10.10.2012 Views

Theme and circuit walking tours

Theme and circuit walking tours

Theme and circuit walking tours

SHOW MORE
SHOW LESS

Create successful ePaper yourself

Turn your PDF publications into a flip-book with our unique Google optimized e-Paper software.

www.kitzbuehel.com <strong>Theme</strong> <strong>and</strong> <strong>circuit</strong> <strong>walking</strong> <strong>tours</strong>


<strong>Theme</strong> <strong>walking</strong> <strong>tours</strong> Kitzbühel<br />

Instructions on using this theme<br />

<strong>walking</strong> tour guide <strong>and</strong> the<br />

maps<br />

The region Kitzbühel-Reith-Aurach-<br />

Jochberg offers a number of extended<br />

<strong>and</strong> marked <strong>walking</strong> routes of different<br />

degrees of difficulty.The complete network<br />

of routes, which are tended to <strong>and</strong><br />

all of which are sign-posted, extends<br />

over an area of in all 500 km. In the<br />

map sections the tended <strong>walking</strong> routes<br />

are indicated in RED, the theme walks in<br />

YELLOW <strong>and</strong> the <strong>circuit</strong> <strong>tours</strong> in BLUE.<br />

For each suggested walk, the length of<br />

the route, the approximate <strong>walking</strong><br />

time <strong>and</strong> the degree of difficulty are<br />

indicated. The time indicated is a<br />

guideline <strong>and</strong> is shown without any<br />

breaks.We recommend planning a break<br />

after around one to two hours. When<br />

<strong>walking</strong> with little children please<br />

calculate double the time. The<br />

calculation of the times for <strong>walking</strong><br />

from the map is derived from st<strong>and</strong>ard<br />

times for average walkers: basically you<br />

should calculate approximately one<br />

hour for a 300 metre ascent, as well as<br />

for a 500 metre decline or 400 kilometres<br />

on flat routes.<br />

Explanation of signs:<br />

destination time<br />

degree of difficulty trail number<br />

On the sign posts you will find the<br />

respective symbol of the theme walk.<br />

The following theme walk pictograms<br />

identify the progress of the routes.<br />

The alpine flower trail<br />

The four seasons walk<br />

The farmhause museum route<br />

The Streif tour<br />

Way of the cross<br />

The ancestral estate trail<br />

Chapel path<br />

The 7 fountains route<br />

The museum trail<br />

The “Wilder Kaiser”<br />

panoramic trail<br />

Degree of difficulty of routes:<br />

The authority of the Tyrolean Provincial<br />

Government classifies <strong>walking</strong> <strong>and</strong><br />

mountain routes according to their<br />

degree of difficulty as red or black.<br />

What classifies RED is as follows:<br />

dem<strong>and</strong>s Alpine experience, a good<br />

physical constitution <strong>and</strong> the surefootedness<br />

of all those participating in<br />

the walk as well as minimum mountaineering<br />

equipment.<br />

BLACK routes dem<strong>and</strong> the following:<br />

in addition to the usual pre-requisites for<br />

red <strong>walking</strong> routes, hill-walkers<br />

undertaking these routes should not<br />

suffer from vertigo.<br />

Between the individual sign-posts you<br />

will find markings which are normally<br />

attached to stones or trees. These also<br />

serve as an orientation guide <strong>and</strong> are<br />

generally in red-white-red. Very often<br />

there are orientation or panorama<br />

boards or site boards at various points<br />

along the theme walks which provide<br />

additional information about the<br />

progress <strong>and</strong> content of the route itself.<br />

Example of a route marking<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Important hill-<strong>walking</strong> tips:<br />

Make sure that you always have<br />

equipment suitable for hill-<strong>walking</strong>!<br />

The following are always recommended:<br />

solid hill-<strong>walking</strong> boots with a profiled<br />

sole, sun respectively rain protection,<br />

drinks, mobile phone <strong>and</strong> a first-aid set.<br />

Longer <strong>tours</strong> should be planned with<br />

care <strong>and</strong> in the case of any dangers,<br />

only undertake the tour with an<br />

experienced guide.To ensure optimum<br />

safety, you should always find about<br />

the route in advance as well as the<br />

weather conditions.<br />

Before starting on the walk, inform your<br />

l<strong>and</strong>lord or someone you know, where<br />

you are going to.<br />

Never leave the marked routes <strong>and</strong> in<br />

the event of the weather deteriorating<br />

or a danger, end the tour in good time.<br />

Eat <strong>and</strong> drink regularly during the walk<br />

<strong>and</strong> take a ten minute break every 2<br />

hours.<br />

ATTENTION: Alpine countryside should<br />

always be perceived as dangerous!<br />

Particularly when <strong>walking</strong> with children<br />

<strong>and</strong> older people, it should be<br />

remembered that the routes are not<br />

tended all the time. In case of an<br />

emergency, stay calm <strong>and</strong> contact the<br />

Alpine Search Team<br />

> Alpine rescue signal <<br />

> Euro emergency signal 112 <<br />

> Mountain Rescue 140


<strong>Theme</strong> walks Kitzbühel<br />

The Alpine Flower Trail<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

Length of route: in all<br />

approx. 13.8 km.<br />

Difficulty: easy overall<br />

Walking time: approx.<br />

4 hours<br />

More than 300 types of plants from<br />

around the globe are what make this<br />

Alpine Flower Garden an unforgettable<br />

experience. According to experts, the<br />

garden is one of the most beautiful<br />

Alpine gardens in Europe. Covering 1,880<br />

metres it offers an impressive range of<br />

colours in a breath-taking Alpine panorama.<br />

Map progress:<br />

Hornbahn (cable car) – Alpine Flower<br />

Garden – cable car station Alpenhaus<br />

or from the Alpenhaus to the Horngipfel<br />

(peak) – Lämmerbühel mountain pasture<br />

– Kneipp pools – Bichlalm pasture – back<br />

the same route or descent via the old<br />

Sonnberg route to Kitzbühel.<br />

Sections of route of Alpine Flower trail:<br />

From the Hornbahn (cable car) to the<br />

Alpine Flower Garden <strong>and</strong> the Alpenhaus:<br />

1.7 km, 300 metres altitude, 40- 60 min<br />

From the Horngipfel (peak) via the Alpine<br />

Flower Garden,Hornköpfl,Lämmerbühelalm<br />

pasture,Kneipp pools to the Bichlalm<br />

pasture: 6.3 km, 450 altitude, 2.5 hours<br />

From the Alpenhaus to the Bichlalm<br />

pasture:4.9 km,200 m altitude,1.75 hours<br />

Wiesenschwang<br />

698 m<br />

The route in detail:<br />

From the cable car station on the<br />

HORNGIPFEL (2000 m) which can be<br />

reached using Hornbahn 1 <strong>and</strong> the Horn-<br />

Gipfelbahn,there is a slach descent to the Alpine<br />

780 m<br />

Flower Garden.Then the route continues<br />

to the cable car station ALPENHAUS (1670 m,<br />

possibility to make a stop here).This tour<br />

can also be undertaken Riesberg uphill from the<br />

Alpenhaus to the HORNGIPFEL or the<br />

HORNKÖPFL (1660 m, Hornbahn I <strong>and</strong><br />

Hornbahn II). tegen<br />

The Alpine Flower Garden is well signposted<br />

with information boards <strong>and</strong> it is<br />

not only native flowers which have begun<br />

to grow here. There are rare botanical<br />

Sinnesberg<br />

sights from all parts of the globe in this<br />

unique garden.The garden Höglern is the fruit of<br />

the labour of Eva <strong>and</strong> Toni Hofer Unterberg who have<br />

Hinter-<br />

tended the Alpine Garden grubsince<br />

1985.They<br />

have travelled around Obernau the globe to bring<br />

back rare plants from the Caucasus, Oberbarmthe<br />

Andes, the Pyrenees or the Himalayas.<br />

terbarm<br />

Barmleiten<br />

Sinneben<br />

The garden is embedded in the turf<br />

between natural cliff structures which<br />

were specially removed <strong>and</strong> converted for<br />

this purpose.In addition the Hofer family<br />

Griesenau<br />

created two artificial weirs.Prof Dr.Herbert<br />

Reisigl from the Botanic Bhf Institute Going in<br />

Innsbruck acts as the consultant <strong>and</strong> is<br />

responsible for the archiving work in the<br />

Alpine Flower Garden. Here science<br />

blossoms in the most enchanting manner. Zwicker<br />

You have the chance to admire it free Leiten of<br />

charge from spring to autumn.<br />

After riding to the summit <strong>and</strong> the<br />

colourful hike through the Alpine Schloß<br />

rach<br />

rg-<br />

Warnbach<br />

Panoramastraße Kitzbüheler Horn<br />

Mittelstation tion<br />

1266 66 m<br />

Obernaualm bernaualm<br />

Pletzeralm<br />

Adlernhütte<br />

H o r n b a h n I<br />

Kitzbüheler Horn<br />

1a<br />

34<br />

31<br />

Kitzbühel bühel<br />

761 m<br />

16<br />

Grünberg rünberg r nberg<br />

Goinger Alm<br />

31<br />

Hachlern<br />

Hachlern<br />

H o r n - G i p f e l b a H o r n - G i p f e l b a hh nn<br />

H o r n b a h n II<br />

H o r n b a h n II<br />

Grünberg<br />

Lahning<br />

16<br />

Alpenhaus<br />

1670<br />

TTrattalm r a t t a l m<br />

Reichern<br />

Hagstein<br />

1032<br />

Kitzbüheler Horn<br />

1996<br />

30<br />

Alpen- Alpen- Alpenblumengarten<br />

blumengarten<br />

1880 1880 m<br />

34<br />

Wilder Haag<br />

1639<br />

Schwent<br />

Sonnhoffeld<br />

Golfplatz<br />

Kitzbühel<br />

9 hole<br />

6<br />

Pfeifern 6<br />

Schleierwasserfall<br />

Schleierwasserfall<br />

Oberleiten<br />

Köglern<br />

Boden Boden 3 Waltenberg<br />

altenberg<br />

Zephirau<br />

Kaps<br />

Ebner-Kap.<br />

Eben<br />

Erb<br />

StockerdörflOberbrunn<br />

Henntal<br />

Unter-<br />

29<br />

Gipfelhaus<br />

32<br />

Obere Raintalalm<br />

1561<br />

Hornköpfl<br />

1773<br />

32a<br />

32<br />

Eggl<br />

1652<br />

Lugeck<br />

Sonnenstüberl<br />

H o f e r s c h n e i d<br />

H o f e r s c h n e i d<br />

Spathütte<br />

32<br />

Brunnhoferalm<br />

Oberaigenalm<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Moorlacke<br />

Pfeiferkogel<br />

1669<br />

Hochetzkogel<br />

1738<br />

Bichlalm<br />

1670<br />

Untere Reintalalm<br />

1290 1290<br />

Gwindalm<br />

39<br />

37<br />

32<br />

AA ll pp bb aa cc hh<br />

Beerenbr<strong>and</strong>alm<br />

1553<br />

Lämmerbichla<br />

Lämmerb<br />

15<br />

Stuckkogel<br />

Stuckko<br />

1888 1<br />

Map section of Alpine Flower Trail


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Garden to the Hornköpfl, visitors will<br />

be delighted by the view of the Kitzbühel<br />

mountains.<br />

The longer walk via the Lämmerbühelalm<br />

pasture (possibility to take a break<br />

here) to the Bichlalm pasture (possible<br />

place for a break) features no strong<br />

inclines. In addition to the varied fauna,<br />

it is possible to enjoy a Kneipp bath on<br />

the way in the fresh mountain spring<br />

water.<br />

From the Bichlalm pasture it is possible<br />

to return the same way through the<br />

Alpine Flower garden or via the “old<br />

Sonnberg path” past the SONNBERG-<br />

STUB’N (possible place for a break) <strong>and</strong><br />

the singing l<strong>and</strong>lady Rosi, descending to<br />

Kitzbühel.<br />

When does what blossom?<br />

The Alpine Flower Garden is<br />

attractive in every season. Here is a<br />

small excerpt of what awaits you<br />

in the spring to autumn.<br />

Spring:<br />

Spring crocuses, alpine snowbell,<br />

mezeron, gentian, auricular, white<br />

Alpine buttercup, Campion, moss,<br />

alpine anemone, anemone<br />

narissiflore<br />

Summer:<br />

Aster Alpine, arnica, bellflower,<br />

bearded, pedicularis, Alpine rose,<br />

yellow gentian,Turk’s cap lily, orchids,<br />

gymnadenia conopsea<br />

Autumn:<br />

Hieracium villosum, calluna, German<br />

gentian, brown-violet gentian, thistle<br />

(cirsium eriophorum), blue monk’s<br />

hood, Alpine eryngo, high larkspur,<br />

carlina acaulis<br />

Guided <strong>tours</strong> <strong>and</strong> information<br />

Free guided <strong>tours</strong> in July <strong>and</strong> August,<br />

2 x daily. Trip up to the Alpine Flower<br />

Garden via the Kitzbühel Horn cable<br />

cars from May to September.Entrance<br />

to Alpine Flower Garden,reachable via<br />

the Hornbahn I <strong>and</strong> Horn Gipfelbahn.<br />

For those thirsty for knowledge there is<br />

a “guide book” through the Alpine<br />

Flower Garden on the Kitzbüheler Horn<br />

which is available at the lift stations of<br />

Bergbahn AG Kitzbühel <strong>and</strong> Kitzbühel<br />

Tourismus for Euro 3 (also available in<br />

English).


