5 months ago

Youth Pulse

Career Awareness The

Career Awareness The Indian Administrative Service , often abbreviated to as IAS, is an administrative All-India service. It is considered to be one of the two premier civil services of India, because a candidate, once appointed to the IAS, is rendered ineligible to reappear in the Civil Services Examination. IAS officers serve in strategic and key positions in the Union Government, States governments and public-sector undertakings. Like in other countries following the Westminster system of government, IAS as the permanent bureaucracy in India is an inseparable part of the executive of the Government of India, and hence, provides neutrality and continuity to the administration. Along with the Indian Police Service (IPS) and the Indian Forest Service(IFoS), the IAS is one of the three All India Services — its cadre is employed by both the Union Government and the individual States. Upon confirming to service after probation as Sub-Divisional Magistrate, an IAS officer is given the administrative command in the district as District Magistrate and Collector after a few years of service, and normally, after sixteen years of service in some states, an IAS officer heads a whole division in the state, as its Commissioner. On attaining the Apex Scale, IAS officers go on to head whole Departments and Ministries of the Government of India. IAS officers represent the Government of India How to become IAS officer Indian Administrative Service at the international level in bilateral and multilateral negotiations. On deputations, they work at Intergovernmental organisations like World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Asian Development Bank, and United Nations or its Agencies. IAS officers at various levels of administration play a vital role in conducting free, fair and smooth elections in India under the direction of Election Commission of India. Recruitment There are three modes of recruitment into the Indian Administrative Service. IAS officers are recruited from the Civil Services Examination, which are conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India, including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian 24 April 2018

Career Awareness Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) among others.It is conducted in two phases - a preliminary examination consisting of two objective-type papers (General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II also popularly known as Civil Service Aptitute Test or CSAT), and a main examination consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay) type, followed by a personality test (interview). Process The Civil Services Examination is based on the British Raj - era Imperial Civil Service tests, as well as the civil service tests conducted by old Indian empires such as in the Mauryan Empire and Mughal Empire. The Civil Services Examination is considered to be one of the most difficult and competitive examinations in India. On average, 900,000 to 1,000,000 candidates apply every year and the number of candidates appearing to sit the preliminary examination is approximately 450,000. The examination consists of the following three stages: Stage I: Preliminary examination - A qualifying test advertisied in Feb-March and held in June-July each year. Results are published in mid-August. Stage II: Main examination - Held in October every year. Results are usually published in the second week of March. Stage III: Personality Test (interview) - held in December each year. Final results are usually announced in May . The training program for the selected candidates usually commences the following September. Eligibility Eligibility for the examination is as follows: Nationality For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, the candidate must be a citizen of India. For other services, the candidate must be one of the following: • A citizen of India • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan • A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India Education All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications: • A degree from a Central, State or a Deemed university • A degree received through correspondence or distance education • A degree from an open university • A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above The following candidates are also eligible, but must submit proof of their eligibility from a competent authority at their institute/university at the time of the main examination, failing which they will not be allowed to attend the exam. Candidates who have appeared in an examination, the passing of which would render them educationally qualified enough to satisfy one of the above points • Candidates who have passed the final exam of the MBBS degree but have not yet completed an internship. • Candidates who have passed the final exam of ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI. • A degree from a private university. • A degree from any foreign university recognized by the Association of Indian Universities. Age • The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years (for the General category candidate) on August 1 of the year of examination. Prescribed age limits vary with respect to caste reservations. • For Other Backward Castes (OBC) the upper age limit is 35 • For Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST), the limit is 37 years. • The upper age limit is relaxed for certain candidates who are backward with respect to other factors and physically handicapped (PH) people. Numbers of attempts The number of times a candidate may attempt the exam is limited as follows: • General category candidates = 6. April 2018 25

pollination for pulses? - Pulse Australia
Pulse magazine
Pulses: The Heart of Healthy Food - Northern Pulse Growers ...
Pulses And The Gluten Free Diet: Cooking With - Pulse Canada
The Pulse - October 2012 - Northern Pulse Growers Association
Secura ® Pulse - Fagel