Views
6 months ago

LSB March 2018_Web

The city school. As the

The city school. As the only city-based co-educational school for children from ELC to Year 12, Pulteney is ideally located for busy families who live and work around Adelaide. From this central location, Pulteney provides students with a broad and enriching education, leveraging every opportunity of our unique urban environment. Students engage in real-world partnerships with universities and businesses, as well as immersing themselves in the broader cultural offerings that Adelaide provides. Call to book a personal tour on 8216 5555 or visit pulteney.sa.edu.au

This issue of The Law Society of South Australia: Bulletin is cited as (2018) 40 (2) LSB(SA). ISSN 1038-6777 CONTENTS MILITARY LAW FEATURES REGULAR COLUMNS 8 Compensating our defence personnel: why the system is so complex – By Tim White 12 Practitioner profile: Commander Andrew Burnett 16 Salvage rights under admiralty law By Toby Barnfi eld 18 Proposed changes to the Government procurement complaints mechanism By Dr Colette Langos & Alex Edgar 32 Law & war in outer space By Prof Dale Stephens 15 Event wrap-up: New Legal Year 22 Time for a change in our approach to care & protection By Michelle-Robyn Hopkins 25 Opinion: All eyes on the Northern Territory – By Cheryl Axelby 26 New rules on written submissions By Justice Martin Hinton 34 Intellectual property arrangements: The Government’s response By Alison Bradshaw 4 President’s Message 5 From the Editor 6 Dialogue 11 From the Conduct Commissioner 21 Risk Watch 35 Members on the Move 36 Young Lawyers 38 Family Law Case Notes 40 Bookshelf 41 Tax Files 43 Wellbeing & Resilience 44 Gazing in the Gazette Executive Members President: Tim Mellor President-Elect: A Nikolovski Vice President (M): T White Vice President (F): R Sandford Treasurer: A Michaels Immediate Past President: A Rossi Council Members: Vacant Vacant Metropolitan Council Members T Dibden S Gibbons M Janus A Lazarevich L Polson T Vozzo M Frayne SC V Gilliland F Bell M Mackie M Boyle M Smith Country Members S Minney (Northern and Western Region) P Ryan (Central Region) J Kyrimis (Southern Region) Junior Members R Piccolo S Hooper Ex Officio Members The Hon J Rau, Prof W Lacey, Prof M de Zwart, Prof T Leiman KEY LAW SOCIETY CONTACTS Chief Executive Stephen Hodder stephen.hodder@lawsocietysa.asn.au Executive Officer Rosemary Pridmore rosemary.pridmore@lawsocietysa.asn.au Chief Operations Officer Dale Weetman dale.weetman@lawsocietysa.asn.au Member Services Manager Michelle King michelle.king@lawsocietysa.asn.au Director (Ethics and Practice) Rosalind Burke rosalind.burke@lawsocietysa.asn.au Director (Law Claims) Geoff Thomas gthomas@lawguard.com.au Manager (Education) Sally Browne sally.browne@lawsocietysa.asn.au Manager (LAF) Annie MacRae annie.macrae@lawsocietysa.asn.au THE BULLETIN Editor Michael Esposito bulletin@lawsocietysa.asn.au Editorial Committee D Barnfield E Olsson S Kljun R Earles P Wilkinson S Errington E Belperio A Siow B Grant A Bradshaw R Hasda E Moran J Napier The Law Society Bulletin is published monthly (except January) by: The Law Society of South Australia, Level 10-11, 178 North Tce, Adelaide Ph: (08) 8229 0200 Fax: (08) 8231 1929 Email: bulletin@lawsocietysa.asn.au All contributions letters and enquiries should be directed to The Editor, The Law Society Bulletin, GPO Box 2066, Adelaide 5001. Views expressed in the Bulletin advertising material included are not necessarily endorsed by The Law Society of South Australia. No responsibility is accepted by the Society, Editor, Publisher or Printer for accuracy of information or errors or omissions. PUBLISHER/ADVERTISER Boylen Level 3, 47 South Terrace, Adelaide SA 5000. Ph: (08) 8233 9433 Fax: (08) 8212 6484 Email: admin@boylen.com.au Studio Manager: Cindy Ridgwell Layout: Henry Rivera Advertising Email: sales@boylen.com.au Printer Lane Print Group 101 Mooringe Ave, Camden Park SA 5038. Ph: (08) 8376 1188

Platform July 2018