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel<br />

Four-seasons walk<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

Length: approx. 2.5 km<br />

Difficulty: easy, for families,<br />

senior citizens, easy<br />

to manage with a pram,<br />

suitable forwheelchairs<br />

Walking time: approx.<br />

1 hour<br />

How much milk does a cow produce a<br />

day? What is the device with the strange<br />

sounding name of “Kardatsche” used<br />

for? What does freshly cut hay feel like?<br />

Exciting answers to these <strong>and</strong> numerous<br />

other questions are to be found on the<br />

interactive four-seasons walk on the<br />

Hahnenkamm.<br />

In this innovative project the agricultural<br />

year is at the centre of attention.<br />

Directly reachable with the Hahnenkamm<br />

cable car, a route has been put<br />

together which is easy to walk <strong>and</strong><br />

appeals to the senses.<br />

The four stations, each of which is devoted<br />

to one season, attract visitors to<br />

come <strong>and</strong> listen, look, smell <strong>and</strong> taste.<br />

The entrance is free of charge. You can<br />

either go there to discover things on<br />

your own or take part in one of the<br />

regular guided <strong>tours</strong> within the framework<br />

of the free Kitzbühel hill<strong>walking</strong><br />

programme.<br />

Information can be obtained from<br />

Kitzbühel Tourismus.<br />

Course of walk:<br />

The four-seasons walk continues along<br />

the panorama route on the Hahnenkamm<br />

starting at the Hahnenkamm<br />

cable car – STREIF start house – Bernhard<br />

chapel – Berghaus Tyrol – Hahnenkamm<br />

Stüberl – back to the mountain station.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

You take the world-famous Hahnenkamm<br />

cable car to the home mountain<br />

of Kitzbühel where you will find the first<br />

information board near the mountain<br />

station HOCHKITZBÜHEL (possibility to<br />

have a break here) of the theme walk.<br />

From here the route continues in the<br />

direction of the STREIF start house <strong>and</strong><br />

then on through the forest until the<br />

route reaches the first sign post to the<br />

BERNHARD chapel <strong>and</strong> the four-seasons<br />

walk.<br />

In the course of the route you will find<br />

four stations.The SPRING station has as<br />

its motto “Milk”. On the traces of the<br />

milk route, the milk walk will have you<br />

researching the cow itself through to<br />

the actual packaging material for the<br />

milk. At the milk st<strong>and</strong> you can test your<br />

own skills as a milk farmer. After<br />

approximately 100 metres you will reach<br />

the SUMMER station which is devoted in<br />

its entirety to “Hay”. Anyone who has<br />

made a man of hay with their own h<strong>and</strong>s<br />

can then let relax a bit on the hay bed in<br />

the Tyrolean world of sagas.<br />

This is followed by the AUTUMN station<br />

which is located underneath the<br />

BERGHAUS TYROL (possibility to stop for<br />

a break here).With “Wood” as its motto<br />

a presentation is given of how ingenious<br />

native wood actually is – something<br />

which our ancestors have known for a<br />

very long time. Apart from old wooden<br />

houses <strong>and</strong> shingle roofs, wooden fences<br />

for example are also part <strong>and</strong> parcel of a<br />

typical Tyrolean l<strong>and</strong>scape. The fourseasons<br />

walk has revived old methods of<br />

building fences <strong>and</strong> has erected some<br />

models for your inspection.<br />

On the last part of the walk you will<br />

come to the WINTER STATION underneath<br />

the BERNHARD chapel which is devoted<br />

to the subject of “Farmers’ H<strong>and</strong>icraft”.<br />

From basket-making, to spinning <strong>and</strong><br />

wood carving, the old techniques are<br />

explained to visitors <strong>and</strong> different kinds<br />

of materials invite you to touch them.<br />

From here the panorama route goes<br />

back in the direction of the HAHNEN-<br />

KAMMSTÜBERL (possibility to stop here<br />

for a break) to the mountain station<br />

HOCHKITZBÜHEL (possibility to stop here<br />

Obere<br />

Fleckalm<br />

1462<br />

Berghs.<br />

Bernhard- Bernhard- Tirol<br />

kapelle<br />

kapelle<br />

23<br />

öhe<br />

24<br />

22<br />

EhrenbachEhrenbachhöhenseehöhensee<br />

22<br />

23<br />

Sonnbühel<br />

21 21<br />

Waldeköpfl<br />

1712<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

for a break). For those who enjoy hill<strong>walking</strong><br />

<strong>and</strong> wish to continue the tour,<br />

there are numerous alternatives available:<br />

the hill-<strong>walking</strong> routes to HOCHBRUNN<br />

<strong>and</strong> further on to the PENGELSTEIN, to the<br />

EHRENBACHHÖHE lake with the Kneipp<br />

basins, to the FLECKALM (mountain<br />

pasture), MAIERL or the OCHSALM<br />

(mountain pasture) in the direction of<br />

Kirchberg.<br />

Picture above: view of the Speicher lake<br />

Picture below: section of map of<br />

four-season walk<br />

Bergbahnmuseum


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel<br />

The farmhouse museum route<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

Length: approx. 4.9 km<br />

Degree of difficulty: easy,<br />

suitable for families +<br />

senior citizens<br />

Walking time: 1.5 h<br />

This walk will take you from the chic,<br />

touristy town centre to the in part<br />

farmhouse outskirts of the town of<br />

Kitzbühel. On this expedition „back<br />

through time“ you will experience the<br />

modernised medieval town centre, the<br />

birthplace of skiing at the foot of the<br />

Kitzbühel Horn, interesting pioneering<br />

tourist companies <strong>and</strong> at the end of the<br />

road, the farming roots of the town of<br />

Kitzbühel.<br />

Progress of route:<br />

Centre – Hornweg – hospital – Horn<br />

cable car – Tennerhof – Römerweg – the<br />

farmhouse museum - back via the<br />

Vordergrub - Achen promenade - the<br />

station - to the Horn cable car <strong>and</strong> the<br />

centre.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

From the centre this theme walk passes<br />

the HOSPITAL in the direction of the<br />

Kitzbüheler Horn.<br />

The architecture of the front <strong>and</strong> back<br />

parts of the town bear witness to this day<br />

of the fact that Kitzbühel was<br />

characterised for a long time by mining,<br />

trade <strong>and</strong> commerce. The trade guilds<br />

<strong>and</strong> medieval means of production<br />

predominated until 1850.The most decisive<br />

means of making a living was agriculture<br />

which was the main occupation of all the<br />

working people in this area.The way of life<br />

in this quiet country community was<br />

characterised by agriculture,in agreement<br />

with most of Austria.<br />

With the connection to the railroad at<br />

the end of the 19th Century, social <strong>and</strong><br />

economic changes began to gather<br />

momentum in Kitzbühel as well. This<br />

can be seen in particular at the next<br />

station on the Kitzbühel Horn cable car.<br />

It was here in 1892 that the snow-covered<br />

<strong>and</strong> completely euphoric Franz Reisch<br />

welcomed his friend Josef Herold who<br />

had nervously waited on him for hours at<br />

the edge of a field. In the year 1892 Franz<br />

Reisch was the first<br />

human to descend<br />

from the Kitzbüheler<br />

Horn on skis.<br />

Some years later in<br />

1929, the first cable<br />

car was started up<br />

on the Hahnenkamm,<br />

the cable car which conveyed<br />

people to the Kitzbüheler Horn was<br />

started in 1951.<br />

At this time Kitzbühel was already making<br />

a name for itself all over the world as a<br />

winter sports destination.This is mirrored<br />

in the next station. If one follows the<br />

Hornweg further in the direction of<br />

FREISENAUWEG, then on the right h<strong>and</strong><br />

side one comes across a shining example<br />

of the hotel pioneers of Kitzbühel of<br />

former days.The history of the luxurious<br />

5-star hotel TENNERHOF can be traced<br />

ee ee<br />

back to the year 1737. The greatgr<strong>and</strong>mother<br />

of today’s owner, Duchess<br />

Schall Riaucour, purchased the property<br />

<strong>and</strong> the farm belonging to this in the<br />

year 1927 thus laying the foundations for<br />

a hotel after World War II.<br />

Following a short stop, the walk leads<br />

onto the Römerweg (Way of the<br />

Romans) <strong>and</strong> at the same time in the<br />

direction of the edge of the town. If<br />

one glances from here back to the town<br />

centre it is still possible to make out<br />

some of the villas <strong>and</strong> the hotel<br />

architecture erected in the last century.<br />

The mode of construction given the name<br />

53<br />

7<br />

46a<br />

12<br />

53<br />

12<br />

Steuerberg<br />

Oberhaus<br />

11<br />

Kampen<br />

11a<br />

15<br />

12<br />

15<br />

11<br />

Lebenberg-<br />

LebenbergLebenbergkopf<br />

883<br />

Schloß<br />

Lebenberg<br />

Lebenberg<br />

10<br />

7<br />

Filzen<br />

9<br />

Ecking Ecking<br />

e<br />

10<br />

Siedlung Siedlung<br />

Frieden<br />

Höglern<br />

Vordergrub<br />

14<br />

Hintergrub<br />

15<br />

11<br />

14<br />

Unterbarm<br />

15<br />

12<br />

Obernau<br />

Bhf Bhf<br />

13<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

of “domestic revival”style is recognisable<br />

by the natural stone walls,medieval timber<br />

frame structures,spacious glass ver<strong>and</strong>as<br />

<strong>and</strong> balconies. Today these buildings are<br />

joined by modern hotel structures which<br />

are spreading more <strong>and</strong> more to the<br />

outskirts as is the case in other Alpine<br />

winter sports destinations.<br />

Likewise on the Way of the Romans you<br />

will find the next <strong>and</strong> last station of the<br />

theme walk, the farmhouse museum<br />

HINTEROBERNAU.<br />

The farmhouse from the year 1559 of the<br />

Salzburg-Tyrolean type with everything<br />

Unterberg<br />

Oberbarm<br />

14<br />

Griesenau Griesenau<br />

Sinnesberg<br />

Sinnesberg<br />

Barmleiten<br />

13<br />

16<br />

Sinneben<br />

Going<br />

Pletzeralm Pletzeralm<br />

HH oo rr nn bb aa hh nn II<br />

34<br />

16<br />

Zwicker<br />

Leiten<br />

Leiten<br />

Mittelst Mittelsta<br />

12<br />

Kitzb Kitz<br />

G<br />

in the same house<br />

(e.g. the stables,<br />

baking house, the<br />

laundry house) is<br />

decorated in the style<br />

of 100 years ago <strong>and</strong><br />

shows the farming<br />

way of life before<br />

tourism made inroads<br />

on the Kitzbühel<br />

region.<br />

The farmhouse is<br />

equipped with tools<br />

<strong>and</strong> equipment, a<br />

smoke-room, a parlour,<br />

a bed room<br />

<strong>and</strong> a barn.<br />

Map section of<br />

farmhouse museum<br />

route (yellow)


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Tennerhof:from agriculture to tourism<br />

