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Belch: Advertising and<br />

Promotion, Sixth Edition<br />

V. Developing the<br />

Integrated Marketing<br />

Communications Program<br />

10. Media Planning and<br />

Strategy<br />

© The McGraw−Hill<br />

Companies, 2003<br />

While the comparison of media on a cost-per-thousand basis is important, intermedia<br />

comparisons can be misleading. The ability of TV to provide both sight and sound,<br />

the longevity of magazines, and other characteristics of each medium make direct<br />

comparisons difficult. The media planner should use the cost-per-thousand numbers<br />

but must also consider the specific characteristics of each medium and each media<br />

vehicle in the decision.<br />

The cost per thousand may overestimate or underestimate the actual cost effectiveness.<br />

Consider a situation where some waste coverage is inevitable. The circulation<br />

(using the Time magazine figures to demonstrate our point) exceeds the target market.<br />

If the people reached by this message are not potential buyers of the product, then having<br />

to pay to reach them results in too low a cost per thousand, as shown in scenario A<br />

of Figure 10-27. We must use the potential reach to the target market—the destination<br />

sought—rather than the overall circulation figure. A medium with a much higher cost<br />

per thousand may be a wiser buy if it is reaching more potential receivers. (Most<br />

media buyers rely on target CPM (TCPM), which calculates CPMs based on the target<br />

audience, not the overall audience.) 325<br />

Scenario A: Overestimation of Efficiency<br />

Target market 18–49<br />

Magazine circulation 4,000,000<br />

Circulation to target market 65% (2,600,000)<br />

Cost per page $202,000<br />

CPM = $202,000 × 1,000 = $50.5<br />

4,000,000<br />

CPM (actual target audience) = $202,000 × 1,000 = $77.69<br />

2,600,000<br />

Scenario B: Underestimation of Efficiency<br />

Target market All age groups, male and female<br />

Magazine circulation 4,000,000<br />

Cost per page $202,000<br />

Pass-along rate 3* (33% of households)<br />

Page cost × 1,000<br />

CPM (based on readers per copy) = =<br />

Circulation + 3(1,320,000)<br />

= $25.37<br />

202,000 × 1,000<br />

7,960,000<br />

*Assuming pass-along was valid.<br />

Detroit News Chicago Tribune<br />

Cost per page $43,680 $20,450<br />

Cost per inch 453 490<br />

Circulation 626,450 653,000<br />

Calculation CPM = Page cost × 1,000<br />

Circulation<br />

= $43,680 × 1,000 $20,450 × 1,000<br />

626,450 653,000<br />

$69.72 $31.32<br />

Figure 10-26<br />

Comparative costs in newspaper<br />

advertising<br />

Figure 10-27 Cost per<br />

thousand estimates<br />

Chapter Ten Media Planning and Strategy

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