanating from the provincial

government to which OECTA and other

teachers’ groups in the province had to

respond. In 1997, OECTA and other

teachers’ groups in the province mobilized

against Bill 160, the Education Equality

Improvement Act of the Provincial

Government which they saw as a

devastating attack on the education system

in Ontario. A province-wide political protest

shutting down all schools ran from Monday,

October 27 to Monday, November 10, with

OECTA members taking part. This political

protest received significant backing from the

public despite the inconvenience of closed


While continuing its political

actions against the provincial government’s


education initiatives, OECTA also continued

to work on behalf of the professional

interests of its members, responding to

government initiatives on secondary school

reform, standardized testing, a provincewide

elementary school report card and the

introduction of new curricula.

Political activism would continue

to be a major focus of OECTA activities from

this point on, both in opposing Harris

government initiatives and then in ensuring

that the ensuing government of Premier

Dalton McGuinty would translate its stated

priority for education into enhanced learning

and working conditions for students and

teachers across the province.

Ottawa continues to play a role

in OECTA activities provincially, with

Donna Marie Kennedy of Ottawa serving

as Provincial President for 2005-06. Former

provincial presidents from the Ottawa area

have included Doreen Brady, Derry Byrne,

and Kathy McVean, who is currently the

immediate past president. OECTA now has

36,000 members. The Ottawa-Carleton Unit

of the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association is currently headed by Bob

McGahey. Anne Lamont is the Elementary

Bargaining Unit President, Elaine McMahon

is the Secondary Bargaining Unit President

and Mary Major is the Occasional Teachers’

Bargaining Unit President. The Ottawa-

Carleton Unit conducts its business

through a committee structure, with

various committees in charge of awards,

beginning teachers, communications,

legislation, local collective bargaining,

political action, professional development,

elementary schools, finance, health and

safety, secondary schools, social matters

and social justice.

The mission statement of the

Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association reads as follows: “Recognizing

our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic



schools, we are an Association committed to

the advancement of Catholic education. As

teacher advocates we provide professional

services, support, protection and leadership.”

OECTA’s statement of principles says that

the Unit will promote Catholic values, foster

the growth of confident, competent

professionals, support its members in

collective bargaining, promote spiritual

growth in its members, establish and

exercise teachers’ rights at all levels of

educational decision-making, build solidarity

through actions that foster trust and

collegiality, and assist its members to grow

professionally by providing access to

information and resources.

The Ottawa-Carleton Unit of

the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association presents a number of awards,

grants and bursaries. These include the

Bernadette MacNeil Award which is

presented annually to a teacher who shows

the leadership quality of compassion for

those in need, and demonstrates a

supportive role among colleagues and

promotes good fellowship among staff; the

Doreen Brady Memorial Award which is

presented annually to a member of the

Ottawa-Carleton Unit of OECTA who has

made an outstanding contribution to OECTA

at the local and/or provincial levels; the

Elizabeth Patch Memorial Award which is

given annually to a teacher demonstrating

a high level of professionalism and

commitment towards Catholic education

and service to his or her community; the

Sylvester Quinn Memorial Award in the

amount of $1,000, which is presented to one

graduating student in each Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic High School to assist him or her

in pursuing a post-secondary education.

(Sylvester Quinn was a superintendent

of the former Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board who was an

outstanding educator and leader

exemplifying the qualities of servant

leadership. Upon his death in 1982, the

local unit of OECTA established the

Sylvester Quinn Memorial Award as a

tribute to his tremendous contribution to

education and dedication to the well-being

of those he served); and a Teacher Education

Grant Fund initiated by the Ottawa-

Carleton Unit to encourage and support

members who are taking courses. There

are ten grants of $600 each available to

teachers; the Dr. William Crossan Memorial

Bursary is presented to a student enrolled

in the Bachelor of Education program at

the Faculty of Education of the University

of Ottawa. The recipient must demonstrate

interest in teaching in the Catholic school

system, motivation in selecting the field

of education as a career choice, and

financial need.




The following historical perspective

of special education both

provincially and in the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board has been

prepared by Michael Baine, Superintendent

of Special Education and Student Services.

The delivery of programs and

services to students with various

“exceptionalities” has undergone dramatic

changes in the past 50 years. These changes

reflect similar experiences throughout

Ontario and, indeed, North America.

While all school boards and districts have

witnessed these changes, Catholic school

boards in Ontario have had an even more

unique history.

Up to the 1950s, parents of

children with various disabilities were fairly

much on their own in finding educational

placements. Other than some provincial

schools for students who were deaf and/or

blind, parents often had no alternatives for

their children. After 1950, a number of

boards and schools did implement a variety

of special programs and in many cases,

they were exemplary. However, because

students did not have a legal right to

services, the availability of special programs

was inconsistent in some areas and totally

lacking in others. Faced with severe

financial inequities, Catholic boards in

Ontario were particularly without special


During the 1960s and 1970s, a

number of developments were taking place

throughout North America. The Civil Rights

Movement, advances in research and socialpolitical

movements to close various

residential institutions for people with

developmental, physical and mental

disabilities started to impact on the

education scene. The philosophy of bringing

all people into the mainstream and into

publicly funded organizations, like school

boards, was strongly advocated by numerous




groups and individuals. There were

increases in the number of specialized

programs for students with disabilities and

these programs were modeled along the

latest research on how students learn. Still,

Catholic school boards lagged behind their

public school counterparts, given financial


With the passage of Bill 82 in

Ontario in 1980, all the rules changed. For

the first time, all students, regardless of

their disabilities, had a legal right to attend

publicly funded schools. This momentous

legislation created changes in practice and

policy which continue to the present day.

Later, Ontario initiatives such as Regulation

181 in 1998, which compelled boards to

consider regular classroom placement as

a first consideration, quickened the pace

of more fully including students with

disabilities into their own community

schools. The lines between “regular” and

“special” education became blurred and the

philosophy of “inclusion” became the Ontario

Government’s guiding direction. The

resource document, Education for All,

released in 2005, firmly established the fact

and philosophy that students with special

needs are and should be included in the

regular classrooms of Ontario.

Catholic school boards, after the

passage of Bill 82 in 1980, were under the

same legal obligations to provide programs

and services as other school boards; however,

a continuing funding disparity delayed the

legislation’s full implementation in Catholic

schools. With full funding to Catholic high

schools in 1984 and fair funding in 1998,



when grants became the same for every

student in Ontario, Catholic school boards

were able to fully meet the needs of all their


In the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board and its predecessor boards, the

provincial history, described above, played

itself out in a similar fashion. Until the

advent of fair and equal funding, a process

beginning in 1984, Catholic high school

students with disabilities received most

of their special education programs in

the coterminous public school board.

That transfer of students no longer occurs.

A strong history of cooperation and

collaboration has existed among all the local

school boards in Ottawa and continues to

the present. Programs for students with

developmental disabilities were designed

according to needs and offered by the boards

for students regardless of their jurisdiction.

The Dependently Handicapped Program and

the Assessment Kindergarten Classes were

offered by the Catholic boards, while the

public boards provided specialized settings

at Crystal Bay and Clifford Bowey Schools.

While this sharing continues today, even

without the inter-board political

organization of the past, boards have

continued to develop programs so that all

their students can stay within their own

community schools alongside their siblings

and friends.

Undoubtedly, the delivery of

special education programs and services

will continue to evolve in the years to come.

The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

proudly celebrates its inclusionary practices

and has made them the Board-wide focus for

2004-06. A three-year (2006-09) “roadmap,”

outlining where the Board will go next with

regard to special education, will be released

for consultation in the fall of 2006 to help

ensure that the Board continues to provide

the best possible programs for all of its


Continuing and Community

Education programs for

elementary and high school

students as well as adults, have been

provided by Catholic school boards in the

Ottawa area since the 1980s. The Ottawa

Roman Catholic Separate School Board

and the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board both offered these educational

opportunities, with their efforts being

combined at the time of their amalgamation

into the new Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board in 1998.

For the CRCSSB, continuing

education was offered through a section

within the Board’s Program Department.

At first, much of the continuing education

focus was on free summer camps and

partial-credit language courses. In

September 1989, as a result of the growth of

continuing education programs, the Board

set up a Continuing Education Department

under the direction of Superintendent John

McGuinness with Mike Matthews as

Principal, Maria Makrakis as Administrator,

Kathy Hodgins as Executive Secretary and

Diane Valiquette as Secretary. The Futures

Program began in the Spring of 1990 and

the English as a Second Language program

followed, along with the adult classes and

other programs.

Through the current Continuing

and Community Education Department,

residents of Ottawa-Carleton are able to

access classes in more than 30 international

languages at both the elementary and

secondary school levels. Also provided are

adult English as a Second Language classes,

language instruction for newcomers, literacy

and basic skills, credit courses through both

night and summer schools, and numerous

general-interest classes and summer camps.

The three locations where adult

schools are operated as of 2006 are as







1. St. Patrick’s Adult School,

290 Nepean Street, Ottawa

St. Patrick’s Adult School opened

its doors in January 1991 and by year’s end,

it had 550 students registered. The school

provides English as a Second Language

(ESL) instruction at every level from literacy

and beginner to advanced, as well as Test

of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)

preparation, English as a Second Language

with computers and Language Instruction

for Newcomers to Canada (LINC). The LINC

program is funded by Federal Government

grants and provides child care for children

ranging in age from six months to five years.

There is also transportation support for

newcomers who are in need. In addition to

the ESL and LINC programs, classes are

also available in the area of literacy and

basic skills for adults wishing to improve

their reading and writing skills in

preparation for life in society and the

workplace. St. Patrick’s Adult School is a

vibrant, busy place with classes operating

from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. almost 12 months of

the year.

2. St. Joseph’s Adult School,

330 Lajoie Street, Vanier

The St. Joseph’s Adult School

program was located at 20 Graham Avenue

in 1996. In September 2001, it was relocated



to its current site. Like St. Patrick’s Adult

School, St. Joseph’s Adult School provides

all levels of English as a Second Language,

literacy and basic skills. In addition, child

care is provided for those students on social

assistance who need such services. Until

2005, Language Instruction for Newcomers

to Canada (LINC) classes were also provided

at this school. While the student population

of St. Joseph’s Adult School is not as large

as that at St. Patrick’s, the school provides a

valuable service to the newcomer, immigrant

population in the areas of Vanier and the

east end of Ottawa. The school provides

classes in the morning, afternoon and

evening, all offered at a convenient location.

3. Queen of the Angels Adult School,

1461 Heron Road, Ottawa

Queen of the Angels Adult School

began as a partnership with the Canadian

African Solidarity. In September 1993, the

Canadian African Solidarity was able to

lease two classes at 1461 Heron Road to run

two Language Instruction for Newcomers to

Canada (LINC) classes, both with child care

services provided. By 1994, the remaining

rooms on the second floor of this facility

were filled with learners taking English as

a Second Language and English as a Second

Language skills programs. By April 1995,

Queen of the Angels Adult School was fully

engaged with programs and services for

newcomers and immigrants. Evening classes

were also introduced. In the Fall of 2005,

two portable classrooms were added to this

site in order to accommodate the growing

number of classes and the needs of the

students. Queen of the Angels Adult School

continues to offer English as a Second

Language and English as a Second

Language skills programs, along with

child care services.

An adult school was operated at

St. Agnes School at 18 Louisa Street in

Ottawa from 2000 to 2005. It was the

successor of the St. Andrew’s Adult School

located at 1119 Lazard Street in the west

end of Ottawa which had been in operation

since 1992. St. Andrew’s was initially opened

by the Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate

School Board as a result of requests from

both the Carlington and Pinecrest

Queensway Health and Community Centres

which saw a need for the emerging

immigrant population of those areas to have

access to an English as a Second Language

(ESL) program in the west end of the city.

St. Andrew’s Adult School, in fact, offered

not only ESL classes but it was also the site

for Language Instruction for Newcomers to

Canada (LINC) classes and ESL co-op credit


When the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board was formed in 1998,

and in light of the new provincial rules

regarding funding and pupil places in school

facilities, it was decided that the adult

school program at St. Andrew’s would be relocated

to St. Agnes School on Louisa Street.

The doors of St. Agnes Adult School were

opened for the first time in the Fall of 2000.

At the beginning, the enrolment numbers

were encouraging, but as time went on, it

became evident that the newcomer

immigrant population served by St. Agnes

Adult School was in decline. In June 2005,

St. Agnes Adult School closed its doors

permanently and the site was sold by the

school board in 2006.



(since amalgamation in 1998)

Michael Strimas

John Karam

Thomas D’Amico

John McGrath

Eugene Milito

Central Staff at the Time of

Amalgamation in 1998

Shailja Verma, Administrator

Maria Makrakis, Administrator

Jill Lyons, Secretary to the


Judy McCool, Secretary

Maureen McGovern, Secretary

Paula Cavan, Clerk

Olive Nelson, Secretary

Ginette Centen, Secretary

Staff Achievements

Maria Makrakis has received the

Ottawa Citizen Literacy Award.

Trudy Lothian has received the

Canada Post Literacy Award and the Ottawa

Citizen Literacy Award. Shailja Verma has

received the Y’s Women of Distinction

Learning for Life Award, the Ottawa Citizen

Literacy Award and the Teaching English

as a Second Language (TESL) Ontario

Silver Pin.



Continuing and Community Education


The Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board has received a ten-year plaque

from Citizenship and Immigration Canada

for providing Language Instruction for

Newcomers to Canada (LINC) programs

through the Continuing and Community

Education Department.

St. Nicholas Adult High School

officially began to serve the adult

community in September 1992 and

is presently operating from two sites: a west

campus at 893 Admiral Avenue (the former

St. Elizabeth Catholic School) and a central

campus at 20 Graham Avenue (the former

Canadian Martyrs Catholic School).

The school took its name from

an elementary school that had previously

occupied the Lotta Avenue premises where

it began. This elementary school, opened

in September 1953, was the first teaching

apostolate of the Sisters of Holy Cross in the

City View area of Nepean. As an adult high

school, it is designed to meet the needs of

mature students, that is, those who are

18 years of age and over, in order to assist

them to earn the necessary credits to receive

their Ontario secondary school diploma, or

to improve their grades, or to acquire the

necessary prerequisite courses to enter a

certain college or university program.

On average, about 735 students

attend St. Nicholas Adult High School at

any one time, obtaining a credit upgrade,

taking a prerequisite course or seeking

a graduation diploma. The school offers

close to 100 different courses taught by

21 teachers. There are more than

130 graduates each year who receive their

Ontario secondary school diploma. Indeed,

the graduation ceremony is by far the most

significant event that takes place at the

school as it represents the culmination of

the hopes, the dreams, the tears and

thousands of hours of hard work by the

students, teachers, counselors, support staff

and others, helping these adult learners

achieve their goal.

Many graduates of St. Nicholas

Adult High School have gone on to

successful professional careers and lives.

For example, one former student writes

a regular column for a daily newspaper,






another runs a successful local business,

and another continues to actively advocate

for street children in Paraguay and to

provide resources for them. Two former

students are, in fact, now teachers with the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board.

St. Nicholas Adult High School is

committed to providing the academic and

personal support required by older learners

in their quest to achieve scholastic success.

This approach requires mentoring and a

flexible method of curriculum delivery. The

range of curriculum models used increases

immeasurably the chances of the adult

learner meeting his or her personal goals.

Students study in classes

supported by teachers who have specialties

in a number of disciplines.



New programs being implemented

in the 2006-07 school year include a preapprenticeship

program, English as a

Second Language credits and on-line


Present Principal

John Karam

Past Principals

Mike Matthews

John Karam

Tom Duggan

Brent Wilson

Present Vice-Principal

Mary-Ellen Agnel

Past Vice-Principals

Paul Wubban

Tom Duggan

Peter Atkinson

First Teaching and Support Staff

Dawn Quigley

Marc Orzel

Noella Chisholm

Anna Main

Sue Casey

Cathy Flynn

Jane Foster


The logo for St. Nicholas Adult

High School is circular, featuring three

students in silhouette over an open book.

At the top of the crest is the phrase

“Committed to Lifelong Learning” while

the school name, “St. Nicholas Adult High

School” is at the bottom of the logo. The

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board logo

is also featured on the school logo.

Formal, institutionalized governance

of Catholic education in the Ottawa

area began with the creation of the

Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate School

Board in 1856. Since that time, there have

been trustees entrusted with the governance

of Catholic education, led by a Board


It is acknowledged that there were

Catholic school boards, either governing

certain “school sections” in areas outside

the former City of Ottawa, or in existence

prior to the creation of the Carleton Roman

Catholic Separate School Board in 1969, in

areas such as Nepean, Richmond, Gloucester

and Metcalfe. As with a number of other

historical matters, such as the history of

closed Catholic schools, data related to the

boards that predated the Carleton Roman

Catholic Separate School Board will be

sought in the future and included in updates

and revisions of this publication.

For now, the following list includes

only the chairpersons of the Ottawa Roman

Catholic Separate School Board, the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board and the current Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board.

Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate

School Board

The first archives of this Board were

destroyed by fire so there are gaps in this

listing, particularly between the years 1858

and 1887.