The history of this luxurious 5-star<br />

hotel goes back to the year 1737 at<br />

which time the Tennerhof was still a<br />

farm. The great-gr<strong>and</strong>mother of the<br />

present owner, Countess Schall<br />

Riaucour, acquired the property<br />

together with the adjoining farm in<br />

1927.In the second half of the war,the<br />

house was seized by the Nazi regime,<br />

although the owners retained a<br />

modest right of abode. In 1945 or<br />

thereabouts some relatives <strong>and</strong> various<br />

friends of the family came from the<br />

east, from Vienna <strong>and</strong> Budapest<br />

seeking protection from the advancing<br />

Russian. Since it was not possible to<br />

provide board <strong>and</strong> lodging for all their<br />

friends on a long-term basis, the<br />

“paying guest” set-up was initiated,<br />

thus laying the foundation for the<br />

accommodation industry.Leopold von<br />

Pasquali, the heir, having returned<br />

from the war, attended a school of<br />

hotel management <strong>and</strong> shortly<br />

afterwards, seasonal trade began to<br />

thrive with visits from his society<br />

friends.Thus the nobility used to queue<br />

up in a disciplined manner every<br />

morning at the baths in the corridors<br />

with face cloths, soap <strong>and</strong><br />

toothbrushes under their arms. The<br />

special flair of the hotel can be<br />

attributed to its success in making<br />

constant improvements, such as<br />

refitting <strong>and</strong> extensions.<br />

The farmhouse museum<br />

Hinterobernau (figure above)<br />

Verein Bauernhausmuseum<br />

Herbert Jordan,<br />

Open July to September<br />

Monday – Saturday, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.<br />

Closed on Sundays<br />

Change in the urban features of<br />

Kitzbühel<br />

From its comparatively modest<br />

beginnings as a summer resort, with<br />

the advent of winter sports at the<br />

end of the 19th Century, tourism<br />

began to thrive <strong>and</strong> very quickly<br />

became a decisive factor in the<br />

town’s economy.<br />

Its elevation to a fashionable<br />

summer resort <strong>and</strong> first class winter<br />

sports destination was not without<br />

its impact on the townscape of the<br />

small rural parishes. The area of<br />

settlement was developed on a large<br />

scale for the first time since its<br />

heyday as a mining centre some<br />

centuries before.<br />

Following rapid tourist development,<br />

the town centre, which had already<br />

been characterised by town houses<br />

rather than rural in design, together<br />

with the mostly very modest houses<br />

on the outskirts, was very soon<br />

surrounded by the internationally<br />

prevalent villa <strong>and</strong> hotel architecture,<br />

which kept spreading to the outskirts<br />

<strong>and</strong> is still evident today.<br />

Characteristic of this summer resort,<br />

Swiss or the domestic revival style of<br />

architecture, is the construction of<br />

bases <strong>and</strong> complete walls in local<br />

natural stone or the medieval timber<br />

frame construction as executed by<br />

carpenters.<br />

Roomy glass ver<strong>and</strong>as, balconies <strong>and</strong><br />

large protecting canopies are<br />

intended to ensure that nature is<br />

enjoyed without having to do<br />

without the amenities of life in a<br />

large town. Today one still finds<br />

many hotel buildings (e.g. the Gr<strong>and</strong><br />

Hotel) <strong>and</strong> second residences, such<br />

as the Villa Zurner (the building with<br />

a turret, below left in the picture<br />

with a view of the old town), which<br />

integrate harmoniously into the<br />

townscape of Kitzbühel.<br />

Romanticism has had an impact on<br />

the architecture, as well as the<br />

language of those times <strong>and</strong> one<br />

assumes that this was when the<br />

“Römerweg” (Way of the Romans)<br />

was given its name.<br />

(Source: Wido Sieberer,<br />

Kitzbühels Weg ins 20. Jahrhundert)<br />

Picture above: view of historic town


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel<br />

Streif walk<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

Length: approx. 3.8 km,<br />

difference in altitude of<br />

900 metres<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

average to difficult<br />

Walking time: 2.5 hours<br />

The „Streif“ is known as the classic <strong>and</strong><br />

most difficult downhill racing course<br />

in the world. Every year it inspires<br />

thous<strong>and</strong>s of spectators <strong>and</strong> winter<br />

sports fans.The key places on the Streif<br />

walk are marked by goals each of which<br />

represents one stop or station.<br />

Progress of the route<br />

Ascent with the Hahnenkamm cable<br />

car – mountain railway museum –<br />

starting house – the mousetrap – steep<br />

slope – Gschöss – Alte Schneise –<br />

Seidlalm – Lärchenschuss – Hausberg –<br />

finishing line<br />

The route in detail<br />

After ascending with the Hahnenkamm<br />

cable car,it is possible to visit the mountain<br />

railway museum directly at the summit<br />

station (possibility to stop for a break<br />

here). Here you will discover some<br />

interesting <strong>and</strong> curious facts about the<br />

history of Kitzbühel as a pioneering region<br />

in Alpine winter sports in general as well<br />

as about the history of the Bergbahn AG<br />

Kitzbühel in particular. The museum is<br />

open daily in the summer.The route then<br />

continues to the actual start of the Streif<br />

walk, the starting house. From here it is<br />

3312 m to the finishing line. After passing<br />

the steep start section, the adventurous<br />

walk carries on to the world famous<br />

mousetrap.With an incline of 85% this is<br />

the steepest part of the downhill race.<br />

Anyone who has yet not had enough of<br />

these dizzy heights can continue to the<br />

next station on the steep slope.This stretch<br />

is the iciest during the winter.<br />

This is followed by the flattest <strong>and</strong> longest<br />

section known as the Gschöss.The skiers<br />

pass through this area at a speed of<br />

approx. 90 km/h.<br />

Now the ALTE SCHNEISE can no longer<br />

be missed. This is the least peaceful part<br />

of the race since the skiers are challenged<br />

here by the rapid change in the terrain<br />

<strong>and</strong> changing light conditions.From here<br />

it is now only another 536 metres to the<br />

finishing line <strong>and</strong> it is not far from the<br />

SEIDLALM (possibility to stop here for a<br />

break).<br />

This is the place where the idea for the<br />

world cup was born. Anyone who would<br />

like to have a longer break can continue to<br />

the SEIDLALM lake,a storage pond used for<br />

making snow.<br />

At the end of the Streif walk, the Lärchen<br />

slope, the Hausberg (final jump before<br />

finishing line) <strong>and</strong> the steep slope at the<br />

finishing line await you.<br />

The Hausberg is described by many experts<br />

as the most breath-taking part of the race<br />

but also the most dem<strong>and</strong>ing on the<br />

athletes <strong>and</strong> their equipment. In the<br />

finishing area, the skiers reach speeds of<br />

up to 140 km/h.<br />

The interfaces of the Streif<br />

downhill race<br />

Start<br />

Greatest acceleration: 160 m in 8.5<br />

seconds to the mousetrap,difference<br />

in altitude to the finish 860 m,length<br />

of stretch to finish 3,312 m,inclination<br />

51%, speed 100 km/h<br />

Mousetrap<br />

The steepest point:85%,furthest jump<br />

80 m,difference in altitude 3,152 metres,<br />

inclination 73%, speed 120 km/h<br />

Steep slope<br />

The iciest part: extremely high<br />

centrifugal forces,difference in altitude<br />

to finish 693 m, length of stretch to<br />

finish 2,800 m,inclination 62%,speed Koglern<br />

100 km/h<br />

Finish<br />

The fastest part,difference in altitude<br />

to finish 117 m, length of stretch to<br />

finish 406 m, inclination 68%, speed<br />

140 km/h<br />

Zenzern<br />

Ecking<br />

Gschöss<br />

Flattest part:2% longest gliding part:<br />

650 m, altitude difference Neuhausalm to finish<br />

581 m,length of stretch to finish 2,459<br />

m, inclination 14%, speed 90 km/h<br />

a<br />

Alte Schneise<br />

Least peaceful part: rapid change Zenzeralm in ralm<br />

terrain <strong>and</strong> light conditions, altitude<br />

difference to finish 526 m, length of Seidlalmkopf<br />

stretch to finish 2,020 m, inclination<br />

1391<br />

45%, speed 100 km/h<br />

Seidlalm<br />

Streifalm<br />

Half-way: 1,600 of 3,200 m, place<br />

1275<br />

where idea was born for the World<br />

48<br />

SeidlSeidlalmseealmsee 26<br />

Kampen<br />

46<br />

Seidlalm<br />

1206<br />

26<br />

7a<br />

7<br />

46<br />

48<br />

46<br />

25<br />

Golfpla<br />

Rasmush Rasmusho<br />

9 ho hol<br />

7<br />

8<br />

25<br />

26<br />

45<br />

47<br />

Scha<br />

siedl<br />

Cup in the year 1966, difference in<br />

altitude to finish 439 m, length of<br />

stretch to finish 1,703 m, inclination<br />

53%, speed 90 km/h<br />

Obere<br />

Fleckalm<br />

1462 Berghs.<br />

Bernhard- Tirol<br />

kapelle<br />

46<br />

Hocheck-H.<br />

25a<br />

21 Bergbahn- Bergbahnmuseum<br />

Figure above:<br />

map section of Streif Astenalm walk<br />

Waldeköpfl<br />

1712<br />

E<br />

b a h n<br />

hrenbachhöhe<br />

Ehrenbachhöhensee<br />

m m a k n e nn hh aa HH Sonnbühel<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Lärchenschuss (steep slope)<br />

Second gliding part:102.5 km/h average<br />

speed, difference in altitude to<br />

finish 349 m,length of stretch to finish<br />

1,273 m, inclination 39%, speed 100<br />

km/h<br />

Hausberg<br />

A breath-taking part of the race <strong>and</strong><br />

the most dem<strong>and</strong>ing section on the<br />

athletes <strong>and</strong> their equipment,<br />

difference in altitude to finish 230 m,<br />

length of the stretch to finish 695 m,<br />

inclination 69%, speed 100 km/h<br />

HH aa hh nn ee nn kk aa mm mm bb aa hh nn<br />

aben<br />

G


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel<br />

Streif walk<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

The mountain railway museum<br />

The first swings downhill on boards<br />

on the Kitzbühel Horn took place<br />

almost 100 years ago. Such was the<br />

pioneering spirit, stubbornness <strong>and</strong><br />

the visionary foresight of only a<br />

h<strong>and</strong>ful of people who at that time<br />

laid the basis for the international<br />

reputation Kitzbühel now enjoys as<br />

a skiing resort <strong>and</strong> today's modern<br />

tourism.<br />

An exciting trip back through time,<br />

brought to life by means of historic<br />

exhibits, photos <strong>and</strong> documents<br />

from the past. The virtual ski<br />

simulator is particularly popular.Try<br />

it out to experience a downhill run<br />

on the Streif at close h<strong>and</strong>!<br />

Open daily from June to October, 10<br />

a.m. to 4 p.m.. Every Friday nocturnal<br />

cable car trip – visit to the museum<br />

also possible in the evening.<br />

Entrance free!<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

“Ganslernhang” - slalom<br />

The high speed <strong>and</strong> changing conditions<br />

will represent a challenge<br />

to any skier.<br />

A perfect skiing technique includes<br />

the following: reducing your speed,<br />

letting your skis go, looking ahead<br />

<strong>and</strong> attacking.<br />

The slalom combination at<br />

"Hohenegg" becomes a true challenge<br />

when enthusiastic spectators<br />

accompany the racers to the finishing<br />

line applauding wildly.<br />

Kitzbühel Super-G<br />

After starting from the Seidlalmkopf,<br />

the steep starting slope of the<br />

“Streifalm” literally catapults the ski<br />

racers down the slopes, this is<br />

followed by a difficult right-left “S”<br />

combination in the direction of the<br />

Seidlalm jump.<br />

The run then continues along the<br />

Streif downhill track.The highlights<br />

of the Super-Gs are the<br />

Hausbergkante <strong>and</strong> Hausberg-<br />

Querfahrt which test the racing stars<br />

to the limit.<br />

The finishing line along the line of<br />

the slope gives the skiers the<br />

opportunity to demonstrate the<br />

elegance of their sport at high speed.


