Academia Europaea

Academia Europaea

Academia Europaea


You also want an ePaper? Increase the reach of your titles

YUMPU automatically turns print PDFs into web optimized ePapers that Google loves.

Michel Che – Council nominee (Sciences) – until 2012Cinzia Ferrini Independent nominee – until 2013Theo D’Haen - Co-opted - until 2013Ole Petersen – Co-opted – until 2013Jerzy Langer – Co-opted – until 20134.3 The President reported that following a search and discussion at Council: theCouncil had voted to award Professor Manuel CASTELLS (Barcelona) as the 2011Erasmus Medal awardee and Heinz-Nixdorf Erasmus Lecturer. The award and lecturewould be delivered at the 2011 annual conference to be held in Paris in September2011.5. Reports5.1 The President gave a full account of the activities and achievements of theAcademia Europaea from April 2009 – March 2010. He also reported on individualmeetings held with other institutions in his capacity as President of the AcademiaEuropaea. On a proposal from the Board, the members adopted the audited annualreport for the year ending March 2010.5.2.1 The Treasurer reported on the financial year that had ended March 31 2010. Thefull audited accounts and a summary were available for scrutiny and were publishedon the AE website. The Treasurer highlighted the current vulnerabilities in thefinances of the AE. An appeal to members to pay annual subscriptions was made.5.2.2 The Treasurer proposed on behalf of the Board a motion to re-appoint theauditors – Messrs Keith Vaudrey and Company Ltd for a further year. The membersapproved the motion on a show of hands.5.2.3 The Treasurer proposed a motion on behalf of the Board, to set the 2011 annualsubscription at 120 Euros. Exemptions for members aged 75 and over and for Foreignand honorary members were re-confirmed for a further year.5.3 Retiring Chair of Trustees – Professor Brian Heap. Thanked a number of peoplefor their longstanding support to the Academia Europaea. In particular thanks werenoted to Professor Arnold Burgen who was the founding President and instrumental inthe establishment of the Academy. The Royal Society and other sponsors who hadalso been involved in the establishment of the AE were also thanked. Professor Heapalso reported on his role as the AE nominee and incoming chair of the EuropeanAcademy Science Advisory Council (EASAC): a body established with strong inputfrom the Academia Europaea and which had a new secretariat located within TheNational Academy of Sciences of Germany (Leopoldina) and a subsidiary office inBrussels.5.4 Chair of the Nominations Sub committee – Professor Ole Petersen reported on theelection and nomination of new members of the AE. He reminded all memberspresent of their right to nominate candidates across all Sections of the Academy. Healso noted the significant ageing demographic resulting from the initial years’recruitment of members, and therefore the need to work hard to identify excellentactive and emerging scholars, as future candidates for membership. Prof Petersen2

eported on future changes to the process of nomination and that focus would be onuse of online nominations; scrutiny by Section committees and a specialsupplementary process “The President’s List” targeted at exceptional individuals whodid not fit easily the normal criteria.5.5 Editor-in-Chief of the European Review – Professor D’Haen summarised thehighlights of the journal year. He especially focussed o the increased demand forpublication, in particular from the Humanities and non AE members. USA paperswere increasingly submitted. He invited members to offer their services as guesteditors; authors of book reviews and to lead on future Focus topics. The memberswere informed that with Volume 20, issue one (January 2012) members wouldautomatically receive only an online subscription tot eh journal. Individual memberswould be able to subscribe to continue to receive hard copy issues via a directpayment to CUP. Full details would be announced over the coming year.6. Raising the Profile of the AE6.1 Professor Hermann Maurer (Graz) – chair of Informatics. Reported on thedevelopment of the new Academia Europaea web portal – to be known as “aeinfo.org”.He gave a presentation that outlined some of the functionalities of thedevelopment. The project was funded from the “Virtual Academy” project grant ofthe Riksbankens Jubileumsfond.6.2 Professor Jerzy Langer had been co-opted during the year to the Board of Trusteeswith a specific portfolio responsibility for International relationships. He reported onfuture developments of working relationships with UNESCO, The Council of Europe,The ESF, European Commission and other bodies. He also indicted that the Boardwould become more active in commissioning and developing opinions and policypapers.7. New Section of the Academia EuropaeaThe President proposed on behalf of the Board the creation of a new Section –“Applied and Translational Biology”. The focus would be on scholars workingpredominantly in areas where the science was applied or focussed in the domainsbetween basic sciences and the translation of knowledge into practice. The membersapproved the new Section o a show of hands.8. Any Other Business.8.1 Professor Michel Che who would be the local organiser: gave a presentationdescribing the theme for the 2011 annual conference. The programme would be a partof the 2011 International Year of Chemistry.No other business had been notified in accordance with Section 12 of the Regulations,and so the President thanked members for attending the AGM and declared the 22ndbusiness meeting closed.3

The next AGM of members would take place on 20 September 2011.Minutes signed at Paris, on 20th September, 2011-----------------------------------Lars Walløe, PresidentDC/minutes/ Sept. 2011.4

Hooray! Your file is uploaded and ready to be published.

Saved successfully!

Ooh no, something went wrong!