1856-57 .....Henry James Friel

1863 ..........Father John O’Connor

1864 ..........J.W. Pealhy

1888-90 .....J.C. Enright

1890-92 .....Ed Smith

1893 ..........E. Lavoie

1901 ..........A.E. Provost

1902 ..........G.A. Lizotte

1903 ..........J. McGuire



1904 ..........C.J. Bettez

1906 ..........Joseph McLaughlin

1911-12 .....H.F. Sims

1913-30 .....Samuel Genest

1391-32 .....Domitien Robichaud

1933-34 .....Philip Phelan

1935 ..........Albert Perras

1936 ..........Adelard Chartrand

1937-38 .....Edward V. McCarthy

1939-40 .....Adelard Chartrand

1941-42 .....Edward V. McCarthy

1943-44 .....Adelard Chartrand

1945-46 .....Edward V. McCarthy

1947-48 .....Adelard Chartrand

1949-50 .....Edward V. McCarthy

1951 ..........Louis Charbonneau

1952 ..........Adelard Chartrand

1953-54 .....Frank M. Peters

1955 ..........Arthur Desjardins

1956 ..........Roger N. Seguin

1957-58 .....Frank M. Peters

1959-60 .....Roger N. Seguin

1961-62 .....Frank M. Peters

1963 ..........Roland Beriault

1964 ..........Frank M. Peters

1965-66 .....Pierre Mercier

1967 ..........Frank M. Peters

1968 ..........C. Frank Gilhooly

1969-70 .....Pierre Mercier

1971 ..........C. Frank Gilhooly

1972 ..........Pierre Mercier

1973 ..........Rita Desjardins

1974 ..........Gisele Lalonde

1975 ..........Paul Kelly

1976 ..........Gisele Lalonde

1977 ..........C. Frank Gilhooly

1978 ..........Florian Carrière

1979 ..........Roberta Anderson

1980 ..........Lucien Dagenais

1981 ..........Jack McKinnon

1982 ..........Florian Carrière

1983 ..........Don Murphy

1984 ..........Lucien Dagenais

1985 ..........John Connolly

1986 ..........Florian Carrière

1987 ..........John Connolly

1988 ..........André Champagne

1989 ..........Bonnie Kehoe



1990 ..........Jack McKinnon

1991-93 .....Betty-Ann Kealey

1994-97 .....Jim Kennelly

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate

School Board

1969 ..........C. Basil MacDonald

1970 ..........Rene Lefebvre

1971 ..........Lorne Gignac

1972 ..........Leo Coté

1973 ..........Vernon Zinck

1974 ..........André Richard

1975 ..........Suzanne Krygsman

1976 ..........Fernand Godbout

1977 ..........James Colton

1978 ..........Rodrigue Landriault

1979 ..........Yvonne O’Neill

1980 ..........Denis Bertrand

1981 ..........Joseph Mangione

1982 ..........Rodrigue Landriault

1983 ..........C. Basil MacDonald

1984 ..........Rene Lefebvre

1985 ..........Hugh Connelly

1986 ..........Jocelyne Ladouceur

1987 ..........Mel Thompson

1988 ..........Gerald Quesnel

1989 ..........C. Basil MacDonald

1989-92 .....Arthur J.M. Lamarche

December 1989-November 1992

1992-94 .....Anne Stankovic

December 1992-November 1994

1994-97 .....June Flynn-Turner

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

1998 ..........Ronald P. Larkin

(term ending December 1998)

1998-99 ....Arthur J.M. Lamarche

1999-2000 .June Flynn-Turner

2000-01 .....Arthur J.M. Lamarche

2001-02 .....Thérèse Maloney Cousineau

2002-04 .....June Flynn-Turner

2004-05 .....Betty-Ann Kealey

2005-06 .....June Flynn-Turner

The Director of Education

Commendations honour significant

contributions to the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board by teaching and

administrative and support staff. Recipients

of these commendations are individuals who

have demonstrated a commitment to the

Board and have worked tirelessly to enhance

the school system for students. These

commendations, presented annually during

Catholic Education Week, have been awarded

since the 1991-92 school year when they began

as part of the Honours and Awards program of

the Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board. The commendations have continued in

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

since its creation in 1998.

Past recipients of Director of Education



Roger Allard

Ronald Avon

Father Paul Baxter

Clement Beaugé

Marilyn Beckstead

Sheila Burnett

Pierre Chartrand

Joanne Cooke

Julien Deladurantaye

Claude Dubois

Vera Gallant

Paul Gibson

Russ Grant

Carmel Horan

Frances Ilgunas

Vicky Jacobson

Jean Laplante

Jessie McMahon

Patricia Moore

Barbara Morneau

Noreen Murphy

Stella Owens

Cecile Prodonick

Mae Rooney

Eleanor Taylor







Lionel Barbe

Sandie Bender

Maurice Charron

Jim Dale

Terry Flynn

Italo Graziani

Sonja Karsh

Bernadette MacNeil

Ida Marcille

Dr. Charles Murray

Phyllis Perry

Rene Ryan

Leona Watters

Brent Wilson


Pauline Barbary

Hellen Bogie

Carole Collins

Tracy Crowe

Nuala Durkin

Carmelle Faucher

Rolland Lanthier

Joanne LaPlante

Robert LeBlanc

Jeri Lunney

Jean McKenna

Lucy Miller

Mary Ellen Nolan

Pat Scrim

Patricia Yaternick




Terry Carter

Mary Ann Dunn

Greg Hurley

Margaret Imbleau

Ken Kurs

Pierre Lalonde

Gerry Leveque

Peter Linegar

Peter MacKinnon

John McGovern

Ann Read

Carol Rutledge

John Shannon

Linus Shea

Dolores Wojtyna


Jane Buck

Helen Coulombe

Bob Curry

Varda Deslandes

Ann Heide

Carol Hennessy

Susan Henry

Ronald Larkin

Yvonne Lyons

Janet Plunkett

Michel Rozon

Joe Ryan

Sandra Tischer

Ralph Watzenboeck

Helen Whitehouse


Jacquelyn Arsenault

Dorothy Collins

Teresa (Betty) Dubien

Joanne Farnand

Nicole Frechette

Anna Galla

Rochelle Lafontaine

Louise LaSalle

Maria Ioannou-Makrakis

Terrence Murphy

Delle Nizman

Roy Pellatt

John Podgorski

Kathleen Robillard

Remo Zuccarini


Ghislaine Blais

Carl Cameron

Pamela Cassidy

Murielle Cayouette

Gerry Clouthier

Anne Conway

Laurent Couture

Dwight Delahunt

Donald Doyle

Mary Gauthier

Michael Keeler

Elizabeth Klassen

Linda Larkin

Denis Lortie

Carla MacGregor

Bernadette Murphy

Christopher Murphy

Sharon Murphy

Wendy Patenaude

Maureen Speer


Yvonne Benton

Lyle Bergeron

Cicely Berry

Dennis Boucher

Rheal Bourgeois

Darlene Charron

Anne DesRoches

Helen Despatie

Dale Henderson

Jolanta Kania

Micheline Leroux

Francis Liu

Bonnie McGilchrist

Anne-Marie McGillis

Jean-Pierre Meunier

Anne Moore

Tina Rudkoski

Helen Sheehan

Rodney Thompson

Mary Wyard



Marilu Armstrong

Michael Blood

Marc Brown

Eldon Currell

Helena Daly

Ann Escott

Claudia Fillion

Bill Fox

Joseph Friske

Margie Gourdier

Helen Halligan

Jeanne Joinette

Sister Daniela Kolak

Bogdan Kolbusz

Eugene Michaud

Ray Monette

Silvio Rigucci

Elizabeth Rock

Sister Frances Romanucci

Yvonne Whalen


Denise Andre

Glenda Archer

Toni Bacchi

Josephine Bolechala

Bernita Capstick

Margie Chaput

Al Dufour

Rachelle Giroux

Mike Kennedy

Denis Lascelle

Len Mayer

Gina McAlear

Sister Marilyn Paterson

Patricia Phalen

John Power

Alison Purdy

Wendy Reynolds

Cathy Sheridan

Julie Swords

Ernie Wilson




Nancy Beddoe

Joyce Brule

Richard Chabot

Dante Falsetto

Joyce Bryson Fleury

Helen Gordon

Lynne Grandmaitre

Barry Lemoine

Colleen MacDonald

Patricia McRae

Mary Moss

Leslie Parent

Deb Robinson

Manon Seguin

John Shaughnessy

Carol Thibault

Claudette Touchette

Nancy Villeneuve

Karen Walkowiak

Helene Worden


Tom Beckett

Denis Bussieres

Claire Caron

Marty Carreau

Thomas Charlebois

Helene Coulombe

Betty Craig

Rosemarie Dubois

Pierre Gougeon

Patricia Koeslag

Daniel Lahey

Mary Lemoine

Nicole Levesque

June McCaffrey

Debbie Plante

Roberto Santos

Betty Sharland

Bob Shaw

Faith Silver

Bernie Swords


Jacques Cardinal

Paula Cavan

Joan Clark

Angela Cosgrove

Susan Davidson

Nancy Du Vall

Michel Fortin

Karen Gorr

Eileen Johnson

Laura Justinich

Alexa Lapalme

Agnes Lee

Janet Matthews

Donna McGrath

Elaine McMahon

Kenneth Mendes

Jean-Guy Mercier

Shawna Morgan

Rosann Mullins

Christina Murdock

Cheryl Murphy

Helene Roy

Susan Marie Vail

Doug White



Bill Anderson

Tony Arthur

Terri Bolster

Elizabeth Bolton

Tammy Doyle

Connie Drew

Sheila Forman

Pius Walter Gratwohl

Karin Guite

Frank Harris

Ken Kary

Terri Kelly

Claude Lafleur

Joanne Laframboise

David Leach

Sandra Mackay

Norma McDonald

Nancy McLaren

Bonnie McLaurin

Rick Moss

Joe Mullally

Brenda Mulvihill

Elinor Pouliot

Diane Spenard Bruce




Annette Bajraktari

Mary Byrne

Rosalie Carroll

Greta Chase

Abai Coker

Jane Foster

Catherine Gillis

Ted Gillissie

Joanne Gosselin

Kathy Hodgins

Shelley Lawrence

Greg Mullen

Peter Murray

Richard Peters

Suzanne Poirier

Heather Reid

Carrolle Rothwell

Mary Stanton

Cathy Vachon

Paul Voisin

Chris Wakefield

Maureen Watkin

Anna Yates

Barbara Zanon

While it does not have a long history,

having opened in September 2002,

All Saints High School is gaining

renown through its actions, and already has

a long litany of social justice initiatives

and projects which the students have

undertaken. Since its opening, All Saints

High School has adopted St. Elizabeth School

in Ottawa as its sister school and has

supported it in various ways, including

providing the elementary school with over

4,500 books for its literacy program.

An annual event at All Saints

High School is its craft fair. The proceeds

from this event go to support St. Angela’s

Community Centre in Brazil, as well as

St. Elizabeth School in Ottawa. In the spring

of 2003, the All Saints multi-media prayer

studio supported the Canadian Catholic

Organization for Development

and Peace through the production of an

interactive Lenten calendar. This project

received a certificate of honour from the

organization. The Lenten calendar is

currently used across Canada and


All Saints High School supports

an annual 24-hour famine experience

called “Thinkfast,” which is sponsored by

the Canadian Catholic Organization for

Development and Peace. Every May in

honour of Mother’s Day, All Saints hosts

a baby shower, with gifts donated to

St. Mary’s Home. Annually as well, the Music

Department arranges visits to homes for

seniors and feeder schools in the community,

where the students share their gift of music.

During the Christmas season, students

provide baskets that include food and gifts

for needy families in the community. They

have also begun a tradition of traveling to

the Dominican Republic to experience

conditions in a developing nation. In

September 2004 and again in 2005, All

Saints High School students participated in

the Terry Fox Run, raising over $40,000 for





5115 Kanata Avenue

Kanata K2K 3K5


cancer research. In January 2005, in

response to the tsunami disaster, which

struck Southeast Asia, the school collected

$20,000 to support relief efforts in the area.

All Saints High School draws

students from the Kanata North area as

well as from West Carleton. It offers a wide

range of academic programs. Students are

also able to participate in more than

25 interscholastic sports and 30 clubs and

activities, including student council,

yearbook, improv, an environmental group,

a school band, peer helpers, peer mentoring,

a chess club, peer tutoring and an early

intervention program.



All Saints has seen its students

succeed at various levels. In 2005, Simon

Pek placed fourth in a national debating

competition. In 2004-05, Malyha Alibhai was

a finalist in the Canadian Merit Scholarship

competition, a scholarship which recognizes

Canadian students who demonstrate

superior academic achievement and who

make an outstanding contribution to the

community. Also in 2005, Madeline Marsh

won the top prize in a provincial writing

contest sponsored by the Ontario English

Catholic Teachers’ Association.

The school has concert bands, vocal

groups, jazz bands and small ensembles, all

of which perform at music competitions such

as Musicfest and the Kiwanis Music Festival.

In 2004, and again in 2005, All Saints grade

8 students participated in the Skills Canada

Marsville competition to showcase their

abilities in robotics, animation, mechanical

engineering and technology. They have won

gold and silver medals in these competitions.

All Saints High School has fielded

numerous sports teams in its brief history.

The junior boys’ soccer team won the

National Capital Championship title in 2004.

The school opened on September 3,

2002, with Monsignor Leonard Lunney

presiding at the official ceremony on behalf

of Archbishop Marcel Gervais. The school

was built on land in Kanata North, which

was previously owned by the Whalen family.

A mature spruce tree at one time growing on

the property immediately to the west of the

school bore a plaque with an inscription

indicating that it had been planted by the

Whalen family on VE Day in 1945.

The school’s first graduation

ceremony took place in June 2004. To

commemorate the event, the class of 2004

built a rock cairn entitled “Cairn of Hope” at

the front of the school, into which they

placed a time capsule.

All Saints High School, created to

relieve overcrowding at Holy Trinity in

Kanata and at Sacred Heart in Stittsville,

was named following a process which

involved input and extensive consultation

among students, staff, parents, school council

and trustees regarding potential choices.

The names of many saints were among the

suggestions that came forward. Ultimately,

“All Saints” emerged as the clear favourite.

All Saints High School features the

same high school design by architect Edward

Cuhaci that was used for Holy Trinity

Catholic High School, Kanata’s first Catholic

high school, and which has been used by the

Carleton Roman Catholic School Board and

now the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board as the design for all its new high

schools. Each time, the design is improved

in some respects and in the case of All

Saints, this meant an increased number

of classrooms on the second floor, achieved

by encroaching on the trademark central

atrium feature of the design. Besides

numerous classrooms, All Saints also has

a chapel, two large gymnasiums, four

computer labs, seven science labs, a graphics

room, a library, two music rooms, a dance

studio, a fitness room, a drama room and

an electronics shop.

The school has continued to grow

in enrolment since its formation, thanks to

ongoing and steady residential growth in

the Kanata North area. Portable classrooms

have now sprouted up at the school to

accommodate this burgeoning student

enrolment. A 30-room addition to the school

is now in the planning stages, with an

expected opening in September 2007.


Present Principal

Joseph Mullally (2005-present)

Past Principals

Joan Clark (2002-05)

First Teaching and Support Staff

Tony Adams

Barry Agnew

Barb Arnold

Danielle Baillie

Virginia Bedecki

John Bender

Rejeane Bone

Jeff Boucher

Catherine Bourgon

Rosa Cammara

Todd Campbell

Joan Clark

Joanne Costanzo

Anne Delahunt

Michelle Deveaux

Leslie Diack

Sandy Dos Santos

Carolyn Druve

Valerie Forte

Kate Fournier

Stephanie Gonsalves

Joanne Gosselin

Carmen Hillary

Ryan Hobbins

Nicole Houle-Pukanich

Anne Hudson

Angela Hussey

Trevor Kirtz

Vanessa Kirtz

Patricia Koeslag

Liana Krauthaker

Joanne Lachapelle

Oriana Laderoute

Randy Ladoucer

Richard Larock

Kai Lee

Tara MacNeil

Tracey MacPherson

Elizabeth Mahan

Daniel Marcil



Graham Mastersmith

Michael McHale

Shawna McSheffrey

Chad Morreau

Mary Morris

Shawn Murphy

Michel Nadeau

Danielle Novak

Michael Nugent

Cheryl Orzel

Anthony O’Sullivan

Pino Pasqua

Frederic Pepin

Angela Pignat

Kathlene Pomfret

Kevin Porter

Suzanne Raymond

Kerry Rodgers

Bonnie Russell

Jennifer Scrim

Raymond Shea

Gwen Simonds

Gloria Sobb

Dung Tang

Anne-Marie Tapply

Karen Timmons

Chris Todd

AnnMarie Vanneste

Deanna VanZeeland

Richard Walker

Christopher Ward

Claire Wilson

Theresa Wood

School Colours

The founding students, staff and

school council chose the school colours of

silver, blue and burgundy.


Dei Gratia (The Grace of God)



In 2005, in keeping with a Nordic

theme, All Saints students chose the Yeti as

the school mascot.

Team Names

The Avalanche

Home Gymnasium

It is called “The Summit.”



Significant Events

In 2005, All Saints High School

was chosen as the location for the official

“kick off” event for the implementation

of the “Eat Smart” program in Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board high

school cafeterias.

The school’s grades 7 and 8 boys’

touch football team won the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic Intermediate Athletic

Association Championship title in both 2003

and 2004.




Assumption Catholic School has

existed as a beacon of Catholic

education for English-speaking

students in the Vanier area for half a

century. Its beginnings can be traced to

September 1926, according to records of

student registrations. The early students

attended classes in a hotel, which was

converted for use as a school near the site of

the present day Assumption Catholic Church

on Olmstead Avenue in Vanier. In those

early years, the school accommodated

students from Grades 1 through 8. The

Grey Sisters of the Immaculate Conception

became associated with the school in 1934,

with four classrooms of girls being taught

by them while the Christian Brothers taught

four classrooms of boys.

It is not known if the school was

initially named Assumption or not, since

the school predates the founding of the

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Parish in Eastview. It seems obvious,

though, that it was the same concerns of the

English-speaking Catholics of Eastview with

regard to practicing and learning about their

Catholic faith in their mother tongue that

brought about both the school and the

church at about the same time period. The

Catholic parents were concerned about their

children attending the public school and not

being exposed to Catholic influences. Thus,

the Catholic school was established in 1926.

Similarly, the English-speaking

Catholics, who numbered about 118 families

by the beginning of the 1930s, petitioned

Archbishop William Forbes for their own

parish as well, stressing their need for proper

religious instruction in their own language.

Assumption became a mission in August 1931,

and was raised to the status of a full parish

in October 1932. The church community

purchased a building known as the Assembly

Hall on Savard Street and this was used as a

temporary church, until the new building was

completed in 1940, on property on Olmstead




236 Lévis Street

Vanier K1L 6H8


Avenue that had been acquired as early as

1932. The new Assumption Church was

blessed by Archbishop Alexandre Vachon in

December 1940.

The original Assumption School,

which came under the jurisdiction of the

Eastview Catholic School Board, a separate

entity from the former Ottawa Roman

Catholic Separate School Board, was struck

by tragedy in 1948 when it caught fire on

a Sunday evening. Students were taught

in the basement of Assumption Catholic

Church until a new school could be built.

The official blessing of the new Assumption

School took place in March 1950 even



though the school was obviously not totally

completed, since blackboards were borrowed

for the event from a school in Renfrew and

were returned promptly following the


Over the years, Assumption School

has become known for its love of music as

demonstrated by the school choir, for the

offerings of its drama club, for its acceptance

of the challenge to improve the literacy and

numeracy levels of its students, and for its

many sports and athletics activities. Several

unique initiatives have been undertaken at

the school. One example is the Knitting Club

directed by Sister Barbara Ryan. Another is

the Little Beaver Club, a noontime program

designed to increase understanding between

aboriginal and non-aboriginal children.

A rich sense of community permeates the

school community.