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Kitzbühel<br />

Kreuzweg (Way of the Cross)<br />

Place: Kitzbühel<br />

Length: approx. 6.3 km<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

average (final section<br />

gets steeper)<br />

Walking time: approx.<br />

2 hours (for slow<br />

walkers)<br />

When designing the Kreuzweg, the art<br />

designer <strong>and</strong> sculptor, Heinz Sohler,<br />

successfully created a symbiosis of<br />

simplicity <strong>and</strong> at the same time a<br />

symbolic portrayal. His figures which are<br />

made of iron allow the observer a lot of<br />

space for his or her own interpretation<br />

due to the formal openness. The 14<br />

stations which depict the scenes of the<br />

torture of Jesus Christ in an iron frame<br />

harmonise with the background which<br />

shows the forest as a backdrop depicted<br />

in all its perishability. The picture is<br />

designed to mirror the progress of human<br />

life itself - easy at the start, becoming<br />

more <strong>and</strong> more difficult <strong>and</strong> arduous<br />

until finally one enters the world of God<br />

from a Christian point of view.<br />

Progress of the route<br />

Centre – Hahnenkammstraße – Bergwerksweg<br />

– limits of settlement - direction<br />

of quarry road – start of the Kreuzweg<br />

– Einsiedeleikapelle – Seidlalm or<br />

the same way back.<br />

The route in detail<br />

Coming from the centre the route<br />

continues via the Hahnenkammstraße<br />

<strong>and</strong> the Bergwerksweg to the edges of<br />

the settlement of Kitzbühel.The Kreuzweg<br />

commences at the so-called “Third<br />

Schattberg”leading in the direction of the<br />

quarry.<br />

The goal of the Kreuzweg is the<br />

Einsiedleikapelle (hermitage chapel) which<br />

was donated by the hatter Franz Stitz in 1735<br />

<strong>and</strong> has since been a favourite place of<br />

pilgrimage.The route takes the same road<br />

back to the valley. However, anyone who<br />

has enough energy left for a longer walk<br />

can continue to the Seidlalm (possibility to<br />

stop for a break here) where they will<br />

discover an idyllic mountain lake.<br />

Attention: please always follow the redwhite-red<br />

markings. At station 4 the<br />

route continues to the right <strong>and</strong> after<br />

station 8 to the left in front of the forest<br />

road.<br />

History of the Kreuzweg<br />

As a result of constructing the forest<br />

roads in the forest at the Schattberg<br />

as of the 60’s, a large part of the<br />

route of the traditional path to the<br />

hermitage was no longer needed. At<br />

the same time the Kreuzweg on the<br />

old Wegstraße to this formerly<br />

significant place of pilgrimage fell<br />

into disuse.<br />

Thanks to the commitment <strong>and</strong> hard<br />

work of Peter Br<strong>and</strong>stätter, the<br />

renovation of the hermitage chapel<br />

was completed in 1995.<br />

Since then Dr. Vitus Grünwald has<br />

concentrated on reconstructing the<br />

Kreuzweg. The Kitzbühel mayor,<br />

Johanna Lidl, was brought on board<br />

lalm<br />

1206<br />

m<br />

gbahneum<br />

Ecking<br />

the “Einsiedelei”project”as a generous<br />

donator to the 14 stations.These were<br />

designed by the local artist Heinz<br />

Sohler.<br />

Kampen<br />

The footpath to the former town<br />

quarry was chosen as the site of the<br />

Kreuzweg past the attractive scenery<br />

of the “Palvei”.<br />

The Einsiedlerei chapel<br />

(hermitage chapel)<br />

(also known as the Maria chapel)<br />

The hermitage chapel “Visitation of<br />

Mary” was donated in 1735 by Franz<br />

Stitz. On a business trip to Carinthia<br />

he was attacked by down <strong>and</strong> outs<br />

<strong>and</strong> to say thank you for surviving he<br />

swore that he would undertake a<br />

pilgrimage to Mariazell <strong>and</strong> found a<br />

chapel. He acted on both of his vows<br />

<strong>and</strong> he took a picture of the Mother<br />

of God with him.<br />

In 1776 a Kreuzweg was used for the<br />

chapel for the first time. In 1884 the<br />

wooden church was newly erected<br />

by Christian Holzkirchlein in stone.<br />

In 1888 the Einsiedelei was converted<br />

into a restaurant <strong>and</strong> pub by the town<br />

council due to the bad experience the<br />

town had had with hermits.<br />

At the time of the “Einsiedelei Magd”<br />

the Einsiedelei was a popular place for<br />

an excursion.The names of numerous<br />

prominent guests can be found in the<br />

guest book (1896-1908).<br />

In 1920 <strong>and</strong> 1935 the chapel was the<br />

victim of heavy fires. Between 1990<br />

H a h n e n k a m m b a h n<br />

Golfplatz<br />

Rasmushof smushof<br />

9 hole<br />

25<br />

Astenalm<br />

8<br />

47<br />

7<br />

Maurach<br />

Schattberg-<br />

Schattbergsiedlung<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

<strong>and</strong> 1995 the Einsiedelei chapel was<br />

renovated <strong>and</strong> a picture of “Maria<br />

Heimsuchung” was hung up.<br />

Each year in July a procession advances<br />

along the Kreuzweg <strong>and</strong> a festive<br />

mass is held by the priest.<br />

Einsiedelei<br />

8<br />

Map section of Kreuzweg<br />

(Way of the Cross)


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Aurach<br />

Ancestral estate trail<br />

Place: Aurach<br />

Length:approx.4 to 5 km<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

average<br />

Walking time: approx.<br />

1.5 hours<br />

The ancestral estate trail in Aurach is a<br />

theme walk both full of variety <strong>and</strong><br />

history.The start of the walk is clear from<br />

a board which indicates the start <strong>and</strong><br />

leads you back to a time when farmhouse<br />

groups <strong>and</strong> lots of individual farmhouses<br />

characterised the face of the township of<br />

the Kitzbühel Alps. Information on the<br />

local culture, the architecture <strong>and</strong> the<br />

history of the Tyrolean ancestral estates<br />

will help to prepare you for the walk<br />

ahead of you.<br />

Progress of the route<br />

Bichln/Bichlhof (parking area) – Bachern –<br />

Filzerb – Filzen – Oberaurach – Hallerwirt<br />

– Niedernberg – same way back – Buchau<br />

direction Trategg – Wildpark (animal park)<br />

– Aurach/Br<strong>and</strong>(er)hof – back via<br />

Schlössw<strong>and</strong> – Schwendt – to Bichln<br />

parking area.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

The first part of the ancestral estate route<br />

leads from the parking area in BICHLN<br />

across what is at the beginning of a<br />

relatively flat piece of the road in the<br />

direction of BACHERN,FILZERB <strong>and</strong> FILZEN<br />

to OBERAURACH. On the way you pass by<br />

the HALLERWIRT (restaurant). It lies directly<br />

on the road <strong>and</strong> offers a good opportunity<br />

to take a break. The HALLERWIRT<br />

ancestral estate Niedernberg<br />

ancestral estate is built entirely of wood<br />

<strong>and</strong> decorated with generous balconies.<br />

From here the road leads to the ancestral<br />

estate on the NIEDERNBERG.The organic<br />

farm which was built in 1569 is owned by<br />

the seventh generation of the Erber family<br />

<strong>and</strong> was awarded the right of inheritance<br />

from the province of Tyrol in 1994. Until<br />

two years ago the farm cultivated<br />

potatoes <strong>and</strong> crops.The farm’s own milk<br />

products,bread <strong>and</strong> br<strong>and</strong>y can be bought<br />

from the farmers’ market which is held<br />

once a week. Back the same way, the<br />

route continues uphill to the luscious<br />

ancestral estate Buchau<br />

green mountains of the ancestral estate<br />

BUCHAU which has been owned by the<br />

Mitterer family since 1759. In former days<br />

the fields in the BUCHAU (direction<br />

Tratteg) had to be tended by h<strong>and</strong> as was<br />

the case on all the other farms.The crops<br />

cultivated included rye, oats <strong>and</strong> wheat.<br />

The first tractor was purchased in the<br />

1970’s <strong>and</strong> the road from Aurach to the<br />

farm was built as late as 1972. This road<br />

leads us to the next station.<br />

The ancestral estate TRATEGG constitutes<br />

another jewel <strong>and</strong> today it is still in a very<br />

good condition. If one passes the<br />

farmhouse one can see the farmhouse’s<br />

own “baking <strong>and</strong> smoking house”on the<br />

right-h<strong>and</strong> side.Today bread is still baked<br />

heim<br />

71<br />

72<br />

Bichln<br />

cc hh<br />

aa bb hh cc ss AA m<br />

71<br />

76<br />

5<br />

76<br />

4<br />

37a<br />

Brachofen<br />

71<br />

5<br />

Bichlhof<br />

i l F z e rr b bb aa cc hh<br />

Filzerb<br />

72<br />

78<br />

Filzen<br />

5<br />

76<br />

Niedernberg<br />

Bachern<br />

Bachern<br />

37a<br />

Oberaurach<br />

Schmalegg<br />

Schwent<br />

gg<br />

rr ee bb nn nn oo SS Schössw<strong>and</strong><br />

37a<br />

75<br />

77<br />

Buchau<br />

74 78<br />

75<br />

82<br />

85<br />

Ob b<br />

78<br />

77<br />

Imper<br />

Trategg<br />

77<br />

37a<br />

37<br />

Br<strong>and</strong>erhof<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

here regularly. In former days the bread<br />

was stored in the storage cupboard of<br />

the main house for months <strong>and</strong> dried. A<br />

few steps further on, on the left-h<strong>and</strong><br />

side,one can find a well preserved honing<br />

machine used to grind the scythes <strong>and</strong> the<br />

Ancestral estate Trategg with the<br />

baking <strong>and</strong> smoking house<br />

Brunnerhochalm<br />

1558<br />

Gaisbergsatte<br />

Gaisbergsatt<br />

16 168<br />

37<br />

Br<strong>and</strong>e Br<strong>and</strong><br />

Hochalm Hocha<br />

Map section ancestral estate trail


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Aurach<br />

Br<strong>and</strong>nerhof ancestral estate<br />

washing house which is now no longer in<br />

use. The latter is located directly next to<br />

the small mountain stream. On washing<br />

day,which was once every week,the water<br />

was diverted from the small spring into<br />

the house <strong>and</strong> heated. If one continues<br />

across the bridge,one finds a forest track<br />

in the direction of the BRANDNERHOF<br />

<strong>and</strong> Aurach animal park. In terms of size,<br />

this is the largest farmhouse in Aurach <strong>and</strong><br />

in times in which there was no machinery<br />

to help out it employed approximately 25<br />

people. The gr<strong>and</strong>-father of the owners<br />

was a pioneer in his day. He introduced<br />

Haflinger horse breeding,which he knew<br />

from Southern Tyrol, to this part of Austria<br />

<strong>and</strong> built a mountain pasture milk<br />

collection point with a collection basin.The<br />

fresh milk was conveyed daily via pipes<br />

into the small “house” next to the main<br />

building.<br />

The adjacent animal park which is worth<br />

a visit <strong>and</strong> also has a restaurant (possibility<br />

to stop for a break here) was erected by<br />

the founding family, the Pletzers, in 1927.<br />

The route then goes on via the SCHÖSS-<br />

WAND <strong>and</strong> SCHWENDT back to the<br />

BICHLN parking area. The road is well<br />

built <strong>and</strong> one passes a refreshing wild<br />

stream.<br />

Anecdotes on the way of life on<br />

Ancestral Estates<br />

Niedernberg:The youngest ancestral<br />

estate in Aurach was built in 1569 <strong>and</strong><br />

enlarged between 1840 <strong>and</strong> 1878.“At<br />

this time the Erbers were already a<br />

very sociable family. Musicians,<br />

firemen <strong>and</strong> animal breeders they<br />

took pleasure in playing an active role<br />

in the life of the local community,<br />

farmer Christian reports.<br />

Buchau:The Buchau ancestral estate<br />

was awarded the right of inheritance<br />

in 1980. The seal of the Tyrolean<br />

ancestral estates is displayed with<br />

pride on the front door. The farmhouse<br />

has been owned by the<br />

Mitterer family for many generations.<br />

As in former times, the favourite place<br />

of the Mitterers is at the dark-green<br />

tiled oven in the “farmers’ parlour”.<br />

With its cosy warmth it heats several<br />

rooms such as for example the room<br />

which was in the past the room for<br />

the nanny which was connected to<br />

the parlour via air shafts.<br />

Trategg:This Tyrolean farmhouse was<br />

awarded the right of inheritance in<br />

1980 just like the Buchau estate. For<br />

decades the owners, the Obernauer<br />

family,have specialised in the keeping<br />

of milk cattle. In the past the<br />

pinzgauer cows produced a lot of<br />

milk for the farm but these have since<br />

been replaced by Simmental cattle<br />

who do well on the market. In the<br />

house itself the cows’ bells of the<br />

cows who won prizes over the years<br />

in Aurach <strong>and</strong> Kitzbühel are displayed<br />

with pride.<br />

Br<strong>and</strong>(er)hof: The Br<strong>and</strong>(er)hof was<br />

built in 1723 <strong>and</strong> has born the title of<br />

“Tyrolean ancestral estate”since 1980.<br />

Since it was one of the largest in the<br />

area the children of the house also<br />

had to help out on the farm. They<br />

collected the fresh alpine pasture cow<br />

milk every day from the collection<br />

basin pouring it into the milk cans.<br />

The road to school was much more<br />

arduous than it is today. It led across<br />

a rough road which was frequently<br />

covered by a thick layer of snow <strong>and</strong><br />

which had to be traversed on sledges<br />

<strong>and</strong> horses.<br />

Hallerwirt:The Hallerwirt which was<br />

built in the year 1697 was awarded<br />

the right of inheritance in 1935. Peter<br />

Filzer who inherited the estate in 1765<br />

after paying an enormous sum to his<br />

brothers <strong>and</strong> sisters established a<br />

restaurant.With confidence he named<br />

himself “l<strong>and</strong>lord <strong>and</strong> host, as well as<br />

farmer”. The same family also<br />

introduced skiing to Aurach together<br />

with the teacher Martin Penz.Thanks<br />

to intervention from the Kitzbühel<br />

skiing pioneers Reisch <strong>and</strong> Herold,the<br />

Aurach farmers were given ten pairs of<br />

“real” skis in the winter of 1905.<br />

Hallerwirt ancestral estate<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

The architecture of the Aurach<br />

estate<br />

The main house, under whose broad<br />

flat sloping <strong>and</strong> broad projecting roof<br />

the “Feuer <strong>and</strong> Futterhaus” (room for<br />

firewood <strong>and</strong> animal feed) are combined,<br />

is a gable-ended, open-plan<br />

house linked by a central corridor.This<br />

division into three continues through<br />

roughly all the storeys of the square<br />

living quarter. The upper storey was<br />

nearly always extended by a wooden<br />

balcony.<br />

The strong rays of the sun on the sturdy<br />

wind-protected benches by the<br />

warmed wall of the house allows the<br />

stored heat to be used in diverse ways.<br />

The sturdy wind-protected benches of<br />

the ancestral estate in Niedernberg<br />

In addition a sturdy bench for resting<br />

on is found at the front of every house.<br />

A small window near the front door<br />

brings daylight into the passage. At<br />

the end a door leads into the stable<br />

<strong>and</strong> on the first floor into a hayloft.<br />

Both living levels are connected by a<br />

staircase.Other agricultural secondary<br />

buildings such as the wash house,<br />

baking oven <strong>and</strong> “Machkammer “ were<br />

often in the background. The wash<br />

house <strong>and</strong> baking oven were separated<br />

from the main house due to the danger<br />

of a fire breaking out.


