Dirt and Trail September 2019


SA's adventure magazine

NATIONAL MX Pics by Zygs Brodalka.

Maritzburg On Fire!

The fifth round of the 2019 TRP

South African National Motocross

Championship added a significant

rumble to Thunder Valley in

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu Natal

on Saturday 10 August, where

most classes saw their title chases

tighten up as the season winds

down toward an epic culmination.

The action in the two star classes was

nothing short of electric as riders fought

it out bar-to-bar for most of the weekend,

but it was Gauteng rider Tristan Purdon

who ultimately powered his Red Bull

KTM to a double victory, while Cape lad

Lloyd Vercueil (Florstore OnTrend Summit

Yamaha) and local hero Matthew Malan

(Q4 Fuels Husqvarna) shared out the


David Goosen (Out Of Africa Monster

Energy Yamaha) was fourth each time,

while Wesley du Plooy (Husqvarna), Dylan

Mostert (Honda) and Marco de Vrye

(Husqvarna) fought it out behind.

That means Purdon has now closed

Malan’s championship advantage down

to just three points with Vercueil only ten

points further adrift.

It was just as gripping in 250cc MX2 as

Gauteng rider Kerim Fitz-Gerald (Red Bull

KTM) overcame title rivals, compatriot

Joshua Mlimi (Red Bull KTM) and Anthony

Raynard (Tinswalo Yamaha) from the Cape

in both races to slot between Raynard and

Mlimi in another title top three now split

by just 10 points.

Slade Smith (CIT Husqvarna) ended up

fourth from Jesse Wright (Yamaha) and

Ricky Raaff (Husqvarna).

In MX3, Tyson Engelbrecht (KTM) did

his over-30 title chances no harm at all

by beating similarly mounted title rival

Johnathan Hubbard each time, with Roger

Bergstrom (Husqvarna) third.

Ian Topliss (Out Of Africa Monster

Energy Yamaha) and Brett Bircher (KTM)

shared the over-40 wins with Craig Kruger

(KTM) third each time, to leave those

three riders split by just 15 points.

Rodney Odendaal (Husqvarna) beat

Rod Bergstrom (Suzuki) to over-50


Kayla Raaff (Husqvarna) celebrated

Women’s Day in style by remaining

unbeaten in Ladies MX in 10 starts so

far this season, beating Natasha Rugani

(KTM) to both Matitzburg moto wins.

Jadene de Lima (KTM) came out

of a tight battle with Megan Jonker

(Husqvarna) and Tiegan Reed (KTM) to

take the third podium slot with Cheyenne

De Lima (KTM) sixth.

In schoolboy action, Gauteng rider

Dalton Venter (CIT Husqvarna) continued

his 125cc High School domination with

another double victory in KZN, leading

Miguel de Waal (KTM), Arnu Saaiman

(KTM), Christiaan Cilliers (Yamaha) and

KTM duo Zimbabwean Tristan Grainger

and Thabo Verster home in the same

order in both races.

Blake Young (KTM) took the opening

85cc Pro Mini race from Leonard du Toit

(KTM), Bryce Petersen (Yamaha) Luke

Grundy and Lucca Mynhardt (Yamaha).

Anthony Raynard and Slade Smith MX2

Arnu Saayman 125cc

Dalton Venter 125cc

Lloyd Vercuil MX1

More magazines by this user
Similar magazines