Present Principal

Ann-Louise Revells (2006-present)

Past Principals

Sister Ann of the Cross (1940-51)

Sister Theresa Kelly (1969-83)

Alex Nagle

Alan Morissette

Michael Kloepfer (1989-94)

Pearl Lavigne-DeMillo (1995-99)

Simone Oliver (2000-02)

Eileen Maychruk

Early Teaching Staff

(dates are when the staff members started at

the school)

Violet Duford (1934)

Angelina Duford (1934)

Sister Mary Noreen (1934)

Sister Mary Lawrence (1935)

Sister St. Denis ( 1936)

Sister St. Helen (1937)

Sister Catherine of the Cross (1939)

Sister Ann of the Cross,

Principal (1940)

Sister St. Monica (1941)

Sister Mary Rose (1942)

Sister St. Brendan (1944)

Sister Francis Maurice (1944)

Sister Anne Louise

Sister St. Hilda

Sister St. Mary Gabriel

Anna Kessels

School Colours

The school colour is a rich,

brilliant blue reflecting the robes in which

the Blessed Virgin is traditionally adorned.


The school logo is a circle in which

there is a stylized cross which forms one

side of the letter “A.”

Order of Canada Recipient

Sister Ann of the Cross, who was

Principal of Assumption School from 1940

to 1951, worked in the Dominican Republic

from 1951 to 2000, where she established

the first education system known in that

area. She was awarded the Order of Canada

in February 1994, by Governor-General

Ramon Hnatyshyn for her contribution to

education in both Canada and the

Dominican Republic.

Sister Barbara Ryan

After her retirement as the

Librarian at Immaculata High School in

1991, Sister Barbara Ryan volunteered to

work daily at Assumption School, serving

as librarian, reading coach, knitting club

director and staff advisor.


Former Student

Bernard “Bunny” McCann, who

died in September 2006 at the age of 86,

attended Assumption Catholic School, as did

his 16 children who are known for their

musical abilities. Bunny himself had a

lifetime filled with accomplishments:

recipient of the Governor General’s Caring

Canadian Award; recipient of the Royal

Canadian Legion’s Dominion Command

Palm Leaf; Governor of the Loyal Order of

Moose Branch 1765; Moose of the Year

(2004); member of the Royal Canadian

Legion Branch 462 for over 50 years;

founding member of Action Vanier; life

member of the Institut Canadienne

Francaise; a member of the Knights of

Columbus Conseil 5571; a member of the

Vanier Optimist Club; and a Vanier City


Peer Mediators

Dale Matsubara, a teaching

assistant at Assumption School, established

peer mediators at the school in 1992. This

initiative has flourished right up to the

present time.

Little Beavers’ Club

Queenie McPhee, an aboriginal

woman who, as a volunteer, was very

involved with the life of students at

Assumption School, established a link

between the school and the Wabano Centre,

which still exists today. The Wabano Centre

for Aboriginal Health is an urban, non-profit

community-based healthcare centre on

Montreal Road providing programs and



services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis

peoples. One of its mandates is to promote

community building through education and

advocacy. She established a noon program

called the “Little Beavers’ Club” for both

aboriginal and non-aboriginal students. Here

they can learn how to do beadwork and

crafts and learn about native legends. Each

year a First Nations banquet is held

featuring beaver, deer, caribou, blueberry

cake and fiddlehead ferns. There is also

a sweet-grass ceremony. Queenie McPhee

was instrumental in promoting pride in the

gifts and wisdom of Inuit, Metis and First

Nations cultures. After her husband’s death,

she ceased being a volunteer at the school.

An Early Christmas Concert

This is a story that is told about

one of the first Christmas concerts held in

the original Assumption School, a converted


Reportedly, Sister Anne, who was

responsible for the Christmas concert at that

time in the early history of the school, asked

some of the male students who shared the

premises, albeit in separate classrooms, to

obtain a Christmas tree for the concert.

The boys apparently made their way over to

Notre Dame Cemetery where they obtained

their Christmas tree. The boys delivered the

tree to Sister Anne in no time. Sister Anne,

prudently perhaps, did not question the boys

about where they had obtained the tree but

merely remarked on the beauty of the blue

spruce, which went on to adorn the stage at

the Christmas concert that year.

Bayshore Catholic School is special.

It is not the newest, most modern

school, having opened in

September 1966. It is not the biggest school,

having a student enrolment of 149 students

in the 2005-06 school year. It is not the

wealthiest school, as it relies on partner

schools to provide financial help for special

items such as student agendas and field

trips, and as it is a frequent recipient of

special funding for program support and for

literacy and numeracy initiatives. Bayshore

Catholic School is so very special because

those at the school — students and staff —

are able to make a difference by being

associated with others with special needs

and disabilities and thus to practise the

Gospel values in their everyday school lives.

Since 1985, Bayshore Catholic

School has been home to a dependently

handicapped class. Its presence in the school

has allowed both students and staff to

understand the challenges of dependently

handicapped students and to treat them

with respect and dignity as children of God.

Bayshore Catholic School also houses a

primary learning disabilities system class,

a half-day program. As of 2005, the school

houses two McHugh School behavioural

classes — one primary and the other junior.

Students with severe behavioral difficulties

from both Catholic and public schools in the

Ottawa area attend these Crossroad classes.

Bayshore Catholic School is also

special because it is the learning environment

for many students for whom English is a

second language. Because it is located within

an urban rental community, there are

sometimes economic and involvement issues

for the families that are part of the school

community. The school community views this

as an opportunity to make a difference in

lives and to put Catholic beliefs into practice.

For instance, Bayshore Catholic School has a

food cupboard for students who come to

school without breakfast, lunch or snacks.




50 Bayshore Drive

Nepean K2B 6M8


Parents are welcomed at the school

and particularly enjoy attending school

functions in which their children are

highlighted. Parental involvement in parent

council and school-focused meetings is not

as robust as at school functions. But caring

principals, an involved staff and students

who reach out and include others are

traditional at Bayshore Catholic School and

make it a special place, not in spite of its

challenges but because of them.

The school takes its name from

the Bayshore area of Nepean in which it

is located. Indeed, the nearby, well-known

Bayshore Shopping Centre has become a



community partner of the school, paying for

paving the access to the play structure area

in the schoolyard. The school is within the

St. Martin de Porres Parish boundary and,

over the years, Masses were held at the

school as part of the regular Sunday routine

of the parish. This practice ceased about ten

years ago.

Bayshore Catholic School has

a number of regular events which have

become school traditions, such as annual

Christmas concerts, heritage dinners during

Education Week, a Christmas gift sale,

pancake suppers on Shrove Tuesday, a

Halloween party and a year-end barbecue.

Present Principal

Austin DeCoste

Past Principals

Starr Kelly

Marie Kennedy

Robert Slack

Sherri Swales

Bonnie McLaurin

Mary Moss

Dwight Delahunt

School Colours

Blue and yellow


The school logo is circular,

featuring a cross, the initials “BCS” and

the school name.

Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic

School in the Orléans South area of

Gloucester had its beginnings due

to overcrowding at Our Lady of Wisdom

School. This overcrowding, along with

increased population growth in the Chapel

Hill and Chateauneuf areas, made it

necessary for the Carleton Roman Catholic

School Board to open the “annex of Our

Lady of Wisdom” in September 1984, housed

in the former Ecole Saint François School

on Innes Road. This annex operated for two

and a half years until the new Blessed

Kateri Tekawitha School was established

on Beausejour Drive in Orléans. The official

opening ceremony for the school was held

on April 29, 1987.

The school is named after Blessed

Kateri Tekakwitha, an aboriginal Canadian

who was elevated from venerated to blessed

status in June 1980, by Pope John Paul II.

Blessed Kateri Tekawitha School

has three kindergarten classes, five junior

classes, six primary classes, a computer

lab, a library and a gymnasium. Student

enrolment in the fall of 2005 was over

300 students.






6400 Beausejour Drive

Orléans K1C 4W2




Present Principal

Marilyn Hanley

Past Principals

Kevin Mullins (oversaw the school

as an annex to Our Lady of

Wisdom Catholic School)

Robert Laplante

Greg Peddie

John Delorme

Jim O’Connor

Patricia Morden-Kelly

Ben Vallati

First Teaching and Support Staff

Carolyn Bordeleau

Tracy Crowe

Darlene Danis

Line Douglas

Jodie Ingels

Luce Mercier-Coburn

Chuck Orifici

Marie Lafrenière, Secretary

Marcel Dubeau, Custodian

School Colours

Red and gold


Cross with flowers draped across it

Other Features

A carved wooden statue of Blessed

Kateri Tekakwitha is in the school lobby.

A painted banner depicting Blessed

Kateri Tekakwitha hangs in the school lobby.




Brother André is one of the newer

names for an Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board school but

the school itself is far from new. In fact,

the school community was created in 1975.

While the construction of the new school

on Elmridge Drive in Gloucester was being

built, its students were housed in two

different locations. Students from Senior

Kindergarten through Grade 6 were housed

on the second floor of St. Gabriel’s, a nearby

French school; the junior kindergarten

pupils, meanwhile, were accommodated at

Thomas D’Arcy McGee Catholic School.

In May 1976, the students and

staff at these two separate locations came

together as they moved into their new school

facility. The official opening did not take

place until one year later. The school was

built at a cost of $958,685.03, with Zygmunt

J. Nowak as the architect. Construction,

which was designed to house 411 students,

commenced in October 1975. The completed

facility would contain two kindergarten

rooms, a special education room and nine

regular classrooms. The school was built in

a multi-level format as the architect

designed the building to complement and

follow the rocky and hilly terrain of the

school property.

The community and staff were

asked to suggest names for the new school.

The name “Elmridge” was selected because

it reflected its location on Elmridge Drive.

After thorough consultation within the

community, the school was renamed Brother

André Catholic School at an official and

solemn ceremony that took place on May 27,


Brother André was associated

with the school in the years leading up to

this renaming. During the school’s

25 th anniversary celebrations in May 2002,

Brother André was chosen as the patron

saint of the school. At the Education Week





1923 Elmridge Drive

Gloucester K1J 8G7


Mass that year, Brother André prayer cards

and medals were blessed by Father Richard

Siok and distributed to each student. Later,

a large statue of Blessed Brother André and

smaller statues for the prayer table in each

classroom were blessed by Monsignor

Leonard Lunney. The large statue was

placed in the foyer of the school, surrounded

by a new showcase designed by student

representatives from Junior Kindergarten to

Grade 6. Painted tiles represented the seven

values in the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board’s strategic plan, “Believing,

Discovering, Achieving.” The students began

learning about the life of Brother André. In

June 2002, grades 3 to 6 students traveled



to Montreal to visit Brother André’s museum

and Saint Joseph’s Oratory, the shrine that

was built on the strength of this religious

Brother’s faith.

At one time, the school had about

500 students, necessitating four portable

classrooms in the playground area. However,

1986 was the last year that a portable was

needed at the school. In its 25 th anniversary

year, school enrolment stood at

approximately 300 students.

With the formation of the

amalgamated Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board in 1998, and with the new

school funding approach instituted by the

Provincial Government, there were a

number of school consolidations and closures

as the Board tried to rationalize its use of

space. The Elmridge Catholic School

community made presentations and lobbied

the Board to keep the school open, as it had

been suggested for closure. The community

was successful in this effort to preserve its

local Catholic elementary school.

Over the years, a variety of

activities and events have helped create

school spirit and traditions, and develop

a sense of community at the school. These

have included a staff versus grade 6

basketball game, an Advent family Mass at

St. Gabriel’s Church, family dances on such

occasions as Halloween and Valentine’s Day,

a meet-the-teacher barbecue, a Christmas

play by grade 1 students, a Red Lobster

breakfast with a visit from Santa Claus, a

mentoring program by students from Lester

B. Pearson Catholic High School, and a

breakfast program. The school community

has also supported a variety of charities

such as the Children’s Hospital of Eastern

Ontario and the Terry Fox Run.

Present Principal

Anne Noseworthy

Past Principals

James MacPherson

Sister Rita McBane

Hugh Marshall

William Tomka

Mary (Armstrong) Moss

Patrick Jennings

Maurene Atherton

John Dorner

First Teaching and Support Staff

Claudette Lapointe

JoAnn Cazabon

Jane Barkley

Doug Colwill

John Lalonde

Kathy Smilie

Sharon Johnston

Sister Rita McBane

Rose Brossard

Tina Bloess

Linda McNeely

Judy Brown, Secretary

Gerry Boisclair, Custodian


School Colours

Blue and white


The school logo for Elmridge

Catholic School has been a giant “E” with

a heart, a cross and a pen.

Former Students

John Morris, Canadian Junior

Curling Champion Skip


Jason Lachance, Paralympic

Longtime Custodian

Rick Delaney has been the

custodian at Brother André Catholic School

since 1981.

School Mission Statement

In the 2005-06 school year, staff at

Brother André Catholic School, as part of a

school success planning initiative, developed

a school mission statement: “Brother André

Catholic School… learning and growing in




Memorable Move

In May 1976, when students and

staff were moving from St. Gabriel School

to the new school facility on Elmridge Drive,

Teacher Jane Barkley remembers walking

over with her 28 senior kindergarten pupils,

carrying books and puzzles, with everyone

filled with excitement about moving into the

new school. When they arrived, they

discovered that all of the classroom

furniture, including tables and chairs, were

still in their boxes. Mrs. Barkley remembers

having to arrange the furniture on her own

while also keeping her 28 excited, energetic

five-year-old pupils under control. It made

for a memorable move-in for her and her


Chapel Hill Catholic School bears its

community’s name, which is very

appropriate since the school prides

itself on community involvement.

The Chapel Hill School community

is involved in outreach programs such as

Christmas hampers, an annual clothing

drive and a Christmas angel tree program.

Each year the school community raises

funds for the Canadian Hunger Foundation,

contributing anywhere from $4,500 to $7,500

annually to this global outreach initiative.

Other fundraisers throughout the year

at Chapel Hill Catholic School include

donations to the United Way as well as to

worldwide relief efforts. The school’s parent

community contributes to school life through

involvement with such programs as early

literacy, the school library and a hot lunch


Chapel Hill Catholic School is an

active place, with a focus on fitness through

quality daily physical education. Its

intramural and school team programs are

designed to allow maximum participation

and to follow the school motto, “Be the best

you can be.”

Chapel Hill Catholic School shares

the community’s name because it was the

first school built in the area. A neighbouring

public school was built a short time after

Chapel Hill Catholic opened in 1987. It was

named Chapel Hill Public School. Confusion

was inevitable. What added to the confusion

was that both schools were on the same

street, Forest Valley Drive in Orléans,

separated only by a park. This led to

numerous mix-ups in mail delivery and

visitors so it was decided that one of the

schools should change its name. Since

Chapel Hill Catholic School was built first,

it retained its name while the public school

was renamed Forest Valley Public School.





1534 Forest Valley Drive

Orléans K1C 6G9


The construction and opening of

Chapel Hill Catholic School resulted from

the continuing residential growth in the

area. First, Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha

Catholic School was created, branching

off from Our Lady of Wisdom. Its official

opening was in April 1987. Chapel Hill

Catholic School was the next one

constructed, branching off in turn from

Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha. The official

opening took place in April 1988, just one

year after the inauguration of Blessed

Kateri. Indeed, several teachers and a

significant number of students went through

both of these school changes before ending

up among the original staff members and



students at Chapel Hill Catholic School.

The students and staff of Chapel Hill were

housed at Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha for a

while beginning in September 1987, until

their new facility was ready for occupancy.

Several memorable events have

occurred at Chapel Hill Catholic School. In

2001, the Canadian Hunger Foundation

celebrated its 40 th anniversary. To mark the

occasion, a celebration was planned and held

at the school due to the school’s annual

fundraising for the organization. In attendance

at this celebration was the Honourable

Mitchell Sharp in his capacity as founder. In

2005, Chapel Hill Catholic School received a

visit from Prime Minister Paul Martin,

accompanied by Ottawa-Orléans Member of

Parliament Marc Godbout. They were at the

school to attend celebrations and activities

relating to Earth Day. Their visit drew

considerable media attention, providing both

local and national exposure for the school.

Present Principal

Katie Kenny

Past Principals

Floriana Albi

Judy Sarginson

Grace Kenny-Castonguay

Basil Tomlinson

Diane Jackson

Paul Lahey

First Teaching and Support Staff

Lynn Charette

Jane Scott

Kathleen Kenny

Carol Polnicky

Chris Brady

Debbie Quail

Suzette Nadon

Carole Parent

Diane Jackson

Rosemary Schouten

Lou Massey

Lorraine Hubbs

Former Students

Stephanie Poon graduated as a

heart surgeon in April 2006.

Katherine Poon is scheduled to

graduate as a brain surgeon in April 2007.


School Colours

Red, white and black


The logo is an elongated shield

featuring a cross, a star and the school





“Be the best you can be!”


The school mascot is a panda bear

named “Chappy.”

The construction of Convent Glen

Catholic School in Orléans not only

provided a much needed home for

students, but also provided the first location

for the new church community called Divine

Infant, the forerunner of Divine Infant


Growing enrolment at Our Lady

of Wisdom School resulted in Convent Glen

Catholic School opening in 1977 in a porta-pak

complex on Grey Nuns Drive. It

consisted of five classrooms in total, with

only one washroom that was shared by both

students and teachers. There was also a

staff room that doubled as a storage and

meeting room. For the 1978-79 school year,

a second stand-alone port-a-pak was added

at the site to accommodate the increasing

enrolment. For gym and library sessions,

students were bused to Our Lady of Wisdom


The new Convent Glen Catholic

School on Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard was

finally occupied in September 1979, with the

official opening held later, on May 25, 1980.

The name of the school is derived from the

name of the community in which it is

located. The opening of the new school not

only provided a home for the students and

staff but also became the first home of the

newly-established Divine Infant Church

community, which had been established in

September 1979, under the leadership of

Father Michael Hurtubise; to provide

English-speaking Catholics in Orléans with

their own church, thus relieving the

overcrowded, bilingual St. Joseph’s Parish.

Masses were held at Convent Glen Catholic

School until September 1981 when the

location was changed to St. Matthew Junior

High School, near the future site of Divine

Infant Church. The Divine Infant Church

community became a parish in 1983, and

the new church was completed and blessed

in 1987.





6212 Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard

Orléans K1C 2M4


Meanwhile, Convent Glen Catholic

School was developing its own traditions and


A shaggy brown dog named

“Copper,” christened by Mrs. Cotes’ grade 1

class, was the school’s mascot and attended

all of its sporting events. Grey and burgundy

became the school’s colours.

A strong sense of community has

pervaded Convent Glen Catholic School

since it began. Two former students, Romina

Lombardi and Krista St. John, are now

teachers at the school. Ken Vowles, a

veteran and former parent, still makes



Remembrance Day presentations at the

school. Parents with students no longer

at the school return to volunteer. School

secretary Barb Foley’s children attended

the school.