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Aurach www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

The hierarchies on the Aurach<br />

ancestral estates:<br />

Whilst today large farms can only<br />

afford servants in individual cases<br />

due to the high social insurance<br />

contributions, in the past it would<br />

have been impossible to tend the<br />

farm without their help particularly<br />

if the estate also owned large mountain<br />

pastures.The man was responsible<br />

for the farm work <strong>and</strong> the wife<br />

for managing the home.<br />

The Klosterberg <strong>and</strong> its estates<br />

In the past the Aurach estates were<br />

full of children for example about 15<br />

children lived at Trategg <strong>and</strong> 16 at<br />

Buchau. Because the l<strong>and</strong> was fertile<br />

<strong>and</strong> there were so many children<br />

the mountain over which the farm<br />

was scattered was christened the<br />

Klosterberg (mountain monastery)<br />

by the locals. In the summer the<br />

farmers from the neighbourhood<br />

met at the little chapel, not far from<br />

the Trattberg estate to dance <strong>and</strong><br />

sing.They made music <strong>and</strong> listened<br />

to the sounds of the gramophone<br />

against the backdrop of the<br />

Kitzbühel Alps.<br />

The small chapel on the Klosterberg<br />

The Klosterberg in Aurach<br />

The official ancestral estate identification of the Province of Tyrol<br />

with the idyllic village of Aurach


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Aurach<br />

The chapel path<br />

Place: Aurach<br />

Length: approx. 9.3 km<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

average<br />

Walking time: approx.<br />

2.5 hours<br />

In the habitual language used for a place<br />

of worship for a non-denominational<br />

church a chapel is a small church structure<br />

respectively part of a larger one.The term<br />

chapel is taken from the typical meeting<br />

house of the “Low Church Movement”.<br />

Chapels were <strong>and</strong> are built to fulfil vows<br />

(promises). In the Kitzbühel area lots of<br />

chapels were constructed because the<br />

farmers wanted to thank God for keeping<br />

them <strong>and</strong> their families safe from the<br />

plague.<br />

Progress of the route:<br />

Tourist information office Aurach –<br />

Unteraurach – Auer chapel – Oberaurach<br />

– Forest chapel – Kochau- Götschen chapel-<br />

Grüntal – Pocher chapel – Hechenmoos –<br />

Zantberg/direction of Jochberg – Kleebichl<br />

chapel – back to the Zantberg or Jochberger<br />

Höhenweg Ober- und Unterberging.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

The chapel path begins in Aurach at the<br />

tourist information office.There is also an<br />

information board at the start. The way<br />

to UNTERAURACH to the first station,<br />

the Auer chapel, is a favourite of walkers<br />

<strong>and</strong> hill-walkers. They enjoy the village<br />

charm of the mountainous world. The<br />

Auer chapel lies next to the adjacent farm.<br />

It was built of wood in approx. 1700 <strong>and</strong><br />

this was followed by a stone building in<br />

1836. It once housed a cast stone figure of<br />

the Mother of God from the 15th Century<br />

which can now be found in the Provincial<br />

Museum in Innsbruck for safety reasons.<br />

The asphalt road now continues to<br />

Oberaurach where the next chapel is also<br />

located.The neo-Gothic forest chapel is a<br />

roomy building with a bell tower built in<br />

1862. If one walks quite a way further in<br />

the direction of KOCHEN /HECHENMOOS<br />

one reaches the Götschen chapel which<br />

lies on a hill between Wieseneggbach<br />

<strong>and</strong> the small flat area with the neigh-<br />

Götschen chapel<br />

bouring Grubenhöfen (several farmhouses).<br />

It is said that the picturesque chapel was<br />

built by miners around 1700.Today a small<br />

path leads to the church.<br />

There is a bench to take a rest which<br />

offers the best possibility to enjoy the<br />

panorama of the Kitzbühel Alps. If one<br />

now continues along the theme route<br />

down into the valley to the Grüntal one<br />

finds the next station after a short walk<br />

through the forest.The well maintained<br />

Pocher chapel is the best renovated chapel<br />

built of mortar. The interior was<br />

completely restored in 1969. From Aurach<br />

the road advances to the next chapel on<br />

the opposite side of the valley on the<br />

Zantberg. Past the Hechenmoos, the<br />

asphalt stretch of the road continues<br />

parallel to the Jochberg river, to a branch<br />

in the road.<br />

After a farmhouse the way continues to<br />

the left into a stretch of forest. Once you<br />

have arrived on the Zantberg, the way<br />

continues left again for some hundred<br />

meters to the Kleebichl chapel.<br />

Hidden in the middle of a cows’ pasture<br />

on the left h<strong>and</strong> side of the road the<br />

simple wooden construction from the<br />

year 1900,clad with boards,can be found.<br />

This is where the walk comes to an end.<br />

The way back can be either back across the<br />

Zantberg or the Jochberger Höhenweg<br />

past the Ober- und Unterberging.<br />

Kleebichl<br />

chapel<br />

Unteraurachaurach<br />

81<br />

Aurach<br />

70<br />

Unterberging 71<br />

Oberberging 72<br />

Zantberg<br />

80<br />

Traidler Traidler raidler<br />

73<br />

80<br />

Wimm Wimm<br />

Oberfeld<br />

Oberfeld<br />

80<br />

76<br />

5<br />

71<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Brachofen<br />

71<br />

72<br />

72<br />

Steinerhof<br />

78<br />

Filzen<br />

76<br />

Niedernberg<br />

Untermoosberg<br />

Wiesenegg Wiesenegg -<br />

-<br />

Hechen- Hechenmoos<br />

Gr Grüntal<br />

73<br />

86<br />

87<br />

Bichl<br />

Jochberger Jochberger AA cc hh ee<br />

Pocher chapel<br />

oo<br />

SS 85<br />

74<br />

73<br />

Einathen<br />

Obermoos Obermoose<br />

83<br />

Sc S<br />

Oberaurach<br />

Obern<br />

ee ii ss WW ee nn ee hh<br />

gg gg bb cc aa Map section of path of chapels Aurach<br />

O


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Aurach www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

The various stations<br />

of the chapel path:<br />

The Auer chapel<br />

The Auer chapel was originally built of<br />

wood in the 17th Century. A stone<br />

building followed in 1836.It contained<br />

a stone-cast Madonna figure from the<br />

15th Century which was acquired by<br />

Auer farmers.<br />

Due to its value,the figure is now in the<br />

provincial museum in Innsbruck while<br />

a copy remains in the chapel. On the<br />

side walls of the chancel there are<br />

glass containers with a carved figure<br />

representing “The Flagellation of<br />

Christ” <strong>and</strong> a clothed figure of<br />

Notburga.<br />

The stations of the cross are represented<br />

by oleographs. According to<br />

legend, the chapel was built as a<br />

thanksgiving for the survival of the<br />

son of a farmer who fell from the roof<br />

of an adjacent house.<br />

Forest chapel<br />

The neo-gothic Forest chapel was built<br />

in 1862 by Georg Pletzer (Br<strong>and</strong>erbauer)<br />

as a result of a vow made because<br />

of family matters.In the eighties<br />

the chapel was restored.<br />

The roomy building has a 3/6 end on<br />

both the inside <strong>and</strong> outside. A bell<br />

tower is located above the entrance<br />

door.The erection of an image of the<br />

Virgin Mary turned the gothic chapel<br />

into a local place of pilgrimage in<br />

times gone by.<br />

Götschen chapel<br />

The picturesque Götschen chapel lies<br />

on a small spur between Wiesenegg<br />

<strong>and</strong> the small flat area with the<br />

Grubenhöfen (several farmhouses).<br />

According to tradition,the chapel was<br />

built by miners around 1700. In the<br />

past the chapel contained what was<br />

known as the Götschen cross <strong>and</strong><br />

torture instruments, which depicted<br />

the suffering of Jesus. In the interior<br />

you will find an altar with a wrought<br />

iron screen.The altarpiece represents<br />

a crucifixion with Mary, John the<br />

Baptist <strong>and</strong> Mary Magdalena with a<br />

figure of Pieta in front.<br />

Pocher chapel<br />

According to a verbal tradition, the<br />

Pocher chapel was erected as a result<br />

of a vow.Four miners who were buried<br />

in a tunnel vowed to build a chapel if<br />

they were saved. As regards the<br />

building time, we only have a date,<br />

namely 1774, carved into a roof beam<br />

to rely on. The Pocher chapel is the<br />

best renovated mortar built chapel,<br />

which was internally restored in 1969.<br />

The outer fresco depicts a coronation.<br />

Kleebichl chapel<br />

Across from Wiesenegg,on the other<br />

side of the Jochberg river on the<br />

Habersberg there is a privately owned<br />

wooden chapel.It is a simple wooden<br />

construction, clad with boards <strong>and</strong><br />

with a boarded roof. The year 1900 is<br />

carved into the roof beam. A votive<br />

picture "EX VOTO 1850" depicts a<br />

Jochbergwald Madonna floating on<br />

clouds,such as are frequently found in<br />

sacred buildings around Jochberg.<br />

Altar of Kleebichl chapel, Aurach


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Jochberg<br />

The 7 fountains route<br />

Place: Jochberg<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

very easy<br />

Length: approx. 9.8 km<br />

Walking time: approx. 2<br />

to 2.5 hours<br />

The 7-fountains route extends through<br />

the village of Jochberg <strong>and</strong> is a very<br />

popular area for <strong>walking</strong> due to the<br />

variety <strong>and</strong> many sights that it offers<br />

along the way.<br />

The progress of the route:<br />

Jochberg centre – Hausleiten restaurant<br />

– Schnaitlgasse – Saukasergraben –<br />

Maier mill/St<strong>and</strong>ern farm - Bärnbichlweg<br />

– Aubergweg – Angererhof –<br />

Schwerten – back to the main road – via<br />

the Jochberg river – Show Mine Copper<br />

Plate – Barbara fountain – Oberhausenberg<br />

– Künstler fountain – farmers’<br />

museum – down to the Achen bridge –<br />

Schradler-Askarn-Veitn – Achen bridge<br />

– Way of the Romans – Erlauweg – Kupfstattgasse<br />

– Neuhausfeld – Scheringweg<br />

– Nockweg – Antlass fountain – St.<br />

Wolfgang church in Jochberg.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

The village fountain in the centre of<br />

Jochberg is located in the Martengasse<br />

<strong>and</strong> is the starting point for the 7fountain<br />

route. In former times it was<br />

used for horse-carts <strong>and</strong> for driving the<br />

cows up to the mountain pastures from<br />

the valley (Almauftrieb) in the spring.<br />

From the village fountain in front of<br />

the parsonage, the road continues on<br />

Village fountain Jochberg<br />

the left h<strong>and</strong> side along the main road,<br />

past the Hausleiten restaurant <strong>and</strong> the<br />

adjacent parking area until the main<br />

road takes a right bend. At this junction<br />

one takes a turn to the let into the<br />

SCHNAITLGASSE in the direction of the<br />

SAUKASERGRABEN.<br />

This is where the fountain of the Maier<br />

mill <strong>and</strong> St<strong>and</strong>ern farmhouse was<br />

located in former days. In the winter<br />

up to 10 horse-carts together with<br />

workers with h<strong>and</strong>-drawn sleighs were<br />

busy transporting the wood that had<br />

been chopped in the summer from the<br />

Saukasergraben to the sawmill. At<br />

midday the horses had to be fed <strong>and</strong><br />

watered.This all took place here in front<br />

of this “Free” fountain.<br />

From the Saukasergraben the route<br />

continues straight along the<br />

Bärnbichlweg uphill until there is a<br />

sharp bend to the left, where one then<br />

turns right/straight ahead into the<br />

Aubergweg. Past the Aubergern ancestral<br />

estate one leaves the path to<br />

the right to the Angererhof. A bit further<br />

on the narrow grass path one has a<br />

magnificent view of the village <strong>and</strong> the<br />

Hohen Tauern mountains. On <strong>and</strong> down<br />

through the forest the path advances to<br />

the next fountain station of<br />

SCHWERTERN.<br />

The fountain on the Oberschwerter<br />

farm is mentioned in the old documents<br />

dating from the year 1498. “Schbertler<br />

zu Sberta am Jochperg”. The old farm<br />

was destroyed by the fire at Christmas<br />

of the year 2003 <strong>and</strong> now all that<br />

remains is the old TENN (hay barn)<br />

opposite this is the Schwertern fountain.<br />

From here one goes only a few steps<br />

down to a narrow asphalt road <strong>and</strong><br />

Schwertern fountain Jochberg<br />

from here to the right back to the main<br />

road which has to be crossed. Walking<br />

along the eastern side of the road the<br />

path continues in a right-h<strong>and</strong> bend<br />

<strong>and</strong> over the Jochberg river.<br />

You can already see the signboard with<br />

instructions for the “Show Room Copper<br />

ner er<br />

Bärenbichl<br />

12<br />

derreith derreith<br />

h<br />

Maierhofen<br />

6<br />

Ed<br />

Jochberg<br />

923 m<br />

m<br />

Hechenberg<br />

Filzen<br />

80 2<br />

Schnaitl<br />

1<br />

Schradler<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Schaubergwerk<br />

Kupferplatte<br />

14<br />

14<br />

Hütte<br />

Parzen<br />

Haslinger K.<br />

1132<br />

14<br />

Taxen axen<br />

Hansler<br />

14<br />

Schlic<br />

14<br />

3<br />

Tax<br />

Burgstallal<br />

Perlberg<br />

Högeralm Section of map<br />

7 fountains’ route Jochberg<br />

3


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Jochberg<br />

Barbara fountain Jochberg<br />

Mine” where a very special kind of<br />

fountain is located.The Barbara fountain<br />

is around 100 m along the Bergwerksweg.<br />

It was erected in honour of Saint Barbara,<br />

the patron saint of miners. At this point<br />

it is also a good idea to visit the Show<br />

Room Copper Mine. After visiting the<br />

fountain, you can continue along the<br />

rails of the mine across a small bridge <strong>and</strong><br />

A sight worth visiting<br />

The copper mine show room in Jochberg<br />

then immediately to the left up a narrow<br />

forest track up to the Oberhausenweg.<br />

The asphalt road leads up to the right <strong>and</strong><br />

for a considerable time up <strong>and</strong> down<br />

until after some time one reaches the<br />

Künstler farm on the left h<strong>and</strong> side. In<br />

former days there used to be two farms<br />

here:Vorderkünstler <strong>and</strong> Hinterkünstler.<br />

In the water alley (an alley with a<br />

watering place for cattle) at this farmhouse<br />

you will find the only “free foun-<br />

The Vorderkünstler <strong>and</strong><br />

Hinterkünstler farms<br />

tain” still in operation, the so-called<br />

Künstler fountain. It was restored many<br />

times since a wooden trough has a<br />

shorter life than one made of concrete.<br />

On the right you can find the former<br />

Vorderkünstler farm which was<br />

reconstructed as a barn <strong>and</strong> thanks to<br />

the Krimbacher family <strong>and</strong> the Museum<br />

Association of Jochberg is used today<br />

as a farm museum. It is now only a few<br />

steps to the Künstler chapel which invites<br />

people to come to worship.<br />

The route continues on the<br />

OBERHAUSENWEG up into a right-h<strong>and</strong><br />

bend <strong>and</strong> back down to the Achen<br />

bridge. Directly in front of the bridge<br />

one turns to the left <strong>and</strong> the path<br />

advances over a cattle grid into a riverside<br />

woodl<strong>and</strong>.<br />

Once you have reached the asphalt road,<br />

you turn to the left <strong>and</strong> then follow the<br />

Erlauweg for some hundred metres.<br />

Across the wooden bridge the road then<br />

continues to the right into a small road<br />

way to the Askarn Schradler-Veitn<br />

fountain which is to be found among<br />

three very old farms.<br />

The farm fountain was reconstructed in<br />

1917. Situated in the middle of the two<br />

farms, Askarn <strong>and</strong> Veitn, on the “water<br />

alley”(the path to the watering place), the<br />

fountain was used for domestic purposes<br />

<strong>and</strong> as a watering place for cattle by all<br />

three properties. The water was also<br />

diverted from the fountain trough<br />

through a small mousehole <strong>and</strong> a<br />

wooden gully into the laundry room for<br />

washing.<br />

The road now continues to the right in<br />

the direction of the Achen bridge. After<br />

the bridge the Way of the Romans leads<br />

right into the Erlauweg <strong>and</strong> then straight<br />

ahead into the Kupfstattgasse. Here one<br />

crosses the main road <strong>and</strong> turns left into<br />

the NEUHAUSFELD road.<br />

At the upper end one goes to the right<br />

along a small path until one reaches the<br />

Scheringweg. This is crossed on the left<br />

<strong>and</strong> after only a few metres one turns to<br />

the right before the NOCKWEG. A little<br />

bit further one comes across the second<br />

last fountain of the theme walk.<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Antlass fountain Jochberg<br />

The Antlass fountain offers an excellent<br />

opportunity to take a break since there<br />

is a refreshing mountain spring further<br />

up the slope.The Antlass track has been<br />

in existence for centuries for processions<br />

<strong>and</strong> used to lead all the way to the<br />

Marten farmhouse.<br />

To get to the last fountain one crosses the<br />

skiing slope. On a small path one reaches<br />

the upper part of the Martengasse where<br />

one now turns to the right.<br />

Past the parsonage one reaches the<br />

church of St. Wolfgang in Jochberg on<br />

the other side of the main road <strong>and</strong> the<br />

Wolfgang fountain. It is located in the<br />

altar room of the church <strong>and</strong> represents<br />

a highlight of the 7-fountains’ route.


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Jochberg www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Domestic fountain<br />

In earlier times there was not always<br />

a spring available, so water had to be<br />

diverted from ditches (small streams).<br />

This was done using 3m long wooden<br />

pipes.The pipes were often bunged up<br />

with the roots of plants <strong>and</strong> had to be<br />

dug out <strong>and</strong> changed.<br />

A wooden box (Sechtrögel) was fitted<br />

at the place where the water was<br />

being diverted <strong>and</strong> the water ran from<br />

there into the wooden pipes. To<br />

prevent too much garbage, s<strong>and</strong> <strong>and</strong><br />

leaves,a mouse or a frog from getting<br />

into the system, a metal sheet with<br />

holes (a sieve) was nailed in front of<br />

the pipe. At the farm a 4m long tree<br />

trunk was then attached with a<br />

fountain pillar as a feeder.<br />

Water for domestic purposes had to be<br />

carried in pails from the farm fountain<br />

into the house. In winter the fountain<br />

pillar was covered with straw <strong>and</strong> old<br />

clothing to stop it freezing,but in very<br />

cold winters even that was useless.<br />

Then an iron rod was heated in the<br />

oven stokehole until it was smouldering,<br />

then with great effort <strong>and</strong><br />

many pails of boiling water the<br />

fountain would start flowing again.<br />

The water extracted in this way did<br />

pose some danger to humans:<br />

sometimes it contained poisonous<br />

bugs that could cause stomach ache<br />

<strong>and</strong> diarrhoea. And if older people<br />

read this they will say: “we know all<br />

about that from our own experience!”<br />

The free fountains in Jochberg<br />

Some house owners have access to a<br />

spring with an intact pipeline.<br />

However, today the water is mostly<br />

used for watering flowers.<br />

There are still “free” fountains on the<br />

mountain pastures which are mainly<br />

used to provide water for cattle. In<br />

some farmhouses <strong>and</strong> private houses<br />

there used to be a stone trough<br />

or a small “trough” of concrete to<br />

supply the family with water.<br />

Mining in Jochberg<br />

Copper was being dug 3000 years ago<br />

in the Jochberg district. Many<br />

ab<strong>and</strong>oned mines <strong>and</strong> primeval<br />

smelting sites,as well as waste tips <strong>and</strong><br />

tools,are evidence of an intensive use<br />

of mineral resources.<br />

In its heyday 160 miners extracted<br />

1800 tons of copper ore annually from<br />

a strip 30km long <strong>and</strong> until 1874 this<br />

was also smelted in Jochberg.<br />

In 1990 a show mine, “Kupferplatte”<br />

(Copper plate) was opened in the<br />

principal adit.You can drive along over<br />

150 m of cutter path on the restored<br />

mine railway.An ideal accompaniment<br />

to a trip on the mine railway is a visit<br />

to the mining <strong>and</strong> local history<br />

museum (below the church). Here<br />

there is a rebuilt entrance to the mine<br />

tunnel <strong>and</strong> many exhibits from<br />

Jochberg’s past.<br />

Farmers’ museum Künstler (pictures above <strong>and</strong> right)<br />

<strong>and</strong> the copper show mine in Jochberg (see pictures below left)<br />

The farmers’ museum Künstler<br />

The former “Vorderkünstler” farm<br />

was reconstructed <strong>and</strong> today it is<br />

used as the farmers’ museum.<br />

Barbarabrunnen All of the h<strong>and</strong>icrafts Jochberg are on display<br />

such as weaving, cheese making,<br />

saddle making <strong>and</strong> carpentry. For<br />

visitors there is even the possibility<br />

to grind flour themselves in an<br />

originally restored mill.<br />

Guided <strong>tours</strong> through the farmers’,<br />

mining <strong>and</strong> local history museum<br />

are possible if registering in advance:<br />

+43/5355/5416 Mr. Georg Jöchl.


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Jochberg<br />

Route of museums<br />

Place: Jochberg<br />

Length: approx. 3.2 km<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

easy<br />

Walking time:<br />

approx. 1 hour<br />

On this route you will walk from the<br />

Show Mine on to the local history<br />

museum <strong>and</strong> then to the farmers’<br />

museum. On the trail of the farmers<br />

<strong>and</strong> mines of the past you will be<br />

rewarded with an exciting historical<br />

look at Jochberg’s past<br />

Progress of the route:<br />

Jochberg St.Wolfgang’s church – mining<br />

<strong>and</strong> local history museum – Jochberg<br />

gorge – forest swimming pond –<br />

Künstler farmers’ museum<br />

The route in detail:<br />

Anyone who wishes to find out about<br />

the history of a typical Austrian alpine<br />

village on a walk has come to the right<br />

place on the museum route in Jochberg.<br />

From St.Wolfgang’s church dating from<br />

the 15th Century with its well known<br />

medicinal spring, the route continues in<br />

the direction of the mining <strong>and</strong> local<br />

history museum.<br />

The museum reveals some interesting<br />

details about the culture of a farmers’<br />

village: the history of mining, the tradition<br />

of riflemen <strong>and</strong> the development of<br />

skiing. Several rooms exhibit farming<br />

h<strong>and</strong> tools, regional costumes <strong>and</strong> the<br />

equipment used by riflemen <strong>and</strong> Tyrolean<br />

Look in farmers’ museum<br />

freedom fighters.The “Wilhelm Angerer<br />

Trust”is particularly worth mentioning.<br />

It is one of the largest <strong>and</strong> most<br />

interesting collections of fossils.<br />

After visiting the museum, the road then<br />

continues to the Jochberg gorge <strong>and</strong><br />

along the large river to the forest bathing<br />

pond. Anyone interested in agriculture<br />

will be happy to discover the Künstler<br />

farming museum a few steps away.The<br />

lovingly set-up museum shows typical<br />

crafts <strong>and</strong> agricultural equipment<br />

gathered painstakingly by the village<br />

chronicler Georg Jöchl with the help of<br />

the citizens of Jochberg. These include<br />

the following: wooden sledges, manure<br />

wagons, a cobbler’s workshop, a<br />

carpenter’s workshop, cheese-making,<br />

weaving, a cereal mill which still<br />

functions perfectly from the 18th Century<br />

<strong>and</strong> lots more. Experience the history<br />

of the agricultural way of life in an<br />

interactive way.<br />

The Künstler farmers’ museum<br />

In former times there were two<br />

farms in the location of the presentday<br />

farming museum: Vorder- und<br />

Hinterkünstler.The name Künstler is<br />

derived from “Künzlin”, Kunz, that<br />

is Konrad <strong>and</strong> has nothing to do<br />

with Künstler (artist).<br />

Ed<br />

Jochberg berg<br />

Schnaitl<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

14<br />

Taxen axen<br />

14<br />

Tax<br />

The property was first mentioned<br />

in the year 1464 in the Kitzbühel 923 m<br />

m<br />

provincial tax book. The Vorderkünstler<br />

farm was unfortunately<br />

destroyed by fire on 20 November<br />

Hansler 14<br />

1932. Today farming h<strong>and</strong>icraft derreith<br />

Map section<br />

professions as well as equipment<br />

ner<br />

Museum route Jochberg<br />

are on display.<br />

Guided <strong>tours</strong> through the farming, Show Mine Copper Plate<br />

mining <strong>and</strong> local history museum Copper was being dug 3000 years<br />