Convent Glen Catholic School has

a myriad of extracurricular activities such

as the Grade 6 Leadership Program, and

Peacemakers. There are other clubs for

chess, dance, bridge, and primary and junior

choirs, and there is a milk program. Quality

daily physical education is emphasized and

students play intramural team sports daily.

Interscholastic teams include cross-country

running, volleyball, basketball, ultimate

Frisbee, touch football, handball and track

and field. Advent and Lenten projects,

liturgical services, the Arts, a spring concert,

Education Week activities, winter and spring

play days, Remembrance Day services, a

volunteer appreciation event, and support

for UNICEF and the United Way are some

of the other activities which define Convent

Glen Catholic School as a hive of living and

learning. Over the years, special events at

the school have included ski trips, camping

trips, a harvest moon family dance,

Winterlude activities, a spring fun fair,

Christmas concerts and musicals. Since

2002, Convent Glen Catholic School has

hosted one of the two Robodome classrooms

in the Board. Robodome is a program in

which grade 5 students build Lego robots

to develop their problem-solving and

thinking skills.

Convent Glen Catholic School

today also hosts primary and junior learning

disabilities classes.

Present Principal

Patricia Morden-Kelly

Past Principals

Robert Laplante

Joanne LaPlante

Dr. Margaret McGrath

Joan Gravel

Robert Benning

Paul Wubben


First Teaching and Support Staff

Robert Laplante

Susan Rheaume

Rosina Davis

Colleen Plante

Norma Menard

Georges Lajeunesse

Martine Bealne

Faye Powell

Betty Sharland

Dan Charbonneau



School Colours

Burgundy and grey


The oval logo features a cross

overlaid with the letters “C” and “G”

representing Convent Glen, surrounded by

the school name “Convent Glen Catholic

School.” The cross represents Our Lord.

The logo was the result of a contest held at

the school.

Corpus Christi Catholic School and

its predecessor, St. Matthew, have

provided Catholic education to

families in the Glebe area since 1900. In

that year, St. Matthew School, the original

small, two-room school on the site at Fourth

Avenue and Lyon Street opened, serving the

four lower grades.

St. Matthew expanded with the

growth of the area and, at the time of the

formation of Blessed Sacrament Parish in

1913, the school needed to rent a two-room

annex at the corner of Bank Street and First

Avenue so that all of the primary grades

could be accommodated. Enrolment at

St. Matthew in 1913 was 186 students.

From 1913 through to 1920, the

classes were taught by members of the Grey

Sisters as well as by lay teachers. In 1916,

enrolment at St. Matthew had grown to

259 students. This necessitated the

construction of another classroom, bringing the

total to six. Beginning in 1920 and continuing

until 1928, the students were taught by the

Sisters of St. Mary, as well as by lay teachers.

Continuing growth in the area in

the 1920s meant that construction of a

larger school became necessary. In 1926,

a new school containing eight classrooms

was built and named Corpus Christi

Catholic School. H.J. Morin was the

architect and Henri Dagenais served as

the contractor for the $47,600 school. It is

believed that this new Corpus Christi School

probably opened in October when the lease

on the annex premises at Bank Street and

First Avenue expired. The construction of

this new school did not mean the demolition

of the original St. Matthew building. It

continued to be used as part of Corpus

Christi School for another 40 years until it

was eventually razed in 1967.

The name of the school emerged as

a result of a spiritual connection to the new





157 Fourth Ave

Ottawa K1S 2L5


Blessed Sacrament Parish. Some time after

the parish was established in 1913, an

annual procession on the feast of Corpus

Christi concluded with Benediction being

held on the grounds of St. Matthew School.

Since the new school was being built on

these same grounds and its construction

was commencing soon after the feast day,

“Corpus Christi” seemed to be a most

appropriate choice.

From 1930 through to the 1970s,

the students at Corpus Christi School were

taught by the Grey Sisters of the Immaculate

Conception and by lay teachers. The parish

was involved with the school in these early



years. In 1933, for instance, it spent $200 for

Bible pictures that were used in Catechism

classes at the school. Both Bible history and

Catechism were taught at this time by two

assistant priests from Blessed Sacrament.

Much was happening at Corpus

Christi School in the 1930s. There was an

annual Christmas concert. A motion picture

machine was purchased in 1935. Mary J.

Waygaman donated 20 volumes of books to

the school library in 1936, the same year

that an electrical Victrola was purchased for

the school. French-language instruction

began at the school in 1936. In 1937, Grade

9 was introduced at the school, and a rotary

class system began. Shop equipment was

installed, as well as more equipment in the

Home Economics class that was completed

in 1938, consisting of a dining area, sewing

area and combined kitchenette and laundry.

A radio was purchased for the school. In

1941, a school rink was constructed in the

boys’ play yard. This would appear to have

paid dividends as the school’s intermediate

hockey team won the McKinley Trophy in

1945, playing for coach Max Rowan.

Following World War II, the Glebe

area continued to experience residential

growth, especially by young families. This

created the need for a six-room addition

designed by architect R. Thibault. But even

with this addition, the school was not large

enough, necessitating plans for a major


In 1967, the St. Matthew School

building was torn down, making room for

the new north wing and gymnasium of the

school. E. J. Cuhaci was the architect for

this project. In 1977, Corpus Christi Catholic

School held its 50 th anniversary celebration.

The event’s activities included sculptor John

Tappin working with the students to make

fibreglass totem panels which were mounted

on the new light panels, in the main hall of

the school.

In 1988, major renovations took

place at Corpus Christi Catholic School.

These included replacement of windows,

doors and the heating system. In 1991, an

Earth Day initiative at the school was the

installation of a community recycling depot

in the parking lot.

In 1994, new play structures were

built in the schoolyard thanks to the effort

of the parents. This was followed in the year

2000 by the construction of a shared play

structure with neighbouring Mutchmor

Public School. The year 2000 was also

special for Corpus Christi Catholic School

as the choir sang for author Margaret

Atwood when she received the key to the

City of Ottawa at an event at the nearby

Glebe Community Centre.

Corpus Christi Catholic School

community continues to be active. In

February 2002, students made Valentine

cards and took them to the Ottawa Heart

Institute. In 2004, the team from teacher

Triona White’s grade 5-6 class won the

catapult contest at the Science and Technology

Museum in Ottawa. This was the same

year that the first Blues in the Schools

performance took place at Corpus Christi

School. Also in 2004, the school’s students,

along with students from 20 other schools,

created paintings depicting winter, which

were displayed at 240 Sparks Street in



Present Principal

Monica Kerwin


Sister St. Teresita (1930-33)

Sister Frances Morris (19??-53)

Sister Mary Stanton (1953-5?)

Sister Mary Patricia (195?-65)

Sister Mary Stanton (1965-??)

Sister Theresa Kelly (19??-74)

Doreen Brady (1974-78)

James McStravick (197?-81)

John Knoble (1981-86)

Anthony Charbonneau (19??-9?)

John Shaughnessy (199?-95)

Lucille Pummer (1996-99)

Jim Rogers (1999-2003)

Bonnie McLaurin (2003-2006)

Teaching Staff in 1930

Sister St. Teresita, Principal

Miss O’Grady

Miss Searson

Miss Gogins

Sister Frances Margaret

Sister Maureen

Miss O’Connell

Miss McCready

Miss Kelly

Sister Jane Frances

Daniel O’Connor, Custodian

Mr. Godbout, Attendance Officer


Former Students

Brian Smith, professional hockey

player from 1960 to 1973 including playing

for the Los Angeles Kings and Minnesota

North Stars of the National Hockey League

and for the Houston Aeros of the World

Hockey Association. He was also well known

locally as a sports broadcaster with Ottawa

television station CJOH from 1973 until his

tragic death in 1995 when he was murdered

by a deranged gunman in the station’s

parking lot.



Patrick Hayes of the Ottawa Police

Department received the Order of Merit of

the Police Forces in 2002, the first Ottawa

police officer to receive the award, which

recognizes officers for conspicuous merit and

exceptional service. An inspector in 1999,

he was the officer in command of the police

response unit at OC Transpo headquarters

when four OC Transpo employees and their

shooter died. After 35 years of service, he

was the most senior member of the Ottawa

Police Department.

Garry Guzzo served on the City

of Ottawa Council and as a Progressive

Conservative MPP in the Legislative

Assembly of Ontario from 1995 to 2003.

A lawyer by profession, he also served as

a provincial court judge.

Maureen Lafontaine and Helen

McCloskey won the National Prize for essays

on topics of Irish history in 1942.

Theresa Picher won the National

Prize for essays on topics of Irish history in


Frank Dunlap became an Ottawa

lawyer. He also played in the Canadian

Football League and went on to become a

commentator on radio broadcasts of Ottawa

Rough Rider football games.

School Colours

Green and grey or white


The Corpus Christi School logo

features a cup of wine and loaves of bread

representing the body and blood of Christ.

The cup and loaves are superimposed over

a stylized crucifix.


The only known school song is a

playground chant dating from the 1950s . . .

Corpus Christi, Corpus Christi

Sitting on the fence,

Trying to teach Mutchmor

A little bit of sense.

Honour Roll

The school has an honour roll with

the names of all of the graduates of Corpus

Christi School who served overseas in the

army, navy or air force. Among those who

died in World War II were Andrew

McKenna, Gerald Mansfield, Francis

Quinlan, Kelliker Player, Robert McMillan,

Stuart MacDonnell, Robert Bradley, Homer

Courtright, Joseph Courtright, Eric Post,

Michael Leary, Kenneth Sheehan, Alex

Cameron, Blake Dennison, William Murphy

and James Williamson.

Priests from Corpus Christi

Corpus Christi School students

who went on to become priests include

Fathers Larose, Maloney, Lowry, Brennan,

Frank Freney, George Courtright, and

L.A. Costello.


A Teacher Writes

I taught at Corpus Christi School

from 1988 until 1993. I really enjoyed my

experience there with the school’s

cosmopolitan flavour, a stark contrast from

the homogenous groups that I had taught

previously, especially in Northern Ontario,

namely in Cobalt and Iroquois Falls.

While at Corpus Christi School,

I accepted the responsibility to coordinate

the liturgical life of the school, something

which I enjoyed, especially because I had

the full cooperation of the staff.

Whatever the occasion, I would

choose the readings and then consult with

Patti Murphy and Debbie Niemenen, the

guitarists, to choose the appropriate hymns.

It was then easy to lead the singing, backed

up by these two excellent musicians.

Whether the event was in the gym

or at the nearby church, Blessed Sacrament,

the teachers whose students were chosen to

do the readings would help the children

prepare for the occasion. And, at all times,

we had the blessing of the principal.

I remember my time at Corpus

Christi School with much fondness.

Jeanne Marceau-Joyal



Originally named Chatelaine

Village Catholic School for the

first few months of its existence,

Divine Infant Catholic School was renamed

and blessed at its official opening on May 5,

1982. It took on the name of the newlycreated

Divine Infant Church community,

which was to become a parish the very next


The Divine Infant Church

community was established in September

1979, first holding services at Convent Glen

Catholic School and then at St. Matthew

Junior High School.

The school, which opened in

September 1981, was designed by architect

E.J. Cuhaci. Paul D’Aoust Construction Ltd.

was the builder for the Carleton Roman

Catholic School Board.

Over the years since its opening,

Divine Infant School has raised thousands of

dollars for the Heart and Stroke Foundation,

the Holy Childhood Association, the United

Way, UNICEF and the Canadian Hunger

Foundation. This has been done through

special activities such as “Jump Rope for

Heart” and Lenten and Advent projects.

This generosity of spirit in serving the local

and global communities continues. In

December 2004, the tsunami in southeast

Asia caused untold devastation, and when

the Divine Infant students returned to

school after the Christmas break, they

wondered what they could do to help those

in need. The grade 4-5 class, under the

direction of Teacher Dan Rigley, took the

lead in creating a “Buck or Two Sale” in the

gymnasium. The school community was

invited to bring in books, toys, videos and

other items that they no longer wanted or

needed. Funds raised were donated to the

Canadian Red Cross for tsunami relief. All

donations were matched dollar for dollar

by the Canadian government. Volunteers

emerged from everywhere on their own





8100 Jeanne d’Arc Boulevard

Orléans K1E 2E1


initiative to assist students and staff in

setting up this sale which resulted in the

raising of over $2,000.

Another example of the inclusive

and generous spirit, which continues to

pervade Divine Infant, happened in 2005

after a student was diagnosed with the same

type of cancer as Terry Fox. In honour of

both the 25 th anniversary of the Terry Fox

Run and of the student, the school held an

event entitled “Run for Hannah.” The school

community pitched in, and over $3,510 was

raised for the Canadian Cancer Society.

But this was not the end of it. When the

community learned about the situation, a



parent, Mrs. Christina Lyons, launched an

initiative to assist Hannah’s family by

cooking meals for them. She developed a

two-month schedule and advertised for

volunteers in the school newsletter. Not

only did people sign up to cook meals, but

a freezer was donated to the family so that

the meals could be preserved.

A number of interesting events

have happened at Divine Infant over the

years. In November 1982, a baptism took

place in the school library. Mrs. Cindy

Simpson, a teacher at the school at that

time, arranged to have her daughter, Sarah,

baptized by Father Michael Hurtubuise who

was in charge of the Divine Infant church

community. Father Hurtubise later became

the first pastor of Divine Infant in March


In 1990, Mila Mulroney, the wife

of Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney,

visited Divine Infant School to speak to the

students about cystic fibrosis. At that time,

Divine Infant had a student suffering from

the disease. The school community

presented a cheque in the amount of $3,500

to Mrs. Mulroney during her visit to the

school. In January 1991, a fellow student,

Kelly Robin Edwards, was killed in a school

bus accident. A painting was commissioned

in her honour, and hangs in the school

hallway. In the 1990s, Daniel Massey, a

custodian at the school, was killed in an

automobile accident. His memory is

preserved by means of a plaque in his

honour, which is displayed on the wall in

the school foyer.

Present Principal

Kimberly Giles

Past Principals

Andrew McKinley

Richard Dittman

Sam Coletti

Kevin Mullins

Lyle Bergeron

Gerry Coulombe

Cindy Simpson


First Teaching and Support Staff

Marjorie MacKay

Marie Chambers

Cindy Simpson

Christina Van Vugt

Murielle Cayouette

Carol Wheeler

Real Gagnon

Theresa Lucas

Deborah Barbaro

Marie Chambers

Shirley Dostaler

Terry Lucas

Adriana DeWaal, Special


Janet DeMurs, Educational


Judy Prest, Librarian

Jacquie Lapratte, Secretary

Felix Robertson, Custodian

Maurice Rozon, Custodian



Staff Recognition

Jill Lamont received the Daniel

Kelly Athletic Award in 1999.

Marilyn Doucette received the

Bernadette MacNeil Award in 2005. This

is an award given by the Ontario English

Catholic Teachers’ Association (OECTA).

School Colours

The school colours were originally

orange and blue. They were later changed

to blue and white.


The school logo was designed by

a student through a contest organized by

the school council under the principalship

of Cindy Simpson.

Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic School

bears the name of a legendary

supporter of, and advocate for,

Catholic education in the City of Ottawa.

For many years, Dr. F.J. McDonald,

a medical doctor, was the inspector of

separate schools in Ottawa. His work and

contributions to Catholic education were

such that the Board named the school in

his honour.

Dr. McDonald became convinced

that the efforts and achievements of

separate schoolteachers were neither

understood nor appreciated. In 1930, under

his leadership, separate schoolteachers in

Ottawa set up their own local organization

to make professional and economic gains.

However, Dr. McDonald believed that a

provincial organization would benefit all

Catholic teachers in the province, but it took

several years to achieve this. Dr. McDonald

consulted with other separate school

inspectors across the province. They

encouraged the teachers to form a provincial

teachers’ organization. Support from the

clergy and religious congregations teaching

in Ontario was also forthcoming, leading

eventually to the formation of the Ontario

English Catholic Teachers’ Association


The school was in operation for

more than two years before it was formally

renamed Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic School

on December 14, 1970.

The first few years for the school

were anything but calm. Originally opened

at the nearby St. Leonard Catholic School on

Rob Roy Street in the Pinecrest-Queensway

area on September 3, 1968, it moved to its

permanent site on Ahearn Avenue at the

end of September that year, bearing the

name Britannia Bay Catholic School.

However, even at this permanent site, the

students were housed in portables until the

end of September 1969, when the new school


DR. F.J.



2860 Ahearn Avenue

Ottawa K2B 6Z9


facility finally opened. Z.J. Nowak was

the architect. More than a year later, on

December 14, 1970, the school was formally

renamed in honour of Dr. McDonald.

The school celebrated its 25 th

anniversary in 1993. At this memorable

event, an anniversary Mass was followed

by a reception attended by Board Trustees

as well as by Ottawa Roman Catholic

Separate School Board Director of Education

George Moore.

Other memorable events have

taken place. In June 2005, students visited

nearby Mud Lake, an environmental gem



and a local conservation area along the

Ottawa River. Students celebrated its

upgrading made possible by their

development of a science area. The school,

along with a local conservation group, helps

promote respect for Mud Lake. A grade 6

class met with Canadian astronaut Marc

Garneau at Ottawa City Hall where he

received the key to the city. The school was

chosen as the home base for the Rag and

Bone Puppet Theatre from 1987 to 1990.

This theatre group, associated with an

artists-in-residence program, staged many

performances for the school and students

visited the group’s workshop at the school

for creative arts instruction.

Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic School

is home to a nursery school as well as a

child/adult drop-in centre. The Pinecrest-

Queensway Community group leases space

from the school board, running a daycare

program for the community.

Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic School

was one of eight Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board schools that in 2005-06 raised

approximately $6,000 in total for the “OK

Clean Water Project.” This project (OK

stands for Ottawa-Kumbo, a town in

Cameroon in Africa) is an initiative of

the Congregation of Notre Dame, an

international religious community of Sisters

and associates. The “OK Clean Water

Project” supports the purchase of water

pipes, which are laid from a clean water

source into their communities by villagers

in Cameroon.

Dr. F.J. McDonald Catholic School

has a kindergarten room, six regular

classrooms, a gymnasium, a computer lab

and a library.

Present Principal

John Legree

Past Principals

Gregory Daly

Douglas Goodwin

James Morrison

Philip Butler

John Dorner

Michael Blimkie

Marcel Lafleur

Brian T. Kelly


Teaching Staff in 1971-72

Phyllis Shearer

Louise LeMoine

Jeanne Fortier

Mrs. B. Chapman

Miss Shields

B. Burant

Diane Grison

Miss L. Doherty

Brent Gilmour

Winnifred Trudel



Family Connection

Dr. F.J. McDonald’s daughter,

Carolyn Watson, was a teacher, retiring from

Bayshore Catholic School.