are possible if registering in advance ago in the Jochberg<br />

with Mr. Georg Jöchl +43/5355/5416<br />

Parzendistrict.<br />

Many<br />

Hechenberg ab<strong>and</strong>oned mines <strong>and</strong> primeval<br />

smelting sites, as well as waste tips<br />

<strong>and</strong> tools,bear witness of an intensive Burgstallal<br />

use of mineral resources.<br />

In its heyday 160 miners extracted<br />

1800 tons of copper annually from a<br />

strip of 30 km long <strong>and</strong> until 1874<br />

this was Haslinger also smelted K. in Jochberg. In<br />

1926 the mining activities, 1132 which had<br />

now become unprofitable, were<br />

discontinued. Since then<br />

Perlberg<br />

the tunnels<br />

with many branches <strong>and</strong> shafts have<br />

Schradler been left to their own devices. In 1990<br />

a show mine “Kupferplatte” (copper<br />

plate) was opened in the main adit.<br />

You can drive along over 150 m of<br />

cutter path in<br />

h<br />

Högeralm the restored mine<br />

railway. A reconstructed mining<br />

tunnel with equipment <strong>and</strong> minerals<br />

can also be seen in the mining <strong>and</strong><br />

Traditional flour making & processing in<br />

local history museum.<br />

the Künstler farming museum


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Reith<br />

The "Wilder Kaiser“ panoramic trail<br />

Place: Reith<br />

Length: approx. 15 km,<br />

difference in altitude of<br />

800 metres<br />

Degree of difficulty:<br />

average to difficult<br />

Walking time: 2.5 hours<br />

The “Wilder Kaiser” panoramic trail<br />

weaves its way through a geologically<br />

valuable region shrouded in legend.<br />

Moreover hill-walkers will be treated to<br />

a magnificent panorama on the two most<br />

prominent mountain chains in this region:<br />

the Wilder Kaiser <strong>and</strong> the Zahmer Kaiser.<br />

The mystical Kaiser mountain shrouded<br />

in legend is a northern limestone Alp<br />

mountain range in the Eastern Alps.The<br />

entire mountain range is in the federal<br />

province of the Tyrol <strong>and</strong> it is a very<br />

popular <strong>walking</strong> <strong>and</strong> climbing area.<br />

Progress of the route<br />

Kulturhaus Reith – church – ski lift – via<br />

the Wiesenweg to the Veitl chapel -<br />

Wirtsalm - via the Almweg to the Scharlw<strong>and</strong>alm<br />

– along wind tracks to the<br />

Höhenangeralm – direction Auer Niederalm<br />

– Kaiserblick – Rauher Kopf –<br />

mountain stream – forest track in the<br />

direction of Kirchberg – Hennleiten snackbar.<br />

The route in detail:<br />

From the Kulturhaus Reith one starts on<br />

the theme walk via the Dorfstraße to the<br />

church. If one continues straight ahead<br />

to the Reither ski lift, a path through the<br />

field continues to the Veitl chapel which<br />

The Wilder Kaiser – quite simply impressive<br />

then advances further via a wild stream to<br />

a mountain pasture.On the Wirtsalm one<br />

finds the first panorama sign-board.This<br />

represents the southern chain of the<br />

Kitzbühel Alps <strong>and</strong> the Lofer Stone<br />

Mountains.From here the “Wilder Kaiser”<br />

panoramic trail goes on to the<br />

Scharlw<strong>and</strong>alm, the stating point of the<br />

Reith high ridge path. A small sign-board<br />

opposite the mountain pasture hut shows<br />

the history of the ridge path.This leads to<br />

the left through stretches of forest,<br />

clearings <strong>and</strong> past fresh springs to<br />

Kirchberg.<br />

Following a short panoramic rest on the<br />

Schwarlw<strong>and</strong>alm with a splendid view<br />

over Reith, one now turns right into the<br />

forest track to the Höhenangeralm. A<br />

winding gravel road leads up to the<br />

Auer Niederalm<br />

1217<br />

Hochalm<br />

1325<br />

cker<br />

Höhen- 63<br />

angeralm<br />

1303<br />

Rauher Kopf<br />

Kaiser- 63 1580<br />

blick 8<br />

Tristall<br />

Gwirl<br />

Hölzlwinkl lzlwinkl<br />

Stangeralm<br />

1303<br />

Mühlbach<br />

1115<br />

summit cross at 1,303 m. Path number 11<br />

leads through a long stretch of the forest<br />

to the Auer Niederalm <strong>and</strong> the Rauher<br />

Kopf. Shortly before the ascent to the<br />

Rauher Kopf (approx. 10 minutes), which<br />

is located at 1,580 m, there is again the<br />

possibility to enjoy the mountain<br />

panorama of the Kaiser mountains.From<br />

the Kaiserblick resting place, which is<br />

located in a clearing,one can see the grey<br />

pointed tops of the crown of the Kaiser<br />

(Emperor) through the trees.A short detour<br />

(approx. 500 m ) from the Kaiserblick<br />

crossroads to the left will allow you to<br />

gaze at the magnificent limestone alp of<br />

this mountain range without any<br />

disturbances.<br />

8<br />

62<br />

Moosgrub<br />

Vordersonnberg<br />

ordersonnberg<br />

Scharlw<strong>and</strong>alm<br />

1213<br />

Wirtsalm<br />

1107<br />

8<br />

Filzerhof<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

62<br />

61<br />

54<br />

63 62 60<br />

63<br />

50<br />

51<br />

Hallerndorf<br />

54<br />

50<br />

55<br />

b. Kitzbühe Kitzb Kitzbüh<br />

762 m<br />

52 53 55 56<br />

Rummelsber<br />

Rummelsbe<br />

51<br />

63 52<br />

53<br />

62<br />

50<br />

Griesbach<br />

Griesbach<br />

Thainer<br />

Kramat<br />

Kramat<br />

769 m<br />

Reith<br />

Waching aching<br />

Mün Mü<br />

51 M<br />

62 Golfplatz<br />

Kitzbühel- Kitzbühel-<br />

Schwarzsee-Reith<br />

18 hole<br />

Hennleiten Gundh Gund<br />

Map section of Kaiserweg Reith<br />

blueberry fields to the RAUHER KOPF. On<br />

the summit benches invite walkers to<br />

enjoy the view of the Hohen Tauern <strong>and</strong><br />

the Zillertal Alps. On the way back down<br />

into the valley you will cross a mossy <strong>and</strong><br />

in part root-covered path on to a mountain<br />

fountain.From there you take a left in the<br />

direction of Kirchberg. A gravel path <strong>and</strong><br />

a romantic forest path take you further to<br />

the next road crossing. The paths are<br />

identified with yellow sign-posts <strong>and</strong> redwhite-red<br />

markings.<br />

Straight ahead <strong>and</strong> past the resting place<br />

the small track will take your through View from the Hahnenkamm


<strong>Theme</strong> hill walks Reith<br />

At this fork in the road, the “Kaiserblick”<br />

panoramic trail joins with several hill<strong>walking</strong><br />

routes.The Reith high ridge track<br />

is one of these. The last section leads<br />

through forests <strong>and</strong> fields into the valley<br />

where HENNLEITN snack-bar is located.<br />

This is a good place to end your <strong>walking</strong><br />

day with a cosy stop.<br />

History of the Reith high ridge path<br />

The “Kaiserblick” panoramic trail<br />

intercepts the Reith high ridge path,<br />

which is immersed in history, several<br />

times. The Reith high ridge path -<br />

also known as the market route – was<br />

used by farmers as a trading route<br />

(they drove cattle along it,visited fairs)<br />

to Kirchberg, Ellmau <strong>and</strong> Going.<br />

At that time the path was very narrow<br />

<strong>and</strong> according to the tales of some<br />

of the Reith farmers had been built by<br />

the Romans who were looking for a<br />

route through the mountains between<br />

Wörgl <strong>and</strong> Innsbruck. Since the<br />

valleys were liable to flooding <strong>and</strong><br />

often not easy to pass,so-called ridge<br />

paths were constructed.<br />

The geology of the Kaiser<br />

mountains<br />

200 million years ago, there was a<br />

warm sea on the site of the Kaiser<br />

mountain. Rivers <strong>and</strong> streams<br />

gradually filled it up:with s<strong>and</strong>,silt <strong>and</strong><br />

rock mass.<br />

The surf pulverised this material.<br />

S<strong>and</strong>stone, mixed with coarse<br />

constituents is consequently the<br />

oldest building material in the Kaiser<br />

mountains <strong>and</strong> can be found<br />

particularly on the southern side.<br />

Countless small creatures swam in<br />

the warm sea: mussels, snails <strong>and</strong><br />

other molluscs. They came into<br />

existence over many millions of years,<br />

died, sank to the seabed <strong>and</strong> formed<br />

hundreds of layers of so-called<br />

Wetterstein limestone. This is the<br />

solid <strong>and</strong> pale grey limestone which<br />

is particularly suited to climbing.<br />

These layers were still lying flat on<br />

top of each other. For the Kaiser<br />

mountains to form as they are today,<br />

these layers had to lift,break up,make<br />

themselves vertical <strong>and</strong> form the two<br />

chains of the Zahmer <strong>and</strong> Wilder<br />

Kaiser.<br />

In the Ice Age, about 500,000 years<br />

ago, the first people were already<br />

living on the earth. The streams in<br />

the ravines <strong>and</strong> valleys of the Kaiser<br />

had long been in existence.When the<br />

northern hemisphere cooled down,<br />

huge glaciers from the central<br />

mountain ranges swept through the<br />

river valleys into the Alpine Forel<strong>and</strong>.<br />

The metre-thick inn glacier even<br />

reached the south side of the Kaiser,<br />

filled up the Kaiser valley <strong>and</strong> covered<br />

the region north of the Kaiser mountains.The<br />

Walch lake in the north <strong>and</strong><br />

the Hintersteiner Lake in the south<br />

originate from this time. Legend says<br />

that the lakes were created in an<br />

entirely different way: ownership<br />

fights among farmers. Following a<br />

fight about ownership between two<br />

farmers the story goes that all of their<br />

property <strong>and</strong> belongings were covered<br />

by spring waters.<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

The Wilde Kaiser – one of the most impressive mountain ranges in the Alps


Regional <strong>walking</strong> route<br />

The Circular Route Kitzbühel<br />

Place: region of Kitzbühel<br />

Distance of route: in all 60 km<br />

Degree of difficulty: varies from<br />

section to section from easy to average<br />

The <strong>circuit</strong> walk is a regional walk in<br />

the region. Just <strong>walking</strong> along the<br />

main route you can cover a thous<strong>and</strong><br />

metres uphill <strong>and</strong> downhill in six<br />

stages. The Kitzbühel <strong>circuit</strong> walk<br />

which also leads through the surrounding<br />

holiday villages, is ideal for<br />

being climbed <strong>and</strong> descended in<br />

sections.<br />

The route runs over the Kitzbühel<br />

Horn, the Bichlalm, the Kelchalm <strong>and</strong><br />

the Thurn Pass through to the world<br />

famous Hahnenkamm.<br />

The route offers breath-taking panoramas<br />

<strong>and</strong> relaxing places to stop.<br />

Mountain huts, restaurants <strong>and</strong> hotels<br />

are scattered along the circular walk.<br />

You should not do without the Tyrolean<br />

hospitality when you are <strong>walking</strong>.<br />

Progress of the route<br />

Kitzbühel Horn (overnight stay +<br />

catering) – Bichlalm (overnight stay +<br />

catering) – Hochwildalm (overnight stay<br />

+ catering) – Kelchalm <strong>and</strong> Bochum Hut<br />

(overnight stay + catering) - Wildalm<br />

(catering) – Alte Wacht (overnight stay<br />

+ catering) Trattenbach mountain<br />

pasture (catering) – Melkalm (overnight<br />

stay + catering) – Hahnenkamm (overnight<br />

stay + catering)<br />

The circular walk can be undertaken in<br />

clockwise direction with a difference in<br />

altitude on the descent of 3,373 metres<br />

<strong>and</strong> 2,885 metres on the ascent.<br />

If as an alternative one decides to ascend<br />

by bus to the Alte Wacht – Pass Thurn<br />

<strong>and</strong> Breitmoos <strong>and</strong>/or via cable car from<br />

Breitmoos to the Resterhöhe one can<br />

shorten the distance to ascend to 1,971<br />

metres.<br />

ATTENTION:<br />

If one plans to go anti-clockwise then<br />

the altitudes indicated change.<br />

In six sections, the circular walk gives you<br />

a gentle <strong>and</strong> luscious green introduction<br />

to the Kitzbühel Alps.<br />

For bookings <strong>and</strong> further information on<br />

the round or circular walk:<br />

Kitzbühel Tourismus<br />

Hinterstadt 18, 6370 Kitzbühel<br />

T:+43(0)5356 777 F:+43(0)5356 777 -77<br />

info@kitzuehel.com<br />

www.kitzubuehel.com<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Fantastic panoramas, unforgettable images – all of this awaits you!<br />

The sections in detail<br />

which have put out their roots here.<br />

Section 1<br />

Kitzbühel Horn peek (cable car) - Bichlalm,<br />

2.5 hours of <strong>walking</strong>, 6 km long.<br />

Descent 929 metres altitude difference.<br />

Ascent 311 metres altitude difference.<br />

Today this unique garden features rare<br />

botanic sights from all over the globe.<br />

After ascending by cable car, <strong>and</strong> the<br />

colourful walk through the Alpine Flower<br />

Garden to the Hornköpfl, visitors will be<br />

delighted by the magnificent view of<br />

From the cable car station on the<br />

Horngipfel (2,000 m) which can be<br />

the Kitzbühel mountains.<br />

reached via Hornbahn I <strong>and</strong> Horn- The route which continues via the<br />

gipfelbahn there is a descent to the Alpine Lämmerbühel alpine pasture (possibility<br />

Flower Garden. The trail then continues to take a break here) to the Bichlalm<br />

to the cable car station ALPENHAUS (possibility to take a break here) does not<br />

(possibility to take a break here). This<br />

round can also be undertaken uphill from<br />

have a strong incline.<br />

the Alpenhaus to the Horngipfel or In addition to the alternating fauna,<br />

Hornköpfl.<br />

you have the possibility to enjoy a<br />

Kneipp bath on the way in the fresh<br />

The Alpine Flower Garden is very well<br />

sign posted with lots of information<br />

boards. It is not only indigenous flowers<br />

mountain spring water.


Regional <strong>walking</strong> route<br />

Section 2<br />

Bichlalm alpine pasture –<br />

Hochwildalm alpine pasture<br />

Walking time: 2.5 hours Length: 6.2 km<br />

Descent: 242 m altitude difference<br />

Ascent: 180 m altitude difference<br />

A magnificent section leads via a<br />

panoramic route with a view of the<br />

Venediger <strong>and</strong> Hohe Tauern mountains<br />

in the direction of Aurach<br />

You can see mountain pastures, grassy<br />

areas, grazing cattle, damp stretches of<br />

grass, marmots, chamois, mountain<br />

lakes <strong>and</strong> mountain flora. Following the<br />

western side of the mountain crest to<br />

the Gaisbergsattel <strong>and</strong> the GEBRAJOCH<br />

at 1,779 meters above sea level the path<br />

continues to the HOCHWILDALM<br />

(possibility to take a break here)<br />

The Gebra chapel which lies along this<br />

route is definitely worth a visit. It lies<br />

directly on the steep north-eastern flank<br />

of the Großer Gebra which is practically<br />

covered all the way up by bushes. Some<br />

parts of the route are marsh l<strong>and</strong>.<br />

If you are so inclined you can take a<br />

detour to the Animal Park in Aurach<br />

(possibility to stop here for a break).<br />

The actual <strong>walking</strong> time from the<br />

Hochwildalm alpine pasture to the park<br />

equals 1.5 hours for one stretch. With<br />

over 200 animals, at a height above sea<br />

level of 1,100 metres <strong>and</strong> a total of 40 ha.<br />

this is the largest outdoor park in the<br />

Tyrol.<br />

On the circular walk through the park<br />

you will encounter red deer, lynxes, wild<br />

boar, yaks, zebus, marmots, wild ducks,<br />

pheasants, pea-cocks <strong>and</strong> ibexes. The<br />

animals are fed daily which is quite an<br />

impressive experience.<br />

Section 3<br />

Hochwildalm alpine pasture –<br />

Kelchalm alpine pasture<br />

Walking time: 3.5 hours Length: 7.5 km<br />

Descent: 481 m altitude difference<br />

Ascent: 354 m altitude difference<br />

This walk at the end of the valley leads<br />

from the Hochwildalm alpine pasture<br />

via the Stafflalm alpine pasture to the<br />

Bochum hut/Kelchalm (alpine pasture).<br />

This section is of average difficulty.<br />

At the goal, the Kelchalm, there is a<br />

former place of accommodation from<br />

the copper mine youth group from the<br />

year 1832. The mountain hut, Bochum<br />

Hütte, is among other things the<br />

starting point for numerous beautiful<br />

walks on the Großer <strong>and</strong> Kleiner Schütz,<br />

the Gamshag, Tristkogel, Saalkogel,<br />

Rauber <strong>and</strong> the Torsee Lake.<br />

Section 4<br />

Kelchalm – Wildalm – Alte Wacht<br />

Walking time: 5 hours, Kelchalm –<br />

Wildalm – 5.9 km long, Wildalm –<br />

Alte Wacht – 5.1 km long<br />

Descent: 680 metres altitude difference<br />

Ascent: 241 metres altitude difference<br />

This section has a backdrop well known<br />

from many of the paintings of the<br />

Kitzbühel artist Alfons Walde. The<br />

Tristkogel, the Gamshag <strong>and</strong> Schütz are<br />

only a few of his natural motives. Past<br />

the NIEDERKASERALM at 1,362 m the<br />

round walk runs over the Schlichtenalm<br />

<strong>and</strong> Obere Talalm to the Wildalm<br />

(possibility of stopping here for a break).<br />

Once the snow has melted <strong>and</strong> until<br />

the beginning of winter lots of marmots<br />

can be observed here.<br />

From the Wildalm the road continues in<br />

the direction of Sintersbach, a place<br />

which represents an ideal place for a<br />

rest at the waterfall. The remainder of<br />

the section leads past the BOGEN-<br />

PARCOURS which is located at the end<br />

point of the “Alte Wacht”.<br />

In Roman times, the Alte Wacht was an<br />

important customs point for what is<br />

now the province of Tyrol. Travellers<br />

who came to this place had to pay a<br />

toll.The Spitalerhof was a stopping point<br />

for ill people <strong>and</strong> the weary-footed – a<br />

welcome resting place which also<br />

offered the possibility to get supplies.<br />

Section 5:<br />

Alte Wacht – Pass Thurn – bus stretch (12<br />

minutes) – Breitmoos, 2 hours <strong>walking</strong><br />

time,distance 5.6 km,difference in altitude<br />

of descent 294 metres, difference in<br />

altitude of ascent 0 metres (by bus)<br />

Section 5 leads along the Ache <strong>and</strong> the old<br />

Way of the Romans to the Jochberger<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Kitzbühel – the starting <strong>and</strong> final point of the large circular <strong>walking</strong> trail<br />

forest (possibility to take a break here)<br />

where the pilgrimage church “Visitation of<br />

Mary”is located.Past the oil pipe “Triest –<br />

Ingolstadt”,a pioneering project from the<br />

70’s,the road now continues to the borders<br />

of the province of Tyrol / Salzburg on Pass<br />

Thurn <strong>and</strong> further on to BREITMOOS.<br />

Likewise on this path you can find the<br />

spring of the Großache, which flows to<br />

the Chiem Lake in Germany. As an<br />

alternative it is possible to ascend by bus.<br />

The travelling time from the Alte Wacht to<br />

Pass Thurn <strong>and</strong> Breitmoos equals around<br />

12 minutes.


Regional <strong>walking</strong> route<br />

Section 6:<br />

Pass Thurn /Breitmoos – Resterhöhe –<br />

Panorama Alm – Trattenbachalm – Blaue<br />

Lacke – Pengelstein – Hahnenkamm,<br />

<strong>walking</strong> time 7 hours, distance 24.9 km<br />

(without the panorama cable car 9 hours)<br />

Descent 1,041 metres altitude difference<br />

Ascent 1,505 metres altitude difference<br />

Ascent via cable car Breitmoos –<br />

Resterhöhe 885 metres altitude difference<br />

The last stretch of the circular walk<br />

leads along several mountain crests to<br />

the hill-<strong>walking</strong> area around the<br />

Hahnenkamm <strong>and</strong> Pengelstein. Here<br />

you are already in the heart of the<br />

Kitzbühel skiing region which has a well<br />

developed road <strong>and</strong> cable car network.<br />

If one starts on the section by cable car<br />

Speicher Lake on the Ehrenbachhöhe<br />

from Breitmoos to Resterhöhe (1,894<br />

m) you can shorten the ascent to 885 m<br />

<strong>and</strong> the overall <strong>walking</strong> time to around<br />

7 hours.<br />

From the Resterhöhe the first part of<br />

the route crosses the magnificent<br />

panoramic high ridge path via the<br />

picturesque Storage Lake Resterhöhe to<br />

the HANGLHÖHE (1,941 m).<br />

At this point the Kitzbühel Alps <strong>and</strong><br />

Hohe Tauern Mountain will have the<br />

eyes of any walker riveted to them,<br />

particularly the Venediger & Glockner<br />

group of mountains.<br />

From the next saddle, the way continues<br />

on the road to the Hartkaserhöhe (1,901<br />

m) to the panoramic alpine pasture lying<br />

behind this (possibility to stop here for<br />

a break) <strong>and</strong> to the second two thous<strong>and</strong><br />

metre mountain (2,005 m). All of the<br />

stations offer an extensive view of the<br />

Roßgruberkogel <strong>and</strong> the small<br />

Rettenstein.<br />

Via the Trattenbach alpine pasture<br />

(possibility to stop here for a break) past<br />

the GAUXJOCH (1,738 m), the round walk<br />

continues to the BLAUE LACKE: the small<br />

mountain lake is hidden away between<br />

www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

cliffs <strong>and</strong> bumps covered in mountain<br />

pines <strong>and</strong> small ditches in a basin. Due<br />

to its purity, trout can be found<br />

swimming in the water of the Blaue<br />

Lacke.<br />

After stopping for a dip,the walk continues<br />

to the Schwarzkogel (2,030 m) <strong>and</strong> the<br />

Pengelstein (1,939 m, possibility to stop<br />

here for a break) where in December 2004<br />

the spectacular three-cable gondola was<br />

started up between the ski regions of<br />

Hahnenkamm/Pengelstein <strong>and</strong> Jochberg<br />

/Resterhöhe.<br />

For the first time it is now possible to ski<br />

through the whole region from Aschau<br />

to Pass Thurn, in both directions. Not<br />

far from the summit is the Pengelstein<br />

damn.<br />

The final part of the circular walk runs<br />

along the Jufenkamm past the Hochbrunn<br />

(possibility to stop here for a<br />

break) <strong>and</strong> the Ehrenbachhöhe to the<br />

Hahnenkamm. This stretch equals 11.3<br />

km, the <strong>walking</strong> time is 4 hours <strong>and</strong> the<br />

altitude difference is 250 m.<br />

On the Ehrenbachhöhe where among<br />

other things the highest hotel in the<br />

region invites you to take a break, the<br />

<strong>walking</strong> route around the Ehrenbachhöhe<br />

lake offers a unique view of the<br />

Wilder Kaiser mountain range. At the<br />

mountain station HOCHKITZBÜHEL<br />

(possibility to stop here for a break) it is<br />

worth visiting the mining museum, the<br />

Streif <strong>and</strong> the interactive four-season<br />

<strong>walking</strong> route.<br />

Have fun <strong>walking</strong>!!!


Overview of the theme walks around Kitzbühel,<br />

Reith <strong>and</strong> Jochberg, map number 1<br />

Rauher Kopf<br />

Kopf<br />

1580<br />

1580<br />

Kaiserblickweg<br />

Kaiserblickweg<br />

Kirchberg i.Tirol<br />

i.T<br />

837 m<br />

Reith<br />

b. Kitzb Kitzbühel<br />

hel<br />

Pengelstein<br />

1939<br />

Hahnenkamm<br />

Hahnenkamm<br />

Streifw<strong>and</strong>erung<br />

Streifw<strong>and</strong>erung<br />

Ehrenbachhöhe<br />

Ehrenbachh<br />

Ehrenbachhöhe he<br />

1842<br />

1842<br />

Melkalm<br />

1552<br />

4-Jahreszeit e n<br />

4-Jahreszeit e n<br />

W<strong>and</strong>erweg<br />

W<strong>and</strong>erweg<br />

Bauernhausmuseumsweg<br />

Bauernhausmuseumsweg<br />

K reuzw e g<br />

K reuzw e g<br />

Kitzbühel hel<br />

761 m<br />

Aurach<br />

Kitzb Kitzbüheler heler Horn<br />

Horn<br />

1996<br />

1996<br />

Kapellenweg<br />

Kapellenweg<br />

Kape llenwe g<br />

Kape llenwe g<br />

Alpen blumenw eg<br />

Alpen blumenw eg<br />

Erbhofweg<br />

Bichlalm<br />

Bichlalm<br />

Erbhofweg<br />

Erbhofweg<br />

Erbhofweg<br />

Run dw<strong>and</strong>erwe g<br />

Run dw<strong>and</strong>derwe g<br />

Hochwildalm<br />

Hochwildalm


Overview of the theme walks around Kitzbühel,<br />

Reith <strong>and</strong> Jochberg, map number 2<br />

Rundw<strong>and</strong>erweg<br />

Rundw<strong>and</strong>erweg<br />

Pengelstein<br />

1939<br />

Kleiner Rettenstein<br />

2217<br />

Roßgruberkogel<br />

Ro Roßgruberkogel<br />

gruberkogel<br />

2156<br />

Trattenbachalm<br />

Trattenbachalm<br />

rattenbachalm<br />

1628 1628<br />

Bärenbadkogel<br />

Bärenbadkogel<br />

1881<br />

Resterhöhe<br />

Resterh Resterhöhe he<br />

1894<br />

Jochberg Jochberg<br />

923 923 m<br />

Ru ndw a nderweg<br />

Ru ndw a nderweg<br />

7-Brunnenweg<br />

7-Brunnenweg<br />

Paß Thurn<br />

1274<br />

1274<br />

Alte Alte Wacht<br />

Kape llenwe g<br />

Kape llenwe g<br />

Museumsweg<br />

Museumsweg<br />

7-Brun nenweg<br />

7-Brun nenweg<br />

Wildalm<br />

Bochumer Bochumer Hütte/<br />

H tte/<br />

Kelchalm<br />

Kelchalm<br />

1430 1430<br />

Gamshag<br />

Gamshag<br />

2178<br />

Saalkogel<br />

2006


www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

Imprint:<br />

Kitzbühel Tourismus; Concept&Design: S+D Werbeagentur Salzburg;<br />

Photos: Joe Hölzl, Albin Niederstrasser, Hotel Tennerhof, Stadtarchiv Kitzbühel,<br />

Schaubergwerk Kupferplatte, Wildpark Aurach, Private, Archiv Kitzbühel Tourismus;<br />

Maps: Gloggnitzer; Errors <strong>and</strong> omissions excepted.<br />

Kitzbühel Tourismus<br />

Hinterstadt 18, 6370 Kitzbühel / Austria<br />

Tel.: +43 (0) 53 56 777, Fax: +43 (0) 53 56 777-77<br />

info@kitzbuehel.com, www.kitzbuehel.com<br />

© Kitzbuehel-Logo-Design: Alfons Walde 1933/VBK Wien

Hooray! Your file is uploaded and ready to be published.

Saved successfully!

Ooh no, something went wrong!