School Colours

Green and gold


The school logo features a giant

“M” on top of a sunrise-starburst featuring

a cross and a banner with the name “Dr. F.J.

McDonald Catholic School.”

For almost 40 years, Frank Ryan

Catholic Senior Elementary School has

been the scholastic home of adolescents

making the transition from elementary to

high school. This grades 7 and 8 school

opened in September 1968. Since then, it

has offered teaching expertise in all subject

areas, combined with a wide palate of

extracurricular activities, in athletics as well

as in clubs and groups. These scholastic

advantages have enabled students to grow

academically, while also living a two-year

school experience that lets them forever

remember being a “Royal.”

Being a “Royal” means attending

Frank Ryan Catholic Senior Elementary

School. Perhaps best known are the Royal

athletic teams, which, over the years, have

won countless championships in all sports,

offered by the school board. Effort,

sportsmanship and teamwork are

characteristics of Royal sports teams.

The school is named after the late

Frank Ryan, an Ottawa Valley native who

graduated from Queen’s University in 1927,

held a number of advertising and public

relations positions and eventually founded

CFRA Radio in Ottawa in May 1947,

followed by CFMO, Canada’s first FM

station, in 1959. This impressive resumé

is not in itself the reason that this school

in Nepean was named after him. Mr. Ryan

had stepped forward when war veterans in

the City View area of Nepean were unable

to find suitable property for an elementary

school. Mr. Ryan gave them the site on

Cordova Street between Lotta Street and

Rita Street where St. Nicholas of Tolentino

School was built. It was later, in recognition

of this generosity, that the new intermediate

school on Chesterton Drive was named in

his honour. He passed away in March 1965.

In 1968, Frank Ryan Catholic

Senior Elementary School was located in

an addition to Our Lady of Good Counsel, a





128 Chesterton Drive

Nepean K2E 5T8


kindergarten to grade 6 school, which had

opened in September 1965 on Bowhill Drive.

When Our Lady of Good Counsel closed in

June 1983, and the students relocated to

St. Gregory Catholic School, Frank Ryan

Catholic Senior Elementary School expanded

into the vacant space. This area of the school

is now known as “the west wing.”

Frank Ryan Catholic Senior

Elementary was built by Uni-Form Builders

Limited for the school board of the Roman

Catholic School Section 1 of Nepean, with

V.R. Zinck as Chairman, C.B. MacDonald

as Vice-Chairman, Y.A. Loubert, C.P. O’Neill

and R.C. Warren as Trustees and Mrs. J.S.



McMahon as Secretary-Treasurer. Zygmunt

J. Nowak was the architect for the project.

The students and staff of Frank

Ryan Catholic Senior Elementary School

have school-wide and classroom liturgies

and retreats to live out their Catholic faith.

In addition, they undertake fundraising for

charities and do community service. Parish

priests visit the school regularly to

participate in these liturgical celebrations.

The school’s chaplain serves as the liaison

between the school and the various parishes

in its attendance area.

The Turkey Trot of Hope was

initiated in 1981 by teachers William Fox

and Marie-Claire Rondeau. This charity

fundraiser, started in memory of Terry Fox,

marked the 25 th anniversary of his

Marathon of Hope in 2005 by raising

$32,000. This brought the total funds raised

by the Turkey Trot of Hope at Frank Ryan

Catholic Senior Elementary School to over

$500,000 over the course of the quarter


Present Principal

Debbie Clark


Bernard Reitz

Peter Gravelle

Peter Linegar

Bill Roach

Starr Kelly

Eileen Sametz

Andrew McKinley

Bert O’Connor

Lise St. Eloi

Gerald Mikalauskas

Deborah DeFinney


Gary Valiquette

Bogdan Kolbusz

Tom Duggan

Paul Fortier

Gilles Laperriere

Betty Craig

Patricia Moise

Brenda Wilson

Gerald Mikalauskas

Martine Mitton

John Legree

Paul McGuire (current)

First Teaching and Support Staff

William Fox

Marie-Claire Rondeau

School Colours

Royal blue, Carolina blue and gold


The school logo is a stylized shield

with a cross, along with a winged horse and

the initials “F” and “R.”



“Respect and Responsibility”

Frank Ryan Catholic School Letter

The Frank Ryan Catholic School

Letter, first awarded in 1981, is given

annually to certain graduating students who

have made an impact on life at the school

during their two years in grades seven and

eight. A recipient of this award must obtain

a minimum number of points during his or

her two-year period of attendance at the

school. These points are obtained by

maintaining an above-average academic

standing and through participation in

extracurricular activities such as sports and

clubs. The award consists of a letter as well

as a certificate, and is presented at the

school’s grade eight graduation ceremony in

June. Framed photographs of the recipients

of this award are displayed in the hallway

of the school.



Maureen Galla Christian Spirit Award

This award, named after former

school secretary, Mrs. Maureen Galla, has

been awarded at the school annually since

1981 to a graduating student who has

exemplified the teachings of Jesus Christ.

Georges Vanier Catholic School was

the first Catholic elementary

school to open in Kanata. The

school started in September 1967, with the

students initially housed at Our Lady of

Peace Catholic School in Bells Corners until

the new facility in the Beaverbrook area was

ready for occupancy. Georges Vanier Catholic

School eventually served as the “mother

school” for four other Kanata Catholic

elementary schools, which opened over

the ensuing three decades — St. Martin de

Porres, Holy Redeemer, St. James and

St. Anne, all of which were established with

students who had been attending Georges

Vanier. Because of the continuing growth in

its attendance area resulting in the creation

of other Catholic schools, Georges Vanier has

seen its student population fluctuate over

time, often creating the need for portable

classrooms. Georges Vanier Catholic School

has had up to eight portables on site prior to

the formation of another school such as Holy

Redeemer or St. James.

The school was named in memory

of Canadian Governor-General Georges

Vanier, who died in March 1967. Georges

Vanier was the first French-Canadian to

be appointed as Governor-General, serving

from September 1959 to April 1967. Born

in Montreal in 1888, he earned both the

Military Cross for bravery and the

Distinguished Service Order in World War I.

He rose to the rank of Major-General in

1942 and, after World War II, was appointed

Ambassador to France.

The school celebrated its 25 th

anniversary in 1992 with an event attended

by many former staff and students.

Over the years, the school has

been visited by numerous guest speakers

such as Canadian national basketball coach

Jack Donahue, Olympic gold medalist and

sports announcer Carolyn Waldo, champion

figure skater Brian Orser and CJOH-TV





40 Varley Drive

Kanata K2K 1G5


news anchor Max Keeping, as well as by

various members of the Ottawa Senators of

the National Hockey League.

Present Principal

Marcia Lynch


Greg Peddie

Russ Graham

Garry Valiquette

Margaret McGrath

Andy Groulx

Bert O’Connor

Robert Curry



Robert Slack

Ann Blier

Dwight Delahunt

Mary Moss

Diane Jackson

First Teaching and Support Staff

Grace Blimkie

Ed McHale

Pat Sterling

Bonnie Collins

Cheryl Carter

Elizabeth White

Fay Stalman

Nancy-Ann Cawley

Ann Read

Steve Newton

Danielle Jaworsky

Maxine Quilty

Mary Venier

Ann Publow

Former Staff and Students

Dr. Ruth Dempsey, a former

teacher at Georges Vanier, is a professor in

the Faculty of Education at the University

of Ottawa.

Alex Munter, a former student,

established a Kanata community newspaper

when he was 14 years old. It is still

published today as the Kanata Kourier-

Standard. Alex became a Kanata city

councillor and an Ottawa-Carleton regional

councillor as well as a City of Ottawa

councillor after amalgamation in 2001. After

his withdrawal from municipal politics, he

became a visiting professor at the University

of Ottawa. He has declared his candidacy for

Mayor of Ottawa in the November 2006

municipal election.

Paul Shepherd, current pastor of

Holy Redeemer Parish in Kanata

School Colours

The school colours are red and

white. These colours were chosen because

they are the colours of the Canadian flag.



The school logo has a stylized

initial “G” superimposed on the initial “V,”

with a maple leaf commemorating Canada’s

Centennial Year of 1967, the year in which

the school opened, and a cross in the

background. The white background and the

red outline of the logo reflect the school




Good Shepherd Catholic School in

Gloucester was created because of

the persistence of Catholics in the

community, determined to have their own

local elementary school. Once built, the

school became not only a vibrant, welcoming

community where the teachings of Jesus, the

Good Shepherd, fill its academic and social

life, but also its gymnasium became the

gathering place for Sunday Mass for

Catholics in the Blackburn Hamlet

community for over 25 years.

A Catholic elementary school in

Blackburn Hamlet was planned for some

time, but ongoing agitation by Catholics in

the community resulted in the school being

built sooner rather than later. Indeed, as

things turned out, with continuing growth

in the community and a burgeoning school

population, sooner turned out to be a wise


It all began in September 1970,

when the school, originally called Blackburn

Hamlet Catholic School, started not in its

own premises but in two separate temporary

quarters. The senior kindergarten to grade 4

students were housed in four portables at

Ecole Ste. Marie on Innes Road, while the

grades 5 to 8 students attended Thomas

D’Arcy McGee Catholic School. This is how

things remained until October 1971, when

students and staff moved into the new school

facility on Bearbrook Road. Shortly

thereafter, an official opening ceremony was

held on March 8, 1972. John Turner, federal

MP for the area at the time and a future

Prime Minister, attended the official opening

of the school.

The name of the school remained

unchanged until 1982, when Principal

Bernadette MacNeil and the community’s

priest, Father Cornelius Herlihy, suggested

that the school be renamed “Good Shepherd

Catholic School,” echoing the name that the

Catholic community of the area had chosen





101 Bearbrook Road

Gloucester K1B 3H5


for itself. This community had not only

fought for a Catholic school in the area but

was also strong in the belief that a new

parish should be established. Initially

Blackburn Hamlet was part of St. Ignatius

Parish, but in March 1970, Masses were

celebrated at the Glen Ogilvie Public School.

While not a parish in its own right until

1991, the Catholic community of Blackburn

Hamlet was granted its own identity early

on, including its name. In 1976, the Good

Shepherd Catholic community became

independent of St. Ignatius, with its own

resident priest-administrator. As of 1972,

Mass and other church-related activities

were being held in the gymnasium of the



Catholic school, as there were not yet the

funds to build a church. The church was

eventually built on Innes Road in 1998.

Once the school had been renamed

Good Shepherd Catholic School in 1982, this

new name was fully embraced by the school

community. Judi Sarginson, a staff member,

initiated a tradition of celebrating the

December 16 anniversary date of the

naming of the school by serving a Good

Shepherd coffee cake. The recipe for this can

be found in the Good Shepherd Catholic

Women’s League cookbook published in


Today, the Good Shepherd is

highlighted throughout the building. In

2001, three parents of the school community,

Anna Gut, Scarlett Russell and Beth

Mitchell, painted a Good Shepherd mural

in the main entrance of the school. A statue

carved by Jacques Bourgault was installed

there in 2003. Jacqueline Legendre-

McGuinty, a longtime trustee for the area,

traveled to Saint Jean Port-Joli in Quebec

to obtain the statue and deliver it to Good

Shepherd School. Each year, students at

Good Shepherd School sign class lambs,

which are placed around a picture of the

Good Shepherd situated on a wall in the

school library. The prayer table in every

classroom has a picture of the Good

Shepherd as well as a stuffed lamb.

The school mascots are three

stuffed lambs which were acquired in 2001

and named Nazareth, Minnie Me and Spike

by the students.

When Good Shepherd Catholic

School began, it was an open concept school

as was common at the time; however, in

1974, walls began to sprout up separating

the open concept area into individual


An addition comprised of a

kindergarten area and two classrooms was

added on the north side of the school in


Enrolment at the school continued

to grow. At one time, there were more than

700 students at the school, with 13 portables

on site.

The school became a partial

mother school for other new schools in the

area, such as Pineview Catholic School (now

John Paul II) in 1980, Chapel Hill Catholic

School in 1988, and St. Clare Catholic School

in 1993.

A class for developmentally

handicapped children was added to the

school in December 1987. In 1991, Gerald

Montplaisir, an artist and member of the

Arteast and Gloucester Art Council,

completed an acrylic painting entitled

Children During Recess – A Winter Scene

in Gloucester. The children whom he painted

in his work were students at Good Shepherd

Catholic School. A school assembly in 1992,

celebrating the anniversary of the World

Summit for Children, was attended by

Eugene Bellemare, the federal MP for the


Good Shepherd Catholic School

held its 25 th anniversary celebration during

the first week of December in 1996. Special

activities at this celebration included the

creation of a time capsule, a family

breakfast/school tour, special performances

for students and a Mass and reception with

a Christmas tree lighting ceremony. An

ongoing project during this anniversary year

was the collection of family recipes for the

publication of a Good Shepherd recipe book.

In 1998, a Good Shepherd student,

Lisabeth Ott, designed a certificate, which

students receive in the school’s “Thumbs Up”

assemblies, held monthly to recognize

student achievement. The students of Good

Shepherd Catholic School received a letter


from noted environmentalist David Suzuki

in 2003, acknowledging the respect that they

exhibited for the environment.

The mission statement of Good

Shepherd Catholic School is “to facilitate

excellence in Catholic education through

promoting a positive learning environment

that instills a sense of self-discipline,

respect, responsibility and love of learning.”

The students and staff at the school try to

work together to achieve this through

personal excellence in academics, sports

and extracurricular activities. In addition,

the school community tries to make a

contribution within the wider community,

reaching out to support worthy causes and

projects that make a difference.

Present Principal

Gloria Horan (2000-present)


Ada Theoret (1970-71 at Ecole

Ste. Marie)

Peter Johnston (1971-74)

Hugh Marshall (1974-80)

William Roach (1980-82)

Bernadette MacNeil (1982-85)

Lloyd Ambler (1985-89)

Mary-Pat Kelly (1990-92)

Sherry Swales (1993-97)

Paul Fortier (1997-2000)



First Teaching and Support Staff

September 1970 staff at Ecole

Ste. Marie site

Nicole Chartrand, Senior


Margaret McGrath, Grades 1

and 2

Marjorie Plunkett, Grades 2 and 3

Ada Theoret, Grades 3 and 4

September 1971 staff

Margaret McGrath, English


Shirley Dostaler, French


J. McIntyre, Grade 1

Wendy Hall, Grade 2

Nicole Chartrand, Grade 3

C. Barrette, Grade 4

Mary-Lou O’Brien, Grade 5

Rolly Lapointe, Grade 6

Sherryl Hunt, Grade 7

Richard McGrath, Grade 8

Lucien Morin, Custodian

Edith Turmel, Secretary

Staff Achievements

Principal William Roach (1980-82)

became a Superintendent of Education with

the Toronto Catholic School Board.

Mrs. Bernadette MacNeil,

Principal from 1982 to 1985, became the

first female superintendent with the

Carleton Roman Catholic Separate School

Board in 1985.

Teacher Ms. Michelle Hurley-

Desjardins won the Prime Minister’s Award

for Teaching Excellence in 2000.

Former Students

Dana Murzyn, a National Hockey

League defenseman with the Hartford

Whalers, Calgary Flames and Vancouver


Steve Guenette, a National Hockey

League goalie with the Calgary Flames and

the Pittsburgh Penguins

Denise Blinn received a Canadian

Comedy Award for Best Director in 2005.

Michael Curran is Regional

Director for the Ottawa Business Journal.

Student Eva-Andreanne Noah won

the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’

Association’s Young Authors award in June

2002 for her elementary-junior poem.

Adrienne Goddett organized

a Black Youth Conference in 2005. She

received an Investing in People award from

the Community Foundation of Ottawa in




Blue and gold


The school logo features the Good

Shepherd name as well as a cross in the




Canadian Education Exchange


Leanne Kavanagh, a teacher at

Good Shepherd Catholic School, is

participating in the Canadian Education

Exchange Foundation program in the 2006-

2007 school year with Rosemary Finn, a

teacher at Blue Coat Church at England

Aided, Durham, United Kingdom. This

exchange will provide many professional

development opportunities for both teachers.




Guardian Angels Catholic School in

Stittsville began in September

1999, the result of continued

residential growth which was straining the

capacity of the only existing Catholic

elementary school in the community, Holy

Spirit Catholic School. This overcrowding at

Holy Spirit had reached severe proportions

by 1997, bringing about parent action to

seek relief in the form of another Catholic

elementary school in the community.

In August 1997, a Holy Spirit

School Council Subcommittee on

Overcrowding came into operation under

the direction of parents Debbie Barr and

Mary Pichette. Its activities included a

letter-writing campaign urging provincial

government funding action, a balloon-o-gram

visit to Carleton MPP Norm Sterling’s office

in Manotick, and a documentary aired on

CBC television about the overcrowded

situation at Holy Spirit.

On Friday, December 12, 1997,

a group of 12 parents from Holy Spirit

Catholic School in Stittsville delivered 258

helium-filled balloons to the constituency

office of Carleton MPP Norm Sterling. Each

balloon represented a student in a portable

at Holy Spirit, which, at that time, had ten

temporary units on site. Student enrolment

was 785 students, housed in a school with a

design capacity of 465. The actions of the

Holy Spirit parents were meant to draw the

attention of the Provincial Government to

the Stittsville situation, in the hopes that

funding for the new school would be

forthcoming. However, the end of 1997

brought other factors into play, with the

creation of the amalgamated Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board as well as

provincial government declarations of a new

funding model for school construction.

The new school board gave high

priority to the construction of elementary

schools in growth areas such as Stittsville,





4 Baywood Drive

Stittsville K2S 1K5


but financing was contingent upon the

province’s funding formula for new school

construction. By the fall of 1998, the

province had released its new funding

formula, which called for the elimination

of surplus school spaces in the Board’s

jurisdiction before any grants would be

provided for new schools.

Things looked a little bleak, since

the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board

at that time had a surplus of 3,773 pupil

places at the elementary school level, which,

according to the formula, would have to be

eliminated before funding for new schools

would be provided. However, MPPs Norm



Sterling of Carleton and John Baird of

Nepean, in November 1998, brought forward

their “Baird-Sterling Plan” which proposed

advancing the construction of new

elementary schools for the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board while still

maintaining adherence to the provincial

funding formula. The “Baird-Sterling Plan”

called for reclassifying four adult day schools

as elementary on the basis that these

schools were built as elementary schools.

This shifting of the secondary school

inventory to the elementary panel created

a larger shortage of student spaces at the

high school level within the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board. This qualified the

Board for funding for new school

construction, which Mr. Baird and Mr.

Sterling believed could be switched and used

by the Board to pay for needed elementary

schools. Mr. Baird and Mr. Sterling felt that

this flexible approach would provide the

funding for three new elementary schools,

in Stittsville (which had 13 portables at that

time), in South Nepean and in Bridlewood.

In January 1999, the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board approved in principle

the construction of these three new

elementary schools.

The firm Pye & Richards

Architects Inc. of Ottawa was appointed as

the architect for the Stittsville Catholic

elementary school in March 1999, as the

Board by this time had received approval

from the Ontario Ministry of Education and

Training for funding for all three proposed

construction projects.

In May 1999, Deborah Robinson

was named principal of the new Stittsville

Catholic elementary school. It would be

housed at Holy Spirit temporarily in the

fall while the new school was under

construction. There were problems finding a

site in Stittsville that could be developed in

accordance with the school board’s timetable

for new school construction, but by the end

of June, the search finally ended. A proposal

brought forward by Goulbourn Township

meant that a property in the development

area south of James Lewis Avenue in

Stittsville would become available, with

construction to proceed in time for a spring

2000 occupancy of the new facility.

The plan was to make the school

site the first phase of the surrounding

residential development. It could then

become a registered subdivision and could

proceed even though there were delays

pertaining to construction in the rest of

the area. As well, in June the school board

established the attendance boundaries for

the new school. In August 1999, Mag

Eastwood Developments Inc. was awarded

the contract to build the school in Stittsville,

submitting the lowest ($4,299,000) of six

tenders received by the Board.

In October 1999, while its future

students were housed at Holy Spirit Catholic

School, the new Stittsville elementary school

was officially named “Guardian Angels

Catholic School.” (Guardian angels are a

matter of faith in the Catholic church. There

are many stories in the Bible about angels

guiding, protecting and singing the praises

of God). The name was the overwhelming

choice of parents and was approved

unanimously by the Board.

The official sod-turning was held

on Thursday, October 21, 1999 with

construction work on the new facility

continuing in the distance as the ceremony

took place. The event included the blessing

of the soil by Father Frank Scott of Holy

Spirit Catholic Parish in Stittsville, and the

blending of soil from the temporary home of

the school at Holy Spirit Catholic School

with the soil of the new school site. The sodturning

also included the burying of heartshaped

boxes containing the dreams and

hopes of various student representatives at

the ceremony. Construction of the 51,000


square foot, one-storey building continued

throughout the winter, aided by unusually

mild weather conditions and very little snow.

Monday, April 10, 2000 was the

first day that Guardian Angels Catholic

School students and staff occupied the

new school facility on Baywood Drive in

Stittsville. The school was situated on a

5.74-acre site adjacent to a future municipal

park. The capacity of the school, as

determined by the provincial government,

was 534 pupils. It had four kindergarten

rooms, a child care room that could be used

by the school during the day, 18 classrooms,

an oversized gymnasium with a retractable

stage, a library and a computer room. The

school facility was fully air-conditioned and

totally accessible to the handicapped. It also

had a child care centre, called the “Baywood

School Age Program,” which offered a before

and after-school program for school children.

It is operated by the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic Child Care Corporation.

Shad Qadri, a community

representative on the Catholic school

council, donated a guardian angel statue

in September 1999. This statue was placed

outside the front entrance to the school,

welcoming all visitors.

Since its opening, Guardian Angels

Catholic School has seen increasing

enrolment as residential development

continues in Stittsville. Several portable

classrooms have been located on the site

to meet this burgeoning enrolment, which

reached more than 750 students by 2004.

The school immediately became

a vibrant Catholic community, with strong

parental support as well as a close

connection with Holy Spirit Parish. The

parental involvement through the Catholic

school council included fundraising, which

resulted in playground improvements for the

school. In the spring of 2004, Guardian



Angels became the first elementary school

ever to host a daytime “Relay for Life” event.

Under the direction of Vice-Principal

Francesca Hernandez, the students raised

funds for cancer research in honour of grade

6 teacher and cancer victim, Mary Ann


This was not the school’s first foray

into major fundraising for a worthy cause.

The school’s “Jump Rope for Heart” event

in the spring of 2003, organized under the

direction of grade one teacher Josephine

Shelton and her committee, raised more

money for the Heart and Stroke Foundation

than any other school in Canada. This

success resulted in a visit by Walter Gretzky,

a spokesperson for the Heart and Stroke

Foundation, in the spring of 2004, to kick

off the “Jump Rope for Heart” event and to

thank the school community for its large

contributions in the past. Fundraising and

helping causes have become a tradition at

Guardian Angels. In 2003, 2004, 2005 and

2006, the staff of Guardian Angels

participated in the “Relay for Life” overnight

run, thanks to the spirited leadership of

kindergarten teacher Christine Brosseau-


Guardian Angels Catholic School

played a major role in the participation of

Todd Nicholson as captain of the gold-medal

winning Canadian sledge hockey team at the

2006 Paralympics in Italy. Todd had been in

hospital for five months prior to the Games

and had considered withdrawing from the

national sledge hockey team; however, it was

the support, which he received from the

students and staff at Guardian Angels that

enabled him to find once again the drive to

pursue his dream and play for Canada. Todd

had been an inspirational speaker at

Guardian Angels Catholic School during

their “Jump Rope for Heart” campaign the

two previous years. Each time he spoke

about the importance of being physically

active and never giving up on a dream. His

inspirational message obviously worked,

as the students responded and Guardian

Angels became the top fundraising school

nationally in “Jump Rope for Heart.” When

the students heard that Todd was in the

hospital and might not be able to pursue his

dream, they sent him cards, drawings and

good wishes by the hundreds, encouraging

him not to give up and telling him that they

were watching and wishing for him to make

a quick return to his dream. This

encouragement and these messages worked,

helping to put Todd back on track. He

captained the Canadian sledge hockey team

to a gold medal in the 2006 Paralympics.

Todd Nicholson did not forget the

role that the students and staff at Guardian

Angels Catholic School played in all of this;

he visited the school in March 2006, shortly

after the Paralympics, to thank them for

their support and to show his gratitude for

all that they had done for him. “My hat goes

off to each of you, each and every one of you

in this school … the students, the teachers

… everybody,” Todd told those at a jammed

and cheering assembly, “because those

letters you guys sent me…to never give up

on my dreams…literally came back to haunt

me and made sure that I didn’t give up on

my dreams.”

The activities of the school are not

limited to fundraising events and helping

others. In June 2002, the school held Arts

Alive, a musical presentation that took place

in the theatre at Sacred Heart Catholic High

School in Stittsville. Under the direction of

Victoria White and with staff and parent

volunteers helping, this musical

extravaganza included the participation of

every student in the school. Guardian Angels

has also implemented anti-bullying,

peacemaking and “Stop, Think and Choose”

programs. The school has participated in all

of the Board-wide musicals and a “buddy

day” is held weekly. Electronic portfolios are

commonplace at Guardian Angels, where


students have eagerly and willingly utilized

computers and technology. The school takes

part in all Board sporting events, runs a full

intramural program and has many student

clubs. It features a large school choir.

Given the school’s vibrancy and

activity, it is not surprising that Principal

Deborah Robinson and Grade 6 Teacher Kelly

Brownrigg received the Prime Minister’s

Award for Teaching Excellence in 2002. In

addition, Teacher Laura Justinich received a

Capital Educators Award in 2002 and Teacher

Liz Arkell received a Junior Education

Recognition Award for Ontario in 2000.

Present Principal

Brenda Wilson (2003-present)

Past Principals

Deborah Robinson (1999-2003)

First Teaching and Support Staff

Deborah Robinson, Principal

Karen Zanetti-VanWesterop

Cheryl Laffin-Lepage

Tamara Creaser

Linda Scrivens

Laura Justinich

Valerie Moodie

Shannon Carragher (McLeod)

Carolyn Carpini (Joseph)

Stacy Santos

John Palmer

Pamela Hassenklover

Christian Pouliot

Elizabeth Arkell

Mary Ann Albert (McCuen)

Janet Steele

Carole Conway

Chantal Paquin (McAlpine)

Nathalie Leman-Abbott

Anne Marie Smith

Brenda McNally

Terri Kelly, Office Administrator

Christine Woodley, Librarian

John Hughes, Custodian



School Colours

Navy blue, cranberry and white

These colours appear on the school

logo, with a hint of gold showing for the



The school logo features angels’

wings in a heart shape, symbolizing love

and embracing learning as symbolized by an

open book in which the motto is written.

A halo sits above the wings and book. The

logo was designed by Grade 4 Student

Lauren Jamieson, Parent Chris Dorey and

Teacher Val Moodie.


“Hope, Wonder and Dream.” This

motto was the result of a combination of

over 170 submissions made by staff,

students and families.

“Hope” in the motto has a strong

scriptural basis. St. Paul, in his letter to the

Colossians, writes: “The faith and love that

spring from hope that is stored up for you in

heaven and that you have already heard

about is the word of truth, the Gospel.”

“Wonder” in the motto: Angels

played a huge role in supporting, guiding

and comforting Jesus on earth. They also

proclaimed the news of Jesus’ birth. Their

actions created wonder and awe for people.

Learning also begins with wonder and then


“Dream” in the motto suggests a

vision of tomorrow and the whole concept

of setting and achieving goals in life.

Team Names

“Gators” is the name for all school

sports teams. The name was unveiled at an

assembly at the school in 2006, the

culmination of a process, which began

during the previous school year when the

initiative to come up with a name for the

school teams was announced. A suggestion

box was set up and the students were able to

submit possible names. The school staff then

selected the top 30 submitted names and, in

June 2005, circulated this list among the

classes in the school, with each class being

able to select its favourite six names. After

the top six names were identified through

this process, the actual selection of the

winning name was very democratic. Around

the time of the 2006 federal election,

balloting was held at the school with every

student getting to vote on the name for the

school’s sports teams. It turned out that

“Gators” was the name that received the

most votes. A banner proclaiming “Home of

the Gators” is next on the “to do” list, along

with the holding of a contest to design what

the gator should look like. There will then be

a “Name the Gator” contest.



The school’s song was written by

Teacher John Palmer and was recorded by

the school choir at Sacred Heart Catholic

High School.



In the early 1960s, a number of new

subdivisions sprang up in the Riverside

Park area of Ottawa South near Mooney’s

Bay. This brought about the need for a new

school and a new parish. The parish was

officially formed in the fall of 1966 and

named Holy Cross. The new church, at the

corner of Walkley Road and Springland

Drive, was not built and occupied until

March 1969.

At about the same time as this

new parish was being planned and

developed, the Ottawa Roman Catholic

Separate School Board was assessing the

need for a new school in the area. A 1965

letter from architect Edward J. Cuhaci

estimated the cost of a new school at

$298,000. In 1966, construction of the

as-yet unnamed new school in the Walkley

Road/Springland Drive area took place. Holy

Cross Catholic School opened in September

1967, sharing the name of the newly-formed

parish in the area. The official opening and

blessing took place on October 10, 1968, with

Bishop Windle officiating.

With the amalgamation of the

Ottawa Roman Catholic Separate School

Board and the Carleton Roman Catholic

School Board in 1998, a rationalization of

school space took place. One result was that

St. Victor Catholic School was closed, with

its school community joining Holy Cross

School in 1999. The same year also saw a

computer lab opened at Holy Cross, as well

as a library and a play structure. The main

office was also renovated.

Holy Cross School today offers

a welcoming and inclusive learning

environment for students from Junior

Kindergarten to Grade 6. The challenge for

each student is to be of service to others and

to achieve personal growth and academic

success. A strong sense of faith, community

and excellence pervades the Holy Cross

School community.





2820 Springland Drive

Ottawa K1V 6M4


One highlight for the school was

a visit by Ottawa South MPP Dalton

McGuinty when he was the MPP for the

area, prior to his becoming Premier of the

Province of Ontario.

Present Principal

Susan Thibault



Past Principals

Paul Brady (1967)

Vincent O’Reilly (1968)

James Shea (1975-78)

Donald Lenaghan (1978-83)

Sister Anna Clare Berrigan


Douglas Goodwin (1985-86)

Clifford Foley (1986-91)

Anthony Charbonneau (1991-97)

Sheila Fergus (1998-2002)

Monica Kerwin (2002-2006)

Early Teaching and Support Staff

Arthur Johnston

Faye Patsula

Marlene Connelly

Winnifred Wancgycki

M. Ridzon

Lee Hutt

Fran McGilchrist

Elaine McAllister

Mrs. Bradley

Victor Lauren

Sister Helen Gray

Shirley Harvey

Maureen Wainwright

Marion Barton

Mrs. MacMillan

Mr. Bonapart

Kate Goodine

Margaret Bray

Diane Atsalenos

R. Burgess

Fran Blanchfield

Bruce Kinsella

Margaret Madden

Pat Brown

Mrs. Chapman

Elnora McLean

Sue Farrant

Judy Cogan

Anne Phillion

Bonnie Steele

Miss Stewart

Mrs. Rowan

Mrs. Hoganson

French Teachers

Joelle Agar

Louise Gardner

Claire Carpentier

Jeannette Rochon

Ann Caron

Mrs. Gauthier

Sylvie Tessier

Diane Noel

Thérese Condron

Louise Vincent

Denis Ducharme

Danielle Miron

Anita Lapérrière

Marcella O’Connor, Secretary

Sheila Forman, Secretary


Jill Hnatyshyn, Secretary


Aline Charette, Custodian



Former Students

George Brown became a longtime

City of Ottawa Councillor.

Jim Peplinski played for the

Calgary Flames of the National Hockey


School Colours

The school colours are blue, red

and white.



Sports Team Logo

The Holy Cross sports team logo

features a grey background representing

the wind. The words “Holy Cross” are on

the logo in blue while the team name

“Hurricanes” appears in red. There is also

a cross in red and blue on the logo, located

beneath the “Hurricanes” name. Student

Samuel Dye designed this “Hurricanes”

school sports logo in 2002.


The school logo, in the shape of

a stylized shield, features a white and red

background with a cross that is partially

coloured white and red in contrast to the

similar background colours. The school name

appears in red on the white background at

the top of the logo.

Often a school becomes a reality

due to the presence and activism

of a Catholic parish. In Ottawa

South, it was the reverse: the new Holy

Family Catholic School led to the

establishment of the Hunt Club Catholic

Community in 1981. The name of the

community was changed in 1985 to Holy

Family Catholic Community to reflect the

relationship with the school where weekly

Sunday Masses were held in the

gymnasium. The creation of both Holy

Family Catholic School and this Catholic

community were the result of residential

growth in the south end of the city, a growth

that necessitated the creation of Holy Cross

Catholic Parish in 1966 and a continuing

growth, which led to the need for the new

school and the new Catholic community.

The Holy Family Catholic Community held

a closing celebration in May 2001, when it

reunited with Holy Cross Parish.

“Holy Family,” the name first

of the school and then of the Catholic

community, was submitted by the Samuels

family during the school board’s name

selection process. This had been the name

of the school that their children had

attended in Montreal. It was selected

because it represented the values of family

and community, which were core principles

for the new school.

Holy Family Catholic School opened

for the 1978-79 school year with an enrolment

of 75 students, housed in portables. But the

new school facility, boasting a unique one-ofa-kind

design, was ready for the next school

year. Its official opening took place on

Sunday, October 21, 1979.

In just a few years, Holy Family

Catholic School became overcrowded so

an annex was opened on Uplands Drive.

This annex remained in place until 1989.

In June 1989, the primary students at the

annex moved to the main building. Then, on





245 Owl Drive

Ottawa K1V 9K3


Thanksgiving Day, 1989, the annex was

closed and Vice-Principal Margie Gourdier

and her junior students moved back to Holy

Family School to be accommodated in a porta-pak.

In 1988-89, the school celebrated

its tenth anniversary. A school logo was

designed and the school song was written.

Holy Family Catholic School celebrated its

25 th anniversary on October 17, 2004, an

event that attracted many staff, students

and parents, both past and present.

A highlight event took place in

Holy Family Catholic School in January



2005, when Ontario Premier Dalton

McGuinty visited the school, speaking to

the grades 5 and 6 students and visiting

all of the classes.

Over the years, Holy Family

School has been a caring and generous

community, as well as one with a sense

of fun and celebration. It has supported

charitable causes such as “Jump Rope for

Heart” and the Ottawa Food Bank. In

January 2005, the school, with an enrolment

of just under 300 students, raised $3,500 for

tsunami relief. Each year the school holds

a walk-a-thon fundraiser.

For fun, the Holy Family School

community enjoys activities such as carnival

days, a fun fair, a family skate night and

Christmas celebrations. There is a talented

school choir, which, under the direction of

Teacher Rhodora Williams, has won

numerous awards at the Kiwanis Music

Festival. Holy Family Catholic School also

has had a strong interest in physical fitness

and sports. It has received Canadian

Association for Health, Physical Education,

Recreation and Dance (CAHPERD) awards

at both the gold and platinum levels. It has

a daily intramural sports program for

students at lunchtime, most recently

organized by Teacher Diane Finlay.

The Holy Family School

community remains a welcoming,

multicultural community, embracing many

nationalities. Its members come from more

than 20 different language backgrounds.

Present Principal

Anne McCready (2003-present)

Past Principals

Donald Lenaghan (1978-79)

Ken Kurs (1979-83)

Michael Kloepfer (1983-84

Glenda McDonell (1984-89)

Fergus Lyons (1989-94)

Michael Kloepfer (1994-99)

Anne Noseworthy (1999-2003)

First Teaching and Support Staff

Carla Baars

Marlene Connelly

Joanne Budd

Sister Marilyn Carty

Anthony Charbonneau

Thérèse Condron

Roger Doré

Noreen Flynn

Michel Fortin

Charlotte Lalonde

Claudette Lemire

Anne Lengelle

Dalia Lewis

Kathleen McDonnell

Sister Marie Shewchuk

Sharon Murphy, Secretary

Ron Leblanc, Custodian


Former students

Alanis Morissette, a world famous

singer and songwriter

Chris Nihmey, a published author

of children’s books

Craig Carson, a published author

of children’s books


Royal blue and white


The school logo consists of a

triangular symbol topped by a cross. The

triangle is divided into three parts, each

containing a representative picture to show

the connection among home, school and



The Holy Family School song was

written for the school’s tenth anniversary

in 1988-89.



Holy Redeemer Catholic School

opened on McCurdy Drive in

Kanata in January 1988. The

students and staff had been housed at

Georges Vanier Catholic School since

September 1987, awaiting the completion

of their new school facility. Holy Redeemer

School shares its name with Holy Redeemer

Parish in Kanata, a fact which partly

explains the close partnership which exists

between school and church. But the

relationship between the school and the

parish goes far beyond just sharing a name.

In recent years, the school has

enjoyed weekly visits from Father Oliver

Rich of Holy Redeemer Parish, who delights

the students with his stories. In addition,

the school currently benefits from regular

visits by Ted Hurley, the youth coordinator

of the parish, who charms the students with

his religious songs. This has led to a strong

faith component at the school, as evidenced

by the grade two sacramental preparation

and the faith-filled liturgies and prayer

services, enriched by student involvement as

readers, choir members and altar servers.

Besides a strong parish

relationship, the school has also benefited

over the years from a vital academic,

extracurricular and athletic focus, and from

a supportive school council. Here is a

glimpse of the Holy Redeemer School of

today; the product of nearly two decades of

student achievement and growth, assisted

by an engaged and proficient staff.

Holy Redeemer students actively

participate in choral activities, in an active

intramural program, in Board athletic meets

and in clubs such as rope skipping and chess.

An ambassador program for grade 6 students

develops their leadership skills through

training, followed by active involvement in

school functions as librarians and bus

helpers, and by serving as introducers at

school events. A social skills program that





75 McCurdy Drive

Kanata K2L 3W6


deals with students’ needs has been

implemented. Monthly assemblies celebrate

student success by awarding certificates to

two students in each class who exemplify

values such as peacemaking, friendship,

trust and citizenship. A “Be a Buddy; Be a

Friend” school-wide, anti-bullying program,

implemented in partnership with the

Western Ottawa Community Resource

Centre, allows students to make the right

choices and emphasizes respect for each

other. The school choir, which has been active

since the school was formed, has participated

in school board musicals and arts

celebrations and has sung at an Ottawa 67’s

junior hockey game.



The students actively participate

in athletic events of all kinds, both at the

Board and intramural levels. The school has

received four Canadian Association for

Health, Physical Education, Recreation and

Dance (CAHPERD) gold awards for its

physical activity programs. There has been

an annual sing-along at Christmas time,

with a brass quartet. Donations have been

made to the Canadian Hunger Foundation

for many years. Annual ski days for grades 5

and 6 classes are held, along with end-ofyear

trips for grade 6 graduates. A volunteer

tea, an Education Week community

breakfast, a “Read with All Your Hearts

Day” featuring guest readers in the

classrooms, and a “Buddy Readers” program

where older students share stories with

younger ones, also add to the excellence of

the learning and community environment

at the school.

The recent outpouring of support

for the victims of the tsunami in Southeast

Asia in December 2004, and for the victims

of Hurricane Katrina in 2005 are examples

of how Holy Redeemer lives the Gospel

message of helping one’s neighbour. Holy

Redeemer School raised $680 through a

“Toonies for Katrina” campaign and also

provided eight boxes of books for victims of

Hurricane Katrina. The school raised $1,200

for tsunami victims.

A supportive school council has

been instrumental in helping Holy Redeemer

Catholic School grow into the school that it

is today. This council has supported the

school’s literacy initiatives through

fundraising activities. It has hosted an

annual Halloween community night, a

Christmas craft fair, a pizza and Mass

evening and a year-end barbecue. It also

sponsors an annual walk-a-thon at the


Present Principal

Linda Mosley

Past Principals

John Delorme

Greg Peddie

Judi Sarginson

Gloria Sterling

Sam Coletti

First Teaching and Support Staff

Tom Winterbottom

Marie Smith

Joanne Kennedy

Susan Wilgress

Guylaine Labelle

Pam Morel

Pat Scrim

Elizabeth Valiquette

Kathryn Golob

Mary Whiticar

Mike Moran

Roxanne McCaffrey

Sylvia Jennings

Ann-Louise Revells

Anne Lamont

Rita Charbonneau

Lois Rouble

Gina Bakonyi

Gayle Sadler

Dale Brownlee

Italo Graziani

John Panagakos


Staff Recognition

Teacher Anne Lamont was the first

recipient of the Bernadette MacNeil Award.

Former Students

Sean Langdon played with the

Sudbury Wolves and the Kingston

Frontenacs of the Ontario Junior A Hockey


Jim Kehoe played with the

Sudbury Wolves of the Ontario Junior A

Hockey League.

Daniel Weaver is studying for his

doctorate in astrophysics.




The letters “H R” in the middle of

the circular logo stand for Holy Redeemer,

printed over a Canadian maple leaf. The

school colours of red, white and blue are

reflected in the logo. The word “Catholic” in

the school’s name on the logo provides the

faith element.

First School Council

Louise Harding

Chris Jurewicz

Diane Ryan

Monica Rosales

Sheryl Bell

Sharron Quinn

Kita Jussup

Linda Scrivens

Joanne McSheffrey

When Holy Spirit Catholic School

in Stittsville opened in 1989, it

marked the coming together of

the past, present and future of the Catholic

presence in the community. It represented

in its name respect for Stittsville’s Catholic

heritage; it represented in its creation the

work and activity of the Catholic community

of the village to bring Catholic education

to Stittsville; and it contained within its

formation the seeds of the future Holy Spirit

Catholic Parish and of a future second

Catholic elementary school in the

neighbourhood. Yes, all of this because of

one school!

During the municipal election

campaign of 1985, the subject of a new

Catholic elementary school in Stittsville

arose and started the stream of events that

culminated in the opening of Holy Spirit

Catholic School on Tuesday, May 23, 1989,

less than four years later. The impetus for

all of this was a November 6, 1985 editorial

in The Stittsville News pointing out that a

Catholic school was needed in Stittsville

because of the population growth in the

community and because such a school would

be important for the local Catholic

community. At an ensuing all-candidates’

meeting, Goulbourn Township’s trustee on

the Carleton Roman Catholic School Board,

Hugh Connelly, stated that he saw “eye to

eye” with The Stittsville News editorial. He

said at the meeting that if Catholic parents

in the community expressed some interest,

a new school in Stittsville could be a reality

“within the next three years.” How prophetic

he turned out to be!

The Carleton Roman Catholic

School Board already owned a site on Main

Street in Stittsville, having purchased it in

the late 1970s when there had been some

talk of establishing a portable complex in

the village, an idea that fell through when

Munster Hamlet parents vocally insisted

that their children continue to attend their





1383 Stittsville Main Street

Stittsville K2S 1A6


parish school, St. Philip in Richmond, rather

than transfer to the proposed Stittsville

facility. Later, in November 1985, Trustee

Connelly, who was acclaimed in the election,

wrote an article in The Stittsville News,

which began by stating, “Stittsville should

have a Catholic elementary school.” He

pointed out that a new Stittsville school was

not a high priority in the Carleton Roman

Catholic School Board’s 1986 capital

expenditure forecast (it was number 18 on

the list), but he also pointed out that

number five was an eight-unit semipermanent

portable addition at St. Martin

de Porres Catholic School in Glen Cairn,

which Stittsville students attended at that



time. In his article, Trustee Connelly made a

strong case for the community school concept

and suggested that it would make more

sense to establish a portable complex at

Stittsville than to put the temporary

addition at St. Martin. He advocated the

formation of a Catholic school ratepayers

group to work for a community school in

Stittsville. On December 5, 1985, a meeting

was held to form such a group. At this

meeting, Trustee Connelly said that it was

up to Catholic parents and ratepayers in

Stittsville to determine whether a Catholic

elementary school would or would not

become a reality in the village in the near

future. While indicating his full support for

a Stittsville Catholic school, he said that the

Catholic parents and ratepayers would have

to “lead the charge.”

A follow-up meeting in January

1986, saw the formation of the Stittsville

Catholic Parents’ Association, with the goal

of working towards the establishment of a

Catholic elementary school in the area.

A draft constitution was approved and an

executive was elected, consisting of Linda

Gilmour as President, Bob Davis as Vice-

President and Louise Gallagher as Secretary

and Treasurer. It was made clear at this

meeting that the group would be

approaching the school board for a

permanent school in the village and not a

port-a-pak complex on the site. Following

the meeting, a petition signed by virtually

all of the Catholic ratepayers in Stittsville

and area was gathered and a brief outlining

the need for a Catholic community school

was drawn up for presentation to the

Carleton Roman Catholic School Board.

In the fall of 1986, the Stittsville

Catholic elementary school moved closer

to reality as the 1987 capital expenditure

forecast of the school board listed the

Stittsville school as third on its priority

list. This improvement, along with the

elimination of the planned addition to

St. Martin de Porres Catholic School in Glen

Cairn, could be attributed to the work and

lobbying of the Stittsville Catholic Parents’

Association whose members helped the

school board and its administration come to

realize that there was a desire by Catholic

ratepayers in the community to have a

school. A sign identifying a Main Street

location as the site of the future English

Catholic elementary school in Stittsville

was erected on the property. In March 1987,

following a motion initiated by Trustees

Hugh Connelly and Arthur J.M. Lamarche,

the school board agreed to list the Stittsville

elementary school as the number one

priority in its 1988 capital expenditure

forecast. In the late spring of 1987, the

Stittsville Catholic Parents’ Association

organized a letter-writing campaign to the

Ontario Minister of Education, outlining the

need for improved capital funding from the

province for new schools within the Carleton

Roman Catholic School Board. Pursuant to

the March 1987 motion, the Board, on

October 13, 1987, placed the Stittsville

school once again as its number one priority

in the capital expenditure forecast which

would be submitted to the Ministry of

Education. Mr. Connelly had resigned from

the Board because of a new job commitment,

but his efforts at facilitating the new

Stittsville school were carried on by his

replacement, Mrs. Mary Curry of Stittsville.

In November 1987, the school

board appointed the firm of Griffiths,

Rankin, Cook, Architects, to develop sketch

plans for the school, pending funding

approval from the Ministry of Education.

The size of the school was increased from its

originally proposed capacity of 411 students

to one that would accommodate 516. The

Stittsville Catholic Parents’ Association

remained active. In the fall of 1987, it

organized an outdoor Mass on the school



Tuesday, April 26, 1988 proved to

be the day of destiny for the new Stittsville

Catholic School as the Provincial

Government announced that it had approved

capital funding of $3.4 million for its

construction. This accelerated the

completion of the working drawings, receipt

of additional Ministry approvals and the

calling of tenders for the new school. It was

decided that, in the fall of 1988, students of

the new Stittsville Catholic School would be

housed at St. Martin de Porres School in

Glen Cairn as a temporary measure until

the new building was ready in the spring

of 1989.

The Stittsville Catholic Parents’

Association disbanded, its work completed,

and the Parent-Teacher Association for the

new school was elected consisting of Lorne

McConnery, President, Joan Kinnie, Vice-

President, Cathy White, Secretary, Jan

Haubrich, Treasurer, Stephen Grant and

Sue MacDonald, Parent Representatives,

Louise Turcotte, Teacher Representative and

Robert Slack, Principal. In addition, the

name “Holy Spirit” was selected as the name

for the new Stittsville Catholic School. This

name tied the school to Stittsville’s Catholic

heritage because the name was shared by

the Catholic community, which had

flourished briefly in the community two

decades previously.

By agreeing with the

recommendation of Stittsville parents to

name the school “Holy Spirit Catholic

School,” the Carleton Roman Catholic School

Board recognized the efforts of those who

had put their Catholic faith into action in

the late 1960s and early 1970s by

establishing a Catholic church in Stittsville.

Naming the school “Holy Spirit”

brought home the fact that the Catholic

heritage of Stittsville did not begin with the

establishment of the new school but rather

had begun more than 20 years previously



with the establishment of the Catholic

Church of the Holy Spirit on Flewellyn Road

just west of Stanley’s Corners, south of

Stittsville. Masses were celebrated there

from July 30, 1967 until 1974 when it was

closed by the pastor of St. Philip Church and

the Archbishop.

Catholic Masses were held in

Stittsville as early as 1963 in the gymnasium

of the Stittsville Public School. This led to the

purchase of a former red brick school building

on Flewellyn Road, which was converted into

a church. Rev. Thomas Farrell, parish priest

at St. Philip Catholic Church in Richmond,

also served in the new church from its

inception. Formally, it was a mission church

of St. Philip’s, but, for all intents and

purposes, it operated as a parish community

in its own right. The parishioners themselves

selected the name “Holy Spirit” for the

church. Regular Sunday Masses were held at

the Church of the Holy Spirit, and the parish

flourished to the point where an addition was

built on the rear of the old school building to

enlarge the church premises. But 1974

brought an end to this church in the

community, as a change of parish priests at

St. Philip and other factors combined to bring

about its closure. However, the tradition of

the name “Holy Spirit” in Stittsville had been

established, and it would emerge again and

be embraced when the new school was named

in 1988. The new Catholic community in

Stittsville would also be called “Holy Spirit

Parish” when it was revitalized after the

establishment of the school.

On August 22, 1988, the Carleton

Roman Catholic School Board awarded the

contract for the construction of the new

school to Mueller-Hein Corporation of

Nepean at a tendered price of $3,396,000.

This new 40,000 square foot school,

accommodating up to 532 students and

including a child care facility, would be built

on the 4.5 acre site that the Board had

owned since the late 1970s.

Holy Spirit Catholic School opened

on September 6, 1988, housed in temporary

quarters at St. Martin de Porres Catholic

School. Principal Bob Slack, Office

Administrator Debby Moore and the 12member

teaching staff began with a student

enrolment of 238 students. Finally, on May

23, 1989, the students and staff moved into

the new building in Stittsville. Almost

immediately, Father Corbin Eddy of Holy

Redeemer Parish in Kanata, which included

Stittsville within its boundaries, started

holding a Sunday Mass in the Holy Spirit

School gymnasium. This led to the

establishment of Holy Spirit Mission, which

grew to become Holy Spirit Catholic Parish.

Masses were celebrated in the

Holy Spirit gymnasium until 2001 when the

growing congregation was forced to relocate

to a larger venue, the gymnasium at the

new Sacred Heart Catholic High School in

Stittsville. The parish now has plans to

build its church, with an expected opening

in December 2007. Holy Spirit Catholic

School was not only the impetus for reestablishment

of a Catholic community in

Stittsville, but also became the leading force,

which eventually led to the construction of

a second Catholic elementary school,

Guardian Angels.

Enrolment at Holy Spirit grew

in the 1990s due to continued residential

growth in Stittsville. Portable classrooms

became a fact of life, with as many as

15 jamming the schoolyard. By the late

1990s, the population of Holy Spirit had

mushroomed to about 850 students, in a

school built for only 532.

Catholic parents in Stittsville once

again came to the fore and, working with

school and Board staff and trustees, they

fought to make the provincial government,

then the funding agency for new schools,

aware of the need for another new school in

the area. There were public meetings, and


letter-writing campaigns and a

demonstration at the office of MPP Norm


In the summer of 1998, the

overcrowding situation at Holy Spirit

Catholic School led to the Ottawa-Carleton

Catholic School Board building an extension

at the rear of the school to house additional

washroom facilities to serve the overcrowded

student population. Enrolment at Holy

Spirit had reached 785 students by

December 1997, with another increase

expected in September 1998. Finally, a

second Catholic elementary school was

approved for Stittsville. The school year

1999-2000 saw the Holy Spirit School

community sharing their facility with the

students and staff of Guardian Angels

Catholic School, which was under

construction. There were 17 portable

classrooms in use on the Holy Spirit site

that fall, and close to 1,000 students.

Deborah Robinson, the Principal of

Guardian Angels Catholic School, led her

students and staff into the new school in

April 2000.

Ongoing residential growth in the

Stittsville community has meant that

Holy Spirit School continues to enjoy an

enrolment of about 500 students. The school

board’s latest capital plan includes

construction of a new elementary school in

Stittsville with a scheduled opening of

September 2008.



Present Principal

Kevin Mullins

Past Principals

Robert Slack

Bev Murphy

Lyle Bergeron

Bert O’Connor

First Teaching and Support Staff

Robert Slack, Principal

Gloria Sterling

Phyllis O’Neill

Louise Turcotte

Brenda MacDonald

Grace Anderson

Robert Santos

Valerie Tierney

Pat Campbell

Linda Scrivens

Tamara Connors

Marilyn O’Connor, Music Teacher

Rita Ovington, Librarian

Line Picard, French Teacher

Carole Conway, French Teacher

Tilly O’Connor, Teacher Assistant

for Kindergarten

Mary Locke, Special Education

Resource Teacher

Debby Moore, Secretary

Claude Fedorchuk, Head


Michael Poole, Custodian

School Colours

The school colours are royal blue

and white.


“Friends Sharing God’s Spirit”


The school’s logo portrays the

flame of the Holy Spirit surrounding a cross

superimposed on the stylized letters “H.S.”


A bear is the school’s mascot.

Bears are not unfamiliar to

students and staff at Holy Spirit. There have

been sightings of real bears in Stittsville.

This has resulted in parents being called to

pick up their children after school so that

walking students have a safe way home.


Holy Spirit Catholic School has

a school song.

The lyrics and music for the song

were composed by Tim Mouchet, the brother

of Louise Turcotte, the first grade three

teacher at Holy Spirit.

Mr. Mouchet took the school’s

motto, “Friends Sharing God’s Spirit” and,

combining it with themes such as family and

teachers, composed the lyrics and then

developed the music to go with the song

during the school’s inaugural year of 1988-



The words of the Holy Spirit

Catholic School’s song are as follows:


Holy Spirit Catholic School is the

beginning of a dream

That will sail us far beyond the


A life yet to be seen.

Filled with faith and hope and love

And everything between.

Holy Spirit Catholic School is the

beginning of a dream. (twice)

Each morning I find myself

Wondering what the day will bring

Books in hand, away I go…

And my heart begins to sing.



All my friends are standing tall

with me

Asking all we wish to know

Teachers guiding us throughout

the years

As our minds and bodies grow.

It’s great to know that Mom and


Are there to see me through and


To give the best in life a child can


To be a part of such a school.

The Spirit touches all our lives

In a very special way

In the Spirit we will be as one

As we live to love each day.

Architecturally, Holy Trinity

Catholic High School in Kanata is

the mother of all of the newer high

schools now operated by the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board. The threestorey

design, first employed here, has been

reused in the construction of five other new

high schools built in the years since Holy

Trinity’s construction in 1990. The design,

developed by Edward J. Cuhaci and

Associates Architects of Ottawa, continues

to be modified and improved with each new

high school, and visually altered to add some

uniqueness to each high school; nonetheless,

the basic design remains unchanged.

Holy Trinity Catholic High School

was the first high school built by the

Carleton Roman Catholic School Board in

the suburban community of Kanata, initially

serving not only the Kanata growth area but

also the surrounding rural areas to the

north and west. Previously, students from

these areas attended St. Paul High School

in Bells Corners. While Holy Trinity was

created and inaugurated as a school

community on September 4, 1990 with

700 students from Grades 7 through 10,

the students and staff initially shared the

St. Paul facility on a shift basis, with Holy

Trinity students attending in the afternoon

and St. Paul students going in the morning.

This temporary arrangement lasted for two

months until the end of October when the

newly-constructed facility on Katimavik

Road in Kanata was completed. Classes

concluded at St. Paul on the afternoon of

October 29, 1990 and resumed in the brand

new school on the morning of October 30.

The official opening and blessing of the new

school, held on May 5, 1991, was presided

over by Ottawa Archbishop Marcel Gervais.

Holy Trinity added a grade level

in each of the ensuing three years, becoming

a full grades 7 to 13 high school, and a very

successful one in terms of numbers.

Continuing growth in Kanata and the





180 Katimavik Road

Kanata K2L 4A7


surrounding areas, particularly in

Stittsville, meant that the enrolment at Holy

Trinity swelled to 1,900 students by the late

1990s, resulting in a forest of portables

springing up at the rear of the school. Relief

from the overcrowding came when

Stittsville’s Sacred Heart Catholic High

School opened in the 1999-2000 school year.

Three years later, in September, All Saints

Catholic High School in Kanata, north of

Highway 417, began serving the community.

The 2006 capital plan of the

Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School Board calls

for a 24-room addition to be built at Holy

Trinity Catholic High School in time for the



2007-08 school year. This enlargement,

foreseen in the original design of the school,

will eliminate the need for many of the

remaining portables. It will allow St. Anne

School graduates to attend high school in

their home community of Kanata instead of

commuting to Sacred Heart in Stittsville as

they have always done since the opening of

that school. Finally, it will ensure the

educational viability of the Holy Trinity

school community for the foreseeable future,

halting the decline in student numbers at

the school due to demographic factors.

The name “Holy Trinity Catholic

High School” came about as a result of a

process described in school board policy.

Suggestions for the name of the new school

were sought from the students, staff and

parents of the newly formed school

community. The submissions were whittled

down to five names, from which the school

community then had the opportunity to

indicate a favoured choice. Suggestions

included “Kanata Catholic High School,”

“St. Luke Catholic High School,” and “John

Paul II Catholic High School,” but the

almost unanimous choice by the school

community, submitted to the school board

for approval in the spring of 1990, was

“Trinity Catholic High School.” “Holy” was

added to the name to ensure the Catholic

identity of the school.

Support of social justice initiatives

and charitable causes has become a tradition

at Holy Trinity Catholic High School. Since

1997, groups of students from Holy Trinity

have traveled to the Dominican Republic to

experience first-hand the struggles of those

who live in poverty in that country and to

raise awareness of social issues. The Holy

Trinity community annually supports a

number of charitable causes such as Easter

Seals, the Kanata Food Cupboard, St. Mary’s

Home, the United Way, the Catholic

Organization for Development and Peace

and the Terry Fox Cancer Foundation. In

2004, Holy Trinity students and staff raised

$35,000 in their annual Terry Fox Run, the

third-highest total for any school in Ontario.

The canned food drives at the school,

inaugurated in 1991 have assisted the

Kanata Food Cupboard annually since then,

with over 40,000 items collected in peak


A defining event at Holy Trinity

was the creation of the Holy Trinity Walk of

Fame at the front of the school in the 2002-

03 academic year.

Athletics has played a major role

in the student experience over the years,

with the sports teams known as the Trinity

Tornadoes and the main gymnasium being

christened the “Twisterdome.”

Present Principal

Peter Atkinson (2005-present)

Past Principals

Tom Duggan (1989-92)

Brent Wilson (1992-96)

Anne-Marie McGillis (1996-99)

Joan Clark (1999-2002)

Roseanne Lalonde (2002-04)

First Teaching and Support Staff

Tom Duggan, Principal

Julian Hanlon, Vice-Principal

Lynn Fulton, Vice-Principal

Darlene Dumas, Chaplain

Christine Adam-Carr

Gino Bentivoglio

Al Byers

Joao Moloissa

Gilles Peltier

Chris Bonner

Martha More

Josephine Geraghty

Mario Cerroni

Paul Voisin

Mike Maloney

David Hart


Dan MacDonald

Ron Coté

Fouad Kofri

Steve McCabe

Richard Bordeleau

Nancyjane Cawley

Bob Lackey

Elizabeth Jones

Sandy Dobec

Katherine Razzouk

Liana Krauthaker

Lisa Nanavati

Cheryl Orzel

Johanne Lachapelle

Mary McGrath

Bernie Gauthier

H.P. Hansen

Bob Lee

Gloria Sobb

Gail Osborne

Anne-Marie McGillis

Rosario Vidosa

Sil Sanna

John McGovern

Leslie Vanneste

Chantal Perreault

Gary Yates

Roy Lalonde

Danielle Novak

Pauline Tzivanopoulos

Terry Fagan

Peter de Montigny

Terry McGovern

Patricia McKinnon, Educational


Frank Bastianelli, Educational


Angela Harrison, Educational


Susan Tomka, Head Secretary

Myrna Nicholls, Secretary

Patricia Koeslag, Secretary

Lorraine Hubbs, Library


Pat O’Connell, Custodian

Gerry Seguin, Custodian

Claude Fedorchuk, Custodian



Staff Recognition

Teacher Stephanie Goodwin

received a Capital Educators’ Award from

the Ottawa Centre for Research and

Innovation in 2004.

Music Teacher Neil Bateman

received the Susan Davis Memorial Award

in 2005.

Former Students

Darren Pouliot has earned a PhD

in remote sensing.

Matthew Poyner and Katherine Yu

have both become medical doctors.

Pat Woodcock has played for the

Montreal Alouettes and the Ottawa

Renegades of the Canadian Football League.

Jeremy Barnett became the owner

and designer of Riders Village Clothing

Lifestyles Store.

Greg Foley and Kerry Moher both

received golf scholarships.

2006 graduate Matt McCarney was

drafted by the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in the

23rd round of the major league baseball

draft of young players in June 2006. He has

played for the Ottawa Nepean Canadians

team and played for a Canadian team in a

series of games in the Dominican Republic.

He played in the Canada Cup tournament

in August 2005, and for a team of select

Canadian juniors at a tournament at Disney

World in Florida.

Maria Klokotzky, who was ranked

number ten in Canada for under-18 women’s

tennis players in 2005, winning the Ontario

Junior Championship, received a scholarship

from the University of Louisville. In her first

year at the university in 2005-2006, she

became the first freshman at the school to be

anked among the top 125 tennis players

in the NCAA Division 1. The University of

Louisville Cardinals finished the season

89 th in NCAA Division 1 women’s tennis,

the highest placing in team history,

including a third place finish in its Big East

championship debut.

Emilie Joinette, an Ontario

Scholar graduate and a cystic fibrosis

sufferer since birth, received her longawaited

double lung transplant in Toronto

in 2006 and is now enrolled at Algonquin

College to study travel and tourism.



The school’s logo is a stylized

triangle, representing the Trinity, overlaid

with a white circle, containing a central

green cross and the name of the school.

A furled banner along the bottom of the

triangle contains the school motto of “Faith,

Excellence, Truth.” The logo features the

school’s official colours of green, blue and




Canadian flag

For the school’s official opening

on May 5, 1991, Carleton Roman Catholic

Separate School Board Chairperson and

Kanata Trustee Arthur J.M. Lamarche

arranged for a Canadian flag that had flown

at the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill to be

draped in the school’s atrium area.




For over 75 years, Immaculata High

School has been one of the City

of Ottawa’s best-known Catholic

educational facilities. It began in 1928 as

a private Catholic school for girls, with an

enrolment of 85 students in what was then

Form One and Form Two. Three Grey

Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, Sister

Loyola, Sister Agnes of the Sacred Heart and

Sister St. Geraldine, were the first members

of the school’s teaching staff. The Grey

Sisters of the Immaculate Conception from

Pembroke had been asked to open the

Catholic girls’ school to provide a quality

Catholic education to those from families

of moderate income. The girls, who wore

uniforms, paid a minimum monthly fee of

one dollar, but only if they could afford it.

The name of the school is

attributed to Reverend J.J. O’Gorman who

made the long-desired Catholic high school

for girls a reality, acting under the advice

of higher ecclesiastical authority. Apparently,

he was the one who bestowed the revered

name of “Immaculata” upon the school when

it opened, a name it still bears today.

The Christie mansion property

on Bronson Avenue at the corner of Lisgar

Street was purchased for $25,000 as the

site for the new school. The mansion itself

became the first convent home for the Grey

Sisters who taught at the school.

The new school was designed by

Werner Knoffke, a well-known Ottawa

architect who designed the French embassy

on Sussex Drive, among other buildings.

It had eight classrooms, a science lab, a

home economics classroom, a gymnasium

and a stage area, as well as office space.

A passageway linked the school to the Grey

Sisters’ convent.

During the construction of the

school building, the students of the newlyformed

Immaculata High School attended




140 Main Street

Ottawa K1S 5P4


classes at St. Patrick’s Home, which at that

time was located at the corner of Laurier

Avenue and Kent Street. At that site, Sister

Loyola was the first principal and the

teachers were Sister Agnes of the Sacred

Heart and Sister St. Geraldine. When the

classes officially opened at the new location,

Sister Agnes of the Sacred Heart became


Immaculata High School flourished

immediately, as enrolment soared to

160 students in 1929, requiring a new

building with five classrooms, a science lab

and a small library. Sister Agnes of the

Sacred Heart, Sister St. Hilda, Sister Loyola,



Sister St. Geraldine and Sister St. Waltrude

handled the teaching duties.

The year 1929 also saw the first

commencement held at Immaculata High

School for graduates of Forms One and Two.

Rev. Father E. Maloney presided at this

commencement ceremony. In the same year,

a music department was established at

Immaculata High School, where both violin

and piano were taught to students. The

school continued to grow, with enrolment

reaching 200 students in 1930 and Sister

Mary Celine and Sister Mary Christine

joining the teaching staff. Another higher

form was added to the original two offered at

the school and a commercial course was also


By 1939, enrolment at Immaculata

High School had grown to 300 students

taught by nine Sisters. A home economics

department was added in 1939 as were nine

new classrooms to accommodate the growing

enrolment. In 1941, new Principal, Sister

Mary Christine, was supervising a staff of

11. A camera club was formed with facilities

such as developing and printing rooms

added. By 1948, enrolment at Immaculata

had reached 425, and the staff had grown

to 17 Sisters. This meant that the school had

to expand, and thanks to a bequest from the

estate of Dr. B. Kearns, the school was able

to add the Kearns Memorial Wing which

opened in September 1950, adding eight

classrooms including a double-sized

commercial classroom and space for the

Music Department.

This was by no means the end of

new construction: in 1952, an addition was

built on to the Kearns Memorial Wing,

adding three new classrooms, a students’

library and a principal’s office. Then, in

1954, with the construction of a new convent

on the north side of the property, the former

Sisters’ residence was transformed into two

additional classrooms as well as more space

for the Music Department. The student

population by this time had topped

725 students and the teaching staff stood

at 22. The Music Department alone now

had a staff of four.

The 1960s saw continuing growth

and construction at Immaculata. In 1962,

a chapel/auditorium was built, fulfilling a

dream as well as the prayers of long-time

principal Sister Mary Christine, who

spearheaded the project and its fundraising.

Four years later, Sister Mary Christine

celebrated her silver anniversary as

principal of the school.

Expansion continued. In 1967,

a building with 12 classrooms, as well as

labs and a gym, was opened.

The coming of the 1970s saw new

challenges emerge for Immaculata, both in

terms of enrolment and finances. Up until

the 1970s, many English-speaking students

from the Province of Quebec had been

attending Immaculata. The opening of an

English Catholic high school for girls in

Hull resulted in a decline in the number of

students attending Immaculata from that

province. Enrolment at Immaculata suffered

a further decline when St. Pius X High

School became a co-ed school in 1972. These

blows to Immaculata precipitated a student

population drop to around 400 students.

At the same time, the Grey Sisters

were facing increasing financial challenges

in maintaining Immaculata. The mid 1970s,

as a result, saw increased involvement from

volunteers to help the Grey Sisters to meet

these financial challenges. The volunteers

served on a lay advisory board providing

advice to the school principal, a

management board, a lottery committee

and the Immaculata Foundation, which

used interest from investments to support

Immaculata and Grey Sisters’ projects.

A $100 lottery was established with weekly


prizes, with Robert Hunter coordinating the

fund on behalf of the school and community.

The funds from this lottery supplemented

the support, which the Grey Sisters were

able to provide. In addition, lay staff

members took on extra duties and classes

to help the Grey Sisters.

As Immaculata celebrated its

golden anniversary in 1978, boys were

admitted for the first time in its history, and,

in 1984, grades 7 and 8 students were added

as well. This was also a significant year

because Ontario Premier Bill Davis

announced full funding for Catholic schools.

The resulting grants for Grades 11, 12 and 13

gave Immaculata the financial stability that

it needed and eased the fiscal pressures that

Immaculata had been facing since the 1970s.

As Immaculata marked its

60 th anniversary in 1988, change continued.

James J. Shea was appointed as the school’s

first lay principal, ending the tradition of

having a Grey Sister at the helm. Enrolment

at Immaculata, once again increasing, had

grown to 870 students by 1988. The biggest

change in the school’s history occurred

just after Immaculata celebrated its

65 th anniversary. In September 1994,

Immaculata students and staff moved from

the treasured Bronson Avenue site to a facility

at 281 Echo Drive, which had been built in

1929-30 as St. Patrick’s College, administered

by the Oblate Fathers. The Ottawa Roman

Catholic Separate School Board purchased the

site from Algonquin College, with Edward

Cuhaci as the architect for the renovations

that were undertaken at that time.

At this new location, Immaculata

held its first Terry Fox Run in 1995. Since

that time, the school has raised over $100,000

for cancer research through its Terry Fox

Runs involving students, staff and parents.

In 1996, Immaculata students

went on their first trip to the Dominican



Republic where they visited the missions of

the Grey Sisters.

In the spring of 2000, a satellite

classroom site for Immaculata High School

was set up at St. Mary’s Home, a dynamic

centre that brings together, in one location,

a variety of community services in the

support of young pregnant teens. As a result

of a formal partnership between the Ottawa-

Carleton Catholic School Board and the

Home, a classroom was created within the

residence to enable pregnant teenagers from

all schools in the city to continue with their

academics during their pregnancies. The

inaugural class had ten students. Bernard

Swords was the first principal of this

satellite site, followed by Denise Andre and

then by Tom D’Amico, the current principal.

Maryalice Mullally has been the teacher in

this satellite classroom since its inception.

The program began in a basement

room at St. Mary’s Home residence in May

2000. In January 2002, the program moved

into a newly renovated facility at 780 rue de

l’Eglise called St. Mary’s Home Community

Outreach and Program Centre. The students

helped to design the classroom, which is a

bright and inviting setting that is very

conducive to learning. The school held its

first graduation in June 2000, and has had

a growing number of graduates ever since.

In 2006, St. Mary’s Home presented a

plaque to the Ottawa-Carleton Catholic

School Board in gratitude for its partnership

and the support that it gives to the home in

providing its residents with an amazing

educational opportunity.

Immaculata High School was one

of eight Ottawa-Carleton Catholic School

Board schools which, in the 2005-06 school

year, raised approximately $6,000 in total

for the “OK Clean Water Project.” This

project (OK stands for Ottawa-Kumbo, a

town in Cameroon in Africa) is an initiative

of the Congregation of Notre Dame, an

international religious community of Sisters

and associates. The “OK Clean Water

Project” supports the purchase of water

pipes, which are laid from a clean water

source into their communities by villagers

in Cameroon.

Immaculata High School

celebrated its 75 th anniversary in 2003 and

is now moving towards its centennial in


Present Principal

Thomas D’Amico (2003–present)

Past Principals

Sister Loyola (1928) (while

students attended classes at

St. Patrick’s Home)

Sister Agnes of the Sacred Heart

(1928-1941) (first principal at

Bronson Avenue site)

Sister Mary Christine (1941-67)

Sister Lucille Martin (1967-70)

Sister Anna Clare (1970-75 and


Sister Anne O’Brien (1975-76)

Sister Theresa Kelly (1982-87)

James J. Shea (1987-89)

Mary Durst (1989-95)

Evelyn Kelly (1989 (acting) and


Bernard Swords (1998-2001)

Denise Andre (2001-03)

All of the Sisters who were

principals were Grey Sisters of the

Immaculate Conception


Former Staff, Students and Others

In 1988, Sister Barbara Ryan was

honoured as one of three Grey Sisters still

teaching at Immaculata. She began teaching

at Immaculata in 1950.

Evelyn Kelly, a former student,

teacher and principal at Immaculata, was

the first recipient of the YM-YWCA’s Women

of Distinction Award for Education, Training

and Development in 1994. This award is

presented annually celebrating the

achievements of women and honouring the

women who inspire others in the community.

A former Immaculata staff member

and Art teacher, Father Herman Falke, has

received national and international acclaim

as an artist and sculptor. His work is based

principally on liturgical and scriptural


Edgar “Rocky” Rockburn was

Immaculata’s school custodian for 28 years,

retiring at the age of 69. For 28 years, he

arrived at the school at 4 a.m. each day.

Chris Spiteri was elected

Immaculata’s first head boy in the school’s

history in the 1982-83 school year.

Joseph Meagher, builder of the

original school building and convent as well

as several additions, attended the school’s

50 th anniversary celebrations in 1978. He

was 91 years old at the time.

2003 Immaculata graduate Corey

Centen became the first graduate to win the

prestigious Canadian Merit Scholarship

worth over $8,000. In that same year, Corey

also won gold at the Canadian National

Science competition.

Former Immaculata Principal

Bernard Swords became a Justice of the

Peace after retiring from education.



The first lay staff member at

Immaculata was Vera McCoy, who taught

elocution. She helped build the school’s

Drama Club presenting annual plays, which

became major events in the community.

Alice Maloney was one of the

graduating students in the picture of the first

graduating class which hung on the wall on

the top floor of Immaculata’s Bronson Avenue

building. There were only five graduates that

year. Alice was also in the first graduating

class of nurses at the University of Ottawa,

as the university had just started classes for

registered nurses. Alice went on from her

university graduation to join the war effort

as a “Wren.”

A number of Immaculata

graduates have become members of religious

communities. Several graduates, as Grey

Sisters, have served as missionaries in

China, Japan, the Bahamas and the

Dominican Republic.

International singing star Alanis

Morissette attended Immaculata for Grades

7 and 8. At the age of 12, she produced her

first record, Fate Stay With Me. On the cover

of an album she wrote a note to a teacher,

Mr. Gorman, as follows: “Mr. Gorman, just

think, you’ve taught me all I know, and I’ll

never swallow gum again. Alanis.”

Student Keenan MacWilliam took

time aw